أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 3088

"منطقة آمنة" تركية في سوريا: الآفاق والتداعيات على السياسة

مايكل آيزنشتات و سونر چاغاپتاي

متاح أيضاً في English

3 آذار/مارس 2019


يزور وفد أمريكي حاليًا أنقرة من أجل تحديد تفاصيل "منطقة آمنة" تقترحها تركيا على طول الحدود السورية الشمالية الشرقية. وتأتي هذه المحادثات بعدما أعلن الرئيس ترامب أولًا سحب الولايات المتحدة جنودها البالغ عددهم ألفي عنصر من سوريا، ليوافق بعدها على إبقاء 200 جندي في الشمال الشرقي و200 في الجنوب. كيف يمكن لخفض العدد هذا أن يؤثر على آفاق إقامة المنطقة العازلة المقترحة والحفاظ عليها؟ وما هي تداعيات هذه المنطقة على مصالح الولايات الأمريكية في سوريا وخارجها؟  

الوعود الأمريكية والمخاوف التركية

رغم أنّ الرئيس ترامب كان يلتزم بتعهد متكرر كان قطعه خلال حملته الرئاسية عندما أعلن عن الانسحاب الكامل في ديسمبر/ كانون الأول، إلّا أنّ كثيرين قد اعتبروا القرار خطوة متسرعة يمكنها أن تزعزع التوازن الهش الذي أرساه الوجود العسكري الأمريكي في سوريا. وخلال تنفيذ مهمتها لدحر "الدولة الإسلامية"، اعتمدت القوات الأمريكية لفترة طويلة على "وحدات حماية الشعب" السورية الكردية– وهي حليفة محلية فعالة ولكنها في الوقت عينه أحد فروع "حزب العمال الكردستاني" المصنف منظمة إرهابية من الولايات المتحدة والذي يخوض حربًا مع الحكومة التركية منذ عقود.  

في البداية، سمحت أنقرة مكرهةً بالتعاون بين الولايات المتحدة و"وحدات حماية الشعب" إذ أصرّت واشنطن على ضرورة دحر "الدولة الإسلامية". لكن صبر تركيا بدأ ينفذ مع تراجع وتيرة العمليات العسكرية التقليدية الكبيرة ضدّ التنظيم. وقد اعتمد الرئيس رجب طيب أردوغان ومسؤولون آخرون خطابًا أكثر عدائية تجاه "وحدات حماية الشعب"، مهددين بتنفيذ المزيد من التوغلات في شمال شرق سوريا بهدف القضاء على ما يعتبرونه وجودًا إرهابيًا على حدودهم. ولم يتمّ الاستخفاف بهذه التحذيرات نظرًا إلى تدخلات تركيا السابقة بشكل أعمق في الغرب السوري عام 2016 و2018 الرامية إلى الحؤول دون بروز منطقة متاخمة تسيطر عليها "وحدات حماية الشعب" على طول الحدود الشمالية.    

ومع مرور الوقت، أسفر الوجود العسكري الأمريكي عن حدوث تطورين مهمين. أولًا، كان أساسيًا لتشكيل "قوات سوريا الديمقراطية"، وهي مجموعة مظلة بقيادة "وحدات حماية الشعب" تشمل عدة ميليشيات قبلية عربية. ورغم طبيعة تحالفهم غير السهلة مع الأكراد، لعب المقاتلون العرب دورًا مهمًا في تفكيك "خلافة" تنظيم "الدولة الإسلامية"، ويمكن لهذه الشراكة أن تكون أساسية لإبقاء المنظمة الجهادية محاصرة. وثانيًا، حال الوجود الأمريكي دون إقدام إيران ووكلائها على إنشاء مسار بري شمالًا عبر سوريا وصولًا إلى البحر المتوسط. وتواجه واشنطن الآن المهمة الصعبة المتمثلة بإرساء التوازن هناك من خلال تهدئة المخاوف الأمنية التي تنتاب حليفتها تركيا من جهة وضمان أن الأحداث في شمال سوريا لا تمهد الطريق أمام عودة "الدولة الإسلامية" أو حدوث اضطرابات أوسع في المنطقة. 

مفهوم تركيا للمنطقة الآمنة

طرحت أنقرة فكرة منطقة آمنة/عازلة للمرة الأولى عام 2014، لتعيد وتحييها بعد إعلان ترامب سحب قوات بلاده، محذرةً من أنها ستقيم المنطقة بشكل أحادي في حال لم تساعدها واشنطن. ولتحقيق هذه الغاية، تردد أنها حشدت 16 ألف جندي تركي و10 آلاف مقاتل من الثوار العرب على مقربة من المناطق الخاضعة لسيطرة "وحدات حماية الشعب" من حدودها. وفي حال تنفيذها، من شأن خطة تركيا أن تنطوي على دفع "وحدات حماية الشعب" خارج الحدود وإقامة إدارة مدنية وقوات أمن محلية خاضعة لسيطرتها واستخدام الأراضي الواقعة ضمن تلك المنطقة لإعادة توطين حوالى 3.5 ملايين لاجئ سوري يتواجدون حاليًا في تركيا. كما ستمنح منطقة مماثلة أنقرة نفوذًا أكبر على نظام الأسد.   

لكن تدرك تركيا تمامًا أنها ستواجه تحديات سياسية واقتصادية وعسكرية خطيرة في حال نفذت خطوة مماثلة بشكل أحادي، بخاصةٍ لأن الولايات المتحدة وروسيا وسوريا وإيران حذرتها جميعها من القيام بذلك. فقد هدد الرئيس ترامب بـ"تدمير" اقتصاد تركيا في حال تعرّض الأكراد السوريون للهجوم. ومن جهته، لا يزال نظام الأسد مصممًا على استعادة سائر مناطق البلاد، لذا قد يحاول تقويض موقف تركيا من خلال تشجيع الهجمات بالوكالة داخل منطقة منشأة من جانب واحد.  

وقد يتسبب الوضع الديمغرافي والجغرافي السياسي المعقّد في شمال شرق سوريا بمشاكل لتركيا أيضًا. فبحسب فابريس بالانش، يقيم نحو 850 ألف شخص حاليًا في المنطقة المقترحة التي يصل عمقها إلى 20 ميلًا ويحدّها نهر الفرات من الغرب ونهر دجلة من الشرق. وهم يتألفون من 650 ألف كردي (76 في المئة) و180 ألف عربي سنّي (21 في المئة) و10 آلاف من التركمان (1 في المئة) و10 آلاف مسيحي (1 في المئة). وواحدة فقط من المحافظات الخمس المتداخلة في المنطقة (تل أبيض) تضمّ أغلبية عربية.  

بعباراتٍ أخرى، سيكون الجزء الأكبر من السكان المتأثرين بذلك من الأكراد، رغم أنّه من المفترض أن تستثني المنطقة القامشلي (وهي مدينة كبيرة ذات أغلبية كردية تخضع بشكل جزئي لسيطرة الجيش السوري) وكوباني (وهي بلدة حدودية ذات أغلبية كردية الأرجح أنّها ستبقى من الجيوب الخاضعة لسيطرة "وحدات حماية الشعب"). ولا شكّ في أن العديد من هؤلاء الأكراد يفضلون الوضع القائم وينظرون إلى تركيا باعتبارها قوة احتلال معادية، مفضلين الحكم السوري إن اضطروا إلى الاختيار بين الاثنين. وتشير التقارير المتناقلة إلى أن العديد من السكان العرب يفضلون الوضع القائم بدورهم رغم أنهم يبدون أكثر استعدادًا للاصطفاف إلى جانب تركيا في حال تدخلت.

باختصار، قد تصبح منطقة آمنة تنشئها تركيا بشكل أحادي مسرحًا للخلاف بين نظام الأسد وأنقرة، وبين الجماعات العربية التي ترعاها تركيا و"وحدات حماية الشعب"، وبين الأكراد واللاجئين العرب العائدين. وبدوره، قد يوفّر ذلك بيئة مؤاتية لعودة "الدولة الإسلامية". ولا يصب أي من هذه السيناريوهات في مصلحة تركيا أو واشنطن، ولهذا السبب حاولت أنقرة جاهدة إقناع الولايات المتحدة بالتعاون معها في منطقة لا تقوم على التدخل التركي.   

واشنطن تحاول إقناع الحلفاء

على ضوء مخاوف مماثلة، وافق الرئيس ترامب مؤخرًا على إبقاء بعض الجنود الأمريكيين في سوريا وطلب من الحلفاء الأوروبيين منذ ذلك الحين إرسال جنودهم بغية التعويض عن النقص الذي ستخلفه مغادرة القوات الأمريكية وحراسة المنطقة الآمنة المحتملة على حدّ سواء. ولتحفيز الحلفاء، تعهدت واشنطن بتوفير المعلومات الاستخباراتية والدعم اللوجستي مع عرض نشر قوة ردّ سريع في العراق. غير أنّ بغداد رفضت هذه الفكرة الأخيرة، كما أنّ العديد من الدول الأوروبية رفضت حتى الآن دعوات للمساعدة– نظرًا إلى ميل الإدارة إلى اتخاذ قرارات أحادية غير متوقعة، فضلًا عن المخاوف من عدم إمكانية التعويل عليها في حال تفاقمت التحديات في المنطقة المقترحة أو من قيامها بتحويل مهمة مناهضة "الدولة الإسلامية" إلى مهمة مناهضة إيران، وهو أمر لن تدعمه.

ولا يبدو أنّ عرض الولايات المتحدة المشار إليه بإبقاء 200 جندي أمريكي في شمال شرق سوريا و200 جندي آخر في التنف جنوبًا قد بدّل آراء الحلفاء. ففي حين قد يتيح تخفيف التواجد الأمريكي للولايات المتحدة مواصلة بعض العمليات الأساسية لتنفيذ مهمتها (توجيه ضربات جوية على سبيل المثال) وحماية "قوات سوريا الديمقراطية" من التفكك، إلا أنه قد يشجع أعداء أمريكا على إطلاق هجمات بالوكالة ضدّ قوات التحالف بهدف تقويض المهمة كما فعلوا في أماكن أخرى في الماضي.

التداعيات على العلاقات الأمريكية-التركية

يتردد أنّ واشنطن وأنقرة تعتبران محادثات المنطقة الآمنة تدبيرًا يبني الثقة بعد مشاكل صعبة اعترت العلاقات الثنائية. كما يمنح الاقتراح الرئيس ترامب ميزة على نظيره التركي في وقت يجهّز فيه الأخير حزبه للانتخابات المحلية التي ستجري على مستوى الوطن في 31 مارس/ أذار. ومن شأن منطقة آمنة تقيمها الولايات المتحدة تنجح في إبعاد "وحدات حماية الشعب" عن جزء كبير من الحدود أن تعزّز مكانة أردوغان القومية وتزيد حظوظ حزبه في صناديق الاقتراع.   

في المقابل، قد تظهر أنقرة مرونة أكبر حيال قضايا أخرى، بما فيها قرارها شراء المنظومة الدفاعية الجوية المتقدمة من طراز أس-400 الروسية. على سبيل المثال، قد يوقف أردوغان الصفقة بشكل غير مباشر من خلال الإشارة إلى أن تركيا قد تزوّد الاستخبارات الأمريكية بنفاذ إلى هذه المنظومة التي تمّ شراؤها، ما قد يدفع على الأرجح بموسكو إلى وقف التسليم. وقد يتوقّع الرئيس ترامب أيضًا بشكل منطقي من أنقرة أن تطلق سراح بعض المواطنين الأمريكيين وأفراد السفارة الأمريكية في تركيا المحتجزين منذ الانقلاب الفاشل عام 2016.

غير أنّه في أغلب الظن، سيتعيّن على البيت الأبيض القيام بالمزيد إن أراد المواءمة بين تركيا والأوروبيين مع ضمان قابلية تحقيق المنطقة الآمنة الناتجة. وبشكل خاص، قد يضطر إلى إبقاء أكثر من 200 جندي أمريكي في شمال شرق سوريا وإلى تمديد تواجدهم إلى أجل غير مسمى بهدف التعامل مع أي تمرد ناشئ لتنظيم "الدولة الإسلامية".

في حال فشلت جهود إقامة منطقة آمنة

في حال باءت مناقشات المنطقة الآمنة بالفشل وقرّر الرئيس ترامب المضي في خطة الانسحاب، سيتعين على تركيا إيجاد وسائل أخرى للتعامل مع وجود "وحدات حماية الشعب" على حدودها. وربما تكون المعارضة الأجنبية الواسعة النطاق لتدخل تركي أحادي في شمال شرق سوريا قد أعاقت تنفيذ هذه المقاربة، لكن بإمكان أنقرة مع ذلك استعمال الوكلاء المتمردين العرب للقضاء على "وحدات حماية الشعب" في المناطق الهشة على غرار تل أبيض، المنطقة الحدودية ذات الأغلبية العربية التي تفصل بين مقاطعتَي كوباني والقامشلي الخاضعتين لسيطرة "وحدات حماية الشعب".  

وفي حال تجاهل أردوغان المخاطر واتخذ مع ذلك خطوة عسكرية أشمل، قد يكون لهذا الأمر تداعيات مزعزعة للاستقرار. ففي تركيا، قد تدفع حملة مماثلة بـ"حزب العمال الكردستاني" إلى إطلاق موجة جديدة من الهجمات الإرهابية المحلية. أما في سوريا، فقد ترغم "وحدات حماية الشعب" على التراجع عن الحدود في وقت تعزز فيه خطوط المواجهة الأمامية بمقاتلين يتمركزون حاليًا بشكل أكثر عمقًا في داخل شرق سوريا، ما يتيح لبقايا "الدولة الإسلامية" المتواجدين هناك إعادة رصّ صفوفهم. وكبديل، قد تستغل "وحدات حماية الشعب" روابطها المتعلقة بالصفقات مع نظام الأسد إبرام صفقة أشمل تمكّن قوات الحكومة من العودة إلى شمال شرق البلاد بأعداد أكبر– في تطوّر آخر قد يسهّل عودة "الدولة الإسلامية" نظرًا إلى العداوة الواسعة التي يكنّها السنّة العرب للحكومة المركزية.    

في النهاية، سيتعيّن على الرئيس ترامب المواءمة بين وعدين غير متجانسين قطعهما خلال حملته الرئاسية– فك الارتباط بالشرق الأوسط أو دحر "الدولة الإسلامية". وبقيامه بذلك يكون قد اتخذ خيارات صعبة قد لا تتماشى مع تفضيلاته لكنها قد تصبّ في صالح حماية مصالح الولايات المتحدة في المنطقة.

مايكل آيزنشتات هو زميل "كاهن" ومدير برنامج الدراسات العسكرية والأمنية في معهد واشنطن. سونر چاغاپتاي هو زميل من عائلة باير ومدير برنامج الأبحاث التركية في معهد واشنطن.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 3088

A Turkish ‘Safe Zone’ in Syria: Prospects and Policy Implications

Michael Eisenstadt and Soner Cagaptay

Also available in العربية

March 1, 2019


Establishing such a zone in the northeast would give Ankara and the United States a unique opportunity to work together, provided Washington can convince its European allies to participate as well.

A U.S. delegation is currently in Ankara to iron out the details of Turkey’s proposed “safe zone” along the northeast Syrian frontier. These discussions come after President Trump first announced that the United States would withdraw its 2,000 troops from Syria, then later agreed to leave 200 troops in the northeast and 200 in the south.  How might this announced drawdown affect the prospects for establishing and maintaining the proposed buffer zone? And what implications does the zone hold for U.S. interests in Syria and beyond?

AMERICAN PROMISES, TURKISH CONCERNS

Although President Trump was following through on an oft-repeated campaign pledge when he announced a full withdrawal in December, the decision was still viewed by many as a hasty move that could upset the fragile equilibrium created by the U.S. military presence in Syria. In carrying out their mission to defeat the Islamic State (IS), American forces have long relied on the Syrian Kurdish People’s Defense Units (YPG)—an effective local ally, but also an offshoot of the Kurdistan Workers Party (PKK), a U.S.-designated terrorist organization that has been at war with the Turkish government for decades.

At first, Ankara grudgingly tolerated U.S.-YPG cooperation because Washington insisted it was necessary to defeat IS. Yet Turkey’s patience wore thin as major conventional military operations against IS wound down. President Recep Tayyip Erdogan and other officials adopted more bellicose rhetoric against the YPG, threatening to launch further incursions into northeast Syria in order to curb what they regard as a terrorist presence on their border. The warnings were not taken lightly given Turkey’s previous interventions further west in Syria in 2016 and 2018, intended to prevent the emergence of a contiguous YPG-controlled zone along the entire northern frontier.

Over time, the American military presence catalyzed two important developments. First, it was key to the creation of the Syrian Democratic Forces (SDF), a YPG-led umbrella group that includes various Arab tribal militias. Despite the uneasy nature of their alliance with the Kurds, these Arab fighters played a significant role in dismantling the IS “caliphate,” and this partnership could be vital in keeping the jihadist organization at bay. Second, the U.S. presence prevented Iran and its proxies from establishing a northern land route through Syria to the Mediterranean Sea. Washington now faces the difficult task of threading the needle there: alleviating the security concerns of its ally Turkey while ensuring that events in north Syria do not pave the way for the return of IS or wider regional instability.

TURKEY’S SAFE ZONE CONCEPT

Ankara first floated the idea of a safe/buffer zone in 2014, then revived it following President Trump’s withdrawal announcement, warning that it would establish the zone unilaterally if Washington did not help. To this end, it reportedly amassed 16,000 Turkish troops and 10,000 Arab rebel fighters adjacent to YPG-controlled areas of the border. If carried forward, Turkey’s plan would involve pushing the YPG away from the frontier, creating a civil administration and local security forces under its control, and using territory within the zone to resettle some of the 3.5 million Syrian refugees currently in Turkey. Such a zone would also give Ankara more leverage over the Assad regime.

Yet Turkey is acutely aware that it would face serious political, economic, and military challenges if it took such action unilaterally, not least because the United States, Russia, Syria, and Iran have all warned against it. President Trump threatened to “devastate” Turkey’s economy if the Syrian Kurds are attacked. For its part, the Assad regime is still intent on retaking the rest of the country, so it might try to undermine Turkey’s position by encouraging proxy attacks inside a unilaterally established zone.

The demographic and geopolitical complexity of northeast Syria could cause problems for Turkey as well. According to Fabrice Balanche, around 850,000 people currently reside in the proposed twenty-mile-deep zone, bounded by the Euphrates River on the west and the Tigris River on the east. They include 650,000 Kurds (76%), 180,000 Sunni Arabs (21%), 10,000 Turkmens (1%), and 10,000 Christians (1%). Only one of the five districts that overlap the zone (Tal Abyad) has an Arab majority.

In other words, most of affected inhabitants would be Kurds, despite the zone’s presumed exclusion of Qamishli (a large Kurdish-majority city under partial Syrian army control) and Kobane (a Kurdish-majority border town that would likely remain a YPG-controlled enclave). Many of these Kurds no doubt prefer the status quo and would view Turkey as a hostile occupying power, favoring Syrian rule if they had to choose between the two. Anecdotal reports indicate that many Arab residents prefer the status quo as well, though they seem more willing to align with Turkey if it intervened.

In short, a unilateral Turkish safe zone could become an arena of contention between the Assad regime and Ankara, between Turkish-sponsored Arab groups and the YPG, and between Kurds and returning Arab refugees. This could in turn provide a favorable environment for IS to reemerge. None of these scenarios is in Turkey or Washington’s interests, which is why Ankara has tried so hard to convince the U.S. to work with it on a zone that is not predicated on Turkish intervention.

WASHINGTON’S PITCH TO ALLIES

In light of such concerns, President Trump recently agreed to retain a residual military presence in Syria and has since asked European allies to send troops of their own, both to backfill for departing U.S. forces and to patrol the prospective safe zone. As an inducement, Washington pledged to provide intelligence and logistics support while offering to position a quick-reaction force in Iraq. Yet Baghdad rejected the latter idea, and many European nations have thus far rebuffed the appeals for helpdue to the administration’s penchant for unpredictable unilateral decisions, as well as concerns that it will prove unreliable if challenges proliferate in the proposed zone, or that it will transform the anti-IS mission into an anti-Iran mission, which they would not support.

The reported U.S. offer to keep 200 U.S. troops in northeast Syria and another 200 in the southern enclave of al-Tanf does not seem to have changed their minds. While this reduced presence could allow the United States to continue certain mission-essential tasks (e.g., directing airstrikes) and prevent the SDF from unraveling, it might also embolden America’s enemies to launch proxy attacks against coalition forces in order to undermine the mission, as they have done elsewhere in the past.

IMPLICATIONS FOR U.S.-TURKISH TIES

Both Washington and Ankara reportedly see the safe zone talks as a confidence-building measure after a long rough patch in bilateral relations. The proposal also gives President Trump leverage over President Erdogan at a time when the latter is preparing his party for nationwide local elections on March 31. A U.S.-created safe zone that pushes the YPG away from much of the border would burnish Erdogan’s nationalist credentials and boost his party’s chances at the ballot box.

In return, Ankara might be more flexible on other issues, including its decision to purchase Russia’s advanced S-400 air-defense system. For instance, Erdogan could kill the sale indirectly by suggesting that Turkey might provide U.S. intelligence with access to transferred S-400s, which would probably cause Moscow to halt delivery. President Trump could also reasonably expect Ankara to release some of the U.S. citizens and local embassy staff it has imprisoned since the failed 2016 coup.

In all likelihood, however, the White House will need to do more if it wants to bring both Turkey and the Europeans along while ensuring that the resultant safe zone is viable. In particular, it may have to keep more than 200 U.S. troops in northeast Syria, and extend their presence indefinitely in order to deal with a nascent IS insurgency.

IF EFFORTS TO CREATE A ZONE FAIL

In the event that the safe zone discussions come to naught and President Trump decides to continue with his withdrawal plan, Turkey will have to find other ways to deal with the YPG presence on its border. The widespread foreign opposition to unilateral Turkish intervention in the northeast may have foreclosed that approach, but Ankara could still use Arab rebel proxies to undermine YPG forces in vulnerable areas such as Tal Abyad, the Arab-majority border district that divides the YPG’s Kobane and Qamishli cantons.

If Erdogan disregards the risks and takes broader military action anyway, it could have destabilizing consequences. In Turkey, such a campaign might prompt the PKK to unleash a fresh wave of domestic terrorist attacks. In Syria, it could force the YPG to pull back from the border while reinforcing its frontline with fighters currently stationed deeper inside east Syria, enabling IS remnants there to regroup. Alternatively, the YPG could leverage its longstanding transactional ties with the Assad regime into a wider deal that enables government forces to return to the northeast in larger numbers—another development that could facilitate the return of IS given widespread Sunni Arab enmity toward the central government.

In the end, President Trump will have to reconcile two incompatible campaign promises—disengaging from the Middle East or defeating IS. Doing so means making hard choices that may not align with his preferences, but could go far toward safeguarding U.S. interests in the region.

Michael Eisenstadt is the Kahn Fellow and director of the Military and Security Studies Program at The Washington Institute. Soner Cagaptay is the Institute’s Beyer Family Fellow and director of its Turkish Research Program.