أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 2990

إيران بعد الانسحاب من «خطة العمل الشاملة المشتركة» (الجزء الثاني): رسم معالم ردّ طهران

مايكل آيزنشتات

متاح أيضاً في English

١٧ تموز/يوليو ٢٠١٨


اقرأ الجزء الأول من هذا المرصد السياسي، الذي يبحث الدروس المستخلصة من حملات الضغط السابقة ضد برنامج إيران النووي.

 

رداً على انسحاب واشنطن من الاتفاق النووي وإعادة فرض العقوبات ذات الصلة، ستتصرف إيران على الأرجح وفق المبادئ التي اعتمدتها خلال الأزمات النووية السابقة. فقد تقوم باختبار القيود النووية التي فرضتها «خطة العمل الشاملة المشتركة» أو تتجاوزها، وتردّ بالمثل على الضغوط المكثفة في مجالات أخرى، وتبحث عن وسائل بديلة في المرحلة المقبلة عندما تواجه رداً حازماً، وتحاول التخفيف من أثر العقوبات من خلال دق إسفين بين الولايات المتحدة والمجتمع الدولي.

وقد تعمل طهران أيضاً على تكثيف أنشطتها الإقليمية - التي لم تكن جزءاً من مقاومتها السابقة المتعلقة بالأسلحة النووية - مما أدى إلى إزالة الحدود بينهما وتعزيز احتمالية التصعيد في أحد المجالين أو كليهما. وإذا أدت العقوبات الأمريكية إلى تراجع ملحوظ في دخل النفط الإيراني (وهي مسألة غير مؤكدة في الوقت الحاضر) أو استنتجت طهران أن واشنطن تبذل جهدها لتغيير النظام، فقد تلجأ إلى التخريب أو إثارة الفوضى في الخليج العربي، أو شنّ هجمات إرهابية، أو حتى تجاوز العتبة النووية. وقد تساهم إجراءات إدارة ترامب خلال الأشهر المقبلة في تحديد المسار الذي ستختاره إيران.

خيارات ايران

سوف يُحدد رد فعل الجمهورية الإسلامية جزئياً من شدة حملة الضغط الأمريكية، والطريقة التي تتفاعل بها واشنطن مع الاختبارات الإيرانية، والدرجة التي تعتقد طهران أن أمريكا ستدعم سياستها القائمة على أقصى قدر من الضغط بالقوة العسكرية. وإذا استطاعت إيران تدبير أمرها رغم العقوبات، فقد تواصل الالتزام بقيود «خطة العمل الشاملة المشتركة» وفصل محاولاتها المتواضعة المتعلقة بالمقاومة النووية عن أنشطتها غير النووية والإقليمية. وإذا كان أثر العقوبات الأمريكية كبيراً، فقد لا تنسحب إيران من «خطة العمل الشاملة المشتركة» لتفادي تجدد العقوبات الدولية عليها، على أن تقاوم في الوقت نفسه في مجالات أخرى. وفي أسوأ الحالات، قد ترد إيران على كافة الجبهات دفعةً واحدة - رغم أن هذا السيناريو يبدو مستبعداً في الوقت الحالي. وبالتالي، أمام طهران مجموعة واسعة من خيارات التعامل التي يمكنها موازنتها وفقاً للظروف.

سياسة حافة الهاوية النووية. أشارت إيران إلى أن انسحاب الولايات المتحدة من «خطة العمل الشاملة المشتركة» قد يدفع بها إلى زيادة جمع مكونات أجهزة الطرد المركزي واستئناف إنتاج مخزون سادس فلوريد اليورانيوم لغرض التخصيب - وهي أنشطة لا تنتهك «خطة العمل الشاملة المشتركة» ولكنها تثير المخاوف من احتمال إقدام طهران على ذلك في نهاية المطاف. وبإمكان النظام أيضاً تسريع وتيرة العمل على الصواريخ البالستية التي يتخطى مداها الـ 2000 كيلومتر التي هي الحدود الحالية التي وضعتها إيران لنفسها. (وقد أعلنت هذا الحد في عام 2011 كبادرة تجاه أوروبا ولكنها قامت منذ ذلك الحين باختبار نظام أطول مدى، هو خرمشهر، وهددت بتجاوز هذا المدى في حالة تهديد أوروبا لإيران).

إذا تم تطبيق العقوبات الأمريكية الثانوية بشكل صارم وتسببها بفرض تكاليف باهظة، فقد تختار طهران في النهاية أشكالاً أكثر خطورة من سياسة حافة الهاوية النووية. على سبيل المثال، يمكن أن تتجاوز السقف الذي حددته «خطة العمل الشاملة المشتركة» من خلال تخصيب مخزوناتها من اليورانيوم بما يتخطى المستوى المسموح به حالياً (أي 3.67 في المائة من "اليورانيوم 235")، أو من خلال تخزين أكثر من 300 كيلوغرام من اليورانيوم المنخفض التخصيب. كما يمكنها تعليق تنفيذ "البروتوكول الإضافي" أو وقف التعاون مع "الوكالة الدولية للطاقة الذرية". وقد يؤدي الانسحاب البطيء والتدريجي من قيود «خطة العمل الشاملة المشتركة» إلى تعقيد جهود الولايات المتحدة للضغط على إيران، لا سيما إذا أعلن النظام أنه سيحترم هذه القيود مجدداً فور انضمام الولايات المتحدة من جديد إلى الاتفاق (على الرغم من أن الدول الأوروبية الرئيسية أشارت إلى أن أي انتهاكات لـ «خطة العمل الشاملة المشتركة» من شأنها دفع عملية إعادة العقوبات النووية).

وإذا ما عجزت مقاربة تدريجية عن التخفيف من وطأة العقوبات، قد تسعى إيران إلى بناء قدرات تتجاوز العتبة النووية من خلال تخزين كميات كبيرة من المواد الانشطارية على وجه السرعة (ما يسمى بنموذج اليابان) من أجل زيادة الضغوط على الولايات المتحدة، أو قد تكشف جوانب مخفية من برنامجها النووي من أجل صنع عدد صغير من الأسلحة، ربما لاستئناف المفاوضات من موقع قوة والتوصل إلى رفع العقوبات مقابل الموافقة على تجميد ترسانتها النووية الناشئة (ما يسمى بنموذج كوريا الشمالية). ومع ذلك، فإن أياً من المسارين قد يؤدي إلى تحفيز القيام بعمل عسكري من قبل إسرائيل القلقة أو من قبل الولايات المتحدة (وهذا أقل احتمالاً). ولم يشر الرئيس ترامب حتى الآن، إلى ما إذا كان مستعداً لاستخدام القوة ضد برنامج إيران النووي؛ وقد يتوقف ذلك جزئياً على ما إذا كانت الدبلوماسية قد احتوت خطر الحرب مع كوريا الشمالية.

المقاومة النووية الإقليمية. منذ أوائل ثمانينيات القرن الماضي، أعلنت إيران أنها إذا لم تستطع تصدير النفط، فلن تتمكن أي من الدول المجاورة تصديره أيضاً. وبالتالي، فإن العقوبات الأمريكية التي تحدّ بشكل كبير من عائدات النفط الإيرانية قد تدفع النظام إلى عرقلة إنتاج النفط وتصديره على الجانب العربي من الخليج عن طريق الهجمات الإلكترونية أو أعمال التخريب أو التحرك العسكري. وفي نهاية المطاف، قد تستهدف مثل هذه الخطوات مضيق هرمز، الذي يُعتبر ممر معظم الصادرات والواردات الإيرانية - رغم أنه لهذا السبب، من غير المحتمل أن تتخذ إيران خطوات تهدد قدرتها على استخدام المضيق.

وعلاوةً على ذلك، إذا تسببت الضغوط الأمريكية المتزايدة بزعزعة استقرار الجمهورية الإسلامية، فقد تقرر طهران دمج جهود منفصلة سابقاً لإبعاد الضغوط عن البرنامج النووي الإيراني وتقويض المصالح الأمريكية في سوريا والعراق وأفغانستان. ولتحقيق هذه الغاية، قد توجه إيران وكلاءها نحو استئناف الهجمات على العناصر الأمريكية في هذه الدول أو زيادة وتيرتها.

وعلى نحو بديل، بإمكان إيران معاقبة الولايات المتحدة من خلال زيادة أنشطتها ضد إسرائيل والمملكة العربية السعودية سواء من خلال القيام بعمليات مباشرة أو عن طريق وكلائها. وفي ظل عودة القوات الموالية للأسد إلى جنوب سوريا في أعقاب الهجوم الأخير الذي قام به النظام هناك، فقد تحاول طهران في النهاية زعزعة استقرار الأردن لتسهيل نقل الأسلحة إلى فلسطينيي الضفة الغربية - كما دعا المرشد الأعلى علي خامنئي في عام 2014.

ورداً على التهديد المتزايد الذي تشكله إيران ووكلائها خلال الحرب السورية، نفذت إسرائيل أكثر من 100 غارة داخل الأراضي السورية منذ أوائل عام 2013، مستهدفة بذلك مستودعات الأسلحة وقوافل نقل الأسلحة إلى «حزب الله». ومنذ أواخر عام 2017، ضربت إسرائيل المنشآت العسكرية الإيرانية في سوريا بشكل متكرر أيضاً، لمنع إيران من تحويل تلك البلاد إلى نقطة انطلاق للأعمال العسكرية ضد إسرائيل. وإذا تمت إساءة التعامل مع الوضع، يمكن لهذه الصراعات المستمرة أن تعقّد الأزمة النووية الإيرانية الناشئة، مما يؤدي إلى اندلاع حرب لا يبدو أن أحداً يريدها - على الأقل في الوقت الحالي.

توصيات سياسية

الآن بعد انسحاب واشنطن من «خطة العمل الشاملة المشتركة»، كيف يمكنها أن تُحدد ردود فعل إيران في الوقت الذي تعزز فيه المصالح الأمريكية بأقصى قدر من الفعالية في المنطقة؟ لا بدّ من قيام عمل متضافر وموحد يسترشد بالمبادئ التالية:  

إستراتيجية شاملة. تحتاج الولايات المتحدة إلى وضع إستراتيجية بشأن إيران تشمل كافة عناصر القوة الوطنية، حيث أن العقوبات وحدها قد لا تكون كافية. ومن أجل تقليص احتمال اتخاذ قرارات غير مثالية تستند إلى الاندفاع أو النفعية السياسية، على الإدارة الأمريكية انتهاج مقاربة مدروسة تربط بشكل واضح بين الوسائل والغايات مع تسليطها الضوء على التكاليف والفوائد والمقايضات التي ينطوي عليها كل خيار. ويشمل ذلك إدراك المخاطر التي تنطوي عليها سياسة أقصى درجات الضغط، والتي قد تقنع طهران بأنه ليس لديها ما تخسره بسبب تعطيل شحنات النفط الإقليمية أو محاولة تجاوز العتبة النووية.

الخطة البديلة. حتى في الوقت الذي تُطبّق فيه واشنطن مقاربة الضغط الخاصة بها، فإنها تحتاج إلى تدابير وقائية من أجل معادلة المخاطر المرافقة لهذه السياسة. ويعني ذلك خيارات الاستعداد لاحتواء برنامج نووي إيراني أُعيد تشكيله إذا رفض النظام المفاوضات وأثبت قدرته على كبح الاضطرابات الداخلية - لا سيما إذا أظهرت إدارة ترامب أو إسرائيل عدم رغبتهما على التعامل مع البرنامج عسكرياً أو عدم قدرتهما على القيام بذلك.   

المقاومة في سوريا - وخارجها. تُعتبر مواجهة وكلاء طهران وعملياتها العسكرية في سوريا (وفي دول أخرى) أساسية من أجل تقويض قدرة إيران على مقاومة العقوبات النووية عبر تنفيذ خطوات في المنطقة. وتحقيقاً لهذه الغاية، على الولايات المتحدة التعاون مع روسيا حول الحفاظ على قدرة إسرائيل على تعطيل الجهود الإيرانية الرامية إلى تحويل سوريا إلى منصة لبسط نفوذها في المشرق.

دعم العقوبات بخيارات سرية/عسكرية. يتعين على واشنطن إعلام طهران بأنها إذا أعادت بناء برنامجها النووي، ستطلق الولايات المتحدة حملة سرية لزعزعة استقرار النظام وإرغامه على تحويل موارد إضافية للأمن الداخلي - مستغلةً مخاوف إيران من "ثورة ناعمة" مستوحاة من الخارج. ويجب أن يتمثل الهدف في الردع وليس تغيير النظام. ومن أجل منع إيران من تجاوز العتبة النووية، ينبغي على الولايات المتحدة أن تحافظ على استعدادها لتوجيه ضربة وقائية ضد البرنامج النووي الإيراني إذا لزم الأمر. كما يتعين على واشنطن أن تُحذر طهران من أنه إذا قامت قواتها أو قام وكلاؤها باستهداف الأفراد الأمريكيين، فسيتم استهداف العناصر الإيرانية - بالطريقة نفسها التي تمّ فيها استهداف قادة تنظيميْ «القاعدة» و«الدولة الإسلامية».   

الاستعداد لإطلاق التدابير وتلقيها. تتمثل طريقة عمل طهران في الردّ بالمثل على الأعمال العدائية من أجل تعزيز الردع؛ وعليه، قد تتسبب الهجمات الإلكترونية التي تنفذها الولايات المتحدة قيام إيران بهجمات مماثلة وقد تسفر التدابير الرامية إلى خفض إيرادات النفط الإيرانية عن وقف إمدادات النفط في جميع أنحاء الخليج. وبالتالي، يتعين على واشنطن تجنب أي خطوات من شأنها أن تؤدي إلى ردود هي غير مستعدة للتعامل معها - على سبيل المثال، بدلاً من قطع إيرادات النفط بالكامل، بإمكانها ضمان حصول إيران فقط على ما يكفي من دخل النفط لكي لا تتم عرقلة صادرات دول الخليج العربية. وعلى نحو مماثل، إذا وصل الأمر بواشنطن إلى الترويج بشكل فعال من أجل تغيير النظام، فقد تدفع طهران إلى الردّ من خلال تكثيف هجمات وكلائها على الأفراد الأمريكيين في المنطقة وشن هجمات إرهابية على المصالح الأمريكية هناك. (وبالفعل، أدت المخاوف من تغيير النظام، إلى دفع طهران على ما يبدو، إلى استئناف اغتيال ناشطين معارضين إيرانيين في أوروبا بعد توقف دام عقوداً من الزمن).   

على الأصدقاء أن لا يفاجئوا أصدقاءهم. يجب على واشنطن أن تضغط على حلفائها لتنسيق خطواتهم ضد إيران بشكل أوثق، لكي لا تتورط الولايات المتحدة عن غير قصد في هذه الخطوات ويتمّ استهدافها في المقابل. وربما حدث ذلك في تشرين الأول/أكتوبر 2016، حين أسفرت ضربة جوية سعودية في اليمن عن مقتل أكثر من 140 مشاركاً في جنازة، وأدت إلى شن عدة هجمات على المدمّرة "يو أس أس ميسون" على يد متمردين حوثيين مرتبطين بإيران. وقد تحْدُث أعمال انتقامية مماثلة رداً على ضربة إسرائيلية واضحة خلال حزيران/يونيو الماضي أسفرت عن مقتل أكثر من 50 مقاتلاً عراقياً مدعوماً من إيران في شرق سوريا. 

استعادة مصداقية الولايات المتحدة على صعيدي النفوذ والردع. قد تؤدي فجوة المصداقية الأمريكية القائمة منذ فترة طويلة مع طهران إلى تعقيد المساعي الرامية إلى تحديد معالم الخيارات المستقبلية للنظام. وكان الرد الأمريكي المقيّد على الهجمات التي رعتها إيران على الأفراد الأمريكيين في بيروت (عام 1983) والسعودية (عام 1996) والعراق (بعد عام 2003) قد أثبت لطهران أنه بإمكانها خوض حرب بالوكالة على الولايات المتحدة دون خطر مواجهتها أي ردّ عسكري. ونظراً إلى معارضة الرئيس ترامب العلنية لوجود عسكري أمريكي طويل الأمد في سوريا والفجوة الكبيرة بين أقواله وأفعاله بشأن إيران، لا يزال هناك الكثير الذي يجب عمله لإصلاح مصداقية الولايات المتحدة.      

التوازن الصحيح على صعيد السياسة. يكمن التحدي الذي تواجهه واشنطن في فرض تكاليف كافية لإعادة طهران إلى طاولة المفاوضات، ولكن دون التسبب بخطوات إيرانية تكون الولايات المتحدة غير مستعدة للتعامل معها أو قد تؤدي إلى نشوب صراع في المنطقة. وسوف يعتمد الكثير على ما إذا كانت طهران تتصرف بحذر أو تتمتع بالجرأة للمبالغة نتيجة النجاح الذي حققته مؤخراً في المنطقة والرسائل المتباينة التي تلقتها من واشنطن. وسيكون تغيير حسابات المخاطر بالنسبة لطهران وتحديد هيكلياتها التحفيزية - في ظل التصرف بحكمة - أساسييْن لإدارة التصعيد ونجاح السياسة على حدّ سواء.    

 

مايكل آيزنشتات هو زميل "كاهن" ومدير برنامج الدراسات العسكرية والأمنية في معهد واشنطن.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 2990

Iran After the JCPOA Withdrawal (Part 2): Shaping Tehran’s Response

Michael Eisenstadt

Also available in العربية

July 17, 2018


Tehran will likely resort to measured countermoves in the nuclear domain at first, but successful U.S. pressure could spur it to challenge JCPOA limits, take action in non-nuclear domains, or push back against U.S. and allied forces.

Read Part 1 of this PolicyWatch, which examined lessons from past pressure campaigns against Iran’s nuclear program.

In response to Washington’s withdrawal from the nuclear deal and reimposition of related sanctions, Iran will likely act in accordance with principles that have guided it through past nuclear crises. It may test or exceed nuclear limits imposed by the Joint Comprehensive Plan of Action (JCPOA), respond in kind to intensified pressure in other domains, seek alternative ways forward when confronted by a firm response, and attempt to mitigate the impact of sanctions by driving wedges between the United States and the international community.

Tehran may also ramp up its regional activities—which have not been part of its past nuclear pushback—thereby eroding the boundary between the two and raising the potential for escalation in one or both arenas. In the event that U.S. sanctions lead to drastic reductions in Iran’s oil income (an uncertain proposition at present) or Tehran concludes that Washington is actively pursuing regime change, it may resort to subversion or sabotage in the Persian Gulf, terrorist attacks, or even a nuclear breakout. The Trump administration’s actions in the coming months may help determine which path Iran chooses.

IRAN’S OPTIONS

The Islamic Republic’s response will be shaped in part by the intensity of the U.S. pressure campaign, the manner in which Washington reacts to Iranian tests, and the degree to which Tehran believes America will back up its policy of maximum pressure with military force. If Iran can muddle through despite sanctions, it might continue observing JCPOA limits and decoupling its modest attempts at nuclear pushback from its non-nuclear and regional activities. If U.S. sanctions cut deeply, Iran might remain in the JCPOA to avert the snapback of international sanctions while pushing back in other arenas. In the worst case, Iran could push back on all fronts at once—though such a scenario seems unlikely for now. Thus, Tehran has a broad range of response options that it can calibrate according to circumstances.

Nuclear brinkmanship. Iran has indicated that U.S. withdrawal from the JCPOA might spur it to ramp up assembly of centrifuge components and resume production of uranium hexafluoride feedstock for enrichment—activities that do not violate the JCPOA but inspire fear that Tehran may eventually do so. The regime could also accelerate work on ballistic missiles whose range exceeds its current self-proclaimed limit of 2,000 kilometers. (It announced this limit in 2011 as a gesture to Europe but has since tested a longer-range system, the Khoramshahr, and threatened to exceed that range should Europe threaten Iran.)

If U.S. secondary sanctions are strictly enforced and impose a high cost, Tehran could eventually opt for riskier forms of nuclear brinkmanship. For instance, it could exceed JCPOA caps by enriching its uranium stocks beyond their current allowed level (i.e., 3.67 percent of U-235), or by stockpiling more than 300 kilograms of low-enriched uranium. It could also suspend implementation of the Additional Protocol or otherwise cease cooperation with the International Atomic Energy Agency. A slow, incremental breakout from JCPOA limits might complicate U.S. efforts to pressure Iran, especially if the regime declares that it will return to these limits once the United States rejoins the agreement (though key European states have indicated that any JCPOA violations would prompt the snapback of nuclear sanctions).

Should an incremental approach fail to yield sanctions relief, Iran might seek a threshold nuclear capability by quickly stockpiling large quantities of fissile material (the so-called Japan model) in order to ratchet up pressure on the United States. Or it could resurrect covert aspects of its nuclear program in order to create a small number of weapons, perhaps to restart negotiations from a position of strength and get sanctions lifted in return for agreeing to a freeze on its nascent nuclear arsenal (the so-called North Korea model). Either route, however, risks spurring military action by an apprehensive Israel or (less likely) by the United States. So far, President Trump has not indicated whether he would be willing to use force against Iran’s nuclear program; this might depend in part on whether diplomacy has contained the threat of war with North Korea.

Regional pushback. Since the early 1980s, Iran has declared that if it cannot export oil, then none of its neighbors will either. Thus, U.S. sanctions that severely curtail Iran’s oil income could prompt the regime to disrupt oil production and exports on the Arab side of the Gulf via cyberattacks, sabotage, or military action. Ultimately, such actions could target the Strait of Hormuz, the passageway for most of Iran’s exports and imports—though for that reason, Iran is unlikely to take steps that jeopardize its own ability to use the strait.

Moreover, if intensified U.S. pressure destabilizes the Islamic Republic, Tehran may decide to merge previously separate efforts to parry pressure on the nuclear program and undermine U.S. interests in Syria, Iraq, and Afghanistan. To this end, Iran might direct its proxies to resume or intensify attacks on U.S. personnel in those three countries.

Alternatively, Iran could punish the United States by intensifying activities against Israel and Saudi Arabia via direct action or proxies. And with the return of pro-Assad forces to southern Syria following the latest regime offensive there, Tehran might eventually try to destabilize Jordan in order to facilitate arms transfers to West Bank Palestinians—as Supreme Leader Ali Khamenei called for in 2014.

In response to the growing threat posed by Iran and its proxies during the Syria war, Israel has conducted well over 100 strikes inside Syrian territory since early 2013, hitting arms depots and weapons convoys destined for Hezbollah. And since late 2017, it has repeatedly struck Iranian military facilities there as well, in order to prevent Iran from transforming the country into a springboard for military action against Israel. If the situation is mishandled, these ongoing conflicts could become entangled with the nascent Iranian nuclear crisis, sparking a war that no one seems to want—at least for the moment.

POLICY RECOMMENDATIONS

Now that Washington has withdrawn from the JCPOA, how can it shape Iran’s reactions while most effectively promoting U.S. interests in the region? Concerted, unified action is essential, guided by the following principles:

A comprehensive strategy. The United States needs an Iran strategy that integrates all elements of national power, as sanctions alone may not suffice. To reduce the possibility of suboptimal decisions based on impulse or political expediency, the administration should adopt a structured approach that clearly links means to ends while highlighting the costs, benefits, and tradeoffs involved in each choice. This includes acknowledging the risks involved in the policy of maximum pressure, which might convince Tehran that it has nothing to lose by disrupting regional oil shipments or attempting a nuclear breakout.

Plan B. Even as it implements its pressure approach, Washington needs hedging measures to offset the risks inherent in this policy. This means readying options for containing a reconstituted Iranian nuclear program if the regime rejects negotiations and proves adept at curbing domestic unrest—especially if the Trump administration or Israel prove unwilling or unable to deal with the program militarily.

Pushing back in Syria—and beyond. Countering Tehran’s proxy and military operations in Syria (and elsewhere) is essential to undermining Iran’s ability to push back against nuclear sanctions with regional actions. To this end, the United States should weigh in with Russia on preserving Israel’s ability to disrupt Iranian efforts at transforming Syria into a platform for projecting power in the Levant.

Backstop sanctions with covert/military options. Washington should signal Tehran that if it ever rebuilds its nuclear program, the United States would launch a covert campaign to destabilize the regime and force it to divert additional resources to internal security—playing on Iranian fears of an externally inspired “soft revolution.” The goal should be deterrence, not regime change. And to deter an Iranian nuclear breakout, the United States should preserve its readiness to undertake a preventive strike on the nuclear program if necessary. Washington should also warn Tehran that if its forces or proxies target U.S. personnel, then Iranian personnel will be targeted in response—in much the same way that al-Qaeda and Islamic State leaders have been targeted.

Prepare to get as well as to give. Tehran’s modus operandi is to reciprocate hostile acts in order to bolster deterrence; thus, U.S. cyberattacks could beget Iranian cyberattacks, and measures to slash Iran’s oil income could beget oil disruptions across the Gulf. Washington should therefore avoid actions that may engender responses it is ill prepared to deal with—for instance, instead of a total oil cutoff, it could ensure that Iran has just enough oil income to stop short of disrupting Gulf Arab exports. Likewise, if Washington overreaches by actively promoting regime change, it could induce Tehran to overreach by intensifying proxy attacks on U.S. personnel in the region and launching terrorist attacks on American interests there. (Indeed, fears of regime change have apparently led Tehran to resume the assassination of Iranian opposition activists in Europe after a decades-long hiatus.)

Friends should not surprise friends. Washington should press its allies to coordinate their actions against Iran more closely, so that the United States is not inadvertently implicated in them and targeted in response. This may have occurred in October 2016, when a Saudi airstrike in Yemen that killed more than 140 funeral attendees seemed to spur several attacks on the destroyer USS Mason by Iranian-linked Houthi rebels. Similar reprisals could occur in response to an apparent Israeli strike this June that killed more than fifty Iranian-backed Iraqi fighters in eastern Syria.

Restore U.S. credibility for leverage and deterrence. The longstanding U.S. credibility gap with Tehran could complicate efforts to shape the regime’s future choices. The restrained American reaction to Iranian-sponsored attacks on U.S. personnel in Beirut (1983), Saudi Arabia (1996), and Iraq (after 2003) taught Tehran that it can wage proxy warfare against the United States without risking a military response. Given President Trump’s public opposition to a long-term U.S. military presence in Syria and the yawning gap between his words and actions on Iran, much needs to be done to repair U.S. credibility.

The right policy balance. The challenge for Washington is to impose sufficient costs to bring Tehran back to negotiations, but without prompting Iranian actions that the United States is ill-prepared to deal with or that could spark a regional conflict. Much will depend on whether Tehran acts with caution or is emboldened to overreach as a result of its recent successes in the region and the mixed messages it has received from Washington. Altering Tehran’s risk calculus and shaping its incentive structures—while acting with prudence—will be key to both escalation management and policy success.

Michael Eisenstadt is the Kahn Fellow and director of the Military and Security Studies Program at The Washington Institute.