أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 3013

الغاز الإسرائيلي يقترب من الشاطئ، لكن التحديات مستمرة

سايمون هندرسون

متاح أيضاً في English

7 أيلول/سبتمبر 2018


تحت أنظار مجموعة صغيرة من المتظاهرين البيئيين المخيمين على الشاطئ الإسرائيلي "دور"، يضع المهندسون اللمسات الأخيرة على خط أنابيب مخصص لحقل "لڤياثان" البحري للغاز الطبيعي التابع لإسرائيل. وسيتم وصل الخط الواقع بين تل أبيب وحيفا بشبكة تنقل أساساً الغاز من حقل غاز "تامار" الأصغر حجماً إلى محطات توليد الطاقة والمنشآت الصناعية المنتشرة في جميع أنحاء إسرائيل. وعلى بعد ثلاثين ميلاً إلى الشرق، يعمل مهندسون آخرون على خط أنابيب سيعبر إلى الأردن، حيث من المتوقع أن يولّد غاز "لڤياثان" القسم الأكبر من الطاقة الكهربائية في المملكة ابتداءً من عام 2020.

وقد تمت مناقشة بدائل أخرى مختلفة فيما يتعلق بالغاز الإسرائيلي، ومنها خط أنابيب محتمل تحت سطح البحر يصل إلى قبرص واليونان وإيطاليا، إلا أن مسارات [نقل الغاز من] حقل "لڤياثان" التي بات إنجازها قريباً هي أكثر الخيارات الواعدة للمستقبل القريب. كما يمكن تطوير حقول أصغر حجماً في المنطقة الاقتصادية الحصرية البحرية لإسرائيل، لكنها أقل حجماً بكثير من نطاق حقل "لڤياثان"، في حين يُعتبر التنقيب عن الغاز في المنطقة الشمالية محدوداً بسبب عدم وجود حدود بحرية معترف بها مع لبنان. والآن بعد أن أصبح الاستغلال الكامل لحقل "لڤياثان" حقيقة واقعة، فإن الأسئلة التي تطرح نفسها هنا، ما هي خيارات التصدير التي يقدمها، وما هي العقبات التي قد تبرز لإحباطها؟

الوضع الحالي لـ "لڤياثان"

على الرغم من صغر حجم احتياطات الغاز الإسرائيلية على الصعيد العالمي، إلا أن الأرقام المرتبطة بحقل "لڤياثان" قد تغير قواعد اللعبة في المشرق. ففي بداية أيلول/سبتمبر الحالي، وصفت الشركة الأمريكية "نوبل إينرجي" هذا الحقل الذي اكتشفته عام 2010، بأنه "خزان رائع". ويُقدَّر أنّه يحتوي على أكثر من 22 تريليون قدم مكعب من الغاز. ولوضع هذا الرقم في سياقه الصحيح، يضم حقل "تامار" 10 تريليونات قدم مكعب فقط من الغاز، إلا أنه يؤمّن حوالي 60 في المائة من الطاقة الكهربائية لإسرائيل وسيستمر في القيام بذلك لسنوات عديدة.

وبالتالي، عندما يبدأ تشغيل حقل "لڤياثان"، فسيُمكّن إسرائيل بأن تصبح دولةً مصدّرةً للغاز. وقد سبق وأن تم مد خطوط الأنابيب من "لڤياثان" الذي يقع على بعد 80 ميلاً تقريباً من الشاطئ وعلى عمق 6 آلاف قدم؛ وتنتظر هذه الخطوط وصلها بمنصة إنتاج يجري استكمالها حالياً في تكساس. ومن المقرر أن يتم جر إطار المنصة عبر المحيط الأطلسي قريباً، لينطلق في رحلته في نهاية تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر ويصل في بداية العام المقبل. وحينما يكون على مسافة تقرب من ستة أميال من الشاطئ، سيتم تحميله بوحدات معالجة من أجل تنظيف الغاز وتجفيفه قبل وصوله إلى الشاطئ.

الخلاف والجدل

على الرغم من الاحتمالات التي يشكلها توفير الغاز الإسرائيلي لأمن الطاقة، فإن تطوير احتياطياته قد تَميَّز بنقاش مفعم بالحيوية على المستويين السياسي والعام. وكان من المزمع أساساً أن يبدأ تشغيل حقل "لڤياثان" في عام 2017. وتمت تهدئة المخاوف الأولية بشأن هيمنة شركة "نوبل إينرجي" في قطاع الغاز عندما قامت الشركة ببيع بعض من أسهمها في حقول أخرى وقلصت حصتها في حقل "تامار". كما أثار شركاؤها الإسرائيليون، بمن فيهم شركة "ديليك"، جدلاً سياسياً أيضاً، حيث زعم المعارضون أن اتحاد الشركات كان يتفاوض على سعر مرتفع جداً للغاز.

وفي غضون ذلك، يدّعي أنصار حماية البيئة - بمن فيهم المخيّمون على شاطئ "دور" وبضعة آلاف من المتظاهرين الآخرين الذين تجمعوا في وسط تل أبيب في الأول من أيلول/سبتمبر وفقاً لبعض التقارير - أن وضع منصة غاز على مسافة قريبة جداً من الشاطئ يُعتبر أمراً خطيراً بما أن السائل المكثف المستخرج في عملية التنظيف قد يتدفق نحو المياه المحلية. وفي المقابل، يدافع هؤلاء عن منشأة عائمة تقع مباشرةً فوق حقل "لڤياثان". ومع ذلك، يبدو أن مجموعة من الاعتبارات الهندسية والأمنية تتفوق على حججهم، إذ يعتقد البعض أن خطر السائل المكثف مبالغاً فيه وأنه سيتم التخفيف منه من خلال التدابير الخاصة بالسلامة. فالمنصة المزمع تثبيتها تُعتبر أكثر عملية بكثير من منشأة عائمة ويجب أن تكون قريبةً من الشاطئ قبل انخفاض قاع البحر بصورة حادة. كما يمكن الدفاع بشكل أفضل عن منصة قريبة من الشاطئ ضد الصواريخ والتهديدات البحرية. على سبيل المثال، خلال حرب غزة عام 2014 سقطت صواريخ «حماس» بالقرب من شاطئ "دور"، كما أنّ الترسانة الضخمة لصواريخ «حزب الله» في لبنان هي أكثر قرباً.

وثمة مصدر قلق آخر هو واقع إمكانية رؤية المنصة من الشاطئ، خاصة بالنسبة لبعض الأشخاص الذين يعيشون في البلدة الراقية "زخرون يعقوف" الواقعة على هضبة ساحلية. ولكن السكان يعيشون هناك منذ عقود ولديهم نظرة مماثلة قريبة تجاه محطة توليد الكهرباء في "الخضيرة" التي تعمل على الفحم الحجري ومداخنها الأربعة العملاقة. ومن المتوقع أن تَغلق هذه المحطة أبوابها في غضون أربع سنوات. إن النظرة الأكثر تمثيلاً لمستقبل الطاقة في إسرائيل، هو محطة "حاغيت" لتوليد الطاقة التي تعمل على الغاز، والتي يمكن رؤيتها أيضاً من بلدة "زخرون يعقوف" ولكنها تقبع في رقعة مخفية في التلال الشرقية.

إعادة العمل بخطوط الأنابيب القديمة

بما أن تطوير حقل "لڤياثان" لن يكون مجدياً من الناحية الاقتصادية إلا إذا استطاعت إسرائيل تصدير معظم الغاز الذي يحويه، فمن الضروري تأمين طرق [نقله] إلى الأردن ومصر. ويُجنّب استخدام خطوط الأنابيب القائمة نفقات إنشاء خطوط أنابيب جديدة أو بناء محطة لتصدير الغاز الطبيعي المسال على الساحل، الأمر الذي سيولّد مخاوف بيئية أخرى. وسيكون جزء خط الأنابيب الذي يمتد إلى الأردن جديداً، إلا أنه سيستخدم حق المرور الذي تم إنشاؤه أصلاً من خلال خط الأنابيب القديم الممتد من كركوك إلى حيفا الذي كان يصدّر النفط العراقي بين عامي 1935 و1948، وهو السبب الذي دفع إلى بناء مصفاة في حيفا، التي هي الأكبر في إسرائيل حالياً.

وعند وصوله إلى الأردن، سيتصل الغاز المتدفق الآتي من حقل "لڤياثان" بـ "خط أنابيب الغاز العربي" القديم الذي كان ينقل إمدادات من مصر إلى الأردن وسوريا ولبنان حتى عام 2013، عندما أدّت الفوضى السياسية في القاهرة إلى تعطيل عمليات التصدير. ويبدو أن الخطة تعتمد حالياً على إرسال الغاز من حقل "لڤياثان" إلى مصر عبر هذا الطريق الدائري، نزولاً باتجاه خليج العقبة وصعوداً عبر شبه جزيرة سيناء. ويُعدّ عكس اتجاه المضخات وإعادة تأهيل خط الأنابيب أقل تكلفةً بكثير من بناء خط أنابيب جديد.

ومن التطورات المحتملة الأخرى اقتراح يقضي بإرسال الغاز الإسرائيلي من حقل "تامار" (ولاحقاً من حقل "لڤياثان") إلى مصر على طول "خط أنابيب غاز شرق المتوسط" القديم الذي كان يُستخدم لإرسال الإمدادات من العريش إلى عسقلان حتى عام 2013. ففي 30 آب/أغسطس، صرّح الرئيس التنفيذي لشركة "ديليك" أساف بارتفلد أن "المفاوضات حول شراء خط أنابيب شركة «إي إم جي» مستمرة". وفي 5 أيلول/سبتمبر، صرح رئيس مجلس إدارة شركة "نوبل إينرجي" ديفيد ستوفر أن "العمل جارٍ على تعزيز الوصول إلى مصر" وأن "التحديثات والأخبار" المتعلقة بتلك الجهود ستصبح متوفرة "عما قريب".

التحديات المستقبلية

يذكّر تعطّل تدفق الغاز المصري إلى إسرائيل والأردن بعد الإطاحة بنظام مبارك بأنّ ترتيبات الطاقة الناشئة في المنطقة هي دائماً عرضة للمخاطر السياسية. ومنذ ذلك الحين أصبحت إسرائيل أحد مورّدي الغاز الأكثر موثوقية للأردن، ووفقاً لشركة "نوبل إينرجي"، لم تؤدي الاكتشافات البحرية الأخيرة في مصر إلى تقليل الطلب المحلي للغاز الذي لا ينضب على ما يبدو. ومع ذلك، لا يزال الرأي العام في البلدين سلبياً للغاية تجاه إسرائيل، ويُعد التعاون في مجال الغاز هدفاً متكرراً لهذا الاستياء.

ويبدو أنّ الحكومة المصرية الحالية على استعداد تام لشراء الغاز الإسرائيلي، غير أن الطريق المفترض لمثل هذه الإمدادات-  شمال سيناء - لا يزال يشكل مصدر قلق أمني. فقد تعرض جزء خط الأنابيب الواقع في سيناء لهجمات الجهاديين منذ خمسة أعوام، وفي حين تدّعي القاهرة أنها جددت جهود مكافحة الإرهاب هناك، إلّا أن عليها أن تُظهر نجاحاً طويل الأمد.

كما أن التوترات المستمرة بين إسرائيل، و«حماس» و«حزب الله» يمكن أن تنفجر وتفضي إلى جولة جديدة من الأعمال العدائية في أي وقت. وقد تمكنت الدفاعات الصاروخية الإسرائيلية من تفادي أضرار كبيرة في البنى التحتية في الجولات السابقة، إلا أنها قد تفشل في النزاعات المستقبلية مع مواجهتها المزيد من القذائف (أو قذائف أكثر دقة).

ومع ذلك،  يبدو أن مشروع حقل "لڤياثان" قد أوشك أخيراً على الانتهاء. ومن وجهة نظر الولايات المتحدة، هناك سبب إضافي للاحتفال وهو أن هذا المشروع يجمع بين الأعمال والتقنية الأمريكية وبين الجهود الدبلوماسية الهادئة التي تقوم بها واشنطن لمساعدة شركائها الإقليميين على العمل معاً.

 

سايمون هندرسون هو زميل "بيكر" ومدير برنامج الخليج وسياسة الطاقة في معهد واشنطن.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 3013

Israeli Gas Is Almost Ashore, But Challenges Remain

Simon Henderson

Also available in العربية

September 7, 2018


Environmental concerns, uncertainty over export routes, and future security risks overshadow the latest progress in bringing the Leviathan field online.

Watched over by a small group of environmental protestors camped on the beach at Dor, engineers are putting the final touches on a pipeline for Israel’s Leviathan offshore natural gas reservoir. Located between Tel Aviv and Haifa, the line will connect to a network that already transports gas from the smaller Tamar field to power stations and industrial plants across Israel. And thirty miles to the east, other engineers are working on a line that will cross into Jordan, with Leviathan gas predicted to generate most of the kingdom’s electricity from 2020.

Various other alternatives for Israeli gas have been discussed, including a possible undersea line to Cyprus, Greece, and Italy, but the imminent Leviathan routes are the most promising options for the foreseeable future. Smaller fields in Israel’s offshore exclusive economic zone may be developed as well, but they are far below Leviathan’s scale, while exploration to the north is limited by the lack of a recognized maritime border with Lebanon. Now that full exploitation of Leviathan finally seems like a reality, what export options does it present, and what obstacles may yet arise to thwart them?

LEVIATHAN’S CURRENT STATUS

Although Israel’s gas reserves are small in global terms, the numbers associated with Leviathan could be a game changer in the Levant. Noble Energy, the U.S. company that discovered the field in 2010, described it earlier this week as an “amazing reservoir.” It is estimated to contain more than 22 trillion cubic feet of gas. To put this figure in perspective, the Tamar field contains only 10 tcf yet still manages to provide around 60 percent of Israel’s electricity and will do so for many years.

Thus, when Leviathan comes online, it will enable Israel to become a gas exporter. Pipelines from Leviathan, which lies nearly eighty miles offshore and 6,000 feet deep, have already been laid, awaiting connection to a production platform currently being completed in Texas. The platform’s framework is due to be towed across the Atlantic soon, leaving at the end of November and arriving early next year. Once in position around six miles offshore, it will be mounted with processing units to clean and dry the gas before it reaches shore.

CONTROVERSY

Despite its prospects of providing energy security, the development of Israel’s gas reserves has been marked by lively political and public debate. Originally, Leviathan was planned to come onstream in 2017. Initial concerns about Noble’s dominance in the gas sector were alleviated when the company sold off some of its interests in other fields and reduced its stake in the Tamar field. Its Israeli partners, including Delek, have also raised political controversy, with opponents alleging that the consortium was negotiating too high a price for the gas.

Meanwhile, green campaigners—including the campers at Dor and another couple thousand protestors who reportedly gathered in central Tel Aviv on September 1—claim that placing a gas platform so close to shore is dangerous because condensate extracted in the cleaning process could spill into local waters. Instead, they advocate a floating facility located directly above Leviathan. Yet their arguments are seemingly outweighed by a combination of engineering and security considerations: some believe the condensate risk is exaggerated and will be minimized by safety measures; the planned platform is much more practical than a floating installation and needs to be close to shore before the seabed drops steeply; and a near-shore platform can be better defended from missiles and seaborne threats. For example, Hamas rockets landed near Dor during the 2014 Gaza war, and Hezbollah’s huge arsenal of missiles in Lebanon is even closer.

Another concern is that the platform will be visible from shore, particularly for some people living in the upscale coastal hill town of Zichron Yaakov. But residents have lived there for decades with a similarly close view of the coal-fired Hadera power station and its four giant chimneys. That station is expected to shut down in four years; a more representative view of Israel’s energy future is the gas-fired Hagit power station, which can also be seen from Zichron Yaakov but nestles unobtrusively in the hills to the east.

REWORKING OLD PIPELINES

Since developing Leviathan only makes economic sense if Israel can export much of its gas, securing routes to Jordan and Egypt is vital. Using existing pipelines avoids the expense of laying new ones or building a liquefied natural gas export plant on the coast, which would prompt environmental concerns of its own. The portion of the line extending to Jordan will be new, but it will use the right of way already established by the old line from Kirkuk to Haifa, which exported Iraqi oil between 1935 and 1948—the reason why a refinery, now Israel’s biggest, was built in Haifa.

Once in Jordan, the flow from Leviathan will connect with the old Arab Gas Pipeline, which carried supplies from Egypt to Jordan, Syria, and Lebanon until 2013, when political chaos in Cairo disrupted exports. The plan now seems to hinge on sending Leviathan gas to Egypt via this circuitous route, down to the Gulf of Aqaba and up through the Sinai Peninsula. Reversing the pumps and rehabilitating the pipe is far cheaper than building a new one.

Another potential twist is the proposal to send Israeli gas from Tamar (and, later, Leviathan) to Egypt along the old East Mediterranean Gas Pipeline, which was used to send supplies from al-Arish to Ashkelon up until 2013. On August 30, Delek chief executive Asaf Bartfeld stated that “negotiations on the purchase of the EMG pipeline continue.” And on September 5, Noble chairman David Stover stated that “work is going on solidifying the access into Egypt,” and that “updates and news” would be available on that effort “shortly.”

FUTURE CHALLENGES

The disruption of Egypt’s gas flows to Israel and Jordan after the Mubarak regime’s ouster is a reminder that emerging energy arrangements in the region are always subject to political risks. Israel has since become one of Jordan’s most reliable suppliers, and according to Noble, Egypt’s recent offshore discoveries have not dented its seemingly inexhaustible domestic demand for gas. Yet public opinion in both countries remains very negative toward Israel, and gas cooperation is a frequent target of this resentment.

Egypt’s current government seems quite willing to buy Israeli gas, but the presumed route for such supplies—northern Sinai—is still a security concern. The Sinai portion of the pipeline was plagued by jihadist attacks five years ago, and while Cairo claims to have renewed counterterrorism efforts there, it needs to show long-term success.

Israel’s ongoing tensions with Hamas and Hezbollah could likewise erupt in a fresh round of hostilities at any time. Israeli missile defenses have been able to stave off major infrastructure damage in previous rounds, but they could be overwhelmed in future conflicts by more (or more-accurate) projectiles.

Nevertheless, the Leviathan project at last seems to be coming together. From the U.S. perspective, an additional cause for celebration is that it combines American business and technology with Washington’s quiet diplomatic efforts to help regional partners work together.

Simon Henderson is the Baker Fellow and director of the Bernstein Program on Gulf and Energy Policy at The Washington Institute.