أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 2694

روسيا واتفاق وقف إطلاق النار في سوريا

آنا بورشفسكايا, بول شوارتز, و السفير روبرت إس. فورد

متاح أيضاً في English

21 أيلول/سبتمبر 2016


"في 19 أيلول/سبتمبر، خاطب بول شوارتز، روبرت فورد وآنا بورشفسكايا، منتدى سياسي في معهد واشنطن. وشوارتز هو زميل أقدم في "برنامج روسيا وأوراسيا" في "مركز الدراسات الاستراتيجية والدولية". وفورد هو زميل أقدم في "معهد الشرق الأوسط"، وشغل منصب سفير الولايات المتحدة في سوريا بين عامي 2011 و 2014. وبورشفسكايا هي زميلة "آيرا وينر" في معهد واشنطن، حيث تركز على سياسة روسيا تجاه الشرق الأوسط. وفيما يلي ملخص المقرر لملاحظاتهم".

 

آنا بورشفسكايا

كان الهدف المعلن للرئيس الروسي فلاديمير بوتين من إطلاق عملية التدخل في سوريا العام الماضي هو مكافحة الإرهاب. بيد بناءً على الأسلحة التي استخدمتها روسيا والأهداف التي اختارتها، كان من الواضح أن مكافحة الإرهاب لم تكن هدفه الوحيد. ففي الواقع، تشير بعض التقارير إلى أن الحملة قد عززت قوة تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية في العراق والشام» («داعش») في بعض الأحيان. وفي الوقت نفسه، أعربت جماعات حقوق الإنسان عن قلقها إزاء تعمّد ضرب القوات الروسية لأهداف مدنية، في حين أن كبار قادة "حلف شمال الأطلسي" ("الناتو")، مثل الجنرال فيليب بريدلوف، اتهموا موسكو والرئيس السوري بشار الأسد بـ "تسليح" تدفق هجرة اللاجئين بغية "إحباط العزيمة الأوروبية".

ومن وجهة نظر بوتين، ليس هناك شك بأن فوائد التدخل تتخطى تكاليفه. إذ إن ثمن الحملة، الذي يقدر بـ 480 مليون دولار ليس سوى نقطة في بحر ميزانية الدفاع الروسية السنوية التي تبلغ حوالي 55 مليار دولار. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، أكد بوتين على فوائد التدريب على القتال في سوريا، بقوله إن الخبرة على أرض المعركة هي الأفضل. وبالمثل، شكّلت الحرب حقل تجارب مفيد للأسلحة الروسية الجديدة. وعلى الرغم من إعلان بوتين في آذار/ مارس عن "انسحاب جزئي" من سوريا، تشير بعض التقارير إلى أن بلاده قد جلبت في الواقع المزيد من الأسلحة إلى داخل البلاد أكثر من تلك التي أخذتها معها عند الانسحاب الجزئي.

ومن الناحية الجغرافية، عززت موسكو بشكل كبير تحالفها مع إيران خلال العام الماضي، وهو تطور لم يسبق له مثيل بين هذين المنافسين التقليديين. فغالباً ما تتحدث الحكومتان عن أهداف مشتركة، على الرغم من أن روسيا، خلافاً لطهران، ليست مهتمة بمساعدة الأسد على استعادة السيطرة على كل شبر من سوريا.

هذا وقد اختبر هذا التعاون مع إيران علاقة روسيا الواقعية مع إسرائيل. وعلى الرغم من أن بوتين يرغب في الحفاظ على تلك العلاقة، إلا أنه سيذهب إلى حد استرضاء إسرائيل فقط. على سبيل المثال، بدأت روسيا في الآونة الأخيرة بتسليم أجزاء من نظام الدفاع الجوي "إس-300" القوي إلى إيران بعد تأجيل عملية البيع لسنوات. وبالتالي فإن تصرفات روسيا في سوريا تثير تساؤلات إلى متى سيستمر بوتين في المحافظة على هذا التوازن.

وفي ما يخص إرساء السلام، لم تضغط روسيا على الأسد لوقف إطلاق النار أو إجراء مفاوضات سياسية. بل على العكس من ذلك، يتمتع الأسد بحرية استغلال الثغرات في اتفاقيات وقف إطلاق النار التي ساعدت روسيا في التوسط فيها، وذلك باستخدام فترات وقف القتال لإعادة تجميع قواته ومحاصرة حلب.

أما على الصعيد الداخلي، فقد استخدم بوتين التدخل الروسي لإحكام قبضته الخاصة على السلطة، وتشتيت الانتباه عن تصرفاته في شبه جزيرة القرم، وإخراج بلاده من العزلة الدولية من خلال محاربة عدو دولي مشترك، وهو تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية». إن هدفه الكامن في إقناع الغرب برفع العقوبات المتعلقة بأوكرانيا لم يتحقق بعد، الأمر الذي يعطيه كل الأسباب لمواصلة الضغط على أوروبا عبر زيادة تدفق اللاجئين من سوريا. ويعتقد الرئيس الروسي أيضاً أن طريقة العمل الأساسية التي يعتمدها الغرب في جميع أنحاء العالم هي تغيير النظام، بما في ذلك العمل ضد حكومته، لذلك يرى أن دعم الأسد يشكّل وسيلة للدفاع عن نفسه. ويرى أنه من خلال محاولة تجديد مكانة روسيا كقوة عظمى، يمكن إجبار الولايات المتحدة على احترام مصالح موسكو. 

باختصار، يُعتبر سجل بوتين في سوريا مثيراً للقلق. فقد اختبر الغرب مراراً ولم يتلق أي ردة فعل سلبية على ذلك، مما أدى إلى تعزيز تصوره حول ضعف الغرب. كما أنه لم يكن شريكاً جديراً بالثقة في عملية إنهاء الحرب، مما يطرح السؤال التالي: إلى متى يجب على واشنطن مواصلة الأخذ بكلامه؟ ومع ذلك، سيكون من الصعب تغيير نهج روسيا تجاه الصراع إلى أن تغيّر الولايات المتحدة موقفها الخاص.

 

بول شوارتز

تمكنت روسيا وواشنطن من التغلب على انعدام الثقة العميق بينهما والتوقيع على اتفاقية جديدة لـ "وقف الأعمال العدائية" في الآونة الأخيرة، والتي يبدو أنها أخبار جيدة بالنسبة لسوريا. بيد أن التقارير حول الانتهاكات وعدم تسليم المساعدات الإنسانية قد شابت الاتفاق منذ البداية. ومن ناحية القوات المتمردة المعتدلة فإنها لا تنفصل عن «جبهة فتح الشام» [التي غيّرت إسمها من «جبهة النصرة» بعد فك ارتباطها بـ تنظيم «القاعدة»]، كما أن الضربة الأمريكية ضد قوات الجيش السوري في دير الزور تثير المزيد من التعقيدات. إلى جانب ذلك، تم تخفيف حدة العنف بشكل ملحوظ، وخاصة في حلب، وهو أمر مشجع، ولكن السؤال يبقى إذا كان بالإمكان الحفاظ على هذه الاتفاقية. هناك أسباب للتشكك.

من المهم أن ننظر إلى الوراء لنرى ما حققته روسيا خلال العام الماضي. من الواضح أن التدخل الروسي أحبط انهيار نظام الأسد: ففي الخريف الماضي كانت قواته ترتد على أعقابها، وكانت المعارضة قد حققت تقدماً خاطفاً في محافظة إدلب وكانت تضغط على معقل قوات الأسد الساحلي في اللاذقية، وكان تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» قد استولى على تدمر شرقاً. بيد أن الضربات الجوية الروسية وعمليات الدعم الأرضي التي قامت بها سرعان ما عكست مجرى الأحداث. ومنذ ذلك الحين تم تطهير جزء كبير من شمال اللاذقية، واستقرت الأوضاع في حماة وحمص وضواحي دمشق، وتمت استعادة السيطرة على تدمر. كما أن معقل المتمردين الأكثر أهمية المتبقي في الغرب، أي حلب، يخضع لضغط مستمر.

وهكذا، حققت الحملة ثلاثة أهداف أساسية للرئيسين السوري والروسي وهي: تأمين قلب النظام العلوي، والحفاظ على خطوط الاتصال بين دمشق وحلب، ووضع حد أدنى من العمق الاستراتيجي للمنطقة التي يسيطر عليها النظام. هذا ولا يزال الجيش السوري يواجه صعوبة في المحافظة على الأراضي، لكن تم تمهيد الطريق من أجل بقاء دويلة الأسد في الجزء الغربي من البلاد بغض النظر عما يحدث على الأرض.

لقد حققت روسيا هذه الأهداف جزئياً من خلال جعل المتمردين ينقلبون ضد بعضهم البعض، ولكن بشكل أساسي باستخدام قوتها العسكرية بشكل فعال، أي من خلال نشر قوة صغيرة من الطائرات والمحافظة على وتيرة عالية من العمليات. إن الدعم الجوي القوي للقوات البرية السورية والإيرانية قد جعل من الصعب على وحدات المتمردين العمل في العراء بشكل جماعي، في حين ازداد فتك ما يسمى بالذخائر "غير الموجهة" وذلك بسبب التكنولوجيا الجوية الروسية المتقدمة والطيارين المدربين تدريباً جيداً. كما حصلت الطائرات الروسية على حماية أفضل من الهجمات البرية لأنها قادرة على توجيه الضربات من ارتفاعات أعلى وفي أوقات الليل أيضاً.

وعلى الرغم من أن الدعم البري الروسي لم يكن مرئياً بنفس قدر الدعم الجوي إلا أنه كان قوياً أيضاً. فقد قدمت موسكو مساعدات عسكرية تقنية، ومعدات جديدة (من بينها دروعاً وأسلحة أكثر تطوراً، ودبابات من طراز "تي-90" ومدفعية)، فضلاً عن الخبرات للاستفادة بشكل أفضل من المعدات الموجودة. وقد ساعد المستشارون الروس في تخطيط العمليات وقيادتها، كما تم نشر بعض قوات العمليات الخاصة في مهمات استخباراتية وغيرها من الأهداف.

ونظراً للإنجازات الروسية في سوريا، فقد تغيّرت مواقف الولايات المتحدة بشأن القضايا الرئيسية، مثل التعاون مع موسكو، وربما دور الأسد في المرحلة الانتقالية في المستقبل. أما بالنسبة إلى اتفاقية "وقف الأعمال العدائية" الحالية، فإن شروطها لا توحي بالتفاؤل. فالاتفاقية تسمح باستمرار العمليات ضد «جبهة فتح الشام»، التي هي شديدة التشابك مع ألوية أخرى من المتمردين، الأمر الذي يعطي روسيا والأسد مبرراً محتملاً لضرب القوات الأكثر اعتدالاً. ويمكن لمثل هذه الهجمات أن تؤدي بدورها إلى انهيار اتفاق وقف إطلاق النار.

 

روبرت فورد

على الرغم من توفر فرصة كافية لدى الروس للابتعاد عن المفاوضات الطويلة والشاقة في جنيف، إلا أنهم تمسكوا بها إلى حين توقيع اتفاق "وقف الأعمال العدائية"، مما أشار إلى بعض المستويات من الالتزام من جانبهم. ويُعتبر هذا الأمر غير مفاجئ إذا ما رأى المرء أن الاتفاقية قد تؤمن لهم الفوز في الحالتين. فإذا ما نجحت الاتفاقية، سيتم عزل «جبهة فتح الشام» وستستعيد روسيا قدراً من الشرعية الدولية. أما إذا فشلت، فمن المرجح أن تبتعد المعارضة بصورة أكثر عن الولايات المتحدة.

وعلى أي حال، يبدو أن روسيا غير قادرة حالياً على ضمان امتثال الأسد لجميع شروط اتفاق "وقف الأعمال العدائية". على سبيل المثال، قبل فترة وجيزة من عقد هذا المنتدى، أعلنت قيادة الجيش السوري من جانب واحد أن فترة "وقف الأعمال العدائية" قد انتهت، ولم تعط أي إشارة إلى أنها قد نسقت هذه الخطوة مع موسكو.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك، لا تتفق الأهداف الروسية مع هدف الأسد في استعادة السيطرة على كامل الأراضي في سوريا، ويبدو أن هذا الشرخ قد تسبب باضطرابات بين مسؤولي النظام والسفير الروسي لدى الأمم المتحدة. وتشير الأدلة أيضاً إلى أن النظام لا يفرض سيطرته الكاملة على الجماعات التي يعتمد عليها لدرء المعارضة، بما في ذلك مختلف الميليشيات الموالية للأسد ذات الأجندات المختلفة. لذلك عندما تعتمد روسيا على دمشق للسماح بتدفق المساعدات الإنسانية، على دمشق الضغط بدورها على الحلفاء الذين يحتمل ألا يكونوا موضع ثقة على الأرض. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، على موسكو اللجوء إلى رأس المال السياسي الكبير في كل مرة تضغط فيها على الأسد لاحترام اتفاقية "وقف الأعمال العدائية"، وقد لا تكون على استعداد للقيام بذلك إلى أجل غير مسمى. ومع ذلك، لا تزال أهداف روسيا الشاملة تركز على إبقاء الأسد في سدة الحكم: فقد لا يرغب به الكرملين، لكنه لا يرى بديلاً له ولا يريد سقوط دمشق على غرار بغداد في عام 2003.

وأخيراً، إن أي نقاشات حول "وقف الأعمال العدائية" ينبغي أن تشمل إمعان النظر في العلاقات بين روسيا وإيران وتركيا، بما أن هذه الدول هي التي ستقرر ميزان القوى في شمال سوريا. على سبيل المثال، تنشغل أنقرة وموسكو والأكراد السوريون، حالياً في اكتشاف من سيشكل تحالفاً دائماً. وسيكون لخيارات هذه الأطراف تأثيرات فورية على الأرض، ولكن النتيجة غير واضحة في الوقت الحالي، مما يؤكد على أهمية النظر في عوامل أخرى إلى جانب الديناميكية الأمريكية - الروسية.

 

أعد هذا الموجز جيمس بوكر.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 2694

Russia and the Syria Ceasefire Deal

Anna Borshchevskaya, Paul Schwartz, and Ambassador Robert S. Ford

Also available in العربية

September 21, 2016


How will the Syrian cessation of hostilities deal brokered by Washington and Moscow affect the geopolitical and military dynamics of Russia's intervention? Read a summary or watch video of this expert forum.

On September 19, Anna Borshchevskaya, Paul Schwartz, and Robert Ford addressed a Policy Forum at The Washington Institute. Borshchevskaya is an Ira Weiner Fellow at the Institute, focusing on Russia's policy toward the Middle East. Schwartz is a senior associate with the Russia and Eurasia Program at the Center for Strategic and International Studies. Ford, a senior fellow at the Middle East Institute, served as U.S. ambassador to Syria from 2011 to 2014. The following is a rapporteur's summary of their remarks.

ANNA BORSHCHEVSKAYA

Vladimir Putin's stated goal in launching the Syria intervention last year was to combat terrorism. Yet based on the weapons Russia has used and the targets it has chosen, this was clearly never his intention -- in fact, some reports indicate that the campaign has at times strengthened the Islamic State. Meanwhile, human rights groups have raised concerns about Russian forces deliberately striking civilian targets, while top NATO commanders such as Gen. Philip Breedlove have accused Moscow and Bashar al-Assad of "weaponizing" refugee migration flows to "break European resolve."

In Putin's view, the intervention's benefits no doubt outweigh the costs. The campaign's estimated $480 million price tag is a drop in the bucket compared to Russia's roughly $55 billion annual defense budget. In addition, Putin has emphasized the training benefits of fighting in Syria, arguing that no experience is better than real combat. Likewise, the war has been a useful testing ground for new Russian weaponry; despite Putin's March announcement of a "partial withdrawal" from Syria, some reports indicate that Russia has actually brought more weapons into the country than it took out.

In geopolitical terms, Moscow has dramatically strengthened its alliance with Iran over the past year -- an unprecedented development for these traditional rivals. The two governments often speak of shared goals, though unlike Tehran, Russia is not interested in helping Assad retake every inch of Syria.

This cooperation with Iran has tested Russia's pragmatic relationship with Israel. Although Putin would like to preserve that relationship, he will only go so far in appeasing Jerusalem; for instance, Russia recently began delivering portions of the potent S-300 air-defense system to Iran after delaying the sale for years. Russia's actions in Syria raise questions about how long Putin can continue this balancing act.

On the peace front, Russia has not pressured Assad on ceasefires or political negotiations. To the contrary, Assad has been free to exploit loopholes in ceasefire agreements that Russia has helped broker, using the pauses in combat to regroup his forces and besiege Aleppo.

On the domestic front, Putin has used the intervention to solidify his own hold on power, deflecting attention from his actions in Crimea and bringing Russia out of international isolation by fighting a common international enemy, the Islamic State. His goal of convincing the West to lift its Ukraine-related sanctions remains unfulfilled, giving him every reason to continue pressuring Europe by exacerbating refugee flows from Syria. He also believes that the West's primary modus operandi throughout the world is regime change, including against his own government, so he sees support for Assad as a way of defending himself. And by attempting to renew Russia's great-power status, he believes he can force the United States to respect Moscow's interests.  

In short, Putin's track record in Syria is troubling. He has repeatedly tested the West and received no pushback, bolstering his perception of Western weakness. He has not been a trustworthy partner on ending the war, raising the question of how long Washington should continue taking him at his word. Yet it will be difficult to change Russia's approach to the conflict until the United States changes its own posture.

PAUL SCHWARTZ

Russia and Washington managed to overcome deep-seated mistrust and sign a new "cessation of hostilities" (COH) agreement recently, which would seem to be good news for Syria. Yet reports of violations and undelivered humanitarian aid have marred the deal from the start. Moderate rebel forces are not decoupling from al-Qaeda affiliate Jabhat Fatah al-Sham (JFS), and the U.S. strike on Syrian army forces in Deir al-Zour raises further complications. Violence has been reduced significantly, especially in Aleppo, which is encouraging, but the question is will it hold. There are reasons to be skeptical.

It is important to look back at what Russia has achieved in the past year. Clearly, the intervention staved off the Assad regime's collapse: last fall, his forces were back on their heels, the opposition had made lightning advances in Idlib province and was pressuring his coastal stronghold of Latakia, and the Islamic State had taken Palmyra in the east. Yet Russian airstrikes and ground support quickly turned the tide. Much of northern Latakia has since been cleared out; the situations in Hama, Homs, and the Damascus suburbs have been stabilized; Palmyra has been retaken; and the most important remaining rebel stronghold in the west, Aleppo, is under continuous pressure.

Thus, the campaign has achieved three core objectives for Assad and Putin: securing the regime's Alawite heartland, maintaining lines of communication between Damascus and Aleppo, and establishing a modicum of strategic depth for the regime-controlled zone. The Syrian army still has difficulty holding territory, but the stage has been set for an Assad statelet to survive in the western part of the country no matter what else happens on the ground.

Russia achieved these objectives in part by playing the rebels against each other, but mainly by using its military power effectively -- that is, by deploying a small detachment of aircraft and sustaining a high tempo of operations. Robust air support for Syrian and Iranian ground forces made it difficult for rebel units to operate in the open en masse, while the lethality of so-called "dumb" munitions was increased due to Russia's advanced onboard targeting technology and well-trained pilots. Russian jets were also better defended from ground attacks because they could conduct strikes from higher altitudes and at night.

Although not as visible, Russian ground support has also been robust. Moscow has provided military technical assistance, new equipment (including improved body armor and weapons, T-90 tanks, and artillery), and expertise to make better use of existing equipment. Russian advisors have helped plan and command operations, and some special operations forces have been deployed for intelligence missions and other purposes.

Because of Russia's achievements in Syria, U.S. positions on key issues -- such as cooperation with Moscow and, perhaps, Assad's role in a future transition -- have shifted. As for the current COH deal, its terms do no inspire optimism. The agreement allows continued operations against JFS, which is closely intermingled with other rebel brigades, giving Russia and Assad a potential excuse to strike more moderate forces. Such attacks could in turn cause the ceasefire to fall apart.

ROBERT FORD

Despite having ample opportunity to walk away from the long and tedious negotiations in Geneva, the Russians stuck it out until the COH agreement was signed, indicating some level of commitment on their part. This comes as little surprise when one considers that the agreement may wind up being a win-win for them. If the COH succeeds, JFS will be isolated and Russia will regain a degree of international legitimacy. If it fails, the opposition will likely move further away from the United States.

In any case, Russia currently seems unable to deliver compliance from Assad on all of the COH's terms. For example, shortly before this forum, the Syrian army command unilaterally declared that the COH had expired, giving no sign that the move had been coordinated with Moscow.

Moreover, Russian objectives do not align with Assad's goal of retaking all of Syria, and this fissure has apparently caused sparks between regime officials and the Russian ambassador to the UN. Evidence also indicates that the regime does not exercise full control over groups on whom it depends to stave off the opposition, including various pro-Assad militias with differing agendas. So when Russia leans on Damascus to allow humanitarian aid flows, Damascus in turn has to pressure potentially unreliable allies on the ground. In addition, Moscow has to use up significant political capital every time it pressures Assad to respect the COH, and it may not be willing to do so indefinitely. Nevertheless, Russia's overarching goals still center on keeping Assad in place: the Kremlin may not like him, but it sees no alternative to him and does not want Damascus to fall apart a la Baghdad in 2003.

Finally, any discussion of the COH should include closer examination of the relationships between Russia, Iran, and Turkey, since they will decide the balance of power in northern Syria. For example, Ankara, Moscow, and the Syrian Kurds are currently absorbed in a dance over who will form a durable alliance. Their choices will have immediate effects on the ground, but the outcome is unclear at the moment, underscoring the importance of considering other factors besides the U.S.-Russia dynamic.

This summary was prepared by James Bowker.