أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 3139

سياسة الصين في الشرق الأوسط: التحدث بهدوء والتلويح بمحفظة كبيرة

إهود يعاري

متاح أيضاً في English فارسی

17 حزيران/يونيو 2019


يحتل الشرق الأوسط مرتبة متدنية على لائحة الأولويات العالمية للصين، ومن غير المرجح أن يتغير ذلك في المستقبل المنظور. ومع ذلك، فإن "الأولوية الدنيا" هي مصطلحٌ نسبي عندما يتعلق الأمر بجهة فاعلة عالمية جيوبها ممتلئة مثل بكين. صحيح أن "مبادرة الحزام والطريق" الطموحة التي أطلقتها الحكومة الصينية تغض الطرف إلى حد كبير عن المناطق الحيوية لما تسميه الصين "غرب آسيا"، وتركّز بدلاً من ذلك على إنشاء طرق برّيّة وبحريّة تجارية إلى أوروبا عبر آسيا الوسطى والمحيط الهندي و"قناة السويس". ومع ذلك، تستثمر الشركات الصينية - بدعمٍ كاملٍ من بكين - عشرات مليارات الدولارات في مشاريع البنية التحتية وعمليات الاستحواذ وغيرها من المبادرات في معظم بلدان الشرق الأوسط.

إن القضية الأساسية بالنسبة للصين هذه الأيام هي الحرب التجارية مع الولايات المتحدة. فمن وراء الخط الحزبي المتمثّل في "التصدي" للضغط الأمريكي يكمن قلقٌ متزايد من أن تلحِق الرسوم الجمركية المتصاعدة أضراراً بالغة بالاقتصاد العالمي، مما قد يؤذي بدوره "الناتج المحلي الإجمالي" والاستقرار المحلي في الصين. كما أن المسؤولين في بكين يرصدون عن كثب المحاولات التي تقوم بها القوى الآسيوية الأخرى لاحتواء صعود الصين السريع، لا سيّما وأن واشنطن وجِهات فاعلة أخرى تنمّي نظام التعاون في منطقة المحيط الهادئ -الهندي الذي اقترحته اليابان أوّلاً.

وفي ظل هذه الخلفية، تقيس الصين نفوذها في الشرق الأوسط ووجودها فيه بشكل أساسي من حيث تأمين إمدادات الطاقة، والعلاقات التجارية، والمنافع التجارية. وتشعر بكين بالارتياح مع سياستها الراهنة المتمثّلة في تجنب الانخراط السياسي في الخلافات العديدة في المنطقة، ويتم فوراً رفض أي تصريحات منفصلة تتعارض مع هذا الموقف - مثل ادعاء أحد السفراء عام 2018 بأن حكومته ستنظر في مساعدة النظام السوري على محاربة الثوار في إدلب. كذلك، تحرص الصين على تفادي الانحياز إلى أي طرف في المواجهة الإيرانية - السعودية أو الخلافات بين العرب مثل الحظر المفروض على قطر، وتفضّل التعاطي مع "جامعة الدول العربية" كملجئها الأساسي للحوار.

ويشمل ذلك الدعم المتواصل لمواقف "الجامعة العربية" حول النزاع الإسرائيلي-الفلسطيني. فإحدى عادات الصين للتصويت في "الأمم المتحدة" هي دعم جميع القرارات المعادية لإسرائيل. وتُدرك بكين تماماً أن حكومات الخليج تسعى بهدوء إلى التعاون مع الحكومة الإسرائيلية على عدة جبهات، لكن طالما يبقى موقفها الرسمي فاتراً، ستستمر الصين في التصويت وفقاً لذلك.

وتؤدّي المداولات الأخيرة مع كبار المسؤولين الصينيين  إلى عددٍ من الاستنتاجات الأخرى الجديرة بالملاحظة وهي:

ستواصل الصين استيراد النفط الإيراني. عبر القيام بذلك، ستحاول الصين تجنّب عقوبات إدارة ترامب من دون تحدّيها أو رفضها مباشرةً. ولكن رغم أنها تسعى جاهدةً إلى تنمية علاقات ودّيّة مع الجمهورية الإسلامية، إلّا أن بكين لا تخطط لإنقاذ النظام من ضائقته المالية أو تزويده بأسلحة مهمّة، رغم أن بعض المسؤولين الصينيين يشعرون بقلق بالغ إزاء إمكانية التوصل إلى اتفاق جديد بين واشنطن وإيران. ولا تشعر طهران من جانبها بوخز الضمير إزاء قبول مساعدة الهند على تطوير ميناء "جابهار" [جنوب شرق إيران] كمنافس لميناء "جوادر" الذي بنته الصين في باكستان، وهو أحد الروابط الرئيسية في "مبادرة الحزام والطريق".

الصين غير مستعدة بعد للنظر في استثمارات كبيرة في سوريا. تهتم بكين بالفرص المتاحة هناك ولكنها ليست في عجلة من أمرها لاستكشافها، رغم النداءات المتكررة من روسيا للمساعدة في إعادة الإعمار بعد الحرب. وقد أنشأت الصين عمليات تبادل للمعلومات الاستخباراتية السورية مع موسكو والعديد من حكومات آسيا الوسطى، لكنّ غايتها الأساسية هي مراقبة جهاديي تركستان الشرقية الذين يحاربون هناك والكشف عن أي مقاتلين مسلمين من الأويغور يحاولون العودة إلى الوطن إلى شينجيانغ (سنجان).

الصين تشعر بالقلق إزاء التحالف الأمني في الشرق الأوسط. لم تنجح هذه المبادرة الإقليمية الطموحة التي تدعمها الولايات المتحدة في الإقلاع حتى الآن، وقد سبق أن انسحبت منها مصر. ومع ذلك، ما زال المسؤولون الصينيون يخشون من احتمال قيام حلفاء الولايات المتحدة بإنشاء سيطرةً عسكريّةً مشتركةً طويلة الأجل على الممرات البحرية الممتدة من "قناة السويس" والبحر الأحمر إلى المحيط الهندي - وهو طريق رئيسي في الرؤية الاستراتيجية الكامنة وراء "مبادرة الحزام والطريق". وبناءً على ذلك، ركّزت بكّين على رفع مستوى العلاقات مع السعودية، وبدرجة أقل، مع الإمارات ودول الخليج الأخرى. كما تبدو مستعدة لتزويد الرياض والإمارات بتقنية صواريخ متطورة وربما حتى بالدراية النووية، ولن تردعها الاحتجاجات من إيران. وفي غضون ذلك، تملك الصين قاعدةً عسكريةً صغيرةً في جيبوتي وتخطط لإقامة وجود لها في ميناء "الدقم" العماني. لكن المسؤولين سارعوا إلى التأكيد على أن الصين ليست بحاجة إلى تواجد عسكري في أي مكان آخر في المنطقة؛ ولتوضيح هذه النقطة، رووا كيف قامت الحكومة بإجلاء المواطنين الصينيين من ليبيا التي مزّقتها الحرب بدلاً من محاولة حماية مصالحها الحيوية هناك.

ستواصل الصين في التعاطي مع إسرائيل بحذر. تُلقي الولايات المتحدة بظلالها الكثيفة على العلاقات الصينية مع إسرائيل. فقد أوضحت واشنطن في مناسباتٍ عديدة رغبتها في أن تحافظ القدس على تعاونها مع بكّين فاتراً، وأن تقيّد التدخل الصيني في القطاعات الحسّاسة من الصناعات الإسرائيلية المزدهرة السيبرانية والعالية التقنية. كما تُدرك بكين جيداً أنه لا يمكنها التفكير في أي صفقات أسلحة، وتقرّ عموماً بأن على إسرائيل أن تأخذ التحفظات الأمريكية بغاية الجدّيّة - على الرغم من أن المسؤولين يسارعون إلى الإشارة إلى أن بعض حلفاء واشنطن العرب أظهروا مرونةً أكبر مع الصين.

وفي النهاية، لا تُظهر بكين أي نية في مراجعة دبلوماسيتها التقليدية تجاه إسرائيل، أو نمط تصويتها غير المواتي في المنتديات الدولية. ويهتم الصينيون بشدة بالتقنيات الإسرائيلية الابتكارية، لكنهم لا يعتقدون أن تطوير العلاقات الاقتصادية يتطلّب منهم تغيير سياستهم الخارجية. ولا تسهّل الحكومة الصينية دخول الصادرات الإسرائيلية إلى الصين؛ وبلغت التجارة المتبادلة 14 مليار دولار في العام الماضي، ولكن معظم المبيعات الإسرائيلية تمت بواسطة منشآت "إنتل". واستحوذت الشركات الصينية على بعض الشركات الإسرائيلية الكبرى (خاصة في قطاعي الكيماويات والألبان) وفازت في مناقصات لإدارة أقسام جديدة من مينائي حيفا وأشدود، لكن الجهات التنظيمية الإسرائيلية منعت دخولها إلى القطاع السيبراني وقطاع التأمين (هذا الأخير مهم لأن الصين سعت للوصول إلى البيانات حول أفراد الأمن الإسرائيليين عبر برامج التقاعد). وأخيراً، يبدو أن المسؤولين الصينيين غير مهتمّين بتطوير طريق تجاري عبر خليج العقبة إلى ميناء "إيلات" مع خط سكة حديد إلى البحر المتوسط، على اعتبار أن مصر تعارض أي نظام نقل تجاري بديل لقناة السويس.

الاستثمارات الصينية في مصر تنمو بسرعة. يشمل ذلك البنية التحتية للعاصمة الجديدة التي قرر الرئيس إنشاءها خارج القاهرة. فبكين تعتقد أنه يجب التأكيد على استقرار مصر من أجل تحقيق تقدم في "مبادرة الحزام والطريق"، لأن "قناة السويس" تشكّل رابطاً أساسياً لسفن الحاويات المتّجهة إلى أوروبا.

لا تريد الصين الانخراط مع "السلطة الفلسطينية". أوضح المسؤولون الصينيون أنهم لا يريدوا الدخول في أي مشاريع اقتصادية في "السلطة الفلسطينية"، وأن مشاركتهم في جهود المساعدات المالية ستكون محدودة. وبشكل أكثر تحديداً، لن تسمح بكين للشركات الصينية بالعمل عبر "الخط الأخضر"، أو داخل قطاع غزة طالما تسيطر عليه «حماس».

يتزايد الاهتمام التحليلي للصين في المنطقة. رغم الانتباه المحدود نسبيّاً الذي تُكرّسه بكين لـ "غرب آسيا"، ستواصل الحكومة الصينية تمويل مراكز الفكر والمعاهد الجديدة لإجراء الأبحاث حول المنطقة. وبالمثل، أظهرت الجامعات الصينية زيادة ملحوظة في عدد الطلّاب الذين يتعلمون اللغة العربية (وإن كان ذلك بدرجة أقل في اللغتين الفارسية والتركية).

باختصار، ستواصل الصين الخطو بحذر في الشرق الأوسط، والحفاظ على ملف دبلوماسي منخفض وتجنب البصمة العسكرية مع السعي بشدة وراء الفرص التجارية - لا سيّما في مشاريع البنى التحتية المتعلقة بـ «رؤية السعودية 2030» وقطاع الطاقة. وقد لا تجذب المنطقة تدخلاً سياسياً وعسكرياً جاداً من الصين إلا بعد أن تنضج المشاريع الكبرى لـ "مبادرة الحزام والطريق" في باكستان وآسيا الوسطى.

 

إهود يعاري هو "زميل ليفر الدولي" في معهد واشنطن ومعلق محنك في التلفزيون الإسرائيلي. وقد زار الصين مؤخراً كضيف لـ "الشبكة العالمية والقيادة الأكاديمية الصينية - الإسرائيلية" ("سيجنال)".

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 3139

China’s Middle East Policy: Speak Softly and Wave a Large Purse

Ehud Yaari

Also available in العربية

June 17, 2019


An Israeli analyst shares observations from an intensive round of discussions with senior Chinese military, diplomatic, and academic officials.

The Middle East is low on the list of China’s global priorities, and this is unlikely to change in the foreseeable future. Yet “low priority” is a relative term when it comes to a global player with pockets as deep as Beijing’s. True, the government’s ambitious Belt and Road Initiative (BRI) largely skips the heartlands of what China calls “West Asia,” focusing instead on establishing commercial land and sea routes to Europe via Central Asia, the Indian Ocean, and the Suez Canal. Even so, Chinese corporations—with full backing from Beijing—are investing tens of billions of dollars in infrastructure projects, acquisitions, and other initiatives in most countries of the Middle East.

The main issue for China these days is the trade war with the United States. Underneath the party line of “hitting back” at American pressure lies a growing concern that escalating tariffs will seriously damage the global economy, which could in turn harm China’s GDP and domestic stability. Officials in Beijing are also closely monitoring attempts by other Asian powers to contain China’s rapid rise, especially as Washington and other players cultivate the Indo-Pacific system of cooperation first proposed by Japan.

Against this backdrop, China measures its influence and presence in the Middle East mainly in terms of securing energy supplies, trade ties, and business benefits. Beijing is comfortable with its current policy of avoiding political involvement in the region’s myriad disputes, and any isolated statements that run contrary to this posture—such as an ambassador’s 2018 claim that his government would consider helping the Syrian regime fight rebels in Idlib—are abruptly dismissed. China likewise steers clear of taking sides in the Iran-Saudi Arabia showdown or intra-Arab disputes such as the Qatar embargo, preferring to deal with the Arab League as its main address for dialogue.

This includes consistently supporting the league’s positions on the Israeli-Palestinian conflict. One of China’s voting habits at the UN is to back all anti-Israel resolutions. Beijing is fully aware that Gulf governments are quietly pursuing cooperation with the Israeli government on several fronts, but as long as their formal public stance remains frosty, China will keep voting accordingly.

Recent deliberations with senior Chinese officials yield a number of other noteworthy conclusions:

China will continue to import Iranian oil. In doing so, it will try to bypass the Trump administration’s sanctions without directly challenging or dismissing them. Yet even as it strives to cultivate cordial relations with the Islamic Republic, Beijing does not plan to rescue the regime from its financial distress or supply it with significant arms, although some Chinese officials seem very concerned about the possibility of a new deal between Washington and Iran. For its part, Tehran has no qualms about accepting India’s help to develop Chabahar port as a competitor to the Chinese-built Gwadar port in Pakistan, one of the main links in the BRI.

China is not yet ready to consider major investment in Syria. Beijing is interested in the opportunities presented there but is in no hurry to explore them, despite repeated pleas from Russia to help with postwar reconstruction. China has established Syrian intelligence exchanges with Moscow and various Central Asian governments, but their main purpose is to monitor East Turkestan jihadists fighting there and detect any Uyghur Muslim militants attempting to return home to Xinjiang.

China is concerned about the Middle East Security Alliance. This ambitious U.S.-backed regional initiative has failed to take off thus far, and Egypt has already dropped out. Nevertheless, Chinese officials still fear the prospect of U.S. allies establishing joint, long-term military control over sea lanes stretching from the Suez Canal and Red Sea to the Indian Ocean—a key route in the strategic vision underlying the BRI. Accordingly, Beijing has focused on upgrading relations with Saudi Arabia and, to a lesser degree, the United Arab Emirates and other Gulf states. It also seems willing to provide Riyadh and the UAE with advanced missile technology and perhaps even nuclear know-how, and would not be deterred by protestations from Iran. Meanwhile, China has a small military base in Djibouti and is planning to establish a presence in the Omani port of Duqm. Yet officials are quick to emphasize that China does not need a military presence anywhere else in the region; to illustrate this point, they recounted how the government evacuated Chinese citizens from war-torn Libya rather than trying protect its substantial interests there.

China will continue handling Israel with caution. The United States casts a long shadow over Chinese relations with Israel. Washington has made clear on numerous occasions that it would like Jerusalem to keep its cooperation with Beijing lukewarm, and to restrict Chinese involvement in sensitive sectors of Israel’s flourishing high-tech and cyber industries. Beijing is also well aware that no arms transactions can be contemplated, and it generally acknowledges that Israel has to take American reservations very earnestly—though officials are quick to point out that some of Washington’s Arab allies have demonstrated greater flexibility with China.

Ultimately, Beijing shows no intention of revising its traditional diplomacy toward Israel or its unfavorable voting pattern in international forums. The Chinese are keenly interested in innovative Israeli technologies, but they do not believe that developing economic ties requires them to change their foreign policy. The Chinese government does not facilitate the entry of Israeli exports to China; mutual trade reached $14 billion last year, but most of the Israeli sales were made by Intel plants. Chinese companies have acquired some major Israeli firms (mainly in the chemical and dairy sectors) and won tenders to manage new sections of Haifa and Ashdod ports, but Israeli regulators have prevented their entry into the cyber and insurance sectors (the latter is significant because China has sought access to data about Israeli security personnel via pension programs). Finally, Chinese officials seem uninterested in developing a trade route through the Gulf of Aqaba to the port of Eilat with a railroad to the Mediterranean Sea, arguing that Egypt opposes any alternative commercial transport system to the Suez Canal.

Chinese investments in Egypt are growing rapidly. This includes infrastructure for the new capital city that the president has decided to establish outside Cairo. Beijing believes that Egypt’s stability must be assured in order to achieve progress on the BRI, since the Suez Canal forms an essential link for container ships headed to Europe.

China does not want to get involved in the Palestinian Authority. Chinese officials made clear that they will not undertake any economic projects in the PA, and that their participation in financial aid efforts will be limited. More specifically, Beijing will not allow Chinese companies to operate across the Green Line, nor inside the Gaza Strip so long as Hamas is in control there.

Chinese analytical interest in the region is growing. Despite the relatively limited attention that Beijing devotes to “West Asia,” the government will continue funding new think tanks and institutes to research the region. Similarly, Chinese universities have shown a marked increase in the number of students learning Arabic (though less so with Persian and Turkish).

In sum, China will keep treading cautiously in the Middle East, maintaining a low diplomatic profile and eschewing a military footprint while aggressively pursuing business opportunities—especially in infrastructure enterprises related to Saudi Arabia’s “Vision 2030” and the energy sector. The region may not attract serious Chinese political and military involvement until after major BRI projects mature in Pakistan and Central Asia.

Ehud Yaari is a Lafer International Fellow with The Washington Institute and a veteran commentator for Israeli television. He recently visited China as a guest of the Sino-Israel Global Network & Academic Leadership (SIGNAL).