أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 3265

الاستراتيجية الأمريكية تجاه إيران: إعادة إحلال الردع وتمكين الدبلوماسية

مايكل آيزنشتات, كوري شيك, و ديفيد ديبتولا

متاح أيضاً في English فارسی

14 شباط/فبراير 2020


"في 7 شباط/فبراير، خاطب مايكل آيزنشتات، كوري شيك، واللفتنانت جنرال (متقاعد، سلاح الجو الأمريكي) ديفيد ديبتولا منتدى سياسي في معهد واشنطن. وآيزنشتات هو زميل "كاهن" ومدير برنامج الدراسات العسكرية والأمنية في المعهد. وشيك هي مديرة دراسات السياسة الخارجية والدفاعية في "معهد أمريكان إنتربرايز". وديبتولا هو عميد "معهد ميتشل لدراسات الفضاء الجوي". وفيما يلي ملخص المقررة لملاحظاتهم".

 

مايكل آيزنشتات

في أيّار/ مايو 2019، أطلقت إيران حملة ضغط مضادة ردّاً على سياسة الضغط القصوى التي تمارسها الولايات المتحدة، بهدف حثّ واشنطن على تخفيف العقوبات أو رفعها. وقد استخدمت هذه الحملة على نطاق واسع الأعمال التي تصبّ في "المنطقة الرمادية" بين الحرب والسلام. وتقوم الجهّات الفاعلة في هذه المنطقة الرمادية بالتدقيق والاختبار لتحديد ما يمكنها القيام به من دون عواقب. فهي تخلق الغموض من خلال أنشطة سرية أو بالوكالة، وإجراءات تدريجية لجعل الأعداء مرتبكين حول كيفية الردّ. كما تقوم هذه الجهّات بتفادي الاشتباك العسكري الحاسم. وتقوم بكل ذلك من أجل النهوض بجدول أعمالها الرافض للوضع الراهن وإدارة المخاطر في الوقت نفسه، والتخفيف من التصعيد المحتمل وتجنب الحرب. وتمت مناقشة إستراتيجية المنطقة الرمادية لإيران، والاستراتيجية الأمريكية المضادة المقترحة للمنطقة الرمادية الموضحة أدناه بمزيد من التفصيل في تقرير معهد واشنطن الصادر حديثاً بعنوان: "العمل في المنطقة الرمادية: مواجهة طريقة الحرب الإيرانية غير المتكافئة".

وفي حين أن هناك احتمال للتصعيد ونشوب صراع أوسع مع إيران، إلّا أنّه من غير المرجح نشوب "حرب شاملة"- ما لم تلجأ الولايات المتحدة إلى ذلك - لأنّ الهدف الكامل من طريقة عمل إيران في المنطقة الرمادية هو تجنب مثل هذه النتيجة. ومن جانبه، صرح الرئيس ترامب مرات عديدة بأنه لا يريد حرباً مع إيران.

ولطالما كافحت الولايات المتحدة للردّ بشكل فعّال على استراتيجية المنطقة الرمادية الإيرانية، ولم تشكّل الإدارة الأمريكية الحالية استثناءً على ذلك. فمنذ أيّار/ مايو الماضي، تأرجحت بين ضبط النفس المفرط والردود التصعيدية المحتملة مثل القتل المستهدف لقائد «قوة القدس» قاسم سليماني. وقد أضاف مقتله طبقة أخرى من التعقيد على لعبة متعددة المستويات ومعقدة بالفعل. أوّلاً، هناك رغبة في الانتقام لمقتل كلّ من سليماني وزعيم ميليشيا «كتائب حزب الله» أبو مهدي المهندس. والأسئلة التي تطرح نفسها هنا، هل أغلقت ضربة إيران الانتقامية بالصاروخ الباليستي على قاعدة "عين الأسد" الجوية في العراق ملف سليماني، أم هل ستحاول طهران أيضاً قتل مسؤول عسكري أمريكي كبير رداً على ذلك؟ أمّا بالنسبة لوكلاء إيران العراقيين، فمن المنطقي الافتراض بأنّهم لم ينتقموا بعد لمقتل المهندس.

وهناك عامل آخر يجب أخذه بعين الاعتبار وهو تأثير السياسات المحلية. فقد دأب المتشددون الإيرانيون على تهميش خصومهم المحافظين العمليين. كما تشهد البلاد اضطربات شعبية متواصلة، مَثَلها مَثَل العراق ولبنان، وكل ذلك قد يؤثّر على قرارات إيران المستقبلية. وبالفعل، قد تكون السياسات المحلية قد صاغت ردّ إيران السريع غير الاعتيادي على مقتل سليماني في محاولة لإظهار العزم خشية أن تلاحظ المعارضة الضعف وتقوم باستغلاله. وتمرّ إيران والولايات المتحدة أيضاً في عام انتخابات، وبالتالي فقد تفجّر طهران مفاجأةً من نوع ما في تشرين الأوّل/ أكتوبر قد تكلّف الرئيس ترامب إعادة انتخابه.

كما تُطرح مسألة أخرى وهي ما إذا كان مقتل سليماني قد أعاد إحلال الردع الأمريكي. فللردع حياة قصيرة ويجب رعايته بشكل دائم. لذا ستسعى إيران إلى اختبار عزم الولايات المتحدة، وعلى واشنطن الردّ بحزم على مثل هذه الاختبارات، وإلّا فقد تشتد عزيمة طهران.

ويواجه القادة الإيرانيون عدداً من المعضلات ما بعد مقتل سليماني، إذ أنّ حملتهم المعارِضة لم تكسبهم تخفيفاً للعقوبات وكلّفتهم القائد العسكري الذي يتفاخرون به أكثر من غيره. وقد يترتّب عن المزيد من التصعيد مع الولايات المتحدة التي لا يمكن التنبؤ بأفعالها مخاطر كبرى. لذلك، عليهم أن يسألوا أنفسهم اليوم ما إذا كان اغتيال سليماني يمثّل مقاربة أمريكية جديدة أو حدثاً واحداً منفصلاً.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك، قد يكون لدفع القوّات الأمريكية خارج العراق عدة عواقب سلبية على إيران، التي قد تخسر مصدراً قوياً للضغط على واشنطن، كما أن العقوبات الأمريكية التي تم التلويح بها على العراق قد تؤذي إيران؛ بالإضافة إلى ذلك، قد تُضطّر طهران إلى القيام بنفسها بالجهد الكبير في العمليات المستقبلية ضد تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» المنبعث من جديد. فهل تفوق فوائد طرد الأمريكيين هذه العوائق المحتملة؟

وتؤكّد جميع هذه التداعيات المرتبطة بسليماني على الحاجة إلى استراتيجية منطقة رمادية أمريكية تجاه إيران. فمن المرجح أن تؤدي أنشطة المنطقة الرمادية السرية أو غير المعترف بها إلى عرقلة الجهود الأمريكية للتفاوض على اتفاق نووي جديد مع طهران بشكل أقل. كما قد يكون لها تأثير مخلّ بشكل أقل على السياسة الداخلية للولايات المتحدة، مما سيجعل من سياسة الإدارة الأمريكية أكثر استدامةً في الداخل. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، ستكون أكثر توافقاً مع البيئة التشغيلية - أي أنها أقل عرضة لإثارة رد فعل سياسي في أماكن مثل العراق، وستكون أكثر تناغماً مع متطلبات المنافسة الاستراتيجية الطويلة الأجل، والتي تميل إلى الانتصارات الصغيرة بدلاً من الضربات القاضية. وأخيراً، ستكون أكثر توافقاً مع استراتيجية الدفاع الوطني التي تسعى إلى تحويل تركيز الولايات المتحدة والقوّات العسكرية إلى المنطقة المشتركة بين المحيطين الهادئ والهندي.

وتشمل العناصر الرئيسية لمثل هذه المنطقة الرمادية ما يلي: الردّ بحزم على الاختبارات الإيرانية من أجل تعزيز الردع، واستخدام الردع بالعقاب وكذلك بالنفي، واستخدام الإجراءات السرية كلما كان ذلك ممكناً، والقيام بالأعمال بصورة علنية عند الضرورة، واعتماد مقاربة متوازنة تقوم على تفادي كل من الكبح المفرط والتصعيد غير الضروري، والتصرّف بشكل غير متوقّع وغير متوازن من أجل استغلال انشغال إيران بإدارة المخاطر، وتغيير إطار إيران التحفيزي من خلال عدم وضعها في موقف حرج، والمماطلة بدل الإفراط من خلال البحث عن ميزة عن طريق مكاسب تدريجية بدلاً من الإجراءات السريعة والحاسمة، وتوسيع خيارات المنطقة بحيث لا يكون التصعيد العمودي هو الخيار الوحيد المتوفّر لدى المسؤولين الأمريكيين.

كوري شيك

تمثلت نظرية إدارة ترامب بأنّ سليماني كان قادراً بشكل فريد على وضع استراتيجيات وبناء تحالفات وتنفيذ حروب غير متماثلة. ومن وجهة نظر الإدارة الأمريكية، بنى سليماني عمقاً استراتيجياً لإيران بشكل فعّال. ورغم أن هذا التقييم كان صحيحاً إلى حدّ كبير، إلّا أنّ استراتيجية سليماني تجاوزت على ما يبدو ذروة نجاحها قبل مقتله. فبانشغاله في الحصول على التقدير [لما كان يقوم به]، فقد كان يخسر من السكّان الشيعة الساخطين الذين كان يمكنه استغلالهم، كما أظهرت الاحتجاجات في لبنان والعراق. ومن هذا المنطلق، كان من الممكن الإبقاء عليه ومشاهدته وهو يفشل، وفي الوقت نفسه اتباع استراتيجية مشابهة لتلك التي استُخدمت ضد تنظيم «القاعدة» - أي استهداف القادة من الصف الثاني. غير أنّ واشنطن لم تقم بالرد علناً على الهجمات الإيرانية على السفن المحايدة ومنشآت النفط السعودية قبل استهداف سليماني، الأمر الذي جعل حلفاء الولايات المتحدة قلقين جداً بشأن أمنهم.

لقد قادت الإدارة الأمريكية الأمور في أعقاب موته بشكل جيّد للغاية، حيث أرسلت إشارات عبر السويسريين واتخذت خطوات لإدارة التصعيد. وقد ساهمت تصريحات إيران المضطربة بأنّ الضربة الصاروخية الباليستية ستكون ردّها الوحيد في المساعدة على استقرار الوضع - وكانت هذه نتيجة يَسَّرتها الإدارة الأمريكية. لكن في النهاية، من غير المرجح أن تتمسّك إيران برأيها حول هذا الانتقام فقط، إذ أنّ قيامها بذلك سيثبّت صحة ما تقوله الإدارة الأمريكية بأنّ سليماني كان قادراً بشكل فريد على تعبئة ردود غير متماثلة. وفي الواقع، يبدو أنّ النظام الإيراني يعود بالفعل إلى الوضع السابق، مع قيام وكلائه بإطلاق صواريخ على أهداف أمريكية في العراق.  

ولإعادة إحلال الردع، على المسؤولين الأمريكيين العمل مع حلفائهم. إلّا أنّ دول الخليج تدرك أنّ واشنطن تميل إلى أن تكون غير جديرة بالثقة ما لم تحمل قِيَماً مشتركة بعمق مع شريك معيّن - وحتّى في ذلك الحين لا يمكن الاعتماد عليها تماماً. ويُعتبر الوضع في العراق حتّى أكثر تعقيداً، لأنّ بغداد بحاجة إلى المساعدة الأمريكية لكنّها تريد أيضاً تقييد الأنشطة التي تقوم بها الولايات المتحدة. وعند تناول هذه المعضلات، على جميع الأطراف الأخذ بعين الاعتبار أنّ المعلومات الاستخباراتية التي تحصل عليها واشنطن من خلال العمل في بلدان أخرى والتعاون معها لا تُقدّر بثمن.

أمّا بالنسبة للتعاون البحري في الخليج العربي، فيتردد الحلفاء في الانضمام إلى القوة التي تقودها الولايات المتحدة. إذ هناك عدد أكبر من الدول في القوّة البحرية للاتحاد الأوروبي بقيادة فرنسا من نظيرتها الأمريكية. فاستراتيجية إعادة التطمين التي اعتمدتها إدارة ترامب لنشر 1400 جندي إضافي في المنطقة، وتنفيذها عمليات قتل مستهدفة غير كافيَين. إذ ليس غياب القدرة العسكرية هو ما يجعل الشركاء الأمريكيين يشعرون بالقلق، بل الافتقار إلى المصداقية السياسية هو الذي يؤدي إلى ذلك.

إن أفضل رهان لواشنطن هو القيادة من الخلف [من المؤخرة]. فقد أساءت إدارة أوباما استخدام "القيادة من الخلف"، لكن عندما يتمّ تطبيقها بشكل صحيح، تُعتبر سياسة جيّدة جدّاً. واليوم هو الوقت المناسب لتطبيقها في الشرق الأوسط، من خلال دعم الأصدقاء بصمت وتزويدهم في الوقت نفسه بالقوّة الأمريكية.

ديفيد ديبتولا

ليست هناك احتمالات عالية لنشوب حرب شاملة مع إيران. فالهدف الرئيسي لطهران هو الحفاظ على بقاء النظام، وليس لدى إدارة ترامب رغبة في شن حرب أخرى في الشرق الأوسط. إنّ التصعيد غير المنضبط أمر مُمكن لكن غير محتمل. فالرئيس ترامب حدد خطّاً أحمر يتمثّل بـ "لا إصابات [في صفوف القوات] الأمريكية " وحذّر طهران من تجاوزه. وعندما قتل وكلاء إيرانيون متعهّداً أمريكياً في العراق، تصرّف كما وعد لحماية الأفراد الأمريكيين والمصالح الأمريكية.

وتتوافق تصفية سليماني مع استراتيجية واشنطن المؤلفة من ثلاثة أجزاء: (1) تقييد أنشطة إيران الخبيثة، و(2) دحر تأثيرها في المنطقة، و(3) ردع أي أعمال عدائية إضافية. ويُعتبر العنصر الرادع مهمّاً بشكل خاص؛ ولتحقيق نجاحه، يجب على القادة الإيرانيين أن يفهموا أنّ الولايات المتحدة ستستخدم قوّتها.

ويبعث مقتل سليماني رسالة قوية بشكل خاص لأنّه لا يمكن استبداله على المدى القصير. فقد كان إرهابي إيران البارز، وقائداً لإيديولوجيتها الثورية، ومفكّراً استراتيجياً مهمّاً. وفي الوقت الحالي، على الأقلّ، سيكون «الحرس الثوري الإسلامي» الإيراني أقل قدرة على التكيف، وسيعاني أتباعه السابقون كثيراً لملء مكانه.

وللمضي قدماً، لا يجب أن يحول الخوف من العواقب دون اتخاذ إجراء قوي من جانب الولايات المتحدة، فهو أمر ضروري في بعض الأحيان لأن التقاعس عن اتخاذ خطوات يميل إلى زيادة احتمالات حدوث المزيد من العنف. إنّ الطريقة الأكثر فعالية لتجنب الحرب مع إيران هي إقناع قادتها بأنّ العنف المستمرّ سيؤدي إلى دفع ثمن باهظ. فباستطاعة الولايات المتحدة فرض تكاليف مدمّرة على إيران، بينما تفتقر إيران إلى الوسائل اللازمة للرد بالمثل، ولهذا السبب تعتمد على الوكلاء والإرهاب بدلاً من ذلك.     

على واشنطن التصرّف أيضاً بعيداً عن مقاربة المفارقة التاريخية الحالية التي تعتمدها، والتي تفترض أنّ المناورة الأرضية الواسعة النطاق هي العنصر المهيمن في الحرب. فالاشتراك الفعّال يعني استخدام القوّة المناسبة في المكان المناسب وفي الوقت المناسب، وعدم استخدام كل قوّة في كل مكان وكل زمان. وإذا أصبحت الأفعال الأمريكية القوية الإضافية ضرورية، فقد تؤدي القوة الفضائية الجوية المطبقة بشكل ملائم، والمكتملة بعمليات سيبرانية هجومية، إلى انهيار اقتصاد إيران وإبطال فعل جيشها والقضاء على برنامجها النووي ووضع حد لنفوذها الإقليمي. كما أن قدرة إيران الحاسمة على تكرير النفط، وشبكتها لتوزيع النفط، وشبكة كهربائها يمكن أن تصبح جميعها غير فعّالة بهذه الوسائل، دون حاجة إلى نشر قوّات أمريكية على الأرض.

ووفقاً لذلك، إذا ارتكبت إيران المزيد من الأعمال العدائية ضد أفراد أمريكيين ومصالح أمريكية، فلا ينبغي لواشنطن أن تتّبع الاستراتيجيات التي طبقتها على مدار السنوات التسعة عشر الماضية في أفغانستان والعراق. فقد تضمنت تلك الاستراتيجيات نشر مئات الآلاف من قوات المشاة لتنفيذ احتلال لفترة طويلة، وعمليات بناء الدولة ومكافحة التمرّد. وليس أيّ من هذه الخيارات محبّذاً داخلياً، كما أنها ليست قابلة للتطبيق في إيران. ولتحقيق التأثيرات المرجوة بسرعة، يجب أن يأخذ أي إجراء مطبّق في إيران شكل العملية الحاسمة التي نُفذت عام 1991، خلال عملية "عاصفة الصحراء" في العراق.

باختصار، إن الطريقة الأمثل لردع إيران هي زيادة القدرة على إبراز القوة الجوّية الأمريكية في المنطقة من أجل إظهار قدرة الفتك لديها من دون الكشف عن الضعف. هذا ما فعله الجيش الأمريكي بصمت منذ أحداث أوائل كانون الثاني/ يناير، وأخيراً فهمت إيران الرسالة.

 

أعدت هذا الملخص حانا كوب. أمكن تنفيذ سلسلة برامج منتدى السياسات بفضل سخاء "عائلة فلورنس وروبرت كوفمان".

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 3265

U.S. Strategy Toward Iran: Restoring Deterrence, Enabling Diplomacy

Michael Eisenstadt, Kori Schake, and David Deptula

Also available in العربية فارسی

February 14, 2020


Three experts discuss how Washington can manage escalation and catalyze diplomacy while still using its military instruments to apply pressure.

On February 7, Michael Eisenstadt, Kori Schake, and Lt Gen David Deptula (USAF, Ret.) addressed a Policy Forum at The Washington Institute. Eisenstadt is the Institute’s Kahn Fellow and director of its Military and Security Studies Program. Deptula is dean of the Mitchell Institute of Aerospace Studies. Schake is the director of foreign and defense policy studies at the American Enterprise Institute. The following is a rapporteur’s summary of their remarks.

MICHAEL EISENSTADT

In May 2019, Iran launched a counter-pressure campaign in response to the U.S. maximum pressure policy, aiming to induce Washington to ease or lift sanctions. This campaign has made extensive use of actions in the “gray zone” between war and peace. Gray zone actors probe and test to determine what they can get away with. They create ambiguity through covert or proxy activities and incremental action to make adversaries uncertain how to respond. They avoid decisive military engagement. They do all this in order to advance their anti-status quo agenda while managing risk, reducing the potential for escalation, and avoiding war. Iran’s gray zone strategy, and the proposed U.S. gray zone counterstrategy described below, are discussed in greater detail in the newly released Washington Institute report Operating in the Gray Zone: Countering Iran’s Asymmetric Way of War.

While there is potential for escalation and a broader conflict with Iran, an “all-out war” is unlikely—unless the United States opts for it—because the whole purpose of Iran’s gray zone modus operandi is to avoid such an outcome. For his part, President Trump has stated numerous times that he does not want a war with Iran.

The United States has always struggled to respond effectively to Iran’s gray zone strategy, and the current administration is no exception. Since last May, it has vacillated between excessive restraint and potentially escalatory responses such as the targeted killing of Qods Force commander Qasem Soleimani. His death added another layer of complexity to an already complicated multi-level game. First, there is a desire to avenge the killing of both Soleimani and Kataib Hezbollah militia leader Abu Mahdi al-Muhandis. Did Iran’s retaliatory ballistic missile strike on al-Asad Air Base in Iraq close the Soleimani file, or will Tehran also try to kill a senior U.S. military officer in response? As for Iran’s Iraqi proxies, it is safe to assume that Muhandis has not yet been avenged.

Another factor to consider is the impact of domestic politics. Iran’s hardliners have been working to marginalize their pragmatic conservative rivals. The country is also experiencing continued popular unrest, as are Iraq and Lebanon, all of which might influence future Iranian decisions. Indeed, domestic politics may have shaped Iran’s uncharacteristically prompt response to Soleimani’s killing, in a bid to demonstrate resolve lest the opposition perceive weakness and exploit it. Iran and the United States are also in an election year. Accordingly, Tehran may spring some kind of October surprise in an effort to cost President Trump his reelection.

Another question is whether killing Soleimani has restored U.S. deterrence. Deterrence has a short shelf life and must be constantly tended. Iran will seek to test U.S. resolve, and Washington must respond firmly to such tests—otherwise Tehran may be emboldened.

Iranian leaders face a number of dilemmas post-Soleimani. Their pushback campaign has not gained them sanctions relief and has cost them their most vaunted military leader. Further escalation with an unpredictable United States entails significant risk. They now have to ask themselves whether Soleimani’s assassination represents a new U.S. approach or a one-off event.

Moreover, pushing U.S. forces out of Iraq would have several adverse consequences for Iran: it would lose a powerful source of leverage over Washington; the threatened U.S. sanctions on Iraq would also hurt Iran; and Tehran would have to do the heavy lifting on its own in future campaigns against a resurgent Islamic State. Do the benefits of expelling Americans outweigh these potential drawbacks?

All of this Soleimani-related fallout underscores the need for a U.S. gray zone strategy toward Iran. Covert or unacknowledged gray zone activities would be less likely to disrupt U.S. efforts to negotiate a new deal with Tehran. They would also have a less disruptive impact on U.S. domestic politics, making the administration’s policy more sustainable at home. In addition, they would be more compatible with the operational environment—that is, they are less likely to evoke political backlash in places like Iraq, and more consistent with the demands of long-term strategic competition, which tends to be won on points rather than knockout blows. Lastly, they would be more compatible with a National Defense Strategy that seeks to shift U.S. focus and military forces to the Indo-Pacific region.

Key elements of such a gray zone strategy include the following: firmly responding to Iranian tests in order to bolster deterrence; using deterrence by punishment as well as denial; employing covert action whenever possible, and overt action when necessary; pursuing a balanced approach that avoids both excessive restraint and unnecessary escalation; acting unpredictably and asymmetrically in order to exploit Iran’s preoccupation with managing risk; altering Tehran’s incentive framework by not backing it into a corner; going long, not big, by seeking advantage through incremental gains instead of rapid, decisive actions; and expanding gray zone options so that vertical escalation is not the only choice available to U.S. officials.

KORI SCHAKE

The Trump administration’s theory was that Soleimani was uniquely able to strategize, build alliances, and execute asymmetric warfare. From their perspective, he had effectively built strategic depth for Iran. Yet while this assessment was largely correct, Soleimani’s strategy had seemingly passed the zenith of its success before his death. Preoccupied with seeking credit, he was running out of disaffected Shia populations to exploit, as demonstrated by the protests in Lebanon and Iraq. In that sense, it may have been possible to leave him in place and watch him fail while pursuing a strategy similar to the one used against al-Qaeda—namely, targeting number twos. Notably, however, Washington had not overtly responded to Iranian attacks on neutral shipping and Saudi oil facilities prior to targeting Soleimani, which had left American allies deeply anxious about their security.

The administration navigated the aftermath of his death very well, sending signals through the Swiss and taking steps to manage escalation. Iran’s panicked statements that the ballistic missile strike would be their only response helped stabilize the situation—an outcome facilitated by the administration’s outreach. In the end, however, Tehran is unlikely to stand pat on that retaliation alone, since doing so would validate the administration’s case that Soleimani was uniquely able to mobilize asymmetric responses. In fact, the regime already seems to be returning to the status quo ante, with proxies launching rockets at U.S. targets in Iraq.

To restore deterrence, U.S. officials need to work with their allies. Yet the Gulf states are realizing that Washington tends to be unreliable unless it holds deeply shared values with a given partner—and even then it cannot be depended on completely. Iraq’s situation is even more complicated, since Baghdad needs American assistance but also wants to restrict U.S. activities. In addressing these dilemmas, all parties need to keep in mind that the intelligence Washington receives from operating in and cooperating with other countries is incredibly valuable.

Regarding maritime cooperation in the Persian Gulf, allies have been hesitant to join the U.S.-led force. There are more countries in the French-led EU maritime force than in its American counterpart. The Trump administration’s reassurance strategy of deploying an additional 1,400 troops to the region and conducting targeted killings is insufficient. It is not a lack of military capability that makes U.S. partners nervous, it is lack of political reliability.

Washington’s best bet is to lead from behind. The Obama administration gave “leading from behind” a bad name, but when done correctly, it is a pretty good policy. Now is a good time to apply it in the Middle East, by quietly supporting friends while investing them with U.S. strength.

DAVID DEPTULA

The chances of all-out war with Iran are not high. Tehran’s main objective is regime survival, and the Trump administration has no appetite for another war in the Middle East. Uncontrolled escalation is possible but unlikely. President Trump set a redline of “no U.S. casualties” and warned Tehran not to cross it. When Iranian proxies killed a U.S. contractor in Iraq, he acted as promised to defend American personnel and interests.

Eliminating Soleimani aligns with Washington’s three-part strategy of (1) constraining Iran’s malign activities, (2) rolling back its influence in the region, and (3) deterring further aggression. The deterrent element is especially important; in order for it to work, Iranian leaders need to understand that the United States will use its power.

Killing Soleimani sent a particularly powerful message because he is not replaceable in the short term. He was Iran’s top terrorist, a leader of its revolutionary ideology, and an important strategic thinker. For now, at least, the Islamic Revolutionary Guard Corps will be less adaptive, and his former subordinates will struggle to fill his shoes.

Going forward, the fear of consequences should not preclude forceful U.S. action, which is sometimes necessary because inaction tends to increase the odds of further aggression. The most effective way to avoid war with Iran is to convince its leaders that continued aggression will come at an extremely high price. The United States can impose devastating costs on Iran, while Tehran lacks the means to respond in kind, which is why it relies on proxies and terrorism instead.

Washington also needs to move beyond its current anachronistic approach, which posits that large-scale ground maneuver is the dominant element of warfare. Effective jointness means using the right force at the right place at the right time, not using every force, every place, every time. If more robust U.S. action becomes necessary, then properly applied aerospace power supplemented by offensive cyber operations could collapse Iran’s economy, neutralize its military, destroy its nuclear program, and put an end to its regional influence. Iran’s critical oil refining capacity, oil distribution network, and power grid could all be rendered ineffective by these means, without any U.S. boots on the ground.

Accordingly, if Iran conducts further acts of aggression against U.S. personnel and interests, Washington should not follow the strategies applied over the past nineteen years in Afghanistan and Iraq. Those strategies involved the deployment of hundreds of thousands of ground troops to conduct prolonged occupation, nation building, and counterinsurgency operations. None of those options are popular domestically, nor are they applicable in Iran. To rapidly achieve the desired effects, any action in Iran would need to be modeled after the decisive takedown applied in 1991, during Operation Desert Storm in Iraq.

In short, the best way to deter Iran is to augment U.S. aerospace power projection capabilities in the region in order to project lethality without projecting vulnerability. That is what the U.S. military has quietly done since the events of early January, and Iran is finally getting the message.

This summary was prepared by Hannah Coupe. The Policy Forum series is made possible through the generosity of the Florence and Robert Kaufman Family.