أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 3246

رفع قيود الأسلحة المفروضة على إيران: ما سيتغير وما لن يتغير

فرزين نديمي

متاح أيضاً في English فارسی

23 كانون الثاني/يناير 2020


في 18 تشرين الأول/أكتوبر، ستنتهي جميع القيود المفروضة على إيران التي تشكلّ جزءاً من «خطة العمل الشاملة المشتركة» لعام 2015، وستكون طهران حرة فعلياً في بيع أو استيراد أي سلاح تريده تقريباً. ولكن يبدو أنها متعطشة جداً إلى الدخول من جديد إلى مجال التعاون العسكري الدولي وتبادل الأسلحة، كما يتضح من التدريبات البحرية المشتركة التي أجرتها مؤخراً مع روسيا والصين، والتطورات الأخرى. ومن ناحية أخرى، فإن سنوات من العقوبات قد أفسحت المجال أمام تنامي صناعة الأسلحة في طهران، مما أدى إلى زيادة مخاطر الانتشار وتهديدات الاستقرار الإقليمي. والسؤال المطروح هنا هو ما إذا كان السماح بانقضاء القيود المفروضة في عام 2015 سيؤدي إلى تفاقم هذه المخاطر، وما الذي تستطيع الولايات المتحدة وحلفاؤها فعله حيال ذلك.

نشاط الأسلحة الإيرانية قبل فرض العقوبات وخلالها

بين عامي 1989 و2007، أجرت إيران العديد من المعاملات مع دول أخرى لتعزيز ترسانتها العسكرية. فقد اشترت سيلاً متواصلاً من الطائرات المقاتلة، والغواصات، ودبابات المعارك الرئيسية، وناقلات الجنود المدرعة، والصواريخ المضادة للطائرات من موسكو وبكين، وشاركت معهما في تصميم وإنتاج قذائف مضادة للسفن وصواريخ مضادة للطائرات. واستوردت القطع واستعانت بخبراء أسلحة من هذه البلدان وغيرها. وطوّرت برامج أسلحة رئيسية مثل صاروخ "شهاب 3" الباليستي المتوسط المدى الذي شمل تطويره مكونات من مصادر دولية ومساعدة من كوريا الشمالية وغيرها.

ومع ذلك، فإن العديد من هذه التبادلات قد توقف في عام 2007، عندما اشتد زخم عقوبات الأمم المتحدة رداً على انكشاف البرنامج النووي الإيراني السري. ونتيجة لذلك، بدأت طهران في الاستثمار أكثر في صناعتها العسكرية المحلية وفي الدراية الفنية. وساعد هذا التحول، مقترناً بإعادة تنظيم قواته المسلحة واستراتيجيته العسكرية، النظام على تحقيق بعض التقدم الجدير بالملاحظة في حد ذاته، مثل إنتاج مجموعة واسعة من القذائف المضادة للسفن والصواريخ الباليستية والصواريخ الجوالة (كروز) ونشرها، وتطوير صناعة مُعتبَرة للطائرات المسيّرة، وتعزيز معظم شبكته الخاصة بالدفاع الجوي باستخدام رادارات محلية الصُنْع ونُظم رشاشات ومقذوفات أرض-جو. تجدر الإشارة إلى أنّ الهجوم الصاروخي الذي شنته إيران مؤخراً على القوات الأمريكية في "قاعدة الأسد الجوية" في العراق تضمّن اثنين من هذه الأسلحة المتطورة محلياً، وهما صاروخ "قيام-1/2" و"فاتح-313".

ومع ذلك، لا تزال إيران تعاني من العوائق التكنولوجية ولا يزال يتعين عليها استيراد بعض المواد الخام (مثل السبائك المتخصِّصة) والمكونات الرئيسية (مثل أنظمة الدفع عالية الأداء). وتأمل في تأمين الدراية الفنية من روسا والصين والتعاون معهما من أجل تصميم وبناء جيلها التالي من السفن الحربية والغواصات ذات العيار الثقيل. وفي الواقع، على هذه السفن العابرة للمحيطات تلبية هدف النظام المتمثل في التحول إلى قوة بحرية تعمل في "المياه الزرقاء".

ولتحقيق هذه الغاية، وقّعت طهران وبكين مذكرة تعاون دفاعي في عام 2016. وفي الآونة الأخيرة، سافر حسين خانزادي، قائد القوة البحرية في جمهورية إيران الإسلامية، إلى الصين في نيسان/إبريل الماضي، وقام وفد برئاسة رئيس الأركان العامة للقوات المسلحة محمد باقري بزيارتها في أيلول/سبتمبر لمناقشة التعاون العلمي والصناعي الرفيع المستوى في المستقبل. كما عرض باقري على بكين اتفاق تعاون دفاعي مدته خمسة وعشرين عاماً، وافق المرشد الأعلى على محتوياته السرية على وجه التحديد. ويبدو أنّ الصين لم ترد بعد على هذا العرض، ولكنها أرسلت وفداً دفاعياً وبحرياً إلى طهران في تشرين الثاني/ نوفمبر لاستكشاف التعاون العملياتي والتكنولوجي.

وفي الوقت نفسه، سافر باقري إلى موسكو في شباط/فبراير 2019 لمتابعة اتفاقات تعاون دفاعي مماثلة. وتشير تقارير غير مؤكدة أيضاً إلى أن إيران عرضت شراء عدد كبير من الطائرات المقاتلة الروسية مقابل أسعار مخفضة للنفط الخام.

وقد يتبلور مثل هذا التعاون مع أي من البلدين عندما تنتهي قيود الأمم المتحدة في تشرين الأول/أكتوبر. وسيعتمد ذلك أيضاً على ما إذا كانت العقوبات الأمريكية ستستمر في صيغتها الحالية أم لا.

أين تقف الأمور اليوم؟

منذ تنفيذ قرار مجلس الأمن 2231 في عام 2015، فُرضت قيود مختلفة على الأنشطة الإيرانية المرتبطة بالأسلحة. فالفقرة 5 من الملحق "ب" من ذلك القرار تمنع جميع الدول الأعضاء ومواطنيها من توريد أنواع معينة من الأسلحة أو بيعها أو نقلها إلى إيران سواء بشكل مباشر أو غير مباشر، ما لم يوافق عليها المجلس مسبقاً (انظر الجدول في أسفل المقالة). وتقتصر هذه النُظم المقيّدة على الدبابات القتالية، والمركبات القتالية المدرعة، ونظم المدفعية ذات العيار الكبير، والطائرات المقاتلة، والمروحيات الهجومية، والسفن الحربية، ونظم القذائف، والأعتدة ذات الصلة، بما في ذلك قطع الغيار. ولكن لا تنص الفقرة صراحة على ما إذا كانت "الأعتدة ذات الصلة" تشمل المواد الخام، أو لوازم التعديل، أو العناصر ذات الاستخدام المزدوج، ولكن هناك سبب قانوني لافتراض أنها تغطي الاحتمالين الأولين على الأقل. كما أنّ توفير التدريب الفني، والمشورة، والموارد/الخدمات المالية ذات الصلة لإيران رهن بموافقة المجلس المسبقة.

ووفقاً لسجل الأمم المتحدة للأسلحة التقليدية، تشمل الصواريخ المشمولة بهذا البند "الصواريخ الموجهة أو غير الموجهة، أو الصواريخ الباليستية أو صواريخ "كروز" الجوالة القادرة على حمل رأس حربي أو سلاح دمار شامل التي لا يقل مداها عن 25 كيلومتراً، والوسائل المصمّمة أو المعدّلة خصّيصاً لإطلاق مثل هذه الصواريخ أو القذائف." أمّا الفئة الفرعية فتشمل طائرات بدون طيار ذات خصائص صاروخية، مثل تلك التي استُخدمت في هجوم أيلول/سبتمبر على منشآت النفط التابعة لشركة "أرامكو" السعودية. وتشمل أيضاً قذائف الهاون الصاروخية التي تُعد إيران من أكبر منتجيها، والتي يتم استخدام عياراتها المختلفة على نطاق واسع في جميع مناطق الصراع السورية والعراقية. يشار إلى أنّ هذا البند يستبعد معظم القذائف أرض-جو، باستثناء منظومات الدفاع الجوي المحمولة.

ولكن من المؤسف أنّ أياً من القرارات الموجهة إلى إيران لم ينجح في تقليص برنامجها الصاروخي إلى حد كبير، ويعزى ذلك جزئياً إلى لهجتها المخففة في هذا الصدد. فالقرار 2231 بالكاد "دعا" النظام إلى عدم القيام بأي عمليات إطلاق أو أي نشاط آخر يتصل بالصواريخ الباليستية "المصممة لتكون قادرة على حمل الأسلحة النووية" - وهو تعريف مبهم ويتعذّر التحقق منه بحكم صياغته. وسيظل هذا البند سارياً حتى تشرين الأول/أكتوبر 2023، ولكن إيران أحرزت تقدماً مطرداً فيما يتعلق بهذه الصواريخ لسنوات على الرغم من القيود المفروضة عليها، ومن المتوقع أن تستمر في ذلك على المدى المنظور ما لم توافق على اتفاق أمني شامل مع الغرب.

وتفرض الفقرة 6 (ب) من الملحق "ب" من القرار 2231 قيوداً مماثلة على "توريد أو بيع أو نقل الأسلحة أو الأعتدة ذات الصلة من إيران من قبل مواطنيها أو باستخدام السفن التي ترفع أعلامها أو طائراتها سواء أكان ذلك انطلاقاً من أراضيها أم لا." ويتعين على الدول الأعضاء أن تتخذ الإجراءات اللازمة لمنع مثل هذه الأنشطة، ولو أن الفقرة لا تحدد الأسلحة الخاضعة للقيود.

وفي بعض الأحيان سعت إيران للالتفاف على هذه القيود من خلال نقل الأنظمة المسموح بها إلى وكلائها في الخارج علناً، ثم نقل المكونات المحظورة سراً ليتم إضافتها إلى تلك الأعتدة في وقت لاحق. فعلى سبيل المثال، أفادت التقارير بأنها زودت الميليشيات الشيعية العراقية بعربات "سفير" و"آراس" التكتيكية غير المسلحة، وذلك لتهريب القطع المحظورة لاحقاً التي من شأنها أن تسمح بتجهيز المركبات بقاذفات صواريخ ورشاشات عديمة الارتداد عيار 106 ملم.

دور آلية حل النزاعات

بموجب آلية حل النزاعات في إطار «خطة العمل الشاملة المشتركة»، إذا كان أي طرف في الاتفاق النووي يعتقد أن إيران لا تفي بالتزاماتها، فبوسعه أن يحيل المسألة إلى اللجنة المشتركة لحلها. وفي 14 كانون الثاني/يناير، اتخذت الأطراف الأوروبية (بريطانيا وفرنسا وألمانيا) هذه الخطوة رداً على تحركات إيران الأخيرة الخارجة عن الاتفاق النووي. وإذا بقيت هذه المسألة أو أي نزاع في المستقبل دون حل بعد استنفاد عملية الحل المصحوبة بجهود صادقة، يجب على مجلس الأمن الدولي التصويت على قرار لمواصلة التعليق الفعلي للقرارات السابقة والقيود المرتبطة بها. ويجب على المجلس أن يعتمد هذا القرار الجديد في غضون ثلاثين يوماً، وهو ما لن يحدث ببساطة لأن الولايات المتحدة ستمارس حق النقض بكل تأكيد.

وإذا فشل القرار الجديد فـ "ستعود" القرارات السابقة إلى حيز التنفيذ، بما فيها قرارات مجلس الأمن 1696 و1737 و1747 و1803 و1835 و1929 و2224. وكما يوضح الجدول أدناه، تتضمن هذه القرارات القديمة أحكاماً غير نووية مختلفة التي يمكن أن توفّر نظرياً تكليفاً دولياً قوياً لمنع التعاون في مجال الأسلحة مع إيران. وخلافاً للمهلة التي توفرها «خطة العمل الشاملة المشتركة»، فإن القيود في هذه القرارات القديمة لا تنقضي أبداً؛ فهي تستمر إلى أن يصوت مجلس الأمن على إلغائها، وهو إجراء تملك الولايات المتحدة حق النقض فيه.

غير أنه من الصعب تصور أي آلية لعودة العقوبات تمنع إيران من تسليم الأسلحة إلى وكلائها الإقليميين، وذلك لأنها استمرت في القيام بذلك على مر السنين بموجب قرارات مختلفة، باستخدام أساليب يصعب منعها (على سبيل المثال، وضع صناديق الذخيرة على مقاعد الركاب في الطائرات المدنية المستأجرة). وعلاوة على ذلك، لا يمكن تطبيق العقوبات المُعاد فرضها بأثر رجعي على العقود التي سبق أن سُمِح لإيران بالتوقيع عليها مع أطراف أخرى أثناء تنفيذ «خطة العمل الشاملة المشتركة».

الخاتمة

في الوقت الحالي، هناك احتمال ضئيل بأن يرعى مجلس الأمن أي مبادرة لتمديد القيود الحالية على الأسلحة إلى ما بعد تشرين الأول/أكتوبر. ولكن بوسع الولايات المتحدة أن تستخدم نزاع التخصيب الحالي، واستعداد أوروبا الواضح لأن تكون أكثر حزماً مع إيران، وتهديد طهران الأخير بالانسحاب من معاهدة عدم انتشار الأسلحة النووية كسبب للجوء إلى الرد بقسوة.

على أي حال، يتعين على واشنطن أن تزيد من جهودها الفردية لثني الصين والدول الأخرى عن التعاون مع إيران فيما بتعلق بالتكنولوجيات والدراية العسكرية الحساسة. كما يجب أن تستعد لمزيد من انتشار الأسلحة، التي يمكن نسبها إلى إيران أو التي لا يمكن عزوها إليها، في مختلف البؤر الساخنة في المنطقة، وذلك جزئياً من خلال التدقيق بشكل أوثق في طرق النقل والطرق اللوجستية التابعة للنظام.

 

فرزين نديمي هو زميل مشارك في معهد واشنطن، ومتخصص في شؤون الأمن والدفاع المتعلقة بإيران ومنطقة الخليج.

انقر على الصورة أدناه لرؤية ملف الـ "بي. دي. إف" للجدول الكامل.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 3246

Lifting the Arms Restrictions on Iran: What Will and Won’t Change

Farzin Nadimi

Also available in العربية فارسی

January 23, 2020


UN limits on Iranian weapons transactions will expire in a few short months, and even snapback sanctions may be insufficient to prevent proliferation of dangerous arms to and from the regime.

On October 18, all restrictions imposed on Iran as part of the 2015 Joint Comprehensive Plan of Action (JCPOA) will expire, and Tehran will be technically free to sell or import almost any weapons it desires. Its thirst for reentering the realm of international military collaboration and arms exchanges seems keen, as evidenced by its recent joint naval drills with Russia and China and other developments. Meanwhile, years of sanctions have led to advances in Tehran’s own weapons manufacturing industry, creating further proliferation hazards and threats to regional stability. The question is whether allowing the 2015 restrictions to expire will exacerbate these dangers, and what the United States and its allies can do about it.

IRANIAN ARMS ACTIVITY BEFORE AND DURING SANCTIONS

Between 1989 and 2007, Iran conducted numerous transactions with other nations to bolster its military arsenal. It purchased a steady stream of combat aircraft, submarines, main battle tanks, armored personnel carriers, and antiaircraft missiles from Moscow and Beijing, and engaged in collaborative design and production of antiship and antiaircraft missiles with them. It imported parts and hired weapons experts from these and other countries. And it matured key weapons programs such as the Shahab-3 medium-range ballistic missile, development of which involved internationally sourced components and assistance from North Korea, among others.

Yet many of these exchanges came to an end in 2007, when UN sanctions gained momentum in response to the exposure of Iran’s covert nuclear program. As a result, Tehran began to invest more in its domestic military industry and know-how. This shift, combined with reorganization of its armed forces and military strategy, helped the regime achieve some noteworthy advances on its own, such as producing and fielding a wide range of antiship, ballistic, and cruise missiles, developing a respectable drone industry, and reinforcing most of its air defense network using domestically produced radars and surface-to-air gun and missile systems. Iran’s recent missile attack against U.S. forces at al-Asad Air Base in Iraq involved two such domestically developed weapons, the Qiam-1/2 and Fateh-313.

Even so, Iran still suffers from technological bottlenecks and must still import certain raw materials (e.g., specialized alloys) and key components (e.g., high-performance propulsion systems). It also hopes to secure Chinese and Russian know-how and collaboration on designing and building its own next-generation heavy warships (7,000-plus tons) and submarines. Such oceangoing vessels are required to meet the regime’s goal of becoming a blue-water naval power.

Toward that end, Tehran and Beijing signed a defense cooperation memorandum in 2016. More recently, Hossein Khanzadi, commander of the Islamic Republic of Iran Navy, traveled to China last April, and a delegation led by Armed Forces General Staff chairman Mohammad Bagheri visited in September to discuss future high-level scientific and industrial cooperation. Bagheri also offered Beijing a twenty-five-year defense cooperation agreement whose secret contents were specifically endorsed by Supreme Leader Ali Khamenei. China apparently has not responded to this offer yet, but it sent a defense and naval delegation to Tehran in November to explore operational and technological cooperation.

Meanwhile, Bagheri traveled to Moscow in February 2019 to follow up on similar defense cooperation agreements. Unconfirmed reports also indicate that Iran has offered to buy a significant number of Russian fighter jets in return for discounted crude oil.

Such cooperation with either country could take more meaningful shape when UN restrictions expire in October. This will also depend on whether U.S. sanctions continue in their current form.

WHERE THINGS STAND TODAY

Since the implementation of UN Security Council Resolution 2231 in 2015, various restrictions have been placed on Iran’s weapons-related activities. Paragraph 5, Annex B of that resolution bars all member states and their nationals from supplying, selling, or transferring certain types of weapons to Iran either directly or indirectly, unless approved in advance by the council (see table at bottom). These restricted systems are limited to battle tanks, armored combat vehicles, large-caliber artillery systems, combat aircraft, attack helicopters, warships, missile systems, and related materiel, including spare parts. The paragraph does not explicitly state whether “related materiel” includes raw material, modification kits, or dual-use items, but there is legal ground for assuming that at least the first two are covered. Also subject to the council’s preapproval are the provision of technical training, advice, and related financial resources/services to Iran.

According to the UN Register of Conventional Arms, the missiles covered by this provision include “guided or unguided rockets, ballistic or cruise missiles capable of delivering a warhead or weapon of destruction to a range of at least 25 kilometers, and means designed or modified specifically for launching such missiles or rockets.” The latter subcategory includes drones with missile characteristics, such as the ones used in the September attack on Saudi Aramco oil facilities. It also includes rocket-assisted mortars; Iran is a major producer of such weapons, various calibers of which are in wide use throughout the Syrian and Iraqi conflict zones. Yet the provision excludes most surface-to-air missiles, with the exception of man-portable air-defense systems (MANPADS).

Unfortunately, none of the resolutions aimed at Iran have managed to significantly curtail its missile program, due in part to their diluted language on the matter. Resolution 2231 merely “called upon” the regime not to undertake any launches or other activity related to ballistic missiles “designed to be capable of delivering nuclear weapons”—a vague and unverifiable definition by design. This provision will remain in force until October 2023, but Iran has been making steady progress on such missiles for years despite the restriction, and can be expected to continue doing so in the future unless it agrees to a comprehensive security deal with the West.

Paragraph 6(b), Annex B of Resolution 2231 applies similar restrictions on “the supply, sale, or transfer of arms or related materiel from Iran by their nationals or using their flag vessels or aircraft, whether or not originating in the territory of Iran.” Member states are required to take the necessary measures to prevent such activities, though the passage does not specify which arms are restricted.

At times, Iran has sought to get around these restrictions by openly transferring permitted systems to its proxies abroad, then covertly transferring restricted components to be added to those items later. For example, it has reportedly provided Iraqi Shia militias with Safir and Aras unarmed tactical vehicles, only to later smuggle prohibited parts that allow them to fit the vehicles with rocket launchers and 106 mm recoilless guns.

ROLE OF THE DISPUTE RESOLUTION MECHANISM

Under the JCPOA’s dispute resolution mechanism, if any parties to the nuclear deal believe that Iran is not meeting its commitments, they can refer the matter to the Joint Commission for resolution. On January 14, the European parties (Britain, France, and Germany) took that step in response to Iran’s recent moves away from the nuclear deal. If this matter or any future disputes remain unsolved after exhausting the resolution process with good-faith efforts, the Security Council must vote on a resolution to continue the effective suspension of previous resolutions and their associated restrictions. The council must adopt this new resolution within thirty days, which simply will not happen because the United States would surely exercise its veto.

If the new resolution fails, then previous resolutions would “snap back” into force, including UNSCR 1696, 1737, 1747, 1803, 1835, 1929, and 2224. As the table below shows, these older resolutions include various nonnuclear provisions that could theoretically offer a strong international mandate to prevent weapons cooperation with Iran. Unlike the JCPOA limits, the restrictions in these older resolutions never expire; they last until the Security Council votes to repeal them, an action over which the United States has veto power.

Yet it is difficult to envisage any snapback mechanism deterring Iran from delivering arms to its regional proxies, since it has continued to do so over the years under various resolutions, using methods that are tough to prevent (e.g., placing ammunition boxes on passenger seats of chartered civilian airliners). Moreover, snapback sanctions cannot be retroactively applied to contracts that Iran has previously been permitted to sign with other parties while under the JCPOA.

CONCLUSION

At present, there is little prospect that the Security Council will sponsor any initiative to extend the current weapons restrictions past October. However, the United States could use the current enrichment dispute, Europe’s apparent readiness to get tougher on Iran, and Tehran’s latest threat to quit the Nuclear Nonproliferation Treaty as cause for compelling a snapback situation.

In any case, Washington should increase its individual efforts to discourage China and other countries from cooperating with Iran on sensitive military technology and know-how. It should also prepare for even greater proliferation of attributable and nonattributable Iranian weapons throughout the region’s flashpoints, in part by scrutinizing the regime’s transfer and logistical routes even more closely.

Farzin Nadimi is an associate fellow with The Washington Institute, specializing in the security and defense affairs of Iran and the Gulf region.

Click on the image below to see a PDF of the full table.