أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 3372

إيران تتفاخر بتقنيات جديدة للصواريخ والمحركات النفاثة

فرزين نديمي

متاح أيضاً في English

28 آب/أغسطس 2020


في 20 آب/أغسطس، اتخذت إيران خطوة غير اعتيادية بإقامة فعاليات "يوم الصناعة الدفاعية" السنوي قبل الموعد المقرر ليتزامن مع مشاورات مجلس الأمن الدولي حول قضيتين رئيسيتين: الحظر الذي سينتهي قريباً على صفقات الأسلحة مع النظام، والتهديدات الأمريكية بإعادة فرض كافة العقوبات الماضية من خلال تفعيل آلية إعادة فرض العقوبات التي كانت معلقة بموجب الاتفاق النووي. وفي ظل تواجد وزير الخارجية الأمريكي مايك بومبيو في نيويورك لعرض مبررات واشنطن المنطقية في هذا الخصوص، من المحتمل أن تكون إيران قد أملت في التأثير على المحادثات لصالحها، ودعم سمعتها في التحدي، وتعزيز ردعها. علاوةً على ذلك، ومن خلال كشف النقاب عن عدد من الأنظمة العسكرية "المتطورة"، بدا النظام عازماً على إثبات عدم وجود أي عوائق تعرقل إنتاجه لتقنيات الفضاء الجوي الرئيسية، مما يعني ضمنياً أن المزيد من العقوبات لن تعيق تقدمه في هذا الإطار.

ما الذي تم الكشف عنه؟

كان الهدف من تقديم موعد فعاليات "يوم الصناعة الدفاعية" إلى 20 آب/أغسطس إظهار التقدم الذي أحرزته إيران في مجال نشر صواريخ باليستية أبعد مدى ومتعددة الميزات، وصواريخ جوالة بعيدة المدى، ومحركات نفاثة عالية الأداء. وشملت الأنظمة المعروضة ما يلي:

صاروخ "الحاج قاسم" الباليستي. يحمل هذا الصاروخ اسم قائد «فيلق القدس» الراحل قاسم سليماني، وهو صاروخ يوصف بأنه مشتق متوسط المدى من مجموعة صواريخ "فاتح-110/"ذو الفقار" الباليستية التكتيكية القصيرة المدى، والتي يبلغ مداها كما يُدّعى 1400 كيلومتر - أي ضعف مدى صاروخ "ذو الفقار" الذي يبلغ 700 كم. ويُعتقد أن صاروخ "الحاج قاسم" من صنع "مجموعة الشهيد باقري الصناعية" في خجير أو من صنع إحدى الشركات التابعة لها بالقرب من يزد، وجميعها مدرجة على قائمة العقوبات التي فرضتها الولايات المتحدة في عام 2018. وهو يبدو وكأنه صاروخ جديد تماماً يتمتع بهيكل أعرض، وربما يضم محركاً يعمل بالوقود الصلب من طراز "سلمان" مع غلاف مركب ملفوف الأسلاك ونظام توجيه بقوة دفع ذات فوهة دوارة. وتم اختبار هذا المزيج بنجاح في نيسان/أبريل على مركبة الإطلاق الفضائية "قاصد" التابعة لـ «الحرس الثوري الإسلامي» الإيراني، كمرحلة ثانية وربما ثالثة للصاروخ.

الصاروخ الباليستي "الحاج قاسم "(المصدر: "وكالة أنباء الجمهورية الإسلامية").

وفقاً لوزارة الدفاع الإيرانية، يتم التحكم بصاروخ "الحاج قاسم" بالكامل باستخدام وسائل ديناميكية هوائية - أي عبر أسطح تحكم متحركة فقط، كفيلة بمفردها أن تجعل الصاروخ غير قابل للتسيير في مسارات خارج الغلاف الجوي. ويمكن أن يؤدي استخدام نظام توجيه بقوة دفع إلى تحسين قدرته على المناورة إلى حدّ كبير على تسيير الصاروخ على مثل هذه الارتفاعات العالية، في حين أن استخدام رأس حربي منفصل بوزن 500 كيلوغرام مع أسطح تحكم متحركة قد يعزز دقته وقدرته على اختراق الدفاعات. ويُزعم أن سرعة عودة الصاروخ هي 12 ماخ، مع سرعات نهائية تصل إلى 5 ماخ. وإذا كان ذلك صحيحاً، تُعتبر هذه الأرقام تقدماً على صاروخ "فتح-110" وتقترب من الميزات التي يتمتع بها صاروخ "سجيل-2" الأطول مدى. ويمكن للسرعات النهائية الأكبر أن تزيد من قوة التأثير وتُعقّد عمل الدفاعات الصاروخية.

صاروخ كروز البحري "أبو مهدي". يُعتقد أن هذا السلاح هو من صنع "مجموعة ثامن الأئمة الصناعية" (المعروفة أيضاً باسم "مجموعة صناعة الصواريخ الدفاعية البحرية") في بارشين ، والتي تخضع لعقوبات أمريكية منذ عام 2010. وقد يكون إما نسخة مجددة لصاروخ "حويزة" الجوال للهجوم البري (أي الجيل الثاني من صاروخ "سومار" الذي يُعتبر بدوره نسخة من صاروخ "Kh-55" الروسي) أو نسخة أحدث مضادة للسفن تم تطويرها في الأساس تحت اسم "طلائيه". وإذ هو مزود برأس ذي توجيه نشط بالرادار ويفُتخر أن مداه يزيد عن 1000 كيلومتر كما يُدّعى، يمكن إطلاقه من بطاريات متنقلة من الساحل أو من أرض داخلية ويُحتمل أن يشكل تهديداً خطيراً للقطع البحرية للتحالف في "بحر العرب". ووفقاً لبعض التقارير، إن "البحرية الإيرانية" هي الجهة التي ستتسلم صاروخ "أبو مهدي"، لكن الافتقار إلى منصات إطلاق بحرية مناسبة يعني أن استخدامه سيقتصر على البطاريات الأرضية في الوقت الحالي.

صاروخ كروز طويل المدى أ"بو مهدي" (المصدر: "وكالة أنباء الجمهورية الإسلامية" ["إيرنا"])

وفقاً لوزير الدفاع أمير حاتمي، تقوم إيران أيضاً بتطوير صاروخ كروز يُطلق من الجو بنطاق تأهُّب بعيد المدى. وقد يكون نسخة يتم إطلاقها من الجو من صاروخ "قدس" الجوال الأصغر حجماً الذي تم استخدامه لمهاجمة منشآت "أرامكو" النفطية السعودية في أيلول/سبتمبر 2019. وبالفعل، دعا الرئيس حسن روحاني في خطابه بمناسبة "يوم الصناعة الدفاعية"، إلى زيادة تطوير صواريخ كروز تطلق من الجو والأرض والبحر لتكون بديلاً في نهاية المطاف عن الصواريخ الباليستية، مما يؤكد قدرتها على المناورة ومقدرة أكبر على تفادي الكشف والاعتراض. وقد بعث الجنرال حاتمي برسالة مماثلة، مشدداً على الأولوية المتزايدة التي توليها إيران إلى الصواريخ الجوالة البعيدة المدى.

محرك "أوج" (Owj) النفاث. يهدف هذا المحرك إلى تشغيل كافة الطائرات النفاثة الإيرانية "الأصلية"، بما فيها مقاتلة "كوثر"/طائرة التدريب الأساسية (نسخة عن "أف-5أف") والطائرة التدريبية "ياسين". وهذه نسخة هندسة عكسية لتصميم "جاي 85" البارز من شركة "جنرال إلكتريك"، والتي تستند في الأصل إلى تكنولوجيا خمسينيات القرن الماضي. وقد بدأت إيران بتطوير نسختها في منتصف التسعينيات من خلال "شركة تصنيع المحركات التوربينية" (TEM) في غرب طهران. وهناك الملايين من محركات "جاي 85" العاملة حالياً في جميع أنحاء العالم؛ علماً بأن إيران حصلت على المئات منها قبل ثورة 1979.  

محرك "أوج" (Owj)  الإيراني (الصورة العليا) هو نسخة طبق الأصل من "جاي 85" الأمريكي (الصورة السفلى) (المصادر: وزارة الدفاع الإيرانية ؛ "جنرال إلكتريك")

محرك توربيني مروحي خفيف "جهش-700". يتفوق هذا المحرك على محرك "أوج" أهميةً نظراً لتمتعه بتكنولوجيا وإمكانيات أكبر - ولا سيما من حيث استخدامه لتشغيل طائرات بدون طيار عالية الارتفاع وذات قدرة تحمّل طويلة الأجل. ويبدو مشابهاً إلى حدّ كبير لمجموعة محركات "أف جاي 33"/"أف جاي 44" من شركة "ويليامز إنترناشونال" ذات فئة الحجم وقوة الدفع نفسهما، لذا فهي على الأرجح نسخة مباشرة من تلك التصميمات الأمريكية. ووفقاً للجنرال حاتمي، فهو "من النوع نفسه الذي شغل الطائرة الأمريكية بدون طيار "آر كيو-170" التي استحوذت عليها إيران في عام 2011، ولكنه "مصمم بالكامل في إيران". وربما كان يَقصد الإشارة إلى أن "آر-كيو 170 سنتينيل" تعمل بمحرك "أف جاي 33" وأن إيران تمكنت من إجراء هندسة عكسية لها، على الرغم من أنه يُعتقد عموماً أن لـ "سنتينيل" نوع مختلف من المحركات.  

يبدو أن محرك "جهش-700" الإيراني (الصورة العليا) هو نسخة من "أف جاي 33"/"أف جاي 44" لشركة "ويليامز إنترناشونال"  (الصورة السفلى) (المصادر: "شركة تصنيع المحركات التوربينية" (TEM"ويليامز إنترناشونال")

ويُقال إن "جهش-700" سيضمّ ريش عنفة أحادية البلورة مصنوعة من سبائك فائقة خاصة يمكنها تحمّل درجات حرارة عالية والبقاء في الخدمة مدة أطول. وإذا كان هذا صحيحاً، فإن القدرة على تصنيع مكونات محرك معدني أحادي البلورة إنجازاً جديداً في سجل إيران، وخطوة مهمة محتملة على الطريق الطويل نحو الاكتفاء الذاتي في تصنيع محركات نفاثة أكبر وعالية الأداء للطيران ولقطاعات النفط والغاز وتوليد الطاقة. ويقيناً، فإن تطوير محركات توربينية مروحية أكبر يمكنها الحفاظ على فعاليتها وتحمّل درجات حرارة تشغيل أعلى بكثير هو أمر صعب - سيتطلب من إيران إتقان العديد من التقنيات المتقدمة الأخرى عبر عمليات معقدة ومكلّفة للغاية. ومع ذلك، إذا نجحت طهران في هذا الإطار، فيمكنها يوماً ما تزويد تصميمات طائراتها المقاتلة المتقدمة بمحركات محلية.  

الخاتمة

في السنوات الأخيرة، سارعت إيران في تطوير أنظمة أسلحة أكثر قدرة في مجموعات أصغر، سواء من خلال الحصول على/ نَسْخْ التقنيات من الخارج أو تطوير تقنياتها الخاصة. وإذا ما استمر هذا المنحى، يمكن أن يغيّر النظام الإيراني تدريجياً ميزان القوى في الشرق الأوسط من خلال إرسال ونشر أسلحة دقيقة التوجيه وذات مدى أطول. ومن شأن زيادة المدى أن تمكّن القوات الإيرانية من إطلاق الصواريخ من أماكن أعمق في الداخل الإيراني واستخدام مسارات غير متوقعة، مما يحسّن بشكل كبير قدرة صواريخها وقاذفاتها على الصمود والبقاء في الخدمة. ويمكنها أيضاً تطوير ونشر نسخ مجهزة في حاويات من الصواريخ الجوالة البعيدة المدى على غرار "أبو مهدي" بسهولة نسبية. وعلى العموم، طوّرت إيران هذه الأسلحة لتقديم قدرة ساحقة على تنفيذ ضربة ثانية، ولكن يمكن بسهولة تكييفها لتناسب استراتيجية تنفيذ الضربة الأولى. وبالنظر إلى نية النظام المعلنة بمواصلة تطوير مثل هذه الأنظمة - بشكل شبه مؤكد بمساعدة التقنية والمعرفة من روسيا والصين - يجب أن تُظهر الجهات الفاعلة الدولية والإقليمية جدية أكبر بشأن إقامة أنظمة دفاع صاروخية متعددة الطبقات وقادرة على تغطية 360 درجة ومتكاملة من أجل التعامل مع ميزات إيرانية مستقبلية محتملة على المستويين النوعي (مثل الدقة) والكمي (التشبع).      

 

فرزين نديمي هو زميل مشارك في معهد واشنطن، ومتخصص في شؤون الأمن والدفاع المتعلقة بإيران ومنطقة الخليج.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 3372

Iran Flaunts New Missile and Jet Engine Technology

Farzin Nadimi

Also available in العربية

August 28, 2020


Although many of the recently unveiled systems are foreign copies or have unproven capabilities, they show a substantial indigenous development capacity that will only accelerate once the UN ban on weapons sales is lifted—even if past sanctions snap back into action.

On August 20, Iran took the unusual step of holding its annual “Defense Industry Day” events earlier than planned in order to coincide with UN Security Council deliberations on two key issues: the soon-to-expire ban on weapons transactions with the regime, and the U.S. threat to reactivate all past sanctions by triggering the nuclear deal’s snapback mechanism. With Secretary of State Mike Pompeo in New York to make Washington’s case, Iran likely hoped to influence the conversation in its favor, uphold its reputation for defiance, and bolster its deterrence. Moreover, by unveiling a number of “high-end” military systems, the regime seemed bent on proving that there are no bottlenecks left in its production of key aerospace technologies, implying that further sanctions will not impede its progress on that front.

WHAT WAS UNVEILED?

The hastily rescheduled August 20 events sought to showcase Iran’s progress on fielding longer-range, more-versatile ballistic missiles, long-range cruise missiles, and high-performance jet engines. The exhibited systems included the following:

Haj Qasem ballistic missile. Named after the late Qods Force commander Qasem Soleimani, this weapon is touted as a medium-range derivative of the Fateh-110/Zolfaghar family of short-range tactical ballistic missiles, with a claimed range of 1,400 km—double that of the Zolfaqar’s 700 km. The Haj Qasem is believed to be a product of the Shahid Bakeri Industrial Group in Khojir or one of its subsidiaries near Yazd, all sanctioned by the United States in 2018. It appears to be a completely new missile with a wider body, probably housing a Salman solid-fuel motor with a filament-wound composite casing and pivoting nozzle thrust vectoring system. This combination was successfully tested in April on the Islamic Revolutionary Guard Corps Qased space-launch vehicle, as the rocket’s second and probably third stage.

Haj Qasem ballistic missile (Source: Islamic Republic News Agency)

According to Iran’s Defense Ministry, however, the Haj Qasem is controlled entirely using aerodynamic means—that is, via moving control surfaces only, which on their own would make the missile unmaneuverable in exoatmospheric trajectories. The use of thrust-vectoring could greatly improve its maneuverability at such high altitudes, while the use of a 500 kg separating warhead with moving control surfaces could enhance its accuracy and ability to penetrate defenses. The missile’s reentry speed is claimed to be Mach 12, with terminal velocities reaching Mach 5. If true, these numbers constitute an improvement over the Fateh-110 and are close to those of the longer-range Sejjil-2 missile. Higher terminal velocities can increase the force of impact and complicate the work of missile defenses.

Abu Mahdi naval cruise missile. This weapon is believed to be a product of the Samen al-Aemeh Industries Group (aka Naval Defense Missile Industry Group) in Parchin, which has been under U.S. sanctions since 2010. It could be either a rebranded Hoveizeh land-attack cruise missile (i.e., a second-generation Soumar, itself a copy of the Russian Kh-55) or a newer antiship version originally developed under the name Talaiyeh. Equipped with an active radar seeker head and boasting a claimed range in excess of 1,000 km, it can be fired from mobile shore or inland batteries and potentially pose a serious threat to coalition naval assets in the Arabian Sea. The Islamic Republic of Iran Navy is reportedly the intended recipient of the Abu Mahdi, but a lack of suitable maritime launch platforms means that it will be limited to land-based batteries for now.

Abu Mahdi long-range cruise missile (Source: IRNA)

According to Defense Minister Amir Hatami, Iran is also developing an air-launched cruise missile with a long standoff range. It could be an air-launched version of the smaller Quds cruise missile that was used to attack Saudi Aramco oil facilities in September 2019. Indeed, in his speech marking Defense Industry Day, President Hassan Rouhani called for increased development of air-, ground- and sea-launched cruise missiles as an eventual substitute for ballistic missiles, emphasizing their maneuverability and greater ability to evade detection and interception. General Hatami delivered a similar message, noting the increased priority Iran has assigned to long-range cruise missiles.

Owj turbojet engine. This engine is intended to power all of Iran’s “indigenous” jet aircraft, including the Kowsar fighter/lead-in trainer (a copy of the F-5F) and the Yassin trainer. It is a reverse-engineered version of General Electric’s venerable J85 design, originally based on 1950s technology. Iran began developing its version in the mid-1990s through Turbine Engine Manufacturing Industries (TEM) in west Tehran. Millions of J85s are currently in service around the world; Iran received hundreds of them before the 1979 revolution.

Iran’s Owj engine (top) is an exact copy of the American J85 (bottom) (Sources: Iran Defense Ministry; General Electric)

Jahesh-700 light turbofan engine. This engine is a bigger deal than the Owj given its higher technology and potential—particularly in terms of powering high-altitude, long-endurance drones. It looks very similar to the Williams International FJ33/FJ44 family of engines of the same size and thrust category, so it is most likely a direct copy of those American designs. According to General Hatami, it is “of the same type that powered the American RQ-170 drone” captured by Iran in 2011, but is “entirely designed in Iran.” He probably meant to imply that the RQ-170 Sentinel is powered by an FJ33 and that Iran managed to reverse-engineer it, even though the Sentinel is generally believed to have a different type of engine.

Iran’s Jahesh-700 engine (top) appears to be a copy of the American Williams FJ33/FJ44 (bottom) (Sources: TEM; Williams International)

The Jahesh-700 is said to incorporate single-crystal turbine blades made of special superalloys that can withstand high temperatures and achieve a longer service life. If true, the ability to manufacture single-crystal metal engine components would be a new milestone for Iran, and a potentially important step on the long path to self-sufficiency in manufacturing larger high-performance jet engines for aviation and the oil/gas/power-generation sectors. To be sure, developing larger turbofan engines that can remain efficient while sustaining much higher operating temperatures is a tall order—it would require Iran to master many other advanced technologies via highly complex and costly processes. If Tehran succeeds on that front, however, it could someday power its own advanced fighter aircraft designs with indigenous engines.

CONCLUSION

In recent years, Iran has accelerated its development of more-capable weapon systems in smaller packages, whether by obtaining/copying technologies from abroad or developing its own. If this trend continues, the regime could gradually change the balance of power in the Middle East by fielding and proliferating longer-range precision-guided weapons. Increased range would enable Iranian forces to fire from deeper inland and use unexpected trajectories, greatly improving the survivability of their missiles and launchers. They could also develop and field containerized versions of long-range cruise missiles like the Abu Mahdi with relative ease. For the most part, Iran has developed these weapons to offer a crushing second-strike capability, but they could easily be adapted to a first-strike strategy. Given the regime’s stated intention to continue advancing such systems—almost certainly with the help of technology and know-how from Russia and China—international and regional players should get more serious about establishing multilayer, 360-degree, integrated missile defense systems to address potential future Iranian advantages at the qualitative (e.g., precision) and quantitative (saturation) level.

Farzin Nadimi is an associate fellow with The Washington Institute, specializing in the security and defense affairs of Iran and the Gulf region.