أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 2988

لعبة حفتر سعياً وراء النفط الليبي

بين فيشمان

متاح أيضاً في English

3 تموز/يوليو 2018


في 21 حزيران/يونيو، استعاد الجنرال خليفة حفتر، قائد "الجيش الوطني الليبي"، محطتين من أكبر محطات ليبيا النفطية بعد أن استولى عليهما قائد الميليشيا ابراهيم جضران في وقت سابق من ذلك الشهر. ثم قام حفتر بتصعيد موقفه في 25 حزيران/يونيو بإعلانه أنه لن يعيد المنشآت إلى "مؤسسة النفط الوطنية الليبية"، بل إلى منافستها في شرق البلاد، التي تخضع لسلطة الحكومة غير المعترف بها في الشرق. ومن ثم في 29 حزيران/يونيو، منع حفتر محطتين إضافيتين في الشرق من تفريغ النفط. ووفقاً لـ "مؤسسة النفط الوطنية الليبية"، أدت تلك الخطوات إلى خفض إجمالي الصادرات بنحو 850,000 برميل يومياً انطلاقاً من معدل يقارب مليون برميل في اليوم. وكلما بقيت الصادرات خارجة عن التداول، كلما خسرت ليبيا المزيد من العائدات المهمة للحفاظ على اقتصادها المتعثر.

وتشكل الخطوة الأخيرة التي اتخذها حفتر - الذي عاد إلى ليبيا في أواخر نيسان/إبريل بعد تعرضه على ما يبدو لوعكة صحية خطيرة - التهديد الأكبر للوحدة الهشة في البلاد منذ الحرب الأهلية التي عصفت بها عامي 2014 و2015. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، فبعد مرور شهر واحد فقط من انضمام حفتر إلى الرئيس الفرنسي إيمانويل ماكرون وثلاثة من القادة السياسيين الليبيين الآخرين في باريس لإطلاق عملية الانتقال السياسي الخاملة في البلاد بقيادة الأمم المتحدة، اختار الجنرال أخذ البلاد رهينةً عن طريق [فرض] حصار اقتصادي. وما لم تتصرف الولايات المتحدة وحلفاؤها بحزم للحفاظ على سلطة "حكومة الوفاق الوطني" على النفط في البلاد، قد تؤدي لعبة السلطة التي يخوضها حفتر إلى إعادة [انزلاق] ليبيا إلى حرب أهلية أو إلى انقسام فعلي بين شرق البلاد وغربها، ناهيك عن قضائها على آفاق التوصل إلى حل سياسي. فبالنسبة إلى رجلٍ تناولت الشائعات مؤخراً وفاته، نفذ حفتر مناورةً شديدة العدوانية.

اقتصاد النفط الليبي

ليس هناك شك في أن عدوانية جضران أثارت حالة عدم الاستقرار الأخيرة، إذ إن استيلاءه على الموانئ المركزية أبعد حوالي 400 ألف برميل يومياً عن التداول. ولكن بعد استعادة حفتر للمحطتين النفطيتين، قام بتأجيج الأزمة بإعلانه أنه لن يعيدهما إلى "مؤسسة النفط الوطنية الليبية". ثم أبعد كميةً أخرى توازي 450 ألف برميل يومياً عندما كان يحاصر الموانئ الشرقية، تاركاً بذلك المحطات الغربية - الأقل إنتاجاً بكثير - الوحيدة التي تعمل وفقاً لسعتها الاستيعابية. وحذرت "مؤسسة النفط الوطنية الليبية" من أن هذه الخسائر ستكلف 67.4 مليون دولار يومياً، وتمنع الإمدادات المحلية إلى محطتي طاقة أساسيتين في الشرق، وتسبب ضرراً بيئياً كبيراً.

وفي الواقع، تموّل صادرات النفط والهيدروكربونات الأخرى الغالبية العظمى من ميزانية الحكومة الليبية وتشكل نواة الاقتصاد الوطني المختل. وتنسق "مؤسسة النفط الوطنية الليبية" عملية إنتاج النفط وبيعه، وتعود إيراداته إلى "مصرف ليبيا المركزي"، الذي يقوم بدوره بتمويل الخدمات الحكومية ورواتب القطاع العام المضخمة. وأدت الزيادات الأخيرة في إنتاج النفط في ليبيا، مقترنة بارتفاع أسعار النفط العالمية، إلى مساعدة البلاد على تجنب حدوث أزمة اقتصادية بسبب انخفاض احتياطات "مصرف ليبيا المركزي". وفي ظروف أخرى، كانت البلاد الغنية بالنفط ستجد نفسها مرغمةً على تحمّل ديون كبيرة، مع اضطرار حكومتها الضعيفة في الأصل إلى إجراء تخفيضات غير مستساغة في رواتب القطاع العام مع إزالة إعانات الوقود وغير ذلك من المساعدات.

وفي اقتصاد ليبيا الحالي الهش، أدى العجز النقدي بالإضافة إلى الإعانات الكبرى للوقود ومنتجات أخرى إلى تفعيل سوق سوداء موازية واقتصاد قائم على التهريب. ولكن طالما بقيت صادرات النفط قريبةً من المليون برميل يومياً، لم تكن ليبيا عرضةً لخطر الانهيار المالي. وبالمثل، حافظت الصادرات الثابتة على ما يكفي من الاستقرار لكي يتسنى للمجتمع الدولي النظر في حل سياسي ودعمه.

دوافع الجنرال

عندما استعاد حفتر المحطتين المركزيتين في 21 حزيران/يونيو، قرر، كما أُشير من قبل، عدم إعادتهما إلى "مؤسسة النفط الوطنية الليبية"، بل إلى "مؤسسة نفط وطنية ليبية" بديلة مقرها في الشرق. وقد يكون لهذه الهيئة، التي تضم موظفين سابقين في "مؤسسة النفط الوطنية الليبية"، بعض الاتصالات والقدرات التقنية لتنظيم المبيعات، لكن عليها إيداع العائدات ومن ثم توزيعها بمساعدة من "مصرف مركزي" بديل يشوبه الغموض في الشرق. ومن شأن مثل هذه التدابير أن تنتهك بوضوح قرار مجلس الأمن الدولي رقم 2146، الذي يمنح الدول الأعضاء تفويضاً بموجب الفصل السابع لاعتراض شحنات النفط غير القانونية من ليبيا وإعادتها إلى سيطرة الحكومة الليبية، التي تُعرف حالياً بـ"حكومة الوفاق الوطني". وفي 2 تموز/يوليو، ناشد رئيس "مؤسسة النفط الوطنية الليبية" مصطفى صنع الله، لجان العقوبات الخاصة بليبيا التابعة للأمم المتحدة فرض عقوبات على المؤسسة التي تُعتبر خصماً لها في بنغازي، وعلى أكثر من أربعين فرداً وهيئات إضافية على خلفية استيلائهم غير الشرعي على مبيعات النفط.

وقد برزت هذه التحديات للوضع الراهن المنبثقة عن حفتر وحلفائه في الشرق بعد مرور شهر واحد فقط على المؤتمر الذي انعقد في باريس 29 أيار/مايو، عندما جمع ماكرون الجنرال الليبي مع رئيس مجلس النواب عقيلة صالح، ورئيس الوزراء فايز السراج ورئيس "المجلس الأعلى للدولة" خالد المشري. وكان هدف ماكرون هو إقناع هؤلاء القادة السياسيين بالموافقة على دعم "خطة عمل الأمم المتحدة لليبيا" من خلال إجراء انتخابات رئاسية وبرلمانية بحلول 10 كانون الأول/ديسمبر. ولعل من المفارقات أن الجدول الزمني الذي حدده الرئيس الفرنسي قد هيأ حفتر لسباق رئاسي، كان الفوز به سيمنحه لقب القائد العام للقوات المسلحة الليبية الذي طالما سعى إلى نيله. كما أشار البيان المشترك الصادر في باريس إلى وجوب إجراء الانتخابات على "أساس دستوري". وإذا تم اعتماد مسودة الدستور الحالية أو موادها الأساسية، فإن ذلك سيحوّل [النظام السياسي في] ليبيا من نظام برلماني ضعيف إلى نظام رئاسي قوي.

وعلى الرغم من موقف حفتر المؤيد على ما يبدو، المدعوم من اسمه المعترف به وغياب مرشح بديل، اختار الجنرال عدم الانتظار حتى إجراء انتخابات محتملة في كانون الأول/ديسمبر، التي قد يتم تأجيلها للعديد من الأسباب الفنية أو السياسية. ومتفاخراً بنجاحه بعد انتصاره في أيار/مايو على القوات الإسلامية في درنة، استولى حفتر حالياً على اقتصاد ليبيا. وقد يستخدم سيطرته على موارد النفط سعياً وراء نفوذ أكبر على المؤسسات المركزية الليبية، أي "مصرف ليبيا المركزي" و"مؤسسة النفط الوطنية الليبية"، أو يستعد لشن هجوم في الغرب باستخدامه القدرات المحسنة التي أظهرها في هجوم درنة. وفي أي من الحالتين، يتحدى حفتر الإجماع الدولي وراء "خطة عمل الأمم المتحدة" كونها السبيل نحو إرساء الاستقرار في ليبيا.

الخيارات الأمريكية

إذا أرادت واشنطن إنهاء هذه الأزمة بأسرع وقت ممكن، فعليها أن تعلن بوضوح أنها ستعمل على منع المبيعات غير المصرح بها للنفط الليبي، تماماً كما فعلت في آذار/مارس 2014 عندما اعترضت "القوات الخاصة" التابعة للبحرية الأمريكية ناقلة بترول تحمل 200 ألف برميل من النفط الخام - الذي تمت مصادرته بصورة غير قانونية - وأعادتها إلى طرابلس. إن إعادة التأكيد على التزام الولايات المتحدة بتطبيق قرار مجلس الأمن رقم 2146، بالإضافة إلى إصدارها بيان يحث الليبيين على معالجة الوضع بسرعة، من شأنهما ردع المشترين المحتملين، واختبار إرادة حفتر، والتوافق مع جهود إدارة ترامب الرامية إلى زيادة إنتاج النفط العالمي من أجل خفض الأسعار.

بإمكان الولايات المتحدة، إلى جانب حلفائها، أن تشدد أيضاً على رسالة توضح بالتفصيل كيف يؤدي إغلاق منشآت النفط في أي جزء من ليبيا إلى إلحاق الضرر بجميع سكان البلاد، مع تسليطها الضوء بشكل خاص على الأثر المحلي لإغلاق مصافي النفط.

وقد لا يكون لحفتر خطوة تالية يزمع اتخاذها بعد سيطرته على معظم محطات النفط الليبية. ولكن ما لم يشعر بردع ملحوظ من قبل المجتمع الدولي - خاصة من فرنسا، التي قام للتو بتحويل الأنظار عن مؤتمرها - سوف يستمر في تجاهل مسار سياسي لصالح مسار قائم على القوة.

 

بين فيشمان، هو زميل مشارك في معهد واشنطن، وعمل مديراً لشؤون شمال أفريقيا في "مجلس الأمن القومي" الأمريكي في الفترة 2011-2013.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 2988

Haftar's Play for Libyan Oil

Ben Fishman

Also available in العربية

July 3, 2018


To preserve Libyan unity, the United States should threaten to block any oil shipments not authorized by the country's internationally recognized government.

On June 21, Gen. Khalifa Haftar, the commander of the Libyan National Army, reclaimed two of Libya's largest terminals after the militia leader Ibrahim Jadhran had seized them earlier in the month. Haftar then upped the ante on June 25 by declaring that he would not return the facilities to Libya's National Oil Corporation (NOC) but instead to its eastern-based rival, which reports to the unrecognized eastern-based government. Then on June 29, he prevented two additional terminals in the east from offloading oil. According to the NOC, these moves have reduced total exports by around 850,000 barrels per day from an average of about 1 million b/d. The longer exports remain offline, the more Libya will lose significant revenues critical to sustaining its struggling economy.

This latest move by Haftar, who returned to Libya in late April after an apparently serious health scare, poses the greatest threat to the country's fragile unity since the 2014-15 civil war. Moreover, just a month after Haftar joined French president Emmanuel Macron and three other Libyan political leaders in Paris to jump-start the country's dormant UN-led political transition, the general has chosen to hold the country hostage through an economic siege. Unless the United States and its allies act strongly to preserve the authority of the Government of National Accord (GNA) over the country's oil, Haftar's power play could return Libya to a civil war or a de facto east-west split, not to mention ending prospects for a political solution. For a man recently rumored to have died, Haftar has undertaken an especially aggressive maneuver.

Libya's Oil Economy

To be sure, Jadhran's aggression provoked the most recent instability, with his seizure of the central ports taking nearly 400,000 b/d offline. After Haftar reclaimed the terminals, however, he exacerbated the crisis by announcing that he would not return them to the NOC. He then removed another 450,000 b/d when he blockaded the eastern ports, leaving the much lower-producing western terminals as the only ones working at capacity. The NOC warned that these losses will cost $67.4 million a day, prevent domestic supplies to two major power plants in the east, and create major environmental damage.

Oil and other hydrocarbons exports indeed fund the vast majority of the Libyan government's budget and serve as the core of an otherwise dysfunctional national economy. The NOC coordinates the production and sale of oil, from which revenues go to the Central Bank of Libya (CBL), which in turn funds government services and an inflated public-sector payroll. Libya's recent increases in oil production, paired with rising global oil prices, helped the country avert an economic crisis owing to declining central bank reserves. In other circumstances, the oil-rich country would have been forced to take on significant debt, with its already weak government  compelled to initiate unpalatable cuts to the public-sector payroll while eliminating fuel and other subsidies.

In Libya's flawed current economy, a cash shortage together with high subsidies on fuel and other products have stimulated a parallel black market and smuggling economy. But as long as oil exports remained close to 1 million b/d, Libya was not at risk of financial collapse. Likewise, consistent exports preserved enough stability so that a political solution could be entertained and advanced by the international community.

The General's Motives

Once Haftar reclaimed the central terminals on June 21, he decided, as intimated before, to return them not to the NOC but to an alternative "national oil corporation" based in the east. That entity, which includes former NOC employees, may have some contacts and technical ability to arrange sales, but it would have to deposit and then distribute the proceeds with help from a similarly vague alternative "central bank" in the east. Such actions would clearly violate UN Security Council Resolution 2146, which provides member states with Chapter VII authorization to intercept illegal oil shipments from Libya and return them to control of the Libyan government, currently recognized as the GNA. On July 2, NOC chairman Mustafa Sanalla appealed to the UN's Libya sanctions committees to sanction his rival corporation in Benghazi and more than forty additional individuals and entities for illegally appropriating oil sales.

These challenges to the status quo from Haftar and his eastern-based allies occurred just a month after the May 29 conference in Paris, when Macron brought together the general with House of Representatives head Aguila Saleh, Prime Minister Fayez al-Sarraj, and High State Council head Khaled al-Mishri. Macron aimed to persuade these political actors to agree to advance the UN Action Plan for Libya through presidential and parliamentary elections conducted by December 10. Perhaps ironically, the French timeline set up Haftar for a presidential run, in which victory would have granted him his long-sought title of commander-in-chief of Libya's armed forces. The Paris joint statement also indicated that elections would have to be conducted on a "constitutional basis." If the current draft constitution or its core articles are adopted, this would transform Libya from a weak parliamentary system into a strong presidential one.

Despite his apparently favorable stance—buoyed by his name recognition and the absence of an alternative candidate—Haftar chose not to wait until a potential December election that could be postponed for any number of technical or political reasons. Riding high after his May victory over Islamist forces in Darnah, Haftar has now seized the engine of Libya's economy. He may be using his control of oil resources to seek greater influence over Libya's central institutions—the CBL and NOC—or he may be gearing up for an offensive in the west using the improved capabilities he demonstrated in his Darnah offensive. In either circumstance, he is challenging the international consensus behind the UN Action Plan as the path toward Libya's stabilization.

U.S. Options

If Washington wants to end this crisis as quickly as possible, it should state clearly that it will act to prevent unauthorized sales of Libyan oil, just as it did in March 2014 when U.S. Navy SEALs intercepted a tanker carrying 200,000 barrels of illegally seized crude and transported it back to Tripoli. Such a reaffirmation of the U.S. commitment to enforce UNSCR 2146, together with a statement urging Libyans to resolve the situation swiftly, would deter prospective buyers, test Haftar's will, and align with the Trump administration's efforts to increase global oil production in order to reduce prices. 

Together with its allies, the United States can also amplify a message detailing how the closure of oil facilities in any part of Libya damages the country's entire population, while specifically highlighting the domestic impact of closing refineries. 

Haftar may not have a next step planned after gaining control over most of Libya's oil terminals. But unless he feels significant pushback from the international community—especially from France, whose conference he has just upstaged—he will continue to ignore a political track in favor of one premised on force.

Ben Fishman, an associate fellow with The Washington Institute, served as director for North Africa at the National Security Council from 2011 to 2013.