أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 3035

إيران تكثف قمعها لمواطنيها في الخارج

مهدي خلجي

متاح أيضاً في English

2 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر 2018


في 30 تشرين الأول/أكتوبر، استدعت الدنمارك سفيرها لدى طهران ودعت الاتحاد الأوروبي إلى فرض عقوبات جديدة على إيران بعد أن اكتشفت [كوبنهاغن] بأن عملاء استخبارات النظام خططوا لتنفيذ عملية اغتيال على الأراضي الدنماركية. وتفيد التقارير بأن المستهدف كان الزعيم المنفي لـ"حركة النضال العربي لتحرير الأحواز" - الجماعة التي اتهمتها طهران بتنفيذ هجوم إرهابي في تلك المنطقة المسمّاة على إسمها خلال أيلول/سبتمبر؛ وتجاهلت إيران بما يلائم مصالحها إدعاء تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» مسؤوليته عن وقوع الحادثة قبل أسابيع، وواقع أن القوات الإيرانية أطلقت صواريخ على قواعد تابعة لـ تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» في سوريا رداً على ذلك. وجاء قرار الدنمارك في أعقاب تطورات مماثلة في فرنسا حيث طُرِد دبلوماسي إيراني في 26 تشرين الأول/أكتوبر بعد أن كشفت السلطات الفرنسية مخططاً لاستهداف تجمع في باريس نظمته جماعة معارضة أخرى، هي "حركة مجاهدي خلق".

وعلى مدى سنوات، افترض العديد من المراقبين أن إيران تخلّت إلى حد كبير عن أجندتها الرامية إلى قتل المعارضين في الخارج من أجل بناء الثقة مع الغرب وتطبيع العلاقات مع المجتمع الدولي. إلّا أنّ هذه الحوادث وغيرها تُظهر بأن النظام كان يسعى منذ بعض الوقت وباهتمام شديد إلى التخطيط لتنفيذ اغتيالات جديدة في الخارج، بالتوازي مع المناورات المحلية التي تهدف إلى منع الاحتجاجات السياسية المستمرة فضلاً عن ممارسة ضغوط إعلامية مكثفة على المستوى المحلي.

استئناف الهجمات في أعقاب الحركة الخضراء

خلال السنوات الأولى من حكم الجمهورية الإسلامية، تردد أن عملاء النظام قتلوا مئات المعارضين الإيرانيين في دول مختلفة. ففي عام 1991، على سبيل المثال، قاموا باغتيال رئيس الوزراء السابق في عهد الشاه، شهبور بختيار في إحدى ضواحي باريس. وبعد ذلك بعام، لقي عدد كبير من قادة المعارضة الأكراد الإيرانيين حتفهم في مطعم ميكونوس في برلين، مما دفع بالقضاء الألماني إلى اتهام المرشد الأعلى علي خامنئي والرئيس أكبر هاشمي رفسنجاني ووزير الاستخبارات علي فلاحيان بإصدار الأوامر بتنفيذ الاعتداء.

وتراجعت وتيرة هذه العمليات عند وصول الرئيس الإصلاحي محمد خاتمي إلى سدة الرئاسة عام 1997. ومع ذلك، عاد النظام على ما يبدو إلى اعتماد هذه السياسة في عام 2009 عندما شنت "الحركة الخضراء" احتجاجات واسعة ضد الانتخابات الرئاسية المزوّرة. وفي 5 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر من ذلك العام، وعد المسؤول العسكري الكبير الجنرال مسعود جزايري بأن إيران "ستحدد هوية المعارضين سواء داخل البلاد أو خارجها، وستقوم بقمعهم في الوقت المناسب"، في إشارة صريحة إلى احتمال تنفيذ عمليات على أراضٍ أجنبية. وأضاف، "إذا ارتأت الجمهورية الإسلامية أنه لا مفر من ذلك، فيمكنها ملاحقة داعمي الانقلاب حتى خارج الحدود".

وشهدت السنوات التالية العديد من الاغتيالات لأشخاص رفيعي الشأن في الخارج. فعلى سبيل المثال، في 29 نيسان/أبريل 2017، أُردي صاحب قناة "جي إي أم تي في" (GEM TV) سعيد كريميان وشريكه الكويتي قتيلين أمام مكتب كريميان في اسطنبول. وكوْن هذه القناة شبكة الأقمار الصناعية الإيرانية الأكثر شعبيةً، فغالباً ما تقوم  ببث برامج ترفيهية تروّج للقيم الثقافية الغربية، مما دفع بمحكمة في طهران بالقيام بمحاكمة كريميان غيابياً والحكم عليه بالسجن لمدة ست سنوات بسبب نشره حملات دعائية معادية للجمهورية الإسلامية.

ومؤخراً في 8 أيلول/سبتمبر، أطلق "الحرس الثوري الإسلامي" صواريخ على المقر العراقي لـ «الحزب الديمقراطي الكردي الإيراني». وبعد يومين، كرر الجنرال يحيى رحيم صفوي، المستشار العسكري للمرشد الأعلى والقائد الأعلى السابق لقوات «الحرس الثوري» الإيراني التهديد الذي أطلقه جزايري عام 2009 حول استهداف أشخاص في الخارج وقال: "إذا لزم الأمر، سيطارد «الحرس الثوري» المعارضين والأعداء ويقضي عليهم خارج الحدود وما وراء البحار".

تعريف "أعداء" إيران

حافظ النظام الإيراني بصورة غير محددة على تعريفه لمصطلح "العدو" رهناً بالوضع السياسي المحلي. ففي كانون الثاني/يناير 2010، وفي وقت قريب من ذروة "الحركة الخضراء"، أفادت بعض التقارير أن وزارة الاستخبارات أطلقت قائمةً ضمّت أسماء ستّين منظمة أجنبية "متورطة في حرب ناعمة" ضد الجمهورية الإسلامية، بما فيها شبكات إعلامية، ومراكز أبحاث، وجامعات، وكيانات تابعة. وحذّرت الوزارة من أن إقامة علاقات مع أي من هذه المنظمات "مخالفاً للقانون"، حيث منعت على المواطنين الإيرانيين التوقيع على عقود أو طلب أموال أو أي دعم آخر منها.

وقد وفّر هذا التعريف الواسع النطاق لمصطلح "العدو" الأساس القانوني للنظام لاعتقال مواطنين مزدوجي الجنسية. وفي مقابلة أجريت مع وزير المخابرات الإيراني محمود علوي في 28 آب/أغسطس، صرّح للتلفزيون الحكومي أنه تمّ اعتقال "عشرات الجواسيس" العاملين في الجهاز البيروقراطي للدولة. وشدّد بعدها قائلاً إننا "نمنع تولّي المواطنين مزدوجي الجنسية أي مناصب حكومية". وعلى نحو مماثل، أفادت وكالة "رويترز" في تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر 2017 بأن «الحرس الثوري» اعتقل "ما لا يقلّ عن 30 من مزدوجي الجنسية خلال العامين الماضيين، ومعظمهم بتهم التجسس، وفقا للمحامين والدبلوماسيين والأقارب".

ومن أجل تنفيذ مثل هذه العمليات القمعية، يستخدم النظام شبكة واسعة من أجهزة الاستخبارات. فإلى جانب وزارة الاستخبارات الرئيسية و«فيلق القدس» - جناح القوات الخاصة في «الحرس الثوري الإسلامي» المسؤول عن العمليات الخارجية - يشرف المرشد الأعلى بشكل مباشر على عدة وكالات قادرة على اتخاذ إجراءات ضد المعارضين، بما فيها مكاتب الاستخبارات ضمن «الحرس الثوري الإسلامي»، والشرطة، والجيش النظامي، والسلطة القضائية، ومكتب الرئيس، ووزارة الداخلية. فعلى سبيل المثال، تم اعتقال العديد من الرعايا الإيرانيين المزدوجي الجنسية من قبل جهاز الاستخبارات التابع لـ «الحرس الثوري»  (مثلاً المواطن البريطاني نازانين زاجاري راتكليف، المعتقل منذ عام 2016).

ويؤدي انتشار هذه المنظمات في بعض الأحيان إلى قيام خلافات علنية بين الوكالات الحكومية. فعلى سبيل المثال، حين تمّ اعتقال دری نجف آبادی، مواطن يحمل الجنسيتين الإيرانية والكندية كان يعمل مع فريق التفاوض النووي، في العام الماضي، أعلنت استخبارات «الحرس الثوري» مسؤوليتها عن اعتقاله واتهمته بالتجسس. غير أن وزارة الاستخبارات دعت مراراً إلى إطلاق سراحه، مشددةً على أنها لا تعتبره جاسوساً. وفي النهاية، قام «الحرس الثوري» بنقض قرار الوزارة، كما يفعل عادة في مثل هذه الأمور.

"لا أمل في أوروبا"

قد ينظر البعض إلى العمليات الإرهابية الإيرانية المتجددة في الخارج على أنها تكتيك متشدد لتقويض حكومة الرئيس حسن روحاني وإظهار المزيد من عدم فعالية الاتفاق النووي بعد انسحاب واشنطن منه في وقت سابق من هذا العام. ومع ذلك، فبعيداً عن كون مخططات النظام في أوروبا بمثابة مؤشرات على الثقة بالنفس، تبدو أنها أشبه بفقدان الأمل من قدرة الاتحاد الأوروبي على مقاومة الضغط الأمريكي وإنقاذ الاتفاق النووي. فعلى سبيل المثال، نقل مقال في صحيفة "فاينانشال تايمز" صدر في 28 تشرين الأول/أكتوبر عن دبلوماسيين قولهم إن "الاتحاد الأوروبي واجه صعوبات في إيجاد دولة عضو من أجل استضافة قناة مالية جديدة لحماية التجارة مع إيران من العقوبات الوشيكة".

ولا شك في أن خامنئي يعتبر مثل هذه التقارير دليلاً على ما ذكره في خطاب ألقاه في 17 تشرين الأول/أكتوبر، حيث قال: "يجب أن ينصب تركيزنا بشكل أساسي على الشرق. فالتطلع إلى الغرب وأوروبا ليس سوى ضياعاً للوقت، ويسبب لنا المتاعب والإذلال". وعلى نحو مماثل، خلال اجتماعه في 29 آب/أغسطس مع الرئيس والحكومة، طلب من المسؤولين تعديل توقعاتهم حول الاتحاد الأوروبي بقوله: "لا بأس في إقامة علاقات مع أوروبا واستمرار المفاوضات معها، ولكن حتى في خضم ذلك، يجب ألا نبني أي أمل حول أمور مثل [الاتفاق النووي] أو الاقتصاد". وطلب منهم أيضاً "أن يراقبوا الأمور بحذر دائم" عند التفاوض مع أوروبا. 

وترافقت الخطابات المماثلة مع توجيه تحذيرات للحكومات الأوروبية، الأمر الذي زاد من الشعور باليأس. ففي 3 تموز/يوليو، قال وزير الداخلية عبد الرضا رحماني فضلي - المعروف بأنه مقرّب من خامنئي - بصورة تُنذر بالشؤم، "إذا أغمضتُ عيني لأربع وعشرين ساعة، سيمر أكثر من مليون لاجئ عبر حدود إيران الغربية إلى أوروبا". وفي هذا الصدد، وصف مقال نُشِر على موقع "مرصاد نيوز" التابع لـ «الحرس الثوري» التهديد الذي وجّهه فضلي "بأنه أخطر من إغلاق مضيق هرمز".

أرضية جديدة للتعاون بين الولايات المتحدة والاتحاد الأوروبي

في الوقت الراهن، يعمل آلاف الإيرانيين الموجودين خارج البلاد في الأوساط الأكاديمية، والمنظمات غير الحكومية، ووسائل الإعلام باللغة الفارسية، وغيرها من المؤسسات. ويعتبر النظام الإيراني المتشدد أن القسم الأكبر من هؤلاء المواطنين يشكلون تهديدات أمنية كبيرة، وأظهر مؤشرات على تكثيف جهوده لقمعهم أينما كانوا - سواء عبر تنفيذ أعمال إرهابية على الأراضي الأوروبية، أو منع مزدوجي الجنسية من دخول إيران، أو اعتقال أولئك الذين يحملون الجنسية الأوروبية أو الكندية أو الأمريكية.

وبناء على ذلك، يتعين على حكومات الدول الغربية الوقوف إلى جانب أبناء الشعب الإيراني، لا سيما أولئك الذين يعيشون ضمن حدود هذه البلدان أو يحملون جنسية مزدوجة. إن استعداد طهران لترهيب الجالية الإيرانية في الشتات من خلال مثل هذه الانتهاكات الصارخة يوفر أساساً مشتركاً لتحرّك الولايات المتحدة والاتحاد الأوروبي، ويشمل ذلك فرض عقوبات مكثّفة على كبار المسؤولين السياسيين والعسكريين الإيرانيين في قضايا حقوق الإنسان. 

 

مهدي خلجي، هو زميل "ليبيتزكي فاميلي" في معهد واشنطن.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 3035

Iran Intensifying Its Crackdown on Citizens Abroad

Mehdi Khalaji

Also available in العربية

November 2, 2018


The regime is once again targeting dissidents in Europe and arresting dual nationals, giving Washington and the EU common cause to sanction senior Iranian officials.

On October 30, Denmark recalled its ambassador and called for fresh EU sanctions against Iran after discovering that regime intelligence operatives had plotted an assassination on Danish soil. The reported target was an exiled leader of the Arab Struggle Movement for the Liberation of Ahvaz (ASMLA), the group Tehran accused of carrying out a terrorist attack in that eponymous region in September—conveniently ignoring the Islamic State’s claim of responsibility weeks earlier, and the fact that Iranian forces had launched missiles at IS bases in Syria in retaliation. Denmark’s decision followed similar developments in France, where an Iranian diplomat was expelled on October 26 after authorities uncovered a plot to attack a Paris gathering organized by another opposition group, Mujahedin-e Khalq (MEK).

For years, many observers assumed that Iran had largely abandoned its agenda of killing dissidents abroad in order to build trust with the West and normalize relations with the international community. But these and other incidents show that the regime has been intently pursuing foreign assassination plots again for some time, in tandem with domestic maneuvers intended to ward off persistent political protests and intensified media pressure at home.

RESUMING ATTACKS AFTER THE GREEN MOVEMENT

In the early years of the Islamic Republic, regime operatives reportedly killed hundreds of Iranian dissidents in various countries. In 1991, for example, they assassinated the shah’s former prime minister, Shapour Bakhtiar, in a Paris suburb. A year later, several Iranian Kurdish opposition leaders were killed at the Mykonos restaurant in Berlin, leading the German judiciary to accuse Supreme Leader Ali Khamenei, President Akbar Hashemi Rafsanjani, and Intelligence Minister Ali Fallahian of ordering the attack.

Such operations dwindled when reformist president Muhammad Khatami came to office in 1997. Yet the regime seemingly reverted to this policy in 2009, when the Green Movement launched mass protests against the rigged presidential election. On November 5 of that year, senior military official Gen. Masoud Jazayeri promised that Iran would “identify the dissidents, whether inside or outside the country, and crack down on them at the proper time,” explicitly noting the potential for operations on foreign soil: “If the Islamic Republic sees it as inevitable, it can go after the coup supporters even beyond the border.”

The years since have seen multiple high-profile assassinations abroad. For example, on April 29, 2017, GEM TV owner Saeed Karimian and his Kuwaiti business partner were shot dead in front of his office in Istanbul. Iran’s most popular satellite network, GEM frequently aired entertainment programs promoting Western cultural values, leading a Tehran court to try him in absentia and sentence him to six years in prison for spreading propaganda against the Islamic Republic.

More recently, the Islamic Revolutionary Guard Corps launched missiles at the Iraqi headquarters of the Kurdistan Democratic Party-Iran (KDP-I) on September 8. Two days later, Gen. Yahya Rahim Safavi, the Supreme Leader’s military advisor and former IRGC commander-in-chief, reiterated Jazayeri’s 2009 threat about striking abroad: “If necessary, the IRGC will hunt and crack down on dissidents and enemies beyond borders and seas.”

DEFINING IRAN’S “ENEMIES”

The regime has kept its definition of “enemy” fluid depending on its domestic political situation. In January 2010, near the height of the Green Movement, the Intelligence Ministry reportedly released a list of sixty foreign organizations “involved in soft war” against Islamic Republic, including media networks, think thanks, universities, and affiliated entities. The ministry warned that relations with any of these organizations were “against the law,” prohibiting Iranian citizens from signing contracts or soliciting funds or other support from them.

Such a wide definition of “enemy” has given the regime legal ground to arrest dual nationals. In an August 28 interview, Intelligence Minister Mahmoud Alavi told state television that “dozens of spies” working in the state bureaucracy had been arrested. He then emphasized that “we prevent dual nationals from assuming any state position.” Similarly, Reuters reported in November 2017 that the IRGC had arrested “at least 30 dual nationals during the past two years, mostly on spying charges, according to lawyers, diplomats and relatives.”

To carry out such crackdowns, the regime uses a wide network of intelligence organs. Beside the main Intelligence Ministry and the Qods Force, the IRGC special forces wing responsible for extraterritorial operations, the Supreme Leader directly supervises several agencies capable of taking action against dissidents, including intelligence bureaus within the IRGC, the police, the regular army, the judiciary, the office of the president, and the Interior Ministry. For instance, many Iranian dual nationals have been arrested by IRGC intelligence (e.g., British citizen Nazanin Zaghari-Ratcliffe, detained since 2016).

This proliferation of organizations sometimes leads to public interagency disputes. For instance, when Dorri Najaf Abadi, an Iranian-Canadian dual national who worked with the nuclear negotiating team, was arrested last year, IRGC intelligence claimed responsibility and accused him of espionage. Yet the Intelligence Ministry repeatedly called for his release, emphasizing that it did not recognize him as a spy. In the end, the IRGC overruled the ministry, as it usually does on such matters.

“NO HOPE IN EUROPE”

Some may read Iran’s renewed terrorist operations abroad as a hardliner tactic for undermining President Hassan Rouhani’s government and further demonstrating the nuclear deal’s ineffectiveness after Washington pulled out of the agreement earlier this year. Yet far from a sign of self-confidence, the regime’s plots in Europe seem more like a symptom of its despair about the EU’s ability to resist U.S. pressure and save the deal. For instance, an October 28 Financial Times story quoted diplomats who noted that “the EU has struggled to find a member state to host a new financial channel to shield trade with Iran from looming sanctions.”

Khamenei no doubt views such reports as proof of what he said in an October 17 speech: “Our eyes should focus mainly on the East. Looking at the West and Europe leaves us with nothing but a waste of time, headaches, and humiliation.” Similarly, during an August 29 meeting with the president and cabinet, he told officials to adjust their expectations about the EU: “To have relations with Europe and continue negotiations with it is okay, but even while doing this, we should harbor no hope about matters like the [nuclear deal] or economy.” He also told them to “watch things with suspicious eyes” when talking with Europe.

Such rhetoric has been accompanied by warnings to European governments, increasing the sense of desperation. On July 3, Interior Minister Abdolreza Rahmani Fazli, who is known to be close to Khamenei, ominously stated, “If I shut my eyes for twenty-four hours, more than one million refugees would pass through Iran’s western borders to Europe.” An article published on the IRGC-affiliated Mersad News website called Fazli’s threat “more serious than blocking the Strait of Hormuz.”

NEW GROUND FOR U.S.-EU COOPERATION

Today, thousands of Iranians work abroad in academia, NGOs, Persian-language media, and other institutions. Iran’s hardline regime casts the bulk of these citizens as major security threats and has shown signs of expanding its efforts to crack down on them wherever they are—whether by conducting acts of terror on European soil, preventing dual nationals from entering Iran, or arresting those who hold European, Canadian, or American citizenship.

Accordingly, Western governments need to stand behind the Iranian people, especially those who live within their borders or hold dual citizenship. Tehran’s willingness to intimidate the diaspora through such blatant violations provides a common basis for U.S. and EU action, including intensified human rights sanctions on high-ranking Iranian political and military officials.

Mehdi Khalaji is the Libitzky Family Fellow at The Washington Institute.