أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 3291

رهان غانتس

ديفيد ماكوفسكي

متاح أيضاً في English

27 آذار/مارس 2020


في 26 آذار/مارس، اختتم زعيم المعارضة الإسرائيلية بيني غانتس عدة أسابيع من المناورات السياسية واتخذ خطوات لتشكيل حكومة وحدة وطنية. وبموجب الاتفاق، سيستمر رئيس الوزراء بنيامين نتنياهو في منصبه حتى أيلول/سبتمبر 2021 عندما سيستلم غانتس المنصب لفترة مماثلة أمدها ثمانية عشر شهراً - وهذه هي المرة الأولى التي تلجأ فيها إسرائيل إلى مبدأ الرئاسة الدورية منذ انتخابات عام 1984.

وتأتي خطوة غانتس بتكلفة سياسية كبيرة. فحزبه "أزرق أبيض" انقسم الآن بشأن ما إذا كان يمكن الوثوق بنتنياهو فيما يتعلق باحترام مثل هذا الاتفاق. فالفصيل الذي يتزعمه - والذي سيعمل الآن باسمه الأصلي "حصانة إسرائيل" - يشغل 14 مقعداً فقط من أصل المقاعد الثلاثة والثلاثين التي فاز بها حزب "أزرق أبيض" في الانتخابات الأخيرة (مع إمكانية إضافة مقعدين أو أكثر، اعتماداً على التطورات القادمة). وفي المقابل، يبقى تكتل اليمين المتجانس برئاسة نتنياهو والذي لديه 58 مقعداً، دون تغيير. وبالتالي فإن حكومة الوحدة الوطنية الجديدة مضمونة بأغلبية 72 مقعداً على الأقل في الكنيست المكوّن من 120 عضواً.

ومن حيث المبدأ، وعد نتنياهو بتشكيل حكومة تقوم على المساواة رغم التفاوت الصارخ في عدد المقاعد. ومع ذلك، فإن فوزه في التناوب الأول، وسجله السابق في رئاسة الوزراء، وعدم الثقة الكبير في دوافعه، أثارت جميعاً تساؤلات حول ما إذا كان سيهمّش غانتس وحلفاءه على مدى الأشهر الثمانية عشر المقبلة.

وكان نتنياهو على استعداد للتنازل عن حقيبتين مهمتين لصالح حزب "حصانة إسرائيل": وزارة الخارجية التي من المرجح أن يشغلها غانتس ووزارة الدفاع التي من المحتمل أن يتولاها رئيس أركان الجيش السابق الآخر، غابي أشكنازي. غير أن هذين المنصبين أصبحا أقل أهمية الآن بعد أن أن أدّى تفشي فيروس كورونا إلى تقليص تركيز إسرائيل الدائم على الأمن الخارجي والسياسة الخارجية. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، وفيما يخص القضايا الإقليمية مثل إيران و«حزب الله»، لا توجد اختلافات سياسية كبيرة بين نتنياهو وفصيل غانتس.

وثمة أمر معبّر أن الحقيبتين اللتين خصصهما نتنياهو لتكتله هما وزارة المالية ورئاسة الكنيست. فعلى سبيل المثال، يمكن لرئيس البرلمان منع فعلياً تمرير تشريع في الكنيست، بما في ذلك الاقتراح الأخير لحزب "أزرق أبيض" بمنع المسؤولين الذين صدرت بحقهم لوائح اتهام من تولي رئاسة الوزراء. وهذه صلاحية حاسمة عند التفكير في أنه لا يزال من المقرر أن يَمْثل نتنياهو أمام المحكمة حول ثلاث لوائح اتهام بالفساد - على الأقل عندما تعود المحاكم فتح أبوابها بعد القرار الظاهري لحكومته بإغلاقها بسبب الفيروس التاجي.

الخيارات السيئة لغانتس

في تصريحاته حول إعلان الاتفاق، صرّح غانتس بأن "هذه ليست أوقاتاً طبيعية، وتتطلب قرارات غير تقليدية. وبالتالي، كما قلتُ، أعتزم التفكير في خيار تشكيل حكومة طوارئ وطنية... فالانقسام بين الناس هو التهديد الوجودي الأكبر لدولة إسرائيل. سنهزم الإيرانيين، وسنهزم السوريين، وسنتغلب على الإرهاب، لكننا لم نتمكن من قهر الانقسام الداخلي وكراهية الناس لإخوانهم. إنه خط أحمر لامع وسميك لجميع المسؤولين المنتخبين، القدامى والجدد".

وبالفعل، يبدو أن هناك ثلاثة عوامل رئيسية دفعته لاتخاذ هذا القرار. أولاً، رأى أن الوباء كان يحدّ المجال المتاح أمامه للمناورة، حيث فقد الشعب صبره تجاه الشؤون السياسية في زمن الأزمة. وقد ترسّخ هذا الانطباع عندما وجه رئيس الدولة رؤوفين ريفلين في وقت سابق من هذا الأسبوع نداء عام نادر ومثير إلى الشعب للتوحد. وبما أن غانتس جندي محترف أمضى ما يقرب من أربعة عقود في الجيش، فلا يمكنه رفض هذه الدعوة. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، تُفيد بعض التقارير أن فريقه كان لديه نتائج استطلاعات تُظهِر أن ناخبي حزب "أزرق أبيض" يريدون اتفاق لحكومة وحدة إذا لم يكن لدى غانتس حكومة بديلة فاعلة جاهزة للعمل.

ثانياً، تلاشت فكرة تشكيل حكومة أقلية من يسار الوسط في الأسبوعين الماضيين وسط معارضة ثلاثة سياسيين على الأقل الذين رفضوا الموافقة على الاعتماد الضمني على الأحزاب العربية الإسرائيلية. ونتيجةً لذلك، وعوضاً عن تمكن غانتس من الاعتماد على تصويت المقاعد الـ 62 لصالح أجندته البرلمانية (أو، على الأقل، عدم إعاقتها)، لكان قد بقي له 59 مقعداً، أي أقل من الـ 61 مقعداً الضرورية للحصول على أغلبية. وبما أن الأحزاب العربية كانت ستوفر شبكة أمان لهذا التحالف المفترض، يمكن للمرء أن يتوقع تواصل غانتس معها في الأسابيع والأشهر المقبلة.

ثالثاً، بما أن غانتس لم يفز بأية مقاعد في الجولة الثالثة من التصويت في وقت سابق من آذار/مارس، فقد أصبح عرضة للاستبدال إذا أُجريت فعلاً انتخابات رابعة. وإذا ما تم إجراء انتخابات جديدة في أواخر هذا العام، فذلك يعني أن نتنياهو وحكومته اليمينية قد يواصلان تصريف الأعمال لأشهر عديدة قادمة.

لقد تساءل الكثيرون عن سبب عدم ضغط غانتس بشكل أكبر لتمرير التشريع المقترح الرامي إلى منع تولي مسؤولين صدرت بحقهم لوائح اتهام، مناصب عليا، ولو كان ذلك فقط كأداة للضغط على نتنياهو من أجل منحه التناوب الأول. تكمن الإجابة في الانقسامات الداخلية العميقة في حزب "أزرق أبيض". فمن بين كبار مسؤولي الكتل الأربع المعروفين باسم "قمرة القيادة"، فضّل غانتس وأشكنازي حكومة وحدة بينما رفض كل من يائير لبيد وموشيه يعالون رفضاً قاطعاً الجلوس مع نتنياهو. وهكذا، وفي حين يَعتبر غانتس أن التشريع هو مجرد تكتيك للضغط، أراد لابيد ويعالون المضي قدماً وتنفيذه. ونظراً إلى هذا التباين الصارخ، خشي غانتس على ما يبدو من أنه لن يتمكن من منع تمرير التشريع في الوقت المناسب تماماً، من أجل تشكيل حكومة الوحدة الضرورية بشروط أكثر ملاءمة. وفي مفارقة عجيبة، أرغم قرار حزبه بإشراك المحكمة العليا في النزاع الأخير حول رئاسة الكنيست كلاً من غانتس ولابيد على اتخاذ مواقف متباينة ونهائية فيما يتعلق بالشراكة مع نتنياهو.     

التداعيات على السياسة الأمريكية

من شأن قيام حكومة إسرائيلية أوسع تشكيلاً من سابقتها أن تساعد (تدريجياً) على إصلاح النسيج البالي للحزبين الأمريكيين فيما يتعلّق بإسرائيل، لا سيما في الوقت الحالي، حيث أصبحت المرحلة الأكثر إثارة للجدل لعملية الانتخابات الأولية الأمريكية في مرآة الرؤية الخلفية. وسوف يواجه هذا الاحتمال أقوى اختبار له حول قضايا ضمّ الأراضي والنشاط الاستيطاني. 

على سبيل المثال، إذا كان نتنياهو يريد تجنب ضمّ غور الأردن بسبب التعقيدات التي قد تسببها هذه الخطوة مع عمّان والجهات الفاعلة الأخرى، فإن وجود غانتس في ائتلافه يمنحه الآن المبرر الضروري لإخبار مناصريه في اليمين بأنه عاجز عن الوفاء بالوعد الذي قطعه خلال حملته الانتخابية. ومع ذلك، فمن غير الواضح ما إذا كان نتنياهو يريد فعلاً تجنب الضم - فهو يميل إلى النظر إلى مجئ الإدارة الأمريكية الحالية إلى الحكم كفرصة واحدة في العمر يمكن من خلالها تحقيق البعض من أكبر أهداف كتلته، مما يضع العبء على غانتس لتجنب مثل هذه الخطوات. وتجدر الإشارة إلى أن الرئيس ترامب تجنب الاتصال بنتنياهو بعد الانتخابات الثلاثة غير الحاسمة، لكنه اتصل معه في السابع والعشرين من آذار/مارس لتهنئته على [اختياره] لتشكيل الحكومة المقبلة.

ومن جهة، أوضح غانتس أنه لا يريد ضمّ غور الأردن إلا إذا كان هناك اتفاق دولي أو إقليمي على مثل هذه الخطوة (وهو بالتأكيد غير قائم). وقد بدا أكثر دعماً لضمّ مستوطنات رئيسية خلال حملته الانتخابية، ولكن ذلك كان إلى حدّ كبير محاولة لاستمالة الناخبين في اليمين وربما لا يعكس موقفه الحقيقي.

ومهما كان الأمر، قد تكون هذه القضايا اختباراً صعباً للشراكة بين نتنياهو وغانتس، وخاصةٍ إذا برزت في وقت قريب. ومن أجل تجنب تعرّض العلاقة للكثير من الضغط في وقت مبكر - ومنع أي صدامات مع مناصريه من اليمين - فبالتالي قد يرجئ نتنياهو [البحث في] هذه القضايا وسط الأزمة الطبية التي تشهدها البلاد في الوقت الحالي.

أما قضية التوسع الاستيطاني ذات الصلة، فيمكن التعامل معه بهدوء أكبر بدلاً من اعتباره قراراً علنياً مثيراً بشأن ضمّ الأراضي. ويمكن أن يتوقّع المرء بأن أشكنازي كوزير الدفاع الجديد (أو حتى غانتس نفسه) قد يحث على تقليص وتيرة بناء المستوطنات في الأماكن الأكثر خلافاً في الضفة الغربية، وبالتالي تقويض المقاربة المفضلة منذ عام 2015 - إن لم يكن تجميدها. ويمكن لنتنياهو الموافقة بهدوء على هذه المقاربة أو الإذعان لضغوط اليمين ورفضها. وفيما يتعلق بذلك وبمسائل السياسة الأخرى، يمكن أن تكون التحوّلات السياسية الأمريكية قبل الانتخابات الرئاسية في تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر أو بعدها متغيراً رئيسياً في حسابات نتنياهو.  

 

ديفيد ماكوفسكي هو زميل "زيغلر" المميز في معهد واشنطن، والمؤلف المشارك مع دينس روس للكتاب، "كن قوياً وذو شجاعة جيدة: كيف عمل قادة إسرائيل الأكثر أهمية على تحديد مصيرها"

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 3291

Gantz’s Gamble

David Makovsky

Also available in العربية

March 27, 2020


In the name of Israeli unity, the former Blue-White leader has opted to detonate his bloc and allow Netanyahu to remain in power until next year, with uncertain consequences for domestic politics, West Bank annexations, and other issues.

On March 26, Israeli opposition leader Benny Gantz concluded weeks of political maneuvering by taking steps to form a unity government. Under the deal, Prime Minister Binyamin Netanyahu will continue in his post until September 2021, when Gantz will take his place for an equal period of eighteen months—the first time Israel has used a rotating premiership since the 1984 election.

Gantz’s move comes at great political cost. His Blue and White Party has now split over whether Netanyahu can be trusted to honor such a deal. His personal faction—which will now go by its original name, the Israel Resilience Party—holds only 14 of Blue-White’s 33 seats in parliament (with the potential addition of two or more depending on upcoming developments). In contrast, Netanyahu’s homogenous right-wing bloc of 58 seats remains intact. The new national unity government is therefore assured a majority of at least 72 seats in the 120-member Knesset.

In principle, Netanyahu has promised a government based on parity despite the sharp disparity in seat tallies. Yet his clinching of the first rotation, his past track record in office, and the widespread distrust of his motives have all raised questions about whether he will simply marginalize Gantz and his allies over the next eighteen months.

Netanyahu was willing to cede two prestigious portfolios to the Resilience Party: foreign affairs, likely going to Gantz, and defense, likely going to another former army chief, Gabi Ashkenazi. Yet these posts are less crucial now that the coronavirus has dwarfed Israel’s perennial focus on external security and foreign policy. Moreover, on regional issues like Iran and Hezbollah, there are no significant policy differences between Netanyahu and Gantz’s faction.

It is telling that the portfolios Netanyahu prioritized for his own bloc are finance minister and speaker of parliament. The speaker, for instance, can effectively block legislation in the Knesset, including Blue-White’s recent proposal to prevent officials under indictment from serving as prime minister. This is a crucial power when one considers that Netanyahu is still slated to go to court on three corruption indictments—at least, once the court closure that his government ostensibly ordered due to the coronavirus is lifted.

GANTZ’S BAD OPTIONS

In his remarks announcing the deal, Gantz stated: “These are not normal times, and they require unconventional decisions. Therefore, as I said, it is my intention to examine the option of forming a national emergency government...Division among the people is the greatest existential threat to the state of Israel. We will defeat the Iranians, we will defeat the Syrians, we will overcome terrorism, but we have been unable to vanquish the internal division and people’s hatred for their brethren. It’s a shiny, thick red line for all elected officials, new and old.”

Indeed, three main factors seemed to drive his decision. First, he saw that the pandemic was limiting his room for maneuver as the public lost patience with politics at a time of crisis. This impression was reinforced when President Reuven Rivlin made a rare and dramatic public appeal for unity earlier this week. A professional soldier who spent close to four decades in the military, Gantz could not be immune to such an appeal. Moreover, his team reportedly had poll results showing that Blue-White voters wanted a unity deal if Gantz did not have a viable alternative government on hand.

Second, the idea of a center-left minority government faded in the past two weeks amid opposition from at least three politicians who objected to the tacit reliance on Israeli Arab parties. As a result, instead of being able to count on 62 seats voting with (or, at least, not obstructing) his parliamentary agenda, Gantz would have been left with 59, short of the 61 required for a majority. Since Arab parties would have provided a safety net for that hypothetical coalition, one can expect Gantz to reach out to them in the coming weeks and months.

Third, since Gantz did not gain seats in the third round of voting earlier this month, he became vulnerable to being replaced if a fourth election were actually held. Any such vote threatened to fall as late as the end of year, meaning Netanyahu and his right-wing government would continue in its caretaker capacity for many months to come.

Many have questioned why Gantz did not push harder on the proposed legislation to bar indicted officials from the top office, if only as a lever to press Netanyahu into giving him the first rotation. The answer can be found in Blue-White’s deep internal divisions. Among the top four bloc officials known as “the cockpit,” Gantz and Ashkenazi favored a unity government while Yair Lapid and Moshe Yaalon were unalterably opposed to sitting with Netanyahu. Thus, while Gantz saw the legislation as a mere pressure tactic, Lapid and Yaalon wanted to go all the way and enact it. Given this sharp divergence, Gantz apparently came to fear that he would not be able to withhold the legislation at exactly the right moment to form the necessary unity government under more favorable terms. In an ironic twist, his party’s decision to involve the Supreme Court in the recent dispute over the Knesset speakership forced Gantz and Lapid to take contrasting, definitive stances against partnering with Netanyahu.

IMPLICATIONS FOR U.S. POLICY

The emergence of an Israeli government that is broader in composition than its predecessor could (gradually) help mend the fraying fabric of American bipartisanship on Israel, especially now that the most contentious phase of the U.S. primary election process is in the rearview mirror. This prospect will face its sternest test on the issues of annexation and settlement activity.

For example, if Netanyahu wants to avoid annexing the Jordan Valley due to the complications it would cause with Amman and other actors, the presence of Gantz in his coalition now gives him the rationale to tell his right-wing supporters that he cannot follow through on that campaign promise. Yet it is unclear if he actually wants to avoid annexation—Netanyahu tends to view the current U.S. administration as a once-in-a-lifetime moment to achieve some of his bloc’s biggest goals, putting the onus on Gantz to avert such moves. Notably, President Trump avoided calling Netanyahu after the three inconclusive elections but reached out to congratulate him earlier today for forming the next government.

On one hand, Gantz has made clear he does not want to annex the valley unless there is international or regional agreement on such a move (which there certainly is not). He did sound more supportive of annexing key settlements while on the campaign trail, but that was largely a bid to woo voters on the right and probably does not reflect his true position.

Whatever the case, these issues could be a tough test for the Netanyahu-Gantz partnership, especially if they arise soon. To avoid putting too much stress on the relationship early on—and to avert any clashes with his right-wing supporters—Netanyahu may therefore postpone these issues during the current medical crisis.

As for the related issue of settlement expansion, it can be dealt with more quietly than a dramatic public decision on annexation. One can expect Ashkenazi in his new role as defense minister (or even Gantz himself) to push for reducing the pace of settlement construction in the most problematic areas of the West Bank, thereby curtailing—albeit not freezing—the approach favored since 2015. Netanyahu may quietly go along with that approach or succumb to right-wing pressure and reject it. On that and other policy questions, U.S. political shifts before or after the November presidential election could be a key variable in Netanyahu’s calculus.

David Makovsky is the Ziegler Distinguished Fellow at The Washington Institute and coauthor with Dennis Ross of the book Be Strong and of Good Courage: How Israel’s Most Important Leaders Shaped Its Destiny.