أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 2979

الميليشيات الإيرانية في مجلس النواب العراقي: النتائج السياسية والرد الأمريكي

فيليب سميث

متاح أيضاً في English

11 حزيران/يونيو 2018


من بين الفائزين في انتخابات مجلس النواب العراقي التي أجريت في 12 أيار/مايو كانت «عصائب أهل الحق»، وهو أسرع فصيل صاعد ضمن ائتلاف قوي يضمّ الأحزاب العراقية الحليفة لإيران. وفي الأيام التي أعقبت الانتخابات، أقرّ المشرعون الأمريكيون مشروع قانون معدّل لتفويض الدفاع [الوطني] الذي مهد الطريق أمام وزارة الخزانة الأمريكية لفرض عقوبات مالية باهظة على الجماعة وغيرها من الوكلاء الإيرانيين المتهمين. ورغم أنها الخطوة الصحيحة الواجب اتخاذها، إلّا أنه لا بدّ من صياغة أي عقوبات بحذر ودقة وتوقيتها بشكل يحول دون أي ردود فعل معادية للولايات المتحدة خلال عملية تشكيل الحكومة الفوضوية أساساً في العراق.  

انهيار التحالف الإيراني

تشكّل «عصائب أهل الحق» جزءاً من "ائتلاف الفتح" ["تحالف الفتح"] الذي أحرز بين 40 و47 مقعداً في الشهر الماضي، أي نسبة تكفي لاحتلاله المركز الثاني بين كافة المتنافسين (بانتظار نتيجة إعادة فرز الأصوات المزمعة في العراق). وقد فازت «عصائب أهل الحق» بين 13 إلى 15 مقعداً من هذه المقاعد أو ما يقارب 30 في المائة من إجمالي مقاعد الائتلاف.    

ويتزعم هادي العامري "ائتلاف الفتح"، وهو قائد "منظمة بدر" التي يمكن القول إنها أقدم الجماعات الشيعية العراقية التابعة لإيران وأكبرها وأكثرها أهمية من الناحية الإيديولوجية والسياسية والدينية. ويتكون الائتلاف بشكل أساسي من جماعات تمّ تشكيلها على غرار نموذج الميليشيا/الحزب الذي لطالما استخدمه «حزب الله» في لبنان. وناهيك عن أنها تشكّل نواة «الحشد الشعبي»، تُعتبر هذه الجماعات أيضاً العناصر الأكثر نفوذاً ضمن التأثير الإيراني المباشر على الساحة السياسية العراقية.

وتشمل أحدث المكاسب الانتخابية التي حققها "ائتلاف الفتح" ما يلي:

  • إثنان وعشرين مقعداً لصالح "منظمة بدر"
  • ثلاثة عشر مقعداً لصالح «عصائب أهل الحق»، وهي جماعة منشقة خاضعة للسيطرة الإيرانية كانت مرتبطة سابقاً بمقتدى الصدر
  • ثلاثة مقاعد لصالح "المجلس الأعلى الإسلامي العراقي"، الذي اضطلع في ما مضى بدور مهم في السياسة الشيعية إلى حين خروج زعيمه عمار الحكيم (انظر أدناه لمعرفة المزيد عن هذا الانشقاق)  
  • مقعدان لصالح "حركة الجهاد والبناء"، وهي حزب متجذر ضمن "منظمة بدر" ومقرب من "المجلس الأعلى الإسلامي العراقي"
  • مقعدان لصالح "كتائب بابليون"، وهي جماعة مسيحية شكّلتها "كتائب الإمام علي" الخاضعة للسيطرة الإيرانية؛ وبالتالي حصل الحزب على مقعدين من أصل خمسة مقاعد مخصصة للمسيحيين العراقيين
  • مقعد واحد لصالح "كتائب سيد الشهداء"، وهي جماعة انفصلت عن «كتائب حزب الله» التي صنفتها الولايات المتحدة جماعة إرهابية
  • مقعد واحد لصالح "حركة العراق الإسلامية" التي انشقت عن "حركة الدعوة" في أواخر ثمانينيات القرن الماضي وكانت جزءاً من "فيلق بدر" حتى عام 2003
  • مقعد واحد لصالح "تجمع الشبك الديمقراطي" التابع لـ"منظمة بدر" الذي يمثل الأقلية العرقية من الشبك شمالي العراق

 ويبرز توجهان واضحان من هذه النتائج: القفزة السريعة لـ «عصائب أهل الحق»، وهي أحد أكثر العناصر جموحاً ضمن "ائتلاف الفتح"، وعدم التقدّم المفاجئ لـ "منظمة بدر"، بعد أن بدت مستعدةً للتوسع.

مكاسب مفاجئة لعصائب أهل الحق

فاقت «عصائب أهل الحق» العديد من التوقعات، لا سيما بعد فوزها بمقعد واحد فقط في انتخابات عام 2014. يُذكر أن الجماعة متفرعة من الحركة الإسلامية الشعبية لمقتدى الصدر "سائرون" التي فازت بأكبر عدد من المقاعد في الشهر الماضي (بين 54 و 56 مقعداً). وكُلِّفت «عصائب أهل الحق»، التي تشكلت بين عاميْ 2006 و2007 بمساعدة «حزب الله»، بمهمة محاربة احتلال العراق الذي قادته الولايات المتحدة، ولاحقاً بإرسال آلاف المقاتلين إلى سوريا.   

وفي الوقت الحالي، يتراوح عدد مقاتلي الجماعة بين 7 و10 آلاف مقاتل، مجهزين بدبابات وعربات مدرعة خفيفة وقطع مدفعية قديمة وصواريخ وذخائر صاروخية يدوية الصنع. وفضلاً عن الحفاظ على موقفها المناهض للغرب، اتُهمت بارتكاب عمليات قتل وحشية في جميع أنحاء العراق ضد مواطنين من الشيعة أمثالها وضد طوائف أخرى.

ويتمثّل التلخيص الأكثر بروزاً لهذه الأسس في فوز حسن سالم، أحد مرشحي هذه الجماعة في دائرة بغداد الانتخابية، وهو قائد ميداني سابق في "جيش المهدي" الذي كان تابعاً لمقتدى الصدر [قبل تجميد أنشطة التنظيم]. وبعد أن أفادت التقارير عن إدارته عصابات قتل ("كتائب موت") طائفية بهذه الصفة، انضم إلى «عصائب أهل الحق» ليكون أحد أبرز قادة الميليشيات ويساعد في مساعي التعبئة الأولية للمشاركة في الحرب السورية.

ويمكن أن يُعزى النجاح الانتخابي الكبير للجماعة إلى عدة عوامل:

  • تمتعها بمهارات قتالية. تَعتبر «عصائب أهل الحق» أنها تنبأت بما سيحصل واتخذت إجراءات مبكرة وفعالة ضد تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» خلافاً لمقاربة التلكؤ التي انتهجتها الحكومة العراقية وإخفاقاتها العسكرية (مثل سقوط الموصل).
  • تنظميها حملات تركز على الرسائل الاستراتيجية. من خلال اتباعها نموذج شبكة تلفزيون "المنار" التابعة لـ «حزب الله» وعدد من المواقع الإلكترونية، أظهرت «عصائب أهل الحق» نهجاً احترافياً وحديثاً ومتنوعاً بشكل متزايد تجاه وسائل الإعلام. فقد عمدت الجماعة من خلال قناة "العهد" الفضائية الإعلامية التابعة لها، ومن خلال تركيز مساعيها المتقدمة في مجال وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي، إلى بثّ برامج منمقة واسعة النطاق ومقاطع فيديو موسيقية وغيرها من المنتجات تسخر من كل شيء اعتباراً من فساد النخبة ووصولاً إلى الأكراد. وتحرص بعض هذه البرامج على إظهار «عصائب أهل الحق» وكأنها الصوت الصارخ للعراقيين المهملين. فعلى سبيل المثال، قدّم وجيه عباس، أحد مرشحي «عصائب أهل الحق» الفائزين في بغداد، برنامج "كلام وجيه" الليلي الذي اجتذب حوالي مليون مشاهد وتضمن خطاباً طائفياً مثيراً للفتنة وانتقادات للنخب الحاكمة.        
  • وصف نفسها بقوة خارجية تسعى لمحاربة الفساد. من المحتمل أن يكون تواجد الجماعة الصغير سابقاً في مجلس النواب قد أعطى الناخبين شعوراً بتهميشها، وبالتالي تُعتبر غير فاسدة بالمقارنة مع الأحزاب الأكبر حجماً. وقد حرص مرشحو «عصائب أهل الحق» على التشديد على هذا النمط من التفكير مراراً وتكراراً خلال الحملة الانتخابية، متهمين الأحزاب القائمة بالفساد المستشري.    
  • إيلاء أهمية للناخبات. لا بدّ من أن يكون ربع مقاعد مجلس النواب العراقي مخصصاً للمرشحات من النساء. ومن بين المرشحين الفائزين الثلاثة عشر من «عصائب أهل الحق»، هناك ثلاث نساء. وعلى الرغم من غياب انكشافهن العلني أو تاريخهن العسكري مقارنةً بنظرائهم من الرجال، فقد تمكنن من ضمان مقاعد في بغداد وكربلاء والمثنى. ويعزى هذا النجاح جزئياً إلى واقع أن «عصائب أهل الحق»، على غرار «حزب الله» إلى حدّ كبير، قد دعمت النساء من خلال "القسم النسوي" المندرج في إطار مساعي الجماعة الأوسع نطاقاً لبناء "ثقافة المقاومة". وفي آذار/مارس 2017، جمعت «عصائب أهل الحق» مسارها لمكافحة الفساد مع تركيزها على النساء من خلال إنشاء حركة "نساء متحدات ضد الفساد".    

الفصائل الأخرى في "ائتلاف فتح"

بعد تأسيس "منظمة بدر" في أوائل الثمانينات من القرن الماضي، سارعت الجماعة إلى الحفاظ على أقسامها العسكرية والحصول على نصيب في الحكومة العراقية بعد الإطاحة بصدام حسين عام 2003. وفي وقت لاحق، خاضت انتخابات عام 2014 كجزء من "ائتلاف دولة القانون" بزعامة نوري المالكي، وحصلت على 22 مقعداً في مجلس النواب وسيطرت على وزارة الداخلية. وفي موازاة هذه القوى الرسمية، تمكنت من السيطرة على عمليات غالبية ألوية «قوات الحشد الشعبي»، وأنشأت وحدات ميليشيا جديدة لجماعات الأقلية العرقية الشيعية في شمال العراق، وأرسلت مقاتلين إلى سوريا.

وبالتالي، قد يبدو عجز "منظمة بدر" عن الحصول على المزيد من المقاعد هذا العام مفاجئاً. فعلى الأرجح، إنه ببساطة جزء من الاتجاه الأوسع نطاقاً الذي ميز هذه الانتخابات: على وجه الخصوص، معاقبة الناخبين للأحزاب الراسخة التي اعتمدت برامج تقليدية.

ولم تكن "منظمة بدر" العضو الوحيد في "ائتلاف الفتح" الذي حقق نتائج باهتة: فقد فاز "المجلس الأعلى الإسلامي العراقي"، وهو الهيئة الأم السابقة لـ"منظمة بدر"، بثلاثة مقاعد فقط. وكما ذكرنا سابقاً، انفصل رئيس المجلس عمار الحكيم قبيل الانتخابات ليشكل "تيار الحكمة الوطني". وقد ركّز برنامج هذا الحزب الجديد على بناء دولة مدنية، وتعزيز المواقف القومية العراقية، وفصل نفسه عن "الحرس القديم" التابع لـ "المجلس الأعلى الإسلامي العراقي" والموالي لإيران والحليف لـ"منظمة بدر" الذي اتُهم مراراً بالفساد. وقد فاز الفصيل التابع للحكيم بتسعة عشر مقعداً وتحالف منذ ذلك الحين مع معسكر الصدر.

ومن المؤكد أنّ "منظمة بدر" لا تزال تسيطر على مقاعدها الاثنين والعشرين وبإمكانها التأثير إلى حدّ كبير على المقاعد الخمسة والعشرين الباقية التي يملكها "ائتلاف الفتح"، مما يمنحها بشكل أساسي مقاعد أكثر من أي فصيل شيعي آخر باستثناء لائحة تحالف "سائرون" بزعامة مقتدى الصدر. ورغم ذلك، تشعر المنظمة حتماً بالتهديد الذي يطرحه اتساع شعبية «عصائب أهل الحق» وزعيمها قيس الخزعلي، وهو طالب سابق لدى والد مقتدى الصدر الراحل محمد صادق الصدر. ففي بغداد، على سبيل المثال، حصل حسن سالم مرشح «عصائب أهل الحق» على ثاني أعلى نسبة أصوات بعد الأمين العام لـ"منظمة بدر" هادي العامري. أما في بابل، فقد فازت «عصائب أهل الحق» بنفس عدد المقاعد (مقعدين) كـ"منظمة بدر".

وبصرف النظر عن ذلك، ونظراً إلى هيمنة إيران الشاملة على الجماعتين، فقد تتمكن طهران من رأب أي صدع بينهما. فعلى الأرجح، ستبقى "منظمة بدر" المفضلة لدى طهران لقيادة "ائتلاف الفتح"، رغم أن فوز «عصائب أهل الحق» قد يعني بدء بروزها على الساحة السياسية في العراق. 

التداعيات السياسية

يجب على الولايات المتحدة أن تبقي تركيزها مُنصباً على «عصائب أهل الحق» نظراً إلى نموها السريع. وقد أقرّ مجلس النواب الأمريكي تعديل مشروع قانون إقرار الدفاع الوطني الصادر عن الكونغرس، الذي يستهدف أيضاً حليفة «عصائب أهل الحق»، «حركة حزب الله النجباء»، وتمّت إحالته حالياً إلى مجلس الشيوخ الأمريكي للتصويت عليه. ولا بدّ من الإشارة إلى أن هذا المشروع هو إجراء مستحق طال انتظاره وسيعيق حتماً القدرات المالية للجماعة، لكنه لا يرقى إلى إدراجها ضمن تصنيفات وزارة الخارجية الأمريكية للمنظمات الإرهابية الأجنبية. علاوةً على ذلك، يرتبط هذا الإجراء بشكل خاص بقضايا حساسة في الوقت الذي سيجاهد فيه العراق لتشكيل حكومته القادمة وتحديد معالم علاقاته الاستراتيجية والعسكرية المستقبلية مع واشنطن.

وسيبقى السؤال المطروح هنا فيما إذا كان من الحكمة فرض عقوبات على خمسة عشر نائباً في مجلس النواب العراقي في الوقت الراهن. وفي هذا السياق، قال عضو مجلس النواب الأمريكي تيد بو (جمهوري من ولاية تكساس)، الذي صاغ التعديل الذي صادق عليه مجلس النواب، لموقع "المونيتور" مؤخراً أن على الحكومة الأمريكية أن تتأكد فيما إذا كان "الجناح السياسي يشكل فرعاً أو كياناً خاضعاً لسيطرة «عصائب أهل الحق»". ورغم أن هذا التمييز قد يساعد على تجنب تصادم محتمل مع تكتل قوي في مجلس النواب العراقي، إلّا أنه مغامرة خطيرة قد تؤدي إلى نتائج عكسية.

وتنطوي مقاربة بديلة على فرض عقوبات على الجماعة ككل كما فعلت واشنطن مع «حزب الله» اللبناني، وهو المنظمة التي اقتدت بها «عصائب أهل الحق» و«حركة حزب الله النجباء» مباشرةً وقاتلت إلى جانبها وأخذت أوامرها منها. وقد استمرت العقوبات الأمريكية على «حزب الله» رغم مشاركته في الانتخابات اللبنانية منذ عام 1992 وفوزه بعدة مقاعد في مجلس النواب.

وفي الواقع، يتداخل "الجناحان" السياسي والعسكري في «عصائب أهل الحق» مع الفرق الداخلية ضمن منظمة متماسكة، وليس أقساماً مستقلة. فعلى سبيل المثال، كان سعد حسين الحسيني، وهو أحد الفائزين بمقاعد الجماعة في مجلس النواب، قائداً إدارياً للواء 41 ضمن «قوات الحشد الشعبي» منذ فترة ليست ببعيدة تعود إلى أواخر عام 2017. وبالفعل، كانت الألوية 41 و42 و43 من «قوات الحشد الشعبي» بمثابة المقرات الرئيسية للحملة [الانتخابية] لـ «عصائب أهل الحق» خلال الانتخابات، حيث دعمت بشكل ملموس مرشحيها وأشادت بإنجازاتها العسكرية السابقة، بما فيها الهجمات على القوات الأمريكية. وإذا كان باستطاعة قادة «عصائب أهل الحق» التنقل بهذه السهولة بين "الجناحين" العسكري والسياسي، فعندئذ من المنطقي أن تستهدفهما الحكومة الأمريكية - وإلا فقد تصبح العقوبات غير قابلة للتطبيق وغير مجدية.

ومع ذلك، فإن توقيت أي قرار من هذا القبيل يحمل أهميةً كبيرة. ففرض عقوبات على «عصائب أهل الحق» فوراً قد يطرح إشكالية كبيرة للجماعة وللحكومة العراقية، لا سيما إذا انتهى الأمر بسيطرة الجماعة على وزارة رئيسية تتطلب مساعدةً دولية كبيرة، أو ينطوي المنصب على رحلات دولية متكررة. ويعود الأمر حالياً لوزارة الخزانة الأمريكية وسائر الوزارات في إدارة ترامب لضمان تطبيق العقوبات بأكبر قدر من الفعالية. وبما أن العراق يواجه عملية إعادة فرز الأصوات المثيرة للجدل ومفاوضات بشأن الائتلافات الحاكمة، ينبغي على واشنطن النظر في إرجاء اتخاذ تدابير عقابية إلى ما بعد تشكيل الحكومة واتضاح دور «عصائب أهل الحق» فيها.

 

فيليب سميث هو زميل "سوريف" في معهد واشنطن ومؤلف دراسة "الجهاد الشيعي في سوريا وآثاره الإقليمية"

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 2979

Iranian Militias in Iraq's Parliament: Political Outcomes and U.S. Response

Phillip Smyth

Also available in العربية فارسی

June 11, 2018


As Washington mulls sanctions on Asaib Ahl al-Haq and similar groups, it should mind the volatility of Baghdad’s near-term political situation and the questionable efficacy of ‘wing’ distinctions.

Among the winners in Iraq’s May 12 parliamentary elections was Asaib Ahl al-Haq (AAH), the fastest-rising faction in a powerful coalition of Iranian-allied Iraqi parties. In the days that followed, U.S. legislators passed an amended defense authorization bill that paved the way for the Treasury Department to impose heavy financial sanctions on the group and other accused Iranian proxies. Although this is the right step, any sanctions need to be carefully crafted and timed to avoid an anti-American backlash during Iraq’s already-chaotic government formation process.

BREAKDOWN OF IRAN’S COALITION

AAH is part of the Fatah (Conquest) Alliance, a coalition that won between forty and forty-seven seats last month, enough for second place among all contenders (pending the outcome of Iraq’s planned recount). AAH won at least thirteen of these seats, and perhaps as many as fifteen, or nearly 30 percent of the alliance’s total.

Fatah is led by Hadi al-Ameri of the Badr Organization, arguably the oldest, largest, and most important of the Iraqi Shia groups ideologically, politically, and religiously subservient to Iran. The alliance is primarily made up of groups modeled on the militia/party model that Hezbollah has long used in Lebanon. In addition to comprising the core of al-Hashd al-Shabi (Popular Mobilization Forces, or PMF), these groups also function as the most powerful elements of direct Iranian influence in the Iraqi political sphere.

Fatah’s latest electoral gains include the following:

  • Twenty-two seats for Badr
  • At least thirteen seats for AAH (aka the League of the Righteous), an Iranian-controlled splinter group formerly affiliated with Muqtada al-Sadr
  • Three seats for the Islamic Supreme Council of Iraq (ISCI), once a major player in Shia politics until the departure of leader Ammar al-Hakim (see below for more on this defection)
  • Two seats for Harakat Jihad al-Binna (Movement of Jihad and Building), a party that has roots in Badr and is close to ISCI
  • Two seats for Harakat Babiliyoun (Babylon Movement), a Christian group formed by the Iranian-controlled Kataib al-Imam Ali (Imam Ali Battalion); the party thus holds two out of the five seats allotted to Iraqi Christians
  • One seat for Kataib Sayyid al-Shuhada (Master of the Martyrs Battalion), a group that split from U.S.-designated terrorist group Kataib Hezbollah
  • One seat for Harakat al-Iraq al-Islamiyah (Islamic Movement in Iraq), which split from the Dawa Movement in the late 1980s and was part of the Badr Corps until 2003
  • One seat for Tajma al-Shabak al-Demoqrati (Shabak Democratic Assembly), a Badr affiliate that represents the Shabak ethnic minority in northern Iraq.

Two clear trends emerge from these results: the sudden leap by AAH, one of the Fatah Alliance’s most unruly elements, and the surprising lack of growth by Badr, which had seemed poised for expansion.

SURPRISE GAINS BY ASAIB AHL AL-HAQ

AAH outperformed many expectations, particularly as it won just a single seat in the 2014 elections. The group is a spinoff of the Mahdi Army (which was led by Muqtada al-Sadr, whose populist Islamist movement Sairoon won the most seats last month, between fifty-four and fifty-six). Formed in 2006-2007 with Hezbollah’s assistance, AAH was tasked with fighting the U.S.-led occupation of Iraq and, later, sending thousands of fighters to Syria.

Currently, the group has around 7,000-10,000 fighters, complemented with tanks, light armored vehicles, older artillery pieces, rockets, and improvised rocket-assisted munitions. In addition to maintaining its anti-Western posture, it has been accused of brutal killings throughout Iraq, against both fellow Shia and other sects.

Epitomizing these roots, one of the group’s victorious candidates in the Baghdad electoral district was Hassan Salam, a former field commander for Sadr’s Mahdi Army. After reportedly running sectarian death squads in that capacity, he joined AAH, serving as one of its main militia commanders and helping with early mobilization efforts for Syria.

The group’s dramatic electoral success can be attributed to several factors:

  • Perception of fighting prowess. AAH portrays itself as having seen the writing on the wall and taken early, effective action against the Islamic State, in contrast to the Iraqi government’s foot-dragging approach and military failures (e.g., the loss of Mosul).
  • Strategically focused messaging campaigns. Following the model of Hezbollah’s al-Manar television network and multiple websites, AAH has exhibited an increasingly professional, modern, and varied approach to media. Its Al Ahad satellite propaganda station and advanced social media efforts have put forth polished programs, music videos, and other products deriding everything from elite corruption to the Kurds. Some of this programing presents AAH as the rising voice for neglected Iraqis. For example, Wajih Abbas, a winning AAH candidate in Baghdad, hosted Kalam Wajih (Wajih’s Talk), a nightly show that captured around 1 million viewers with incendiary sectarian rhetoric and criticism of the governing elites.
  • Self-branding as an outsider force seeking to destroy corruption. The group’s previously tiny parliamentary presence likely gave voters the sense that it was marginalized, and thus untainted compared to larger parties. AAH candidates made sure to emphasize that line of thinking over and over during the campaign, accusing incumbent parties of rampant graft.
  • Attention to female voters. The Iraqi parliament requires that one-quarter of its seats go to female candidates. Three of the winning AAH candidates are women. Despite lacking the public exposure or militant history of their male counterparts, they were able to secure seats in Baghdad, Karbala, and Muthanna. This success is due in part to the fact that AAH, much like Hezbollah, has cultivated support for women via its “Women’s Department,” part of the group’s broader efforts to construct a “culture of resistance.” In March 2017, AAH combined its anticorruption line and its focus on women by creating the movement “Women United Against Corruption” (Nisaa Mutahadat Dud al-Fasad).

FATAH’S OTHER FACTIONS

Formed in the early 1980s, Badr moved quickly to maintain its military sections and dominate portions of the Iraqi government following Saddam Hussein’s 2003 ouster. Later, it ran in the 2014 elections as part of Nouri al-Maliki’s State of Law Alliance, gaining twenty-two seats in parliament and control of the Interior Ministry. In parallel to these formal powers, it assumed operational control over the majority of PMF brigades, built up new militia units for Shia ethnic minority groups in northern Iraq, and sent fighters to Syria.

Badr’s failure to pick up more seats this year may therefore seem surprising. In all likelihood, it is simply part of the wider trend that characterized this election: namely, voters punishing established parties that adopted conventional platforms.

Badr was not the only Fatah Alliance member with lackluster results: ISCI, Badr’s former parent body, won only three seats. As mentioned previously, the group’s patriarch, Ammar al-Hakim, split away just before the elections to form Tayyar Hikma al-Watani (National Wisdom Movement). This new party’s platform rested on building a civil state, promoting Iraqi nationalist positions, and detaching itself from ICSI’s pro-Iranian, Badr-friendly “old guard,” which was regularly accused of corruption. Hakim’s faction won nineteen seats and has since aligned itself with Sadr’s camp.

To be sure, Badr still controls twenty-two of its own seats and can heavily influence the Fatah Alliance’s other twenty-five, essentially giving it more seats than any other Shia faction except Sadr’s Sairoon list. Even so, the group surely feels threatened by the exploding popularity of AAH and its leader Qais al-Khazali, a former student of Sadr’s late father Muhammad Sadiq al-Sadr. In Baghdad, for example, AAH’s Hassan Salam scored the second most votes behind Badr secretary-general Ameri. And in Babil, AAH won just as many seats (two) as Badr.

Regardless, given Iran’s overarching control of both groups, Tehran may be able to seal up any daylight between them. Badr will likely remain Tehran’s favorite at the head of the Fatah Alliance, though AAH’s victory could mark the beginning of its rise within the Iraqi political sphere.

POLICY IMPLICATIONS

The United States should maintain focus on AAH given its rapid growth. The amendment to the congressional authorization bill, which also targets AAH ally Harakat Hezbollah al-Nujaba (HHN), has been passed by the House and is now up for vote in the Senate. It is a well-deserved and long-overdue measure that will certainly hamper the group’s financial abilities, but it falls short of a State Department designation as a Foreign Terrorist Organization. Moreover, it touches on particularly sensitive issues at a time when Iraq will be struggling to form its next government and shape its future strategic and military relations with Washington.

One question is whether it is wise to sanction fifteen new Iraqi members of parliament at the moment. Rep. Ted Poe (R-TX), author of the passed House amendment, recently told Al-Monitor that the U.S. government needs to ascertain whether “the political wing constitutes an affiliate or entity controlled by Asaib Ahl al-Haq.” Although this distinction may help avoid a potential clash with a powerful bloc in Iraq’s parliament, it is a slippery slope and could prove counterproductive.

An alternative approach is to sanction the entire group as Washington did with Lebanese Hezbollah, the organization that AAH and HHN have directly modeled themselves on, fought alongside, and taken orders from. U.S. sanctions against Hezbollah have continued despite its participation in Lebanese elections since 1992 and its possession of multiple seats in parliament.

In reality, AAH’s political and military “wings” are overlapping internal divisions within a cohesive organization, not autonomous sections. For instance, Saad Hussein al-Husseini, one of the winning AAH parliamentarians, was an administrative commander for the PMF’s 41st Brigade as recently as late 2017. Indeed, the 41st, 42nd, and 43rd PMF brigades served as AAH’s de facto campaign headquarters during the elections, materially supporting the group’s candidates and trumpeting its past military accomplishments, including attacks on U.S. forces. If AAH leaders can move so fluidly between the military and political “wings,” then the U.S. government should logically target them both—otherwise, sanctions may become unworkable and meaningless.

Yet the timing of any such decision is important. Placing sanctions on AAH right away could prove very problematic for the group and Iraqi government, especially if the group winds up controlling a key ministry that requires significant international aid or involves regular international travel. It is now up to the Treasury Department and the rest of the Trump administration to ensure that sanctions are most effectively applied. Given that Iraq faces a contentious vote recount and negotiations over governing coalitions, Washington should consider delaying punitive measures until after the government is formed and AAH’s role in it is clear.

Phillip Smyth is a Soref Fellow at The Washington Institute and author of its 2015 study The Shiite Jihad in Syria and Its Regional Effects.