أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 1966

إسرائيل ومصر: تقارير من منطقة متغيرة

ديفيد ماكوفسكي و اريك تراجر

متاح أيضاً في English

30 تموز/يوليو 2012


في 25 تموز/يوليو، خاطب زميل زيغلر المميز في معهد واشنطن ديفيد ماكوفسكي منتدى سياسي شارك فيه زميل الجيل التالي في المعهد إريك تراغر. والسيد ماكوفسكي عاد مؤخراً من رحلة إلى إسرائيل ورام الله، بينما قضى تراغر أغلب أيام حزيران/يونيو وتموز/يوليو في مصر أجرى خلالها بحث واسع. وفيما يلي خلاصة المقررة لملاحظاتهما.

 

ديفيد ماكوفسكي: إسرائيل وإيران

تحميل تقرير ماكوفسكي عن اتجاهات الرأي العام الإسرائيلي.

تشير المحادثات الأخيرة مع المسؤولين الإسرائيليين إلى أنهم ينظرون إلى مجموعتين من السياسات الأمريكية على أنها محفزات (غير مقصودة) للهجوم على إيران. أولاً، يرى هؤلاء المسؤولين أن هيكل الدبلوماسية الدولية الحالية مع إيران - والذي تلعب فيه واشنطن دوراً بالغ الأهمية - ينطوي على عيوب قاتلة. إذ تقوم المحادثات النووية للدول الخمس دائمة العضوية في مجلس الأمن + 1 (الولايات المتحدة وبريطانيا والصين وفرنسا وروسيا وألمانيا) على فكرة أن رضوخ طهران للضغوط المستمرة هو مسألة وقت وأن بوسع المجتمع الدولي الانتظار. والنتيجة هي ضعف الموقف حيال إجراءات بناء الثقة، مثل مطالبة إيران بالتخلي فقط عن المستوى الأكثر تقدماً لتخصيب اليورانيوم بدلاً من مطالبتها بالتخلص من جميع تلك المواد.

لكن رأي إسرائيل مختلف تماماً بشأن مسألة التوقيت. فإسرائيل ليست قوة عظمى ومن ثم ترى قدراتها العسكرية محدودة وتؤمن بأن نافذة العمل تنغلق أمامها. ولهذا ترى أن المفاوضات المطولة مع إيران ليست سوى أمراً مستهجناً. فإسرائيل ترغب أن تسفر المفاوضات عن دفع طهران إلى التخلي بشكل عاجل عن مخزونها من اليورانيوم منخفض التخصيب (بمعدلات 3.5 بالمائة) والذي يمكن أن يكفي حال تخصيبه بمعدلات أعلى إلى تصنيع نحو أربع قنابل ذرية. وعلاوة على ذلك، ترى إسرائيل إخفاق قوى التحالف في الاعتراف بعجز الدبلوماسية كمؤشر على المماطلة للتيقن من أن إسرائيل لن تلجأ إلى هجوم أحادي الجانب. ولهذا بدأ القادة الإسرائيليون يشعرون بالعزلة كما لو أنه لا يمكنهم سوى الاعتماد على أنفسهم عندما يتعلق الأمر بتسوية المشكلة النووية الإيرانية.

العامل الأمريكي الثاني الذي يُحفِّز إسرائيل على شن هجوم هو القراءة الخاطئة للمناقشات الداخلية في البلاد حول تلك القضية. فرغم تشكك بعض الشخصيات السياسية والعسكرية الإسرائيلية في الحماس الذي أبداه كل من رئيس الوزراء بنيامين نتنياهو ووزير الدفاع إيهود باراك لشن هجوم، إلا أن تلك المعارضة متأصلة في الاعتقاد بأن بإمكان الولايات المتحدة ضرب إيران بفعالية أكبر مما تستطيع إسرائيل. ولا يرى أي وزير أن إيران المسلحة نووياً يمكن احتواؤها كما كان الحال مع الاتحاد السوفيتي - بل يعتمد البعض على الأمل بأن تشن الولايات المتحدة هجوماً على إيران أو تفرض ضدها عقوبات تعجيزية إضافية. وبحسب هذه المدرسة الفكرية، يمكن للجهود التي تتم بقيادة الولايات المتحدة أن تسمح للتحالف متعدد الأطراف بمواصلة فرض العقوبات في أعقاب شن هجوم مما يُحد من فرص طهران في استيراد المواد المطلوبة لإعادة إقامة البرنامج بالكامل. وإذا بدت واشنطن غير راغبة في المضي قدماً في هذا الطريق، فلن يواجه نتنياهو وباراك صعوبات تُذكر في الفوز بالدعم الداخلي لذلك النهج حيث سيؤمن الوزراء بعدم وجود بديل. وبعبارة أخرى، قد ينتهي حذر الولايات المتحدة في هذا الصدد بتحويل النقاش الإسرائيلي وتعزيز نهج نتنياهو وباراك.

وإذا لم يحدث تغيير في سلوكيات الولايات المتحدة، سوف تزداد احتمالات شن هجوم إسرائيلي مع انغلاق نافذة العمل أمامها. إذ تخشى إسرائيل من أن تضع نفسها في موضع لا تستطيع معه إلحاق ضرر قوي ببرنامج إيران النووي، مما سيرغمها على الاعتماد على واشنطن في المستقبل غير المنظور. إن المطلوب هو إجراء حوار بين الولايات المتحدة وإسرائيل لتوسيع نافذة العمل المتاحة أمام إسرائيل على نحو يسمح للبلدين بتنسيق أساليبهما ومزامنتها.

وإلى جانب القدرات العسكرية المحدودة، فإن نافذة العمل أمام إسرائيل ستتشكل عن طريق عاملين آخرين. فباستثناء حرب غزة في 2008-2009، عندما وجدت إسرائيل نفسها مضطرة للرد على وابل من الصواريخ، فإنها تجنبت إلى حد بعيد شن هجمات عسكرية كبيرة بعد شهر تشرين الأول/أكتوبر بسبب عدم اليقين بشأن الأحوال الجوية. كما أن الوضع السياسي في الولايات المتحدة هو عامل آخر - فقد يترتب على انتخابات تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر فوز أوباما بفترة ثانية أو تشكيل إدارة جديدة بقيادة رومني لن يتكون لديها طاقم العمل الكافي حتى أواخر ربيع 2013، وهذه الحالة من عدم اليقين تجعل شن هجوم قبل تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر احتمالاً متساوي الحظوظ.

وأخيراً، ترى النخبة السياسية الإسرائيلية أنه إذا لا يشنون هجوماً على إيران فسيواجهون هجمات صاروخية من «حزب الله» في لبنان أو "حركة الجهاد الإسلامي الفلسطينية" في غزة جنباً إلى جنب مع أي انتقام إيراني.

 

إريك تراغر: ما هو الوضع الراهن في مصر؟

 

تحميل عرض تراغر على الپاور پوينت.

الموضوع الرئيسي في مصر اليوم هو الصراع غير المعلن على السلطة بين "المجلس الأعلى للقوات المسلحة" وحكومة محمد مرسي التي تهيمن عليها جماعة «الإخوان». فالجيش المصري و «الإخوان» أعداء بصورة طبيعية: فالجيش يسيطر على أسلحة مصر والكثير من اقتصادها، بينما تشكل «الجماعة» القوة السياسية الأكثر تنظيماً وقدرة على الحشد في مصر. وعلى مدى السنوات القادمة، سوف يهيمن الصراع على السلطة بين جماعة «الإخوان» بقيادة مرسي و"المجلس الأعلى للقوات المسلحة" على السياسات المصرية، كما سيحاول كل طرف اختبار الخطوط الحمراء لدى الطرف الآخر بدلاً من الانخراط في صراع عنيف.

وتُحكم جماعة «الإخوان» سيطرتها على مؤسسة الرئاسة. ففي حين أن صلاحيات مرسي كرئيس مصر لم تتحدد بعد بصورة واضحة، إلا أنه سيتمكن من تعزيز أجندة «الجماعة» عن طريق تعيين الوزراء. كما سيستخدم منصب الرئاسة كمنبر ذو سلطة واسعة للتأثير على الرأي العام.

وفي حين أن جماعة «الإخوان» كانت قد قالت إن رئاسة مرسي و"حزب الحرية والعدالة" التابع لـ «الإخوان» هما كيانان منفصلان، إلا أن كلاهما ينسق مع قادة «الجماعة» من خلال اجتماعات مجلس شورى «الإخوان» الأسبوعية. ويضم المجلس المكون من 120 عضواً جميع أعضاء "مكتب الإرشاد" في «الجماعة»، ومعظمهم من كبار قادة "حزب الحرية والعدالة"، والعديد منهم من أعضاء "الحزب" في البرلمان، كما أن أحدهم على الأقل يعمل مستشاراً رئاسياً لمرسي. ويجري خلال اجتماعات المجلس مناقشة الشؤون الاستراتيجية والسياسية الرئيسية والتصويت عليها، وتكون نتائج التصويت مُلزمة لجميع أعضاء «الإخوان». وبالتالي، فمن خلال هذا الهيكل يبقى "حزب الحرية والعدالة" والمكتب الرئاسي لمرسي مدينين لـ «الجماعة» وليسا منفصلين عنها.

وإلى جانب السيطرة واسعة النطاق لـ «الإخوان» على النظام السياسي في مصر، فإن هيكل «الجماعة» يتيح لها العمل لصالح "حزب الحرية والعدالة" ومرسي. على سبيل المثال، يمكن لـ «الجماعة» تعبئة الناشطين لدعم "برنامج المائة يوم" للرئيس مرسي من خلال توجيه حركة المرور وتوفير الأمن وجمع القمامة وما شابه ذلك؛ وبالمثل، يمكنها حشد جموع غفيرة من المحتجين في "ميدان التحرير" لدعم "الحزب" أو الرئيس نفسه.

وبالنظر إلى انتشار مسؤولي «الإخوان»  في جميع فروع الحكومة المصرية، إلى جانب الصراع القائم على السلطة بين  «الجماعة» و"المجلس الأعلى للقوات المسلحة"، فليس أمام الولايات المتحدة فرصة كبيرة للتأثير على السياسات الداخلية في مصر. وفي حين كانت هناك بعض المناقشات حول ربط المساعدات العسكرية لمصر بالتقدم نحو تحقيق الديمقراطية، إلا أن المصريين لا يرون أي رابط بين المساعدات العسكرية والسياسة الداخلية، ومن ثم من غير المرجح أن يستجيب الفاعلون السياسيون المصريون لهذا النوع من الشروط.

ومع ذلك، يجب على الولايات المتحدة ربط المساعدات العسكرية الأمريكية بالمصالح الاستراتيجية. إن عدم الرغبة الواضحة من جانب الجيش المصري لمواجهة عدم الاستقرار المتصاعد في شبه جزيرة سيناء - واحتمال أن تؤدي حالة عدم الاستقرار هذه إلى أزمة كبرى بين مصر وإسرائيل - ينبغي أن يقلق واشنطن. ولهذا السبب قد تنظر واشنطن في استخدام مساعداتها العسكرية كوسيلة ضغط لإرغام الجيش المصري على العمل بمزيد من القوة والحسم في شبه جزيرة سيناء.

 

أعدت هذا الملخص المقررة غبرييل تودين.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 1966

Israel and Egypt: Reports from a Changing Region

David Makovsky and Eric Trager

Also available in العربية

July 30, 2012


On July 25, Washington Institute Ziegler distinguished fellow David Makovsky, who recently returned from a trip to Israel and Ramallah, was joined in a Policy Forum by Institute Next Generation fellow Eric Trager, who spent much of June and July conducting extensive research in Egypt. The following is a rapporteur's summary of their remarks.

DAVID MAKOVSKY: ISRAEL AND IRAN

Download Makovsky's report on trends in Israeli public opinion.

Recent conversations with Israeli officials indicate that they see two sets of U.S. policies as (unintended) incentives to strike Iran. First, they view the structure of current international diplomacy with Iran, in which Washington is a critical player, as fatally flawed. The P5+1 nuclear talks led by the United States, Britain, China, France, Russia, and Germany are premised on the idea that it is only a matter of time before Tehran gives in to ongoing pressure, and that the international community can afford to wait. The result is a weaker stance on confidence-building measures, such as asking Iran to remove only the most advanced level of enriched uranium instead of all such material.

Israel feels quite differently about the timing issue. Because it is not a global superpower, it sees its military capabilities as finite and believes its window for action is closing. Therefore, it views protracted negotiations with Iran as anathema. Israel wants negotiations that push Tehran to urgently ship out its stockpile of low-enriched (i.e., 3.5 percent) uranium, which if further refined would be enough for around four atomic bombs. Moreover, Israel views the allied powers' failure to admit that diplomacy is stuck as a sign that they are stalling to make sure Israel does not resort to a unilateral strike. Accordingly, Israeli leaders are beginning to feel isolated, as if they can only count on themselves when it comes to resolving the Iranian nuclear problem.

The second U.S. factor incentivizing an Israeli strike is a misreading of the country's internal debate on the issue. Although some in the Israeli political and military echelon are skeptical of the enthusiasm that Prime Minister Binyamin Netanyahu and Defense Minister Ehud Barak have shown for a strike, their opposition is rooted in the belief that the United States can hit Iran more effectively than they can. No cabinet minister believes that a nuclear-armed Iran could be contained like the Soviet Union -- rather, some are banking on the hope that the United States will either attack or unveil far more crippling sanctions. According to this school of thought, a U.S.-led effort could allow for a multilateral coalition to continue sanctions post-attack, reducing the chances of Tehran importing the material needed to fully reconstitute their program. If Washington appears unwilling to pursue that course, Netanyahu and Barak will have a much easier time winning domestic support for their approach, since ministers will believe there is no alternative. In other words, U.S. caution on this front may wind up shifting the Israeli debate and bolstering the Netanyahu-Barak school.

Barring a change in U.S. behavior, the prospects of an Israeli strike will grow as the country's window for action closes. Israel fears putting itself in a position where it can no longer effectively hurt Iran's nuclear program, which would force it to depend on Washington to act in the indefinite future. What is needed is U.S.-Israeli dialogue on enlarging the latter's window for action, allowing the two countries to synchronize their approaches.

In addition to finite military capabilities, Israel's window will be shaped by two other factors. With the exception of the 2008-2009 Gaza war, when it felt compelled to respond to a barrage of rockets, Israel has largely avoided opening major military offensives beyond October due to weather uncertainty. The U.S. political situation is a factor as well -- the November election could result in either a second Obama term or a new Romney administration that may not have adequate staff until late spring 2013, and this layer of uncertainty makes a pre-November attack a fifty-fifty proposition.

Finally, the Israeli political echelon believes that if they do strike Iran, they will face rocket attacks from Hizballah in Lebanon or Palestinian Islamic Jihad in Gaza alongside any Iranian retaliation.

ERIC TRAGER: WHERE DO THINGS STAND IN EGYPT?

Download Trager's PowerPoint presentation.

A key story in Egypt today is the low-flame power struggle between the Supreme Council of the Armed Forces (SCAF) and Muhammad Morsi's Muslim Brotherhood-dominated government. The Egyptian military and the MB are natural enemies: the military controls Egypt's weapons and much of the economy, while the Brotherhood is Egypt's best-mobilized political force. Over the coming years, the power struggle between Morsi's Brotherhood and the SCAF will dominate Egyptian politics, and each side will try to test the other's red lines rather than engaging in violent conflict.

The MB holds firm control of the presidency. While Morsi's individual powers as president have not yet been explicitly defined, he will be able to advance the Brotherhood's agenda by appointing ministers. He will also use the presidency as a bully pulpit for influencing public opinion.

While the MB has said that the Morsi presidency and the MB-affiliated Freedom and Justice Party (FJP) are separate entities, both coordinate with top MB leaders through the Brotherhood's weekly Shura Committee meetings. The 120-member committee includes all members of the MB Guidance Office, most top FJP leaders, many top FJP parliamentarians, and at least one of Morsi's presidential advisors. Key strategic and political matters are discussed and voted on during the committee meetings, and the results of these votes are binding on all Muslim Brothers. Thus, through this structure, the FJP and Morsi's presidential office remain beholden to, rather than separate from, the Brotherhood.

Together with the Brotherhood's far-reaching control over Egypt's political system, the MB's structure allows it to act on behalf of the FJP and Morsi. For example the Brotherhood can mobilize activists to support Morsi's "100-day plan" by directing traffic, providing security, picking up trash; likewise, it can fill Tahrir Square with protestors on behalf of the party or the president himself.

Given the prevalence of Brotherhood officials throughout the Egyptian government, as well as the ongoing power struggle between the MB and SCAF, the United States has little opportunity to influence Egyptian domestic politics. While there has been some discussion of conditioning military aid to Egypt on progress toward democratization, Egyptians do not see any linkage between military aid and domestic politics, and Egyptian political actors are therefore unlikely to respond to this kind of conditionality.

The United States should, however, condition American military aid on strategic interests. The Egyptian military's apparent unwillingness to address rising instability in the Sinai Peninsula -- and the likelihood that this instability could spark a major crisis between Egypt and Israel -- should be especially worrying to Washington. For this reason, Washington may consider using its military aid as leverage for compelling the Egyptian military to act more forcefully in the Sinai.

This rapporteur's summary was prepared by Gabrielle Tudin.