أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 2989

إيران بعد الانسحاب من «خطة العمل الشاملة المشتركة» (الجزء الأول): دروسٌ من حملات الضغط الماضية

مايكل آيزنشتات

متاح أيضاً في English

١٦ تموز/يوليو ٢٠١٨


"هذا المرصد السياسي هو الأول في سلسلة من جزئين بشأن تشكيل ردود إيران المحتملة للضغط الأمريكي المتزايد على أنشطتها النووية. ويبحث الجزء الثاني الإجراءات التي ستتبعها طهران على الأرجح بعد الانسحاب الأمريكي من «خطة العمل الشاملة المشتركة»".

 

تعمل إيران حالياً على دراسة الخيارات المتاحة أمامها في أعقاب إعلان الرئيس ترامب في 8 أيار/مايو عن انسحاب الولايات المتحدة من «خطة العمل الشاملة المشتركة» المتّفق عليها عام 2015، والسعي إلى انتهاج سياسة [جديدة] تقوم على "أقصى درجات الضغط الاقتصادي والدبلوماسي". ولكن بينما تطبّق الإدارة الأمريكية هذا القرار، يتعين على المسؤولين الأمريكيين النظر في الكيفية التي ردت فيها إيران على حملات الضغط السابقة التي استهدفت برنامجها النووي. فما الذي تكشفه هذه الردود حول تصرف طهران المحتمل تجاه خطوات واشنطن التالية؟

الردود على حملات الضغط السابقة

يعود البرنامج النووي للجمهورية الإسلامية إلى عام 1984، ولكن المفاوضات الهادفة إلى الحدّ من أنشطة إيران النووية لم تحرز أي تقدّم إلا بعد اكتشاف برنامجها الخفي لتخصيب اليورانيوم في عام 2002. وبعد مرور أكثر من عقد من الزمن شهدت خلاله المفاوضات فترات متكررة من الانقطاع والاستئناف، فضلاً عن فرض عقوبات صارمة على نحو متزايد، وتهديدات عسكرية، وافقت إيران على «خطة العمل الشاملة المشتركة» عام 2015 وقبلت بقيود مؤقتة على أنشطتها النووية مقابل تخفيف وطأة العقوبات. وفي ضوء ردود النظام خلال هذه الفترة، يمكن استخلاص أنماط معبّرة لهذه التصرفات:

  • في أعقاب غزو الولايات المتحدة للعراق عام 2003، أفادت التقارير بأن طهران أوقفت برنامج تسليحها "الواضح المعالم" لتجنب إعطاء ذريعة لغزو إيران، إلا أنها واصلت أعمال البحث والتطوير في مجال الأسلحة ذات المستوى المنخفض وأحرزت تقدماً مطرداً في برنامجها لتخصيب اليورانيوم.
  • على الرغم من قيام إيران بتجميد عمليات التخصيب بين عامَي 2003 و2005 استجابة للضغوط الأجنبية، إلّا أنها استغلت ذلك الوقت لإصلاح المشاكل التقنية في برنامج التخصيب الخاص بها وواصلت بناء مصنع لتحويل اليورانيوم في أصفهان.
  • عندما تواجه إيران ضغوطاً جديدة، فإنها غالباً ما تهدد بزيادة قدرة/مستوى التخصيب الذي تقوم به، أو وقف التعاون مع "الوكالة الدولية للطاقة الذرية"، أو بناء سفن وغواصات تعمل بالطاقة النووية إذا لم يتم رفع العقوبات.
  • عند انضمامها إلى «خطة العمل الشاملة المشتركة» في عام 2015، وافقت إيران على الالتزام بقيود مؤقتة على أنشطتها النووية في حين سُمح لها بمواصلة أعمال البحث والتطوير الخاصة بأجهزة الطرد المركزي. كما أنها أخفت سرّاً محفوظاتها للأسلحة النووية - ربما لتسهيل إعادة إطلاق البرنامج في موعد لاحق.

وباختصار، غالباً ما ردّت إيران على الضغوط من خلال زيادة قدرتها على التخصيب بشكل تدريجي، وتهديدها حتى [بالعمل على إحراز] تقدّم أكبر لإقناع خصومها بعدم جدوى مساعيهم. وفي مناسبات عديدة، وافقت على مضض على تجميد أنشطة معينة بصورة مؤقتة طالما لم يمنع ذلك التجميد التقدم المستمر في مجالات أخرى، أو يرغمها على التنازل عن "حقها في التخصيب" أو يلزمها على الإقرار بالأبعاد العسكرية لبرنامجها.

علاوةً على ذلك، ومع تكثيف الضغوط الأجنبية وتوسّعها، كانت إيران بشكل عام تردّ بالمثل:

  • في أعقاب الهجمات الإلكترونية على بنيتها التحتية النووية ووزارة النفط الإيرانية، وعلى أثر العقوبات التي فُرضت على "مصرف إيران المركزي" وقطاع النفط الإيراني، هددت إيران بإغلاق مضيق هرمز في عام 2011، ثم شنّت بدورها هجمات إلكترونية على المؤسسات المصرفية والمالية الأمريكية في عام 2012.
  • بعد استهداف خمسة علماء نوويين إيرانيين وقتلهم، أمرت طهران باستهداف دبلوماسيين إسرائيليين في أربع دول آسيوية على الأقل في عام 2012.
  • ردّاً على ارتفاع عدد رحلات طائرات الاستطلاع بدون طيار فوق الحدود الإيرانية وداخل المجال الجوي الإيراني، حاولت طهران إسقاط طائرات استطلاع أمريكية فوق الخليج العربي بين عامَي 2012 و2013.

الأنشطة النووية والإقليمية: التقسيم الانتقائي

لم تؤدِ جهود طهران الرامية إلى تخفيف الضغط على برنامجها النووي إلى التأثير بشكل جوهري على أنشطتها الإقليمية، لأن النظام الإيراني اعتاد في الماضي على فصل المسألة النووية عن سياساته في كل من سوريا والعراق وأفغانستان والخليج (مع استثناء واحد جدير بالذكر وهو: التهديد من عام 2011 الذي أُشير إليه سابقاً لإغلاق مضيق هرمز إذا خضعت صناعة النفط الإيرانية للعقوبات). ولذلك، لم يكن للعقوبات النووية المكثفة ولا للرغبة في إبرام اتفاق نووي أي تأثير ملموس على تدخل إيران في الحرب السورية، أو قرارها الظاهري بتجنب الضلوع في الهجمات المنفذة بالوكالة على الأفراد الأمريكيين في العراق بعد عام 2011، أو على تسليحها حركة "طالبان" (لأكثر من عشرة أعوام حتى الآن) لتساعدها في حربها ضد القوات الأمريكية في أفغانستان. أما في المناطق الأخرى، فلم تهمد المضايقات الإيرانية لسفن البحرية الأمريكية في الخليج، خلال المفاوضات النووية أو بعدها (22 حادثاً في عام 2015، و 36 حادثاً في عام 2016).

بيد أن إيران عمدت فعلاً إلى ضبط أنشطة الصواريخ البالستية في ذروة المفاوضات (تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر 2014 حتى تموز/يوليو 2015)، حيث قامت بإطلاق صاروخ واحد فقط متوسط المدى خلال تلك الفترة. كما خففت من هجماتها الإلكترونية ربما سعياً إلى إيجاد بيئة تفاوضية أكثر ملاءمة (على الرغم من استمرارها بأنشطة التجسس عبر الإنترنت خلال فترة المحادثات).

ولكن بعد اكتمال «خطة العمل الشاملة المشتركة» في تموز/يوليو 2015، حثّت إيران روسيا على التدخل في سوريا بينما قامت بشكل مؤقت بزيادة عدد قواتها هناك اعتباراً من أيلول/سبتمبر لصدّ هجوم من الثوار كان يهدد النظام. كما عززت عمليات إطلاق الصواريخ البالستية متوسطة المدى (تسع عمليات في العام الذي أعقب التوقيع على "خطة العمل الشاملة المشتركة"، وأربع في العام التالي)، واستأنفت أنشطة الاستقصاء الإلكتروني العدوانية ضد الولايات المتحدة وغيرها من الأهداف، وسرّعت عمليات احتجاز الأمريكيين المقيمين (اثنان على الأقل في النصف الثاني من عام 2015 وخمسة في النصف الأول من عام 2016). وفي الفترة نفسها تقريباً وعلى نحو مماثل، زادت دعمها للثوار الحوثيين في اليمن.

هل هو تأثير ترامب؟

واصلت إيران الكثير من هذه الأنشطة على مدى الأشهر الأولى من عام 2017، في حين أصبحت القوات الموالية للنظام السوري أكثر حزماً - ربما يعود ذلك جزئياً إلى الرغبة في اختبار الإدارة الأمريكية الجديدة برئاسة ترامب. وأدى ذلك إلى سلسلة من الردود العسكرية السريعة من جانب الولايات المتحدة، بما فيها هجوم بالصواريخ الجوالة الموجهة على "قاعدة الشعيرات الجوية" في سوريا بعد أن استهدف النظام السوري المدنيين بالأسلحة الكيميائية (نيسان/أبريل 2017)، واعتراضات جوية لوحدات الميليشيا التي تدعمها إيران (ثلاث مرات في الفترة أيار/مايو - حزيران/يونيو 2017) وطائرات الاستطلاع المسلحة  بدون طيار (مرتين في حزيران/ يونيو 2017) التي هددت الثوار ومستشاري التحالف الدولي المتواجدين على مقربة من بلدة التنف السورية الواقعة على الحدود، وإسقاط مقاتلة سورية من طراز "سو-22" كانت قد شنت هجوماً على وحدات الثوار والمستشارين الأمريكيين بالقرب من مدينة الثورة (حزيران/يونيو 2017)، وإطلاق نار تحذيري باتجاه دورية بحرية إيرانية كانت تناور بطريقة استفزازية (تموز/يوليو 2017)، وهجوم على القوات الموالية للنظام التي كانت تهدد الثوار الأكراد السوريين والمستشارين الأمريكيين بالقرب من دير الزور، مما أدى إلى مقتل ما بين 200 و300 منهم وفقاً لبعض التقارير، ومن بينهم عدد كبير من المرتزقة الروس (شباط/فبراير 2018).

وعلى الرغم من أن هذه الردود كانت محدودة النطاق وتم تنفيذها في الغالب كتدابير لحماية القوات، إلا أنها أدخلت عامل الشك في الحسابات الإيرانية. وعموماً، تصرّفت إيران منذ ذلك الحين بحذر أكبر تجاه الولايات المتحدة. فالمرة الأخيرة التي احتجزت فيها القوات الإيرانية مواطناً أمريكياً كانت في شهر آب/أغسطس 2016 (كانوا يعتقلون سابقاً أمريكياً واحداً أو اثنين كل عام أو نحو ذلك لمدة دامت ما يقرب من عشر سنوات، وبعضهم ما زالوا قابعين في السجون). وبالمثل، لم تجرِ إيران أي اختبارات للصواريخ متوسطة المدى منذ تموز/يوليو 2017، ولم تضايق السفن الحربية الأمريكية في الخليج منذ شهر آب/أغسطس من ذلك العام.

ولكن في ذلك الوقت تقريباً، اتخذت إيران موقفاً أكثر حزماً من السعودية وإسرائيل. ووفقاً لبعض التقارير باشرت طهران بأعمال بناء مصانع للصواريخ في لبنان وسوريا واليمن، كما حاولت شنّ هجوم إلكتروني مدمّر على البنية التحتية النفطية السعودية (آب/أغسطس 2017)، وزوّدت الحوثيين بصواريخ متوسطة المدى استُخدمت لاستهداف الرياض (بدءاً من تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر 2017)، وحاولت أيضاً شن هجوم بطائرات بدون طيار ضد إسرائيل من سوريا (شباط/فبراير 2018)، وشجّعت «حماس» على محاولة التوغل عبر حدود غزة مع إسرائيل والقيام بهجمات عنيفة (بداية آذار/مارس 2018). ويبدو أيضاً أن إيران و«حزب الله» يساعدان حركة «حماس» على إنشاء قاعدة عمليات ضد إسرائيل في جنوب لبنان.

وقد تكون بعض هذه التحركات بمثابة امتدادٍ منطقي لأنشطة طهران السابقة في تلك المناطق. ومع ذلك، فقد تعكس أيضاً الرغبةً في تصعيد الهجمات ضد أبرز حلفاء أمريكا في المنطقة بالتزامن مع القرار الإيراني بوقف التصعيد (على الأقل مؤقتاً) في سوريا والخليج.

وأياً كان الأمر، يمكن استخلاص عدة استنتاجات من هذه التجربة:

  • ردّاً على الإجراءات المتخذة ضد البرنامج النووي الإيراني، تميل إيران إلى إطلاق التهديدات وزيادة أنشطتها النووية والقبول بقيود مؤقتة على برنامجها متى لزم الأمر، بالإضافة إلى الرد على الضغوط المتنامية بعمليات إلكترونية وعسكرية وإرهابية. ومع ذلك، فإن محاولات المقاومة النووية هذه تبقى منفصلةً عن الأعمال التي تقوم بها إيران في سوريا والعراق وأفغانستان والخليج - على الأقل في الوقت الراهن.
  • على الرغم من انتهاجها سياسة حازمة بشكل متزايد، لا تزال إيران معرّضة للمخاطر والتكاليف وتتحلى بالمرونة على المستوى التكتيكي. وسوف تتراجع عندما تُجابَه بردّ صارم لتعود وتتحرك في الوقت والمكان الأكثر ملاءمة.
  • منذ عام 2017، قللت إيران من جهودها لاختبار القوات الأمريكية في سوريا والخليج، ربما بسبب عدم يقينها من نوايا إدارة ترامب. وفي الوقت نفسه زادت أنشطتها ضد إسرائيل والسعودية، ربما لفرض تكاليف على حلفاء واشنطن عندما يتعذر عليها معاقبة الولايات المتحدة مباشرةً.

الاعتبارات المحلية

ساهم ميزان القوى داخل إيران أيضاً في صياغة خيارات النظام بشأن هذه القضايا. ففي عام 2015، ربما حاول المرشد الأعلى علي خامنئي تحقيق التوازن بين قبول «خطة العمل الشاملة المشتركة» - التي كانت بمثابة رشوة للمحافظين البراغماتيين أمثال الرئيس حسن روحاني - من خلال منح قائد «فيلق القدس» التابع لـ «الحرس الثوري الإسلامي» الإيراني قاسم سليماني وغيره من المتشددين حريةً أكبر لمواصلة العمل بما يفضّلونه في سوريا وأماكن أخرى. وربما يكون قد فعل الأمر نفسه عام 2017، حين بدا أنه يضبط نشاط «الحرس الثوري» ضد القوات الأمريكية في سوريا بينما أعطى حريةً أكبر لسليماني ضد إسرائيل والمملكة العربية السعودية.

وبالفعل يبدو أن المسؤولين في «الحرس الثوري» أقل تهرّباً من المخاطر مقارنةً بالقيادة المدنية في طهران، ولذلك إذا اكتسبوا صلاحيةً أكبر في صنع القرار (على سبيل المثال، نتيجة لعجز خامنئي عن تأدية مهام منصبه)، فمن المرجح أن تتصرف إيران بصورة أكثر عدوانية. وقد تتفاقم النزعة العرضية لدى النظام بالتجاوز والمبالغة من خلال الاعتقاد بأن الزخم إلى جانب إيران ووكلائها، وذلك بعد نجاحهم في حث إسرائيل على الانسحاب من لبنان (عام 2000)، مما ساهم في فك الارتباط الأمريكي من العراق (عام 2011)، وإنقاذ نظام الأسد من "المؤامرة" الأمريكية - الصهيونية - السعودية. وربما منح ذلك طهران الثقة الكافية لإرسال طائرة استطلاع هجومية بدون طيار إلى داخل المجال الجوي الإسرائيلي في شباط/فبراير، وضرب قوات الثوار والمستشارين الأمريكيين المتواجدين قرب دير الزور خلال الشهر نفسه. وفي المرحلة المقبلة، من شأن طريقة التفكير هذه أن تدفع طهران إلى الرد على الضغوط النووية غير المسبوقة من خلال تكثيف مقاومتها في المجالين النووي والإقليمي (ويشمل ذلك، سوريا والعراق وأفغانستان والخليج) وربط هذه الأنشطة بطرق لم تعهدها في السابق.

 

مايكل آيزنشتات هو زميل "كاهن" ومدير برنامج الدراسات العسكرية والأمنية في معهد واشنطن.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 2989

Iran After the JCPOA Withdrawal (Part 1): Lessons from Past Pressure Campaigns

Michael Eisenstadt

Also available in العربية

July 16, 2018


Tehran has generally responded to pressure by issuing threats, ramping up its nuclear activities, accepting temporary limits, and, when the heat is turned up, launching cyber, military, and terrorist operations.

This PolicyWatch is the first in a two-part series on shaping Iran’s potential responses to increased U.S. pressure on its nuclear activities. Read Part 2, which examines Tehran’s most likely actions following U.S. withdrawal from the JCPOA.

Iran is now assessing its options in the wake of President Trump’s May 8 announcement that the United States would be withdrawing from the 2015 Joint Comprehensive Plan of Action (JCPOA) and pursuing a policy of “maximum economic and diplomatic pressure.” As the administration implements that decision, U.S. officials should examine how Iran has responded to past pressure campaigns targeting its nuclear program. What do these responses say about how Tehran might react to Washington’s next moves?  

RESPONSES TO PAST PRESSURE CAMPAIGNS

While the Islamic Republic’s nuclear program dates to 1984, negotiations to limit its nuclear activities did not gain traction until after its covert uranium enrichment program was discovered in 2002. Following more than a decade of off-and-on negotiations, increasingly harsh sanctions, and military threats, Iran agreed to the JCPOA in 2015, accepting temporary limits on its nuclear activities in return for sanctions relief. Telling patterns can be discerned in the regime’s responses during this period:

  • After the 2003 U.S. invasion of Iraq, Tehran reportedly halted its “structured” weaponization program to avoid providing a pretext for invasion of Iran, yet continued low-signature weapons R&D and made steady progress in its enrichment program.
  • Although Iran froze enrichment from 2003 to 2005 in response to foreign pressure, it used that time to fix technical problems with its enrichment program and continue construction of a uranium conversion plant at Isfahan.
  • When facing new pressures, Iran often threatened to increase its enrichment capacity/level, cease cooperation with the International Atomic Energy Agency, or build nuclear-powered ships and submarines if sanctions were not lifted.
  • In acceding to the JCPOA in 2015, Iran accepted temporary caps on nuclear activities while being allowed to continue centrifuge R&D. And it secretly hid its nuclear weapons archives—perhaps to facilitate the program’s restart at a future date.

In short, Iran often responded to pressure by incrementally increasing its enrichment capability and threatening even more dramatic progress to convince its adversaries of the futility of their efforts. And on several occasions it reluctantly accepted temporary freezes on certain activities as long as they did not preclude continued progress elsewhere, force it to concede its “right to enrich,” or compel it to acknowledge the program’s military dimensions.

Moreover, as foreign pressure intensified and broadened, Iran generally responded in kind:

  • Following cyberattacks on its nuclear infrastructure and Ministry of Petroleum and sanctions on its central bank and oil industry, Iran threatened to close the Strait of Hormuz in 2011, then conducted cyberattacks of its own on U.S. banking and financial institutions in 2012.
  • After assassins targeted five Iranian nuclear scientists, Tehran ordered attacks on Israeli diplomats in at least four Asian countries in 2012.
  • In response to a surge of unmanned aerial vehicle flights on its borders and inside its airspace, Iran attempted to shoot down American UAVs over the Persian Gulf in 2012-2013.

NUCLEAR AND REGIONAL ACTIVITIES: SELECTIVE COMPARTMENTALIZATION

Tehran’s efforts to deflect pressure on its nuclear program did not substantially affect its regional activities, since the regime has traditionally decoupled the nuclear issue from its policies toward Syria, Iraq, Afghanistan, and the Gulf (with one notable exception: the previously mentioned 2011 threat to close the Strait of Hormuz if its oil industry was sanctioned). Neither intensified nuclear sanctions nor the desire to conclude a nuclear deal had a discernible impact on Iran’s intervention in the Syria war, its apparent decision to eschew proxy attacks on U.S. personnel in Iraq after 2011, or its arming of the Taliban (for over a decade now) to assist their fight against U.S. forces in Afghanistan. Elsewhere, Iranian harassment of U.S. naval vessels in the Gulf did not abate during or after nuclear negotiations (twenty-two incidents in 2015, thirty-six in 2016).

Iran did exercise restraint on ballistic missile activity at the height of negotiations (November 2014 through July 2015), conducting only one medium-range missile launch during this period. It also eased up on its offensive cyber operations, perhaps to create a more conducive negotiating environment (though cyber spying activities continued throughout the talks).

After the JCPOA was finalized in July 2015, however, Iran urged Russia to intervene in Syria while temporarily surging its own forces there starting in September to repel a rebel offensive that threatened the regime. It also ramped up its medium-range ballistic missile launches (nine in the year after the JCPOA, four the following year), resumed aggressive cyber reconnaissance activities against U.S. and other targets, and accelerated its detention of U.S. residents (at least two in the second half of 2015 and five in the first half of 2016). It likewise stepped up support for Houthi rebels in Yemen around this time.

A TRUMP EFFECT?

Iran continued many of these activities through the first few months of 2017, while pro-regime forces in Syria became more assertive—perhaps in part to test the new Trump administration. This prompted a series of U.S. military ripostes, including a cruise missile strike on Syria’s al-Shayrat Air Base following a regime chemical attack on civilians (April 2017); aerial interdictions of Iranian-supported militia units (three times in May-June 2017) and armed drones (twice in June 2017) that threatened rebels and embedded coalition advisors near the Syrian border town of al-Tanf; the shoot-down of a Syrian Su-22 fighter that attacked rebel units and U.S. advisors near al-Thawra (June 2017); the firing of warning shots across the bow of an Iranian naval patrol boat operating in a provocative manner (July 2017); and a strike on pro-regime forces that threatened Syrian Kurdish rebels and U.S. advisors near Deir al-Zour, reportedly killing 200-300 of them, including a large number of Russian mercenaries (February 2018).

Although these responses were limited in scope and mostly undertaken as force protection measures, they introduced an element of uncertainty into Iran’s calculus, and Tehran has generally taken a more cautious approach toward the United States since then. August 2016 was the last time Iranian forces detained a U.S. resident (they had previously arrested one or two every year or so for nearly a decade, and several still languish in prison). Likewise, they have not conducted any medium-range missile tests since July 2017, nor harassed U.S. warships in the Gulf since that August.

At about this time, however, Iran adopted a more assertive posture toward Saudi Arabia and Israel. It reportedly started work on missile production facilities in Lebanon, Syria, and Yemen; attempted a destructive cyberattack against Saudi Arabia’s oil infrastructure (August 2017); provided the Houthis with medium-range missiles used to attack Riyadh (beginning in November 2017); attempted a UAV attack against Israel from Syria (February 2018); and encouraged Hamas to attempt violent incursions across Gaza’s border with Israel (beginning March 2018). Iran and Hezbollah are also apparently helping Hamas establish a base of operations against Israel in southern Lebanon.

Some of these steps may be a logical extension of Tehran’s prior activities in these areas. Yet they might also reflect a desire to escalate attacks on America’s main regional allies just as Iran decided to deescalate (at least temporarily) in Syria and the Gulf.

Whatever the case, several conclusions can be drawn from this experience:

  • In response to actions against its nuclear program, Iran tends to issue threats, ramp up nuclear activities, accept temporary limits on the program when deemed necessary, and answer intensified pressure with cyber, military, and terrorist operations. Yet these attempts at nuclear pushback remain decoupled from its activities in Syria, Iraq, Afghanistan, and the Gulf—at least for now.
  • Despite pursuing an increasingly assertive policy, Iran remains sensitive to risks and costs and is tactically flexible. It will back off when met with a firm response in order to reengage at a more propitious time and place.
  • Since 2017, Iran has scaled down efforts to test U.S. forces in Syria and the Gulf, perhaps due to uncertainty about the Trump administration’s intentions. At the same time, it has stepped up activities against Israel and Saudi Arabia, perhaps to impose costs on Washington’s allies when it cannot punish the United States directly.

DOMESTIC CONSIDERATIONS

The balance of power inside Iran has also shaped the regime’s choices on these issues. In 2015, Supreme Leader Ali Khamenei may have attempted to balance acceptance of the JCPOA—which was a sop to pragmatic conservatives like President Hassan Rouhani—by giving Islamic Revolutionary Guard Corps commander Qasem Soleimani and other hardliners a freer hand to pursue their preferences in Syria and elsewhere. He may have done much the same thing in 2017, when he seemed to rein in the IRGC’s activities against U.S. forces in Syria while giving Soleimani a freer hand against Israel and Saudi Arabia.

Indeed, IRGC officials seem less risk-averse than the civilian leadership in Tehran, so if they gain a larger say in decisionmaking (e.g., as a result of Khamenei becoming incapacitated), Iran will likely act even more aggressively. The regime’s occasional propensity to overreach may also be exacerbated by a belief that momentum is on the side of Iran and its proxies, with their success in spurring Israel’s withdrawal from Lebanon (2000), contributing to America’s disengagement from Iraq (2011), and saving the Assad regime from a U.S.-Zionist-Saudi “conspiracy.” This may have given Tehran the confidence to send an attack drone into Israeli airspace in February, and to strike rebel forces and embedded U.S. advisors near Deir al-Zour that same month. Going forward, such a mindset could lead Tehran to respond to unprecedented nuclear pressure by intensifying its pushback in the nuclear and regional arenas (including Syria, Iraq, Afghanistan, and the Gulf), and by linking these activities in ways it has not in the past.

Michael Eisenstadt is the Kahn Fellow and director of the Military and Security Studies Program at The Washington Institute.