أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 2998

الحد من هجمات الحوثيين على السفن المدنية في باب المندب

مايكل نايتس و فرزين نديمي

متاح أيضاً في English فارسی

٢٧ تموز/يوليو، ٢٠١٨


في 25 تموز/يوليو، هاجم المتمردون الحوثيون ناقلة نفط مدنية في البحر الأحمر غربي ميناء الحديدة اليمني. وكانت السفينة - ناقلة نفط كبيرة جداً مزدوجة الهيكل ترفع العلم السعودي، وتحمل اسم "أرسان" - قد غادرت ميناء رأس تنورة في 16 تموز/يوليو محملة بنحو مليوني برميل من النفط إلى مصر. ومنذ الهجوم، علقت السعودية حركة ناقلات النفط عبر مضيق باب المندب، وسوف تستمر مثل هذه الإخلالات في تدفقات الطاقة العالمية إلى أن تغادر القوات الحوثية محافظة الحديدة الساحلية.

تفاصيل الهجوم وردود الفعل

تم ضرب ناقلة النفط "أرسان" في مؤخرتها فوق خط المياه، حيث أظهر تحليل الصور حدوث حفرة بعرض مترين إلى ثلاثة أمتار ووقوع ضرر ضئيل ناتج عن الحريق في الهيكل الخارجي. وكان السبب الأكثر احتمالاً هو إطلاق صاروخ كبير غير موجه من زورق هجومي سريع كان خلف الناقلة. أما الاحتمال الأقل ترجيحاً، فهو توجيه ضربة من صاروخ مضاد للسفن ملاصق لسطح البحر على غرار الصاروخ اليمني "سي-801" أو الصاروخ الإيراني الصنع "سي-802"، أو ربما من طائرة كبيرة بدون طيار محملة بالمتفجرات. وقد يكون قد تم تفجيرالرأس الحربي داخل خزان الصابورة الخلفي الكبير في السفينة، مع بعض المؤشرات على وقوع أضرار ناتجة عن الدخان حول الباب على سطح السفينة إلى الأعلى. بعد ذلك، تم مرافقة ناقلة النفط التي تمكنت من التقدم باستعمال طاقتها الخاصة بسرعة مخفضة نحو ميناء جازان السعودي، مصحوبة بالفرقاطة السعودية "إتش إم إس الدمام"، التي (بخلاف ما ورد في بعض التقارير) لم تتضرر من الهجوم.

ورداً على ذلك، أعلن وزير الطاقة السعودي خالد الفالح أن "السعودية ستعلّق جميع شحنات النفط الخام التي تمر عبر مضيق باب المندب... إلى أن يزداد الأمر وضوحاً، وتصبح الملاحة عن طريق باب المندب آمنة". ومن الناحية النظرية، بإمكان الرياض استخدام خط الأنابيب السعودي "بترولاين" (الذي يتمتع بقدرة على نقل 5 ملايين برميل في اليوم) لتجنب عبور المضيق وتسليم كمية الخام المتضررة المتراوحة بين 500 و700 ألف برميل في اليوم إلى الجهة الشمالية من مرافئ التصدير على البحر الأحمر في ينبع. لكن يبقى الواقع بأن الهجمات التي شنّها المسلحون الحوثيون المدعومون من إيران لا تزال تعرقل حركة المرور في ثالث أهم مضيق للشحن في العالم بعد هرمز وملقا، في الوقت الذي حذرت فيه طهران من أن أي عقوبات تفرضها الولايات المتحدة على صادراتها النفطية ستدفع بها إلى وقف جميع صادرات النفط من الخليج العربي.

ولم يرد المسؤولون السياسيون الإيرانيون بعد على الهجوم على "أرسان"، لكن الجنرال قاسم سليماني، قائد «فيلق القدس» التابع لـ «الحرس الثوري الإسلامي» الإيراني، ألقى اللوم على السعودية بسبب الوضع الراهن "غير الآمن" في البحر الأحمر. ومن جانبهم، أعلن الحوثيون مسؤوليتهم عن الهجوم على "أرسان"، كما ادّعوا زوراً أنهم ضربوا الفرقاطة السعودية "الدمام" والمطار الرئيسي في عاصمة الإمارات، أبوظبي.

نمط مهاجمة السفن المدنية

بالإضافة إلى الضربات التي استهدفت السفن الحربية الأمريكية والسعودية والإماراتية في الفترة 2016-2017، تشكل حادثة "أرسان" واحدة من عدة تهديدات وهجمات شنها الحوثيون ضد سفن الشحن المدنية بالقرب من باب المندب على النحو التالي:

  • هجوم بواسطة مركب موجه عن بعد على ميناء نفط، 16 حزيران/يونيو 2017. تمّ استخدام الزورق الموجه عن بعد المحمل بالمتفجرات والذاتي التوجيه من نوع "شارك-33" الذي يمكن برمجته لتحديد هدف باستخدام أنظمة تلفزيون إلكترونية- بصرية، في هجوم غير ناجح على منشأة تحميل بحرية سعودية في جازان.
  • تهديد سفن الشحن، 12 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر، 2017. أعلنت قناة "المسيرة" التابعة للحوثيين أن "البوارج وناقلات النفط التابعة للعدوان وتحركاته لن تكون في مأمن من نيران القوات البحرية اليمنية [الحوثية] إذا ما أصدرت القيادة العليا التوجيهات [بشن هجوم]".
  • هجوم صاروخي على ناقلة نفط، 3 نيسان/أبريل 2018. أطلق زورق هجومي حوثي سريع، النيران على السفينة السعودية المزدوجة الهيكل "البقيق" قبالة ساحل الحديدة، إما باستخدام القنابل الصاروخية أو الصواريخ التكتيكية.
  • هجوم صاروخي على سفينة محملة بالمواد الغذائية السائبة، 10 أيار/مايو 2018. تم استهداف ناقلة البضائع السائبة التي تحمل العلم التركي، "إنسي إنيبلو" بصاروخ، ووصفت بعثة مكافحة القرصنة الأوروبية "القوة البحرية للاتحاد الأوروبي" ذلك الهجوم بقيام "جهات فاعلة مقرها اليمن بإطلاق صاروخ أرضي أو قذيفة على السفينة".
  • نشر الألغام البحرية بشكل عشوائي منذ ﻋﺎم 2015. ﻓﻲ أﻣﺎكن ﻣﺨﺘﻠﻔﺔ، أطلق الحوثيون ألغاماً منجرفة في باب المندب، طافت لمسافة وصلت إلى 90 كيلومتراً جنوب غرب عدن بعد عبورها عبر المضيق. ووفقاً لأحدث تقرير سنوي أعده فريق خبراء الأمم المتحدة حول اليمن، صدر في 26 كانون الثاني/يناير 2018، تم العثور على 44 لغماً بحرياً في البحر الأحمر وخليج عدن في عام 2017، من بينها أربعة تم تفجيرها باستهداف سفناً تجارية.
  • الاستخدام العسكري للرادار ضد سفن مدنية راسية. تُفيد بعض التقارير بأن الحوثيين ينتهكون باستمرار قانون النزاع المسلح من خلال إرغام متعهدي النقل البحري التجاري في المراسي في الحديدة والصليف على السماح لهم باستخدام الرادارات البحرية على متن السفن لمراقبة البحر الأحمر وإصدار بيانات مستهدفة. ويبدو أن هذا الإجراء دخل حيز التنفيذ بعد أن أمرت إدارة أوباما بتوجيه ضربات دمرت أنظمة الرادار الساحلية الحوثية في تشرين الأول/أكتوبر 2016.

تأمين حماية ساحل البحر الاحمر

ستتمكن القوات الحوثية من تهديد حركة الشحن الدولية طالما تسيطر على أي جزء من ساحل اليمن على البحر الأحمر. وفي حزيران/يونيو، ساهم التقدم العسكري الكبير الذي أحرزته الحكومة اليمنية المعترف بها دولياً وحلفاؤها من الائتلاف الخليجي في تحرير 100 كيلومتر من الخط الساحلي، لكن ما زالت 200 كيلومتر أخرى تحت سيطرة الحوثيين بين الحديدة وميدي. وحتى إذا وافق الحوثيون على تسليم ميناء الحديدة أو منطقة المدينة الرئيسية إلى الحكومة بموجب اتفاق برعاية الأمم المتحدة، فستظل لديهم القدرة على ضرب حركة الشحن الدولية واستيراد الأسلحة من إيران عبر نقاط إنزال على الشاطئ [وعن طريق] ميناء الصليف الكبير. وعلى نحو مماثل، إذا ما حافظوا على سيطرتهم على أجزاء داخلية من محافظة الحديدة، سيظل بإمكانهم إطلاق طائرات موجهة بدون طيار تستهدف النقل البحري.     

وتُبرز هذه التهديدات ضرورة إبعاد القوات الحوثية عن جميع مناطق ساحل البحر الأحمر من أجل جعل باب المندب ومنافذه الحيوية آمنة لحركة الملاحة البحرية. وتستعد حالياً الحملة الساحلية التي تقوم بها اليمن بدعم من الإمارات لمرحلة جديدة من العمليات الهجومية، بتركيزها وحدات على بعد أقل من 10 كيلومترات جنوب مدينة الحديدة ودعمها بشكل كبير. كما يتمتع الجيش الإماراتي بحرية كاملة في المناورة على طول الخط الساحلي شمالي الحديدة، حيث تمّ الاحتفاظ بقوات برمائية إماراتية قوية لاستخدامها في هجمات مستقبلية.

أما العامل الوحيد الذي يعيق جهوداً واسعة النطاق لتحرير ساحل البحر الأحمر فهو عدم الرغبة الواضحة للرياض وأبوظبي في دعم محادثات سلام دولية مع الحوثيين بشكل كامل. وحتى الآن، قدم المبعوث الخاص للأمم المتحدة إلى اليمن مارتن غريفيث اقتراحاً للقوات الحوثية بالانسحاب من ميناء ومدينة الحديدة، ونقل عمليات الميناء والجمارك إلى الحكومة اليمنية، والسماح بعمليات تفتيش الشحنات على الشاطئ تقوم بها الأمم المتحدة من أجل ضمان عدم انتهاك حظر توريد الأسلحة إلى المتمردين. وقد بدأ صبر الحكومة اليمنية وشركائها في التحالف ينفذ، حيث يتهمون الحوثيين بالمماطلة بغية كسب الوقت من أجل تعزيز الحديدة وتحصينها.      

التداعيات على السياسة الأمريكية

لدى الولايات المتحدة التزام طويل الأمد بضمان أمن الممرات البحرية الدولية، حيث يتمّ نقل أكثر من 4 ملايين برميل من النفط يومياً عبر مضيق باب المندب. ووفقاً لذلك، على واشنطن دعم التزامها باتخاذ الخطوات التالية لضمان أمن هذا الممر المائي الحيوي:   

  • تحذير الحوثيين من شنّ أي هجمات إضافية على الشحنات، فضلاً عن هجمات صاروخية ومن خلال طائرات بدون طيار ضد منشآت الطاقة السعودية على الساحل الغربي.
  • الاستعداد لشنّ ضربات في حال استمرار الهجمات، لأن التحذيرات الأمريكية لا تخلّف عادة أثراً كبيراً على الحوثيين ما لم تكن مدعومة باستخدام القوة. يتعيّن على أي ضربات استهداف قدرات الحوثيين على شن هجمات على الشحنات واستخدام الطائرات بدون طيار على طول ساحل البحر الأحمر، كما حصل حين ضربت إدارة أوباما منشآت الرادار هناك عام 2016.
  • جمع المزيد من المعلومات الاستخباراتية ضد "السفينة الأم" الإيرانية "سافيز"، التي هي سفينة شحن راسية على أرخبيل دهلك على البحر الأحمر. ويستخدم الجيش الإيراني السفينة "سافيز" على الأرجح لتزويد الحوثيين ببيانات استهداف من أجل شنّ هجمات ضد سفن الشحن. وقد تكون مراقبة السفينة عن كثب والتهديد بكشف دورها الاستخباراتي المشبوه كافيين لجعلها تغادر المنطقة. وفي المقابل، إذا تمكنت السلطات من إثبات تورطها في الأنشطة العسكرية، فقد يكون لديها الحجة للصعود على السفينة والاستيلاء عليها، الأمر الذي قد يوفر المزيد من الأدلة على انتهاك إيران لنظام عقوبات الأمم المتحدة ودعمها الهجمات ضد سفن مدنية.              
  • تسريع وتيرة مفاوضات الأمم المتحدة. يجب عدم إعاقة عملية الأمم المتحدة الرامية إلى إقناع الحوثيين بالانسحاب من ساحل البحر الأحمر من خلال المماطلة المفتوحة. وإذا لم يوافق الحوثيون على الاقتراح خلال فترة زمنية محددة، فعلى الأمم المتحدة إبلاغ الشركاء في الائتلاف الخليجي بأنهم وفوا بالتزامهم بالسعي لإيجاد حل سلمي للتهديد الذي يواجه حركة الشحن، وأن بإمكانهم اتخاذ إجراءات أكثر قوة عندما تدعو الحاجة لذلك.    

 

مايكل نايتس هو زميل أقدم في معهد واشنطن، قام بزيارة اليمن ومنطقة الخليج ثلاث مرات هذا العام لدراسة التكتيكات الدفاعية الساحلية للحوثيين وأسلحتهم. فرزين نديمي هو زميل مشارك في المعهد، ومتخصص في شؤون الأمن والدفاع المتعلقة بإيران ومنطقة الخليج.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 2998

Curbing Houthi Attacks on Civilian Ships in the Bab al-Mandab

Michael Knights and Farzin Nadimi

Also available in العربية فارسی

July 27, 2018


The latest tanker attack by Iranian-backed rebels underlines the need to restore the entire Red Sea coast to Yemen’s internationally recognized government.

On July 25, Houthi rebels attacked a civilian oil tanker in the Red Sea west of Yemen’s Hodeida port. The vessel—a Saudi-flagged, double-hulled very large crude carrier (VLCC) named Arsan—had left Ras Tanura terminal on July 16 carrying about two million barrels of oil for Egypt. Since the attack, Saudi Arabia has suspended its movement of oil tankers through the Bab al-Mandab Strait, and such disruptions of global energy flows will continue until Houthi forces leave the coastal province of Hodeida.

ATTACK DETAILS AND RESPONSE

The Arsan was struck at the stern above the waterline, with imagery analysis showing an impact hole two to three meters wide and minor scorching damage on the outer hull. The most likely cause was a large unguided rocket fired from a fast-attack craft following behind the tanker. Less likely, it could have been a sea-skimming antiship missile such as Yemen’s C-801 or Iranian-origin C-802, or perhaps a large, explosive-laden aerial drone. The warhead may have detonated inside the vessel’s large aft ballast tank, with some signs of smoke damage around a door on the deck above. Afterward, the ship was escorted under its own power at reduced speed to the Saudi port of Jizan, accompanied by the Saudi frigate HMS Al-Dammam, which (contrary to some reports) was not damaged in the attack.

In response, Saudi energy minister Khalid al-Falih announced that “Saudi Arabia is temporarily halting all oil shipments through the Bab al-Mandab Strait...until the situation becomes clearer and maritime transit through Bab al-Mandab is safe.” In theory, Riyadh could use the Petroline pipeline (which has a capacity of 5 million barrels per day) to bypass the strait and deliver the affected 500,000-700,000 bpd of crude further north to Red Sea export terminals at Yanbu. Yet the fact remains that attacks by Iranian-backed Houthi militants continue to disrupt traffic in the world’s third-most important shipping strait after Hormuz and Malacca, at a time when Tehran has warned that any U.S. sanctions on its oil exports will push it to cut off all oil exports from the Persian Gulf.

Iranian political officials have yet to react to the Arsan attack, but Gen. Qasem Soleimani, head of the Islamic Revolutionary Guard Corps-Qods Force, blamed Saudi Arabia for the current “unsafe” situation in the Red Sea. For their part, the Houthis acknowledged responsibility for the Arsan attack, and also falsely claimed that they struck the Saudi frigate Al-Dammam and the main airport in the capital of the United Arab Emirates.

A PATTERN OF ATTACKING CIVILIAN VESSELS

In addition to strikes targeting U.S., Saudi, and Emirati warships in 2016-2017, the Arsan incident is one of several threats and attacks that the Houthis have directed at civilian shipping near the Bab al-Mandab:

  • Drone boat attack on oil terminal, June 16, 2017. A self-guiding Shark-33 explosive drone boat, which can be programmed to home in on a target using electro-optical television systems, was used in an unsuccessful attack on a Saudi offshore loading facility in Jizan.
  • Threat to shipping, November 12, 2017. The Houthi propaganda channel Al Masirah declared that “the battleships and oil tankers of the aggressors and their movements will not be safe from the fire of Yemeni naval forces if they are directed by the senior leadership [to attack].”
  • Rocket attack on tanker, April 3, 2018. Houthi fast-attack craft fired on the Saudi double-hulled VLCC Abqaiq off the coast of Hodeida, using either rocket-propelled grenades or tactical rockets.
  • Rocket attack on bulk food vessel, May 10, 2018. The Turkish-flagged bulk carrier Ince Inebolu was struck by a rocket in what the European counterpiracy mission EU NAVFOR characterized as “non-state Yemen-based actors firing a land-based missile or rocket at the vessel.”
  • Indiscriminate naval mining since 2015. At various points, the Houthis have released drifting mines into the Bab al-Mandab, from which they have floated as far as ninety kilometers southwest of Aden after passing through the strait. According to the latest annual UN Panel of Experts report on Yemen, issued January 26, 2018, forty-four naval mines were found in the Red Sea and Gulf of Aden in 2017, of which four detonated on commercial vessels.
  • Military use of radar on docked civilian vessels. The Houthis are repeatedly violating the law of armed conflict by forcing commercial ship operators in the Hodeida and Salif anchorage areas to let them use onboard maritime radars to surveil the Red Sea and generate targeting data. This measure seemed to begin after the Obama administration ordered strikes that destroyed Houthi coastal radar systems in October 2016.

SECURING THE RED SEA COAST

Houthi forces will be able to threaten international shipping for as long as they control any part of Yemen’s Red Sea shoreline. In June, major military advances by the internationally recognized Yemeni government and its Gulf coalition allies liberated 100 kilometers of coastline, but another 200 kilometers remain under Houthi control between Hodeida and Midi. Even if the Houthis agree to hand Hodeida’s port or main city area over to the government in a UN-brokered deal, they would still have the ability to strike international shipping and import Iranian weapons through beach landing points and the major port of Salif. Likewise, if they retain control over inland parts of Hodeida province, they could still launch guided drones against shipping.

These threats underline the need to distance Houthi forces from all areas of the Red Sea coast in order to make the Bab al-Mandab and its vital approaches safe for maritime traffic. Yemen’s UAE-backed coastal campaign is now readying for a new phase of offensive operations, positioning units less than 10 kilometers south of Hodeida city and reinforcing them strongly. The UAE military also enjoys complete freedom of maneuver along the coastline north of Hodeida, where strong Emirati amphibious forces have been reserved for use in future offensives.

The only factor holding back a full-scale effort to liberate the Red Sea coast is Riyadh and Abu Dhabi’s apparent unwillingness to fully support international peace talks with the Houthis. Thus far, UN special envoy Martin Griffiths has issued a proposal for Houthi forces to withdraw from Hodeida port and city, transfer port and customs operations to the Yemeni government, and allow onshore UN inspections of shipping to ensure the arms embargo on the rebels is not being violated. Patience is growing short within the Yemeni government and its coalition partners, who accuse the Houthis of stalling for time in order to reinforce and fortify Hodeida.

IMPLICATIONS FOR U.S. POLICY

The United States has a longstanding commitment to ensuring the security of international sea lanes, and the Bab al-Mandab Strait handles more than four million barrels of oil every day. Accordingly, Washington should back up its commitment by taking the following steps to secure the vital waterway:

  • Warn the Houthis against further antishipping attacks, as well as drone and missile attacks on Saudi west coast energy installations.
  • Prepare to strike if attacks continue, since U.S. warnings tend to have little impact on the Houthis unless backed by force. Any strikes should target Houthi antishipping and drone capabilities along the Red Sea coast, as when the Obama administration struck radar installations there in 2016.
  • Direct more intelligence gathering against the Iranian “mothership” Saviz, a cargo vessel moored off the Red Sea archipelago of Dahlak. The Iranian military is likely using the Saviz to provide targeting data for Houthi antishipping attacks. Closer observation of the vessel and the threat of exposing its suspected intelligence role might be enough to make it leave the area. Alternatively, if authorities are able to prove its complicity in military activities, they may have a case for boarding and seizing it, which could yield further evidence that Iran is violating UN sanctions and supporting attacks on civilian vessels.
  • Speed up the UN negotiations. The UN process of convincing the Houthis to withdraw from the Red Sea coast should not be hindered by open-ended stalling. If the Houthis do not agree to the proposal within a specified period of time, the United States should signal the Gulf coalition partners that they have fulfilled their commitment to seek a peaceful solution to the antishipping threat, and that they can take more forceful actions as needed.

Michael Knights, a senior fellow with The Washington Institute, has visited Yemen and the Gulf three times this year to study Houthi coastal defense tactics and weaponry. Farzin Nadimi is an associate fellow of the Institute, specializing in the security and defense affairs of Iran and the Gulf region.