أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 3105

فوز نتنياهو يمنحه مهلة للتصرف في مسألة ضمّ المستوطنات وغزة

ديفيد ماكوفسكي

متاح أيضاً في English

15 نيسان/أبريل 2019


أدّى فوز رئيس الوزراء بنيامين نتنياهو في الانتخابات التي جرت في 9 نيسان/أبريل إلى تمهيد الطريق أمامه لتخطي ديفيد بن غوريون كالقائد الذي أمضى أطول فترة في الحكم في إسرائيل. فقد فاز "حزب الليكود" الذي يتزعمه وحلفاؤه في معسكر اليمين بـ 65 مقعداً في الكنيست الذي يضمّ 120 عضواً مقابل 55 مقعداً لكتلة الوسط. وتشير نظرة أولية إلى عدد أصوات ائتلافه الافتراضي إلى أنه سيواجه ضغوطاً داخلية أقلّ بشأن مسألة ضمّ أجزاء كبيرة من الضفة الغربية المثيرة للجدل للغاية، ما يمكّنه من منح الأولوية إلى العلاقات مع الولايات المتحدة. غير أن نقاط رئيسية أخرى قد لا تلاقي استحسانه.

الكفاءة قبل النزاهة

ربما يكون نتنياهو قد أمل في أن يوفّر له التصويت مصادقة شعبية على قيادته ويمنحه الموافقة الضرورية لمواجهة إدانته الأولية بالفساد. وإذ يُعرف غالباً بأنه من يصيغ إعلانات حملته الخاصة، أضفى طابعاً شخصياً على الانتخابات من خلال استخدام شعارات على غرار "نتنياهو، تحالف رفيع المستوى"، مشدداً على كفاءته وحزمه. وبدا واثقاً من أن الشعب سيتغاضى عن ادعاءات الفساد إذا ذكّره بقدرته على التحدث بنبرة صارمة وعلى إبقاء بلاده في الوقت نفسه بمنأى عن الحرب.

كما عوّل نتنياهو على حشد الدعم بفضل النجاح الاقتصادي في إسرائيل. فوفقاً لـ "البنك الدولي"، تخطى إجمالي الناتج المحلي للفرد الواحد في البلاد 40 ألف دولار في عام 2017، متجاوزاً بذلك اليابان. باختصار، إذا انحصرت الانتخابات بالاختيار بين مسؤول تنفيذي مخضرم يتمتع بخبرة في السياسة ومرشح جديد يمتلك فقط خبرة عسكرية، راهن نتنياهو على أن الناخبين سيختارون سجله الحافل بغض النظر عن التهم الموجهة إليه. 

أصدقاء في مناصب عليا

قبل يوم الانتخابات، أقرّ الرئيس ترامب علناً بضمّ إسرائيل مرتفعات الجولان في وقت استخدم فيه الرئيس الروسي فلاديمير بوتين اتصالاته مع سوريا لمساعدة إسرائيل في استعادة رفاة جندي فُقد في الحرب اللبنانية عام 1982. ورغم عدم وجود أي استطلاعات للرأي لدى الخروج من مراكز الاقتراع للتأكد مما إذا كانت هاتان الخطوتان بالتحديد قد ساهمتا في ميل دفة الأصوات لصالح نتنياهو، إلا أنهما كانتا بمثابة تذكير صارخ بالعلاقة الوطيدة التي تجمعه مع اثنين من أكثر الأشخاص نفوذاً في العالم.   

يُذكر أن نتنياهو لجأ بالمثل إلى صداقاته مع قادة من البرازيل وقبرص واليونان إضافةً إلى أوروبا الشرقية وقادة خليجيين خلال "مؤتمر وارسو" الذي عُقد في شباط/فبراير. ولا شكّ في أن حشد الدعم الدولي يصبّ في مصلحة رئيس الوزراء نظراً إلى العدد الكبير من القادة الذين احتشدوا ضده خلال سباقه الانتخابي الأول الذي خاضه ضد شمعون بيريز عام 1996.

لا ثمن سياسي للسياسة تجاه غزة

واجه نتنياهو انتقاداً لسياسته حول احتواء «حماس» والسماح لقطر بتسهيل مساعدات شهرية بقيمة 15 مليون دولار للجماعة في غزة. مع ذلك، لم يقدّم خصومه أي بدائل جدّية لهذه السياسة. فلم يطلب أي حزب من إسرائيل شنّ غارات برية في غزة لطرد «حماس»، إذ تخشى الأحزاب ولأسباب وجيهة حتمية سقوط عدد كبير من الضحايا والشك في وجود أي قيادة بديلة (لا سيما بالنظر إلى تحفظ "السلطة الفلسطينية" في الدخول من جديد إلى المنطقة في أعقاب الدبابات الإسرائيلية). ورغم عدم رضا الإسرائيليين عموماً عن ردّ الحكومة على إطلاق الصواريخ من غزة في أواخر عام 2018، راهن نتنياهو على أن الحديث عن هجوم بري لن يكون مستساغاً محلياً. 

وأتى هذا الرهان بثماره: فحصد نتنياهو نتائج مرتفعة في أوساط الناخبين الإسرائيليين في المناطق الجنوبية المحاذية لقطاع غزة. وقد صوّت العديد من المواطنين أنفسهم الذين اشتكوا من إطلاق الصواريخ لصالحه بدلاً من المرشحين الذين انتقدوا مقاربته إزاء هذه المسألة. ولم تكن نتائج الحزبين اللذين ازدريا إلى حدّ كبير هذا الاحتواء جيدة؛ فأحدهما لم يتجاوز حتى النسبة الحاسمة للانتخابات المحددة عند 3.25 في المائة الضرورية لدخول البرلمان. 

نتائج سيئة لليمين المتشدد

خلال اجتماعاته مع مسؤولين أمريكيين وأجانب آخرين، غالباً ما يتحسّر نتنياهو على القيود السياسية التي يواجهها من اليمين. لكن بعض هذه القيود مفروضة ذاتياً، على غرار فشله المتكرر في جلب الوسطيين إلى حكومته الائتلافية السابقة. 

على أي حال، تراجع عدد المقاعد التي فازت فيها الكتل من حزبه اليميني خلال انتخابات هذا العام. فقد أتت نتائج أحد الأحزاب الذي دعا إلى بناء "معبد يهودي ثالث" دون النسبة الحاسمة للانتخابات بكثير، وكذلك هو الحال بالنسبة للناقد المتشدد البارز نفتالي بينيت، وزير التربية الذي نالت كتلته ثمانية مقاعد في الحكومة السابقة (ويدعو لإعادة فرز الأصوات).  

ويمكن أن يعزا هذا التراجع إلى تصريح نتنياهو المثير للجدل على نحو كبير خلال الأيام الأخيرة من حملته والذي قال فيه إنه مستعد للنظر في عمليات الضمّ الشاسعة التي تدرسها إسرائيل لقسم كبير من الضفة الغربية - وهي ملاحظة قد تكون سحبت البساط من تحت أقدام الأحزاب اليمينية المتشددة. ويتشاطر معظم أعضاء "حزب الليكود" رغبة اليمين المتطرف في ضمّ كافة المستوطنات في الضفة الغربية، لكنهم لطالما سلّموا الأمر لنتنياهو في هذه المسألة. الآن وقد خرج من الانتخابات أقوى بصورة أكبر، تتراجع احتمالات أن يشجعوه في هذه المسألة على المدى القريب، في وقت تفتقر فيه كتل اليمين المتشدد إلى عدد المقاعد الكافي الذي يخوّلها إصدار أي إنذارات نهائية بنفسها. فضلاً عن ذلك، حرص نتنياهو على تجنّب إغضاب الرئيس ترامب بشأن كل مسألة تقريباً، لذا من المستبعد أن تباشر حكومته المقبلة منذ البداية بضمّ المستوطنات وإفساد خطة السلام الناشئة التي وضعتها واشنطن.     

باختصار، لا يفتقد نتنياهو إلى الحيلة من الناحية السياسية لمقاومة اقتراحات الضم الشاملة التي من شأنها أن تحوّل فعلياً إسرائيل إلى [دولة على غرار] البوسنة. وإذا تمّ كشف النقاب عن خطة السلام الأمريكية ولكنها تعثّرت، قد يدفع باتجاه عمليات ضمّ انتقائية على مقربة من خطوط وقف إطلاق النار لعام 1967. ولكن حتى في هذا السياق، لن يُقدم حقاً على تطبيق مثل هذه التدابير من دون موافقة واشنطن - للأسباب نفسها التي دفعته إلى تجنّب رسمياً ضمّ شبراً واحداً من الضفة الغربية خلال ولاياته السابقة. وإذا حدثت عمليات الضمّ، ستنبع عن قرار واعٍ من جانبه، وليس عن قوى محلية خارجة عن سيطرته. 

رد فعل عنيف من اليهود الأمريكيين؟

للمرة الأولى منذ ثمانينيات القرن الماضي، لم تحصد أي من أحزاب اليمين الأصغر حجماً في إسرائيل مقاعد مزدوجة الرقم. مع ذلك، حصد حزبان متدينان متطرفان، هما "شاس" و"يهودية التوراة المتحد"، مجتمعان 15 مقعداً. ويعتبرهما نتنياهو شريكين مناسبين للائتلاف إذ يركزان أكثر على تمويل مدارسهما ومشاريعهما الخاصة بالرفاه الاجتماعي أكثر منه التأثير في السياسة الخارجية أو المجال الأمني. لكن نظراً إلى قوتهما الانتخابية، فالسؤال هو هل سيدفعان ثمناً لمساهمتهما في فوز الائتلاف؟

وبالفعل، يبدو أن التوترات بين الدين والدولة هي المجال الوحيد الذي يمكن أن يسود فيه الخلاف في حكومة نتنياهو المتماسكة. وقريباً، سيحضّ أفيغدور ليبرمان، رئيس الكتلة الائتلافية "إسرائيل بيتنا"، على سنّ قانون من أجل فرض غرامات مدنية أو أكثر على العديد من اليهود المتشددين الذين لا يخدمون في الجيش كما هو مطلوب من المواطنين الإسرائيليين الآخرين. وستعارض الأحزاب المتشددة بقوة هذا التشريع. كما من الممكن أن تتجاوز الحدود على نحو أكبر من خلال السعي إلى فرض قيود على الاتجاهات الدينية غير المتشددة الأمريكية المنشأ عموماً في إسرائيل (على سبيل المثال، الجماعات اليهودية الإصلاحية أو المحافظة). وإذا حصل ذلك، قد يؤدي الأمر إلى خلاف مع اليهود الأمريكيين غير المتشددين في الدرجة الأولى. كما سيشعر العديد من اليهود بالاستياء في حال عيّن كبير مساعديه ياريف ليفين في منصب وزير العدل الجديد، نظراً إلى أن هذا الأخير لم يخفِ نفوره الكبير إزاء الاستقلال عن الجسم القضائي في إسرائيل. 

مخاطر الكبرياء

لا يمكن أن يغيب عن بال نتنياهو أن أكثر من مليون إسرائيلي صوتوا لصالح حزب "أزرق أبيض"، في لائحة لم تتواجد حتى إلا قبل أسابيع من الانتخابات. وكان الخبراء قد توقعوا أن يحصد الحزب بين 25 و30 مقعداً، ولكن انتهى به المطاف في الفوز بـ 35 مقعداً، في إشارة واضحة إلى الخصومة العامة للشعب تجاه نتنياهو. وبالكاد يُعزا هذا الشعور إلى المسائل الاقتصادية أو السياسة في المنطقة، نظراً إلى أن أداءه في هذه المجالات كان جيداً بكل المقاييس؛ بل هو نابع على الأرجح من ردّه المستفحل على تحقيقات الفساد وافتقاره إلى أي خطة للتحرك بصورة تدريجية حول القضية الفلسطينية. لذلك، إذا حاول نتنياهو استخدام المناورات البرلمانية لتخليص نفسه من لائحة الاتهام في الأشهر المقبلة، فسيقوم بتعميق غضب الإسرائيليين الذين يرون بلادهم متجذرة في سيادة القانون. 

 

ديفيد ماكوفسكي هو زميل "زيغلر" المميز ومدير "برنامج العلاقات العربية - الإسرائيلية" في معهد واشنطن، والمؤلف المشارك (مع دينيس روس) للكتاب القادم "كن قوياً وذو شجاعة جيدة: كيف عمل قادة إسرائيل الأكثر أهمية على تحديد مصيرها" (PublicAffairs/Hachette، 2019).

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 3105

Netanyahu’s Win Gives Him Leeway on Annexation and Gaza

David Makovsky

Also available in العربية

April 15, 2019


Despite his controversial campaign statements, the prime minister will likely remain cautious about actually seizing West Bank territory or ordering ground incursions into Gaza.

Prime Minister Binyamin Netanyahu’s April 9 electoral victory paved the way for him to pass David Ben-Gurion as Israel’s longest-serving leader. His Likud Party and its right-wing allies won 65 seats in the 120-member Knesset versus 55 for the center bloc, even if the Likud only squeaked past its main rival, the Blue and White Party, by a 36-35 margin. A preliminary look at his presumptive coalition’s vote tallies suggests that he will face less internal pressure on the highly controversial issue of sweeping annexations in the West Bank, enabling him to prioritize relations with the United States. Other takeaways may not be to his liking, however.

COMPETENCE OVER PROBITY

Netanyahu likely hoped that the vote would provide public validation of his leadership and give him the imprimatur needed to face down his preliminary indictment for corruption. Often known to write his own campaign ads, he personalized the elections by using slogans such as “Netanyahu, a different league,” emphasizing his competence and decisiveness. He seemed to believed that the public would overlook the corruption allegations if he reminded them about his ability to talk tough while keeping the country out of war.

He also counted on winning support due to Israel’s economic success. According to the World Bank, the country’s per capita GDP surpassed $40,000 in 2017, higher than Japan’s. In short, if the elections boiled down to a choice between a veteran chief executive with policy experience and a novel candidate with only military experience, Netanyahu bet that the voters would choose his track record despite the charges against him.

FRIENDS IN HIGH PLACES

Shortly before election day, President Trump publicly recognized Israel’s annexation of the Golan Heights, while Russian president Vladimir Putin intervened with Syria to help Israel recover the remains of a soldier lost in the Lebanon war of 1982. Although no exit polls exist to verify whether these specific moves tipped any voters in Netanyahu’s favor, at minimum they served as glaring reminders of his close relationship with two of the most powerful people in the world.

Netanyahu made similar use of his friendships with leaders from Brazil, Cyprus, and Greece, as well as with Eastern European and Gulf leaders during February’s Warsaw Conference. Mobilizing international support was no doubt sweet for the prime minister given that many leaders mobilized against him in his first run against Shimon Peres in 1996.

NO POLITICAL PRICE FOR GAZA POLICY

Netanyahu faced criticism for his policy of containing Hamas and allowing Qatar to facilitate $15 million in monthly aid to the group in Gaza. Yet his opponents did not offer any serious alternatives to this policy. No party called for Israel to launch a ground incursion into Gaza to oust Hamas, understandably fearing the certainty of numerous fatalities and the uncertainty of alternative leadership (especially given the Palestinian Authority’s reticence to reenter the territory on the heels of Israeli tanks). Although Israelis were generally dissatisfied with the government’s response to rocket fire from Gaza in late 2018, Netanyahu bet that talk of a ground assault would be unpalatable domestically.

This bet paid off: Netanyahu scored high with Israeli voters in southern districts adjacent to Gaza. Many of the same citizens who complained about rocket fire voted for him instead of candidates who criticized his approach to the issue. The two parties most scornful of containment did not fare well; one did not even cross the 3.25 percent electoral threshold required to enter parliament.

POOR RESULTS FOR THE HARD RIGHT

In meetings with U.S. and other foreign officials, Netanyahu often bemoans the political constraints he faces to his right. Yet some of these constraints are self-imposed, such as his repeated failure to bring centrists into his previous coalition government.

In any case, the number of seats won by factions to his right dropped in this year’s elections. One party that called for building a “Third Jewish Temple” fell short of the electoral threshold, as did prominent hawkish critic Naftali Bennett, the education minister whose faction held eight seats in the previous government (he is calling for a recount).

This drop may be attributable to Netanyahu’s highly controversial statement in the last days of the campaign that he would be willing to consider sweeping Israeli annexations in the West Bank—a remark that may have pulled the rug out from under hard-right parties. Most Likud members share the hard right’s desire to annex all settlements in the West Bank, but they have always deferred to Netanyahu on this point. Now that he has emerged from the elections even stronger, they are even less likely to push him on this issue in the near term, while hard right factions lack the seats to issue any ultimatums of their own. Moreover, Netanyahu has been careful to avoid angering President Trump on most every issue, so his next government is unlikely to come out of the gate annexing settlements and wrecking Washington’s nascent peace plan.

In short, Netanyahu is not politically helpless to resist wholesale annexation proposals that would essentially turn Israel into Bosnia. If the U.S. peace plan is revealed but falters, he may push for selective annexations near the 1967 ceasefire lines. Yet here too, he would not actually implement such measures without Washington’s approval—the same reason why he has avoided formally annexing even a single inch of the West Bank during his previous terms. And if annexations do occur, they would stem from a conscious decision on his part, not from domestic forces beyond his control.

BACKLASH FROM AMERICAN JEWS?

For the first time since the 1980s, none of Israel’s smaller right-wing parties garnered double-digit seat tallies. Yet two ultraorthodox parties, Shas and United Torah Judaism, combined for 15 seats. Netanyahu sees them as convenient coalition partners because they are more focused on funding their schools and social welfare projects than influencing foreign policy or the security realm. Given their electoral strength, however, will they exact a price for pushing the coalition to victory?

Indeed, tensions between religion and state are seemingly the only area where discord could prevail in an otherwise cohesive Netanyahu government. Avigdor Liberman, head of the coalition faction Yisrael Beitenu, will soon press for a law to invoke civil fines or more on the many ultraorthodox Jews who do not enlist in the military draft as required of other Israeli citizens. The ultraorthodox parties will vociferously oppose this legislation. They might also conceivably push the boundary further by seeking restrictions on the status of largely U.S.-based nonorthodox religious streams in Israel (e.g., Reform or Conservative Judaism). If so, this is bound to create friction with American Jews, who are predominantly not orthodox. Many Jews would also be rankled if he names top aide Yariv Levin as the new justice minister, since Levin has not hid his utter distaste for the independence of Israeli’s judiciary.

THE PERILS OF HUBRIS

It cannot escape Netanyahu that over a million Israelis voted for the Blue and White Party, a list that did not even exist until weeks before the elections. Pundits predicted the party would garner around 25 to 30 seats, but it wound up winning 35, just one less than Likud and a clear sign of serious public antagonism toward Netanyahu. This sentiment is hardly attributable to economic or regional policy issues, since he has performed well on those fronts by most any measure. More likely, it stems from his combative response to the corruption investigation and his lack of any plan for moving even incrementally on the Palestinian issue. Therefore, if Netanyahu tries to use parliamentary maneuvers to extricate himself from indictment in the coming months, he is bound to deepen the anger of Israelis who see their country as rooted in the rule of law.

David Makovsky is the Ziegler Distinguished Fellow and director of the Project on Arab-Israel Relations at The Washington Institute, and coauthor (with Dennis Ross) of the forthcoming book Be Strong and of Good Courage: How Israel’s Most Important Leaders Shaped Its Destiny (PublicAffairs/Hachette, 2019).