أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

صفحات رأي ومقالات

«حزب الله» ليس في بيروت فحسب، بل في نيويورك أيضاً

ماثيو ليفيت

متاح أيضاً في English فارسی

"فورين بوليسي"

14 حزيران/يونيو 2019


في السنوات الأخيرة، كثف «حزب الله» أنشطته خارج حدود لبنان. وتجلى هذا التنامي بأوضح صوره في الشرق الأوسط، ولكن تم أيضاً إحباط مؤامرات الحزب في أمريكا الجنوبية وآسيا وأوروبا، وربما اليوم في الولايات المتحدة.

إن التقارير المعنية بأنشطة «حزب الله» في أمريكا الشمالية ليست جديدة، على الرغم من أن مثل هذه التقارير غالباً ما تركز على أنشطة جمع التبرعات أو تبييض الأموال أو المشتريات أو غيرها من الأنشطة اللوجستية للحزب، بدءاً من فانكوفر ووصولاً إلى ميامي. لكن في الشهر الماضي، كشفت الملاحقة الجنائية والإدانة في نيويورك لعضو «حزب الله» علي كوراني معلومات جديدة مثيرة للقلق حول مدى تغلغل عمليات «حزب الله» وأنشطته في الولايات المتحدة وكندا.

لقد دفع اعتقال كوراني وعنصر آخر من «حزب الله» هو سامر الدبك عام 2017، مجتمع الاستخبارات الأمريكي إلى إعادة النظر في تقييمه الطويل الأمد بأنه من غير المرجح أن يهاجم «حزب الله» الأراضي الأمريكية ما لم يلاحظ التنظيم بأن واشنطن تتخذ إجراءات تهدد كيانه أو كيان الدولة الراعية له وهي إيران. فبعد اعتقال كوراني والدبك، قال مدير "المركز الوطني الأمريكي لمكافحة الإرهاب" في تشرين الأول/أكتوبر 2017: "وفقاً لتقييمنا أن «حزب الله» مصمم على منح نفسه خياراً محتملاً في الأراضي الأمريكية كعنصر حاسم من أجندته الإرهابية".

وفي ذلك الوقت، لم يُعلَن سوى القليل من المعلومات الكامنة وراء هذا التقييم الجديد، ولكن في 16 أيار/مايو، أصدرت هيئة محلفين في نيويورك أحكاماً بالإدانة في جميع التهم الواردة في لائحة الاتهام ضد كوراني، من بينها التهم الإرهابية المتعلقة بمراقبته لـ "مكتب التحقيقات الفيدرالي" و"مكاتب المخابرات الأمريكية"، فضلاً عن مستودع أسلحة للجيش الأمريكي، وهي أهداف تقع كلها في مدينة نيويورك. (الدبك لم يقدم للمحاكمة بعد.)

أنجز كوراني أنشطة تنفيذية أخرى كعميل نائم على المدى الطويل، يعمل لصالح وحدة التخطيط للهجمات الخارجية في «حزب الله»، المعروفة باسم "منظمة الجهاد الإسلامي" ["جماعة الجهاد الإسلامية"]، والتي شملت تحديد هوية الإسرائيليين في نيويورك الذين يمكن لـ «حزب الله» استهدافهم والوصول إلى أشخاص يمكنه شراء أسلحة منهم ليقوم «حزب الله» بتخزينها في المنطقة.

نفذ كوراني معظم أنشطته في الولايات المتحدة، ولكن «حزب الله» أرسله أيضاً إلى الصين، حيث سبق أن قام التنظيم بشراء مواد كيميائية تستخدم في صنع قنابل من النوع الذي صنعه في بلغاريا وقبرص وتايلاند. وأسفر تفجير عام 2012 في بورغاس في بلغاريا، عن مقتل 7 أشخاص، بمن فيهم منفذ التفجير و32 جريحاً، وتم العثور على مواد كيميائية تفجيرية من النوع ذاته في تايلاند عام 2012 وفي قبرص عامي 2012 و2015، حيث أحبطت مخططات لعمليات تفجيرية. كما أرسل «حزب الله» كوراني في مهام تنفيذية إلى كندا. ووصف كوراني نفسه في مقابلات مع عملاء "مكتب التحقيقات الفيدرالي" بأنه جزء من "خلية نائمة".

وقال مساعد المدعي العام الأمريكي للأمن القومي جون ديمرز: "أثناء تواجده في الولايات المتحدة، عمل كوراني كعنصر ناشط في «حزب الله» لمساعدة المنظمة الإرهابية الأجنبية على إعداد هجمات مستقبلية محتملة ضد الولايات المتحدة".

وشملت الأهداف مبانٍ تضم "مكتب التحقيقات الفيدرالي" و"مكتب المخابرات الأمريكية" في مانهاتن، بالإضافة إلى "مطار جون إف كينيدي الدولي" في نيويورك ومستودع أسلحة تابع للجيش الأمريكي.

وينتمي كوراني إلى عائلة معروفة في دوائر «حزب الله»، وقد وصفها لـ "مكتب التحقيقات الفيدرالي" على أنها "جماعة بن لادن الخاصة بلبنان". وقد التحق للمرة الأولى بمعسكر تدريب لـ «حزب الله» في سن المراهقة، لكن الجماعة جندته في صفوف "منظمة الجهاد الإسلامي" (IJO) النخبوية فحسب، وهي وحدة العمليات الخارجية التابعة لـ «حزب الله»، والمعروفة باسم "الوحدة 910"، وذلك في كانون الثاني/يناير 2008، أي قبل شهر من اغتيال قائد "منظمة الجهاد الإسلامي" والإرهابي التابع لـ «حزب الله» والمدرج لفترة طويلة على قوائم المطلوبين دولياً، عماد مغنية، في إطار ما تم الكشف عنه لاحقاً على أنه عملية أمريكية إسرائيلية مشتركة.

وترجع أهمية توقيف كوراني إلى توقيت توقيفه كونه يكشف أن «حزب الله» كان يتطلع حتى قبل اغتيال مغنية، إلى إعادة بناء شبكاته الإرهابية الدولية. كما يُعدّ خطوة مهمة لأنه يضع كوراني في المكان المناسب وفي الوقت المناسب. فمن خلال مقطع فيديو تم بثه في جنازة مغنية، أصدر الأمين العام لـ «حزب الله»، حسن نصر الله، تهديداً شبه علني مفاده أن هناك هجمات ستحصل في الخارج، قائلاً: "مع هذا الاغتيال، توقيته وموقعه وطريقة تنفيذه، أقول للصهاينة: إذا كنتم تريدون هذا النوع من الحرب المفتوحة، ليسمع العالم كله: فلتكن هذه الحرب مفتوحة".

وبعد ذلك بوقت قصير، بدأ كوراني عمله السري لحساب "منظمة الجهاد الإسلامي" في الخارج. وقال كوراني لـ "مكتب التحقيقات الفيدرالي" إن «حزب الله» كان "يسعى بشكل مستميت للثأر لمقتل مغنية".

عقد كوراني اجتماعات متعددة مع عملاء "مكتب التحقيقات الفيدرالي" عند تقربهم منه في أيلول/سبتمبر 2016 قائلين إنهم يعلمون أنه يعمل لصالح «حزب الله». وادعى كوراني أنه يسعى إلى عقد صفقة مقابل إعادة جمعه بزوجته وأطفاله، الذين هجروه وأصبحوا يقيمون في كندا. ولم تُعرض عليه هذه الصفقة. فضلاً عن ذلك، احتفظ كوراني بمعلومات أساسية وحاول استغلال هذه الاجتماعات لاستنباط معلومات من العملاء الذين قابلوه. كما تضمنت الأدلة في محاكمته مواداً من حاسوبه المحمول وبريده الإلكتروني وسجلات فيسبوك الخاصة به، بالإضافة إلى ملاحظات ومواد أخرى تمت مصادرتها من شقته.

وكانت خطوته الأولى الحصول على الجنسية الأمريكية وعلى جواز سفر أمريكي، الأمر الذي قام به بتوجيه من «حزب الله» عام 2009. وبالطبع، لم يذكر الظروف في الاستمارة حيث سئل ما إذا كانت تجمعه روابط بأي منظمة إرهابية. فكوراني كان قد حصل سابقاً على إقامة قانونية عن طريق والده. ولاحقاً، في عام 2013، قدم طلباً للحصول على بطاقة جواز سفر تسمح له بعبور الحدود الأمريكية-الكندية أو الأمريكية-المكسيكية بواسطة بطاقة هوية تكون في حوزته متى احتاجها. وهكذا، إذا صادرت السلطات جواز سفره الأمريكي أثناء تواجده في الخارج، فسيستطيع التسلل مرة أخرى إلى الولايات المتحدة من خلال السفر إلى كندا أو المكسيك بواسطة جواز سفره اللبناني والعودة إلى الولايات المتحدة براً بواسطة البطاقة.

كما حذر كوراني عملاء "مكتب التحقيقات الفيدرالي" من أن "منظمة الجهاد الإسلامي" التابعة لـ «حزب الله» "هي حتى أكثر نشاطاً في كندا من الولايات المتحدة"، وفقاً لما قال أحد عملاء "مكتب التحقيقات الفيدرالي" الذين قابلوه خلال محاكمته. وفي الواقع، احتلت كندا مكانة كبيرة في خطط كوراني العملياتية. ففي عام 2012، تزوج من مواطنة كندية لبنانية تحمل جنسية مزدوجة، وابتعد لاحقاً عنها وعن أولاده منها، ولكن آنذاك، كما أوضح "مكتب التحقيقات الفيدرالي"، ناقش مع المسؤول عنه في «حزب الله» الفائدة العملية المنبثقة عن إقامة روابط عائلية مع كندا، على وجه التحديد، حيث "لن يثير الشبهات إذا ما أراد السفر إلى كندا بشكل منتظم".

وخلص ممثلو الادعاء إلى أن كوراني والمسؤول عنه وجدا منافع خاصة في إقامة كوراني روابط مع كندا "لكي يستطيع السفر ذهاباً وإياباً من كندا وإليها لإنجاز العمليات". وناقشا أيضاً إمكانية نقل كوراني للمراسلات أو لعناصر إلى كندا، الأمر الذي يصر كوراني على عدم قيامه به على الإطلاق. ولكن الاثنين ناقشا بالتحديد تقنيات التجسس التي سيعتمدها كوراني لتمرير رسائل إلى «حزب الله»، بواسطة نقاط تسليم سرية "ميتة" حتى لا يتمكن هو وعناصر «حزب الله» المحليين التعرف إلى بعضهم البعض، وفقاً لما وصفه كوراني لـ "مكتب التحقيقات الفيدرالي" على أنه "القاعدة الذهبية" لـ "وحدة 910": "كلما قّلت معرفتك، كلما كان ذلك أفضل".

تلقى كوراني تدريباً جيداً على أساليب "الوحدة 910"، بما أن المسؤول عنه في "منظمة الجهاد الإسلامي" التابعة لـ «حزب الله» كان فادي كساب، وهو الرجل الذي وصفه كوراني، وفقاً لعملاء "مكتب التحقيقات الفيدرالي"، على أنه "مسؤول عن عناصر «منظمة الجهاد الإسلامي» في كل من الولايات المتحدة وكندا". فعلى الرغم من تمركزه في لبنان وتشغيله كوراني كعميل في نيويورك، اضطلع كساب بأدوار ناشطة في هجوم «حزب الله» في بلغاريا عام 2012، وفقاً للإفادات التي أدلى بها كوراني لعملاء "مكتب التحقيقات الفيدرالي".

وكانت إحدى المهام التي كلف «حزب الله» كوراني بتنفيذها هي جمع معلومات مفصلة عن مطارين دوليين هما "مطار جون إف كينيدي الدولي في نيويورك" و"مطار بيرسون الدولي في تورنتو". وبناء على وثائق سفر كوراني، كشف ممثلو الادعاء الأمريكيون أنه سافر عبر مطار نيويورك 19 مرة وعبر مطار بيرسون 7 مرات.

واعترف كوراني لـ "مكتب التحقيقات الفيدرالي" أنه قدم لـ «حزب الله» تفاصيل حول الإجراءات الأمنية والزي الرسمي الذي يرتديه ضباط الأمن، وما إذا كان الضباط مسلحين أم لا. وأفاد كوراني لـ "مكتب التحقيقات الفيدرالي" أنه ركز على رصد نقاط الخروج ونقاط التفتيش الأمنية ومواقع الكاميرات وإجراءات استلام الأمتعة، بالإضافة إلى الأسئلة التي يطرحها موظفو المطار المسؤولون عن التدقيق الأمني والتفتيش على الركاب.

وبالإضافة إلى المراقبة التي كان كوراني يقوم بها بنفسه، فقد سعى أيضاً إلى الحصول على معلومات من موظفي المطار، وأدرك بعضهم أنه يقدم معلومات لـ «حزب الله» بينما لم يدرك آخرون الفخ الذي وقعوا فيه. على سبيل المثال، أخبر كوراني "مكتب التحقيقات الفيدرالي" عن أحد الموظفين في مطار في كندا، الذي قدم على ما يبدو عن غير قصد معلومات لكوراني عن أمن المطارات الكندية. فكوراني كان يدخن الشيشة مع هذا الموظف، الذي كان يجيبه أثناء الدردشة عن أسئلته حول مواقع الكاميرات ومقاييس المغناطيسية. وقال كوراني ساخراً إنه كان بإمكانه أن يطلب من الرجل حمل حقيبة عنه على متن طائرة، وكان الأخير ليلبي طلبه.

ووفقاً لمرافعة المدعي العام الأمريكي أثناء المحاكمة، كان «حزب الله» "يفكر في كيفية تمرير الإرهابيين والأسلحة والمواد المهربة عبر المطارات، من لبنان إلى كندا، ومن لبنان إلى الولايات المتحدة".

ويستذكر عميل كان يقابل كوراني خلال أحد لقاءاته مع "مكتب التحقيقات الفيدرالي" أن الأخير "جلس في كرسيه، رفع كتفيه [أمام العملاء الذين يقابلونه] وقال: "أنا عضو في «وحدة 910»، المعروفة أيضاً بـ «منظمة الجهاد الإسلامي» أو عمليات «حزب الله» السرية. تخضع الوحدة لإمرة إيران". وضمن «حزب الله»، تقدم الوحدة تقاريرها مباشرة إلى نصر الله، وفقاً لكوراني، ولكن إيران تشرف على عملياتها.

في تسعينيات القرن الماضي، قللت وكالات الاستخبارات الأمريكية من احتمال قيام «حزب الله» بمهاجمة المصالح الأمريكية، ما لم تهدد واشنطن «حزب الله» مباشرةً. وفي أعقاب أحداث الحادي عشر من أيلول/سبتمبر، بدأت الجهود الأمريكية المتزايدة لمكافحة الإرهاب بالتأثير على «حزب الله». وبعد مرور عام، أبلغ "مكتب التحقيقات الفيدرالي" الكونغرس عام 2002 أنه "وفقاً لبعض التقارير، تم تكليف عناصر «حزب الله» بمراقبة أهداف محتملة في الولايات المتحدة". ولكن في تلك الحالات الماضية، خلصت تحقيقات "مكتب التحقيقات الفيدرالي" إلى أنه "يبدو أن هذه المهام حتى الآن، كانت تهدف إلى التحقق من ولاء الفرد لـ «حزب الله» وإيران". وبعد ست سنوات، تم اغتيال مغنية، مباشرةً بعد تجنيد كوراني في "منظمة الجهاد الإسلامي". وبحلول ذلك الوقت، كانت قد ولّدت مهام المراقبة ما قبل العمليات التابعة لـ "منظمة الجهاد الإسلامي" تداعيات عملية أكثر بكثير بسبب رغبة «حزب الله» في الثأر لمقتل مغنية. وتغيرت أهداف «حزب الله» بشكل كبير بين عامي 2002 و2008. وأعلم كوراني "مكتب التحقيقات الفيدرالي" أن "هناك بعض السيناريوهات التي تتطلب اتخاذ إجراءات أو تحركات من قبل أعضاء الخلية"، مشيراً إلى أنه إذا حدثت حرب بين الولايات المتحدة وإيران، فمن المتوقع أن يتم إيقاظ الخلية النائمة في الولايات المتحدة. وأضاف كوراني أنه إذا اتخذت الولايات المتحدة بعض الإجراءات غير المحددة التي تستهدف «حزب الله» أو حسن نصر الله نفسه أو المصالح الإيرانية، "ففي تلك السيناريوهات، سيتم إيقاظ الخلية النائمة أيضاً".

وبالطبع، اتخذت الولايات المتحدة إجراءات تتعارض مع المصالح الإيرانية ومصالح «حزب الله»، مثل الانسحاب من الاتفاق النووي الإيراني وإعادة فرض عقوبات شاملة على إيران ومعاقبة «حزب الله» والمشاركة في اغتيال عماد مغنية، على سبيل المثال لا الحصر، ولم ينفذ عناصر "منظمة الجهاد الإسلامي" قط أي تفجير أو عملية إطلاق نار في أمريكا الشمالية.

وخلال السنوات القليلة الماضية تم إحباط مؤامرات «حزب الله» في بيرو وبوليفيا، ولكن الكشف عن قيام «حزب الله» بأنشطة مراقبة مكثفة في الولايات المتحدة وكندا خلال السنوات القليلة الماضية - والتي ترتبط بشكل صريح بنيّة التنظيم الانتقام لمقتل مغنية - أمر مقلق للغاية. فقد تجاوز «حزب الله» العتبة وهو، كحد أدنى، يطوّر شبكات في أمريكا الشمالية قادرة على تنفيذ هجمات إذا ارتأت قيادة التنظيم أنها ضرورية.

 

 ماثيو ليفيت، هو زميل "فرومر- ويكسلر" ومدير برنامج "راينهارد للاستخبارات ومكافحة الإرهاب" في معهد واشنطن.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

Articles & Op-Eds

Hezbollah Isn’t Just in Beirut. It’s in New York, Too.

Matthew Levitt

Also available in العربية

Foreign Policy

June 14, 2019


The trial of a senior operative reveals the extent of the terrorist organization’s reach in the United States and Canada.

In recent years, Hezbollah has stepped up its activities beyond Lebanon’s borders. This uptick has been clearest in the Middle East—in Iraq, Yemen, and especially Syria—but plots have also been thwarted in South America, Asia, Europe, and now, possibly, the United States.

Reports of Hezbollah activity in North America are not new, though such reporting tends to focus on the group’s fundraising, money launderingprocurement, or other logistical activities from Vancouver to Miami. But last month, the criminal prosecution and conviction in New York of the Hezbollah operative Ali Kourani revealed disturbing new information about the extent of Hezbollah’s operations and activities in the United States and Canada.

Taken together, the arrests in 2017 of Kourani and another Hezbollah operative, Samer el-Debek, led the U.S. intelligence community to revisit its longstanding assessment that Hezbollah would be unlikely to attack the U.S. homeland unless the group perceived Washington to be taking action threatening its existence or that of its patron—Iran. Following Kourani and Debek’s arrests, the director of the U.S. National Counterterrorism Center said in October 2017, “It’s our assessment that Hezbollah is determined to give itself a potential homeland option as a critical component of its terrorism playbook.”

At the time, little of the underlying information leading to this new assessment had been made public, but on May 16, a New York jury returned guilty verdicts on all counts in the indictment against Kourani, including terrorist charges related to his surveillance of FBI and U.S. Secret Service offices, as well as a U.S. Army armory, all in New York City. (Debek has yet to stand trial.)

Kourani carried out other operational activities as a long-term sleeper agent, acting on behalf of Hezbollah’s external attack-planning component, the Islamic Jihad Organization (IJO), such as identifying Israelis in New York who could be targeted by Hezbollah and finding people from whom he could procure arms that Hezbollah could stockpile in the area.

Most of his activities occurred in the United States, but Hezbollah also sent Kourani to China, where the group had previously procured chemicals used to make bombs of the kind the group built in Bulgaria, Cyprus, and Thailand. The 2012 bombing in Burgas, Bulgaria, left seven people dead including the bomber and 32 wounded, and bomb-making chemicals of the same type were found in Thailand in 2012 and in Cyprus in 2012 and 2015, when plots were thwarted there. Hezbollah also sent Kourani on operational assignments to Canada. Kourani described himself in interviews with FBI agents as being part of a “sleeper cell.”

“While living in the United States, Kourani served as an operative of Hezbollah in order to help the foreign terrorist organization prepare for potential future attacks against the United States,” said U.S. Assistant Attorney General for National Security John Demers. These included buildings housing the FBI and U.S. Secret Service in Manhattan, as well as New York’s John F. Kennedy International Airport and a U.S. Army armory.

Kourani comes from a family that’s well known in Hezbollah circles—he described them to the FBI as the “bin Ladens of Lebanon”—and he first attended a Hezbollah training camp as a teenager. But the group only recruited him into its elite IJO—Hezbollah’s external operations unit, also known at Unit 910—in January 2008, a month before the assassination of the IJO commander and longtime wanted Hezbollah terrorist Imad Mughniyeh in what was later revealed to be a joint U.S.-Israeli operation.

The timing is significant: It shows that that even before Mughniyeh’s death, Hezbollah was looking to rebuild its international terrorist networks. It is also significant because it put Kourani in the right place at the right time. In a video broadcast at Mughniyeh’s funeral, Hezbollah Secretary-General Hassan Nasrallah issued a not-so-veiled threat that attacks abroad would follow, saying, “With this murder, its timing, location and method—Zionists, if you want this kind of open war, let the whole world listen: Let this war be open.”

Shortly thereafter, Kourani’s secret work for Hezbollah’s IJO abroad began. Hezbollah was “desperate because they were looking to exact revenge for [Mughniyeh’s] death,” Kourani told the FBI.

Kourani held several meetings with FBI agents once they approached him in September 2016 saying they knew he was working for Hezbollah. Kourani claimed to seek a deal in return for being reunited with his wife and children, who had left him and were residing in Canada. No such deal was offered. Moreover, Kourani withheld key information and tried to use these meetings to elicit information from the agents interviewing him. The evidence at trial also included material from Kourani’s laptop, his email and Facebook records, and notes and other materials seized from his apartment.

His first step was to obtain U.S. citizenship and secure a U.S. passport, which he did at Hezbollah’s direction in 2009. Of course, he neglected to mention the circumstances on the form where it asked if he had ties to any terrorist organization. Kourani already had legal residency, obtained through his father. Later, in 2013, he applied for a passport card allowing him to cross the U.S.-Canadian or U.S.-Mexican border with an I.D. that fit in his wallet. This way, if authorities ever seized his U.S. passport while he was traveling abroad, he could still sneak back into the United States by flying to Canada or Mexico on his Lebanese passport and crossing back into the United States by land using the card.

Kourani warned FBI agents that Hezbollah’s IJO is “even more active in Canada than they were in the United States,” one of the FBI agents who interviewed him said during his trial. Indeed, Canada loomed large in Kourani’s operational plans. In 2012, he had married a Canadian-Lebanese dual citizen. Kourani later became estranged from his wife and children, but at the time, the FBI explained, he and his Hezbollah handler specifically discussed the operational utility of having family ties to Canada because “it wouldn’t appear suspicious or odd if he were to make travel to Canada with some regularity or frequency.”

Prosecutors concluded Kourani and his handler saw distinct advantages to Kourani having ties to Canada “so he could travel back and forth to Canada to conduct operations.” The two discussed the possibility of Kourani transporting correspondence or operatives into Canada, which Kourani insists he never did. But the two did specifically discuss the spy tradecraft Kourani would employ to pass along messages for Hezbollah, using dead drops so he and local Hezbollah operatives would not be able to identify one another according to what Kourani described to the FBI as “the golden rule” of Unit 910: “the less you know the better it is”

Kourani was well schooled in the ways of Unit 910, given that his Hezbollah IJO handler was none other than Fadi Kassab, the man FBI agents said Kourani had described as “responsible for IJO operatives in both the United States and Canada.” Even as he was running Kourani as an agent in New York, the Lebanon-based Kassab played hands-on roles in the Hezbollah attack in Bulgaria in 2012, according to Kourani’s statements to FBI agents.

One of the missions Hezbollah assigned to Kourani was to collect detailed information about two international airports: New York’s JFK and Toronto’s Pearson International Airport. Based on documentation of his travel, U.S. prosecutors showed that Kourani traveled through JFK 19 times and through Pearson seven times.

Kourani told the FBI that he provided Hezbollah with details about security procedures, the uniforms worn by security officers, and whether the officers were armed. His surveillance, Kourani told the FBI, focused on exit points, security checkpoints, camera locations, baggage claim procedures, and what questions airport screeners asked passengers.

Aside from carrying out surveillance himself, Kourani also plied airport employees for information, some of whom understood they were providing information for Hezbollah while others were unwitting. For example, Kourani told the FBI about one airport employee in Canada, who appears to have unwittingly provided Kourani information about Canadian airport security. The two would smoke a hookah together, and the airport employee would casually answer Kourani’s questions about the locations of cameras and magnetometers. Kourani said he could ask the man to carry a bag onto an airplane for him, and he would do it.

According to a U.S. prosecutor’s statement during the trial, Hezbollah was “thinking about how to get terrorists, and weapons, and contraband through airports, from Lebanon into Canada, from Lebanon into the United States.”

During one of Kourani’s meetings with the FBI, an interviewing agent recalled, Kourani “sat back in his chair, squared his shoulders [to the interviewing agents] and stated, ‘I am a member of 910, also known as Islamic Jihad or the Black Ops of Hezbollah. The unit is Iranian-controlled.’” Within Hezbollah, the unit reports directly to Nasrallah, according to Kourani, but Iran oversees the unit’s operations.

In the 1990s, U.S. intelligence agencies downplayed the likelihood of Hezbollah attacking U.S. interests, unless Washington directly threatened Hezbollah. In the wake of 9/11, increased U.S. counterterrorism efforts began to impact Hezbollah. A year later, the FBI reported to Congress in 2002 that Hezbollah operatives “have reportedly been tasked with surveillance of potential targets in the United States.” But in those past cases, FBI investigations determined that “such taskings to date appear to have been intended as a vetting tool to establish the individual’s loyalty to Hezbollah and Iran.” Six years later, Mughniyeh was assassinated, just after Kourani’s IJO recruitment. By then, IJO preoperational surveillance missions took on much more practical implications because of Hezbollah’s desire to avenge Mughniyeh’s death.

The group’s goals changed considerably between 2002 and 2008. Kourani informed the FBI that “there would be certain scenarios that would require action or conduct by those who belonged to the cell.” Kourani said that in the event that the United States and Iran went to war, the U.S. sleeper cell would expect to be called upon to act. And if the United States were to take certain unnamed actions targeting Hezbollah, Nasrallah himself, or Iranian interests, Kourani added, “in those scenarios the sleeper cell would also be triggered into action.”

The United States has, of course, taken actions adverse to Iranian and Hezbollah interests—withdrawing from the Iran nuclear deal, reimposing sweeping sanctions on Iran, sanctioning Hezbollah, and participating in the assassination of Imad Mughniyeh, to name a few—and IJO operatives have never carried out a bombing or shooting in North America.

Hezbollah plots have been foiled over the past few years in Peru and Bolivia, but the revelation that Hezbollah conducted extensive surveillance activity in the United States and Canada over the past few years—explicitly tied to the group’s intent to exact revenge for the death of Mughniyeh—is deeply disturbing. Hezbollah has crossed a threshold and is, at a minimum, developing North American networks capable of executing attacks should the group’s leadership deem them necessary.

Matthew Levitt is the Fromer-Wexler Fellow and director of the Reinhard Program on Counterterrorism and Intelligence at The Washington Institute.