أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 2948

صفقة بناء قاعدة صينية- باكستانية قد تضر بالمصالح الإيرانية

فرزين نديمي

متاح أيضاً في English

٢٧ آذار/مارس ٢٠١٨


وفقا لصحيفة "واشنطن تايمز" ومصادر أخرى، تعتزم الصين بناء قاعدة بحرية وجوية في "خليج جيواني" في جنوب غرب باكستان على مقربة من الحدود مع إيران وعلى بعد 500 كيلومتر تقريباً من مضيق هرمز. كما تقوم بكين ببناء ميناء تجاري ضخم في مدينة جوادر التي تقع على بُعد نحو 60 كيلومتراً شرق جيواني عند نهاية "الممر الاقتصادي الصيني-الباكستاني". وفي حين التزم المسؤولون الصينيون الصمت حيال التقارير حول جيواني منذ نشرها للمرة الأولى في كانون الثاني/يناير، إلّا أنّ باكستان لم تكترث لها واعتبرتها "دعاية" تهدف إلى تشويه سمعة مشروع الممر. ومع ذلك، تتّبع الخطط المزعومة نمط الأنشطة العسكرية الصينية الأخرى في المنطقة، الأمر الذي يثير القلق في الهند وإيران ودول أخرى.

المبررات الإستراتيجية وراء التحركات

في عام 2015، أصدرت بكين تقرير حكومي عسكري رسمي حدَّدَ [النقاط الرئيسية] لسياسة جديدة من "الدفاع النشط"، وطرح تصورات باضطلاع القوات المسلحة الصينية بدور عالمي بشكل أكبر من أجل حماية مصالح البلاد في الخارج. وتشمل هذه المصالح التدفق المستمر للنفط من الشرق الأوسط - علماً بأن الصين كانت قد استوردت حوالي 7.6 مليون برميل من النفط الخام يومياً في عام 2016، جاءت أكثر من 70 في المائة منها من منطقة الخليج.

ولغاية العقد الماضي، كان الوجود العسكري الصيني محدود للغاية في بحر العرب والطرق المائية المجاورة، مما أبقى أمامها خيارات محدودة فقط لحماية مصالحها هناك. ومع ذلك، ففي عام 2009، بدأت بكين مهمتها لمكافحة القرصنة في خليج عدن، مما مكّنها من نشر قوات بحرية في المنطقة إلى أجل غير مسمى. وفي عام 2017، افتَتحت قاعدةً بحرية كبيرة في جيبوتي المجاورة تطلّ على المضيق الاستراتيجي باب المندب.

وصوّرت بكين هذا المشروع الأخير كمساهمة في أمن المنطقة وتنميتها، وشمل ذلك إنشاء سكة حديدية إلى إثيوبيا التي لا تملك منفذاً بحرياً. ومع ذلك، فإن الأخبار عن مبادرة جيواني المزمعة قد تمنح قاعدة جيبوتي أهميةً مختلفة. ففي حال إنجازهما، ستضع القاعدتان القوات الصينية على مدخل ممرين مائيين دوليين حيويين من الناحية الاستراتيجية، مما قد يسمح لبكين بتقييد تحركات خصومها في المنطقة كجزء من استراتيجية عدم الوصول/منع الوصول أكثر شمولاً من طراز ("إيه 2/إيه دي" A2/AD) (التي يُطلق عليها الصينيون اسم "هجمات مضادة استراتيجية نشطة على الخطوط الخارجية" أو (ASCEL)).

أما بالنسبة لميناء جوادر البحري العميق، فمن المزمع أن يصبح أحد أكبر المرافئ من نوعه في العالم، قادراً على التعامل مع الأسطول الصيني المخطط له من حاملات الطائرات والغواصات النووية الكبيرة. ويُعتبر أيضاً بمثابة جزء حيوي من "مبادرة الحزام والطريق" التي تقوم بها بكين، وتقدّر قيمتها بنحو 57 مليار دولار وهو مشروع عارضته الهند بقوة - ويرجع ذلك جزئياً إلى أنه يخترق منطقة كشمير المتنازع عليها، كما أنه قد يساعد الصين على الهيمنة على الطرق التجارية في المحيطين الهندي والهادئ. ووفقاً لبعض التقارير، سيتمكن المرفأ الجديد من مناولة حمولة تصل إلى 400 مليون طن سنوياً عندما يعمل بطاقته الكاملة في عام 2019.

وعلى الرغم من أن جوادر تقع في الأراضي الباكستانية، يشعر العديد من المراقبين بالقلق من أن الصين سوف تتولى في النهاية السلطة الكاملة على الميناء. وهذه المخاوف لا تفتقر إلى أساس - فبالإضافة إلى تأمين اتفاقية البناء والتشغيل والنقل لمدة أربعين عاماً لميناء جوادر، نفّذت بكين عملية استحواذ مماثلة على ميناء هامبانتوتا في سريلانكا، حيث قامت أولاً ببناء الميناء وبعد ذلك تولت السيطرة الكاملة عليه [كطريقة] لسداد الديون.

على أعتاب إيران

لم يعلق المسؤولون الإيرانيون حتى الآن علانية على أخبار بناء قاعدة في جيواني أو على زيادة النزعة العسكرية الصينية في المحيط الهندي. وقد يعود السبب في ذلك إلى فهمهم رغبة الصين في حماية مصالحها التجارية من خلال المساعي التي تقوم بها لإحياء "طريق الحرير" ويدرسون حصتهم المستقبلية المحتملة في هذا المسعى. وحتى مع ذلك، فإن النمو السريع والنية غير المؤكدة للوجود الأمني ​​الصيني على الحدود يجعل إيران تفكر بالأمر، كما يتضح في العديد من تقارير وسائل الإعلام المحلية وتحليلات الخبراء.   

وفي عام 2016، افتتحت إيران مرفأً سيكون في النهاية تمديداً لميناء تشابهار بقيمة مليار دولار، وهو الميناء الوحيد ذو المياه العميقة لديها، ويقع على بعد 116 كيلومتراً من شبه جزيرة جيواني. وتمّ تمويل المشروع بالاشتراك مع الهند بهدف محدد هو إنشاء ممر تجاري مباشر إلى أفغانستان وآسيا الوسطى، دون المرور بباكستان. وقد قدمّت الهند التمويل بمباركة إدارة أوباما.    

لكن من غير الواضح ما إذا كانت طهران ستطلب الآن من باكستان أن تخفف الخطط العسكرية الصينية الخاصة بجيواني - في محادثة قد تنطوي على الجزرات أو العصي. وفي 11 آذار/مارس، زار وزير الخارجية الإيراني محمد جواد ظريف إسلام آباد في محاولة لزيادة التبادلات التجارية الثنائية من مليار إلى 5 مليارات دولار. وخلال هذه الزيارة، قدّم عرضاً مفاجئاً لباكستان (والصين بشكل غير مباشر) للانضمام إلى جهود التوسّع الإيرانية-الهندية في تشابهار، التي لا تضاهي مشروع جوادار الضخم حتى في حدود قدرته القصوى المتوقعة البالغة 80 مليون طن. وقد تمّ تقديم العرض على الرغم من المنافسة القائمة بين إسلام آباد والهند، ورغم "خط أنابيب غاز السلام" الفاشل الذي كان يهدف إلى تصدير الغاز الطبيعي الإيراني إلى الهند عبر باكستان. كما سعت طهران إلى الدخول في مشروع "الممر الاقتصادي الصيني-الباكستاني"، لكن طلبها لم يُستجب حتى الآن، على الرغم من إقدام بكين على دعوة أفغانستان للانضمام إليها في كانون الأول/ديسمبر.       

وفي غضون ذلك، تقوم البحرية الإيرانية ببناء واحدة من أكثر منشآت جمع المعلومات الاستخبارية تطوراً على مقربة من خليج جيواني في بسابندر. فهي تعمل على إنشاء قاعدةً هناك منذ بعض الوقت في إطار استراتيجية تهدف إلى تعزيز الوجود العسكري والتجاري على خط "مكران" الساحلي المهمل (في خليج عُمان)، غير أن وتيرة التقدّم كانت بطيئة للغاية.

التداعيات الجغرافية السياسية

على الرغم من الشراكة مع الهند بشأن مشروع تشابهار، تحرص إيران على أن تُظهر لباكستان أن مثل هذه الروابط لا تهدف إلى الانحياز إلى جانب منافستها. وبناء على ذلك، عرضت طهران تعزيز الروابط العسكرية الثنائية مع إسلام آباد في محاولة واضحة لإرساء الأساس للتحالف الإيراني-الباكستاني-الصيني المستقبلي.

ومع ذلك، إذا استمرت الصين في تنفيذ خططها بشأن جيواني من دون تقديم تنازلات كبيرة إلى الإيرانيين، فقد تقرر طهران منح حقوق طارئة من "الدعم اللوجستي" إلى الجيش الهندي في تشابهار، على غرار الطريقة التي سمحت فيها للمقاتلات الروسية بتنفيذ ضربات جوية في سوريا من أراضيها في عام 2016 (على افتراض أن تقدم الهند في الواقع كامل التمويل الذي تعهدت به لإنشاء المرفأ). ولا تزال قوة الهند البحرية في المحيط الهندي تفوق قوة باكستان والصين مجتمعتين، لذلك فمثل هذا العرض لن يكون كبيراً بحدّ ذاته. ومع ذلك، فمن شأن وجود قاعدة في جيواني أن يسمح للصين بمراقبة الممر البحري الهندي إلى أفغانستان وآسيا الوسطى.

وعلى نطاق أوسع، فإن القاعدة في جيواني قد تمنح بكين خيار توسيع استراتيجيتها بـ "عدم الوصول/منع الوصول" إلى مسرح عمليات الأسطول الأمريكي الخامس - وهو أحد المخاوف التي تساور واشنطن منذ فترة طويلة. وسوف تستفيد إيران من الخصومة المحلية بين القوتين العظمتين، لكن فقط إذا كانت مصالحها الخاصة غير مهددة.

وخلال الصيف الماضي، زار أسطول بحري صيني ميناء بندر عباس الإيراني، وصدرت تقارير غير مؤكدة عن إمكانية قيام تعاون عسكري محتمل بين البلدين. وفي حين تحتاج طهران إلى مساعدة أجنبية لتحديث أسطولها البحري، تُعتبر الصين شريكاً محتملاً في هذا الشأن، بعدما أصبحت بالفعل مزوداً ثابتاً للمعدات البحرية إلى باكستان (ومن بينها بيع غواصات من نوع يوان). لكن يبدو أن طهران تدرك حدود التعاون العسكري المحتمل مع بكين - ففي 23 كانون الثاني/يناير، اقترح الجنرال رحيم صفوي، أحد مستشاري المرشد الأعلى الإيراني، تأسيس تحالف [إقليمي] يضم روسيا وباكستان وإيران وسوريا لمواجهة النفوذ الأمريكي في المنطقة، وقد أغفل عن ذكر الصين بشكل ملحوظ.

الخاتمة

يحتل تنفيذ خطط إيران الطموحة لتطوير تشابهار وسائر ساحل مكران موقعاً متأخراً بسبب العقوبات الدولية، وسوء الإدارة، والمقاومة المتأصلة للنظام فيما يتعلق بتطوير مناطقه الحدودية. وفي النهاية، قد تقرر الهند أن التعاون مع طهران من أجل مواجهة التعاون البحري الصيني -الباكستاني ليس بنفس أهمية الحفاظ على علاقاتها العسكرية مع الولايات المتحدة.

وفي الوقت الحاضر، إذن، من المرجح أن تنتظر الهند والصين لترى كيف ستتعامل إيران مع الغرب فيما يتعلق برفع المزيد من العقوبات ومعالجة مسائل عالقة أخرى (على سبيل المثال، انتشار الصواريخ وانتهاكات حقوق الإنسان). وفي الوقت نفسه، ستبذل طهران كل ما في وسعها لتحسين قدراتها الاستخبارية والعسكرية على مقربة من قاعدة الصين المستقبلية في بحر العرب.

 

فرزين نديمي هو محلل متخصص في الشؤون الأمنية والدفاعية المتعلقة بإيران ومنطقة الخليج ومقره في واشنطن.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 2948

A China-Pakistan Base Deal Could Put Iran on the Back Foot

Farzin Nadimi

Also available in العربية

March 27, 2018


Beijing's economic project in Gwadar Port and planned military presence in the Jiwani peninsula may wind up redrawing the region's geopolitical map.

According to the Washington Times and other sources, China plans to build a naval and air base on Pakistan's southwestern Jiwani Bay, just across the border from Iran and nearly 500 kilometers from the Strait of Hormuz. About 60 kilometers east of Jiwani is Gwadar, where Beijing is developing a massive commercial port at the end of its China-Pakistan Economic Corridor. While Chinese officials have kept silent about the Jiwani reports since they first emerged in January, Pakistan dismissed them as "propaganda" aimed at discrediting the corridor project. Yet the alleged plans follow the pattern of other Chinese military activities in the region, raising concerns in India, Iran, and elsewhere.

STRATEGIC RATIONALE BEHIND THE MOVES

In 2015, Beijing released a military white paper outlining a new policy of "active defense," which envisioned Chinese armed forces assuming a more global role in order to protect the country's interests overseas. These interests include the steady flow of Middle Eastern oil—in 2016, China imported 7.6 million barrels of crude per day, more than 70 percent of which came from the Persian Gulf.

Up until the past decade, China had very little military presence in the Arabian Sea and adjoining waterways, leaving it with only limited options for safeguarding its interests there. In 2009, however, Beijing began an anti-piracy mission in the Gulf of Aden, enabling it to deploy naval forces to the area indefinitely. And in 2017, it inaugurated a large naval base in nearby Djibouti, overlooking the strategic Bab al-Mandab Strait.

Beijing portrayed the latter project as a contribution to regional security and development, including construction of a railway to landlocked Ethiopia. Yet news of the planned Jiwani initiative may cast the Djibouti base in a different light. If completed, the two bases would place Chinese forces at the mouth of two strategically vital international waterways, potentially allowing Beijing to restrict its rivals' movements there as part of a wider antiaccess/area denial (A2/AD) strategy (which the Chinese call "active strategic counterattacks on exterior lines," or ASCEL).

As for the deep-sea Gwadar Port, it is slated to become one of the largest of its kind in the world, able to handle China's planned fleet of large aircraft carriers and nuclear submarines. It is also seen as a vital part of Beijing's "Belt and Road Initiative," an estimated $57 billion project that India has stridently opposed—partly because it traverses the disputed Kashmir region, but also because it could help China dominate trade routes in the Indian and Pacific Oceans. The new port will reportedly handle up to 400 million tons of cargo per year when it becomes fully operational in 2019.

Despite Gwadar's location on Pakistani territory, many observers are concerned that China will eventually assume full authority over the port. This fear is not unfounded—in addition to securing a forty-year build-operate-transfer agreement for Gwadar, Beijing conducted a similar takeover of Sri Lanka's Hambantota Port, first developing the harbor and later assuming full control of it as debt repayment.

ON IRAN'S DOORSTEP

So far, Iranian officials have not publicly commented on the Jiwani news or China's increasing militarization in the Indian Ocean. Perhaps they understand China's desire to protect its trade interests in the Silk Road revival effort and are considering their own potential future stake in that endeavor. Even so, the fast growth and uncertain intent of China's security presence on the border is giving Iran pause, as reflected in numerous domestic media reports and expert analyses.

In 2016, Iran opened what will eventually be a $1 billion extension to Chabahar, its only deep-water port, located 116 kilometers from the Jiwani peninsula. The project was jointly funded by India with the specific goal of creating a direct trade corridor to Afghanistan and Central Asia, bypassing Pakistan. India offered the funding with the Obama administration's blessing.

It is unclear if Tehran will now ask Pakistan to tone down China's military plans for Jiwani—a conversation that could involve carrots or sticks. On March 11, Iranian foreign minister Mohammad Javad Zarif visited Islamabad in a bid to increase bilateral trade from $1 to 5 billion. During the trip, he made a surprise offer to Pakistan (and, indirectly, China) to join the Iranian-Indian expansion effort at Chabahar, which even at its maximum expected capacity of 80 million tons is no match for the massive Gwadar project. The offer was made despite Islamabad's rivalry with India, and despite the failed "Peace Gas Pipeline" that was intended to export Iranian natural gas to India through Pakistan. Tehran has also sought entry into the China-Pakistan Economic Corridor project, but its overtures have been unanswered so far, even though Beijing invited Afghanistan to join in December.

Meanwhile, the Iranian navy is building one of its most sophisticated intelligence collection facilities right across Jiwani Bay at Pasabandar. It has been constructing a base there for some time as part of a strategy to increase the military and commercial presence on the neglected "Makran" (Gulf of Oman) coastline, but progress has been very slow.

GEOPOLITICAL IMPLICATIONS

Despite partnering with India on the Chabahar project, Iran is keen to show Pakistan that such links are not aimed at taking sides with its rival. Accordingly, Tehran has offered to expand bilateral military ties with Islamabad in an apparent attempt to lay the foundation for a future Iran-Pakistan-China alliance.

If, however, China proceeds with its plans for Jiwani without a major concession to the Iranians, Tehran may decide to give the Indian military occasional "logistical support" rights at Chabahar, similar to the way it permitted Russian jets to stage Syrian airstrikes from its territory in 2016 (assuming India does in fact come through with all of the funding it has pledged for the port). India's naval strength in the Indian Ocean remains superior to Pakistan and China's combined, so such an offer would not be significant on its own. Yet a base at Jiwani would allow China to overlook India's maritime corridor to Afghanistan and Central Asia.

More broadly, Jiwani would give Beijing the option of expanding its A2/AD strategy to the U.S. Fifth Fleet's theater of operations—a longstanding concern in Washington. Iran would benefit from a local rivalry between the two superpowers, but only so long as its own interests are not threatened.

Last summer, a Chinese naval flotilla visited Iran's Bandar Abbas port, and there are unconfirmed reports of possible military cooperation between the two countries. Tehran needs foreign help to modernize its navy, and China is a potential partner in that regard, having already become a steady supplier of naval equipment to Pakistan (reportedly including the sale of Yuan-class submarines). Yet Tehran seems to realize the limits of possible military cooperation with Beijing—on January 23, Gen. Rahim Safavi, an advisor to the Supreme Leader, proposed a coalition with Russia, Pakistan, Iran, and Syria to counter U.S. influence in the region, notably omitting China.

CONCLUSION

Iran's ambitious development plans for Chabahar and the rest of the Makran coast are lagging behind due to international sanctions, mismanagement, and the regime's inherent resistance to developing its border regions. In the end, India may decide that cooperating with Tehran in order to counter Chinese-Pakistani naval cooperation is not as important as preserving its close military relations with the United States.

For the time being, then, India and China will likely wait to see how Iran fares with the West on getting more sanctions lifted and addressing other outstanding issues (e.g., missile proliferation and human rights abuses). Meanwhile, Tehran will do whatever it can to improve its intelligence and military capabilities near China's future Arabian Sea base.

Farzin Nadimi is a Washington-based analyst specializing in the security and defense affairs of Iran and the Persian Gulf region.