أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

تنبيه سياسي

الصدع السعودي الباكستاني يتطور حول الهند

سايمون هندرسون

متاح أيضاً في English

21 آب/أغسطس 2020


في 17 آب/ أغسطس، زار رئيس أركان الجيش الباكستاني الجنرال قمر جاويد باجوه السعودية للقاء نائب وزير الدفاع خالد بن سلمان، الأخ الأصغر للحاكم الفعلي للمملكة ولي العهد الأمير محمد بن سلمان. وجاءت هذه الرحلة في وقت تزايد فيه الخلاف بين باكستان والرياض - التي هي ربما من الناحية التاريخية أقرب حليف لها - فيما يتعلق بمصير كشمير، المنطقة المنقسمة والمتنازع عليها ذات الأغلبية المسلمة التي جعلت إسلام أباد عالقة في صراعٍ مريرٍ مع الهند لعقودٍ من الزمن.

وبالفعل، تسببت هذه القضية بانقسام جزءٍ كبيرٍ من العالَم الإسلامي منذ  شهور. ففي كانون الأول/ ديسمبر الماضي، نظّمت ماليزيا مؤتمراً أُدرجت فيه قضية كشمير على جدول الأعمال. ونظراً إلى الموضوع وقائمة الحضور - التي تضمنت خصمي السعودية إيران وتركيا - ضغطت الرياض على باكستان للانسحاب، وهو ما قامت به في اللحظة الأخيرة على الرغم من أنها كانت إحدى الداعمين الرئيسيين لعقد هذا الاجتماع.

ثم، في وقتٍ سابقٍ من هذا الشهر - في الذكرى السنوية الأولى لقرار نيودلهي باستعمال القوة لتعليق جزء كبير من الحكم الذاتي الذي كانت تتمتع به منطقة كشمير الهندية سابقاً - طالب وزير الخارجية الباكستاني شاه محمود قريشي بأن تدعو "منظمة التعاون الإسلامي" ومقرها السعودية إلى عقد اجتماع وزاري حول كشمير، وأشار إلى أنه بخلاف ذلك ستعقد باكستان اجتماعها الخاص. ودفع هذا الموقف وغيره من المواقف الرياض إلى تجميد التسهيل الائتماني النفطي البالغ 3.2 مليار دولار الذي سبق أن منحته إلى إسلام أباد، والإصرار على أن تُسدّد باكستان في وقت مبكر أجزاء من قرض بقيمة 3 مليارات دولار.

ويبدو أنّ الخلاف بينهما حول كشمير نابع من تحوّلٍ في السياسة الخارجية السعودية. وكما يظهر، يرى محمد بن سلمان أنّ علاقات المملكة مع الاقتصاد الهندي ذي المستوى العالمي أكثر أهمية من روابطها مع باكستان - على الرغم من السنوات التي أمضتها الرياض في تمويل البرنامج النووي لإسلام أباد لدرجة أنّ الكثيرين يفترضون أنّ بإمكان السعودية اللجوء إلى هذه الترسانة الأجنبية إذا ما حدثت أزمة أمنية رهيبة في الخليج. إلا أنّ الزاوية الجيوسياسية تتداخل مع الزاوية الدينية: فمن خلال تهميش الوضع في كشمير على ما يبدو، تُفسِح الرياض المجال أمام تركيا أو إيران أو الجهات الفاعلة الأخرى لتحدّي قيادتها المزعومة للعالم الإسلامي وربما حتى الدور التقليدي للعاهل السعودي بصفته "خادم الحرمين الشريفين" في مكة المكرمة والمدينة المنورة.

وفي ظل هذه الخلفية، بدت زيارة الجنرال باجوه في 17 آب/أغسطس وكأنها محاولة لتأخير الصدمة الكبيرة في العلاقات الثنائية، ومن غير الواضح ما إذا كان قد حقق نجاحاً في زيارته. فقبل هذه الرحلة، ادّعى أحد الوزراء في الحكومة الباكستانية أنّه قد تم تقريباً حل المسائل [العالقة] مع السعودية، "وسيتم تسوية بقية القضايا، إذا كانت لا تزال قائمة" أثناء الزيارة. لكن بعد عودة الجنرال إلى بلاده، وصفت البيانات الصادرة عن القوات المسلّحة المحادثات بأنها "عسكرية في الأساس" في طبيعتها. وبالمثل، في مقابلة تلفزيونية في اليوم التالي، قلّل رئيس الوزراء عمران خان من أهمية الخلافات الثنائية، بقوله: "الشائعات بأن علاقاتنا مع السعودية قد توترت كاذبة تماماً". لكنه لم يذكر بالتفصيل أي تقدم بشأن القضايا المالية أو موضوع كشمير، مما يعني أنه لا يوجد شيء يمكن الإبلاغ عنه.

وهذه الأخبار مقلقة بالنظر إلى الأزمة المحلّية المتصاعدة في باكستان، التي لن تتفاقم ظروفها الاقتصادية الخطيرة إلا من خلال سحب النقد السعودي. وقد تسدّ المساعدة الصينية هذه الثغرة، لكنّها تأتي ضمن شروطٍ قد تُحبط مفاوضات إسلام أباد مع "صندوق النقد الدولي". وفي 20آب/ أغسطس، طار وزير الخارجية قريشي إلى بكين لحضور اجتماع وصف بأنه "مهم للغاية".

ومن الناحية السياسية، يتمتع الجنرال باجوه بقوة أكبر من رئيس الوزراء خان، الذي غالباً ما يُعزى فوزه في انتخابات عام 2018 إلى واقع أنّ القوات العسكرية لم يرُقها المرشّحون الآخرون لذلك دعمته. وتشكل سيطرة الجنرال على الأمن والسياسة النووية أداته الرئيسية في التعامل مع الرياض. لكن التقارير الأخيرة تشير إلى أنه رغم إمكانية قيام باكستان بعرض المساعدة النووية إلى السعوديين منذ سنوات، إلّا أن الصين تهيمن الآن على هذا الدور. كما أنّ استعداد الرياض لدعم سياسات إسلام أباد بشأن كشمير وغيرها من القضايا قد تتأثر أيضاً برغبتها في تخفيف حدة التنافس النووي بين الهند وباكستان.

 

سايمون هندرسون هو زميل "بيكر" ومدير "برنامج برنستاين لشؤون الخليج وسياسة الطاقة" في معهد واشنطن.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

Policy Alert

Saudi-Pakistan Rift Develops Over India

Simon Henderson

Also available in العربية

August 21, 2020


Growing tensions between the two allies have both Islamic and nuclear angles.

On August 17, Pakistani army chief Gen. Qamar Javed Bajwa visited Saudi Arabia to meet with Deputy Defense Minister Khalid bin Salman, younger brother to the kingdom’s de facto ruler Crown Prince Muhammad bin Salman (aka MbS). The trip came at a time of growing Pakistani friction with Riyadh—historically perhaps its closest ally—regarding the fate of Kashmir, the divided and disputed Muslim-majority region that has locked Islamabad in bitter conflict with India for decades.

Indeed, the issue has split much of the Islamic world for months now. Last December, Malaysia organized a conference with Kashmir on the agenda. Given the subject matter and attendance list—which included Saudi rivals Iran and Turkey—Riyadh pressured Pakistan to withdraw, which it did at the last moment even though it had been one of the meeting’s prime backers.

Then, earlier this month—the first anniversary of New Delhi’s decision to forcefully suspend much of the autonomy formerly held by Indian Kashmir—Pakistani foreign minister Shah Mahmood Qureshi demanded that the Saudi-based Organization of Islamic Cooperation call for a ministerial meeting on Kashmir, suggesting that otherwise Pakistan would hold its own meeting. This and other posturing prompted Riyadh to freeze the $3.2 billion oil credit facility it had previously granted to Islamabad and insist that the country pay back parts of a $3 billion loan early.

Their spat over Kashmir seems to stem from a shift in Saudi foreign policy. Apparently, MbS sees the kingdom’s relations with India’s world-class economy as more important than its ties with Pakistan—despite years of financing Islamabad’s nuclear program to such a degree that many assume the Saudis could call on this foreign arsenal in the event of a dire security crisis in the Gulf. But the geopolitical angle overlaps with a religious one: by seemingly marginalizing the situation in Muslim-majority Kashmir, Riyadh is creating room for Turkey, Iran, or other actors to challenge its claimed leadership of the Islamic world and perhaps even the Saudi king’s traditional role as “Custodian of the Two Holy Places” in Mecca and Medina.

Against this backdrop, General Bajwa’s August 17 visit looked like an attempt to delay a train wreck in bilateral relations, and it is unclear if he succeeded. Ahead of the trip, a Pakistani cabinet minister claimed that issues with Saudi Arabia had almost been sorted out, “and the rest of the issues, if [they] still exist, would also be settled” during the visit. After the general’s return, however, statements from the armed forces characterized the talks as “primarily military” in nature. Similarly, in a television interview the next day, Prime Minister Imran Khan played down the bilateral differences: “The rumors that our relations with Saudi Arabia have soured are totally false.” But he did not detail any progress on the financial issues or Kashmir, implying that there was none to report.

This news is troubling given the brewing domestic crisis in Pakistan, whose parlous economic circumstances will only be exacerbated by the withdrawal of Saudi cash. Chinese assistance might fill the gap, but it comes with conditions that could upset Islamabad’s negotiations with the IMF. On August 20, Qureshi flew to Beijing for what was described as a “very important” meeting.

In political terms, General Bajwa is more powerful than Prime Minister Khan, whose 2018 electoral victory is often credited to the fact that the military disliked the other candidates and backed him. The general’s main lever in dealing with Riyadh is his control over security and nuclear policy. But recent reports suggest that although Pakistan may have offered the Saudis nuclear assistance years ago, China now dominates this role. Any future Saudi willingness to back Islamabad’s policies on Kashmir and other issues may also be tempered by Riyadh's desire to ease the India-Pakistan nuclear rivalry.

Simon Henderson is the Baker Fellow and director of the Bernstein Program on Gulf and Energy Policy at The Washington Institute.