أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 3310

مسؤولو الصحة العرب يناقشون محاربة مرض "كوفيد-19"

جعفر علاوي, سعد جابر , و عبدالله القويزاني

متاح أيضاً في English

30 نيسان/أبريل 2020


"في 29 نيسان/أبريل، خاطب جعفر علاوي، سعد جابر وعبدالله القويزاني منتدى سياسي افتراضي في معهد واشنطن. والدكتور علاوي، الذي أصبح وزير الصحة العراقي في تشرين الأول/أكتوبر الماضي، أُعيد ترشيحه لهذا المنصب في الحكومة المرتقبة لرئيس الوزراء المكلف مصطفى الكاظمي. والدكتور جابر، وزير الصحة الأردني، شغل منصب مدير "معهد الملكة علياء للقلب" ورئيس "جمعية القلب الأردنية". أما الدكتور القويزاني فهو المدير التنفيذي لـ "المركز الوطني للوقاية من الأمراض ومكافحتها" في السعودية، المعروف أيضاً باسم "وقاية". وفيما يلي ملخص المقررة لملاحظاتهم".

جعفر علاوي

يعني وصول وباء "كوفيد-19" إلى العراق، تعامُل البلاد مع العديد من المشاكل في الوقت نفسه. وتعتمد العراق بشكل كبير على النفط، وقد انخفضت الأسعار بشكلٍ ملحوظ. كما تشهد البلاد احتجاجات مناهضة للحكومة في الشوارع في وقت لا تزال فيه حكومة تصريف الأعمال في السلطة.

وفيما يتعلق بالوباء، عانى العراق من 1927 حالة من مرض الـ "كوفيد-19" حتى 28 نيسان/أبريل، من بينها 1319 حالة شفاء. وبعبارة أخرى، تبلغ نسبة الأشخاص الذين تمّ شفاؤهم 68 في المائة من المصابين. وعلى الرغم من أنه قد يكون هناك بعض النقص في الإبلاغ عن الإصابات بسبب محدودية الفحوصات والقلق بشأن وصمة العار الاجتماعية، إلّا أنه لا يوجد نقص في الإبلاغ عن الوفيات، حيث يمكن للحكومة التحقق من هذه الأعداد من خلال مراسم الدفن وشهادات الوفاة. وتدّعي بعض وسائل الإعلام أنّ عدد الحالات في العراق وصل إلى عشرات الآلاف، لكن هذا غير صحيح. وترصد سلطات "منظمة الصحة العالمية" في بغداد التقارير الحكومية [حول انتشار الوباء]. وبدأ المنحنى يوقف تصاعده حالياً، على الرغم من أن عدد كبير من العراقيين في الخارج الذين يتطلّعون إلى العودة إلى البلاد قد يثيرون بعض المشاكل.

والتحدي الآخر الذي تواجهه البلاد هو قُرب العراق الجغرافي والثقافي من إيران، الدولة التي شهدت عدداً كبيراً من الحالات في وقت مبكر، لا سيّما في مدينة قُم. فكان من الصعب جدّاً إغلاق الحدود بين البلدين التي يبلغ طولها 1000 ميلٍ بسبب عدة عوامل، من بينها المعدل المرتفع من التزاوج بين العراقيين والإيرانيين، والعدد الكبير من السكّان الشيعة في العراق، والحجم الكبير من التجارة الثنائية بين البلديْن.

ومع ذلك، ساعد إقفال جميع الحدود العراقية، وإغلاق المدارس، وتنفيذ حظر التجول على تخفيض عدد الحالات المحلية بشكلٍ كبير. وفي وقتٍ مبكرٍ من الأزمة، شنّت الحكومة حملة إعلامية عالية المستوى، أعلمت فيها الناس بأهمية التباعد الاجتماعي والوقاية وغسل اليديْن وارتداء القفازات والأقنعة. وازداد الالتزام بهذه القيود تدريجيّاً، على الرغم من أنه لا يزال هناك مجال للتحسين. ووقفَ كبار رجال الدين السنة والشيعة إلى جانب وزارة الصحة لمنع التجمعات الكبيرة في الجوامع ورحلات الحج. وتم الإبلاغ عن بعض الخروقات، إلا أن عدد الزيارات الإجمالية إلى مواقع الأئمة والجوامع تراجع إلى حوالي 5-10 في المائة.

وفي بداية الوباء، كان العراق قادراً على فحص الأفراد الذين يصلون إلى البلاد وأولئك الذين كانوا يعانون من الأعراض. واليوم بإمكانه إجراء فحص عام في المناطق ذات الكثافة السكانية العالية. وتلقت الحكومة دعماً دولياً من الصين والكويت و"جامعة لندن" و"منظمة الصحة العالمية"، في حين وفّرت القوات العسكرية الأمريكية المعدات. وساهمت هذه المساعدة في معالجة الشكاوى الأولية للناس حول نقص معدات الحماية الشخصية. وبدأت الحكومة بتوفير الأقنعة للناس مجّاناً، وبالتالي خفّفت من مشكلة التلاعب بالأسعار.

وعلى الصعيد المالي، قدّم "البنك المركزي" والمصارف الخاصة مساعدات كبيرة للبلاد، مما عزز الآمال في [تقوية] الاقتصاد العام. وتتفاوض الحكومة حالياً بشأن [الحصول على] المزيد من الدعم المالي من الولايات المتحدة. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، يتم إنتاج كميات كبيرة من الأرز والخضروات، وقد أفاد وزير الزراعة بأن العراق مستعد لتصدير الأرز والقمح.

أما الواقع بأن العراق والأردن يشهدان عدداً من الإصابات والوفيات أقل بكثير مما تواجهه الأنظمة الصحية المتفوقة في الولايات المتحدة وأوروبا، فيتمثّل أحد التفسيرات المحتملة في وجود أنواع متعددة من فيروس كورونا. وأشار زميل في "كلية لندن الإمبراطورية" إلى احتمال وجود ثلاثة أنواع ("أ" و"ب" و"ج") - أحدها خفيفٌ، وثاني له تأثيرات متوسطة، وثالث يعرض الخطر للموت بنسبة مرتفعة. وأفاد بعض العلماء الصينيين في صحيفة حسنة السمعة بوجود نوعيْن مختلفيْن، أطلقوا عليهما "إل" (L) و"إس" (S). وأحد هذيْن النوعيْن عدواني وأصاب 70 بالمائة من الناس في الصين، والنوع الآخر أقل خطورةً ويُسبب أعراضاً طفيفة. وقد يكون هذا التفاوت مبنيّاً أيضاً على الطقس، أو على عدد الأشخاص الذين تم تطعيمهم ضد الأمراض الأخرى للجهاز التنفسي، أو واقع تنفيد إجراءات الإغلاق الشديدة في العراق في وقتٍ مبكر قبل أن يتم اتخاذها في أوروبا والولايات المتحدة. ومن المستحيل تحديد سببٍ واحدٍ معيّنٍ في الوقت الحالي. وعلى أي حال، يتكيّف العراق حاليّاً مع الوضع، ولكن إذا ازدادت الحالات بشكلٍ كبير، فقد تكون النتائج كارثية.

سعد جابر

إن الوضع في الأردن تحت السيطرة. فمعظم الحالات التي تم الإبلاغ عنها مؤخراً هي عن سائقي الشاحنات القادمين من الخارج، ويتم فحصهم جميعاً عند دخولهم البلاد. ولم تتوقف التجارة، على الرغم من إغلاق الحدود أمام رحلات السفر العادية. وبدأت الحكومة في فتح القطاع التجاري، الذي كان مغلقاً في الأيام الأربعين الماضية. كما أبلى الأردن بلاءً حسناً في الحملة الإعلامية التي أطلقها في أواخر كانون الثاني/يناير، والتي بنت الثقة مع الناس وسهّلت الالتزام بإجراءات الإغلاق. أما المهمة التالية فهي حجر الطلّاب العائدين إلى الأردن من الخارج؛ وتتمثل الخطة في إخضاعهم لفحصيْن، الأول في المطار والثاني بعد أربعة عشر يوماً من الحجر الصحي.

وتتعدد على الأرجح العوامل الكامنة وراء الاختلاف في حجم الحالات بين مختلف البلدان، ولكن من غير المحتمل أن تختلف ضراوة العدوى من مكانٍ إلى آخر. وعندما قامت الحكومة الأردنية بِسَلْسَلة الفيروسات وراثياً بمساعدة أحد المراكز في سان دييغو، وجدت أن معظم تلك التي دخلت الأردن جاءت من الولايات المتحدة وبلجيكا وأستراليا وبريطانيا وإيطاليا. ولم يأتِ أيٌّ منها من الصين.

والجدير بالذكر أن هناك عدد كبير من السكّان اللاجئين في الأردن المنتشرين في ثمانية مخيمات، أكبرها يضم 80,000  شخصٍ. وقد طبّقت الحكومة في هذه المخيمات المعايير نفسها التي طبّقتها في بقية أنحاء البلاد، بما فيها عمليات الإغلاق والمراقبة وحملات التوعية. كما قيّدت الحركة داخل المخيمات وخارجها. وبفضل هذه الإجراءات الصارمة، لم تُسجَّل أي حالة في أيٍّ من المخيمات. والأردن الآن بصدد بناء مستشفيات متنقّلة، وكل ذلك بينما تنسّق البلاد النهج الذي تعتمده في المخيمات مع "منظمة الصحة العالمية" و "المفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين".

ولا يشكّل النقص في الإبلاغ عن الحالات مشكلةً. فعدد الحالات في الأردن أقل من الغرب بسبب إجراءات الإغلاق الصارمة. وقد شددت الحكومة على الشفافية والصدق طوال الأزمة؛ فالمشكلة كبيرة جدّاً ولا يمكن إخفاؤها عن الشعب. وستتمكن البلاد قريباً من فحص 10,000 شخصٍ يومياً، وهو عددٌ يمكن مقارنته مع الفحوصات التي تجري في الولايات المتحدة.

وفي غضون ذلك، يعمل الأردن مع النظام الدولي ويتاجر في السلع الأساسية. ويشمل ذلك إنتاج الهيدروكسي كلوروكين، وفي غضون الأسبوع المقبل، سيعمل على تصدير الأقنعة والمآزر. ويقوم "البنك المركزي" بتخفيف العبء الاقتصادي من خلال توفير قروض دون فوائد تساعد الشركات على إبقاء الموظفين على جدول الرواتب. وعلى النحو نفسه، تمكّنت حملة التبرع الحكومية الضخمة من دعم أكثر من 150,000 أسرة.

وبالفعل، سلّط الوباء الضوء على الترابط بين الصحة العامة والاقتصاد. وسيكون العالَم ما بعد وباء "كوفيد" مختلفاً تماماً، وسيتذكّر الناس تقدير أهمية التواصل الاجتماعي والحرية والوحدة.

عبدالله القويزاني

إن التجربة السعودية الماضية في التعامل مع "متلازمة الشرق الأوسط التنفسية" لا تُقدَّر بثمن عند محاربة وباء "كوفيد-19". وقد أصدر الملك سلمان مرسوماً يسمح للجميع في البلاد، من بينهم المقيمين الذين لا يملكون أي مستندات، بالعلاج المجّاني من المرض. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، أوقفت المملكة العمرة، وقيّدت السفر الدولي، وأغلقت المدارس والجوامع، وحظرَت التنقّل بين المدن السعودية. وتم تحديد الحالة الأولى في المملكة في مدينة صغيرة في المنطقة الشرقية. ومنذ ذلك الحين، ساعد تعقّب مخالطي المصابين والتزام الحجر الصحي على إبقاء عدد الحالات منخفضاً ليبلغ حوالي 20,000 حالة في آخر إحصاء، مع 150 حالة وفاة.

وتعهّدت المملكة بدفع مبلغ 500 مليون دولار لمكافحة وباء "كوفيد-19" على الصعيد العالمي، على أمل أن يسرّع ذلك عملية إيجاد اللقاح. أما "المركز الوطني للوقاية من الأمراض ومكافحتها" في السعودية الذي أُنشئ حديثاً فهو صغير، لكنّ الحكومة ملتزمة بتوسيع نطاق اختباراتها وعملها مع المجتمع الدولي. وهي تقترب الآن من تحقيق القدرة على فحص 22,000 شخصٍ يومياً وما يصل إلى 9 ملايين شخص سنوياً. كما خصصت خمسةً وعشرين مستشفًى لتلبية الطلب المتوقَّع. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، قامت المملكة بتلقيح 4.5 مليون شخصٍ ضد الإنفلونزا - وهو إجراء مهم مع اقتراب فصل الشتاء وتداخُل الإصابة بوباء "كوفيد-19" مع الأمراض الموسمية للجهاز التنفسي .

وهناك الكثير من الأمور المجهولة عن الفيروس، مثل سبب اختلافه من بلدٍ لآخر. غير أنه علّمنا العديد من الدروس حتى الآن وهي: أنه يمكن القيام بقدر كبير من العمل عن بُعد؛ وأنّ القضايا الصحّيّة تؤثّر على القطاعيْن الاقتصادي والاجتماعي على حدٍّ سواء؛ وأنّ هناك حاجة ماسة إلى مزيد من التأهب لمواجهة الأوبئة نظراً إلى خطر الإصابة بالأمراض المستقبلية. ومن الضروري اتباع نهج "الصحة الواحدة"، الذي يشمل التعاون متعدد القطاعات والتعاون الحكومي الدولي في تحديد الأمراض الجديدة.

 

أعدت هذا الملخص إليز بور. أمكن تنفيذ سلسلة برامج منتدى السياسات بفضل سخاء "عائلة فلورنس وروبرت كوفمان".

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 3310

Arab Health Officials Discuss Fighting COVID-19

Jaafar Allawi, Saad Jaber, and Abdullah Algwizani

Also available in العربية

April 30, 2020


Three senior officials from Iraq, Jordan, and Saudi Arabia share a behind-the-scenes look at each country’s efforts to contain the pandemic.

On April 29, Jaafar Allawi, Saad Jaber, and Abdullah Algwizani addressed a virtual Policy Forum at The Washington Institute. Dr. Allawi, approved as Iraq’s health minister last October, was just re-nominated for his post in the prospective government of Prime Minister-designate Mustafa al-Kadhimi. Dr. Jaber, the health minister of Jordan, has also served as director of the Queen Alia Heart Institute and president of the Jordan Cardiac Society. Dr. Algwizani is executive director of the Saudi Center for Disease Prevention and Control, also known as Weqaya (Prevention). The following is a rapporteur’s summary of their remarks.

JAAFAR ALLAWI

The arrival of COVID-19 means Iraq is dealing with several problems concurrently. The country is very dependent on oil, and prices have dropped significantly. It is also experiencing anti-government street protests at a time when a caretaker government is still in power.

As for the pandemic, Iraq has suffered 1,927 COVID-19 cases as of April 28, 1,319 of which have been cured. In other words, the ratio of people being cured is 68 percent. Although there may be some underreporting of infections due to testing limitations and concerns about social stigma, there is no underreporting of deaths, since the government can check these numbers against burials and death certificates. Some media outlets claim the number of Iraqi cases has reached into the tens of thousands, but this is untrue. World Health Organization authorities in Baghdad monitor the government’s reporting. The curve is now plateauing, though the significant number of Iraqis abroad who are looking to return home could raise issues.

Another challenge is Iraq’s physical and cultural proximity to Iran, a country that experienced a high number of cases early on, especially in Qom. Several factors have made closing the 1,000-mile border between them very difficult, including the high rate of Iraqi-Iranian intermarriage, Iraq’s large Shia population, and their high bilateral trade volume.

Even so, closing all of Iraq’s borders, shutting schools, and implementing a curfew have helped tremendously in reducing the number of domestic cases. The government ran a high-caliber media campaign early in the crisis, notifying the public about the importance of social distancing, prevention, washing hands, and wearing gloves and masks. Compliance with these restrictions has increased gradually, though there is still room for improvement. High-ranking Sunni and Shia clergy members have stood by the Ministry of Health to prevent large gatherings at mosques and pilgrimages. Some violations have been reported, but overall visits to Imam sites and mosques have been reduced to approximately 5-10 percent.

At the beginning of the pandemic, Iraq was only able to test individuals arriving in the country and those who were symptomatic. Today it can conduct general testing in high-concentration areas. The government has received international support from China, Kuwait, London University, and the WHO, while U.S. military forces have provided equipment. This assistance helped address initial public complaints about the lack of personal protective equipment. The government began providing masks to the people for free, thereby reducing the problem of price gouging. 

On the financial front, the country’s Central Bank and private banks have helped significantly, bolstering hopes for the general economy. The government is now negotiating additional financial support from the United States. Moreover, large quantities of rice and vegetables are being produced, and the minister of agriculture has stated that Iraq is ready to export rice and wheat.

As for the fact that Iraq and Jordan are experiencing far fewer cases and deaths than the superior U.S. and European health systems, one possible explanation is that there are multiple types of the virus. A colleague at Imperial College has noted there may be three types (A, B, and C)—one of them attenuated, one with medium effects, and one with a high risk of fatality. Some Chinese scientists reported in a reputable journal that two different types exist, calling them L and S. One of these types is aggressive and affected 70 percent of people in China, and the other is less serious and causes minor symptoms. The disparity could also be based on weather, the number of people vaccinated for other respiratory illnesses, or the fact that strenuous lockdown procedures were implemented earlier in Iraq than in Europe and the United States. It is impossible to pinpoint one specific cause at the moment. In any event, Iraq is coping at present, but if cases increase dramatically, the results could be catastrophic.

SAAD JABER

The situation in Jordan is under control. Most of the recently reported cases are truck drivers coming from abroad, all of whom are tested as they enter the country. Trade has not stopped, though the borders are closed to regular travel. The government is beginning to open up the commercial sector, which has been locked down for the past forty days. Jordan also did a good job with the media campaign it launched in late January, which built trust with the people and facilitated compliance with lockdown measures. The next task is to quarantine students coming home from abroad; the plan is to double-test them, once at the airport and again after fourteen days of quarantine.

The difference in case volume between various countries is likely multifactorial, but the contagion’s virulence is unlikely to differ from place to place. When the government genetically sequenced the viruses with help from a center in San Diego, it found that most of the ones entering Jordan came from the United States, Belgium, Australia, Britain, and Italy. None came from China.

Notably, Jordan has a large refugee population spread over eight camps, the largest of which houses 80,000 people. The government has enforced the same standards there as in the rest of the country, including lockdowns, surveillance, and awareness campaigns. It has also restricted movement in and out of the camps. Thanks to these stringent measures, there are no recorded cases in any of the camps. Jordan is now in the process of building mobile hospitals, all while coordinating its approach to the camps with the WHO and the UN High Commissioner for Refugees.

Underreporting is not an issue. Jordan has fewer cases than the West due to stringent shutdown procedures. The government has emphasized transparency and honesty throughout the crisis; the problem is too large to hide from the people. The country will soon have the ability to test 10,000 people per day, comparable to the United States. 

Meanwhile, Jordan is working with the international system and trading essential goods. This includes producing hydroxychloroquine and, within the next week, exporting masks and coveralls. The Central Bank is easing the economic burden by providing interest-free loans that help businesses keep employees on the payroll. Similarly, the government’s massive donation campaign has been able to support more than 150,000 families. 

Indeed, the pandemic has highlighted the interconnectivity of public health and the economy. The post-COVID world will be entirely different, and people will come away with an appreciation for the importance of social contact, freedom, and unity.

ABDULLAH ALGWIZANI

Saudi Arabia’s past experience in dealing with Middle East respiratory syndrome (MERS) has been invaluable in the fight against COVID-19. King Salman issued a decree allowing everyone in the country, including undocumented residents, free treatment for the disease. In addition, the country has suspended the Umrah pilgrimage, restricted international travel, closed schools and mosques, and banned travel between Saudi cities. The kingdom’s first case was identified in a small city in the Eastern Province. Since then, contact tracing and quarantines have helped keep the number of cases down to around 20,000 at last count, with 150 deaths.

The kingdom has pledged $500 million to combating COVID-19 globally, which will hopefully speed up the process of finding a vaccine. The newly created Saudi Center for Disease Prevention and Control is small, but the government is committed to scaling up its testing and working with the international community. It is now approaching the capacity to test 22,000 people per day and up to 9 million per year. It has also dedicated twenty-five hospitals to meet anticipated demand. In addition, the kingdom has vaccinated 4.5 million people for the flu—an important measure as winter approaches and COVID-19 overlaps with seasonal respiratory illnesses. 

There are so many unknowns about the virus, such as why it differs from country to country. Yet it has already taught us many lessons: that a significant amount of work can be done remotely; that health issues affect the economic and social sectors alike; and that greater pandemic preparedness is sorely needed given the risk of future diseases. A “One Health” approach is necessary, including multi-sectoral and intergovernmental cooperation in identifying new diseases.

This summary was prepared by Elise Burr. The Policy Forum series is made possible through the generosity of the Florence and Robert Kaufman Family.