أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 3346

تقوية حكومة الكاظمي (الجزء الأول): قضايا الحماية والأمن

مايكل نايتس و الكسندر ميلو

متاح أيضاً في English

13 تموز/يوليو 2020


"فيما يلي القسم الأول من المرصد السياسي المكون من جزئين حول دعم الإدارة الجديدة لرئيس الوزراء العراقي مصطفى الكاظمي في مواجهة التحديات الملحة. وسيركز الجزء الثاني على الاتصالات الحكومية والقدرات الإعلامية".

 

تتعرّض الحكومة العراقية حالياً لهجماتٍ شبه يومية تقوم بها الميليشيات الإجرامية أمثال «كتائب حزب الله». ويشكل اغتيال المستشار الخارجي هشام الهاشمي في 6 تموز/يوليو أحدث حلقة في سلسلة من الأحداث التي تظهر عجز الحكومة عن حماية نفسها في قلب بغداد - وهو وضع غير مستدام سيؤدي إلى تدهور سريع في قدرة الدولة إن لم يتم إيقافه. لكن لحسن الحظ، هناك بعض الإصلاحات التكتيكية السريعة وغير المكلفة [التي ما زالت] ضمن قدرات العراق وشركائه الدوليين [والتي يجب القيام بها للحفاظ على حكومة الكاظمي الحالية].

التعرض لترهيب الميليشيات

عارضت «كتائب حزب الله» وميليشيات أخرى تدعمها إيران علناً تسمية الكاظمي لرئاسة الحكومة، ولا تزال معارضتها الصريحة له مستمرةً حتى اليوم. على سبيل المثال، بعد الإفراج مؤخراً عن عناصر من «كتائب حزب الله» مرتبطة بهجمات صاروخية مخطط لها، قامت تلك العناصر باستعراض أنفسها وهي تدوس على صور رئيس الوزراء - على الرغم من كونها عناصر رسمية وناشطة في القوات المسلحة العراقية، الأمر الذي يجعل الكاظمي قائدها العام. وفي 26 حزيران/يونيو، وجّه المسؤول الأمني لـ «كتائب حزب الله»، أبو علي العسكري، تحذيراً علنياً إلى الكاظمي بالتوقف عن عرقلة الأنشطة الإرهابية [التي تقوم بها «الكتائب»] ضد الأهداف الأمريكية، وهي نقطة رددها بعد ذلك قيس الخزعلي، قائد ميليشيا «عصائب أهل الحق» ذات التفكير المماثل. والأسوأ من ذلك، استُكملت هذه الميول بتهديدات أمنية ملموسة لن يتم قبولها في أي مجتمع متقدّم:

  • الاغتيالات: لا يمكن فعلياً اعتبار مقتل الهاشمي على يد مجموعة من عناصر «كتائب حزب الله» وحلفائها بالعمل الفريد من نوعه - فقد قُتل أيضاً العديد من الأكاديميين الآخرين، ونشطاء المجتمع المدني، والشخصيات الاجتماعية المنتقدة للميليشيات. ولم يكن الهاشمي ضمن دائرة المستشارين الرسميين المقرّبين من الكاظمي ولكنه كان عند أطرافها، مما يؤكد التهديد الذي يواجهه أولئك الذين يقدمون المشورة أو الخدمة للحكومة.
  • المضايقات والاعتقالات: اعتقلت الميليشيات مئات المتظاهرين بصورة غير قانونية بعد بدء المظاهرات الحاشدة في تشرين الأول/أكتوبر 2019. وحتى أن الميليشيات ترصّدت لأعلى القيادات في البلاد، بمن فيهم الكاظمي نفسه عندما كان رئيساً لـ "جهاز المخابرات الوطني" العراقي. وفي آخر استعراضات القوة التي قام بها تنظيم «كتائب حزب الله»، عمد موكبٌ تابع له مؤلف من ثلاثين آلية مجهزة بمدافع رشاشة ثقيلة ومدافع مضادة للطائرات من عيار 23 ملم بالتطواف حول "المنطقة الدولية" في 26 حزيران/يونيو، مروراً بمقر إقامة الكاظمي وأماكن مهمة أخرى.
  • الاستبعاد عن المرافق الرئيسية: يتعذّر على المسؤولين العراقيين استخدام مقر رئيس الوزراء بأمان بسبب وجود عناصر من «كتائب حزب الله» في المباني والمجمّعات القريبة التي سيطرت عليها الميليشيات. حتى أن القصر الجمهوري، الذي يُفترض أن يستقبل فيه رئيس الوزراء الزوار الرسميين للبلاد، غير آمن للسبب نفسه. وإجمالاً، تشغل «كتائب حزب الله» ومليشيات أخرى 22 عقاراً رئيسياً داخل المركز الحكومي، ولديها ما بين 2000 إلى 5000 مسلح هناك. وبالمثل، أثبتت منشآت أخرى في "المنطقة الدولية" أنها لم تكن آمنة في الماضي - فقد نَهبت رموز تابعة لجماعة مقتدى الصدر مجلس النواب في أيار/مايو 2016، وكانت المليشيات حرة في إقامة معسكرات لها خارج السفارة الأمريكية ومهاجمة محيطها الخارجي في كانون الأول/ديسمبر الماضي.

حماية المسؤولين العراقيين

يعيش العديد من المسؤولين والمستشارين العراقيين في أماكن غير آمنة ويفتقرون إلى أدنى مقومات ومعدات الحماية الشخصية. ومن المؤسف أنه كان من الممكن أن يبقى الهاشمي على قيد الحياة في الهجوم الذي تعرّض له يوم 6 تموز/يوليو، لو كان وضعه الأمني مختلفاً بعض الشيء - لو كان يتمتع بمهارات القيادة الدفاعية أو كان بإمكانه الاعتماد على شخص يتمتع بتلك المهارات، إو إذا كانت نافذة سيارته وبابها مقاومَين للرصاص، أو إذا كان المستجيب الطبي الأول متواجداً في موقع الحادثة، وما إلى ذلك.

والواقع أنه من السهل على قدرات "مكتب الأمن الدبلوماسي الأمريكي" أن تساعد بغداد على حماية المسؤولين العراقيين، لا سيما أولئك الذين ليس لديهم بالفعل مفرزة أمنية شخصية. وتستطيع الحكومة الأمريكية، بناءً على طلب العراق، أن تقدّم له على الفور وبتكلفة قليلة وبالتشارك مع المخابرات العراقية وقوات مكافحة الإرهاب بعضاً من أدوات الدعم التالية:

  • التدريب على الوعي الأمني، بما في ذلك المراقبة المضادة
  • تدريب السائقين العاملين لدى الحكومة
  • التدريب الأساسي المنقذ للحياة لمساعدة السائقين والمسؤولين في الحفاظ على أنفسهم أو الآخرين على قيد الحياة إلى حين وصولهم إلى المستشفى
  • السترات الواقية من الرصاص
  • توفير معدات تحصين السيارات الشخصية بأدوات بسيطة كالملحقات المصفّحة للأبواب، والزجاج المسطّح الصفائحي المقاوم للرصاص عند النوافذ، والإطارات التي يمكنها السير مفرغة من الهواء
  • أنظمة الكاميرات اللاسلكية للوحة القيادة في السيارات والمداخل/الأبواب

إقامة مناطق آمنة

على الرغم من وجود الميليشيات بشكل كبير داخل المركز الحكومي، إلا أنها ليست في كل مكان. وقد يكون أحد الخيارات هو إقامة "مناطق خضراء صغيرة" عن طريق إغلاق الشوارع، ولكن ذلك قد يتعارض مع الاتجاه الحالي المتمثل في فتح الطرق وتجنب الحواجز الدائمة أمام حركة المرور.

وبناءً على ذلك، يجب على الحكومة الأمريكية مساعدة بغداد على تركيب نظام حواجز هيدروليكية ذات آلية تحكّم مركزية في "المنطقة الدولية" (أي أعمدة خرسانية ترتفع من تجاويف في الأرض)، ولطالما استُخدمت مقاربة "الطوق الفولاذي" في عواصم العالم كوسيلة سريعة لمنع دخول المركبات الآلية في الحالات الطارئة. وطالما يتم تشغيلها عن بُعد، فستشكل تحدياً تكتيكياً كبيراً أمام تحركات الميليشيات داخل المركز الحكومي وستقلّص الخطر على حرّاس الحواجز الضعيفة. كما أن تركيب هذه الحواجز الهيدروليكية سريع وقليل الكلفة، طالما لا تُمعن الحكومتان الأمريكية والعراقية في تعقيد الأمور.

يجب على [حكومة] بغداد أن تفكر أيضاً في جمع بعض المسؤولين والقضاة في أماكن سكنية أكثر أماناً. وأحد الخيارات المتاحة في هذا الشأن هو "بيت ضيافة" رئيس الوزراء، وهو عبارة عن فندق حكومي قليل الاستعمال يحتوي على ثمانية وخمسين غرفة، من بينها أربعة عشر جناحاً وجناحان رئاسيّان. وتُستخدم هذه المنشأة بالفعل لإيواء بعض المسؤولين الذين لا يملكون أماكن إقامة شخصية في العاصمة، على الرغم من ضرورة تشديد شروط الدخول إليها إذا تم إيواء المزيد من المسؤولين فيها (بإمكان الجهات الفاعلة في الميليشيات الدخول إليها بسهولة تامة في الوقت الحالي). وثمة أماكن أخرى يمكن استعمالها بكل سهولة بدلاً من الفندق أو بالإضافة إليه.

استرداد المركز الحكومي

في الوقت الحالي، يتم حماية المركز الحكومي من قبل فرقة "القوات الخاصة للمنطقة الدولية" (اللواءين 56 و 57)، وهي وحدة في الجيش العراقي تعمل تحت قيادة "مركز العمليات الوطني" التابع لرئيس الوزراء. ولكن هذه الوحدة لا تشكل "قوات خاصة" إلا بالاسم، على الرغم من اقتصار مهمتها الرئيسية في السنوات الأخيرة على تجهيز حواجز التفتيش بالعناصر، ولذلك هناك دافع قوي لاستبدالها بوحدات قتالية متمرّسة بحاجة إلى الراحة من قتالها على الجبهات الأمامية ضد تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» («داعش»). وقد يتم أيضاً تعزيز هذه الوحدة المتجددة بوحدة للرد السريع مفروزة من "جهاز مكافحة الإرهاب"؛ ويمكن لهذا "الجهاز" أن يقوم بعد ذلك بإجراء تمارين منتظمة يتم فيها نشر تعزيزات إضافية من قاعدته في "مطار بغداد الدولي" إلى المركز الحكومي، وبذلك يوجّه رسالة قوية إلى الميليشيات ويقلّل حساسيتها تجاه هذه التحركات.

في هذا السياق، يستطيع الجيش الأمريكي تزويد وحدة الرد السريع التابعة لـ "جهاز مكافحة الإرهاب" بعددٍ صغير من المركبات القتالية المدرّعة الخفيفة والمجهّزة بالمدافع أو بأنظمة مماثلة، يتم توفيرها دون أي تكلفة باعتبارها أصنافاً دفاعية إضافية. وسوف يكون لهذه المركبات قيمة رمزية وتكتيكية كبيرة لأنها تتفوق على أي مركبة من مركبات الميليشيات. كما سيكون من الأسهل صيانتها واستخدامها من المركبات المجنزرة (الدبابات وناقلات الأفراد) الموجودة حالياً في المركز الحكومي، والتي نادراً ما تتحرك ولم تعد لها قوة رادعة.

وعلى المدى الطويل، يجب تطهير المركز الحكومي من جميع القوات المسلحة التي لا تقع تحت السيطرة العملياتية المباشرة لـ مركز العمليات الوطني"، علماً بأنه سبق وأن اتخذت الحكومة هذه الخطوة في الماضي (وإن كان ذلك بنوايا أقل نبيلة) خلال عهد رئيس الوزراء نوري المالكي. وتتمثل إحدى المقاربات التي يمكن اتباعها هنا في تعيين "«قيصر» للمركز الحكومي" يتولى جرد كافة الممتلكات والأسلحة المتواجدة داخل "المنطقة الدولية"، ثم العمل تدريجياً على تقليص عدد الميليشيات التي تقبع بشكل غير قانوني في المساكن الحكومية، بالإضافة إلى عدد الأسلحة الموجودة هناك وأنواعها. ويمكن وضع قواعد جديدة لبطاقات وشروط الدخول. وليست هذه المهمة صعبة - فقد سبق اتخاذها في الماضي، أما الابتكارات، مثل الحواجز الهيدروليكية، فستجعل العملية اليوم أكثر ذكاءً.

مبادئ للسياسة الأمريكية

يجب على واشنطن أن تستبق الأمور بتذكير حكومة الكاظمي بأن "اتفاقية الإطار الاستراتيجي" بين الولايات المتحدة والعراق تهدف إلى مساعدة البلاد على الدفاع عن نفسها ضد جميع التهديدات وليس فقط ضد تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية». وعلى الرغم من أن "مجموعة المستشارين العسكريين" - التي تشارك فيها ثلاث عشرة دولة - متواجدة في العراق لأغراض الحملة ضد تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية»، إلّا أن لدى السفارة الأمريكية مهمةً أوسع تشمل مكافحة الإرهاب، والتعاون الاستخباراتي، وإصلاح القطاع الأمني، وتقديم المعدات العسكرية الأمريكية من خلال مبيعات [الأسلحة] الدفاعية والتحويلات بدون كلفة. وفي هذا الإطار، تشكل أجهزة الاستخبارات في كلا البلدين قناةً أخرى للتعاون كما هو محدّد في الفصل 50 من القانون الأمريكي. وستوفّر أي من هذه القنوات المقتصرة على الولايات المتحدة وغير التابعة لـ "مجموعة المستشارين العسكريين" آليات كافية لدعم جهود الحكومة العراقية لحماية نفسها بصمت (أو بشكل صارخ).

لدى الولايات المتحدة لائحة طويلة من الخطوات وهي تحض بغداد باستمرار على القيام بها، ولكن كما تظهر الأحداث الأخيرة، فإن العراقيين هم عادةً من يدفعون الثمن - وغالباً ما يكون ذلك حياتهم. يجب أن تكون واشنطن أكثر استباقية في طرح أفكار لتعزيز الحماية، إلى جانب المساعدة الملموسة مثل الاستخبارات التحذيرية والتدريب والعتاد. إن أيّ عملٍ لا يرقى إلى هذا المستوى سيدعو حكومة الكاظمي إلى التخلي عن الأمل في كبح الميليشيات، والانهيار ببطء - مسؤول واحد بعد الآخر - في ظل الإرهاب القاتل.

 

مايكل نايتس هو زميل أقدم في معهد واشنطن. ومنذ عام 2003، أجرى أبحاثاً مكثفة على الأرض في العراق إلى جانب قوات الأمن والوزارات الحكومية. أليكس الميدا هو محلل الأمن الرئيسي في شركة استشارية رائدة في مجال المخاطر.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 3346

Strengthening the Kadhimi Government (Part 1): Protection and Security Issues

Michael Knights and Alex Almeida

Also available in العربية

July 13, 2020


Washington expects Iraqi leaders to put their lives on the line to defend the country’s sovereignty and secure the government center, but they can’t do so without at least a little U.S. help.

The following is the first installment in a two-part PolicyWatch on bolstering Prime Minister Mustafa al-Kadhimi’s new administration against urgent challenges. Read Part 2, which focuses on government communications and media capabilities.

Iraq’s government is now under almost daily assault from criminal militias such as Kataib Hezbollah (KH). The July 6 assassination of external advisor Hisham al-Hashemi is merely the latest in a string of incidents that show the government is unable to protect itself in the heart of Baghdad—an unsustainable situation that will result in rapid degradation of the state’s capacity if not reversed. Fortunately, some tactical fixes are cheap, quick, and well within the capabilities of Iraq and its international partners.

VULNERABILITIES TO MILITIA INTIMIDATION

KH and other Iranian-backed militias publicly opposed Kadhimi’s nomination as prime minister, and their explicit opposition to him continues today. For example, after KH members linked to planned rocket attacks were released from custody recently, they made a show of trampling on photos of the premier—despite being formal, active members of the Iraqi armed forces, which makes Kadhimi their commander-in-chief. On June 26, KH spokesman Abu Ali al-Askari publicly warned Kadhimi to stop disrupting terrorist acts against American targets, a point echoed a day later by Qais al-Khazali, head of the like-minded militia Asaib Ahl al-Haq. Worse, these sentiments have been supplemented with tangible security threats that would not be tolerated in any advanced society:

  • Assassinations. Hashemi’s murder by some combination of KH and its allies is hardly unique—various other academics, civil society campaigners, and social figures critical of the militias have been killed as well. Hashemi was just outside Kadhimi’s immediate circle of formal advisors, underscoring the threat faced by those who counsel or serve in the government.
  • Harassment and detention. Hundreds of protestors were unlawfully detained by militias after mass demonstrations began in October 2019. Militias even waylaid the country’s highest-profile leaders, including Kadhimi himself when he served as director of the Iraqi National Intelligence Service. In a more recent show of force, a thirty-vehicle KH column armed with heavy machine guns and 23-millimeter antiaircraft cannons drove around the International Zone on June 26, passing near Kadhimi’s residence and other important locations.
  • Exclusion from key facilities. Iraqi officials cannot safely use the prime minister’s headquarters due to the presence of KH operatives on the premises and in nearby complexes taken over by the militia. The Republican Palace, where the premier is supposed to receive state visitors, is unsafe for the same reason. In all, KH and other militias occupy twenty-two key properties inside the government center, and have anywhere from 2,000 to 5,000 armed men there. Other facilities in the zone have proven similarly unsecure in the past—parliament was ransacked by Sadrist figures in May 2016, and militias were free to set up camps outside the U.S. embassy and attack its outer perimeter last December.

PROTECTING IRAQI OFFICIALS

Numerous Iraqi officials and advisors live in unsafe settings and lack the most basic personal security capabilities and equipment. Tragically, in the July 6 attack, even small changes to Hashemi’s security profile could have helped him survive—if he had defensive driving skills or could rely on someone who did; if his car’s side window and door had been bulletproofed; if a medical first responder had been on-scene; and so forth.

It is easily within the capabilities of the U.S. Bureau of Diplomatic Security to help Baghdad protect Iraqi officials, particularly those who do not already have a personal security detail. Upon request, the U.S. government could provide some of the following support immediately, at little cost and in partnership with Iraqi intelligence and counterterrorism forces:

  • Security awareness training, including countersurveillance
  • Training for government drivers
  • Basic life-saving training to help drivers and officials keep themselves or others alive until they reach a hospital
  • Bulletproof vests
  • Personal vehicle hardening kits with simple expedients such as door armor inserts, flat sheet bullet-resistant glass for windows, and run-flat tires
  • Wireless car dashboard and doorbell camera systems

CREATING SAFE ZONES

Although the militias have a substantial presence inside the government center, they are not everywhere. One option would be to establish “mini Green Zones” by closing streets, but that would go against the current trend of opening up roads and avoiding permanent barriers to traffic.

Accordingly, the U.S. government should help Baghdad install a system of centrally controlled hydraulic barriers in the zone (i.e., concrete bollards that rise from recesses in the ground). This “ring of steel” approach has long been used in capitals around the world to rapidly bar vehicle access during emergencies. As long as it is remotely administered, it would pose a significant tactical challenge to militia movements within the government center and take vulnerable checkpoint guards out of the loop. Hydraulic barriers can be installed quickly and cheaply as long as the U.S. and Iraqi governments do not overcomplicate matters.

Baghdad should also think about consolidating some officials and judges in more secure housing. One option is the Prime Minister’s Guest House, an underutilized government hotel with fifty-eight rooms, including fourteen suites and two presidential suites. This facility is already used to house some officials who lack personal residences in the capital, though conditions for entry would need to be tightened if more officials are assigned there (militia actors can enter quite easily at the moment). Other locations could just as easily be used instead of the hotel, or in addition.

RECLAIMING THE GOVERNMENT CENTER

Currently, the government center is protected by the International Zone Special Forces Division (56th and 57th Brigades), an Iraqi army unit that operates under the prime minister’s National Operations Center (NOC). The unit is “special forces” in name only, though—its main duty in recent years has been to man checkpoints, so there is a strong argument for replacing it with seasoned combat units that need a rest from frontline duties against the Islamic State (IS). The refreshed division might also be reinforced with a quick-reaction unit seconded from the Counter Terrorism Service; the CTS could then conduct regular exercises in which additional reinforcements deploy from its base at Baghdad International Airport to the government center, sending a potent message to militias and desensitizing them to such movements.

For its part, the U.S. military could provide the CTS quick-reaction force with a small number of light-armored, cannon-armed fighting vehicles or similar systems, supplied at no cost as Excess Defense Articles. Such vehicles would have strong symbolic and tactical value because they overmatch any militia vehicle. They would also be easier to maintain and use than the tracked vehicles (tanks and personnel carriers) currently deployed in the government center, which rarely move and have no deterrent value anymore.

In the longer run, the government center should be cleansed of all armed forces not under the NOC’s direct operational control. The government undertook this effort in the past (albeit with less noble intentions) during the tenure of Prime Minister Nouri al-Maliki. One approach is to appoint a “government center czar” who can inventory all properties and weapons inside the zone, then gradually reduce the number of militias illegally squatting in government residences, as well as the number and types of weapons present there. New badging and access rules could be introduced. This is not rocket science—it has all been done before, and innovations such as hydraulic barriers would make the process smarter today.

PRINCIPLES FOR U.S. POLICY

Washington should proactively remind the Kadhimi government that the U.S.-Iraq Strategic Framework Agreement is intended to help the country defend itself against all threats, not just IS. Although the thirteen-nation Military Advisor Group (MAG) is in Iraq purely for the campaign against IS, the U.S. embassy has a broader mission, including counterterrorism, intelligence cooperation, security sector reform, and the provision of U.S. military equipment through defense sales and no-cost transfers. Another channel for cooperation is the two countries’ intelligence agencies, as outlined by Title 50 of the U.S. Code. Any of these U.S.-only, non-MAG channels would provide ample mechanisms for quietly (or loudly) supporting the Iraqi government’s efforts to protect itself.

The United States has a long wish list of actions that it is constantly prodding Baghdad to undertake, but as the latest incidents show, the price for doing so is usually paid by Iraqis—often with their very lives. Washington needs to be more proactive in offering ideas for bolstering protection, along with tangible assistance such as warning intelligence, training, and equipment. Anything less would invite the Kadhimi government to abandon hope of reining in militias and slowly crumble—one official at the time—in the face of deadly intimidation.

Michael Knights, a senior fellow with The Washington Institute, has conducted extensive on-the-ground research in Iraq alongside security forces and government ministries. Alex Almeida is the head security analyst at a leading risk advisory firm.