أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 3237

خطاب خامنئي الجديد يؤكد أهمية الدعم الشعبي للنظام

مهدي خلجي

متاح أيضاً في English فارسی

8 كانون الثاني/يناير 2020


في الثامن من كانون الثاني/يناير، ألقى المرشد الإيراني الأعلى علي خامنئي خطابه العلني الأول منذ قيام الولايات المتحدة باغتيال قاسم سليماني والضربة الصاروخية الإيرانية اللاحقة على القواعد العراقية التي تضم قواتٌ أمريكية. وفي إطار الكلمة التي تطرّقت إلى التضامن الإقليمي بوجه واشنطن وغير ذلك من المواضيع المهمة، أمضى خامنئي وقتاً طويلاً في إدعائه بأن سليماني كان رمزاً لالتزام الشعب الإيراني المستمر بالثورة. وبقيامه بذلك أشار إلى أن الدعم الشعبي للنظام لا يزال هدفاً جوهرياً تصبو إليه القيادات الإيرانية ربما بدرجة أكبر من سعيها إلى توجيه تهديدات عسكرية إضافية أو تنفيذها.

تصوير سليماني باعتباره النموذج الثوري

في الكلمة التي ألقاها خامنئي أمام مجموعة من المواطنين في مدينة قُم - كما اعتاد كل عام في ذكرى التظاهرات المناهضة للشاه التي شهدتها المدينة قبل الثورة - وصف قائد «فيلق القدس» الراحل بمجموعة من االصيغ التفضيلية بقوله: "كان الشهيد سليماني شجاعاً وحكيماً وبارعاً في الإدارة... ليس في ساحة المعركة فحسب بل في معترك السياسة ككل... كانت كلماته مؤثّرة ومقنعة، وقبل كل شي صادقة. وقد استخدم شجاعته وحكمته أداةً في خدمة الله، ولم يعرف النفاق بتاتاً". وعلى الرغم من إقرار المرشد الأعلى بنزعة سليماني "المغامرة"، إلا أنه جادل بأن القائد السابق لـ «فيلق القدس» كان في الوقت نفسه "حريصاً على حماية الناس من حوله وجنوده وزملائه الأجانب."

وتابع خامنئي واصفاً سليماني بالرجل "الثوري" الملتزم التزاماً صارماً بالقواعد الدينية: على سبيل المثال، قال إنه "كان يمتنع عن استخدام الأسلحة حيثما كان استخدامها محظوراً". وتحدّث على نطاق أوسع مشيداً "بتفانيه للثورة بدون أنانية" و"اعتباره المبادئ والممارسات الثورية خطاً أحمر" كما وبتنزّهه عن الانتماءات الحزبية أو الفئوية. ولا بد من التنبّه إلى ما يقصده خامنئي حين يلقّب شخصاً ما بـ "الثوري" - بأشادته على وجه التحديد بولائه الأعمى لرغبة المرشد الأعلى وأوامره. وبنظره أنّ كل الذين يصفون أنفسهم بالثوريين دون إظهار التفاني اللازم له [كمرشد أعلى] (أي ممثل الله على الأرض) هم مخادعون يجب افضاح أمرهم.

فضلاً عن ذلك، أشاد خامنئي بدور سليماني في دعم أهداف النظام في الشرق الأوسط حين قال: "أنا اليوم أنحني إجلالاً لما بادر به ونفّذه لمصلحة هذه الدولة وحتى المنطقة. إنه لإنجازٌ عظيم. لقد كان عمله لا يضاهى". وتوسّعت فقراتٌ أخرى من الخطاب حول هذا الموضوع جاء فيها: "تمكّن، من خلال مساعدة شعوب المنطقة وضمان مساندتهم، من إحباط جميع المخططات الأمريكية غير المشروعة" في بلدان مثل العراق وفلسطين وسوريا. وأشاد خامنئي بشكل خاص بالتأثير الذي تركه سليماني على لبنان: "لقد ازداد «حزب الله» قوةً والحمد لله، ليصبح اليوم عين لبنان ويده. وشهيدنا العزيز لعب دوراً مميزاً ومذهلاً في هذا الأمر".

ولكن محور اهتمام المرشد الأعلى بقي محلياً. فإلى جانب الثناء على مهارات سليماني الثورية، لفت إلى أن مقتله كان "بركة" نوعاً ما لأنه أثار الصفات نفسها لدى الشعب الإيراني: "لقد صوّر بعض الناس الثورة على أنها ميتة في إيران ... ولكن استشهاده أثبت أن الثورة حيّة. هل رأيتم ماذا حدث في طهران؟ وفي مدن أخرى؟" والمقصود بهذه الأسئلة مراسم التشييع المذهلة التي أقيمت لسليماني في الأيام الأخيرة، علماً بأن بعضها احتدّ لدرجة أسفرت عن مقتل عشرات المشيّعين بسبب التدافع. ثم انتقل خامنئي إلى اتهام "العدو" بتصنيف سليماني بالإرهابي: "الأمريكيون غير العادلين، الأمريكيون الكاذبون، الأمريكيون السخفاء، الذين لا قيمة لكلماتهم... اصفعيهم أيتها الأمة الإيرانية!"

رد الفعل على الهجوم الأمريكي

ناقشت كلمة خامنئي في بعض أجزائها طبيعة التدابير التي اتخذتها إيران بعد اغتيال سليماني والغرض منها. فقال متفاخراً: "في الليلة الماضية وجّهنا لهم صفعة على وجوههم" متحدثاً عن الهجوم الذي شنّته إيران بالصواريخ الباليستية على منشآت أمريكية في العراق. ولكن الهدف الأكبر برأيه، والمتمثل بإنهاء "الوجود الأمريكي المُفسد"، هو أمر بالغ الأهمية: "لقد جلبوا الحروب إلى هذه المنطقة والخلافات والفتن والدمار... ويصرّون على فعل الأمر نفسه لدولتنا العزيزة إيران ولجمهوريتنا أيضاً. إن مسألة 'التفاوض' و 'الجلوس إلى الطاولة' وما إلى ذلك هي مجرد تمهيدٌ للتدخل".

ولكن بخلاف اللغة العدائية التي استخدمها مؤخراً في خطابات أخرى، لم يوجّه خطاب خامنئي في الثامن من كانون الثاني/يناير أي تهديد واضح للحكومات الأجنبية - ليس فقط للولايات المتحدة، بل لخصوم إيران في المنطقة أيضاً. والواقع أنه ألمح بسلاسة إلى أنه لا يَعْتبِر أياً من الدول الملكية العربية عدوةً لطهران على الرغم من كل الحقد بين الطرفين: "يجب أن نعرف العدو، وبوسعي أن أجزم أن العدو هو أمريكا والنظام الصهيوني"، وشمل في هذه الفئة الأطراف الحكومية والشركات الخاصة، فجمعها معاً تحت صفة "الناهبين والطغاة وأشباههم في العالم".

ثم قدّم مزيجاً أكثر وضوحاً جمع ما بين السلام والتهديد: "نحن لا نعتبر القوى الإقليمية أو الخارجية التي أبدت أحياناً تعليقات ضدنا عدوةً لنا. هي ليست عدوة طالما لا تخدم عدونا الحقيقي ضدنا في ممارساتها". ومن المرجح أن المقصود بهذا الخطاب هو ترك انطباع متضارب لدى الزعماء الآخرين في الشرق الأوسط، بطمأنتهم من جهة بأن طهران ليس لديها نية لزعزعة الاستقرار في بلدانهم أو الإضرار بمصالحهم، وتحذيرهم من جهة أخرى من مساعدة أمريكا أو إسرائيل في تنفيذ خطط تهدف إلى إلحاق الأذى بإيران - وهذه صياغة واسعة النطاق يمكن أن تغطي كل شيء من العمليات العسكرية إلى العقوبات المالية.

التأكيد على الشرعية المحلية

كان الغرض أيضاً من أنشودة التسبيح التي ألقاها خامنئي وتناولت الفوائد الفريدة لحياة سليماني وموته هو تذكير المستمعين بالرابطة القوية المفترضة بين الجمهورية الإسلامية وشعبها. وإذ أشار إلى التاريخ العاصف لثورة 1979 والسنوات اللاحقة، أعلن أن إيران قادرة على التغلب على خصومها ليس بسبب القوة العسكرية، بل من خلال "الأيدي الفارغة" والقلوب المليئة بالإيمان بالله. ورغم أن إيران قوية عسكرياً في الوقت الحالي، إلّا أنه جادل بأن أفضل طريقة للاستمرار بالتصدي لخصومها هي باعتماد الشعب على إيمانه وتصميمه: "إنّ بث الشك في نفوس الشعب هو ما يسعى إليه العدو، وإذا حدث ذلك فقد يؤثّر على قدرات إيران الهجومية وحتى الدفاعية."

وكمثال على ادعائه بأن العدو يعمل باستمرار على إضعاف إيران عبر المؤامرات السياسية والاقتصادية، أشار خامنئي إلى احتجاجات البنزين في تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر الماضي قائلاً: "في دولة أوروبية صغيرة بل خبيثة وبائسة جداً، اجتمع عنصر أمريكي مع مجموعة من المرتزقة والخونة الإيرانيين للتآمر على الجمهورية الإسلامية، وتم تنفيذ مخططهم بعد بضعة أيام حول قضية البنزين". (ربما كان البلد الذي أهانه هو جمهورية التشيك، التي تستضيف "راديو فاردا" الذي تموله الولايات المتحدة؛ أما بالنسبة للمسؤولين الأمريكيين الذين يجتمعون مع شخصيات من المعارضة الإيرانية، فهذه مسألة تتعلق بالسجل العام، رغم ميل خامنئي إلى استخدام مثل هذه الاتصالات كوقود لنظريات المؤامرة بعيدة المدى.)

باختصار، عزا خامنئي مجدداً "الانتصارات" التي حققتها إيران في السنوات الأربعين الأخيرة إلى القوّة الروحية التي تتمتع بها النخبة الحاكمة و[الشعب] المحكوم الوفي، في حين أنحى باللائمة على جميع الاحتجاجات ومشاعر الاستياء من النظام على أطراف شريرة في الخارج. وفي الوقت نفسه، سعى إلى إلقاء كلمة من شأنها أن تعزز الآثار المسرحية لمراسم تشييع سليماني وتعيد إظهار النظام بصورة الدولة الشعبية غير الخائفة من أزمة محلية قاتلة. وفي النهاية، كان يهدف إلى إظهار تمتع النظام بدعم شعبي ليس للبقاء في السلطة فحسب، بل لمواصلة سياساته الإقليمية التي أثارت الكثير من السخط الدولي أيضاً.

وتُعتبر هذه التشويهات مذهلة لأنها تبيّن أن المرشد الأعلى لا يزال يشعر بحاجة ماسة إلى تصوير نظامه على أنه يتمتع بشعبية - حتى في دولة استبدادية إلى حدٍّ بالغ والتي أثبتت استعدادها لقمع المعارضة بعنف حسب الضرورة. وهذا منطقي من الناحية العملية لأن الحكومة الإيرانية لا تستطيع الاعتماد إلى ما لانهاية على الإكراه الوحشي الذي يمارَس منذ تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر. ومع ذلك، فعلى الرغم من الألم الذي انتاب خامنئي بسبب خسارة سليماني، والضغوط المزعجة المترتبة عن أزمة البنزين، يبدو أن المرشد الأعلى واثقاً بعدم وجود إمكانية تُذكر لمعاودة نشوب أزمة محلية عميقة في المستقبل القريب. وفي رأيه، سيساعد موت سليماني على منع نشوب مثل هذه الأزمة، وذلك جزئياً من خلال تعزيز انقسام المعارضة غير المنظّمة التي لا قيادة لها، وعبر السماح للحكومة بتبرير الإجراءات الأمنية الداخلية الإضافية في الوقت الذي أصبح فيه شبح الحرب أكثر وضوحاً بكثير في الوقت الحالي.

 

مهدي خلجي هو زميل "ليبيتزكي فاميليفي معهد واشنطن.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 3237

New Khamenei Speech Underlines the Importance of Popular Support for the Regime

Mehdi Khalaji

Also available in العربية فارسی

January 8, 2020


Instead of focusing on Iran's missile retaliation or future threats, the Supreme Leader used his latest speech to extoll the virtues of public unity behind the regime’s revolutionary goals.

On January 8, Supreme Leader Ali Khamenei delivered his first public speech since the U.S. assassination of Qasem Soleimani and the subsequent Iranian missile strike on Iraqi bases housing American forces. As part of an address that touched on regional solidarity against the United States and other notable subjects, he spent considerable time claiming that Soleimani symbolized the Iranian people’s continued commitment to the revolution. In doing so, he indicated that popular support for the regime remains a crucial objective for Iran’s leaders, perhaps more so than issuing or acting on further military threats.

CASTING SOLEIMANI AS THE MODEL REVOLUTIONARY

Addressing a group of citizens from Qom—which he does every year on the anniversary of the city’s pre-revolutionary protests against the shah—Khamenei described the late Qods Force commander with a string of superlatives: “Martyr Soleimani was brave, wise, and competent in management...not only on the battlefield, but also in the political sphere...His words were influential, convincing, and above all, he was sincere; he used his bravery and wisdom as tools in the service of God, he was anything but a hypocrite.” Although the Supreme Leader acknowledged that Soleimani was “adventurous,” he argued that the commander was also “thoughtfully protective with regard to people around him, his soldiers and foreign colleagues.”

Khamenei went on to recognize Soleimani as a “revolutionary” who was strictly committed to religious rules: for example, “where using weapons was not permitted, he refrained from using them.” More broadly, he praised the commander for being “selflessly devoted to the revolution,” for “seeing revolutionary principle and practice as his redline,” and for remaining above party or factional affiliations. In this sense, it is important to keep in mind what Khamenei means when he calls someone a “revolutionary”—namely, he is praising the person for being blindly faithful to the Supreme Leader’s will and commands. In his view, those who identify themselves as revolutionaries without showing the proper devotion to him (i.e., God’s representative on earth) should be exposed as frauds.

Khamenei also praised Soleimani’s role in furthering the regime’s goals in the Middle East: “Today I bow to him for what he initiated and brought about for this country, even for the region. It is a great achievement. His job was miraculous.” Other portions of the speech expanded on this theme: “By helping the region’s people and securing their assistance, he succeeded in spoiling all of America’s illegitimate plans” in countries such as Iraq, Palestine, and Syria. In particular, Khamenei celebrated the impact Soleimani had on Lebanon: “Thanks to God, Hezbollah became stronger and stronger, and today the group is Lebanon’s eye and hand. The role of our dear martyr in this is distinguished and extraordinary.”

Yet the Supreme Leader’s main focus was domestic. In addition to praising Soleimani’s revolutionary credentials, he noted that the commander’s death was a “blessing” of sorts because it brought out the same qualities in the Iranian public: “Certain people have portrayed the revolution as dead in Iran...but his martyrdom proved that the revolution is alive. Have you seen what happened in Tehran? In other cities?” The latter questions referred to the spectacular funeral ceremonies held for Soleimani in recent days, some of which grew so heated that dozens of mourners were killed in stampedes. Khamenei then blamed the “enemy” for designating Soleimani as a terrorist: “Unfair Americans, lying Americans, driveling Americans, whose words are nothing but worthless...Iranian nation, punch them in the face!”

REACTION TO THE U.S. ATTACK

Portions of Khamenei’s speech discussed the nature and purpose of Iranian measures taken after Soleimani’s assassination. “Last night, we slapped them on their face,” he boasted, referring to Iran’s ballistic missile attack against American facilities in Iraq. In his view, however, the broader goal of ending “America’s corrupting presence” is paramount: “They brought war to this region, disputes, seditions, destructions...They insist on doing the same to beloved Iran and our republic too. This issue of ‘negotiating’ and ‘sitting at the table’ and so on is just a prelude to intervention.”

Yet unlike the bellicose rhetoric he issued in other recent remarks, today’s speech made no explicit threat against foreign governments—not just the United States, but also Iran’s regional rivals. In fact, he delicately suggested that despite all of the rancor between Arab monarchies and Tehran, he does not categorize any of these states as enemies: “We should know the enemy. I would assertively say: the enemy means America [and] the Zionist regime.” He included both government actors and private companies in this category, lumping them together as “the world’s looters and tyrants and the like.”

He then offered a more explicit combination of olive branch and threat: “We do not regard regional or outside powers who have sometimes made remarks against us as our enemy. They are not enemies as long as they do not serve our true enemy against us in practice.” Such rhetoric is likely intended to leave an ambivalent impression on other Middle Eastern leaders: on one hand, it reassures them that Tehran has no intention of destabilizing their countries or harming their interests; on the other hand, it warns them against helping the United States or Israel execute plans to harm Iran—a broad formulation that could cover everything from military operations to financial sanctions.

EMPHASIS ON DOMESTIC LEGITIMACY

Khamenei’s paean to the unique benefits of Soleimani’s life and death also served as a way to remind listeners about the supposedly powerful bond between the Islamic Republic and its people. Recalling the stormy history of the 1979 revolution and subsequent years, he declared that Iran was able to prevail against its enemies not due to military strength, but through “empty hands” and hearts filled with faith in God. Although Iran is militarily powerful today, he argued that the best way to keep foiling its enemies is for the people to rely on their faith and determination: “Making the people doubtful is what the enemy is after, and if this happens, it would affect Iran’s offensive and even defensive capability.”

As an example of his claim that the enemy is constantly working to undermine Iran through political and economic plots, he pointed to last November’s gasoline protests. “In a small but really malicious and wretched European country,” he said, “an American element along with a group of Iranian traitors and hirelings gathered to plot against the Islamic Republic, and their plans were implemented a few days later on the gasoline issue.” (The country he was insulting is probably the Czech Republic, which hosts the U.S.-funded outlet Radio Farda; as for American officials meeting with Iranian opposition figures, that is a matter of public record, though Khamenei tends to use such contacts as fuel for far-reaching conspiracy theories.)

In short, Khamenei has once again attributed the past forty years’ worth of Iranian “victories” to the spiritual strength of the ruling elite and the loyal ruled, while blaming all protests and anti-regime resentment on sinister actors abroad. At the same time, he sought to deliver a speech that would add to the theatrical effects of Soleimani’s funeral ceremonies while restoring the regime’s image as a popular state with no concern about a fatal domestic crisis. Finally, he aimed to show that the regime enjoys enough popular support not only to remain in power, but also to continue pursuing the regional policies that have provoked so much international discontent.

Such contortions are fascinating because they show that even in a deeply authoritarian state that has proven its willingness to crack down on dissent as violently as necessary, the Supreme Leader still feels a vital need to portray his regime as a popular one. This makes sense in practical terms because the government cannot rely indefinitely on the type of brutal coercion seen since November. Yet despite the pain he has experienced over Soleimani’s loss and the unnerving pressures of the gasoline crisis, Khamenei seems confident that there is little chance of another deep domestic crisis reemerging in the near future. In his view, Soleimani’s death will help prevent this, in part by further dividing the disorganized, leaderless opposition, and also by allowing the government to justify additional internal security measures now that the specter of war seems much more visible.

Mehdi Khalaji is the Libitzky Family Fellow at The Washington Institute.