أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 3098

بعد «الدولة الإسلامية»، شعور متجدد بضرورة الإصلاح الديني

دينا الرافعي

متاح أيضاً في English

5 نيسان/أبريل 2019


أعاد الإعلان الأخير للهزيمة الإقليمية لـ تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» («داعش") في سوريا محور تركيز النقاش حول كيفية تحقيق سلام دائم قائم على مبادرات ناجحة في مجال مكافحة التطرف. ويطرح ذلك سؤالاً حاسماً: من الذي يمكن أن يُكلَّف بشكل شرعيٍ بمقاومة الميل الديني إلى الجهادية في المنطقة؟

في 2 نيسان/أبريل، التقى الشيخ أحمد الطيب، الإمام الأكبر لجامع الأزهر، مع الأمين العام للأمم المتحدة أنطونيو غوتيريس في القاهرة، حيث كرر المسؤولان التزامهما بتحقيق سلام دائم حول العالم، ومكافحة التطرف، والحد من الخطابات التي تحضّ على الكراهية. ويأتي ذلك في أعقاب الزيارة التاريخية التي قام بها البابا فرانسيس في شباط/فبراير إلى الإمارات، حيث وقّع والطيب على إعلان وثيقة "الأخوة الإنسانية"، الأمر الذي يشير إلى أن المؤسسة الدينية المصرية المعروفة على نطاق واسع تَعتبر نفسها قوة معتدلة قادرة على الاضطلاع بدور قيادي في مواجهة التطرف بين المجتمعات الإسلامية في العالم. وأكّد الإعلان، من بين جملة أمور أخرى، على أهمية مكافحة التطرف على الصعيد العالمي، مع تشجيع التسامح بين الأديان باعتباره عنصر أساسي لتحقيق هذا الهدف.

وفي حين أن هذه التطورات جديرة بالترحيب، إلاّ أنّ الافتراض بأن الطريقة المثلى لمواجهة التطرف الديني هي من خلال نشر ثقافة التسامح وقبول "الآخر" غير المسلم و"إيقاظ الوعي الديني" - موضوعان أساسيان في الإعلان - لا يأخذ في الاعتبار مسألتين هامتين تخصّان المنطقة. أولاً، إنّ المؤسسات مثل الأزهر التي يُفترض أنها مكلفة بـ "إيقاظ الوعي الديني" هي نفسها تقع تحت ضغط مستمر لإدخال إصلاحات دينية. ثانياً، إنّ التطرف العنيف في المنطقة هو نتاج لعدم وجود أخوة داخل الديانة الواحدة بقدر ما هو نتاج التعصب العام تجاه غير المسلمين.

قيود المؤسسات الدينية الحالية

شكّلت مؤسسة الأزهر محور المناقشات المحتدمة في مصر بشأن قصورها في مواجهة التطرف. وأصبح «الإخوان المسلمون» والوهابيون يُهيمنون على المؤسسة بشكل متزايد، من بين أمور أخرى، مما عزز الكتلة المحافِظة الداخلية التي قاومت بشكل دوري محاولات الإصلاح.

كما تعرّضت المناهج الجامعية التابعة للمؤسسة لانتقادات مماثلة بسبب الحثّ على نشر تعاليم الشريعة المتشددة التي تديم، كبداية، وجهات النظر الاجتماعية التمييزية للغاية التي كانت سائدة في فترات ما قبل الحداثة الاجتماعية، والتي تصف غير المسلمين بالأشرار. وعلى الرغم من أن الرئيس المصري عبد الفتاح السيسي قد مارس ضغوطاً كبيرة على مؤسسة الأزهر لمراجعة سردها، إلا أنه لا يزال يتعين على المؤسسة فعل المزيد لمحاربة الأصولية الدينية بفعالية. ففي عام 2017، على سبيل المثال، صوّتت هيئة كبار علماء الأزهر على رفض طلبات تغيير قوانين الطلاق الذكورية - أي الحق الذي يجيز للرجال وحدهم أن يطلّقوا زوجاتهم دون الحاجة إلى موافقة المحكمة أو الزوجات - بحجة أن القانون الحالي يعكس "الممارسات التي لا جدال فيها التي انتهجها النبي محمد (صلى الله عليه وسلم)."

إن عدم القدرة الظاهرة لمؤسسة الأزهر أو عدم رغبتها في لعب دور أكبر ينبع جزئياً من وضع الحديث الشريف الأقرب إلى القدسية. إذ تشكل تحليلات الحديث الشريف التي تضطلع بها المعسكرات الفقهية المختلفة أساساً لمجموعة كبيرة من الأحكام القانونية. فعادةً، تعتبر تفسيرات الحديث الشريف مطلباً حقيقياً لا يزعزع الولاء لمدرسة الفكر التي تقف وراء هذه التفسيرات. وهذا بدوره يقيّد القدرات الإبداعية للعلماء المسلمين للدفع بشكل كبير نحو الابتكار أو الإصلاح.

ونتيجة لذلك، يتم تجاهل الحقيقة غير المريحة المتمثلة في حاجة دراسات الحديث الشريف في جميع أنحاء العالم إلى إصلاحات هامة. وفي بعض الأحيان، تُفسّر إمكانية تطبيق الحديث على الشؤون الجارية بخلاف معناها الأصلي، كما حدث عندما حاول الموقعون على خطاب عام 2014 الموجه إلى زعيم تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» أبو بكر البغدادي، تشويه سمعة جهاد الجماعة بحجة أن الجماعة قد فشلت في سن مبادئ الجهاد الحقيقي، بدلاً من مناهضة تقاليد الشريعة التي تحرك العنف الذي تمارسه هذه الجماعات. ومن خلال الإخفاق في وضع حجة لاهوتية مضادة أكثر قوة لتبرير سبب عدم سريان هذه القواعد بعد ذلك، تستمر مؤسسات مثل الأزهر في التغاضي دينياً عن الخطابات والممارسات التمييزية تجاه المسلمين وغير المسلمين على حد سواء. فالخطابات والممارسات التمييزية تجاه المسلمين هي أكثر وضوحاً في الانقسام العقائدي السني - الشيعي الذي يعزز الكثير من الصراعات في الشرق الأوسط اليوم، والذي يشكل موضوعاً أساسياً في الدعاية الجهادية.

افتقاد الأخوة داخل الديانة الإسلامية

في الوقت الحالي، إنّ الدول نفسها ذات الغالبية السنية التي تسعى إلى الإصلاح الديني وتطبيع العلاقات بين الأديان (على سبيل المثال، المملكة العربية السعودية) لا تتصدى للتشويه المتأصل لصورة الطوائف الأقلية المسلمة التي تعتبرها المذاهب السنية السائدة مهرطقة - ومن أبرزها الإسلام الشيعي. إن هذا الغياب الملحوظ للمناقشة حول آثار الطائفية الإسلامية ومساهمتها في التطرف العنيف على كل من جانبي هذا الانقسام، من المحتمل أن يعكس جزئياً الاتجاهات الطائفية القوية داخل مدارس الفكر السنية السائدة.

وعلى صعيد آخر، واجهت المحاولات البناءة المتكررة لمعالجة المصادر الدينية المثيرة للمشاكل المرتبطة بالعنف والتطرف أقوى مقاومة من المؤسسات الدينية مثل الأزهر. وفي إحدى الحالات المثيرة للقلق، وصف القائم بأعمال رئيس جامعة الأزهر السابق، أحمد حسني طه، الإصلاحي المصري، إسلام بحيري، علانية بالمرتد لأنه اقترح إمكانية وجود خطأ بشري في الانتقال اللفظي للأحاديث عبر الأجيال السابقة من الإسلام. وكان الأمر الأكثر إثارة للصدمة هو رفض طه المتزامن الحكم بالحرمان على مقاتلي تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» بحجة أنهم نطقوا الشهادة، مما دفع المذيع التلفزيوني أن يسأل، "ألا ينطق بحيري الشهادة أيضاً؟" وفيما تم إقالة طه من منصبه وإعادة تكليفه داخل المنظمة، نادراً ما يتم تقبّل الآراء المخالفة ووجهات النظر المعارضة من خارج المؤسسة الدينية، وغالباً ما يتم مكافحتها بنشاط.

ولا يغيب ذلك عن الجهاديين العابرين للحدود الوطنية، حيث أنّ أعمالهم العنيفة غير المتناهية وتجاوزاتهم الدينية التكتيكية تنمو وسط هذه المجموعة الثابتة من التقاليد القانونية. فالمؤسسات الدينية تسعى للحفاظ على سيطرتها على هذه المخططات القديمة الخاصة بالدولة والمجتمع، حيث أن سلطتها المؤسسية وصلاحياتها مستمدة إلى حد كبير من استمرار احتكار تفسير أحكام الشريعة. وتترجَم هذه الديناميكية إلى استجابة غير فعالة للإسلاميين، الذين يسترشدون نظرتهم للعالم ببعض من مفاهيم الحكم نفسها السابقة للحداثة الموجودة في الشريعة. ولكنها تساعد أيضاً في تفسير الاتجاه العام المتمثل في التعاون الفكري غير المقصود بين رجال الدين المسلمين والإسلاميين السياسيين ضد أهل الفكر المسلمين الذين يختلفون معهم، ومع ذلك فهُم يقدمون أفكاراً ذات إمكانات كبيرة لتطوير خطابات فعالة مضادة للتطرف العنيف.

الاستنتاجات: نهج طويل الأمد للإصلاح الديني

تُعد المحاولات غير الكافية لمعالجة الانشقاقات الفقهية داخل الإسلام، وما ينتج عنها من تعصب تجاه النداءات الخارجية التي تدعو إلى التغيير، من بين العوامل الرئيسية التي تسهم في التطرف الديني في الدول العربية والبلدان ذات الأغلبية المسلمة اليوم. وعلى الرغم من العجز المستمر في تقدّم مجال حقوق الإنسان في معظم دول الشرق الأوسط - وهو في حد ذاته عامل أساسي يساهم في التطرف - فإن اتباع نهج ذي شقين يمكن أن يدفع مصر والدول المجاورة المهتمة بمكافحة الأصولية إلى مزيد من الفكر الديني المعتدل:

  1. دعم النداءات الناشئة التي تدعو إلى الاعتدال الديني داخل المجتمع المدني. يعتمد تعزيز التسامح فيما بين الأديان أو الدين الواحد على القيادة الدينية الرسمية بقدر ما يعتمد على قدرة الفرد على النظر بعين ناقدة في الدين. وعلى الرغم من الإحجام المستمر لمؤسسات مثل الأزهر عن الشروع في إصلاحات بناءة، فقد ساعد المجتمع المدني في سد هذه الفجوة، على سبيل المثال، من خلال طرح أعداد متزايدة من البرامج التلفزيونية المخصصة لانتقاد الدين بشكل مدروس وإبراز أهمية الإصلاح. ومن الأمثلة البارزة في مصر، البرامج التي قدّمها بحيري المذكور أعلاه - مثل الخريطة والبوصلة - وإبراهيم عيسى، أحد أبرز مضيفي البرامج التلفزيونية والصحفيين في مصر، في برنامج "مختلف عليه". والجدير بالذكر أن بعض هذه البرامج يتم إنتاجها في مصر، ويمكن القول إنها كانت نتيجة دعوات السيسي المتكررة من أجل تجديد الخطاب الديني سواء في الداخل أو الخارج. وهذا الاتجاه يستحق الحماية والتوسّع، فهو يشجع على اتباع نهج قائم على قاعدة شعبية يتمتع بمصداقية أكبر من الحملات التي تُفرَض بطريقة تنازلية.
  2. مواصلة الضغط الشعبي على المؤسسة الدينية لإدخال الإصلاحات. يزداد إقبال الشعب على تقديم ردٍّ رسميٍ أكثر عدوانية تجاه التطرف الديني. فعلى الساحة المصرية، شجّع الضغط المتزايد من أجل الإصلاح المسؤولين في الأزهر مؤخراً على اتخاذ موقف أكثر وضوحاً بشأن قضايا مثل تلك المتعلقة بحقوق المرأة. فعلى سبيل المثال، في حديث ألقاه الشيخ الطيب في عيد الأم في مصر، قدّم الباحث حجة قوية ضد تعدد الزوجات. أمّا على الصعيد المؤسسي، فقد اعتمدت الأزهر، بقيادة لجنة مستقلة من الخبراء المصريين والأجانب، تعديلات في المناهج الدراسية تهدف إلى تحقيق التوازن بين السرد الديني والمنظور الثقافي والتاريخي حول تراث البلاد. وفي حين أن علمنة المناهج الدراسية لا تحل على الفور القضايا اللاهوتية الأعمق التي أثيرت هنا، إلّا أنّ الطلاب في المؤسسة سيحظون على الأقل ببعض الحماية من المحتوى التعليمي الانقسامي إلى حين يتم إعادة النظر بشكل كليّ في العلوم الدينية.

 

دينا الرافعي أستاذة مساعدة في "كلية سانت فنسنت" في لاتروب، بولاية بنسلفانيا، وأستاذة مساعدة عائدة في "برنامج مركز جورج مارشال للدراسات الأمنية والإرهابية". جميع وجهات النظر المُعرب عنها في هذا المقال خاصة بالكاتبة.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 3098

After the Islamic State, Renewed Urgency for Religious Reform

Dina Al Raffie

Also available in العربية

April 5, 2019


The IS “caliphate” may have perished, but its ideology and capacity for future outbreaks will persist unless more vigorous reforms are instituted.

The recent declaration of the Islamic State (IS) territorial defeat in Syria has refocused the debate on how to achieve an enduring peace based on successful counterextremism initiatives. This raises a crucial question: who may legitimately be tasked with countering the religious appeal of jihadism in the region?

On April 2, Sheikh Ahmed al-Tayeb, the Grand Imam of Al-Azhar, met with United Nations secretary-general Antonio Guterres in Cairo, where both officials reiterated their commitment to achieving an enduring global peace, countering extremism, and curtailing hate speech. This comes on the heels of the historic February visit by Pope Francis to the United Arab Emirates, where he and Tayeb signed the “Declaration of Human Fraternity,” suggesting that the widely renowned Egyptian-based religious institution perceives itself as a moderating force capable of taking the lead in countering extremism among the world’s Muslim communities. The declaration emphasized, among other things, the importance of fighting extremism globally, while promoting interfaith tolerance as a central component for achieving this goal.

While these are welcome advances, the assumption that religious extremism is best countered through exercising tolerance toward the non-Muslim “other” and “awakening religious awareness”—two central themes within the declaration—fails to take into account two important considerations particular to the region. First, institutions like Al-Azhar that are presumably tasked with “awakening religious awareness” are themselves under continuing pressure to religiously reform. Second, violent extremism in the region is as much an outgrowth of a lack of intra-faith fraternity as it is a product of general intolerance toward non-Muslims.

LIMITATIONS OF CURRENT RELIGIOUS INSTITUTIONS

Al-Azhar has been at the center of heated debates in Egypt regarding its inadequacy in countering extremism. Among other things, the institution has increasingly become dominated by Muslim Brotherhood and Wahhabist elements, reinforcing an internal conservative block that has routinely resisted reform attempts.

The institution’s university curricula have similarly come under fire for pushing orthodox sharia teachings that, for one thing, perpetuate highly discriminatory pre-modern social views that demonize non-Muslims. Even though Egyptian president Abdul Fattah al-Sisi has placed significant pressure on Al-Azhar to revise its narratives, the institution must still do more to effectively combat religious fundamentalism. In 2017, for instance, Al-Azhar’s Council of Senior Scholars voted to reject requests to change patriarchal divorce laws—namely, the right whereby only men can divorce their wives without the need of a court or the wife’s consent—arguing that the current law reflects the “undisputed practice of the Prophet Muhammad (peace be upon him).”

Al-Azhar’s seeming inability or unwillingness to play a larger role stems in part from the near-sacrosanct status of the Islamic traditions (hadith). The analyses of these by various jurisprudential camps form the basis of a large corpus of legal rulings. Customarily, interpretations of hadith deemed authentic demand unwavering fidelity to the school of thought behind the interpretation. This, in turn, restricts Islamic scholars’ creative capacities to substantially push for innovation or reform.

As a result, the inconvenient fact that hadith studies around the world could use significant reforms gets ignored entirely. And sometimes, the applicability of the hadith to current affairs is interpreted away, such as when the signatories of the 2014 letter to IS leader Abu Bakr al-Baghdadi attempted to discredit the group’s jihad by arguing that the group had failed to enact the tenets of true jihad, instead of challenging sharia traditions that drive the violence carried out by such groups. By failing to put together a more robust theological counterargument for why these rules should no longer apply, institutions like Al-Azhar continue to religiously condone discriminatory discourse and practice toward Muslims and non-Muslims alike. The former is most evident in the Sunni-Shia doctrinal divide that underpins so much conflict in the Middle East today, and which constitutes a core theme in jihadist propaganda.

A MISSING INTRA-FAITH MUSLIM FRATERNITY

Currently, the very same Sunni-majority states that seek to religiously reform and normalize interfaith relations (e.g., Saudi Arabia) do not confront the inherent demonization of minority Muslim sects considered heretical by mainstream Sunni doctrines—Shia Islam being among the most prominent. The notable absence of a discussion on the effects of Muslim sectarianism and its contribution to violent extremism on both sides of the divide likely reflects in part the strong factional tendencies within the prevalent Sunni schools of thought.

On another front, repeated constructive attempts to address problematic religious sources linked to violence and extremism have faced the strongest resistance from religious institutions like Al-Azhar. In one alarming case, Egyptian reformist Islam al-Beheiry was publicly apostatized by former acting Al-Azhar director Ahmed Hosni Taha for suggesting the possibility of human error in the verbal transmission of hadith throughout the earlier generations of Islam. Even more shocking was Taha’s simultaneous refusal to excommunicate IS fighters on the grounds that they uttered the Islamic testimony of faith or Shahada, prompting a television host to ask, “Well, does Beheiry not also utter the Shahada?” While Taha has since been removed from his post and reassigned within the organization, dissenting views and opinions from outside the religious establishment are rarely tolerated, and often actively combated.

This is not lost on transnational jihadists, whose unchecked violence and tactical religious transgressions naturally thrive amid this stagnant set of legal traditions. Religious institutions seek to maintain their control over these outdated blueprints for state and society, since their institutional power and authority derive largely from a continued monopoly over the interpretation of religious law. This dynamic translates to an ineffective response to Islamists, whose worldview is guided by some of the same pre-modern notions of governance found in the sharia. But it also helps explain the general trend of unwitting intellectual collaboration between the Muslim clergy and political Islamists against a Muslim intelligentsia with whom they disagree, yet whose ideas present significant potential for developing effective counternarratives to violent extremism.

CONCLUSIONS: A TWO-PRONGED APPROACH TO RELIGIOUS REFORM

Inadequate attempts to address doctrinal schisms within Islam, and the resultant intolerance toward outside voices advocating change, are among the prime contributors to religious extremism in Arab and Muslim-majority countries today. Notwithstanding the persistent deficit in human rights advances in most Middle East countries—itself a significant contributor to extremism—a two-pronged approach could move Egypt and neighboring countries interested in countering fundamentalism to further moderate religious thought:

1. Supporting emerging voices of religious moderation within civil society. Fostering inter- and intra-faith tolerance depends as much on official religious leadership as it does on an individual’s ability to reflect critically on religion. Despite the continued reluctance of institutions like Al-Azhar to initiate meaningful reforms, civil society has helped fill the gap by, for instance, putting out increasing numbers of TV shows dedicated to thoughtfully critiquing religion and making the case for reform. Prominent examples in Egypt include shows by the abovementioned Beheiry—such as al-Khareeta (The Map) and al-Bosla (The Compass)—and Ibrahim Eissa, one of Egypt’s most prominent TV show hosts and journalists, in Mokhtalaf Aleih (Debatable). Notably, many of these shows are being produced from within Egypt, arguably a result of Sisi’s repeated push for renewed religious discourse both at home and abroad. This trend is worth protecting and expanding, and promotes a grassroots approach bound to enjoy more credibility than enforced top-down campaigns.

2. Maintaining public pressure on the religious establishment to reform. There is growing popular appetite for a more aggressive official response to religious extremism. On the Egyptian scene, increased pressure for reform has lately encouraged Al-Azhar officials to take a more visible stand on issues such as women’s rights. For instance, in a talk given by Sheikh Tayeb on Egyptian Mother’s Day, the scholar made a strong argument against polygamy. On the institutional level, Al-Azhar, guided by an independent panel of Egyptian and foreign experts, has adopted curricular amendments aiming to balance the religious narrative with a cultural and historical perspective on the country’s heritage. While secularizing curricula does not immediately solve the deeper theological issues raised here, students at the institution will at least receive some protection from more-divisive educational content until a holistic rethinking of religious sciences is initiated.

Dina Al Raffie is an adjunct assistant professor at Saint Vincent College in Latrobe, Pennsylvania, and a returning adjunct professor with the George C. Marshall Center’s Program on Terrorism and Security Studies. All views expressed in this article are her own.