أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 3201

عهد نتنياهو قد ينتهي على الأرجح في خضم أزمة ما بعد الانتخابات

ديفيد ماكوفسكي

متاح أيضاً في English فارسی

21 تشرين الأول/أكتوبر 2019


مرّ الآن أكثر من شهر على إجراء إسرائيل جولة ثانية غير مسبوقة من الانتخابات الوطنية غير الحاسمة، ولكن الأزمة لا تزال قائمة. وما لم تحصل أي تغييرات مفاجئة هذا الأسبوع، سيطلب الرئيس الإسرائيلي رؤوفين ريفلين من زعيم حزب "أزرق أبيض" بيني غانتس تشكيل حكومة - وهي المرة الأولى منذ عام 2006 التي يُطلب فيها من زعيم غير نتنياهو تشكيل الحكومة، والمرة الثانية هذا العام التي فشل فيها رئيس الوزراء الحالي في تشكيل ائتلاف يضم عدداً كافياً من المقاعد البرلمانية. وكان نتنياهو يعمل على تشكيل حكومة منذ الانتخابات لكنه أقلع عن ذلك في 21 تشرين الأول/أكتوبر. ومن غير الواضح بعد ما إذا كان غانتس سينجح في محاولته تشكيل ائتلافه الخاص، لكن الظروف الحالية تشير إلى أن فترة العشر سنوات التي سيطر خلالها نتنياهو على السياسة الإسرائيلية من المرجح أن تقترب من نهايتها. 

حسابات الإئتلاف

كما هو الحال الآن، لن يتمكن غانتس من تشكيل ائتلاف أغلبية يضم 61 مقعداً في الكنيست الذي يتألف من 120 عضواً ما لم يتوصّل إلى ترتيب ما مع حزب "الليكود" (تحالف الأحزاب العربية الذي فاز بـ 13 مقعداً يعارض بشدة قيام حكومة يمينية، لكنه يرفض أيضاً الانضمام إلى حكومة برئاسة "أزرق-أبيض"، أو حتى أي حكومة ائتلافية). ومع ذلك، لا يزال لديه اليد العليا بالنظر إلى إخفاق نتنياهو مرتين متتاليتين.

وبعد فوزه في الانتخابات الأولى في نيسان/أبريل، لم يستطع نتنياهو جمع أكثر من 60 مقعداً، مما دفعه إلى حل الكنيست بدلاً من منح ريفلين خيار السماح لمنافسه بمحاولة تشكيل حكومة. وفي انتخابات الإعادة في أيلول/سبتمبر، تراجع عدد أعضاء كتلة نتنياهو اليمينية إلى 55 مقعداً، في حين تفوق "أزرق-أبيض" على حزب "الليكود" بفوزه بـ 33 مقعداً مقابل 32 مقعداً لـ "الليكود". وبناءً على ذلك، عَرِف غانتس أن نتنياهو لن يتمكن من تشكيل حكومة عندما منحه ريفلين الفرصة الأولى لتشكيلها.

وفي الوقت الراهن، لا يزال وزير الدفاع السابق أفيغدور ليبرمان صانع الملوك. فقد أعلن أنه يرغب في أن تتوحّد صفوف حزبي "أزرق أبيض" و"الليكود" مع حزبه "إسرائيل بيتنا" (الذي فاز بـ 8 مقاعد) وإبقاء فصائل أصغر في اليسار واليمين خارج المعادلة. وفي السنوات الأخيرة، تمتعت أحزاب المتدينين المتطرفين والمستوطنين بنفوذ غير متكافئ، وحصل ليبرمان على ثلاثة مقاعد إضافية في انتخابات أيلول/سبتمبر مستفيداً من استياء الناخبين من تلك الأحزاب. ويطالب الآن هو وحزب "أزرق-أبيض" بأن ينفصل "الليكود" عن هؤلاء الحلفاء اليمينيين (الذين فازوا بـ 23 مقعداً) كشرط مسبق للمشاركة في حكومة وحدة وطنية. ويرفض نتنياهو بإصرار [هذا المطلب]، حيث يرى أن ذلك شكلاً من أشكال نزع السلاح السياسي.

وهناك عقبة أخرى تتمثل في إصرار حزب "أزرق أبيض" على أن يعيّن حزب "الليكود" زعيماً جديداً له، لأن نتنياهو لا يزال تحت سحابة قانونية وسط مؤشرات واسعة النطاق بأنه سيتم توجيه الاتهام إليه في ثلاثة مزاعم فساد، ربما بحلول نهاية الشهر المقبل. وبموجب القانون الإسرائيلي، يمكن لرئيس الوزراء أن يبقى في منصبه إذا وُجّهت إليه تهم، لكن على أي وزير آخر في مثل هذا الموقف التنحي من منصبه. لذلك، إذا شكّل حزبا "الليكود" و"أزرق أبيض" حكومة وحدة وطنية برئاسة دورية، سيصر نتنياهو على أن يكون الأول في نموذج التناوب هذا - ليس فقط لكي يبقى في منصبه في حال صدور لوائح الاتهام، بل أيضاً لزيادة ميزته في التوصل إلى مساومة قضائية. ومهما يكن الأمر، فإن تصريحاته العلنية توضح بأنه لن يتنحى لصالح عضو آخر في حزب "الليكود" في هذه المرحلة، وقد اصطف وراءه جميع كبار مسؤولي الحزب. وفي ضوء هذه العوامل، يبدو أن هناك ثلاثة سيناريوهات أكثر ترجيحاً فور تولي غانتس هذه المهمة خلال هذا الأسبوع.

السيناريو 1: حل وسط من قبل ريفلين

وسط استمرار انتهاج الأحزاب لسياسة حافة الهاوية، قد يميل غانتس إلى اعتماد ما أصبح يُعرف بخطة ريفلين للتسوية التي تسعى إلى معالجة المأزق المحيط بدور نتنياهو. وتقوم الخطة على تعديل القانون بحيث يتمّ نقل الصلاحيات إلى نائب رئيس الوزراء لمدة 100 يوم إذا كان رئيس الوزراء غير قابل للقيام بمهام منصبه، كما كان عليه الحال عندما أصيب آريئيل شارون بجلطة دماغية حادة في عام 2006. وقد يتم تعديل القانون ليمتد إلى أكثر من 100 يوم، لكي يغطي الحالات التي يتم فيها اتهام رئيس الوزراء.

وإذا وافقت الأحزاب على هذه التسوية وشكّلت حكومة وحدة، سيمنح ريفلين لنتنياهو الفترة التناوبية الأولى لرئاسة الحكومة. غير أنه فور صدور الاتهامات بحقه، سيتمّ نقل صلاحياته إلى نائبه، أي غانتس في هذه الحالة. وسيحتفظ نتنياهو بلقب رئيس الوزراء كما يجيزه القانون المعدّل، لكن غانتس سيكون القائم بأعمال رئاسة الحكومة خلال ما تبقى من الدورة المخصصة لنتنياهو ما لم تبرئه المحاكم بالكامل خلال هذه الفترة. وبعدها سيتولى غانتس المنصب رسمياً خلال العامين التاليين من عهد حكومة الوحدة، مما قد يمنحه السيطرة على الحكومة لما يقرب من ما مجموعه أربع سنوات.  

ومع ذلك، فإن عدم ثقة حزب "أزرق أبيض" بنتنياهو عميق للغاية إلى درجة أن مسؤولي الحزب لا يصدقون أنه سيتخلى بالفعل عن السلطة إذا وجهت إليه اتهامات. وكدليل على ذلك، أشاروا إلى واقع أنه وافق على الفكرة بسرعة كبيرة وراء الأبواب المغلقة. فهل يسمح لحزب "أزرق أبيض" بإدراج آليات إنفاذ صارمة في الاتفاق؟ أو هل ستتزامن لوائح الاتهام مع هذه الجهود الرامية إلى إبرام الاتفاق، في خطوة ترجح احتمال تشكيل حكومة وحدة وطنية من دون نتنياهو؟

السيناريو 2: تشكيل حكومة على المدى القصير

إذا بذل غانتس قصارى جهده لتشكيل ائتلاف مع "الليكود" ولن ينجح في ذلك، فقد يطلب من ليبرمان الامتناع عن التصويت لكي يمكن تشكيل حكومة أقلية برئاسة "أبيض - أزرق". وسيكون ذلك صعباً جداً من الناحية السياسية، نظراً لأن هذه الحكومة ستكون قائمة أساساً على 44 مقعداً (كما ذُكر سابقاً، لن تنضم الأحزاب العربية إلى حكومة برئاسة "أزرق-أبيض"؛ وفي أفضل الأحوال، ستوفر مقاعدها الـ 13 كشبكة أمان ضد اقتراحات بحجب الثقة). وعلى الرغم من أن حكومة أقلية صغيرة كهذه لم يسبق لها مثيل، إلا أن غانتس سيشرح لليبرمان كما يُفترض بأنه إجراء قصير الأجل سيكون قائماً على الأمل في أن يؤدي الضغط العام إلى إجبار نتنياهو على التنحي لصالح مرشح آخر من حزب "الليكود" بمجرد إصدار لوائح الاتهام. وبالفعل، يحاول مساعدو نتنياهو تجنب هذا الاحتمال عن طريق توجيه التماسات إلى الجناج الأيمن من حزب "أزرق-أبيض"، بزعامة وزير الدفاع السابق موشيه يعلون.

ويتمثل أحد السيناريوهات المنخفضة الاحتمال في استعانة غانتس بليبرمان وبأحد الحزبين المتدينين المتطرفين لتشكيل حكومة تضم 61 مقعداً. لكن ذلك من شأنه أن يشكل انتهاكاً لتعهد ليبرمان بعدم تشكيل حكومة مع الحزبين المتدينين المتطرفين، ناهيك عن وعد هذين الحزبين المتطرفين في إسرائيل بعدم المشاركة في حكومة لا يرأسها نتنياهو.

السيناريو 3: جولة ثالثة من الانتخابات

خلال افتتاحه جلسة الكنيست لفصل الخريف، أنّب ريفلين علناً أعضاء الكنيست بسبب الأزمة المستمرة وحذرهم من عدم جر البلاد إلى إعادة إجراء انتخابات أخرى. لكن في ظل المعركة التي يخوضها غانتس ونتنياهو لإقناع الإسرائيليين بهوية المسؤول عما تصفه نشرات الأخبار المسائية بـ"الأزمة السياسية"، لا يمكن استبعاد إمكانية العودة إلى صناديق الاقتراع.

وخلال المرحلة القادمة، من المرجح أن يركز غانتس على أن نتنياهو غير منطقي في إصراره على رئاسة حكومة في وقت يرزح فيه تحت سحابة قانونية، وطلبه أن يكون الأول في التناوب على رئاسة الحكومة ورفضه السماح لحزب "الليكود" بالانضمام إلى حكومة من دون حلفائه في معسكر اليمين. وفي المقابل، أعلن غانتس أنه سيشكل حكومة وحدة مع حزب "الليكود" فور تنحي نتنياهو جانباً. وإذا دعا نتنياهو أو حلفاؤه إلى جولة اقتراع أخرى، فمن المرجح أن يرفض غانتس هذا التهديد باعتباره باطلَا نظراً إلى فقدان رئيس الوزراء للدعم بين الجولتين الأولى والثانية. ومن جهته، من المحتمل أن يعتبر نتنياهو أن غانتس يتصرف بشكل غير منطقي من خلال عدم السماح له بأن يتولى الفترة التناوبية الأولى في رئاسة الحكومة.

الخاتمة

على الرغم من أنه من السابق لأوانه معرفة أي من السيناريوهات الواردة أعلاه سيتبلور، إلا أن جميعها تتشارك قاسماً واحداً، وهو: أن نتنياهو لم يعد يسيطر على المشهد السياسي كما فعل على مدى العقد الماضي. وبما أنه يعيد المهمة إلى ريفلين، فقد تنحصر خياراته الواقعية إلى حدّ كبير بالتصدي لغانتس بدلاً من الاحتفاظ بالسلطة الكاملة لنفسه. وتُلمح هذه السيناريوهات أيضاً إلى انتقال إسرائيل على نطاق أوسع بعيداً عن هيكلية سلطة تتركز على شخص واحد ونحو نموذج يقوم نوعاً ما على تشارك السلطة.

ومهما يكن الأمر، فمن الصعب تصوّر اتخاذ الحكومة المؤقتة الحالية أي مبادرات رئيسية قبل تشكيل الحكومة الجديدة، بصرف النظر عن الضربات العسكرية التكتيكية رداً على الهجمات الصاروخية المحتملة من غزة. وبالمثل، يبدو أن إدارة ترامب تنتظر تشكّل المشهد السياسي في إسرائيل قبل أن تقرر ما إذا كانت ستقوم بإطلاق مبادرتها للسلام التي طال انتظارها، أو ربما إعادة صياغتها على شكل "بيان رؤية" أقل طموحاً لاستخدامه كنقطة مرجعية لمساعي السلام في المستقبل. وفي الوقت الحالي، لا يوجد ما يشير إلى أن ترامب ونتنياهو قد تحدثا مع بعضهما البعض منذ انتخابات أيلول/سبتمبر، وعندما يزور كبير مستشاري البيت الأبيض جاريد كوشنر المنطقة في أواخر الشهر الحالي، سيجتمع مع غانتس للمرة الأولى وليس فقط مع نتنياهو.

 

ديفيد ماكوفسكي هو زميل "زيغلر" المميز ومدير "برنامج العلاقات العربية - الإسرائيلية" في معهد واشنطن

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 3201

Netanyahu Era Likely Coming to an End Amid Post-Election Standoff

David Makovsky

Also available in العربية فارسی

October 21, 2019


Three different scenarios could unfold in the coming weeks, but they all share one thing in common: Netanyahu would no longer dominate the political landscape the way he has over the past decade.

It is now over a month since Israel held an unprecedented second round of inconclusive national elections, and the standoff continues. This week, barring unforeseen moves, President Reuven Rivlin will ask Blue and White Party leader Benny Gantz to form a government—the first time since 2006 that someone other than Binyamin Netanyahu has been asked to do so, and the second time this year that the incumbent prime minister has failed to assemble a coalition with a sufficient number of parliamentary seats. Netanyahu had been working at that task since the election but gave up earlier today. Whether Gantz will succeed in his own coalition bid is unclear, but current circumstances suggest that Netanyahu’s decade of dominating Israeli politics is likely coming to an end.

COALITION MATH

As it stands, Gantz will not be able to put together a majority coalition of 61 seats in the 120-member Knesset unless he reaches some sort of accommodation with the Likud (the alliance of Arab parties that won 13 seats is staunchly opposed to a right-wing government but also refuses to join a Blue-White government, or any coalition government for that matter). Yet he still has the upper hand given Netanyahu’s two consecutive failures.

After winning the first election in April, Netanyahu could not gather more than 60 seats, leading him to disband the Knesset rather than give Rivlin the option of letting a rival try to form a government. In the September redo election, Netanyahu’s right-wing bloc diminished to 55 seats, while Blue-White edged Likud head-to-head 33 seats to 32. Accordingly, Gantz knew Netanyahu would be unable to put a government together when Rivlin gave him the first crack at it.

Currently, former defense minister Avigdor Liberman remains the kingmaker. He has stated that he wants Blue-White and Likud to join forces with his Yisrael Beitenu Party (which won 8 seats) and lock out smaller factions on the left and right. In recent years, ultraorthodox and settler parties have wielded disproportionate influence, and Liberman gained three more seats in September by appealing to voter resentment against those parties. He and Blue-White are now demanding that Likud separate from these right-wing allies (who won 23 seats) as a prerequisite for entering a national unity government. Netanyahu adamantly refuses, seeing this as a form of political disarmament.

Another obstacle is Blue-White’s insistence that Likud find a new leader, since Netanyahu remains under a legal cloud amid widespread indications he will be indicted on three corruption allegations, possibly by the end of next month. Under Israeli law, a prime minister can remain in office if indicted, but any other cabinet minister in that situation must step down. Therefore, if Likud and Blue-White form a national unity government with a rotating premiership, Netanyahu will insist that he take the first rotation—not only to stay in office if indictments come through, but perhaps also to increase his leverage for a plea bargain. Whatever the case, his public statements make clear that he will not step aside for a Likud colleague at this juncture, and all of the party’s senior officials have lined up behind him. In light of these factors, three scenarios seem most likely once Gantz takes the mandate this week.

SCENARIO 1: THE RIVLIN COMPROMISE

Amid continued brinkmanship between the parties, Gantz may lean toward what has become known as the Rivlin compromise plan, which seeks to address the impasse surrounding Netanyahu’s role. The plan involves amending the law whereby power is transferred to the prime minister’s deputy for 100 days if he is incapacitated, as was the case when Ariel Sharon had a massive stroke in 2006. The law would be changed to extend beyond 100 days, and to cover situations where the prime minister is indicted.

If the parties agree to that compromise and form a unity government, Rivlin would give the first rotation to Netanyahu. As soon as he is indicted, however, authority would be transferred to his deputy, in this case Gantz. Netanyahu would retain the title of prime minister as permitted by the amended law, but Gantz would function as acting premier for the remaining portion of Netanyahu’s rotation unless the courts fully clear him during that time. Gantz would then assume the office formally during the second two years of the unity government, potentially giving him control of the government for nearly four years in total.

Yet Blue-White’s distrust of Netanyahu is so deep that party officials do not believe he would actually cede power if indicted. As evidence, they point to the fact that he approved the idea so quickly behind closed doors. Would he allow Blue-White to place ironclad enforcement mechanisms onto the deal? Or will the indictments coincide with these deal-making efforts, making a unity government without Netanyahu more likely?

SCENARIO 2: SHORT-TERM MINORITY GOVERNMENT

If Gantz does his best to form a coalition with Likud but fails, he may ask Liberman to abstain so that a minority Blue-White government can be established. This would be very difficult politically, since it would essentially be based on 44 seats (as mentioned previously, the Arab parties will not join a Blue-White government; at best, their 13 seats will provide a safety net against no-confidence motions). Although such a small minority government is unprecedented, Gantz would presumably explain to Liberman that it is a short-term measure based on the hope that public pressure will force Netanyahu to step aside for another Likud candidate once indictments are issued. Netanyahu’s aides are already trying to stave off this possibility by making entreaties to the right flank of Blue-White, led by former defense minister Moshe Yaalon.

One low-probability scenario is that Gantz will recruit Liberman and one of the ultraorthodox parties to form a government with 61 seats. Yet this would violate Liberman’s pledge not to sit with ultraorthodox parties, not to mention the ultraorthodox pledge to avoid a government that Netanyahu does not head.

SCENARIO 3: THIRD ROUND OF ELECTIONS

As he inaugurated the Knesset’s fall session, Rivlin publicly chided parliamentarians for the ongoing impasse and warned them not to inflict the country with another redo election. Yet as Gantz and Netanyahu battle to convince Israelis who is responsible for what the nightly news calls “the political quagmire,” the possibility of going back to the polls cannot be ruled out.

Going forward, Gantz will likely emphasize that Netanyahu is being unreasonable for insisting on leading a government when he is under a legal cloud, for demanding to go first in a rotating premiership, and for refusing to let Likud join a government without its right-wing allies. In contrast, Gantz has said he would form a unity government with Likud instantly once Netanyahu steps aside. And if Netanyahu or his allies call for another round of voting, Gantz would likely dismiss the threat as a hollow one given the prime minister’s loss of support between rounds one and two. For his part, Netanyahu will likely argue that Gantz is being unreasonable by not allowing him to go first in the rotation.

CONCLUSION

Although it is too soon to say which of the above scenarios will emerge, all of them share one trait in common: Netanyahu would no longer dominate the political landscape the way he has over the past decade. As he returns the mandate to Rivlin, his realistic options are largely limited to blocking Gantz rather than retaining full authority for himself. These scenarios also hint at Israel’s broader transition away from a personally centralized power structure and toward some sort of power-sharing model.

Whatever the case, it is difficult to imagine the existing caretaker government taking any major initiatives before the new government is formed, apart from tactical military strikes in response to potential Gaza rocket attacks. Likewise, the Trump administration seems to be waiting for Israel’s political landscape to settle before deciding whether to undertake its long-awaited peace initiative, or perhaps recast it as a less-ambitious “vision statement” to be used as a reference point for future peace efforts. For now, there is no indication that Trump and Netanyahu have spoken with each other since the September election, and when senior advisor Jared Kushner visits the region at the end of the month, he will meet with Gantz for the first time, not just with Netanyahu.

David Makovsky is the Ziegler Distinguished Fellow and director of the Project on Arab-Israel Relations at The Washington Institute, and coauthor with Dennis Ross of the book Be Strong and of Good Courage: How Israel’s Most Important Leaders Shaped Its Destiny.