أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

تنبيه سياسي

تداعيات الاعتقالات السعودية بتهم الفساد

سايمون هندرسون

متاح أيضاً في English

16 آذار/مارس 2020


في 15 آذار/مارس، أعلنت المملكة العربية السعودية عن اعتقال 298 شخصاً بتهم الرشوة والاختلاس وإهدار الأموال العامة وجرائم فساد أخرى. ورغم عدم الكشف عن أيٍّ من أسماء الموقوفين، إلا أن بعض التقارير أفادت بأن من بينهم ضباط رفيعي المستوى في وزارتَي الدفاع والداخلية، مما يعزز الشائعات بأن حملات القمع الملكية الأخيرة قد تكون مرتبطة بمخطط انقلاب.

ووفقاً لوسائل الإعلام السعودية والهيئة الحكومية لمكافحة الفساد، جاءت الاعتقالات في أعقاب تحقيقات جنائية تم خلالها استجواب 674 شخصاً. وبما أن مجموع الأموال المختلسة تجاوز الـ 100 مليون دولار، فإن ذلك يعني أن القضايا الأخيرة أصغر حجماً بكثير من تلك التي حصلت في أواخر عام 2017، عندما تم احتجاز أكثر من 300 أميرٍ ورجل أعمال في فندق "ريتز-كارلتون الرياض" بتهم الفساد. وتم إطلاق سراح معظم أولئك الأفراد لاحقاً، ولكن فقط بعد دفعهم تعويضات عن السنوات التي استغلوا خلالها مراكزهم وبلغت قيمتها الإجمالية 100 مليار دولار وفقاً لبعض التقارير.

 ووفقاً لوكالة رويترز، شملت التوقيفات الأخيرة المعلن عنها ثمانية ضباط من وزارة الدفاع "يشتبه في تقاضيهم رشاوى وتبييض الأموال فيما يتعلق بالعقود الحكومية خلال السنوات 2005-2015"، بالإضافة إلى 29 مسؤولاً في وزارة الداخلية من "المنطقة الشرقية" الغنية بالنفط، من بينهم ثلاثة عقداء وضابط برتبة لواء وآخر برتبة عميد.

تجدر الإشارة إلى أن تاريخ انتهاء فترة التحقيقات تلك جديراً بالانتباه بشكل خاص لسببين: (1) أن الملك سلمان نفسه، وقبل وصوله إلى العرش، كان وزيراً للدفاع اعتباراً من عام 2011، و (2) أن ابنه المفضّل، الأمير محمد بن سلمان، يشغل هذا المنصب منذ عام 2015. وبعد أن أصبح الأمير محمد بن سلمان ولياً للعهد والحاكم الفعلي للبلاد، أخذ يترك الإدارة اليومية للوزارة لنائبه وشقيقه الأصغر الأمير خالد بن سلمان.

 وعادة، كان الفساد في السعودية - وخاصة في القطاعات الدفاعية - آليةً تنزالية (من المستويات العليا نزولاً إلى الدنيا) لإثراء الأمراء والفوز بعقودٍ بمليارات الدولارات. ووفقاً للمطّلعين، تُعتبر العمولات (الرشاوى) التي يقدّمها المتعاقدون الأجانب تكاليف إضافية معيارية يدفعها في النهاية الجانب السعودي وليس المتعاقد. وهذه الرشوة الذاتية هي مبلغ معين - ولا يُغير استعداد أي شركة لدفع المزيد في اختيار الجهة التي سيتم منحها العقد.

 ومن وجهة نظر الموردين الخارجيين في مجال الدفاع، يتمثل الهدف من العمولة - على الأقل جزئياً - في تسهيل أعمال الشركة خلال تنفيذ العقد. والنقطة الأساسية هي كيف (وإلى أي درجة) يسمح الوزير أو القائد العسكري الفاسد بوصول الأموال تنازلياً إلى الضباط الصغار الذين يديرون العقد على المستوى العملياتي. ولا يزال اسم الأمير سلطان، الأخ الأكبر للملك سلمان، الذي شغل منصب وزير الدفاع من عام 1963 حتى وفاته عام 2011، مرادفاً للرشاوى الضخمة. ومن حين لآخر، قد يصبح جشع أمير ما شنيعاً إلى درجة استدعت إقالته من منصبه وتهميشه. وقد أنفقت وزارة الدفاع ووزارة الداخلية (التي تتعامل بشكل رئيسي مع الشؤون الأمنية) ووزارة "الحرس الوطني السعودي" فيما بينها المليارات على المعدات المزودة من جهات أجنبية خلال العقود الأخيرة.

 صحيحٌ أن الأمير محمد بن سلمان أدان الفساد في عهده، ولكن التدابير التي اتخذها بحق المذنبين الرئيسيين ركزت على منافسيه الأمراء وتجنبت - على الأقل علناً - استهداف مَن يعتبرهم حلفاءه داخل آل سعود. وفي وقت سابق من هذا الشهر، أفادت بعض التقارير أنه أمر السلطات باحتجاز العديد من النقاد من العائلة المالكة أو استجوابهم، من بينهم ولي العهد السابق الأمير محمد بن نايف الذي ترأس سابقاً وزارة الداخلية، وأمير "المنطقة الشرقية" سعود بن نايف، شقيق الأمير محمد بن نايف، ونجل الأمير سعود وزير الداخلية عبد العزيز بن سعود. وحتى لو لم يكن هناك رابطٍ بين هذه الأوامر والموجة الأخيرة من الاعتقالات، إلّا أن كلا التطورين يشكلان جزءاً إضافياً في الآلية المعقدة أصلاً للسياسة الملكية السعودية، إلى جانب الانقسامات العائلية، والشائعات عن انقلاب وحرب أسعار النفط مع روسيا، والأزمة الصحية التي تلوح في الأفق التي يسببها فيروس كورونا الذي ربما يكون قد وصل إلى المملكة عن طريق خصمها الإقليمي، إيران.

 

سايمون هندرسون هو زميل "بيكر" ومدير "برنامج برنستاين لشؤون الخليج وسياسة الطاقة" في معهد واشنطن.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

Policy Alert

Implications of the Saudi Corruption Arrests

Simon Henderson

Also available in العربية

March 16, 2020


The latest crackdown appears to have targeted senior defense and interior officials, spurring speculation that they are linked to previously detained princes rumored to be plotting a coup.

On March 15, Saudi Arabia announced that 298 individuals have been arrested for bribery, embezzlement, wasting public funds, and other corruption offenses. Although none of the detainees has been named, they reportedly include high-ranking officers in the Defense and Interior Ministries, adding to rumors that recent royal crackdowns may be related to a planned coup.

According to Saudi media and the government’s anti-corruption body, the arrests followed criminal investigations during which 674 individuals were questioned. The total sum embezzled is over $100 million, making these latest cases much smaller in scale than those seen in late 2017, when more than 300 businessmen and princes were detained in the Riyadh Ritz-Carlton on corruption charges. Most of those individuals were subsequently released, but only after paying a reported total of $100 billion to make up for years of exploiting their positions.

According to Reuters, among those implicated in the latest announcement are eight officers from the Defense Ministry “suspected of bribery and money laundering in relation to government contracts during the years 2005-2015,” as well as twenty-nine Interior Ministry officials from the oil-rich Eastern Province. They include three colonels, a major-general, and a brigadier-general.

The end date of that investigation period is particularly noteworthy for two reasons: (1) before ascending to the throne, King Salman himself served as defense minister beginning in 2011, and (2) his favorite son, Muhammad bin Salman (aka MbS), has held the position since 2015. Now that he has become crown prince and the country’s de facto ruler, MbS leaves day-to-day running of the ministry to his deputy and younger full brother, Khalid bin Salman.

Traditionally, Saudi corruption—particularly in the defense sector—has been a top-down mechanism for enriching princes and winning multi-billion-dollar contracts. According to insiders, the commissions (bribes) offered by foreign contractors are treated as standard additional costs that are ultimately paid by the Saudi side rather than the contractor. This self-bribe is a given amount—a firm’s willingness to pay more does not alter who will be given the contract.

From a foreign defense supplier’s perspective, at least part of the commission’s purpose is to smooth the company’s operations while it fulfills the contract. The key is how (and how much) the corrupt minister or military commander in question allows the money to trickle down to the more junior-level officers who manage the contract at the working level. The name of Prince Sultan, King Salman’s elder brother who served as defense minister from 1963 until he died in 2011, is still synonymous with huge payoffs. Occasionally, a prince’s greed would become so egregious that he was removed from his post and sidelined. In all, the Defense Ministry, Interior Ministry (which mainly deals with security), and Saudi Arabian National Guard have spent billions on foreign-supplied equipment in recent decades.

MbS has condemned corruption during his tenure, but his actions against major culprits have concentrated on his princely rivals and, publicly at least, avoided targeting his perceived allies within the House of Saud. Earlier this month, he reportedly ordered authorities to detain or question several royal critics, including former crown prince Muhammad bin Nayef (aka MbN), who once led the Interior Ministry; MbN’s brother, Saud bin Nayef, who serves as governor of the Eastern Province; and Interior Minister Abdulaziz bin Saud, the governor’s son. Even if there is no link between those orders and the latest wave of arrests, both developments are additional moving parts in the already-convoluted machinery of Saudi royal politics, alongside family schisms, coup rumors, an oil price war with Russia, and the looming health crisis posed by the coronavirus, which may have reached the kingdom via its regional adversary, Iran.

Simon Henderson is the Baker Fellow and director of the Bernstein Program on Gulf and Energy Policy at The Washington Institute.