أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 3361

الصحة والسياسة والاستقرار في الشرق الأوسط: آخر مستجدّات "كوفيد-19"

علي مقداد, محمد حسن خليل, و محمد المالكي

متاح أيضاً في English فارسی

7 آب/أغسطس 2020


"في 29 تموز/يوليو، عقد معهد واشنطن منتدى سياسي افتراضي مع علي مقداد ومحمد حسن خليل ومحمد المالكي. ومقداد هو اختصاصي بالوبائيات، ويشغل منصب مدير "مبادرات الشرق الأوسط" وأستاذ الصحة العالمية في "معهد القياسات الصحية والتقييم" بـ "جامعة واشنطن". وخليل هو طبيب قلب متقاعد، ومؤسس / رئيس "لجنة الدفاع عن الحق في الصحة" ومقرها القاهرة. والمالكي هو طبيب قلب، وزميل باحث في "مركز ويذرهيد للشؤون الدولية" بـ "جامعة هارفارد" و"مدير المعهد العراقي الأمريكي". وفيما يلي ملخص المقرر لملاحظاتهم".

علي مقداد

تتمثل إحدى التحدّيات الرئيسية التي تواجه مسؤولي الصحّة في جميع أنحاء العالم في استمرار العديد من البلدان في الحفاظ على مستوى منخفض من الإبلاغ عن معدلات الإصابة والوفيات بفيروس كورونا. ويعزى هذا الاتجاه بشكل رئيسي إلى ضعف قدرة الاختبار، وأنظمة التسجيل الصحيّة الحيويّة غير الملائمة، والجهود المتعمّدة التي تبذلها الحكومات للمحافظة على ماء الوجه وإخفاء الأرقام الحقيقيّة في بعض الحالات.

وفي الشرق الأوسط، قامت بعض الدول بعمل جدير بالثناء في إصدار بياناتها الخاصة بجائحة "كوفيد-19"، من بينها الأردن ولبنان وتونس وغيرها من البلدان. ومن بين الدول التي لم تُصدِر بيانات موثوقة - سواء عن قصد أو بسبب قدرة الاختبار المنخفضة - مصر والعراق والمملكة العربية السعودية.

وتبقى كلفة الاختبار باهظة الثمن في جميع أنحاء المنطقة، وقد عجزت الحكومات عن تخصيص الأموال الضروريّة لزيادة قدرة الاختبار إلى المستويات الموصى بها. وقد يعزى الارتفاع الحادّ في عدد الإصابات إلى البنى التحتيّة الصحيّة الضعيفة في العديد من البلدان والسياق الأوسع نطاقاً للحرب وعدم الاستقرار. بالإضافةً إلى ذلك، أدّت رحلات الحجّ المستمرّة إلى المواقع الثقافيّة التي يرتادها عددٌ كبير من الزائرين إلى تسجيل زيادة هائلة في معدّلات الإصابة في الأيّام الأولى من الوباء العالمي، خاصّةً في العراق وإيران.

وعلى الرغم من أنّ الاستجابة الأوليّة في المنطقة كانت إيجابية وحسنة التوقيت بشكل عام، إلّا أن العديد من الحكومات قد خففت من شدّة الإجراءات في وقت مبكر بغية إعادة فتح اقتصاداتها، مما أدّى إلى ارتفاع عدد الحالات بشكل حاد. ومن المرجح أن تؤدي التداعيات الاقتصاديّة التي يخلّفها الوباء إلى تفاقم المشاكلَ القائمة التي تعانيها الفئات المهمّشة مثل العمّال الأجانب بشكل خاص، الذين تمت إعادتهم إلى أوطانهم قسراً في كثير من الحالات. علاوةً على ذلك، نظراً لأن العديد من حركات الاحتجاج كانت نشطة قبل انتشار مرض "كوفيد-19"، فإن الاتّجاه الحالي للانكماش الاقتصادي وارتفاع معدّلات الإصابة قد يزيدان من عدم الاستقرار في جميع أنحاء المنطقة.

وكانت "منظّمة الصحّة العالمية" فعالة في تشجيع التعاون المتعدّد الأطراف وتبادل المعلومات. ومع ذلك، فإن الجهود التي بذلتها بلدان الشرق الأوسط لمكافحة الفيروس افتقرت إلى التنسيق المباشر في معظم الحالات. ونظراً لتركيز كلّ حكومة على معركتها الخاصّة لاحتواء الوباء على أراضيها، فقد افتقر عملها إلى القدر الكافي من التفاعل عبر الحدود الذي من شأنه أن يجعل من جهودها جهوداً إقليميّة فعليّة.

بإمكان الولايات المتّحدة مساعدة الحكومات في الشرق الأوسط على أحسن وجه عبر توفير التدريب للعاملين في المجال الصحّي من خلال مبادرات مثل برامج الممرّضين الميدانيّين التي تديرها "مراكز السيطرة على الأمراض والوقاية منها". ويمكنها أن تساعد أيضاً عبر مشاركة المبادئ التوجيهيّة الخاصّة بالحالات الصحيّة الطارئة مع المستشفيات من أجل مساعدتها على الاستعداد لمواجهة الارتفاعات المفاجئة في حالات مرض فيروس كورونا.

محمد حسن خليل

في مصر، سُجِّلت الحالة الأولى للإصابة بالفيروس في آذار/مارس، ومنذ ذلك الحين، وصلت الأرقام الرسميّة [حتى تاريخ عقد هذا المنتدى] إلى 93,000 إصابة و4,700 حالة وفاة. إلّا أنّ هذه الأرقام مثيرة للجدل لأنّها تمثل فقط الأشخاص الذين ثبتت إصابتهم بالفيروس، وتستثني العديد من الحالات المشتبه بها والوفيّات الكثيرة في أوساط الأفراد الذين لم يجروا فحوصات.

وفيما يتعلّق بالاستراتيجيّة الوطنيّة، أخفقت مصر في تنفيذ حملة اختبارات عامّة فعّالة لتحديد المناطق الساخنة لتفشي المرض، مما قلّل من قدرتها على التركيز على المناطق الأكثر احتياجاً لتدابير احتواء الوباء. وتمكّنت الحكومة من إجراء فحوصات لنسبة 0.13 في المائة فقط من السكّان؛ وبالمقارنة، فإن متوسط ​​معدل الاختبار في الخارج يتراوح بين 5 و 10 في المائة من السكّان، حتّى في البلدان ذات الدخل المتوسّط. ويعني غياب الشفافيّة والاستخفاف الكبير بالعدوى أنّ حدّة الوباء الفعليّة في مصر لا تزال غير معلومة.

وكانت استجابة الحكومة المصريّة في بداية تفشّي المرض كافية، ولكنّ المشاكل التي تواجه النظام الصحي في البلاد هيكليّة. وفي ستّينات القرن الماضي، كان النظام [الصحي] يُعتبر متطوّراً مقارنةً بما كان عليه في بلدان نامية أخرى، ولكن منذ ذلك الحين، أدّت إجراءات التقشف في الميزانيّة إلى خفض التمويل لمثل هذا النوع من الخدمات وإلى انخفاض سريع في جودة الرعاية الصحيّة في مصر. على سبيل المثال، بين عامَي 2008 و 2019، انخفض عدد الأسِرّة في المستشفيات الحكوميّة بنسبة 25 في المائة، في حين زاد عدد الأسرّة في المستشفيات الخاصّة بشكل طفيف للغاية. وفي الوقت الحالي، تؤمّن مصر 1.2 سرير في المستشفيات الحكوميّة لكلّ 1,000 شخص، وهي نسبة أقلّ بكثير من المتوسط ​​العالمي البالغ 2.9 أسرّة لكلّ شخص. وعلى الرغم من ادّعاءات الحكومة المصريّة بأنّ الأسرّة في المستشفيات متوافرة لجميع مرضى جائحة "كوفيد-19" في كافة أنحاء البلاد، إلّا أن العديد من المصريّين أفادوا بأنّه لم يتم قبولهم إلى المستشفيات بسبب عدم قدرتها على استيعاب المزيد من المرضى.

وينصّ الدستور المصري لعام 2014 على ألا يقل إجمالي الإنفاق الحكومي على الصحة عن 3 في المائة من "الناتج المحلي الإجمالي". لكن بين عامَي 2016 و 2019، استمرّت الحكومة بتخفيض الأموال المخصّصة للرعاية الصحيّة حتّى بعد التوقيع على اتفاق مع "صندوق النقد الدولي". وفي المرحلة القادمة، على السلطات المصريّة إعطاء الأولوية لإعادة بناء نظام الرعاية الصحيّة، والذي لا يمكن القيام به إلّا عبر إلغاء التدابير التقشّفيّة التي أعاقت هذا النظام سابقاً.

محمد المالكي

منذ بداية انتشار الوباء في العراق، أجرت البلاد حوالي مليون فحص وسجّلت أكثر من 112,000 حالة [حتى تاريخ عقد هذا المنتدى]، من بينها 4,485 حالة وفاة. ووضَعت هذه الأرقام العراق في المرتبة الثالثة بين الدول الأعضاء في الجامعة العربيّة من حيث معدّلات الإصابة (بعد قطر والسعودية فقط) وفي المرتبة الثانية في معدّل الوفيّات.

وبعد الإبلاغ عن الحالة الأولى في العراق في 24 شباط/فبراير، كانت استجابة الحكومة الأوليّة مواتية، وتحرّكت معدّلات الإصابة في اتّجاه واعد في وقت مبكر من الإبلاغ عن الإصابات. ومع ذلك، فبحلول منتصف أيّار/مايو، ارتفع عدد الحالات بشكلٍ كبير بعد أن احتفل العراقيّون بعيد الفطر وتوقّفوا عن تطبيق إجراءات الإغلاق. وبعد ذلك استمرّ هذا العدد في الارتفاع بشكلٍ مطرد، ومع ذلك قررت الحكومة تخفيف قيود الإغلاق في حزيران/يونيو.

وكما هو الحال في مصر، يفوق المعدّل الفعلي للإصابة بالفيروس داخل العراق الأرقامَ التي أَبلَغت عنها الحكومة. وتعكس الأرقام الرسميّة التي قُدّرت بـ  2,500إصابة يومية جديدة قدرةَ العراق على إجراء الفحوصات، وليس معدّل الإصابة الفعلي لديه. وتشير تقارير مثيرة للقلق إلى أنّ حوالي 30 في المائة من الفحوصات التي خضع لها الأفراد في العراق أسفرت عن نتائج سلبية خاطئة، مما يعني أن إجمالي الحالات قد يكون أعلى بكثير مما كان متوقعاً. أمّا فيما يخصّ معدّل الوفيّات، فإن العديد منها التي تحصل في المنازل لا تُحتسَب في الإحصاءات الرسميّة بسبب أعراض شبيهة بتلك الخاصة بمرض "كوفيد-19".

ويفاقم الوباء الوضع الصعب بالفعل في العراق، الذي يواجه أصلاً توتّرات سياسيّة واضطرابات اقتصاديّة نتجت عن انخفاض أسعار النفط على وجه الخصوص. ويثقل الفيروس أيضاً كاهل نظام صحي يعاني من محدوديّة الموارد والنقص في الطاقم الطبّي.

وفي النهاية، قد تُعزى مستويات الإصابة الحاليّة في العراق إلى التخطيط غير الملائم، حيث أصبحت المنشآت الصحيّة واهنة، والفحوصات وعمليّات الرصد الصحيّة ضعيفة؛ ولم يكن المسؤولون قادرين على ترتيب الأولويّات وتفضيل الحالات الحادّة على الحالات المعتدلة وغير الفتّاكة، وبالتالي، جرى توجيه الموارد نحو الحالات غير الحرجة. وتُظهر معدّلات الإصابة المرتفعة في صفوف الطاقم الطبّي أنّ العاملين في مجال الرعاية الصحية لا يحصلون على القدر الكافي من المعدّات الوقائية، وأنّ المستشفيات المحليّة تستمرّ في معالجة المرضى باستخدام علاجات قديمة أو تلك التي أثبتت عدم فعاليتها.

بإمكان الولايات المتّحدة مساعدة الشعب العراقي خلال هذه الأزمة من خلال توفير القروض والمنح لدعم الاقتصاد، ومن شأن هذه الخطوة أن تمنحهم أيضاً حافزاً إضافيّاً للبقاء في منازلهم والالتزام بتدابير الإغلاق. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، بإمكان واشنطن الإضطلاع بدورٍ قيادي من خلال مشاركة معايير الرعاية التي تعتمدها، وذلك عبر "مراكز السيطرة على الأمراض والوقاية منها"، و"منظّمة الصحّة العالميّة"، وغيرها من المنافذ. ولا يزال تبادل المعلومات بين المؤسّسات الصحيّة على المستوى العالمي بطيئاً ومفكّكاً - ومثل هذا التعاون يحتاج إلى التحسين إذا أرادت المؤسّسات في الشرق الأوسط الاستفادة من المعايير العالية التي تُطبّق في مجالَي التخطيط والرعاية في أماكن أخرى.

 

أعد هذا الملخص زياد بشلاغم. أمكن تنفيذ سلسلة برامج منتدى السياسات بفضل سخاء "عائلة فلورنس وروبرت كوفمان".

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 3361

Health, Politics, and Stability in the Middle East: A COVID-19 Update

Ali Mokdad, Mohammed Hassan Khalil, and Muhamed Almaliky

Also available in العربية فارسی

August 7, 2020


Three regional health experts explain why countries that avoided the worst of the pandemic early on are now reeling from its spread.

On July 29, The Washington Institute held a virtual Policy Forum with Ali Mokdad, Mohammed Hassan Khalil, and Muhamed Almaliky. Mokdad, an epidemiologist, is the director of Middle Eastern initiatives and a professor of global health at the University of Washington’s Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation. Khalil is a retired cardiologist and founder/chairman of the Cairo-based Committee for the Defense of the People’s Right to Health. Almaliky, a cardiologist, is a research fellow at Harvard University’s Weatherhead Center for International Affairs and director of the Iraqi American Institute. The following is a rapporteur’s summary of their remarks.

ALI MOKDAD

One of the key challenges facing health officials worldwide is that many countries continue to underreport their COVID-19 infection and mortality rates. This trend is mainly due to weak testing capacity, inadequate vital-health registration systems, and, in some cases, intentional government efforts to save face and hide the true numbers.

In the Middle East, some countries have done a commendable job of releasing their COVID-19 data, including Jordan, Lebanon, Tunisia, and others. Among the countries that have not released reliable data—whether intentionally or due to low testing capacity—are Egypt, Iraq, and Saudi Arabia.

The cost of testing remains expensive across the region, and governments have failed to appropriate the necessary funds to increase testing capacity to recommended levels. The sharp spike in cases can be attributed to the poor health infrastructure in many countries and the broader context of war and instability. Additionally, continued pilgrimages to highly frequented cultural sites led to skyrocketing infection rates in the early days of the pandemic, particularly in Iraq and Iran.

Although the region’s initial response was generally positive and timely, many governments prematurely relaxed restrictions in order to open their economies, and cases soared as a result. The pandemic’s economic repercussions are especially likely to exacerbate existing problems for marginalized groups such as foreign workers, who in many instances have been forcibly repatriated. Moreover, given that several protest movements were active before the spread of COVID-19, the current trend of economic downturn and rising infection rates may increase instability across the region.

The World Health Organization (WHO) has been effective in encouraging multilateral cooperation and information sharing. In most cases, however, Middle Eastern countries have not coordinated directly in combating the virus. Because each government is focused on its own fight to contain the pandemic at home, there has been little cross-border interaction to make this a truly regional effort.

The United States can best assist Middle Eastern governments by providing training for health workers through initiatives like the field nurse practitioners programs administered by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). It can also help by sharing health emergency guidelines with local hospitals in order to help them prepare for COVID-19 surges.

MOHAMMED HASSAN KHALIL

In Egypt, the first virus case was recorded in March, and the official numbers have since reached 93,000 infections and 4,700 deaths. Yet these figures are problematic because they only account for people who tested positive, omitting the many suspected cases and deaths among individuals who were never tested.

In terms of national strategy, Egypt has failed to implement an effective public screening campaign to locate outbreak hotspots, thus diminishing its ability to focus on areas most in need of containment measures. The government has managed to test only 0.13 percent of the population; in comparison, the average testing rate abroad is between 5 and 10 percent even among moderate-income countries. The lack of transparency and considerable underestimation of infections means that the pandemic’s true extent in Egypt remains unknown.

The government’s response at the beginning of the outbreak was adequate, but the problems facing Egypt’s health system are structural. In the 1960s, the system was considered advanced in comparison to other developing countries, but since then, budget austerity measures have decreased funding for such services and led to a rapid decline in the quality of Egypt’s healthcare. For example, between 2008 and 2019, the number of government hospital beds decreased by 25 percent, while private hospital beds increased very little. Egypt now has only 1.2 government beds per 1,000 people, well under the global average of 2.9. Despite the government’s claim that hospital beds are available to all COVID-19 patients across the country, many Egyptians report being turned away from hospitals due to over-capacity.

The 2014 Egyptian constitution stipulated that total government expenditures on health should not be less than 3 percent of GDP. Between 2016 and 2019, however, the government continued to decrease healthcare funding even after signing a deal with the IMF. Going forward, Egyptian authorities must prioritize rebuilding the healthcare system, which can only be done by rolling back the austerity measures that have previously crippled it.

MUHAMED ALMALIKY

Since the beginning of the pandemic, Iraq has conducted around 1 million tests and registered over 112,000 cases, of whom 4,485 have died. These numbers place it third among Arab League member states in infection rates (trailing only Qatar and Saudi Arabia) and second in mortality.

After the first Iraqi case was reported on February 24, the initial government response was favorable, and infection rates trended in a promising direction early on. By mid-May, however, the number of cases skyrocketed as Iraqis celebrated Eid al-Fitr and stopped observing lockdowns. The steady rise in cases continued afterward, yet the government still decided to relax lockdown restrictions in June.

As in Egypt, Iraq’s real infection rate exceeds the numbers reported by the government. The official estimate of 2,500 new daily infections reflects Iraq’s testing capacity, not its actual infection rate. Troubling reports suggest that around 30 percent of Iraqi tests have yielded false negatives, meaning that total cases may be much higher than anticipated. As for the mortality rate, many people dying at home from COVID-like symptoms are not being tallied in the official statistics.

The pandemic compounds an already difficult situation in Iraq, which was already dealing with political tensions and economic turmoil caused most notably by dwindling oil prices. The virus is also straining a health system plagued by limited resources and insufficient medical staff.

Ultimately, Iraq’s current infection levels can be traced to inadequate planning. Health facilities have been debilitated; health screening and tracking are poor; officials have been unable to prioritize severe cases over mild and nonlethal ones, thereby diverting resources to noncritical cases; high infection rates among medical staff show that healthcare workers are not being provided with sufficient protective equipment; and local hospitals continue to use outdated or debunked remedies for patients.

The United States can help the Iraqi people during this crisis by providing loans and grants to shore up the economy; this would also give them extra incentive to stay home and comply with lockdown measures. In addition, Washington can play a leadership role by sharing its standards of care through the CDC, WHO, and other outlets. Global information sharing between health institutions remains slow and disjointed—such cooperation needs to improve if Middle Eastern institutions are to benefit from the high standards of planning and care seen elsewhere.

This summary was prepared by Zied Bouchlaghem. The Policy Forum series is made possible through the generosity of the Florence and Robert Kaufman Family.