أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 3092

تحديات داخلية عميقة بانتظار رئيس الوزراء الفلسطيني الجديد

غيث العمري

متاح أيضاً في English

14 آذار/مارس 2019


في 10 آذار/مارس، عيّن رئيس "السلطة الفلسطينية" محمود عباس عضو اللجنة المركزية لحركة "فتح" محمد اشتية رئيسًا للوزراء. والآن سيكون أمام رئيس الوزراء الجديد مهلة ثلاثة أسابيع لتشكيل حكومة، على أن تُمدد هذه المهلة لأسبوعين إذا دعت الحاجة. ورغم أنه لن يكون للتعيين أثر كبير على السياسة الخارجية الفلسطينية، التي يتولاها الرئيس مباشرة، إلا أنه يوفر لمحة عن الديناميكيات المحيطة بخلافة رئاسة "السلطة الفلسطينية". كما سيخلف بعض الآثار على العلاقات بين "فتح" و"حماس" وعلى قضايا الحكم في الضفة الغربية، سواء للأفضل أو الأسوأ.

ديناميكيات حركة "فتح"

في 29 كانون الثاني/يناير، قدم رئيس الوزراء المنتهية ولايته رامي الحمد الله استقالته إلى عباس بعد توصية اللجنة المركزية لحركة "فتح" بتشكيل حكومة سياسية بقيادة "فتح". وكان الحمد الله ترأس حكومة تكنوقراط تشكلت بموجب اتفاق بين "حماس" و"فتح".

وما إن كلّف عباس اللجنة المركزية لحركة "فتح" باختيار رئيس الوزراء المقبل، حتى تجلت التوترات في أوساطها. فلطالما كانت هذه اللجنة تضمّ عدة فصائل، لكن الانقسامات أصبحت أوضح خلال السنوات القليلة الماضية في ظل مشاركة كبار الأعضاء فيها في السباق على خلافة محمود عباس الذي أصبح كبيرًا في السن. وإذ ساورهم القلق من أن اختيار رئيس وزراء من بينهم سيعزز فرص هذا الأخير ليحل محل عباس، عجز الأعضاء عن اتخاذ القرار لأكثر من شهر، وانتهى بهم المطاف في اختيار اشتية مرشحًا توافقيًا.

تجدر الملاحظة أن اشتية كان عضوًا في اللجنة المركزية لحركة "فتح" منذ 2009، لكنه لم يتقدم في مناصبه وفق المسارين السياسي أو الأمني المعتادين. وإذ كان أكاديميًا سابقًا، سطع نجمه بعدما تولى عددًا من المناصب التقنية على المستوى الوزاري ضمن "السلطة الفلسطينية". كما شارك في المفاوضات مع إسرائيل بدءًا بمؤتمر مدريد في 1991 ولغاية 2013. وبفضل هذه المناصب برز اسمه في دوائر الحكم والدوائر الدبلوماسية، لكنه لم يؤسس قاعدة قوية قط، لذا يعتبره أعضاء اللجنة الآخرون أحد المنافسين الذين يطرحون التهديد الأقل لهم. 

مع ذلك، اعترضت بعض فصائل اللجنة المركزية لحركة "فتح" على تعيينه رئيسًا للوزراء، خشية أن يحولّه هذا المنصب إلى مرشح جدير بالخلافة. وقد تمّ تخطي هذه الاعتراضات في نهاية المطاف بعد استنفاد البدائل الأخرى، لكن النتيجة النهائية تتمثل في أن اشتية لن يتمكن من التعويل على دعم متين من "فتح". والأرجح أن تبقى ديناميكيات الخلافة مهيمنة على السياسة الفلسطينية، في وقت سيحاول فيه زملاؤه السابقون الحدّ من صلاحياته.

العلاقات مع "حماس"

يعتبر تعيين اشتية تصعيدًا آخر في الصراع القائم بين "حماس" و"السلطة الفلسطينية"، حيث تصر "فتح" على تنصيب أحد أعضاء لجنتها، ما دفع بحركة "حماس" إلى رفض هذه الخطوة وإعلان أنها "لن تعترف بهذه الحكومة الانفصالية".

غير أنه في الوقت نفسه، لم تصدر عن "حماس" أي إشارة إلى احتمال اعتراضها على هذا القرار بشكل عملي وكيفية قيامها بذلك. فقدرتها على تشكيل حكومة خاصة بها أو اتخاذ تدابير ملموسة أخرى مقيّدة، ومن شأن خطوات مماثلة أن تدفع بـ"السلطة الفلسطينية" إلى اتخاذ تدابير تأديبية بحقها - على سبيل المثال وقف كافة المدفوعات إلى قطاع غزة، وهي خطوة تهدد "السلطة الفلسطينية" بتطبيقها أساسًا ردًا على نزاعات أخرى. وناهيك عن التداعيات الكارثية التي سيخلفها هذا السيناريو على اقتصاد غزة، سيقوض أيضًا مساعي مصر الرامية إلى إرساء الأمن والاستقرار المالي في القطاع. فالقاهرة مستاءة جدًا من عباس، وكانت تتعامل فعليًا مع "حماس" بشأن عدد من المسائل الخاصة بغزة، لكنها لا تزال تعتبر "السلطة الفلسطينية" الجهة الشرعية للعلاقات الفلسطينية. وبالتالي، من المستبعد أن تواصل السلطات المصرية جهودها التي تهدف إلى إرساء الاستقرار في حال أقامت "حماس" هياكل حكم خاصة بها.

وقد تكون احتمالات صدور ردود فعل سلبية عن "حماس" مناطة أيضًا بما إذا كانت حكومة اشتية ستضم فصائل أخرى من "منظمة التحرير الفلسطينية" إلى جانب "فتح". وكلما شملت الحكومة فصائل أقل، كلما ازدادت "حماس" جرأة. وحتى الآن، رفض أكبر فصيلين ضمن "منظمة التحرير الفلسطينية" – "الجبهة الشعبية لتحرير فلسطين" و"الجبهة الديمقراطية لتحرير فلسطين" – دعوة "فتح" للانضمام إلى الحكومة. وسيحاول اشتية استمالتهما مجددًا، إلى جانب فصائل أصغر حجمًا ضمن "منظمة التحرير". لكن، في حال فشل في ضم أي منها، ستزيد الحكومة الناشئة التي تضمّ حركة "فتح" فقط من عزم "حماس" في مسعاها لتحدي تفوق "فتح" في الحركة الوطنية الفلسطينية.

محافظ مهمة

إلى جانب الصراع السياسي، سيواجه اشتية ووزراؤه تحديات كبيرة على صعيد الحكم. فـ"السلطة الفلسطينية" تتخبط في أزمة مالية وسبق أن أعلنت عن اتخاذ عدة تدابير تقشف. كما أنه ورغم التنسيق القائم مع إسرائيل، فإن الوضع الأمني في الضفة الغربية والقدس آخذ في التدهور بشكل مطرد.

وللصمود في وجه التحدي الأول، سيكون من الأجدى لـ"السلطة الفلسطينية" إبقاء وزير المالية شكري بشارة في منصبه بعدما نجح في بناء سمعة مهنية إيجابية وعلاقات متينة مع نظيره الإسرائيلي ونظرائه الدوليين. فبالمقابل، إن غادر ولم يتمّ استبداله بشخصية معروفة، ستزداد جهود إرساء الاستقرار في الاقتصاد تعقيدًا.

أما في ما يخص التحدي الثاني، فيتمتع وزير الداخلية بسيطرة إسمية على جزء كبير من "قوات أمن السلطة الفلسطينية"، لكن السؤال المتعلق بالسيطرة الفعلية أكثر تعقيدًا. فقد احتفظ رئيس الوزراء المنتهية ولايته رامي الحمد الله بهذه المحفظة لنفسه عندما استلم السلطة، رغم أنه عمليًا كان عباس يتمتع بالسلطة الفعلية على "قوات أمن السلطة الفلسطينية". وكان كبار أعضاء اللجنة المركزية لحركة "فتح" مطمئنين إزاء اضطلاع الحمد الله بهذا الدور المزدوج، إلا أنه من المستبعد أن يقبلوا بأن يتولى أحد من بينهم الإشراف على هذه الوزارة المهمة مع توليه في الوقت نفسه منصب رئيس الوزراء.

وبناء على ذلك، فقد بدأ التنافس على هذه المحفظة قبل اختيار رئيس الوزراء بفترة طويلة. وكان من المتوقع أن تشهد "قوات أمن السلطة الفلسطينية" إعادة تنظيم كبرى في الأسابيع القليلة الماضية، كما أن بعض القادة الأمنيين – ولا سيما مدير عام الشرطة حازم عطاالله – أعربوا عن رغبتهم في أن يتولوا حقيبة الداخلية. ومن شأن تعيين أحد ضباط "قوات أمن السلطة الفلسطينية" أن يعزز الوزارة ويحسن أداء العناصر الأمنيين ويساهم ربما في إخضاع هذه القوات لسلطة الوزارة بدلًا من الرئيس كما ينص عليه "القانون الأساسي" الفلسطيني. لكن ترقية ضابط أمن سابق قد يغير أيضًا ميزان القوى ضمن "قوات أمن السلطة الفلسطينية"، وهو أمر سيرفضه بدون شك الضباط الأمنيون الآخرون وأعضاء اللجنة المركزية لحركة "فتح" الذين بنوا علاقات وطيدة معهم.

الخاتمة

لطالما سعت حركة "فتح" إلى تعيين أحد كبار أعضائها رئيسًا للوزراء، لكن تحقيق هذا الهدف مكلف. فعندما يستلم اشتية دوره الجديد، سيكون مقيدًا بديناميكيات الخلافة التي ستعيق عمله، وبشرخ متزايد مع "حماس"، وكذلك بظروف اقتصادية وأمنية متدهورة في الضفة الغربية. أما بالنسبة إلى العلاقات مع واشنطن، فقد رحب المبعوث الأمريكى للسلام جيسون غرينبلات علنًا بهذا التعيين الأخير، لكن من المرجح أن تمنع الوقائع السياسية اشتية من استئناف العلاقات مع الإدارة الأمريكية قريبًا.

 

غيث العمري هو زميل أقدم في معهد واشنطن وشارك في صياغة دراسة أجراها المعهد في 2018 بعنوان دولة بلا جيش، جيش بلا دولة: تطور قوات أمن السلطة الفلسطينية، 1994-2018

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 3092

The New Palestinian Prime Minister Will Face Steep Internal Challenges

Ghaith al-Omari

Also available in العربية

March 13, 2019


Fatah succession maneuvers, escalating tensions with Hamas, a financial crisis, and an uncertain security hierarchy will make it difficult for the incoming premier to improve the current situation.

On March 10, Palestinian Authority president Mahmoud Abbas designated Fatah Central Committee (FCC) member Mohammad Shtayyeh as prime minister. The new premier will now have three weeks to form a government, extendable by two weeks if necessary. Although the appointment will have minimal impact on Palestinian foreign policy, which is handled directly by the president, it does provide a glimpse into the dynamics surrounding PA succession. It will also have some impact on Fatah-Hamas relations and governance issues in the West Bank, for better or worse.

FATAH DYNAMICS

On January 29, outgoing prime minister Rami Hamdallah tendered his resignation to Abbas following the FCC’s recommendation to form a political cabinet under Fatah leadership. Hamdallah had presided over a technocratic government formed under a Hamas-Fatah consensus agreement.

Once Abbas tasked the FCC with choosing the next prime minister, tensions within the committee soon became apparent. The FCC has always been factionalized, but the divisions have become more pronounced in recent years as senior members position themselves in the contest to succeed the aging Abbas. Worried that choosing one of their own as prime minister would improve said individual’s chances to replace Abbas, members were deadlocked on the decision for over a month, eventually choosing Shtayyeh as a compromise candidate.

Shtayyeh has been an FCC member since 2009, but he did not rise through the ranks following the usual political or security tracks. A former academic, he came to prominence after assuming a number of ministerial-level technical positions in the PA. He also participated in negotiations with Israel from the Madrid process in 1991 until 2013. Such posts gave him some exposure in governance and diplomatic circles, but he never developed a strong base, so other FCC members tend to view him as one of their least threatening competitors.

Even so, some FCC factions objected to appointing him as prime minister, fearing that the position could transform him into a viable succession candidate. These objections were eventually overcome after other alternatives were exhausted, but the end result is that Shtayyeh will not be able to rely on solid support from Fatah. More likely, succession dynamics will continue to dominate Palestinian politics, and his former colleagues will try to limit his power.

RELATIONS WITH HAMAS

Shtayyeh’s appointment is another escalation in the ongoing struggle between Hamas and the PA. Fatah insisted on elevating one of its own committee members to the post, spurring Hamas to reject the move and declare that it “will not recognize this separatist government.”

At the same time, however, Hamas has made no indication as to whether and how it might oppose the decision in practice. Its ability to form its own government or take other concrete measures is constrained, and such steps could trigger punitive action from the PA—for example, cutting all payments to Gaza, something the PA has already been threatening to do in response due to other disputes. In addition to the catastrophic implications that scenario would have for Gaza’s economy, it would also upset Egypt’s efforts to bring security and financial stability to the Strip. Cairo is deeply frustrated with Abbas and has been de facto dealing with Hamas on various Gaza matters, but it still regards the PA as the legitimate address for Palestinian relations. Egyptian authorities are therefore unlikely to continue their stabilization efforts if Hamas creates its own governing structures.

The chances of Hamas acting out may also be influenced by whether Shtayyeh’s cabinet includes other Palestine Liberation Organization factions besides Fatah. The less inclusive the cabinet is, the more emboldened Hamas will be. So far, the two biggest PLO factions—the Popular Front for the Liberation of Palestine and the Democratic Front for the Liberation of Palestine—have refused Fatah’s invitation to join the government. Shtayyeh will try to woo them again, along with smaller PLO factions. If he fails to recruit any of them, however, the resultant Fatah-only government would strengthen Hamas in its bid to contest the party’s primacy in the Palestinian national movement.

SIGNIFICANT PORTFOLIOS

In addition to political strife, Shtayyeh and his ministers will face major governance challenges. The PA is in the midst of a financial crisis and has already announced various austerity measures. Moreover, despite ongoing coordination with Israel, the security situation in the West Bank and Jerusalem has been steadily deteriorating.

To navigate the first challenge, the PA would be best served by retaining Finance Minister Shukri Bishara, who has developed a positive professional reputation and strong relations with his Israeli and international counterparts. Alternatively, if he leaves and is not replaced by a well-known figure, it would further complicate efforts to stabilize the economy.

Regarding the second challenge, the interior minister has nominal control over a significant part of the PA security forces, but the question of actual control is more complicated. Outgoing prime minister Hamdallah kept that portfolio for himself while in power, though in practice Abbas held true authority over the PASF. Senior FCC members were comfortable with Hamdallah playing that dual role, but they are less likely to tolerate one of their own overseeing such an important ministry while also serving as premier.

Accordingly, jockeying for that portfolio began well before the prime minister was picked. A major PASF shakeup has been expected in recent weeks, and some security leaders—most notably police chief Hazem Atallah—have indicated their desire to become interior minister. Appointing a PASF chief could strengthen the ministry, improve the performance of security personnel, and potentially help bring the PASF under ministry control instead of presidential control as envisaged in the Palestinian Basic Law. Yet elevating a former security chief would also shift the balance of power within the PASF, inevitably raising resistance from other security chiefs and the FCC members who have cultivated close relations with them.

CONCLUSION

Fatah has long sought to get one of its own senior members appointed as prime minister, but reaching that goal comes at a cost. When Shtayyeh assumes his new role, he will be constrained by paralyzing succession dynamics, a worsening split with Hamas, and deteriorating economic and security conditions in the West Bank. As for relations with Washington, U.S. peace envoy Jason Greenblatt publicly welcomed the latest appointment, but political realities will likely prevent Shtayyeh from restoring contacts with the administration anytime soon.

Ghaith al-Omari is a senior fellow at The Washington Institute and coauthor of its 2018 study State with No Army, Army with No State: Evolution of the Palestinian Authority Security Forces, 1994–2018.