أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 3026

دبلوماسية حساسة في الصحراء الغربية

سارة فوير

متاح أيضاً في English

18 تشرين الأول/أكتوبر 2018


في الأسابيع المقبلة، سيصوّت مجلس الأمن الدولي على تمديد ولاية "بعثة الأمم المتحدة لتنظيم استفتاء في الصحراء الغربية" ("المينورسو")، وهي قوة حفظ السلام التي تراقب المنطقة العازلة الفاصلة بين الصحراء الغربية التي تسيطر عليها المغرب وبين الجزائر وموريتانيا، منذ عام 1991. وفي ذلك العام، تم التوصل إلى اتفاق لوقف إطلاق النار بعد حرب دامت خمسة عشر عاماً للسيطرة على الإقليم المتنازع عليه بين المغرب و "جبهة البوليساريو" التي تدعمها الجزائر. ويدّعي هذا التنظيم أنه يمثّل السكان الصحراويين الأصليين. وبينما يكاد يكون من شبه المؤكد أن يتم تجديد ولاية "المينورسو"، إلّا أن الزخم الدبوماسي الأخير يوحي بأن الوضع في تلك المنطقة قد يدخل مرحلة جديدة.

وتحمل حصيلة هذا الزخم آثاراً على مصالح الولايات المتحدة في المنطقة، ومن بينها الحفاظ على الاستقرار في شمال غرب أفريقيا، واحتواء التهديدات الإرهابية الناشئة من المغرب العربي وحدوده الجنوبية، وتأمين الأمن البحري لـ "الأسطول السادس للبحرية الأمريكية" في البحر الأبيض المتوسط. ومن شأن تدهور الوضع في الصحراء الغربية أن يقوّض تلك المصالح ويزعزع استقرار الدول المحيطة، في ظل سيناريو الخلافة غير المؤكّد في الجزائر المجاورة، والتهديدات الجهادية المستمرة في شمال أفريقيا والساحل الأفريقي، وجهود روسيا لتوسيع نفوذها في جميع أنحاء المنطقة. وعلى هذا النحو، ينبغي على واشنطن أن ترّكز على الخطوة الأكثر فعاليةً في هذا الصدد، وهي تشجيع التقدم على الصعيد الدبلوماسي دون تقويض التحالفات الضرورية لهذا التقدم.

لا مزيد من الأعمال كالمعتاد

كان المبرر الأساسي لإنشاء "المينورسو" هو تعزيز اتفاق وقف إطلاق النار في الوقت الذي وضعت فيه الأطراف المتناحرة الأساس لإجراء استفتاء يُفترض أن يختار فيه الصحراويون ما بين الاستقلال أو الانضمام إلى المغرب. ولم يتم بعد إجراء هذا الاستفتاء بسبب العديد من العقبات، بما فيها الخلاف حول ما إذا كان يجب عرض الاستقلال الكامل كخيار في عملية الاستفتاء، وعدم التوصل إلى توافق في الآراء حول شروط أهلية الناخبين، واندلاع أعمال عنف بصورة دورية.

ومنذ أواخر التسعينيات حتى منتصف العقد الأول من القرن الحالي، عقد المغرب وتنظيم "البوليساريو" عدة جولات من المفاوضات غير الناجحة، توسطت في بعضها الولايات المتحدة وأُجريت أخرى برعاية الأمم المتحدة. وفي عام 2007، اقترحت حكومة الرباط خطةً لمنح الحكم الذاتي للصحراء الغربية تحت السيادة المغربية. واعتبرت الولايات المتحدة هذا الاقتراح "جدياً وواقعياً وموثوقاً"، ووافقت فرنسا على هذا الرأي، إلا أن "البوليساريو" والجزائر رفضتاه. وفي العقد التالي، ومع تجمّد الصراع إلى حدٍّ كبير، واصلت الأمم المتحدة تجديد ولاية "المينورسو" لفترات فاصلة أمد كل منها عاماً واحداً، مدركةً على الأرجح دوْر تلك القوة في الحفاظ على الاستقرار النسبي في المنطقة.

وتم تجديد ولاية "المينورسو" مرةً أخرى في نيسان/أبريل الماضي، ولكن لمدة ستة أشهر فقط، بناءً على إلحاح واشنطن كما أفادت بعض التقارير. وفي تصريحٍ لممثل عن الولايات المتحدة بعد تصويت الأمم المتحدة، أشار إلى "عدم إمكانية تسيير المزيد من الأعمال كالمعتاد"، الأمر الذي يوحي بأن الغاية من تقصير فترة التجديد هي حثّ الأطراف على العودة إلى طاولة المفاوضات. ويتلاءم هذا التحوّل مع الاستراتيجية العامة لإدارة ترامب القائم على إرباك الوضع الراهن، الذي يشمل الأمور المتعلقة بالدبلوماسية. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، كان مستشار الأمن القومي الأمريكي جون بولتون قد أعرب - خلال شغله منصب سفير الولايات المتحدة لدى الأمم المتحدة بين عامَي 2005 و2006 - عن استيائه من تعويق الاستفتاء في الصحراء الغربية بإشارته إلى "بعثة الأمم المتحدة للاستفتاء في الصحراء الغربية" باعتبارها عقبة أمام حل النزاع بدلاً من كونها أداة للاستقرار.

وهناك تطوران ملحوظان أعقبا تجديد ولاية "المينورسو" في نيسان/أبريل. الأول هو قطْع المغرب علاقاتها الدبلوماسية مع إيران في أيار/مايو، مدّعية ​​أن إيران ساعدت «حزب الله» على تقديم الدعم المالي واللوجستي لجبهة "البوليساريو" عن طريق السفارة الإيرانية في الجزائر العاصمة. ولم تكشف الرباط علناً عن الأدلة الخاصة بها لهذا الاتهام، على الرغم من أنه تم سابقاً إيجاد شخصيات مسيطرة من «حزب الله» تعمل في المغرب. وهذه ليست المرة الأولى التي قطعت فيها الرباط علاقاتها مع طهران، لكن الصدع الأخير في العلاقات بين البلدين يتماشى بوضوح مع المسعى الأمريكي الأخير لعزل النظام الإيراني.

والتطور الثاني هو ما حدث في 29 أيلول/سبتمبر حين أعلن المبعوث الخاص للأمم المتحدة هورست كولر عن خطط لإعادة إطلاق المفاوضات المباشرة حول نزاع الصحراء. وبعد زيارته للمنطقة وتشاوره مع نائب وزير الخارجية الأمريكي للشؤون السياسية ديفيد هيل، دعا كولر رسمياً ممثلين من الجزائر وموريتانيا والمغرب والصحراء الغربية لإجراء مفاوضات في جنيف بين 5 و6 كانون الأول/ديسمبر. وقبلت جميع الأطراف الأربعة هذه الدعوة، وإذا أتت إلى المفاوضات في كانون الأول/ديسمبر، فستمثل تلك المحادثات الجولة الأولى من مفاوضات متعددة الأطراف منذ أكثر من عقد من الزمن.

تقدير المخاطر والمكافآت

من المرجح أن تحدد كيفية قراءة المسؤولين الأمريكيين لهذه التطورات أسلوب تعاملهم مع جلسة التصويت المقبلة لتجديد ولاية "المينورسو" وما بعدها. فقد تميل إدارة الرئيس ترامب إلى تفسير قطع المغرب علاقاتها مع إيران كتصديق لنهجها الخاص القائم على "الحُب القاسي". وبالفعل، ربما سعت المملكة إلى إظهار قضيتها المشتركة مع الولايات المتحدة من أجل تجنّب موقف غير ودي بشأن الصحراء الغربية. وبالمثل، قد تجادل واشنطن بأن الزخم الواضح الذي يبديه كولر نحو المفاوضات المباشرة يثبت صحة قرار تقصير ولاية "المينورسو". ولكن بغض النظر عما إذا كانت التطورات الأخيرة قد تُعزى إلى ذلك القرار، ينبغي على الإدارة الأمريكية التركيز على وضع استراتيجية دبلوماسية للأشهر المقبلة لا تأخذ في الاعتبار الفوائد الظاهرية الناتجة عن السعي إلى تغيير الوضع القائم فحسب، بل تفكّر أيضاً بالمخاطر المصاحبة التي يمكن أن تعرقل الحل السلمي للخلاف وتقوّض المصالح الأمريكية الأوسع نطاقاَ.

وستظهر هذه المخاطر في طليعة المشاكل إذا اعتمدت الإدارة الأمريكية سياسةً يعتبرها أي من الأطراف المعنية أحادية الجانب بشكل صارخ - فهذا الوضع قد يدفع الجهات المتضررة إلى القيام بأعمال عنف. وبالرغم من كل الاستياء المفهوم الناتج عن عدم إحراز تقدم في هذه المسألة، فإن اندلاع نزاع مسلح مرةً أخرى في إحدى البقاع القليلة المتبقية التي تشهد استقلالاً نسبياً في العالم العربي سيدفع واشنطن سريعاً إلى الشعور بالحنين إلى العقود التي تميزت بالهدوء الهش.

ولتقليل هذه المخاطر، يجب على واشنطن أن تُطمئن حلفاءها في الرباط - حيث تبقى الصحراء الغربية قضية مثيرة للعواطف بشكل كبير - بأن الدعم الأمريكي للمبادرات الدبلوماسية الأخيرة لن يقوّض العلاقات الثنائية بين البلدين. ويشير التاريخ إلى أنه كلما لمست المملكة المغربية تردداً في الموقف الأمريكي، كانت النتيجة حدوث ضرر في العلاقات الأمريكية-المغربية، وتزايد النشاطات المسلحة لجبهة "البوليساريو" ورعاتها الجزائريين، وتراجع النفوذ الأمريكي الكفيل في توجيه كل جانب بعيداً عن العنف.

كما أن الطبيعة الحساسة للوضع الراهن تُبرز ضرورة إقرار الكونغرس لمرشح الإدارة الأمريكية لسفيرها إلى المغرب. وبالمثل، فبينما سبق لوزير الخارجية الأمريكي مايك بومبيو أن ناقش مسألة الصحراء الغربية مع وزير الخارجية المغربي ناصر بوريطة، تشكّل دعوة الملك محمد السادس إلى البيت الأبيض الخطوة الأكثر أهمية من حيث النتائج. ومن شأن هذا التطوّر أن يشير إلى أن الولايات المتحدة تنوي تعزيز علاقتها مع حليف رئيسي لها حتى في الوقت الذي تسعى فيه لتحقيق إنجاز دبلوماسي منذ أمد طويل.

 

سارة فوير هي زميلة أقدم في معهد واشنطن.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 3026

Delicate Diplomacy in Western Sahara

Sarah Feuer

Also available in العربية

October 18, 2018


As the UN mulls the future of the peacekeeping mission, Washington should proceed cautiously in encouraging negotiations to avoid undermining essential alliances.

In the coming weeks, the UN Security Council will vote on whether to extend the mandate of the Mission for the Referendum in Western Sahara (MINURSO), the peacekeeping force that has been monitoring a buffer zone separating Moroccan-controlled Western Sahara from Algeria and Mauritania since 1991. That year, a ceasefire agreement was reached following a fifteen-year war for control of the disputed territory between Morocco and the Algeria-backed Polisario Front, a group claiming to represent the indigenous Sahrawi community. While MINURSO’s mandate will almost certainly be renewed, recent diplomatic momentum suggests that the situation may be entering a new phase.

The outcome of this momentum holds implications for U.S. interests in the region, which include maintaining the stability of Northwest Africa, containing terrorist threats emanating from the Maghreb and its southern flank, and ensuring maritime security for the U.S. Navy’s Sixth Fleet in the Mediterranean Sea. Deterioration in Western Sahara would undermine those interests and destabilize surrounding states, especially given the uncertain succession scenario next door in Algeria, ongoing jihadist threats across North Africa and the Sahel, and Russia’s efforts to extend its influence across the region. As such, Washington should aim for the sweet spot of encouraging diplomatic progress without undermining alliances that are essential to this progress.

NO MORE BUSINESS AS USUAL

The original rationale behind MINURSO’s creation was to bolster the ceasefire while the parties laid the groundwork for a referendum in which the Sahrawi would presumably choose between independence and integration into Morocco. That referendum has yet to take place due to several obstacles, including disagreement over whether full-scale independence should be offered as a ballot option, lack of consensus on eligibility requirements for voter participation, and periodic eruptions of violence.

From the late 1990s to the mid-2000s, Morocco and the Polisario held various unsuccessful rounds of negotiations, some brokered by the United States and others conducted under UN auspices. In 2007, Rabat proposed a plan to grant Western Sahara autonomy under Moroccan sovereignty. The United States deemed this proposal “serious, realistic, and credible,” and France concurred, but the Polisario and Algeria rejected it. In the ensuing decade, with the conflict largely frozen, the UN continued to renew MINURSO’s mandate at one-year intervals, likely recognizing the force’s contribution to the region’s relative stability.

MINURSO’s mandate was renewed once again last April, but this time for six months only, reportedly at Washington’s urging. In a statement following the UN vote, a U.S. representative noted “There can be no more business as usual,” implying that the shortened timeline was intended to nudge the parties back to the negotiating table. This shift aligns with the Trump administration’s general strategy of disrupting the status quo, including in matters of diplomacy. Moreover, national security advisor John Bolton had expressed frustration with the stalled Sahara referendum during his 2005-2006 term as ambassador to the UN, citing MINURSO as an obstacle to resolving the dispute rather than an instrument of stability.

The April renewal was followed by two other noteworthy developments. First, Morocco cut diplomatic relations with Iran in May, alleging that the country had helped Hezbollah provide financial and logistical support to the Polisario through the Iranian embassy in Algiers. Rabat did not publicly disclose its evidence for this accusation, though prominent Hezbollah figures have previously been found operating in Morocco. This is not the first time Rabat has severed ties with Tehran, but the latest breach aligned quite conspicuously with Washington’s recent push to isolate the Iranian regime.

Second, on September 29, UN special envoy Horst Koehler announced plans to relaunch direct negotiations on the Sahara dispute. After visiting the region and consulting with U.S. undersecretary of state for political affairs David Hale, Koehler formally invited representatives from Algeria, Mauritania, Morocco, and Western Sahara to negotiations in Geneva scheduled for December 5-6. All four parties accepted the invitation, and if they show up in December, the talks will mark the first round of multilateral negotiations in over a decade.

WEIGHING RISKS AND REWARDS

How U.S. officials interpret these developments will likely determine how they proceed with the next MINURSO renewal vote and beyond. The Trump administration might be tempted to read Morocco’s severing of ties with Iran as validation of its own “tough love” approach; indeed, the kingdom may have sought to demonstrate common cause with the United States in order to forestall an unfriendly stance on Western Sahara. Likewise, Washington could argue that Koehler’s evident momentum toward direct negotiations vindicates the decision to shorten MINURSO’s mandate. Yet regardless of whether recent developments can be attributed to that decision, the administration should focus on devising a diplomatic strategy for the coming months that considers not only the ostensible benefits of pushing to alter the status quo, but also the attendant risks that could impede peaceful resolution of the dispute and undermine broader U.S. interests.

These risks would come to the fore if the administration adopts a policy that any of the parties sees as blatantly one-sided—a situation that could spur aggrieved actors to violence. For all the understandable frustration over the lack of progress, a new eruption of armed conflict in one of the few remaining corners of relative stability in the Arab world would quickly make Washington nostalgic for the decades of fragile calm.

To minimize such risks, Washington should reassure its allies in Rabat—where Western Sahara remains a highly emotive issue—that U.S. support for recent diplomatic initiatives will not undermine the bilateral relationship. History suggests that whenever the kingdom perceives a wavering in America’s position, the result is damaged U.S.-Moroccan relations, an uptick in armed activities by the Polisario and its Algerian patrons, and reduced U.S.  leverage in steering each side away from violence.

The delicate nature of the current situation also underscores the need for Congress to confirm the administration’s nominee for ambassador to Morocco. Likewise, while Secretary of State Mike Pompeo has discussed the Western Sahara issue with Moroccan foreign minister Nasser Bourita, a more consequential move would be to invite King Mohammed VI to the White House. This would signal that the United States intends to nurture its relationship with a key ally even as it pursues a long-sought diplomatic breakthrough.

Sarah Feuer is a senior fellow at The Washington Institute.