أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 3142

طريقة تفكير الأسد: كيف وصلت سوريا إلى هنا وإلى أين يريد النظام الإتجاه الآن؟

ميشيل دوكلوس و السفير روبرت إس. فورد

متاح أيضاً في English

21 حزيران/يونيو 2019


"في 18 حزيران/يونيو، خاطب ميشيل دوكلوس وروبرت فورد منتدى سياسي في معهد واشنطن. ودوكلوس هو سفير فرنسي سابق في سوريا (2006-2009)، ومستشار خاص لـ "معهد مونتين"، ومؤلف الكتاب الجديد "لا لونغ نوي سيريين" ("ليل سوريا الطويل"). وفورد، هو سفير الولايات المتحدة السابق في سوريا في الفترة (2011-2014)، وزميل أقدم في "معهد الشرق الأوسط" و "معهد جاكسون للشؤون العالمية". وفيما يلي ملخص المقرر لملاحظاتهما".

 

ميشيل دوكلوس

لفهم ما يحدث في سوريا اليوم، على المرء أن يشخّص أولاً الأسباب الجذرية للصراع. فنظام بشّار الأسد يستخدم في أساسه، العنف وسلطة الأقلية الطائفية للحفاظ على حكمه، فيتكيّف مع الظروف الجديدة حسب الحاجة. وتبقى السلطة الحقيقية مركَّزة في أيدي عائلته، في حين اختفى "حزب البعث" تقريباً ويستمر تراجع دور القوات العسكرية في الحكم. وبدلاً منهما، ركّز النظام على تقوية النظام الرأسمالي المحبب، وأجهزة المخابرات، ونظام السجون.

ومع ذلك، لا يزال يتعين على النظام التعامل مع قضايا الشرعية. فباعتقاده أن أغلبية سكّان سوريا التي تتألف من المسلمين السنة لن تقبل أبداً حكم الأسد، الذي ركّز مع أوساطه على الحفاظ على السلطة باستخدام القوة والقمع. وتساعد الحاجة إلى الشرعية أيضاً في توضيح سبب شعوره بأنه مرغم على استعادة المزيد من الأراضي المفقودة خلال الحرب؛ ولهذا السبب يتوق إلى استعادة محافظة إدلب بمساعدة روسيا.

وهناك تبعات أخرى أيضاً ناتجة عن اعتماد الأسد المتزايد على روسيا - إلى جانب إيران و«حزب الله». فلموسكو وطهران العديد من المصالح المشتركة في سوريا، ويعتمد الكرملين على الميليشيات الشيعية المدعومة من إيران للحفاظ على الاستقرار هناك. وقد يختلف البلدان بشأن مستقبل سوريا، لكن من غير المرجح أن يعرّضا علاقتهما للخطر في الوقت الراهن.

وعلى وجه الخصوص، تخشى موسكو من أن التصعيد غير المنضبط بين إيران وإسرائيل قد يعرض استقرار سوريا للخطر. وللاستمرار في التمكن من إدارة هذه المواجهات، اتّخذ فلاديمير بوتين خطوتين أساسيتين هما: السماح لإسرائيل باتخاذ تدابير من وقت لآخر ضد التوسع العسكري الإيراني في سوريا، وإعادة بناء الجيش السوري من أجل إنهاء اعتماد الأسد على إيران ووكلائها. وبالنسبة إلى المفاوضات القادمة بين الولايات المتحدة وروسيا في القدس، فمن المرجح أن تطالب موسكو بالتطبيع الأمريكي مع دمشق مقابل الوعود الروسية بالتعامل مع وجود إيران في المستقبل.

أمّا بالنسبة إلى إعادة الإعمار، فإن الوضع الحالي في سوريا يجعل من الصعب على الغرب الانخراط في أي مبادرات مشابهة هناك. وكان عدم رد الغرب على انتهاكات الأسد في وقتٍ مبكرٍ من الحرب قد علّم النظام أنّه لا يوجد حدود [للعواقب] التي يمكن أن يُفلت منها، بينما اندفع أكثر باتجاه المعسكر الروسي - الإيراني. لذلك ستحتاج الولايات المتحدة والحكومات الأخرى إلى التحلي بالصبر في المرحلة القادمة. وأدّى تواجد القوات الأمريكية في شمال شرق سوريا إلى نتائج إيجابية في مواجهة تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية»؛ وفي المستقبل، سيمنح هذا التواجد نفسه ميّزة عسكرية محليّة لواشنطن وسيساعد على التوسط في التوترات بين تركيا والأكراد السوريين.

روبرت فورد

منذ بدء الحرب، كان هناك جهد لتغيير سرد الأحداث فيما يتعلق بحركة الاحتجاج الشعبي في سوريا. وكانت هذه الحركة بمعظمها سلميّة في جميع أنحاء البلاد. وركّزت المطالب الأساسية للمتظاهرين في البداية على محاسبة أجهزة الاستخبارات بصورة أكثر على أعمالها، وليس إجبار الأسد على التنحي. إلا أنّ النظام عارض أي مساءلة أو مشاركة للسلطة وردّ على المتظاهرين باستخدام القوة، معتمداً على العنف للاحتفاظ بالسلطة منذ ذلك الحين.

وفي عام 2017، علّق الأسد قائلاً إنّ حلمه هو إنشاء دولة سوريّة أكثر تجانساً. فهو لا يدعم عودة اللاجئين وقد اتّخذ خطوات لضمان عدم دخولهم مجدداً إلى البلاد. ويستمرّ النظام أيضاً في التخلص من جماعات المعارضة واستعادة الأراضي من دون أخذ المظالم الاقتصادية المحليّة أو خطط إعادة الإعمار المستقبلية في الحسبان. وفي غضون ذلك، كان الأسد يمنح المزايا لفئة صغيرة من نُخب عالَم الأعمال الذين يدعمون النظام الرأسمالي المحبب. وقد دمّرت هذه التكتيكات مجتمعةً الطبقة الوسطى في سوريا إلى حدٍ كبير.

وفيما يتعلّق بروسيا، يتمثّل الهدف الأساسي لموسكو في سوريا بضمان بقاء الدولة. إذ يدرك بوتين أنّه يتنافس مع طهران هناك لكنّه يتأنّى في كيفية التصدي للوجود الإيراني. ويشكّل ذلك جزءاً من سبب طلبه من إسرائيل الحد من مدى استهدافها في سوريا.

وبالنسبة إلى قمة القدس، سترفض روسيا على الأرجح أي مطالب أمريكية - إسرائيلية لتقديم تنازلات متعلقة بإيران تقوّض الوجود الخاص بموسكو في المنطقة. وبدلاً من ذلك، سيطلب بوتين على الأرجح تنازلات كبيرة من المسؤولين الأمريكيين والإسرائيليين مقابل الوعود باحتواء الأنشطة الإيرانية في سوريا في نهاية المطاف. وحتى الآن، ما زال من غير الواضح أي نوع من التنازلات ستكون واشنطن مستعدة لتقديمها. ومهما كان الأمر، لا بدّ من أن يفهم المسؤولون الأمريكيون أنّ روسيا وإيران تتشاركان هدف تقليص النفوذ الأمريكي في الشرق الأوسط. ورغم أنّ محاولة التسبب بانقسامٍ بينهما قد تؤدي إلى نجاحات تكتيكية قصيرة المدى، إلا أنها لن تؤدي على الأرجح إلى نتائج مهمة على المدى الطويل.

وأخيراً، أوضح الكونغرس الأمريكي الحالي أنّه لن يدعم أي جهود لإعادة الإعمار في أجزاء سوريا التي تخضع لسيطرة الأسد. وما يؤزّم هذا الموقف هو واقع بقاء المصالحة الوطنية السورية مستبعدة إلى حدٍ كبير، لأن النظام مصممٌ على الحكم من خلال [اتباع طرق] التخويف والإكراه.

 

أعد هذا الملخص زياد بوشلاغم.

تم تنفيذ سلسلة برامج منتدى السياسات بفضل سخاء "عائلة فلورنس وروبرت كوفمان".

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 3142

Assad's Thinking: How Did Syria Get Here, and Where Does the Regime Want to Go Now?

Michel Duclos and Ambassador Robert S. Ford

Also available in العربية

June 21, 2019


Former American and French ambassadors discuss the regime's calculus and preview the upcoming U.S.-Russia summit in Jerusalem. Watch video or read a summary.

On June 18, Michel Duclos and Robert Ford addressed a Policy Forum at The Washington Institute. Duclos is a former French ambassador to Syria (2006-2009), a special advisor to Institut Montaigne, and author of the new book La Longue Nuit Syrienne. Ford, the U.S. ambassador to Syria from 2011 to 2014, is a senior fellow at the Middle East Institute and the Jackson Institute for Global Affairs. The following is a rapporteur’s summary of their remarks.

MICHEL DUCLOS

To understand what is going on in Syria today, one must first diagnose the conflict’s root causes. Bashar al-Assad’s regime, at its foundation, uses violence and sectarian minority power to maintain its rule, adjusting to new circumstances as needed. Real power remains concentrated in the hands of his family, while the Baath Party has nearly vanished and the military’s role in governance continues to decrease. In their place, the regime has focused on strengthening the crony capitalist system, the intelligence services, and the prison system.

Even so, the regime still has to deal with issues of legitimacy. Believing that Syria’s Sunni Muslim majority population will never accept Assad’s rule, he and his circle have focused on maintaining power by force and suppression. The need for legitimacy also helps explain why he feels compelled to retake more of the territory lost during the war; this is why he is desperate to retake Idlib province with Russia’s help.

Assad’s increasing reliance on Russia—along with Iran and Hezbollah—has other implications as well. Moscow and Tehran share many common interests in Syria, and the Kremlin relies on Iranian-backed Shia militias to maintain stability there. The two countries might disagree over Syria’s future, but they are unlikely to jeopardize their relationship for the time being.

In particular, Moscow fears that uncontrolled escalation between Iran and Israel might endanger Syria’s stability. To keep such confrontations manageable, Vladimir Putin has taken two key steps: allowing Israel to take occasional action against Iranian military expansion in Syria, and rebuilding the Syrian army in order to end Assad’s dependence on Iran and its proxies. As for the upcoming U.S.-Russia negotiations in Jerusalem, Moscow will likely demand American normalization with Damascus in exchange for Russian promises to deal with Iran’s presence in the future.

Regarding reconstruction, the current situation in Syria makes it difficult for the West to be involved in any such initiatives there. The West’s lack of response to Assad’s abuses earlier in the war taught the regime there was no limit to what it could get away with, while also pushing it further into the Russian-Iranian camp. The United States and other governments will therefore need to exercise patience going forward. The presence of U.S. forces in northeast Syria has yielded positive results in countering the Islamic State; in the future, this same presence would give Washington a local military advantage and help mediate tensions between Turkey and the Syrian Kurds.

ROBERT FORD

Since the war began, there has been an effort to change the narrative regarding Syria’s popular protest movement. For the most part, this movement was peaceful all across the country. The protestors’ main demands at the outset focused on holding the intelligence services more accountable for their actions, not forcing Assad to step down. Yet the regime opposed any accountability or power sharing and responded to demonstrators with force, relying on violence to retain power ever since.

In 2017, Assad commented that his dream was to create a more homogeneous Syria. He does not support the return of refugees and has taken steps to ensure they do not reenter the country. The regime also continues to eliminate opposition groups and reclaim territory without accounting for local economic grievances or future reconstruction plans. Meanwhile, Assad has been granting favors to a small class of business elites who support the crony capitalist system. Taken together, these tactics have largely destroyed Syria’s middle class.

Regarding Russia, Moscow’s core goal in Syria is ensuring the state’s survival. Putin understands that he is competing with Tehran there but has been careful in how he pushes back against the Iranian presence. This is partly why he asked Israel to limit the extent of its targeting in Syria.

As for the Jerusalem summit, Russia will likely reject any U.S.-Israeli requests for Iran-related concessions that undermine Moscow’s own presence in the region. Instead, Putin will probably demand heavy concessions from U.S. and Israeli officials in return for promises of eventually containing Iranian activities in Syria. So far, it remains unclear what sort of concessions Washington is willing to make. Whatever the case, U.S. officials need to understand that Russia and Iran share the goal of reducing American influence in the Middle East. Although attempting to drive a wedge between them may lead to short-term tactical successes, it is unlikely to yield significant results in the long term.

Finally, the current U.S. Congress has made clear that it will not support any reconstruction efforts in parts of Syria that are under Assad’s control. This stance is compounded by the fact that Syrian national reconciliation remains highly unlikely, since the regime is bent on ruling through intimidation and coercion.

This summary was prepared by Zied Bouchlaghem.

The Policy Forum series is made possible through the generosity of the Florence and Robert Kaufman Family.