أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 3304

كورونا في القصبة: تأثير الوباء المزعزع للاستقرار على الجزائر

سارة فوير

متاح أيضاً في English

22 نيسان/أبريل 2020


مثلما قد تؤثّر الحالات الطبية القائمة مسبقاً لدى الأفراد في قدرتهم على محاربة فيروس كورونا المستجدّ الذي يجتاز العالم حالياً، فمن المرجح أن تؤثر الأحوال الأساسية السابقة في البلدان على قدرتهم على إدارة الأزمة الصحية والاقتصادية. وبالنسبة للجزائر وسكّانها البالغ عددهم 43 مليون نسمة، فإن البنية التحتية الطبية الضعيفة، والأزمة السياسية المستمرة منذ عام، والعملية المتوقفة لإعادة توجيه الاقتصاد الذي كان يعتمد بشكلٍ مفرط على النفط والغاز منذ عقود، قد جعلت جميعها هذه البلاد الواقعة في شمال أفريقيا عرضة بشكلٍ خاص للتداعيات الناتجة عن الفيروس.

مخاوف صحية

اعتباراً من 20 نيسان/أبريل، أعلنت الجزائر عن وقوع 2718 حالة إصابة بوباء "كوفيد-19" و 384 حالة وفاة، ويشكّل هذا الرقم الأخير أعلى رقم إجمالي وأعلى معدل وفيات للفرد الواحد المُبلغ عنها بين البلدان العربية. وعلى غرار الوضع عبر دول الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا، فإن حوالي 85 في المائة من سكّان الجزائر هم تحت سن الخامسة والخمسين، وهو واقع ديموغرافي قد يمنع في النهاية وقوع المزيد من الوفيات. ومع ذلك، فإن وصول فيروس كورونا المستجدّ إلى الجزائر جعل الحالة السيئة للنظام الصحي في البلاد عرضةً للخطر. وكان مؤشر "الأمن الصحي العالمي" لعام 2019، الذي يقيس القدرات المختلفة للقطاع الصحي في بلدان في مختلف أنحاء العالم - ومن بينها الاستعداد لإدارة الأوبئة - قد صنّف  الجزائر في المرتبة 173 من أصل 195 دولة وفي المرتبة 17 من أصل 21 دولة عربية (متخطية جيبوتي، وسوريا، واليمن والصومال فقط).

وفي ردها على تفشي الوباء، امتنعت الحكومة الجزائرية عن تنفيذ الإغلاق في جميع أنحاء البلاد (على عكس المغرب وتونس المجاورتين)، واختارت حظر التجوّل والحجز المحدُّد الأهداف في المناطق المُصابة بشدة، مثل البليدة إلى الجنوب الغربي من الجزائر العاصمة. وتم وضع تسع ولايات، من بينها العاصمة، تحت حظر التجول من الساعة الثالثة بعد الظهر إلى الساعة السابعة صباحاً. وتخضع كافة الولايات الأخرى لحظر التجول الليلي من السابعة مساءً إلى السابعة صباحاً. وفي 17 آذار/مارس، علّق الرئيس عبد المجيد تبون وسائل النقل العام، وحظرَ التجمعات العامة، وأغلقَ المدارس والجوامع، وأقفل الحدود البرّيّة والبحرية للبلاد.

كما سعت السلطات الجزائرية إلى تلقي المساعدة من الصين، وحصلت عليها من هذه البلاد، التي تفوقت مؤخراً على فرنسا كمصدر الاستيراد الأوّل للجزائر. وشمل هذا الدعم وفداً من اثنيْ عشر شخص من المهنيين الطبيين الصينيين الذين وصلوا إلى الجزائر في 27 آذار/مارس مع معدات طبية قيمتها 450,000 دولار أمريكي وفقاً لبعض التقارير، والبناء المخطَّط لمستشفًى صغير مخصص لمرضى كورونا، وشحنات تشمل 8.5 مليون قناع ومعدات وقائية إضافية للعاملين في المجال الطبي، والتي وصلت في 5 نيسان/أبريل و15 نيسان/أبريل.

وفي غضون ذلك، أقرّت الحكومة الجزائرية بالحاجة إلى إصلاحات أعمق في قطاع الصحة. ففي 13 نيسان/أبريل، أعلن تبون عن خططٍ لإصلاح النظام الطبي بينما أشار إلى أنّ "الوضع تحت السيطرة". وبالمثل، وصفَ وزير الصحة المأزق الذي تمرّ فيه البلاد بأنه "مستقر"، مدّعياً أنّ استخدام دواء الكلوروكين المضاد للملاريا قد خفّض نسبة إقامة مرضى الكورونا في المستشفى من عشرة أيام إلى خمسة أيام. ويتم إنتاج الكلوروكين، الذي لم تُثبَت بعد نجاعته في معالجة فيروس كورونا المستجدّ، محليّاً في الجزائر؛ وقال تبون إن البلاد قامت بتخزين ما يكفي منه لمعالجة230,000  شخص، مع التخطيط لتوفير المزيد ما أن يتم الحصول على المواد الأولية الإضافية من الهند.

السياسات المتعلقة بالوباء

سواء كانت هذه التصريحات تعكس الواقع أم لا، فمن غير المرجح أن تُقنع الكثير من الجزائريين بالنظر إلى أزمة الشرعية التي تواجه القادة السياسيين في البلاد منذ وقتٍ طويل قبل وصول الوباء. واعتُبر انتخاب تبون في 12 كانون الأول/ديسمبر 2019 على نطاق واسع كمحاولة مزوّرة لتهدئة حركة الاحتجاجات التي دامت عشرة أشهرٍ وتُعرف باسم الحراك، والتي دعَت إلى تفكيك النظام الغامض للشبكات العسكرية والتجارية والسياسية (ما يسميه الجزائريون منذ فترة طويلة Le Pouvoir [وهي تسمية أطلقها المتظاهرون لوصف "القوى الحاكمة للبلاد" - فئة من الجنرالات ورجال الأعمال والسياسيين من الحزب الحاكم الذين كانوا ضمن الدائرة المقربة للرئيس بوتفليقة])، تلك الشبكات التي حكمت الجزائر لفترة دامت أكثر من نصف قرن. وكان يُعتقد أنّ تبون هو المرشح المختار لرئيس أركان الجيش آنذاك أحمد قايد صالح، الذي أصبح الحاكم الفعلي للبلاد بحُكم الأمر الواقع بعد استقالة الرئيس عبد العزيز بوتفليقة في نيسان/أبريل 2019 بعد بقائه في الحكم لفترة طويلة. إلا أن قايد صالح تُوفّيَ بشكلٍ غير متوقَّع بعد عشرة أيام تقريباً من أداء تبون اليمين الدستورية، وفي المنافسات السياسية التي تلت ذلك، برزَ صراعٌ على السلطة بين بقايا معسكر قايد صالح وخصومه في الأجهزة الأمنية. وعلى الأرجح تعكس عملية الفصل الأخيرة للجنرال واسيني بوعزة، الذي اختاره قايد صالح كمدير المخابرات [الداخلية]، وعملية إقالة العقيد كمال الدين رميلي، مدير الأمن الخارجي في الأسبوع الماضي، الجهود الجارية للتخلص من آخر بقايا معسكر قايد صالح وإقناع جمهور الناخبين المتشكك كثيراً بأنّ تبون يسعى إلى فتح صفحة جديدة.

وعلى هذا النحو، أثارت عمليات الإقالة هذه نوعاً من التفاؤل الحذر لدى الحراك - حركة الاحتجاجات التي احتفلت بذكرى مرور عامٍ على بدايتها في شباط/فبراير، لكنها علّقت لاحقاً المظاهرات التي كانت تخرج مرتين كل أسبوع بعد حظر التجمعات الكبيرة في 17 آذار/مارس. ومنذ ذلك الحين، نقل الحراك جهود الحشد إلى الإنترنت، بتنظيمه حملات لجمع الأموال لشحنات الأغذية والمعدّات الطبية إلى أكثر المواقع الساخنة للفيروس في الجزائر، وإدانته للدولة على تعاطيها مع الأزمة الصحية، ذلك التعامل الذي اعتبره الكثيرون متأخراً وعشوائيّاً. وعلى الرغم من إقالة تبون لمسؤولين في المخابرات لا يحظون بشعبية، إلا أن الدولة استمرت في اعتقال ناشطين وصحفيين وسجنهم، مما زاد من إثارة الحراك، ورفعَ احتمال المواجهة بين الحكومة والجماعة المعارضة الرئيسية لها.

نقاط الضعف الاقتصادية

بدأ فيروس كورونا أيضاً بإلحاق الضرر في الاقتصاد الجزائري. فنظراً لأن مبيعات الهيدروكربونات تمثل 93 في المائة من عائدات التصدير و40 في المائة من الإيرادات، فإن هذه البلاد المنتِجة للنفط والغاز عرضةً بشكلٍ خاص للانخفاض العالمي في الطلب الذي أحدثه الفيروس. واضطرّ المشرّعون الجزائريون إلى تخفيض ميزانية الدولة بنسبة 30 في المائة بسبب حرب الأسعار بين السعودية وروسيا في الشهر الماضي، التي أدت إلى انخفاض سعر النفط. وبحلول نهاية آذار/مارس، تراجعت احتياطيات البلاد من العملات الأجنبية إلى ما دون 60 مليار دولار (أقل من ثلث ما كانت عليه بعد انخفاض أسعار النفط في عام 2014). ورغم تصوّر بقاء هذه الاحتياطيات حتى نهاية عام 2020، إلّا أن التوقعات لعام 2021 تبقى أقل تأكيداً بكثير. وبسبب اعتمادها الشديد على الواردات، فستتأثر البلاد على الأرجح إلى حدٍّ كبير بتعطل سلاسل الإمداد الدولية، ومن شبه المؤكد أن يشهد الجزائريون نقصاً محليّاً في البضائع.

وبالتالي، فإن اتفاق "منظمة البلدان المصدّرة للنفط" ("أوبك") في 12 نيسان/أبريل لخفض الإنتاج كان موضع ترحيب في الجزائر، على الرغم من أنّ الانخفاض المستمر للأسعار لا يبشّر بالخير. وأدّى قانونٌ متعلّقٌ بالهيدروكربونات تم إقراره في كانون الثاني/يناير إلى تخفيض العبء الضريبي على شركات النفط الدولية، كما باشرت شركة النفط الحكومية الجزائرية، "سوناطراك"، بتوقيع مذكرتيْ تفاهم مع شركتيْ "شيفرون" و"إكسون موبيل"، فضلاً عن مذكرات تفاهم مع شركات روسية وتركية. ولكن في ظل عدم ترجيح انتعاش الطلب العالمي في أي وقت قريب، فلا يمكن توقُّع جني الكثير من الثمار من هذه الاتفاقات على المدى القريب. وفي غضون ذلك، أدى فيروس كورونا إلى زيادة الأسعار للمستهلكين، وقد يؤدي إلى تفاقم البطالة في بلدٍ لا يعمل فيه أكثر من ربع الراشدين الشباب. وقد تتمكن بعض مجتمعات المغتربين الجزائريين في كندا وفرنسا من مساعدة بعض الأسر المتعثرة، إلّا أن مثل هذه المساعدة بالكاد ستخفف عواقب الوباء في غياب إصلاحات أعمق في السياسة والحوكمة.

توصيات لواشنطن

إن السياسة الخارجية للجزائر التي تتّسم بالقومية المفرطة، إلى جانب إحجام البلاد عن الانخراط مع القوى الغربية، قد حدّت تقليديّاً من نطاق العلاقات الثنائية مع الولايات المتحدة. إلا أن الوضع الأليم للبلاد بشكل متزايد والامتعاض الشعبي العام تجاه النظام الذي غذّى هذا الوضع قد يوفران لواشنطن فرصاً لوضع الأساس لمشاركة موسّعة. وربما سيكون عرض إرسال المساعدة الطبية بهدوء خطوةً أولى جيدةً. وبقدر ما تعكس مذكّرتا التفاهم الأخيرتان مع "شيفرون" و"إكسون موبيل" رغبةً جزائريةً متناميةً في التعامل الاقتصادي، يجب على صناع السياسة الأمريكيين النظر في طرق لتحفيز المزيد من الاستثمارات من قِبل الشركات الأمريكية.

وقد تحمل الأزمة معها جانباً مشرقاً آخر: فبينما يتشتت انتباه الجزائر بسبب الضرورات المتعلقة بالفيروس، سيكون من غير المرجح أن تتخذ البلاد أي خطوات استفزازية مفاجئة في نزاعها القائم منذ زمن طويل مع المغرب حول الصحراء الغربية. وفي الوقت نفسه، سيؤدي استمرار عدم الاستقرار إلى تقويض التعاون في مكافحة الإرهاب الذي اعتمدت عليه واشنطن في متابعة مصالحها الإقليمية. ومن غير المحتمل أن يؤدي فيروس كورونا، رغم كل قوته المعطِّلة، إلى إحداث تغيير في موقف الجهاديين في منطقة الساحل، وقد أدّت القوات العسكرية الجزائرية دوراً أساسيّاً في احتواء الجماعات الإرهابية ومنع تقدّمها إلى داخل أوروبا. ومن الضروري أن تعمل واشنطن على التخطيط لسيناريو قد لا تتمكن فيه الجزائر بعد الآن من المساعدة في الحفاظ على مثل هذه المصالح الأمنية الإقليمية، والتي سيدوم معظمها لفترة طويلة إلى ما بعد انتهاء جائحة فيروس كورونا.

 

سارة فوير هي زميلة مشاركة في معهد واشنطن.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 3304

Corona in the Casbah: The Pandemic’s Destabilizing Impact on Algeria

Sarah Feuer

Also available in العربية

April 22, 2020


Given that the local economic repercussions of COVID-19 could be severe, Washington should prepare for the prospect of instability erupting in Africa’s largest country.

Just as individuals’ preexisting medical conditions may affect their ability to fight off the novel coronavirus that is currently traversing the world, countries’ background conditions will likely affect their ability to manage the health and economic crisis. For Algeria and its 43 million inhabitants, a weak medical infrastructure, a year-long political crisis, and a stalled reorientation of an economy that has been overly dependent on hydrocarbons for decades have all made the North African country particularly vulnerable to repercussions from the virus.

HEALTH CONCERNS

As of April 20, Algeria had announced 2,718 cases of COVID-19 and 384 deaths, the latter representing both the highest total number and the highest per capita ranking of reported fatalities among Arab countries. Mirroring the situation in states across the Middle East and North Africa, roughly 85 percent of Algeria’s population is under age fifty-five, a demographic reality that could ultimately prevent more deaths. Still, the arrival of the novel coronavirus has exposed the poor state of Algeria’s health system. The 2019 Global Health Security Index, which measures various health-sector capacities in countries around the world—including preparedness to manage pandemics—ranked Algeria 173rd out of 195 countries and 17th out of 21 Arab states (surpassing only Djibouti, Syria, Yemen, and Somalia).   

In its response to the outbreak, the Algerian government has refrained from implementing a nationwide lockdown (in contrast to neighboring Morocco and Tunisia), opting for curfews and targeted confinements in hard-hit areas, such as Blida to the southwest of Algiers. Nine provinces, including that of the capital, have been placed under a curfew from 3:00 p.m. to 7:00 a.m. All other provinces are under a nighttime curfew from 7:00 p.m. to 7:00 a.m. On March 17, President Abdelmadjid Tebboune suspended public transportation, banned public gatherings, closed schools and mosques, and sealed the country’s land and sea borders.

Algerian authorities have also sought and received assistance from China, which recently overtook France as the country’s top import origin. Such support has included a delegation of twelve Chinese medical professionals who arrived in Algeria on March 27 with a reported $450,000 in medical equipment, the planned construction of a small hospital for coronavirus patients, and shipments of 8.5 million masks and additional protective gear for medical workers, which arrived on April 5 and April 15.

Meanwhile, the government has acknowledged the need for deeper reforms in the health sector. On April 13, Tebboune announced plans to overhaul the medical system while noting that “the situation is under control.” The minister of health similarly described the country’s predicament as “stable,” claiming that use of the antimalarial drug chloroquine had reduced coronavirus patient hospital stays from ten days to five. Chloroquine, whose efficacy in treating the novel coronavirus remains unproven, is produced locally in Algeria; Tebboune said the country has stockpiled enough of it to treat 230,000 people, with more slated to become available once additional raw materials are received from India.

PANDEMIC POLITICS

Whether or not such statements reflect reality, they are unlikely to persuade many Algerians given the crisis of legitimacy confronting the country’s political leaders since well before the pandemic’s arrival. Tebboune’s election on December 12, 2019, was widely seen as a rigged attempt to mollify a ten-month protest movement known as the Hirak, which had called for dismantling the opaque system of military, business, and political networks (what Algerians have long called Le Pouvoir) that has ruled the country for more than half a century. Tebboune was thought to be the chosen candidate of then-army chief of staff Ahmed Gaid Salah, who had become the country’s de facto ruler following longtime president Abdelaziz Bouteflika’s resignation in April 2019. But Gaid Salah unexpectedly passed away some ten days after Tebboune was sworn in, and in the ensuing political jockeying, a power struggle emerged between remnants of Gaid Salah’s camp and his opponents in the security services. The recent dismissal of Gen. Wasini Bouazza, Gaid Salah’s pick for intelligence chief, and last week’s sacking of Col. Kamel-Eddine Remili, head of the external security directorate, likely reflect ongoing efforts to remove the last vestiges of Gaid Salah’s camp and convince a deeply skeptical electorate that Tebboune seeks to turn the page.

As such, these dismissals elicited cautious optimism from the Hirak, which marked its one-year anniversary in February but subsequently suspended biweekly demonstrations following the March 17 ban on large gatherings. The movement has since taken its mobilization efforts online, organizing campaigns to raise money for shipments of food and medical equipment to Algeria’s virus hotspots, and condemning the state for its handling of the health crisis, which many saw as delayed and haphazard. Notwithstanding Tebboune’s dismissal of unpopular intelligence officials, the state has continued to arrest and imprison activists and journalists, further galvanizing the Hirak and raising the prospect of a confrontation between the government and its primary opposition group.

ECONOMIC VULNERABILITIES

The coronavirus is also starting to wreak havoc on Algeria’s economy. With hydrocarbon sales accounting for 93 percent of export earnings and 40 percent of revenues, the oil and gas producer has been especially vulnerable to the global drop in demand spurred by the virus. Last month’s price war between Saudi Arabia and Russia, which sent the price of oil plummeting, forced Algerian lawmakers to slash the state budget by 30 percent. By the end of March, the country’s foreign currency reserves had dipped below $60 billion (less than a third of where they stood following the 2014 drop in oil prices). Though these reserves can conceivably last through the end of 2020, prospects for 2021 are far less certain. Because of its heavy reliance on imports, the country will likely be significantly affected by disruptions of international supply chains, and Algerians will almost certainly see local shortages of goods.

The April 12 OPEC agreement to cut production was, therefore, welcome news in Algiers, though the continuing dive in prices does not bode well. A hydrocarbons law passed in January reduced the tax burden for international oil companies, and Algeria’s state-run oil company, Sonatrach, went on to sign memoranda of understanding with Chevron and Exxon Mobil, in addition to those with Russian and Turkish firms. But with world demand unlikely to rebound anytime soon, such agreements cannot be expected to yield much in the near term. Meanwhile, the coronavirus has fueled a rise in consumer prices, and could exacerbate unemployment in a country where more than a quarter of young adults are out of work. Algerian diaspora communities in Canada and France may be able to assist some struggling families, but such aid will hardly ameliorate the pandemic’s consequences absent deeper political and governance reforms.

RECOMMENDATIONS FOR WASHINGTON

Algeria’s hypernationalist foreign policy, coupled with its reluctance to engage with Western powers, has traditionally limited the scope of bilateral ties with the United States. Still, the country’s increasingly dire situation and the public’s general souring toward the system that nurtured it may present Washington with opportunities to lay the groundwork for expanded engagement. Quietly offering to send medical aid would be a good first step. And to the extent that the recent Chevron and Exxon MOUs reflect a growing Algerian appetite for economic engagement, U.S. policymakers should consider ways to incentivize greater investment by American companies.

The crisis may hold another silver lining: with Algiers distracted by virus-related imperatives, it will be less likely to make any sudden, provocative moves in its longstanding conflict with Morocco over Western Sahara. At the same time, continued instability will undermine the counterterrorism cooperation on which Washington has relied in pursuing its regional interests. For all its disruptive power, the coronavirus is not likely to bring about a change of heart among jihadists in the Sahel, and Algeria’s military has played a key role in containing terrorist groups and preventing their advance into Europe. Washington needs to plan for a scenario in which Algiers may no longer be able to help preserve such regional security interests, most of which will long outlast the coronavirus.

Sarah Feuer is an associate fellow with The Washington Institute.