أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

صفحات رأي ومقالات

القوقاز: حرب صغيرة وضرر كبير

متاح أيضاً في English

توركيش ديلي نيوز

8 أيلول/سبتمبر 2008


أتت محاولة جورجيا للاستيلاء على أوسيتيا الجنوبية بنتائج عكسية. ففي حرب خاطفة، قامت روسيا بإخراج الجيش الجورجي تماماً من أوسيتيا الجنوبية، وتابعت موسكو ذلك بغزوها أراضٍ جورجية أيضاً. وقد فسر الكثير من الناس في تركيا ومجتمع الحلف الأطلسي هذه الحرب على أنها نتيجة عرضية لموقف جورجيا العدواني، ثم اتخذت بعد ذلك موقفاً محايداً تجاه الصراع. ومهما كان سبب الحرب، لا يمكن تجاهل غزو روسيا لجورجيا على أنه مجرد أذية. فللحرب انعكاسات سلبية هائلة على مجتمع الحلف الأطلسي، بما في ذلك تركيا والولايات المتحدة، فضلاً عن الاتحاد الأوروبي.

دوافع روسيا

وقع أكبر تأثير للحرب على سياسات عالم الطاقة وخطوط الأنابيب. ربما قد لا تكون روسيا قوة عظمى عالمية بعد الآن، ولكنها بالتأكيد "قوة طاقة"، حيث تكمن قوة موسكو في مخزونها الهائل من النفط والغاز الطبيعي، فبالرغم من أن عدد سكان روسيا البالغ 145 مليون نسمة يساوي ضعف عدد سكان تركيا، إلا أن الاقتصاد الروسي أصغر من نظيره التركي إذا استبعد منه مساهمة قطاع الطاقة.

إن الهيمنة الضخمة لقطاع الطاقة على الاقتصاد الروسي يشكل دوافع السياسة الخارجية لروسيا. وتخدم سياسات شركة الغاز الروسية العملاقة غازبروم، والسياسة الخارجية الروسية المصالح المتبادلة لكل منهما. وتستغل روسيا أسعار الطاقة الباهظة لزيادة قوتها السياسية والعسكرية، حيث تعد صناعة الأسلحة ثاني أكبر قطاع في الاقتصاد الروسي بعد الطاقة. وتُعد سياسات الطاقة ركيزة من ركائز نهضة روسيا العسكرية والسياسية خاصة في جمهوريات الاتحاد السوفياتي السابق. ولكي تتمكن من النمو أكثر، تريد روسيا أن تحقق قابلية احتكار التوزيع العالمي للنفط والغاز الطبيعي من بلدان الاتحاد السوفياتي السابق.

يبدو أن هذا المنطق هو الرؤية الدافعة لجورجيا. فعندما انتهت الحرب الباردة وتم حل الاتحاد السوفياتي، تحالفت الولايات المتحدة مع تركيا لوضع برنامج عمل لنقل النفط والغاز الطبيعي المكتشفين حديثاً من حوض بحر قزوين إلى الأسواق العالمية. وقد هدفت هذه الرؤية المشتركة بين الولايات المتحدة وتركيا إلى تسويق النفط والغاز الأذربيجاني والكازخستاني والتركمنستاني إلى العالم، ليس عن طريق روسيا، ولكن عبر الممر الواصل بين الشرق والغرب الممتد على طول بحر قزوين وتركيا.

جورجيا وأرمينيا

كانت الرؤية الأمريكية – التركية ناجحة في عصر ما قبل 11 أيلول/سبتمبر حين كانت روسيا خاضعة لحكم بوريس يلتسين الغير كفء سياسياً وكانت موسكو ضعيفة اقتصادياً نظراً لانخفاض أسعار النفط والغاز الطبيعي. ودعمت الولايات المتحدة وتركيا بناء خط أنابيب النفط باكو- تفليس- كيهان وخط أنابيب الغاز باكو- تبيليسي- ارضروم كخطوة أولى على طول الممر الواصل بين الشرق والغرب. وكانت الآمال المتوخاة من المرحلة الثانية من الرؤية الأمريكية - التركية تتمثل في تمديد خطوط الأنابيب؛ شرقاً إلى كازاخستان وتركمنستان، وغرباً إلى أوروبا. وكان خط أنابيب نابوكو بين تركيا والنمسا جزءاً كبيراً من هذه الرؤية، الذي مثّل نموذجاً لسياسة الطاقة في الاتحاد الأوروبي التي من شأنها أن تسمح للأوروبيين بشراء غاز بحر قزوين للمرة الأولى بدون وساطة روسية.

إن احتلال روسيا لجورجيا قد وجه ضربة قوية لمثل هذه الخطط. فجورجيا وأرمينيا دولتان بلدان على طول الممر الواصل بين الشرق والغرب الذي يقع بين حوض بحر قزوين وتركيا. وبما أن الحدود بين تركيا وأرمينيا مغلقة، فإن هذا يجعل جورجيا البلاد الرئيسية على طول الممر. وبما أن جورجيا قد شوّهت من قبل روسيا واصبحت غير مستقرة، فمن الصعب التصوّر اليوم كيف ستقوم أية شركة طاقة بالاستثمار في تمديدات الممر الواصل بين الشرق والغرب، الذي أصبحت جورجيا الحلقة الضعيفة فيه. وباحتلالها لجورجيا، استنفذت روسيا الخطط الأمريكية - التركية لتعزيز الممر الواصل بين الشرق والغرب وجعل تركيا مركز تجاري لطاقة بحر قزوين. وقامت موسكو أيضاً عن دراية بوقف خطط الاتحاد الأوروبي لشراء الطاقة من حوض بحر قزوين من دون الاضطرار إلى اللجوء إلى روسيا.

عودة إلى الاتحاد السوفياتي

كان نفوذ الغرب السياسي في دول الاتحاد السوفياتي سابقاً الضحية الثانية التي لحقت بدول الحلف الأطلسي جراء غزو روسيا لجورجيا. فمنذ تسعينيات القرن الماضي، تمكنت تركيا والولايات المتحدة من اكتساب نفوذ في دول الاتحاد السوفياتي سابقاً، وخاصة أذربيجان وجورجيا وأوكرانيا، وأسست روابط سياسية وعسكرية مع هذه الدول. والآن وقد لقنت روسيا جورجيا درساً بشأن موقفها الموالي للغرب، ستفكر أوكرانيا وأذربيجان مرتين عندما تتاح لهما الفرصة في المستقبل قبل أن تحذوا حذو الولايات المتحدة أو تركيا، على التوالي. إن غزو روسيا لجورجيا قد اثبت لدول الاتحاد السوفياتي سابقاً أن روسيا هي القوة المهيمنة في المنطقة وأنه من الأفضل لهذه الدول أن تستمع إليها.

ما دامت أسعار النفط والغاز مرتفعة، ستفرض روسيا المزيد من النفوذ السياسي والعسكري على منطقة القوقاز وحوض البحر الأسود، وسيأتي هذا النفوذ على حساب مجتمع الحلف الأطلسي. إن غزو روسيا لجورجيا تعد علامة بارزة من علامات بزوغ فجر عصر جديد. حرب صغيرة أتت بنتائج كبيرة بالفعل.

سونر چاغاپتاي

سونر چاغاپتاي هو زميل أقدم في معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى وأستاذ زائر في جامعة بهجسهير، أن يتقدم بشكره إلى ميليس إفكيميك على مساعدتها له في هذه المقالة.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

Articles & Op-Eds

The Caucasus: Small War, Big Damage

Also available in العربية

Turkish Daily News

September 8, 2008


Georgia's attempt to take South Ossetia has backfired. In a blitzkrieg, Russia drove the Georgian military completely out of South Ossetia. Moscow also made forays into Georgian territory. Many people in Turkey and across the transatlantic community have interpreted the war as a by-product of Georgia's aggressive attitude, and then propagated a neutral position toward the conflict. Whatever is the cause of the war, Russia's foray into Georgia cannot be dismissed as nuisance. The war has immense negative ramifications for the transatlantic community, including Turkey and the United States, as well as the European Union, or EU.

Russia's motives

The major impact of the war has been in the realm of energy and pipeline politics. Russia may not be a global superpower anymore, but it is certainly an "energy power." Moscow's strength lies in immense oil and natural gas reserves. Such that, even though Russia's population of 145 million is twice as big as the Turkish population, the Russian economy is smaller than its Turkish counterpart if the energy sector's contribution is subtracted.

Energy sector's behemoth dominance in the Russian economy shapes Russia's foreign policy motives. Russian gas giant Gazprom's policies and Russian foreign policy serve each other's mutual interests. Russia takes advantage of exorbitant energy prices to increase its political and military power -- the arms industry is the second largest sector of the Russian economy after energy. Energy politics is key to Russia's military and political ascent especially in the former USSR. In order to grow further, Russia wants to achieve monopoly over the global distribution of oil and natural gas from the former USSR countries.

This rationale seems to be the driving factor vision of Georgia. When the Cold War ended and the USSR was dissolved, the United States allied with Turkey to create a blue print to bring the newly explored oil and natural gas from the Caspian basin to the global markets. The shared U.S.-Turkish vision aimed to market Azeri, Kazakh, and Turkmen oil and gas to the world, not via Russia, but through the East-West corridor spanning the Caspian Sea and Turkey.

Georgia and Armenia

The U.S.-Turkish vision worked well in the pre-9/11 era when Russia was under the politically incompetent rule of Boris Yeltsin and Moscow was economically weak due to low oil and natural gas prices. As a first step along the East-West corridor, the U.S. and Turkey backed the building of Baku-Tiflis-Ceyhan oil and Baku-Tbilisi-Erzurum gas pipelines. The second phase of the U.S.-Turkish vision envisaged extending these pipelines; east to Kazakhstan and Turkmenistan, and west to Europe. A big part of that vision was the Nabucco pipeline between Turkey and Austria, the poster child for EU's energy policy that would have for the first time allowed Europeans to buy Caspian gas without Russian intermediary.

Russia's occupation of Georgia has dealt a blow to such plans. Georgia and Armenia are two countries along the East-West corridor that lie between the Caspian basin and Turkey. Since Turkey's border with Armenia is closed, this leaves Georgia as a key country along the corridor. Georgia is mutilated by Russia and unstable. It is hard to imagine today how any energy company would invest in extensions to the East-West corridor, along which Georgia has become the weak link. By occupying Georgia, Russia has exhausted the U.S-Turkish plans to boost the East-West corridor and make Turkey an entrepot of Caspian energy. Moscow has also preemptively blocked the EU's plans to buy energy from the Caspian basin without having to go through Russia.

Back in the USSR

A second transatlantic casualty of Russia's invasion of Georgia is the West's political influence in the former USSR. Since the 1990s, Turkey and the U.S. have managed to wield influence over countries in the former USSR, especially Azerbaijan, Georgia, and Ukraine, building military and political ties with these states. Now that Russia has taught Georgia a lesson about its pro-Western stance, Ukraine and Azerbaijan will think twice next time they have a chance to take cue from the United States or Turkey, respectively. Russia's foray into Georgia has demonstrated to the countries of the former USSR that Russia is the regional hegemon and that they better listen to it.

As long as oil and natural gas prices remain high, Russia will project further political and military influence over the Caucuses and the Black Sea basin, and such influence will come at the expense of the transatlantic community. Russia's invasion of Georgia is a milestone that marks the dawn of a new era. A small war has indeed produced big results.

Soner Cagaptay, a senior fellow at the Washington Institute for Near East Policy and a visiting professor at Bahcesehir University, would like to thank Melis Evcimik for her assistance with this article.