أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 3192

إمبراطورية أردوغان: تطوّر سياسة تركيا الخارجية

سونر چاغاپتاي, أماندا سلوت, مولي مونتغمري, و توماس هوسكينز

متاح أيضاً في English

27 أيلول/سبتمبر


"في 24 أيلول/سبتمبر، ألقى سونر چاغاپتاي وأماندا سلوت ومولي مونتغمري وتوماس هوسكينز كلمة أمام منتدى سياسي في معهد واشنطن لمناقشة كتاب الدكتور چاغاپتاي الجديد إمبراطورية أردوغان: تركيا وسياسة الشرق الأوسط. چاغاپتاي هو زميل "باير فاميلي" ومدير برنامج الأبحاث التركية في معهد واشنطن. سلوت هي زميلة أقدم في زمالة "روبرت بوش" في "مركز شؤون الولايات المتحدة وأوروبا في معهد بروكينغز". مونتغمري هي نائبة رئيس في مجموعة "أولبرايت ستونبريدج" ومستشارة سابقة في وزارة الخارجية الأمريكية. هوسكينز هو ناشر ورئيس تحرير السياسة في "آي. بي. توريس"، وهي طبعة لـ "نشرة بلومزبري". وفيما يلي ملخّص المقرّر لملاحظاته".

سونر چاغاپتاي

غالبًا ما يرافق حسّ مضخم من أيام العز الأمم التي كانت يومًا ما إمبراطوريات عظمى، فيجعل مواطنيها عرضةً للتأثّر بسهولة بأمجاد الماضي – إنما في الوقت نفسه ضحايا تلاعب يمارسه السياسيون الذين يستطيعون أن يشهدوا على هذه السردية. ولا تزال صورة رومانسية للإمبراطورية العثمانية المنهارة تحدد نظرة الأتراك إلى مكانتهم في العالم اليوم، لذا من الضروري فهم هذا الماضي لنفهم تركيا الحديثة.

عند مقارنة المقاربة التي يعتمدها الرئيس رجب طيب أردوغان إزاء الشؤون العالمية والإقليمية بالسياسات الخارجية التي انتهجها أسلافه العثمانيون والأتراك، يبدو أنها تمثّل الاستمرارية والتغيير في آنٍ. فمحاكاة الغرب تحت حكم السلاطين العثمانيين التي بدأت مطلع القرن التاسع عشر كانت مشروعًا استراتيجيًا مدفوعًا بإدراك نقاط ضعف الدولة. ومن أجل إحياء عظمة الإمبراطورية، قرر السلاطين نسخ مؤسسات حكم الدولة عن قوى عالمية أوروبية. وانتهج مصطفى كمال أتاتورك الذي أسس تركيا الحديثة عام 1923 هذا النموذج كما فعل خلفاؤه. واستمر هذا التوجه بعد الحرب العالمية الثانية حين التفّت أنقرة نحو أوروبا والولايات المتحدة. وبينما هم ينتظرون استعادة مكانتهم كقوة عظمى، غالبًا ما تحالف السلاطين الراحلون ورؤساء تركيا الأوائل مع قوى غربية – مع بريطانيا تحديدًا خلال معظم القرن التاسع عشر ضد روسيا، ومع فرنسا خلال الجزء الأكبر من الفترة التي كانت بين الحربين العالميتين ضد إيطاليا الفاشية، ومع الولايات المتحدة بعد الحرب العالمية الثانية ضد الاتحاد السوفييتي.

غير أن أردوغان اختار نموذجًا غير تقليدي بشكل أكبر. فهدفه جعل تركيا قوة عظيمة بمفردها وليس دولة تعتمد ببساطة على الغرب. وعليه، لم تكن سياسته الخارجية موحدّة. وعندما استلم الحكم في 2003، شعر أنه في موقف حرج بسبب المؤسسات العلمانية التركية، بما فيها الجيش. وسعى بالتالي إلى أن يكون نسخة أفضل عن أسلافه الكماليين، فروّج لسياسات دولية وموالية لأمريكا وللاتحاد الأوروبي بشكل أكبر. على سبيل المثال، شملت مبادراته الأولى محاولات لتوحيد قبرص وتطبيع العلاقات مع أرمينيا. 

وانتهت هذه المرحلة بحلول العام 2011، بعدما جرّد الجيش من نقاط قوته ومرر سلسلة قوانين وضع بموجبها القضاء تحت سيطرته وبدأ بتقويض خصومه – بمساعدة "حركة غولن" التي كانت حليفته في ذاك الوقت. وإذ لم يعد العلمانيون يحاصرونه، أطلق مجموعة جديدة من المبادرات العالمية والشرق أوسطية التي هدفت إلى استعادة القوة التي عُرفت بها تركيا في الحقبة العثمانية وقد ساهمت انتفاضات "الربيع العربي" التي اجتاحت المنطقة في تمهيد الطريق أمامه.

غير أن سياسته باءت بالفشل، أولًا لأن أنقرة تجاهلت دور "الأعداء التاريخيين" في الشرق الأوسط – فأردوغان لم يدرك أن نظرة العديد من العرب واليونانيين لا تزال سلبية نسبيًا تجاه تركيا باعتبارها الحاكم المطلق الذي استعمر بلادهم في الماضي. كما اختتمت أنقرة أفعالها هذه بدعم طرف واحد خلال الربيع العربي: جماعة "الإخوان المسلمين". وعندما خسرت الجماعة نفوذها في مصر ودول أخرى، كذلك خسر أردوغان التأثير نفسه. فدعم تركيا للمعارضة السورية أعطى نتائج عكسية وجعلها على خلاف مع روسيا وإيران.  

وقد حاول أردوغان تعويض بعض هذه الخسائر خلال السنوات القليلة الماضية، حيث أرغم رئيس الوزراء أحمد داوود أوغلو على الاستقالة في 2016، ورمّم العلاقات مع العراق وإسرائيل. لكن تركيا لا تزال في عزلة عن معظم دول الشرق الأوسط باستثناء قطر. كما أن علاقاتها مع واشنطن شهدت تقلبات ولا يمكنها التعويل على أصدقائها التقليديين في الغرب بعد الآن، ما يترك البلاد عرضةً لتهديدات موسكو.

ومن أجل التخفيف من حدة هذه المخاطر، أبرم أردوغان اتفاقات خاصة مع روسيا تراوحت بين السياسة إزاء سوريا وشراء منظومة الدفاع الجوي "أس-400". وكان الرئيس فلاديمير بوتين متجاوبًا بشكل خاص مع هذا الانفتاح منذ فشل الانقلاب في تركيا عام 2016، لكن هذا التودد الراهن من قبل روسيا يخدم الهدف الذي جسدته عداوتها في الماضي: إزعاج أنقرة. لكن أردوغان بنى علاقات مهمة في أوراسيا وأفريقيا، لذا فإن تعافى اقتصاد تركيا قريبًا، قد يتمكن من المضي قدمًا في المقاربة التي اعتمدها مؤخرًا مع الاستفادة من العداوة بين موسكو وواشنطن.

أماندا سلوت

تتسّم العلاقة الحالية بين الولايات المتحدة وتركيا بمظالم قديمة العهد ومتراكمة. فأنقرة مستاءة من واشنطن بسبب رفضها تسليم رجل الدين فتح الله غولن، الذي يزعم المسؤولون الأتراك أنه كان وراء محاولة الانقلاب في 2016. كما أن الأتراك قلقون إزاء تعاون الولايات المتحدة مع "وحدات حماية الشعب"، الجماعة الكردية التي تسيطر على مساحات شاسعة من شمالي سوريا. أما صناع السياسة الأمريكيون، فتتنامى شكوكهم إزاء ما إذا كانت تركيا شريكًا موثوقًا بسبب ارتداداها عن الديمقراطية وقرارها بشراء منظومة "أس-400" من روسيا وتأخرها في الانضمام إلى الحملة لدحر تنظيم "الدولة الإسلامية" من جملة أمور أخرى.

وبالنظر إلى الماضي، كانت واشنطن متفائلة إلى حدّ ما عندما استلم أردوغان السلطة واتخذ خطوات لتحديث اقتصاد تركيا وحكمها الديمقراطي ونظامها البيروقراطي. وكان شعور مماثل يسود في بروكسل مع بدء محادثات الانضمام إلى الاتحاد الأوروبي. لكن علاقات تركيا بالغرب لم تنفك تتدهور خلال العقد الماضي، حيث حاول كل طرف "تدبّر الأمور" للحفاظ على العلاقات من دون حل المشاكل العالقة. ومن المستبعد أن تحسّن أنقرة روابطها بالغرب قريبًا، لذا فإن إعادة العلاقات إلى ما كانت عليه في أولى سنوات حكم أردوغان ليست مطروحة الآن.

مولي مونتغمري

إن التصورات الخاطئة بشأن عملية صنع السياسة في أمريكا تصعّب على تركيا فهم سلوك الحكومة الأمريكية إزاء مسائل مثل تسليم غولن. وبما أن السلطة موحّدة في أنقرة، يصبح من السهل على المسؤولين الأتراك الاعتقاد بأن واشنطن تعمل بالطريقة نفسها ورؤية دليل واحد على تعمّد الولايات المتحدة أفعالها المنفصلة.

وعلى نحو مماثل، غالبًا ما تعجز واشنطن عن فهم محركات سياسة تركيا الخارجية، بما في ذلك كيف يمكن لهوية البلد وتاريخه تحديد قرارات أردوغان. فسياسته الخارجية هي رد فعل إزاء الكمالية وإعادة تأكيد واعية على موقع تركيا كقوة مسلمة وشرق أوسطية.

وناهيك عن التوترات بسبب قضية غولن و"وحدات حماية الشعب" وشراء منظومة "أس-400"، اختلفت واشنطن مع أنقرة في مسائل حقوق الإنسان والديمقراطية وسيادة القانون منذ محاولة الانقلاب. ولم يتمّ تبديد هذه المخاوف بعد، حتى أنه من المستبعد القيام بذلك في عهد أردوغان. وإلى حين حلّ هذه المشاكل، لن نشهد أي استئناف حقيقي للعلاقات بين تركيا والغرب. مع ذلك، فإن حرص أنقرة على الموازنة بين الشرق والغرب يصبح مقلقًا أكثر فأكثر، كما أن تداعيات الانهيار ستكون خطيرة وترغم تركيا ربما على الخضوع لروسيا.

توماس هوسكينز

من الدروس المهمة لصناع السياسة هي أنهم لا يستطيعون التنبؤ بما ستؤول إليه الأمور في تركيا قبل أن يعرفوا مصدرها. فتاريخ البلاد الغني والعلاقة المتوترة في أغلب الأحيان بين الشرق والغرب هما عاملان مهمان لفهم سياستها الحالية – ولفهم الشرق الأوسط ككل. وثمة سطر رائع في كتاب الدكتور چاغاپتاي عن "وضع تركيا الحديثة ما بين بين": "من الشرق تبدو تركيا دولة غربية، ومن الغرب تبدو دولة شرقية". وتكمن هذه الديناميكية في صميم علاقة أنقرة بالدول المجاورة ونظرتها إلى مكانها في السياسة العالمية. فكتاب أمبراطورية أردوغان يوفّر درسًا شاملًا عن القائد التركي كان يفتقر إليه في السابق عالما الثقافة وصناعة السياسة.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 3192

Erdogan's Empire: The Evolution of Turkish Foreign Policy

Soner Cagaptay, Amanda Sloat, Molly Montgomery, and Tomasz Hoskins

Also available in العربية

September 27, 2019


A lively discussion of how Ottoman history, pro-Western precedent, and sharp regional setbacks have shaped the Turkish leader's shifting approach to foreign affairs and relations with Washington.

On September 24, Soner Cagaptay, Amanda Sloat, Molly Montgomery, and Tomasz Hoskins addressed a Policy Forum at The Washington Institute to discuss Dr. Cagaptay’s new book Erdogan’s Empire: Turkey and the Politics of the Middle East. Cagaptay is the Institute’s Beyer Family Fellow and director of its Turkish Research Program. Sloat is a Robert Bosch Senior Fellow with the Brookings Institution’s Center on the United States and Europe. Montgomery is a vice president at Albright Stonebridge Group and a former State Department advisor. Hoskins is the publisher and commissioning editor for politics at I.B. Tauris, an imprint of Bloomsbury. The following is a rapporteur’s summary of their remarks.

SONER CAGAPTAY

Nations that were once great empires often have an inflated sense of their heyday, making their citizens easy to inspire with appeals to the past—but also vulnerable to manipulation by politicians who can speak to this narrative. A romantic view of the collapsed Ottoman Empire continues to shape how Turks view their place in the world today, so understanding this past is essential to understanding modern Turkey.

When compared with the foreign policies of his Ottoman and Turkish predecessors, President Recep Tayyip Erdogan’s approach to global and regional affairs represents both continuity and change. The Ottoman Westernization that began in the early nineteenth century was a strategic project driven by awareness of the state’s weakness. To revive the empire’s greatness, the sultans decided to copy institutions of statecraft from European global powers. Mustafa Kemal Ataturk, who established modern Turkey in 1923, further embraced this model, as did his successors. This trend continued after World War II, with Ankara turning toward Europe and the United States. While waiting for their great-power status to return, these late sultans and early presidents often allied with Western powers—with Britain through much of nineteenth century against Russia, with France through much of the interwar period against fascist Italy, and with the United States after World War II against the Soviet Union.

Erdogan has picked a more unorthodox model, however. His goal is to make Turkey great as a standalone power, not as a nation that simply relies on the West. Accordingly, his foreign policy has not been monolithic. When he first came to office in 2003, he felt cornered by Turkey’s secularist establishment, including the military. He therefore sought to be a better version of his Kemalist predecessors, promoting more internationalist, pro-American, and pro-EU policies. For instance, his early initiatives included attempts to unify Cyprus and normalize ties with Armenia.

That period came to an end by 2011, after Erdogan defanged the military, passed a series of laws placing the judiciary under his control, and began undermining his opponents—with help from the Gulen movement, his ally at the time. No longer boxed in by the secularists, he launched a new set of global and Middle Eastern initiatives aimed at reviving Turkey’s Ottoman-era power, with the region-wide “Arab Spring” uprisings setting the stage.

Yet this policy failed, primarily because Ankara ignored the role of “historical antibodies” in the Middle East—Erdogan did not realize that many Arabs, like many Greeks, still view Turkey quite negatively as their former colonial overlord. Moreover, Ankara wound up supporting just one actor during the Arab Spring: the Muslim Brotherhood. When the group lost influence in Egypt and other countries, so did Erdogan. Turkey’s support for the Syrian opposition backfired as well, putting it at odds with Russia and Iran.

Erdogan has tried to offset some of these losses in recent years, forcing Prime Minister Ahmet Davutoglu to resign in 2016 and restoring ties with Iraq and Israel. Nevertheless, Turkey is still isolated from most of the Middle East, with the exception of Qatar. Its ties with Washington have been zigzagging, and it can no longer rely on its traditional friends in the West, leaving the country exposed to threats from Moscow.

To alleviate these risks, Erdogan has entered into ad hoc deals with Russia, ranging from Syria policy to the purchase of S-400 air defense systems. President Vladimir Putin has been particularly responsive to these overtures since the failed Turkish coup of 2016, but his current courtship is serving the same purpose as Russian hostility did in the past: to bully Ankara. Erdogan has also built important relationships in Eurasia and Africa, however, so if Turkey’s economy recovers soon, he may be able to continue his recent approach while leveraging Moscow and Washington against each other.

AMANDA SLOAT

The current U.S.-Turkey relationship is marred by longstanding, accumulated grievances. Ankara takes issue with Washington’s refusal to extradite cleric Fethullah Gulen, whom Turkish officials claim was behind the 2016 coup attempt. They are also wary of U.S. cooperation with the People’s Defense Units (YPG), the Kurdish group that controls large parts of north Syria. For their part, U.S. policymakers are increasingly questioning whether Turkey is a reliable partner given its democratic backsliding, its decision to purchase S-400s from Russia, its delay in joining the campaign to defeat the Islamic State, and other factors.

Looking back, Washington was quite optimistic when Erdogan first rose to power and took steps to modernize Turkey’s economy, democracy, and bureaucracy. This sentiment was echoed in Brussels with the start of EU accession talks. Yet Turkey’s ties to the West have continuously deteriorated over the past decade, with each side trying to “muddle through” in order to maintain relations without resolving their grievances. Ankara is unlikely to link back up to the West anytime soon, so restoring relations to where they were in Erdogan’s early years is not in the cards right now.

MOLLY MONTGOMERY

Misconceptions about American policymaking make it difficult for Turkey to understand the U.S. government’s behavior on issues like Gulen’s extradition. As power is consolidated in Ankara, it becomes easier for Turkish officials to believe that Washington operates in the same fashion, and to see a single thread of intentionality behind discrete U.S. actions.

Similarly, Washington often fails to understand the drivers of Turkish foreign policy, including how the country’s national identity and history shape Erdogan’s decisions. His foreign policy is both a reaction to Kemalism and a conscious reassertion of Turkey’s place as a Muslim and Middle Eastern power.

In addition to tensions over Gulen, the YPG, and the S-400s, Washington has taken issue with Ankara’s handling of human rights, democracy, and rule of law since the attempted coup. These concerns have not yet been resolved, and are unlikely to be dealt with under Erdogan. Until these problems are fixed, there will be no genuine relinking between Turkey and the West. Yet Ankara’s East-West balancing act has become increasingly precarious, and the consequences of falling would be grave, potentially forcing Turkey to fold under Russia.

TOMASZ HOSKINS

A critical lesson for policymakers is that they cannot predict where things are going in Turkey until they know where they came from. The country’s rich history and often-contentious East-West relations are crucial to understanding its current politics—and to understanding the Middle East as a whole. There is a great line in Dr. Cagaptay’s book about the “in-between-ness” of modern Turkey: “From the East, Turkey looks like a Western country, and from the West, it looks like an Eastern country.” This dynamic lies at the center of how Ankara relates with its neighbors and views its place in global politics. Erdogan’s Empire provides a comprehensive education on the Turkish leader that was previously missing from the scholarly and policymaking worlds.

This summary was prepared by Deniz Yuksel. The Policy Forum series is made possible through the generosity of the Florence and Robert Kaufman Family.