أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 3303

اندفاع إسرائيل إلى "تطبيق السيادة" في الضفة الغربية: التوقيت والتداعيات المحتملة

ديفيد ماكوفسكي

متاح أيضاً في English

22 نيسان/أبريل 2020


في 20 نيسان/أبريل، وفي أعقاب أطول أزمة انتخابية في تاريخ إسرائيل، وقّع رئيس الوزراء بنيامين نتنياهو ومنافسه زعيم حزب "أزرق أبيض" بيني غانتس، اتفاقاً لتشكيل حكومة وحدة وفق مبدأ رئاسة الوزراء الدورية. وسيحتفظ نتنياهو بالسلطة خلال الأشهر الثمانية عشر الأولى، حتى في ظل مواجهته ثلاث لوائح اتهام بالفساد؛ على أن يتولى غانتس الدورة الثانية.  

وعلى الرغم من التزام المسؤوليْن بالمساواة بين الكتلة اليمينية والكتلة المركزية للحكومة الجديدة، إلّا أنه لا تزال هناك تساؤلات جادة حول ما إذا كا هذا المبدأ سيستمر بالنظر إلى التفاوت الكبير في مقاعدهما البرلمانية. وانقسم حزب غانتس بشأن قراره الانضمام إلى ائتلاف وحدة، مما حدّ مقاعد كتلته بتسعة عشر مقعداً في حين انتهى المطاف بحزب نتنياهو بما يصل إلى 59 مقعداً.

وستخضع الحكومة لاختبار مبكر في الشهرين المقبلين، حيث ستقرر إسرائيل ما إذا كانت "ستطبّق السيادة" على أجزاء من الضفة الغربية، وهو أمر يعتبره الكثير من المراقبين على أنه عملية ضمّ فعلي. ووفقاً لاتفاق 20 نيسان/أبريل، سيُسمح لنتنياهو بطرح هذه القضية للتصويت أمام مجلس الوزراء أو حتى الكنيست (البرلمان) اعتباراً من الأول من تموز/يوليو، شريطة استيفاء حكمين مسبقاً: الحصول على "موافقة تامة" من الولايات المتحدة وإجراء "استشارات" على الصعيد الدولي.

لماذا يريد نتنياهو السيادة، ولماذا الآن؟

تعود فكرة تطبيق السيادة إلى قرار مناحيم بيغن في كانون الأول/ديسمبر 1981 بتطبيق "القانون والاختصاص القضائي والإدارة" الإسرائيلية من جانب واحد على مرتفعات الجولان. وفي تصريحاته العلنية في ذلك الوقت، اختار بيغن - الذي كان دائماً متمسكاً بالفروق القانونية - هذه الصيغة بدلاً من استخدام كلمة "ضمّ" وتعهد بأنها لن تمنع إسرائيل من المشاركة في محادثات سلام مع سوريا. وبعبارة أخرى، فإن تطبيق السيادة هو عملية يمكن عكسها، في حين أن الضمّ لا رجعة فيه. غير أنه بالنسبة لمعظم المراقبين داخل إسرائيل وخارجها، يبدو وكأنه تمييز لا اختلاف فيه.  

ومن المؤكد أن القرار بشأن الجولان لم يوقف إسرائيل عن التفاوض حول مستقبل هذه المنطقة بين عاميْ 1992 و2010 (بما في ذلك في ظل حكومات برئاسة نتنياهو). ومع ذلك، يبدو أن إسرائيل قد أغلقت القضية إلى أجل غير مسمى وسط حرب النظام السوري الضروس القائمة منذ عقد من الزمن، وتحصّن الجيش الإيراني بالقرب من الجولان، وإعلان الرئيس ترامب في آذار/مارس 2019 أن الولايات المتحدة ستعترف من الآن فصاعداً بإقدام إسرائيل على "ضمّ" تلك المنطقة.  

وبعد إعلان ترامب بوقت قصير، أعلن نتنياهو أنه سيدعم أيضاً تطبيق السيادة الإسرائيلية على جميع مستوطنات الضفة الغربية، آملاً في أن يحظى هذا الاقتراح على نحو مماثل بالموافقة العامة من واشنطن. غير أن تعليق مدوّنة ليوئيل سينغر - المستشار القانوني السابق لوزارة الخارجية الإسرائيلية وكبير المفاوضين خلال "اتفاقيات أوسلو" - في أيار/مايو 2019، وصف هذه الخطوة بأنها "حبة سم" قد تجعل من الصعب للغاية التوصل إلى حل الدولتين. كما طرح بعض العقبات السياسية والقانونية التي يجب تذليلها من أجل تمرير مثل هذا الإجراء. ووفقاً لسينغر، يندرج الأمر ضمن اختصاص قانون الاستفتاء لعام 2014، مما يعني أنه سيتطلب موافقة أغلبية ساحقة في البرلمان (80 من أصل 120 عضواً) أو 50 في المائة من الناخبين الإسرائيليين في استفتاء ما.  

ومع ذلك، فمن وجهة نظر نتنياهو، منحت خطة السلام التي اقترحتها إدارة ترامب في 28 كانون الثاني/يناير فرصة تاريخية لتحقيق الأهداف الموضوعة منذ فترة طويلة الخاصة بالأراضي. وقد التزم برغبات الإدارة الأمريكية في الانتظار إلى ما بعد تشكيل حكومة جديدة قبل محاولة ضم 30  في المائة من الضفة الغربية المخصصة لإسرائيل في خطة السلام. لكنه يعتبر الآن أن تطبيق السيادة مكوّن أساسي لإرثه السياسي.  

إلا أن مجال ضمان هذا المكوّن قد يكون ضيّقاً للغاية. فقد فاقمت جائحة كورونا من حالة عدم اليقين بشأن ما إذا كان سيُعاد انتخاب الرئيس ترامب في تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر، لذا فإن نتنياهو مصمم على العمل على عملية ضمّ الأراضي قبل ذلك الحين. ويبدو أيضاً أنه يؤمن بأن ترامب على استعداد للتدخل مع دول عربية رئيسية طالما تتخذ إسرائيل هذه الخطوة قبل [بدء] القسم الأكثر حدة من الحملة الانتخابية الرئاسية (أي حوالي شهر أيلول/سبتمبر تقريباً إذا كان التاريخ أي مؤشر). ورغم أن دعم عملية الضم قد لا يمنح ترامب دفعة كبيرة بين الناخبين البروتستانت واليهود، إلّا أنه قد يعتبرها قضية مثيرة للخلاف ومفيدة لإحراج خصمه الديمقراطي (جو بايدن). ويبدو أن الجدول الزمني لنتنياهو قائم أيضاً على مخاوف من إمكانية إحراز بايدن تقدّماً كبيراً قبل تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر. وتساعد كافة هذه العوامل على تفسير سبب رفض نتنياهو عرض غانتس بتأجيل مناقشات الضمّ لمدة ستة أشهر، وإصراره على الموعد النهائي في تموز/يوليو.       

خطط إسرائيل، شروط ترامب؟

إن أحد العوامل الرئيسية غير المعروفة هي الأراضي التي ستطالها تطبيق السيادة على وجه التحديد: 

  • جميع المستوطنات الإسرائيلية البالغ عددها 128 (مما يجعل حل الدولتين مستحيلاً)
  • حدود غور الأردن (منطقة أمنية رئيسية ذات حساسيات كبيرة للإسرائيليين والفلسطينيين والأردنيين)
  • المستوطنات الواحدة والخمسين الواقعة ضمن الحاجز الأمني للضفة الغربية، التي تأوي معظم المستوطنين والتي تشكّل حوالي 8 في المائة من الأراضي (وهي خطوة يمكن أن تكون متسقة مع حل الدولتين إذا تم ذلك عن طريق المفاوضات وتبادل الأراضي مع الفلسطينيين، على الرغم من أن مثل هذه المحادثات تبدو غير قابلة للتطبيق في الوقت الحاضر)
  • عدد محدود من المستوطنات الأقل إثارة للجدل المتاخمة للمدن الإسرائيلية (على سبيل المثال، "غوش عتسيون"، الذي تم شمله كجزء من إسرائيل في الخرائط الفلسطينية المسرّبة المتعلقة بالمناقشات السابقة حول حل الدولتين)

ويعتقد البعض أن أبرز أولويات نتنياهو في الوقت الراهن هي غور الأردن. فالمستوطنات تكتسي قيمة أكبر خلال الدورات الانتخابية لكنها تضاءلت الآن بفعل القيمة الأمنية القصوى لغور الأردن.

أما بالنسبة لوجهة نظر الولايات المتحدة، فقد أعلن وزير الخارجية الأمريكي مايك بومبيو في 22 نيسان/أبريل أن "الإسرائيليين هم من يتخذون هذه القرارات في نهاية المطاف"، مما يشير إلى أن الإدارة الأمريكية ستكون بمثابة شريك وليست عقبة في هذا الصدد ولن تمنع تطبيق إسرائيل للسيادة. أما المسألة المتبقية فهي الشرطية. فإذا قررت إسرائيل تطبيق السيادة، فمن بين الأسئلة المطروحة هنا، هل ستطلب الإدارة الأمريكية من الكنيست الإسرائيلي الالتزام بالإجراء المنصوص عليه في خطة ترامب للسلام، وخاصةٍ التنازل عن القسم المتبقي في الضفة الغربية (حوالي 70 في المائة) للفلسطينيين؟ أم أنها ستوافق على قرار نتنياهو بدون شروط؟

التحديات الدولية

صرح رئيس الوزراء الأردني عمر الرزاز بأن ضمّ الضفة الغربية تحت أي مسمى سيجمّد معاهدة السلام بين إسرائيل والمملكة الهاشمية، رغم أن التكهنات توحي إلى أن التعاون الأمني الثنائي سيستمر. كما أن تقارير غير مؤكدة تشير إلى أن "السلطة الفلسطينية" قد تعلق التنسيق الأمني في أعقاب خطوة مماثلة، على الرغم من أن هذا الميل قد يقوّضه الانكماش الاقتصادي المستمر والاعتماد على إسرائيل خلال انتشار الجائحة. أما أوروبا فلديها اعتراضات جوهرية أيضاً - ففي شباط/فبراير، عارضت 21 دولة من "الاتحاد الأوروبي" خطة ترامب التي تشمل ضم [بعض الأراضي] (على الرغم من أن أي قرار لتطبيق العقوبات سيحتاج إلى إجماع بين جميع دول "الاتحاد الأوروبي" السبع والعشرين، وهو غير متواجد حالياً).

تجدر الإشارة إلى أن ردّ الفعل المحتمل في أوساط دول الخليج العربي غير واضح المعالم. فقد منحت إسرائيل الأولوية لبعض "العلاقات الهادئة" معها في ظل التقارب الاستراتيجي بشأن إيران والتركيز المشترك على التطور التكنولوجي. ولكن حتى لو سئِمت هذه الدول من القضية الفلسطينية، فهي لا ترغب بالتعرض للإحراج العلني، وتواصل اعتماد مبدأ العزوف عن المخاطر. وعلى هذا النحو، من غير المحتمل أن ترى الجانب الإيجابي من الاصطفاف العلني مع عمليات الضمّ الإسرائيلية الأحادية الجانب التي تمس أمن الأردن وحقوق الفلسطينيين - خاصة في سياق جائحة كورونا التي جعلت الحكومات في المنطقة أكثر عرضة للاضطرابات العامة.    

وهناك تحد آخر يكمن في واشنطن، حيث قد يصوّر الديمقراطيون اندفاع نتنياهو نحو الضمّ على أنه ليس فقط ضربة قاضية لمساعي السلام، بل أيضاً حيلة لمساعدة ترامب على إعادة انتخابه. وكان الديمقراطيون البارزون الموالون لإسرائيل في الكونغرس الأمريكي قد رفضوا علناً مثل هذه الاقتراحات منذ عام على الأقل حتى الآن، كما أن قرار سابق صادر عن مجلس النواب الأمريكي قد أثبط كلاً من "ضمّ الأراضي الأحادي الجانب" من قبل إسرائيل والإعلانات الأحادية الجانب عن إقامة دولة من جانب الفلسطينيين. وقد لا تظهر على الفور تداعيات الضرر الدبلوماسي الكامل من أجل المضي قدماً في الضمّ، لكن مصادر الكونغرس الأمريكي تشير إلى أنها لن تُفاجأ إذا طالب المشرّعون بتقييد المساعدة العسكرية لإسرائيل في المستقبل.

اختبار لغانتس واشكنازي

خلال التناوب الأول للحكومة الجديدة، سيتولى غانتس منصب وزير الدفاع بينما سيتبوأ زميله في حزب "أزرق أبيض" غابي أشكنازي منصب وزير الخارجية. وسيكون من المثير للاهتمام رؤية كيف سيكون أداء الرجلين في القيادة حتى الموعد النهائي في الأول من تموز/يوليو. فهما متهمان أساساً محلياً بمنحهما الإذن للضمّ وعدم استخدام نفوذهما لإرجاء هذه المسألة في هذه اللحظة الرئيسية أو إعادة رسم معالمها. ورداً على ذلك، يوضحان في المجالس الخاصة بأن نتنياهو قد يحصل على الدعم الضروري لتطبيق السيادة من خلال استمالة عدد قليل من أعضاء الكنيست المنشقين (ربما حتى أفيغدور ليبرمان، الذي قال إن حزبه سيؤيد هذه الخطوة).

ولكن بالنظر إلى سجلهما العسكري كرئيسيْ أركان سابقين لـ "جيش الدفاع الإسرائيلي"، يدرك غانتس وأشكنازي جيداً مدى أهمية حفاظ إسرائيل على علاقات جيدة مع الولايات المتحدة وأوروبا والحكومات العربية. على سبيل المثال، بالنظر إلى علاقة عمّان الباردة مع نتنياهو، فلن يكون من المستغرب رؤية المسؤولين الأردنيين يجتمعون مع الجنراليْن خلال الأسابيع المقبلة لشرح كيف يمكن أن يؤثر ضمّ الأراضي على الاستقرار الداخلي للمملكة. ومن المرجح أن يجتمع الرجلان مع مسؤولين أوروبيين وديمقراطيين أمريكيين أيضاً. وفي الحالة الأخيرة، يرى بعض المسؤولين الإسرائيليين والأمريكيين في حكومة الوحدة وسيلة لاستعادة صفة دعم الحزبيْن الأمريكييْن للعلاقات بين الولايات المتحدة وإسرائيل بعد سنوات من الاستقطاب السياسي المتصاعد.

   

الخاتمة

من الناحية النظرية، ينبغي للحكومة الأوسع نطاقاً أن تمكّن إسرائيل من إحراز تقدّم إيجابي على عدة جبهات: تخليص نفسها من اعتمادها على الفصائل الموالية للمستوطنين، التي حافظت على توازن القوى السياسية منذ عام 2015؛ والوصول إلى مجموعات أوسع في دول أجنبية رئيسية؛ واستعادة التعاون مع واشنطن بتأييد الحزبين الأمريكييْن. غير أن المهلة النهائية الوشيكة المحددة للضم في الأول من تموز/يوليو تعرّض كل هذه المكاسب المحتملة للخطر في وقت مبكر جداً من فترة ولاية الحكومة الجديدة.  

 

ديفيد ماكوفسكي هو زميل "زيغلر" المميز في معهد واشنطن، والمؤلف المشارك مع دينس روس للكتاب، "كن قوياً وذو شجاعة جيدة: كيف عمل قادة إسرائيل الأكثر أهمية على تحديد مصيرها".

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 3303

Israel’s Rush to ‘Apply Sovereignty’ in the West Bank: Timing and Potential Consequences

David Makovsky

Also available in العربية

April 22, 2020


Given the short U.S. election calendar, Netanyahu is adamant about securing approval for unilateral moves in the West Bank by July 1, a timetable that may hold damaging implications for Israeli relations with multiple countries.

On April 20, after the longest electoral deadlock in Israel’s history, Prime Minister Binyamin Netanyahu and rival Blue and White Party leader Benny Gantz signed an agreement to form a unity government with a rotating premiership. Netanyahu will hold power for the first eighteen months, even as he battles three corruption indictments; Gantz will take the second rotation.

Although officials have committed to parity between the new government’s right-wing and center blocs, serious questions persist about whether this principle will be sustained given their wide disparity in parliamentary seats. Gantz’s party splintered over his decision to join a unity coalition, leaving his bloc with nineteen seats and Netanyahu’s with up to fifty-nine.

An early test for the new government will come in the next two months, as Israel decides whether to “apply sovereignty” in parts of the West Bank, which many observers view as de facto annexation. According to the April 20 agreement, Netanyahu will be allowed to bring this issue for a cabinet or even parliamentary vote starting on July 1, provided he fulfills two stipulations in advance: obtaining “full agreement” from the United States, and conducting “consultations” internationally.

WHY DOES NETANYAHU WANT SOVEREIGNTY, AND WHY NOW?

The idea of applying sovereignty has its origins in Menachem Begin’s December 1981 decision to unilaterally apply Israeli “law, jurisdiction, and administration” to the Golan Heights. In his public remarks at the time, Begin—always a stickler for legal distinctions—chose this formulation rather than “annexation” and pledged that it would not prohibit Israel from engaging in peace talks with Syria. In other words, applying sovereignty was reversible, while annexation was irreversible. To most observers inside and outside Israel, however, this sounds like a distinction without a difference.

Granted, the Golan decision did not stop Israel from negotiating over the territory’s future between 1992 and 2010 (including under governments led by Netanyahu). Yet Israel seems to have closed the issue indefinitely amid the Syrian regime’s brutal, decade-long war, Iran’s military entrenchment close to the Golan, and President Trump’s March 2019 announcement that the United States would henceforth recognize Israeli “annexation” of that territory.

Shortly after Trump’s announcement, Netanyahu declared that he would also support applying Israeli sovereignty to all West Bank settlements, hoping that this proposal would likewise gain public approval from Washington. Yet a May 2019 blog post by Joel Singer—former legal advisor to the Israeli Foreign Ministry and a top negotiator during the Oslo Accords—called this step a “poison pill” that would make it extremely difficult to reach a two-state solution. According to him, any territory that is annexed would thereafter fall under the jurisdiction of the 2014 Referendum Law. If Israel later wanted to withdraw from said territory as a result of peace negotiations, it would need to meet the very high threshold of a super-majority in parliament (80 out of 120 members) or 50 percent of Israeli voters in a referendum.

In Netanyahu’s view, however, the Trump administration peace plan presented on January 28 has given him an historic opportunity to fulfill long-term territorial goals. He respected the administration’s wishes to wait until a new government formed before attempting to annex the 30 percent of the West Bank allocated to Israel in the peace plan. Yet he now sees application of sovereignty as a key component of his legacy.

The window for securing that component may be quite narrow, though. The coronavirus pandemic has added to the uncertainty over whether President Trump will be reelected in November, so Netanyahu is adamant about acting on annexation before then. He also seems to believe that Trump is willing to run interference with key Arab states so long as Israel makes the move before the most intense portion of the presidential election campaign (i.e., around September if history is any indicator). Although supporting annexation may not give Trump a significant boost among evangelical and Jewish voters, he may view it as a useful wedge issue for embarrassing his Democratic opponent. Netanyahu’s timetable also appears driven by concerns that Joe Biden could build a significant lead before November. All of these factors help explain why Netanyahu rejected Gantz’s offer to delay annexation discussions for six months, instead insisting on the July deadline.

ISRAEL’S PLANS, TRUMP’S TERMS?

One key unknown is where exactly the application of sovereignty would occur:

  • In all 128 Israeli settlements (which would make a two-state solution impossible)
  • In the Jordan Valley frontier (a key security zone that holds major sensitivities for Israelis, Palestinians, and Jordanians)
  • In the 51 settlements that lie inside the West Bank security barrier, house most of the settlers, and take up around 8 percent of the land (a move that could be consistent with a two-state solution if conducted via negotiations and territorial swaps with the Palestinians, though any such talks seem infeasible at present)
  • In a limited number of less controversial settlements adjacent to Israeli urban areas (e.g., Gush Etzion, which has been included as part of Israel in leaked Palestinian maps related to past two-state discussions)

Some believe that Netanyahu’s top priority right now is the Jordan Valley. The settlements have more value during election cycles but are currently dwarfed by the valley’s paramount security value.

As for the U.S. view, Secretary of State Mike Pompeo said earlier today that “the Israelis ultimately make those decisions,” suggesting the administration will be a partner rather than an obstacle in this regard and will not block Israeli application of sovereignty. The remaining question is conditionality. If Israel decides to apply sovereignty, will the administration ask the Knesset to commit to the measure called for in the Trump peace plan, namely, yielding the remainder of the West Bank (approximately 70 percent) to the Palestinians? Or will it agree to Netanyahu’s decision without conditions?

INTERNATIONAL CHALLENGES

Jordanian prime minister Omar Razzaz has stated that West Bank annexations under any name would put Israel’s peace treaty with the kingdom in a deep freeze, though speculation suggests that bilateral security cooperation would continue. Unconfirmed reports also indicate the Palestinian Authority might suspend security coordination after such a move, though that inclination could be tempered by continued economic downturns and dependency on Israel during the pandemic. Europe has substantial objections as well—in February, twenty-one EU countries came out against the Trump plan and annexation (though any decision to apply sanctions would need consensus among all twenty-seven EU states, which currently does not exist).

The potential reaction among Gulf Arab states is uncertain. Israel has prioritized quiet ties with them amid strategic convergence on Iran and a shared focus on technological development. Yet even if these states are tired of the Palestinian issue, they do not like being publicly embarrassed, and they remain risk-averse. As such, they are unlikely to see the upside of publicly aligning with unilateral Israeli annexations that impinge on Jordan’s security and Palestinian rights—especially in the context of a pandemic that has rendered regional governments all the more vulnerable to public unrest.

Another challenge lies in Washington, where Democrats may depict Netanyahu’s annexation push as not only a deadly blow to peace efforts, but also a ploy to help Trump win reelection. Leading pro-Israel Democrats in Congress have publicly rejected such proposals for at least a year now, and a past House resolution discouraged both “unilateral annexation of territory” by Israel and unilateral statehood declarations by the Palestinians. The full diplomatic damage of pressing ahead with annexation might not be felt immediately, but congressional sources indicate they would not be surprised if legislators call for restricting military assistance to Israel in the future.

A TEST FOR GANTZ AND ASHKENAZI

During the new government’s first rotation, Gantz will serve as defense minister while his Blue-White colleague Gabi Ashkenazi will serve as foreign minister. It will be interesting to see how both men act leading up to the July 1 deadline. They are already being accused domestically of lending their imprimatur to annexation and not using their leverage to delay or reshape the issue at this key moment. In response, they privately argue that Netanyahu could win the requisite support for applying sovereignty by wooing just a handful of dissident parliamentarians (perhaps even Avigdor Liberman, who said his faction would support the move).

Yet given their military record as former IDF chiefs of staff, Gantz and Ashkenazi are well aware how important it is for Israel to maintain good ties with the United States, Europe, and Arab governments. For example, given Amman’s frosty relationship with Netanyahu, it would not be surprising to see Jordanian officials meet with the two generals in the coming weeks to explain how annexation might affect the kingdom’s internal stability. Both men will likely meet with European officials and U.S. Democrats as well. In the latter case, some Israeli and American officials saw a unity government as a way to restore the bipartisan character of U.S.-Israel relations after years of escalating polarization.

CONCLUSION

In theory, a broader government should enable Israel to make favorable progress on several fronts: extricating itself from its reliance on pro-settler factions, which have held the balance of political power since 2015; reaching wider constituencies in key foreign countries; and restoring bipartisan cooperation with Washington. Yet the looming July 1 annexation deadline puts all of these potential gains in peril very early in the new government’s tenure.

David Makovsky is the Ziegler Distinguished Fellow at The Washington Institute, creator of the podcast Decision Points, and coauthor with Dennis Ross of the book Be Strong and of Good Courage: How Israel’s Most Important Leaders Shaped Its Destiny.