أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 3099

نتنياهو مقابل غانتس: حوار عشية الانتخابات الإسرائيلية

إهود يعاري, تال شاليف, و ديفيد ماكوفسكي

متاح أيضاً في English

5 نيسان/أبريل 20195


"في الرابع من نيسان/إبريل، خاطب إهود يعاري وتال شاليف وديفيد ماكوفسكي منتدى سياسي في معهد واشنطن. ويعاري هو "زميل ليفر الدولي" في المعهد ومعلق حاصل على جائزة التلفزيون الإسرائيلي. وشاليف هي رئيسة مراسلي القسم السياسي لمدخل الويب الإسرائيلي "أخبار ولّا". وماكوفسكي هو زميل "زيغلر" المتميز في المعهد ومدير مشروعه حول "العلاقات العربية -الإسرائيلية". وفيما يلي ملخص المقررة لملاحظاتهم".

 

إهود يعاري

تتمحور الانتخابات التي ستشهدها إسرائيل في 9 نيسان/أبريل بشأن أمر واحد: استفتاء حول زعامة رئيس الوزراء بنيامين نتنياهو، الذي أصبحت نقاط ضعفه [مصدر] القوة الرئيسية لخصمه، رئيس هيئة الأركان السابق لـ "جيش الدفاع الإسرائيلي" بيني غانتس. وبدلاً من تقديم حزب "أزرق أبيض" بزعامة غانتس برنامج مفصّل خاص به، يعوّل الحزب إلى حد كبير في خوضه المعركة الانتخابية على اشمئزاز العديد من الناخبين من نتنياهو. 

وتتمثل نية نتنياهو المفترضة في رؤية ما سيحصل بعد الانتخابات. وإذا تم تكليفه بتشكيل الحكومة الجديدة سيحاول تمرير التشريع المعلق (ما يسمى بـ "القانون الفرنسي") الذي سيمنحه الحصانة من الملاحقة القضائية على خلفية اتهامات فساد تلوح في الأفق ضده. وبدلاً من ذلك، قد يسعى إلى التوصل إلى صفقة مع القضاء.

ولكي يحافظ نتنياهو على منصبه كرئيس للوزراء، لا يحتاج لأن يفوز حزبه "الليكود" بمعظم الأصوات. فالأحزاب اليمينية التي يبلغ عددها ستة أحزاب والتي تتأرجح على مقربة من الحصول على 3.25 في المائة من الأصوات الوطنية، وهي العتبة المطلوبة لدخول البرلمان، تشكّل التأثير الأكثر أهمية. وإذا لم تصل إلى هذه العتبة، فقد يخسر الائتلاف المزمع بقيادة رئيس الوزراء مئات آلاف الأصوات.

تجدر الملاحظة أن اتجاه قضايا السياسة الخارجية الإسرائيلية الرئيسية ليس على المحك في هذه الانتخابات، بل أن نتيجتها هي التي ستحدد ما إذا كان باستطاعة أحزاب اليمين الوفاء بعزمها على قلب الثورة القضائية التي أعادت صياغة المحاكم لتكون رقيباً على البرلمان، وهي حركة أطلقها رئيس المحكمة العليا السابق أهارون باراك.

وقد تتمثل النتيجة الأفضل بقيام ائتلاف كبير يضم نتنياهو وغانتس، لكن من غير الواضح ما إذا كان حزب "أزرق أبيض" مستعداً للانضمام إليه. فقد يتيح مثل هذا التحالف اتخاذ المزيد من المبادرات حول القضية الفلسطينية. وقد أيّد نتنياهو نفسه نتيجة مماثلة قبل إعلان لائحة الاتهام المعلقة في شباط/فبراير. وإذا أفرزت الانتخابات حكومة يمينية لا تضم شريحة كبيرة من الأحزاب عوضاً عن ذلك، ستعتمد إسرائيل مقاربة أكثر قومية، تضمّ قيوداً على السلطة القضائية وتحركات أحادية الجانب في الضفة الغربية والقدس الشرقية. 

ولكي يكون حزب "أزرق أبيض" سيد الموقف، سيتعين عليه على الأقل استمالة بعض الناخبين اليهود من معسكر اليمين وفصائل عربية معتدلة. غير أنه لا يزال هناك قدر كبير من عدم اليقين، حيث تشير استطلاعات الرأي إلى أن نسبة تصل إلى 35 في المائة من الإسرائيليين لم تقرر بعد من ستنتخب.

تال شاليف

تتّسم هذه الانتخابات بتطورين مهمّين: تأسيس حزب "أزرق أبيض" ولائحة الاتهام الأولية ضد نتنياهو. غير أنه لا يبدو أن أياً من هذين التطورين قد أضر إلى حدّ كبير بحظوظ نتنياهو للفوز.

إن تحوّل غانتس إلى مرشح بارز في غضون ثلاثة أشهر يُعتبر مثيراً للإعجاب، تماماً كتشكيله فريقاً أمنياً عالي المستوى قادراً على إضعاف إحدى أبرز نقاط قوة نتنياهو. فقد اقترب الجنرال من أن يُعتبر "مناسباً" بنفس القدر كنتنياهو ليكون رئيساً للوزراء أكثر من أي معارض آخر في السنوات الأخيرة. ومع ذلك فإن الغالبية العظمى من ناخبي حزب "أزرق أبيض" هي من يسار -الوسط، علماً بأن عدداً ضئيلاً منهم تحوّل من اليمين.

أما بالنسبة إلى لائحة الاتهام، فتبدو قاعدة نتنياهو مستعدة لمسامحته. كما أنه ازداد قوةّ منذ الانتخابات السابقة بفضل خطوات الرئيس ترامب، لا سيما نقل السفارة الأمريكية إلى القدس، والاعتراف بسيادة إسرائيل على مرتفعات الجولان، وانسحاب الولايات المتحدة من الاتفاق النووي الإيراني. ويعتقد الكثيرون أن نتنياهو - حتى أولئك الذين لا يؤيدونه - هو من مستوى آخر مختلف عن غانتس فيما يتعلق بتنمية علاقات وثيقة مع قادة العالم.

وخلال الفترة التي تسبق يوم الانتخابات، كان نتنياهو يشنّ حملة خبيثة بل ذكية. ففي أولى مراحل الحملات الانتخابية، تعثر حزب "أزرق أبيض" لبضعة أسابيع إلى أن اعتاد أعضاء فريقه على العمل معاً. ومنذ ذلك الحين شدد الحزب على ضرورة كسب أكبر حصة من الأصوات وإقناع الإسرائيليين من معسكر اليسار باختيار حكومة وسطية عوضاً عن منح أصواتهم للأحزاب اليسارية. غير أن هذه الاستراتيجية لن تؤتي ثمارها ما لم يتمكن حزب "أزرق أبيض" من جمع كتلة تتمتع بعدد كافٍ من المقاعد لتشكيل الحكومة المقبلة. ويعتقد قادة الحزب أنهم إذا تمكنوا من الفوز على "حزب الليكود" بزعامة نتنياهو بأكثر من خمسة مقاعد، فسيكون لذلك الفوز تبعات، حيث ستكون هذه المرة الأولى التي تظهر فيها هوة مماثلة منذ عقد من الزمن. وبالتالي على رئيس الوزراء توخي الحذر وسد هذه الهوة دون إهدار الأصوات من الأحزاب اليمينية الأصغر حجماً التي تقف على عتبة تحقيق نسبة الحسم البالغة 3.25 في المائة.

ومن الأمور الرئيسية التي يجب التنبه إليها مباشرة بعد الانتخابات نذكر النتائج التي سيحققها موشيه فيجلين، العضو السابق في "حزب الليكود" الذي أصبح عدواً لنتنياهو وأقام حملته الانتخابية على أساس تشريع الماريجوانا معتمداً أجندة تحررية صارمة، وإعادة إعمار هيكل في القدس حيث تنتصب المساجد الآن. وإذا فاز نتنياهو، فسيبذل قصارى جهده لإبقاء فيجلين خارج ائتلافه.

كما يساور القلق معسكر نتنياهو إزاء الرئيس رؤوفين ريفلين، المسؤول عن اختيار المرشح الذي سيشكل الحكومة بعد الانتخابات. وعادةً، يقع الخيار على المرشح الأكثر تأهلاً لتشكيل ائتلاف أغلبية، لكن بإمكان ريفلين الاستناد إلى مقياس مختلف إذا رغب بذلك.

ديفيد ماكوفسكي

تتمثل الرسالة الأساسية الكامنة وراء هذه الانتخابات في عدم وجود الكثير من الناخبين الذين يتنقلون بين معسكري اليمين واليسار، باستثناء فيجلين. وبالتالي، قد لا يكتسي العدد الكبير للناخبين الذين لم يقرروا بَعْد لصالح من سيدلون بأصواتهم أهمية كبيرة إذا كان هؤلاء الأفراد يأتون من كتلة معينة وليس من الهامش الضيق بين اليمين والوسط.

وقد تحوّل الانقسام بين اليمين واليسار في إسرائيل إلى انقسام بين اليمين والوسط منذ الانتفاضة الثانية. ففي عام 1992، فاز الحزبان اليساريان الرئيسيان، "العمل" و"ميريتس"، بستة وخمسين مقعداً، لكن استطلاعات الرأي تشير إلى أنهما لن يفوزا سوى بـ 18 أو 19 مقعداً هذا العام. وفي المقابل، كانت النتيجة الأدنى التي سجلها يسار-الوسط خلال السنوات الأخيرة ثلاثة وخمسين مقعداً، ومن المتوقع حالياً أن يفوز يسار -الوسط مع حزب "أزرق أبيض" بثمانية وخمسين مقعداً. وفي الوقت نفسه، يعني هذا أنه حتى بعد تشكيل فريق عالي المستوى ومشاهدة المدعي العام يعلن لائحة الاتهام الأولية ضد نتنياهو، لم يتمكن حزب "أزرق أبيض" من دعم يسار-الوسط سوى بخمسة مقاعد.

من ناحية أخرى، قام نتنياهو بتجديد "حزب الليكود" وأبعد عناصره الأكثر ليبرالية. ومن خلال استفادته من العوامل الديمغرافية والعدد المتضائل من الإسرائيليين العلمانيين، وسّع قاعدة حزبه من خلال جعله ائتلافاً من أعضاء من خارجه. وعلى وجه التحديد، عزز العداء تجاه النخبة القديمة، لا سيما المحاكم؛ وانتقد أولئك الذين يتعاطفون مع العرب؛ وفصل القضية الفلسطينية عن التعاون مع الدول الإقليمية الأخرى؛ وسمح بالبناء في الضفة الغربية خارج الكتل الاستيطانية. أما سلطة المنصب الذي يشغله فتصب في صالحه، إلى جانب قدرته المثبتة على اكتساب دعم القادة الأجانب المتنفذين من أمثال ترامب وفلاديمير بوتين.

وفي المقابل، يعتقد الوسط أنه يجب على إسرائيل اتخاذ خطوات للحفاظ على إمكانية صنع السلام مع الفلسطينيين حتى لو كانت المفاوضات مستحيلة في الوقت الراهن. ويشمل ذلك منع إقامة المزيد من المستوطنات خارج الجدار الأمني في الضفة الغربية.

وفي هذا الشأن، ستواجه خطة ترامب للسلام صعوبات جمة بصرف النظر عمن يفوز في الانتخابات. وحتى لو فاز غانتس، فمن غير المرجح أن يدعم أي خطة يمكن للفلسطينيين رفضها بسهولة، ومن المفترض أن يطلب إجراء مشاورات بشأن محتويات الخطة قبل إطلاقها. أما إذا فاز نتنياهو، فإن لائحة الاتهام المعلقة وتركيبة ائتلافه المفترض ستجعله مديناً بالفضل لليمين. وتبعاً لذلك، إذا قدمت واشنطن خطتها للسلام، ورفَضها رئيس "السلطة الفلسطينية" محمود عباس على الفور، فقد يسعى نتنياهو إلى ضم أراضٍ مختارة في الضفة الغربية ويشجع ترامب على دعم هذه الخطوات.

وأخيراً، يمكن لإدارة ترامب أن تسلك أياً من الطريقين فيما يخص دبلوماسية السلام. فإذا شعر الرئيس الأمريكي أن خطته ستبوء بالفشل، فمن المرجح أن يمنع إطلاقها. وكبديل، قد يرى أن إطلاقها هو أفضل وسيلة للمساعدة على إتاحة مجال سياسي أمام تشكيل ائتلاف كبير في إسرائيل.

 

أعدت هذا الملخص باسيا روزنباوم.

تم تنفيذ سلسلة برامج منتدى السياسات بفضل سخاء "عائلة فلورنس وروبرت كوفمان".

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 3099

Bibi vs. Benny: A Conversation on the Eve of Israel's Elections

Ehud Yaari, Tal Shalev, and David Makovsky

Also available in العربية

April 5, 2019


Three veteran political observers discuss the status of each campaign and what a victory by either side might mean for Israeli policy.

On April 4, Ehud Yaari, Tal Shalev, and David Makovsky addressed a Policy Forum at The Washington Institute. Yaari is the Institute’s Lafer International Fellow and an award-winning commentator for Israeli television. Shalev is the chief political correspondent for the Israeli web portal Walla News. Makovsky is the Institute’s Ziegler Distinguished Fellow and director of its Project on Arab-Israel Relations. The following is a rapporteur’s summary of their remarks.

EHUD YAARI

Israel’s April 9 elections are about one thing: a referendum on the leadership of Prime Minister Binyamin Netanyahu, whose weaknesses have become the main strength of his opponent, former military chief of staff Benny Gantz. Rather than presenting a detailed platform of its own, Gantz’s Blue and White Party is running largely on the disgust that many voters feel for the prime minister.

Netanyahu’s presumed intention is to see what happens after the elections and, if tasked with forming the next government, try to enact pending legislation (the so-called “French Law”) that would give him immunity from prosecution on a looming corruption indictment. Alternatively, he could seek a plea bargain.

To remain prime minister, Netanyahu does not need his Likud Party to win the most votes. More important are the half a dozen right-wing parties teetering near 3.25 percent of the national vote, the threshold required to enter parliament. If they fall short of that mark, the prime minister’s planned coalition could lose hundreds of thousands of votes.

The direction of major Israeli foreign policy issues is not at stake in these elections. Rather, the outcome will determine whether right-wingers can fulfill their intention to reverse the judicial revolution that has recast courts as a check on parliament, a movement instigated by former Supreme Court justice Aharon Barak.

The best outcome may be a grand coalition that includes Netanyahu and Gantz, but it is unclear whether Blue and White would be willing to join. Such an alliance would allow more initiative on the Palestinian issue. Netanyahu himself advocated for this result before the pending indictment was announced in February. If a narrow right-wing government emerges instead, Israel will drift further toward a nationalistic approach, including limits on judicial power and unilateral moves in the West Bank and East Jerusalem.

For Blue and White to prevail, the party would need to woo at least some right-wing Jewish voters and moderate Arab factions. Much uncertainty persists, with polls indicating that as many as 35 percent of Israelis still do not know how they will vote.

TAL SHALEV

This election has featured two important developments: the creation of Blue and White and the preliminary indictment against Netanyahu. Neither development appears to have significantly hurt Netanyahu’s chances of winning, however.

Gantz’s transformation into a top candidate in three months is impressive, as is his formation of an all-star security team capable of undermining one of Netanyahu’s key strengths. More than any other opponent in recent years, the general has gotten close to being deemed just as “suitable” for the office of prime minister as Netanyahu. Yet the vast majority of Blue and White voters are from the center-left; few have been pulled from the right.

As for the indictment, Netanyahu’s base seems willing to forgive. He has also been strengthened since the previous elections by President Trump’s actions, namely, moving the U.S. embassy to Jerusalem, recognizing Israel’s control over the Golan Heights, and leaving the Iran nuclear deal. Many people—even those who do not support the prime minister—believe Netanyahu is in a different league from Gantz in terms of cultivating such close relationships with world leaders.

Leading up to election day, Netanyahu has been running a vicious but brilliant campaign. Early on, Blue and White stumbled for a couple weeks as its campaign team learned how to work together. The party has since emphasized the need to garner the largest share of the vote and convince left-wing Israelis to choose a centrist government instead of casting ballots for leftist parties. Yet this strategy will be fruitless unless Blue and White can cobble together a bloc with enough seats to form the next government. Party leaders believe that if they defeat Netanyahu’s Likud by more than five seats, then aftershocks will ensue, since it would be the first time in a decade that such a gap has opened. The prime minister therefore has to be careful, closing this gap without wasting votes from smaller right-wing parties poised on the 3.25 percent threshold.

Key things to watch for immediately after the election include the results for Moshe Feiglin, a former Likud member who has become a Netanyahu enemy and has run on a platform of legalizing marijuana, pursuing a harsh libertarian agenda, and rebuilding a temple in a Jerusalem location where mosques now stand. If Netanyahu wins, he will do everything he can to keep Feiglin out of his coalition.

The Netanyahu camp is also concerned about President Reuven Rivlin, who is responsible for choosing which candidate gets to form the government after the elections. Usually, this decision is based on which candidate is most capable of assembling a majority coalition, but Rivlin can use a different metric if he so desires.

DAVID MAKOVSKY

The main subtext of these elections is that not many people are moving between the right and left blocs, with the exception of Feiglin. Thus, the large number of undecided voters may not be very significant if these individuals hail from within a given bloc rather than the narrow margin between the right and center.

The right/left divide in Israel has transitioned to a right/center divide since the second intifada. In 1992, the two main left-wing parties, Labor and Meretz, won fifty-six seats, but polls indicate they will win only 18-19 this year. In contrast, the lowest tally for the center-left in recent years was fifty-three seats, and this total is projected to reach fifty-eight next week. At the same time, this means that even after forming an all-star team and watching the attorney-general announce a preliminary indictment against Netanyahu, Blue and White has only managed to boost the center-left by five seats.

Meanwhile, Netanyahu has refashioned the Likud and eliminated its more liberal elements. Taking advantage of demography and the declining number of secular Israelis, he has broadened Likud’s base by casting it as a coalition of outsiders. Specifically, he has fostered antagonism toward the old elite, particularly the courts; criticized those who sympathize with Arabs; delinked the Palestinian issue from collaboration with other regional states; and permitted West Bank construction outside the settlement blocs. He also has the power of incumbency on his side, along with his proven ability to attract support from powerful foreign leaders such as Trump and Vladimir Putin.

In contrast, the center believes that Israel must take steps to preserve the possibility of peace with the Palestinians even if negotiations are impossible at the moment. This includes prohibiting further settlements outside the West Bank security barrier.

On that note, the Trump peace plan has a very steep hill to climb regardless of who wins the elections. Even if Gantz prevails, he is unlikely to back any plan that the Palestinians can easily reject, and he will presumably request consultations on the plan’s contents before it is released. If Netanyahu wins, the pending indictment process and the composition of his presumed coalition will make him beholden to the right. Accordingly, if Washington presents its peace plan and Palestinian Authority president Mahmoud Abbas immediately rejects it, Netanyahu might push for selective annexations in the West Bank and encourage Trump to support these moves.

The Trump administration could go either way on peace diplomacy. If the president feels his plan is doomed to fail, he will likely stop it from being released. Alternatively, he may decide that releasing it is the best way to help create political space for a grand coalition in Israel.

This summary was prepared by Basia Rosenbaum.

The Policy Forum series is made possible through the generosity of the Florence and Robert Kaufman Family.