أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

تنبيه سياسي

بوتفليقة يستقيل: الخطوات التالية على طريق مجهول

بين فيشمان

متاح أيضاً في English

3 نيسان/أبريل 2019


في 2 نيسان/أبريل، قدّم الرئيس الجزائري عبد العزيز بوتفليقة استقالته إلى المجلس الدستوري، في خطوة أعقبت ستة أسابيع من التظاهرات الحاشدة التي نظمها المواطنون احتجاجاً على ولايته الخامسة المحتملة وقضايا أخرى. وحاول أنصار الرئيس المستقيل إرضاء المتظاهرين عبر مجموعة من التنازلات الجزئية، ومنها تأجيل الانتخابات حتى نهاية العام؛ والوعد بعدم سعي بوتفليقة إلى ولاية أخرى؛ واقتراح عملية تعديل دستوري وخطة انتقالية يقودها الدبلوماسي الذي يلقى احتراماً دولياً الأخضر الابراهيمي؛ وإعادة توزيع المقاعد الحكومية مرتيْن. إلا أنّ حركة الاحتجاجات الناشئة لم توافق على أيّ من هذه الاقتراحات، لا سيما ذلك المتعلق بتمديد الولاية الرابعة لرئيسٍ عاجز لم يظهر إلى العلن منذ إصابته بجلطة دماغية عام 2013.

وزاد رئيس أركان الجيش الفريق أحمد قايد صالح القاضي الضغوط في 26 آذار/مارس عندما دعا إلى تطبيق المادة 102 من الدستور، والتي يتم بموجبها الإعلان رسمياً أن الرئيس عاجز عن تأدية مهامه. إلا أن المحتجين رحبوا بحذر بتلك المقاربة، وبدأوا يطالبون بتغيير "النظام"، في تعبيرٍ عن إحباطهم من استمرار الحكم من قبل نخبة غير شفافة.

وفي الوقت الحالي، سيضطلع رئيس مجلس الأمّة الجزائري عبد القادر بن صالح بدور الرئيس المؤقّت وفقاً لما ينص عليه الدستور - طالما يبقى الدستور سارياً. أما بعد ذلك، فما سيحدث هو مسألة تكهنات. إلا أن عدة مبادئ يجب أن توجّه كيفية تعامل واشنطن مع الوضع في المرحلة القادمة.

التنبّه إلى المقارنات. قد يكون من المغري جدّاً مقارنة المأزق الجزائري بالتطورات الإقليمية الأخرى - مثل حركة الاحتجاجات الجماهيرية والهيمنة العسكرية اللاحقة في مصر، أو القمع الوحشي لنظام الأسد في سوريا، أو الرأسمالية المحببة الملحوظة في تونس - ولا بد من التعاطي مع الوضع الراهن على أساس حيثياته الخاصة. فقد لاحظ الكثيرون أن الجزائر سبق أن اختبرت "ربيعاً عربياً" في أوائل التسعينات من القرن المنصرم عندما جرّبت الانتخابات المفتوحة لتعود وتلغيها بعد فوز الإسلاميين، مما أدى إلى اندلاع حرب أهلية و"العقد الأسود". ومع أن ذلك يشكّل بالتأكيد مرجعاً تاريخياً صالحاً، قد لا يكون الافتراض بأنه سيُثني المتظاهرين أو القوات العسكرية أو الحكومة عن التصعيد إلى مواجهاتٍ عنيفة خلال الأزمة الحالية، أكثرَ من مجرّد أمنيات. وببساطة، من غير الواضح بما فيه الكفاية كيفية عمل دائرة صنع القرار والطبقة الحاكمة الأوسع (“Le Pouvoir” كما تُعرف باللغة الفرنسية)، مما لا يترك للمراقبين أكثر من مجرد تكهنات عامة حول كيفية استجابة السلطات للأزمة الحالية.

مراقبة القوات العسكرية. هل يشير الحل الدستوري الذي اقترحه أحمد قايد صالح بالإطاحة ببوتفليقة إلى انشقاقٍ داخل الدائرة الحاكمة، أو إلى جهدٍ حثيث من جانب بعض العناصر من أجل تجاوز مسألة الرئيس المريض مع الحفاظ على سلطتهم الكلّيّة؟ لقد وصف بعض المراقبين خطوات رئيس أركان الجيش على أنها انقلاب. ووفقاً لبعض التقارير، طالب على انفراد باستقالة بوتفليقة تماماً قبل أن يقدمها الرئيس. والأسئلة التي تطرح نفسها هنا هي: إلى أي حد يقف الجيش بالفعل وراء هذه المرحلة الانتقالية، وما هي التنازلات الإضافية التي هو مستعد لتقديمها إذا استمر المحتجون في المطالبة بإجراء انتخابات حرة وتغيير النظام؟ فحتى الآن، كانت القوات الحكومية تُبدي انضباطاً بشأن تجنب العنف والسماح للمحتجين بالتظاهر بحرية. وسيحدد استمرار تلك الدينامية مدى استقرار المرحلة القادمة، لا سيّما إذا حدث أنْ تجاوزَ المتظاهرون أي خطوط حمراء ربما رسمها الجيش داخلياً.

إنه الاقتصاد، يا معتوه. ربما كان مشهد العيش لأكثر من عشرين عاماً تحت حُكم بوتفليقة الدافع المباشر للاحتجاجات، لكنّ الأسباب الكامنة وراء ذلك هي الركود الاقتصادي المستمر، وبطالة الشباب، وضعف البنية التحتية العامة بالنسبة إلى مجتمعٍ شابٍّ متضخم (44 في المائة من سكان الجزائر البالغ عددهم 42 مليون نسمة لم يبلغوا الرابعة والعشرين من العمر). وكانت الحكومة تستهلك احتياطياتها الأجنبية بمعدّلٍ سريع، بعد أن تراكمت عندما تخطى سعر النفط حاجز 100 دولار للبرميل الواحد في منتصف العقد الأول من القرن الحالي. وتشمل الميزانية الأخيرة الإنفاق الاجتماعي غير المستدام والإعانات.

وفي غضون ذلك، تعرضت جهود تحرير الاقتصاد وتنويعه لعراقيل من جانب نُخَب السياسة والأعمال الذين يستفيدون من النظام الحالي (ومُنع بعضهم من مغادرة البلاد في الأيام الأخيرة، مما يشير على الأرجح إلى خططٍ لاستخدام بعض أسوأ الجناة ككبش فداء، أو للإطاحة بالموالين لبوتفليقة). وعلاوة على ذلك، تَحدّ السياسات الاقتصادية الداعمة للدولة من الاستثمارات الأجنبية الضرورية جداً، لا سيّما في قطاع الطاقة، حيث يتعين على الشركات المشاركة امتلاك الجزائريين ما لا يقل عن 51 في المائة من الحصص. ومن دون المزيد من التنقيب والتكنولوجيا الجديدة، لا يُتوقَّع استدامة احتياطات البلاد من النفط وقدرتها على الإنتاج لأكثر من عشرين عاماً إضافيّاً. ولم يتراجع الإنتاج خلال الأزمة الراهنة، لكنّ الاضطرابات دفعت شركة "إكسون موبيل" إلى تعليق المحادثات مع الحكومة حول تطوير الغاز الصخري.

إنّ الجزائر بحاجة إلى حكومة مستقرة لمعالجة هذه القضايا المعقَّدة. ولا شك في أن أي إدارة تأتي بعد بوتفليقة ستميل إلى زيادة الإنفاق الاجتماعي وتَجاهُل الاستثمارات والإصلاحات طويلة الأجل، لكن ذلك النهج لن يؤدّي إلا إلى تفاقم الحالة الاقتصادية للبلاد.

وفي أفضل الحالات، ستقود حكومة انتقالية الجزائر نحو عملية إصلاح دستوري وإجراء انتخابات نزيهة، مما يولّد حكومةً منتَخَبَةً باستطاعتها البدء في اعتماد الإصلاحات الاقتصادية الضرورية مع الحفاظ على ولاء الجيش. ومع ذلك، فإن فرص إجراء هذه العملية بسلاسة تبدو ضئيلة.

إن إجراء عملية انتقالية سلسة يصبّ في مصلحة الولايات المتحدة نظراً للمصالح الأمنية العميقة على المحك. فالدول والمناطق التي تحدّ الجزائر، أي ليبيا والساحل ومنطقة البحر الأبيض المتوسط، ستعاني جميعها بشكلٍ هائل إذا لم تتمكن السلطات المحلّيّة من ضبط الحدود والسيطرة على الإرهاب والتهريب والهجرة الجماعية.

وبناءً على ذلك، فبينما يتعين على واشنطن التأكيد على أن الجزائريين وحدهم سيصيغون الأحداث الداخلية (كما أشارت وزارة الخارجية الأمريكية في مؤتمر صحفي في 2 نيسان/أبريل)، ينبغي عليها أيضاً إعلام الأطراف المعنية أن العملية الانتقالية يجب أن تكون سلميةً وشفافة. ويمكن أن تبدأ هذه الرسالة باتصال تهنئة من قبل وزير الخارجية الأمريكي مايك بومبيو إلى الرئيس الجزائري المؤقت، بالإضافة إلى بعث رسائل خاصة إلى جهات اتصال عسكرية رفيعة المستوى فضلاً عن رسائل من السفارة الأمريكية إلى الشعب الجزائري عبر موقع "تويتر" ومنصات أخرى.

 

بين فيشمان هو زميل أقدم في معهد واشنطن والمدير السابق لشؤون شمال إفريقيا في "مجلس الأمن القومي" الأمريكي.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

Policy Alert

Bouteflika Resigns: Next Steps in Uncharted Territory

Ben Fishman

Also available in العربية

April 3, 2019


The accelerating pace of events calls for a careful U.S. response, since instability in Algeria could cause significant disruptions in North Africa, the Mediterranean, energy markets, and counterterrorism.

On April 2, Algerian president Abdelaziz Bouteflika submitted his resignation to the Constitutional Council, a move that followed six weeks of massive demonstrations by citizens protesting his prospective fifth term and other issues. The president’s loyalists attempted to appease the demonstrators with a series of partial concessions: postponing elections until year’s end; promising that Bouteflika would not seek another term; proposing a constitutional amendment process and transition plan led by internationally respected diplomat Lakhdar Brahimi; and reshuffling the cabinet twice. The largely inchoate protest movement accepted none of these ideas, particularly the proposal to extend the fourth term of an infirm president who has not appeared in public since suffering a serious stroke in 2013.

Army chief of staff Ahmed Gaid Salah raised the pressure on March 26 when he called for applying Article 102 of the constitution, which would formally declare the president unable to serve. Yet protestors greeted even that approach skeptically and began demanding change to “the system,” suggesting frustration with continued rule by a nontransparent elite.

For now, the head of Algeria’s upper house of parliament, Abdelkader Bensalah, will assume the role of interim president as mandated by the constitution—so long as the constitution remains valid. Beyond that, what will happen next is a matter of speculation. Yet several principles should guide how Washington approaches the situation going forward.

Beware of analogies. As tempting as it may be to compare Algeria’s predicament to other regional developments—such as the mass protest movement and subsequent military dominance in Egypt, the Assad regime’s brutal crackdown in Syria, or the crony capitalism seen in Tunisia—the current situation should be treated on its own merits. Many have observed that Algeria already experienced an “Arab Spring” in the early 1990s, when it experimented with open elections only to cancel them when Islamists won, setting off a civil war and “Black Decade.” Although this is certainly a valid historical data point, assuming that it will dissuade the protestors, military, or government from escalating to violent confrontations during the present crisis may be wishful thinking. There is simply not enough clarity about how the decisionmaking circle and broader ruling class (i.e., “Le Pouvoir”) operate, leaving observers with little more than general speculation about how authorities might respond to the current crisis.

Watch the military. Did Gaid Salah’s proposed constitutional solution to ousting Bouteflika signal a break within the ruling circle, or an active effort by certain elements to move beyond the ailing president while preserving their overall power? Some observers have called his actions a coup; according to some reports, he privately demanded Bouteflika’s resignation right before the president submitted it. How much is the military actually behind this transition, and what additional concessions is it prepared to make if protestors continue demanding free elections and systemic change? To date, government forces have been disciplined about avoiding violence and allowing the protestors to demonstrate freely. Whether that dynamic continues will determine the stability of the coming period, particularly if protestors happen to cross whatever redlines the military may have drawn internally.

It’s the economy, stupid. The prospect of more than twenty years’ of life under Bouteflika may have been the proximate driver of the protests, but the underlying causes were continued economic stagnation, youth unemployment, and poor public infrastructure for a ballooning youth population (44 percent of Algeria’s 42 million residents are under age twenty-four). The government has been burning through its foreign reserves at a rapid rate, accumulated when the price of oil was over $100 per barrel in the mid 2000s. The latest budget includes unsustainable social spending and subsidies.

Meanwhile, efforts to liberalize and diversify the economy have been stymied by those political and business elites who benefit from the current system (some of whom have been prevented from leaving the country over the past several days, potentially signaling plans to scapegoat some of the worst offenders or oust Bouteflika loyalists). Further, statist economic policies limit much-needed foreign investment, especially in the energy sector, where participating companies are required to have at least 51 percent Algerian ownership. Without further exploration and new technology, the country’s oil reserves and production capacity are projected to last only twenty more years. Production has not dipped during the current crisis, but the upheaval did lead Exxon Mobil to suspend talks with the government on shale gas development.

Algeria needs a stable government to address these complicated issues. Any post-Bouteflika administration will no doubt be tempted to increase social spending and ignore long-term investments and reform, but that approach would only worsen the country’s economic health.

In the best case, a caretaker government will lead Algeria toward a constitutional reform process and fair elections, producing an elected government that can begin adopting necessary economic reforms while maintaining the military’s loyalty. Yet the chances of that process unfolding smoothly seem dim.

A smooth transition is in the best interests of the United States given the deep security interests at stake. Algeria borders Libya, the Sahel, and the Mediterranean region, all of which would suffer tremendously if local authorities cannot control the borders and keep a lid on terrorism, smuggling, and mass migration.

Accordingly, while Washington should emphasize that Algerians alone will shape internal events (as the State Department noted in an April 2 press briefing), it should also tell the parties that the transition needs to be peaceful and transparent. That message can start with a congratulatory call from Secretary of State Mike Pompeo to the interim president, reinforced by private messages to senior military contacts and U.S. embassy messaging to the Algerian people via Twitter and other platforms.

Ben Fishman is a senior fellow at The Washington Institute and former director for North Africa at the National Security Council.