أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 3052

ما بعد "مؤتمر باليرمو": الإنجازات والتحديات المستقبلية لليبيا

آنا بورشفسكايا, بين فيشمان, و باربارا أ. ليف

متاح أيضاً في English

١٧ كانون الأول/ديسمبر ٢٠١٨


أعطى المؤتمر الدولي حول ليبيا الذي عُقد الشهر الماضي في مدينة باليرمو الإيطالية دفعةً إيجابيةً لخطة الانتقال السياسي التي تقودها الأمم المتحدة، على الرغم من الشكوك الكبيرة [التي ساورت المؤتمر]. وتوصّل الاجتماع الذي عُقد يَومَي 12 و13 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر إلى إجماعٍ على جدول زمني معدّل لإجراء الانتخابات، ووفّر منصةً للأفرقة العاملة المهمة التي تعمل على الأولويات الأمنية والاقتصادية، مع تصرف معظم الجهات الفاعلة بلطف تحت شمس منطقة البحر الأبيض المتوسط.

ومع ذلك، ستتطلب جهود الأمم المتحدة أكثر بكثير من الخطاب الإيجابي في المرحلة القادمة. وتستطيع الولايات المتحدة مساعدة "بعثة الأمم المتحدة للدعم في ليبيا" ("البعثة") ومبعوثها غسان سلامة على أفضل وجه من خلال انخراطها على مستوى رفيع مع الشركاء الأوروبيين والإقليميين - ليس فقط من أجل ضمان دعمهم الحقيقي لخارطة الطريق السياسية المنقحة، بل أيضاً لصدّ جهودهم اللاإرادية لمساعدة بعض الحلفاء المحليين على حساب الوحدة الليبية، وهي ممارسة أعاقت التقدم في الماضي. إن تحقيق الاستقرار في ليبيا أمرٌ أساسي لضمان المصالح الأمريكية في المنطقة ضدّ النشاط الإرهابي المتجدد، والحفاظ على إنتاج النفط الليبي، والحدّ من تأثير المنافسين مثل روسيا على منطقة البحر الأبيض المتوسط - وقد سلّط الضوء على هذا الهدف الأخير الأسبوع الماضي مستشار الأمن القومي الأمريكي جون بولتون في الاستراتيجية الجديدة للإدارة الأمريكية تجاه أفريقيا. ويشكّل الانتقال السياسي والحكومة الشرعية المتعاونة عاملَين ضروريَين لتحقيق هذه الأهداف، وليس فقط الضربات الجوية الدورية على الأراضي الليبية.

ما الذي حققه "مؤتمر باليرمو"

في حين غالباً ما سلّطت المؤتمرات الدولية السابقة الضوء على الاختلافات بين الأطراف الفاعلة، إلّا أن "مؤتمر باليرمو" جمع معظم الأطراف الفاعلة الليبية والدولية ذات الصلة على مستوى رفيع بما يكفي للتعبير عن توافقٍ ناشئ في الآراء حول الخطوات المطلوبة [لجهود] الانتقال. وحتى أن المشير خليفة حفتر، قائد "الجيش الوطني الليبي"، قد حضر بعد أن أعلن أنه سيقاطع المؤتمر، على الرغم من أنه وصل في اللحظة الأخيرة وحصر مشاركته في اجتماعٍ منفصل مع سلامة، ورئيس الوزراء الإيطالي جوزيبي كونتي، ورئيس "حكومة الوفاق الوطني" الليبية فايز السراج، ورؤساء كل من مصر وتونس والمجلس الأوروبي، ورئيسي وزراء روسيا والجزائر ووزير الخارجية الفرنسي. وأبرز من غاب عن هذا الحدث الهامشي هو ديفيد ساترفيلد، مساعد وزير الخارجية الأمريكي لشؤون الشرق الأدنى، الذي كان المسؤول الأمريكي الأعلى في المؤتمر الرئيسي. 

وقد أعاد أعىى"مؤتمر باليرمو" أيضاً إحياء التقدم في مجال الأمن والإصلاح الاقتصادي، حيث تشارك الأمم المتحدة الآن بشكلٍ وثيق. وفيما يتعلق بالأمن، ستواصل "بعثة الأمم المتحدة للدعم في ليبيا" وشركاؤها الدوليون مراقبة [اتفاق] وقف إطلاق النار الذي تفاوضت بشأنه الأمم المتحدة في طرابلس، والبحث عن فرص لتوسيع نطاقه إلى خارج العاصمة. وفي غضون ذلك، قام وزير الداخلية الليبي الجديد فتحي باشاغا، الذي حضر "مؤتمر باليرمو"، بإعادة نشر عناصر الشرطة في طرابلس وحصل على التزامات دولية مضمونة لبرامج تدريب طال انتظارها. كما أيّد المؤتمر الحوار الذي تقوده القاهرة لإعادة هيكلة القوات المسلحة الليبية. وفي النهاية، ينبغي الربط بين المسار الأمني لـ "البعثة" والمسار الأمني المصري لتجنب إضفاء الشرعية على هياكل السلطة المنافسة.

وعلى الصعيد الاقتصادي، دفع "مؤتمر باليرمو" بمجموعةً من الإصلاحات المؤقتة التي بدأ "مصرف ليبيا المركزي" بتنفيذها في أيلول/سبتمبر لمعالجة أزمة العملة والحد من اقتصاد السوق السوداء الذي أثرى الشبكات الإجرامية والميليشيات. وهناك حاجة لإصلاحات أكثر فعالية، بدءاً من تخفيض قيمة الدينار الليبي ووصولاً إلى تخفيض دعم الوقود بشكل كبير. ومع ذلك، أصبحت البلاد [تسير] أخيراً على مسارٍ اقتصادي إيجابي، مع إعلان "المؤسسة الوطنية للنفط" عن أعلى أرباحها لهذا العام في تشرين الأول/أكتوبر.

معضلة الانتخابات

دعم المشاركون في "مؤتمر باليرمو" بشكلٍ عام خطة سلامة التي تقضي بتأجيل الانتخابات حتى ربيع 2019 وعقد "ملتقى وطني" موسع قبل ذلك التاريخ. ولكن سيكون من الصعب حتى التقيد بهذا الجدول الزمني المتأخر. ويكاد يكون من المؤكد أن تتشاجر الأطراف الفاعلة الليبية على مكان انعقاد "المُلتقى الوطني الليبي" والمشاركين فيه وجدول أعماله وفترة انعقاده. والأهم من ذلك، ينبغي أن يرتبط المؤتمر بمسودة الدستور بطريقةٍ ما، إذا كان يهدف إلى وضع مبادئ واضحة ومشتركة على نطاق واسع في جميع أنحاء ليبيا. وفي الوقت الحالي، يسير الدستور على مسارٍ منفصل ومعقّد ويتطلب "أساساً قانونياً" لإجراء استفتاءٍ حول محتوياته. 

والأمر الأكثر صعوبة هو ضرورة إجراء الانتخابات وفقاً لقانونٍ انتخابي، الأمر الذي سيتطلب اتخاذ قراراتٍ بشأن نوع النظام (رئاسي مقابل برلماني) والتسلسل، والمحافظات، والتمثيل الإقليمي - وهي قضايا تعتمد على تحقيق قدرٍ من الحسم في مداولات "المُلتقى الوطني"، وربما عملية صياغة الدستور. وسيشكل إخفاء الخلافات بشأن هذه المسائل وصفةً لجولةٍ أخرى من الانتخابات المتنازع عليها، مثل تلك التي أُجريت عام 2014 والتي قسمت ليبيا إلى حكومتين متنافستين. وفي المقابل، قد يؤدي إجراء انتخاباتٍ مقبولةٍ على نطاقٍ واسع إلى منح الشعب أفضل فرصةٍ لإنهاء الفترة الانتقالية الطويلة ما بعد القذافي.

الحد من التعطيلات

حتى في أكثر السيناريوهات تفاؤلاً، قد يواجه التقدم في المسارات السياسية والأمنية والاقتصادية رد فعل سلبي من الأطراف الفاعلة الداخلية والخارجية التي تستفيد من الوضع الفوضوي الراهن. ولذلك، ينبغي أن يواصل سلامة و"بعثة الأمم المتحدة للدعم في ليبيا" جهودهما المدروسة لإشراك جميع الفصائل الليبية الرئيسية مع الحفاظ على دعم الجهات الفاعلة الدولية الأساسية. لقد بذل كبار المسؤولين الإيطاليين جهوداً هائلةً لدفع الجماعات الممثلة إلى حضور "مؤتمر باليرمو"، ولكن في النهاية، اجتمعت معظم الفصائل الليبية مع الوفود الدولية بشكلٍ منفصلٍ بدلاً من الانخراط مع بعضها البعض. وإذا كان يتعين الإجابة على الأسئلة الأساسية المتعلّقة بهوية ليبيا الوطنية في المستقبل، فسيحتاج المجتمع الدولي إلى الضغط على هذه الأطراف للتقابل وجهاً لوجهٍ في "الملتقى الوطني".  

وتشمل العقبات الرئيسية الأخرى تنفيذ عملية مراجعة لحسابات "مصرف ليبيا المركزي"، الأمر الذي وافقت عليه "حكومة الوفاق الوطني" وحفتر في تموز/يوليو، بعد أن تعهّد هذا الأخير بإعادة منشآت النفط وعائداتها إلى "المؤسسة الوطنية للنفط". يجب على الأطراف أيضاً أن تستعد لحقيقة أن الوضع الأمني الهشّ قد ينهار في أي وقت، لاسيما مع تزايد المخاطر السياسية وقيام الميليشيات أو المخربين الإرهابيين باستهداف مؤسسات رئيسية ليبية أو دولية.

الحالة الشاذة: روسيا

برزت ليبيا بهدوء كساحة محتملة أخرى للتدخل الروسي في ظل غياب القيادة الأمريكية. وقد مال الرئيس فلاديمير بوتين نحو حفتر لسنوات، ولكنه عمل مؤخراً على بناء علاقات مع حكومة السراج والأطراف الفاعلة الأخرى أيضاً، مظهراً نفسه كوسيطٍ محتمل.

وعلى نحوٍ مماثلٍ، سعى حفتر بافتخارٍ إلى الحصول على دعم روسيا، حيث كان يسافر إلى موسكو كلَما شعر بضغطٍ من الولايات المتحدة أو داعميه العرضيين في مصر والإمارات العربية المتحدة. وكان قد سافر إلى هناك مجدداً قبل أيامٍ فقط من انعقاد "مؤتمر باليرمو"، حيث التقى مع وزير الدفاع الروسي سيرغي شويغو، والمسؤول الكبير في الجيش فاليري غيراسيموف، ومع يفغيني بريجوزين صاحب مجموعة المرتزقة الغامضة "واغنر" التي يصفها الكثيرون بالذراع غير الرسمية لوزارة الدفاع. ويشير حضور غيراسيموف إلى أن "المتعاقدين" الروس كانوا يعملون في شرق ليبيا - معقل حفتر - على نحوٍ متقطع خلال السنوات القليلة الماضية، وكان آخرها في الفترة التي سبقت زيارة حفتر.

إن الحصول على دورٍ أكبر في بلد يتميز بأهمية استراتيجية حيوية في شمال أفريقيا من شأنه أن يمنح موسكو نقطة انطلاق للحصول على نفوذٍ أكبر في باقي أنحاء المنطقة، مع تحقيق عددٍ من الأهداف الاستراتيجية الأخرى. وسوف تتناسب موانئ ليبيا مع جهود موسكو لتأمين الوصول البحري إلى جيع أنحاء البحر الأبيض المتوسط. كما أن الكرملين حريص على الوصول إلى موارد الطاقة الليبية، وتنشيط مبيعات الأسلحة القديمة، واستئناف العقود الاقتصادية. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، قد يُظهر الدور الروسي الكبير انتصاراً آخر في ظل "الفشل" الغربي، بما يتماشى مع هدف بوتين الأكبر المتمثل في إبراز القوة على حساب أمريكا، وبالتالي تعزيز شرعيته على الصعيد المحلي - كل ذلك من دون التوصل إلى حل حقيقي للوضع في ليبيا.

أين الولايات المتحدة؟

نظراً لغياب مشاركة أمريكية رفيعة المستوى في محادثات "مؤتمر باليرمو" وغيرها من الجهود الانتقالية الأخيرة، فإن أول نقطة في برنامج عمل واشنطن هي تعيين سفير جديد في ليبيا - وإن كان سيرسل إلى تونس بدلاً من ليبيا نظراً للمخاوف الأمنية التي أثارها هجوم بنغازي عام 2012. وببساطة، لا يوجد بديل لدبلوماسي أمريكي متفرغ يمكنه أن يعمل على الوصول إلى الجهات الفاعلة المحلية والإشراف على التنسيق الإقليمي المطلوب.

ثانياً، ينبغي على واشنطن أن تنخرط بشكلٍ واضح ومستمر على المستوى السياسي. ويشكّل اجتماع وزير الخارجية الأمريكي مايك بومبيو مؤخراً مع السراج في بروكسيل خطوة تحظى بالترحيب، على الرغم من أنه لو حدث مثل هذا التواصل في "مؤتمر باليرمو" لكان أكثر قيمة بكثير، مع وجود العديد من الجهات الفاعلة الليبية. وأظهرت الجهات الفاعلة الإقليمية الأخرى والمفسدين المحتملين الأولوية التي يعطونها لليبيا من خلال إرسال رؤساء ورؤساء وزراء.

ثالثاً، يجب على الولايات المتحدة أن تفعل ما تتقنه، وهو إقناع الشركاء الإقليميين المقربين (مصر والإمارات العربية المتحدة) والحلفاء الأوروبيين (بريطانيا وفرنسا وإيطاليا) بمواءمة جهودهم مع برنامج الأمم المتحدة. ويشمل ذلك الأنشطة الثنائية المنفصلة (مثل مكافحة الإرهاب) التي لها تداعيات سياسية مثل تمكين بعض الميليشيات. وبذلك يمكنهم منع الجهود الروسية لمواصلة دعم حفتر كقوةً مستقلة مهيمنة.

وأخيراً، يتعين على واشنطن الاعتماد على الميزة الأمريكية التي تفتقدها معظم القوى الخارجية الأخرى، وهي سمعتها كوسيطٍ نزيه. ومن المفارقات، أن هذه السمعة ربما تكون قد تعززت، وبالتحديد لأن الولايات المتحدة ابتعدت عن الانخراط في ليبيا على مدى العامين الماضيَين. لقد حان الوقت الآن لانخراط واشنطن من جديد - فجهود "بعثة الأمم المتحدة للدعم في ليبيا" تكتسب زخماً، والولايات المتحدة هي الوحيدة التي تستطيع إعطاء المجال السياسي اللازم للمضي قدماً في المراحل المقبلة من الانتقال الليبي الذي طال انتظاره.

 

آنا بورشفسكايا هي زميلة بارزة في معهد واشنطن. بين فيشمان شغل سابقاً منصب مدير لشؤون الأردن في "مجلس الأمن القومي" الأمريكي.قبل أن ينضم إلى المعهد كزميل أقدم. باربارا ليف كانت سفيرة الولايات المتحدة في الإمارات قبل انضمامها إلى المعهد كزميلة أقدم.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 3052

After Palermo: Achievements and Future Challenges for Libya

Anna Borshchevskaya, Ben Fishman, and Barbara A. Leaf

Also available in العربية

December 17, 2018


The Italian-sponsored stabilization conference produced some positive outcomes, but a genuine breakthrough requires U.S. involvement.

Despite significant skepticism, last month’s international conference on Libya provided a welcome boost to the UN-led political transition plan. Held November 12-13 in Palermo, Italy, the gathering produced consensus on an adjusted timeline for elections and provided a stage for important working groups on security and economic priorities, with most actors playing nice under the Mediterranean sun.

Still, the UN effort will require much more than positive rhetoric going forward. The United States can best support the UN Support Mission in Libya (UNSMIL) and its envoy Ghassan Salame through high-level engagement with European and regional partners—not only to ensure their genuine support for the revised political roadmap, but also to fend off their reflex efforts to aid certain local allies at the expense of Libyan unity, a practice that has stymied progress in the past. Achieving stability there is key to securing U.S. regional interests against resurgent terrorist activity, retaining Libyan oil production, and minimizing the Mediterranean influence of rivals such as Russia—the latter a goal that was highlighted just last week by National Security Advisor John Bolton in the administration’s new Africa strategy. A political transition and a legitimate, cooperative government are required to achieve these goals, not just periodic airstrikes on Libyan territory.

WHAT PALERMO ACHIEVED

Whereas past international conferences often highlighted differences among the actors, Palermo brought most of the relevant Libyan and international players together at a sufficiently high level to convey an emerging consensus on the required steps for transition. Even Libyan National Army commander Gen. Khalifa Haftar attended after declaring he would boycott the event, though he arrived at the last minute and restricted his participation to a separate meeting with Salame, Italian prime minister Giuseppe Conte, Libyan Government of National Accord prime minister Fayez al-Sarraj, the presidents of Egypt, Tunisia, and the European Council, the prime ministers of Russia and Algeria, and France’s foreign minister. Notably absent at this sideline event: David Satterfield, the acting assistant secretary of state for Near Eastern affairs who served as the top U.S. official at the main conference.

Palermo also revitalized progress on security and economic reform, where the UN is now closely involved. On security, UNSMIL and its international partners will continue to monitor the UN-negotiated ceasefire in Tripoli and look for opportunities to expand it beyond the capital. In the meantime, Libya’s new interior minister Fathi Bashagha, who attended Palermo, has redeployed police in Tripoli and secured international commitments for long-needed training programs. The conference also endorsed the Cairo-led dialogue to restructure Libya’s armed forces. Eventually, though, the UNSMIL and Egyptian security tracks should be linked to avoid legitimizing rival power structures.

On the economic front, Palermo pushed forward a set of temporary reforms that Libya’s Central Bank began implementing in September to address the currency crisis and reduce the black market economy, which has enriched criminal networks and militias. More aggressive reforms are required, from devaluing the Libyan dinar to significantly reducing fuel subsidies. Nevertheless, the country is finally on a positive economic trajectory, with the National Oil Corporation reporting its highest earnings of the year in October.

THE ELECTIONS DILEMMA

Participants at Palermo generally supported Salame’s plan to postpone elections until spring 2019 and convene a broad National Conference sometime before then. Yet even this delayed timeline will be difficult to meet. Libyan actors are almost certain to spar over the location, participants, agenda, and length of the National Conference. Most important, the conference will need to be tied to the draft constitution in some fashion if it is to produce clear principles that are broadly shared across Libya. At the moment, the constitution is on a separate, convoluted track requiring “a legal basis” in order to hold a referendum on its contents.

More dauntingly, elections need to be held according to an electoral law, which will require decisions on type (presidential vs. parliamentary system), sequencing, districts, and regional representation—issues that depend on achieving some measure of conclusiveness in the National Conference deliberations and, possibly, the constitutional drafting process. Papering over differences on these matters would be a recipe for another round of contested elections, much like the 2014 polls that broke Libya into two rival governments. In contrast, holding broadly acceptable elections would give the population the best opportunity for ending the protracted post-Qadhafi transition period.

MINIMIZING DISRUPTIONS

Even in the most optimistic scenario, progress on the political, security, and economic tracks may face blowback from internal and external players who benefit from the chaotic status quo. Accordingly, UNSMIL and Salame should continue their deliberate efforts to involve all of Libya’s major factions while maintaining support from the main international actors. Senior Italian officials expended enormous effort to get representative groups to attend the Palermo conference, but in the end, most Libyan factions met with international delegations separately rather than engaging with each other. If the fundamental questions about Libya’s future national identity are to be answered, the international community will need to pressure these parties to meet face to face at the National Conference.

Other major hurdles include implementing an audit of the Central Bank, which the Government of National Accord and Haftar agreed to in July after he committed to return oil facilities and revenue to the National Oil Corporation. The parties must also prepare for the fact that the fragile security situation could break down at any time, especially as the political stakes grow higher and militia or terrorist spoilers target key Libyan or international institutions.

THE OUTLIER: RUSSIA

Libya has quietly emerged as yet another potential arena for Russian interference in the absence of U.S. leadership. President Vladimir Putin has leaned toward Haftar for years, but lately he has worked to build ties with the Sarraj government and other actors as well, positioning himself as a potential arbiter.

Likewise, Haftar has ostentatiously sought Russia’s backing, flying to Moscow whenever he feels pressure from the United States or his episodic backers in Egypt and the United Arab Emirates. He flew there again just days before Palermo, meeting with Defense Minister Sergei Shoigu, senior army official Valery Gerasimov, and Yevgeny Prigozhin, owner of the shadowy Wagner mercenary group that many describe as an unofficial arm of the Defense Ministry. Gerasimov’s attendance is telling given that Russian “contractors” have reportedly been operating in east Libya—Haftar’s stronghold—on and off over the past few years, most recently in the run-up to Haftar’s visit.

Acquiring a larger role in a strategically vital North African country would give Moscow a springboard for greater influence in the rest of the region while advancing a number of other strategic goals. Libya’s ports would fit with Moscow’s effort to secure naval access throughout the Mediterranean Sea. The Kremlin is also eager to access Libyan energy resources, revitalize old arms sales, and resume economic contracts. Moreover, an outsize Russian role would demonstrate another victory in the face of Western “failure,” in line with Putin’s larger goal of projecting power at America’s expense and thereby bolstering his domestic legitimacy—all without bringing genuine resolution to Libya.

WHERE IS THE UNITED STATES?

Given the absence of high-level U.S. involvement in the Palermo talks and other recent transitional efforts, the first order of business for Washington is to name a new ambassador to Libya—albeit dispatched to Tunis rather than Libya given the security concerns raised by the 2012 Benghazi attack. There is simply no substitute for a seasoned, full-time U.S. diplomat who can lead outreach to local actors and oversee the requisite regional coordination.

Second, Washington should engage visibly, and in a sustained fashion, at the political level. Secretary of State Mike Pompeo’s recent Brussels meeting with Sarraj is a welcome move, though such outreach would have been far more valuable had it occurred at Palermo, with multiple Libyan players. Other regional actors and potential spoilers demonstrated the priority they place on Libya by sending presidents and prime ministers.

Third, the United States should do what it does best: convince close regional partners (Egypt, the UAE) and European allies (Britain, France, Italy) to align their efforts with the UN’s program. This includes separate bilateral activities (e.g., counterterrorism) that have knock-on political effects such as empowering certain militias. In so doing, they could block Russian efforts to continue building Haftar up as a dominant independent force.

Finally, Washington should bank on the U.S. quality that most other outside powers lack: a reputation as an honest broker.  Ironically, that reputation may have been heightened precisely because the United States drifted away from engaging in Libya over the past two years. Now is the time for Washington to reengage—UNSMIL’s efforts are gaining momentum, and only the United States can give the mission the political space required to advance the next stages of Libya’s long-overdue transition.  

Anna Borshchevskaya is a senior fellow at The Washington Institute. Ben Fishman served as director for North Africa at the National Security Council before rejoining the Institute as senior fellow. Barbara Leaf was U.S. ambassador to the UAE before joining the Institute as a senior fellow.