أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 3048

إيران تخطط لجعل صناعتها النفطية أكثر مرونة

فرزين نديمي

متاح أيضاً في English

11 كانون الأول/ديسمبر، 2018


في الخامس من تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر، نشرت وزارة المالية الأمريكية مجموعة موسعة من العقوبات على إيران بهدف جعل تصدير النفط منها - وبالتالي اقتصادها المعتمد على النفط - في حالة جمود. وكما كان عليه الحال خلال العقوبات السابقة، من المتوقّع أن تتصدى طهران لهذه الإجراءات من خلال استغلال مزاياها الجغرافية وعلاقاتها مع الدول المجاورة، ومن خلال التعويل على خبرتها الطويلة في إدارة "اقتصاد مرن".

ورغم أن هذه الإستراتيجية الاقتصادية ستعتمد بالكامل تقريباً على النشاط المحدد الذي تستهدفه واشنطن - أي صادرات النفط الخام - فقد تبدو الاختلافات هذه المرة ذات أهمية حاسمة. ففضلاً عن اقتراب إيران من تحقيق اكتفاء ذاتي على صعيد الوقود، فهي تقوم ببناء شبكة تخزين إستراتيجية للنفط والمنتجات النفطية والغاز الطبيعي، واضعةً نصب عينيها هدفين، هما: تخزين ما يعادل كمية الاستهلاك اليومية لخمسين أو ستين يوماً والتأثير على الأسواق الإقليمية والدولية من أجل تصدير إمداداتها في الوقت والسعر الأمثل.

العمل نحو الاكتفاء الذاتي في مجال الوقود

تتمتع إيران بواحد من أعلى مستويات استهلاك الوقود للفرد في العالم - أي ستة أضعاف المتوسط العالمي، ويزداد مستوى استهلاكها بنسبة 9 في المائة سنوياً. ومن بين عوامل أخرى، يمكن أن تُعزى هذه المشكلة إلى الإعانات المالية الكبيرة التي تقدمها وأسعار الوقود المنخفضة، التي أطلقت تجارة تهريب مربحة ترسل ما يقدر بـ 8 في المائة من الوقود الإيراني إلى الدول المجاورة. وخلال السنة الفارسية الماضية (التي انتهت في 21 آذار/مارس)، استوردت إيران أكثر من 12.3 مليون ليتر من الوقود يومياً، أو 4.5 مليارات ليتر في السنة. وحتى الآن، انخفض المعدل هذا العام نوعاً ما لكنه لا يزال مرتفعاً: حوالي 9 ملايين ليتر/في اليوم، أو 3.2 ملايين ليتر/في السنة.

ولتعويض هذا النقص، استثمرت الحكومة بشكل كبير في قطاع التكرير الخاص بها خلال السنوات القليلة الماضية، لا سيما في إنتاج البنزين عالي الأوكتان. وأفادت بعض التقارير أنه وصل إلى معدل قياسي قدره 90 مليون ليتر/في اليوم خلال الصيف الماضي، ومن المتوقع أن يصل إلى 107 ملايين ليتر/في اليوم بحلول آذار/مارس 2019، على افتراض أن تعوّض المرحلة الثالثة من مصفاة المكثفات "ستاره خليج فارس" ("نجمة الخليج الفارسي") في بندر عباس التأخيرات وتبدأ بعملياتها. ومن المتوقع أن تبلغ قدرة المنشأة المرتقبة 360 ألف برميل في اليوم عن معدل إنتاج إجمالي للبنزين قدره 36 مليون ليتر/في اليوم.

وإذا حققت إيران هذا الهدف فعلياً، ستكون أقل ضعفاً مما كانت عليه خلال الجولة السابقة من عقوبات الطاقة (2012-2016)، عندما اضطرت إلى استيراد الوقود بمعدل أسرع بكثير. وتشير الاتجاهات الحالية إلى أن متوسط الإنتاج والاستهلاك متعادلين تقريباً ويصل إلى حوالي 80 مليون ليتر/في اليوم.

الاحتياطيات الاستراتيجية للنفط والغاز

لسنوات، وضعت إيران كمية كبيرة من فائض نفطها ومكثفاتها في منشآت تخزين عائمة في الخليج، وبلغت هذه الكميات ذروتها عند 53.7 مليون برميل في صيف 2015. وفي تشرين الأول/أكتوبر 2018، قدّرت "وكالة الطاقة الدولية" أن قدرة البلاد العائمة تتراوح بين 6 و8 ملايين برميل، رغم أنها ارتفعت مجدداً في الأسابيع الأخيرة وفقاً لبعض التقارير وذلك تحسباً للعقوبات النفطية الجديدة. لكن عموماً، تعتقد إيران أن الحفاظ على مخزونات إستراتيجية كبيرة سواء برية أو تحت المياه هي أكثر أماناً وأكثر فعالية من استئجار أسطول من ناقلات التخزين الأجنبية أو الاحتفاظ بأسطولها الخاص -  لا سيما في الوقت الذي تحتاج فيه طهران إلى ناقلاتها لتصدير أكبر قدر ممكن من النفط الخام إلى الصين. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، لا يمكن رصد المخزونات تحت الأرض بواسطة الأقمار الصناعية.

وبدعم من "منظمة الدفاع السلبي الإيرانية"، أطلقت إيران مشروعاً كبيراً في عام 2011 لتأسيس شبكة إستراتيجية من مواقع التخزين فوق الأرض وتحتها، بهدف الوصول إلى قدرة إنتاجية قدرها 15 مليار ليتر من المنتجات النفطية و100 مليون برميل من النفط الخام (بما فيها 10 ملايين برميل كاحتياطيات إستراتيجية) و15 مليار متر مكعب من الغاز الطبيعي بحلول عام 2017. ورغم أن العديد من هذه المشاريع لا تحصل على التمويل الكافي، وتشوبها التأخيرات، ولا تزال بحاجة إلى سنوات لإكمالها، إلّا أنه من المتوقع أن يكون هناك تأثيراً فورياً لتلك المشاريع التي اكتملت بالفعل.

انقر على الجدول للحصول على نسخة ذات دقة أعلى.

وفقاً لتقرير صدر في نيسان/أبريل 2018 من قبل "غلوبال داتا"، من المتوقع أن تنمو قدرة إيران على تخزين النفط إلى أكثر من 87 مليون برميل بحلول عام 2022 بالمقارنة مع 55 مليوناً في عام 2017  - أي بزيادة قدرها 58 في المائة. وبذلك تسجل ثاني أسرع معدل نمو على صعيد التخزين في الشرق الأوسط بعد عُمان.

كما بنت طهران موقعي تخزين كبيرين تحت الأرض ومحصّنين بشدّة في سراجه وشوريجه لتوفير إمدادات الغاز الطبيعي لموسم البرد، بقدرة مصممة تبلغ 3.7 و4.6 مليارات متر مكعب على التوالي. ويبعد حقل شوريجه الغازي حوالى 100 كيلومتر شرق مشهد شمالي شرقي إيران، في حين يقع حقل سراجه على بعد 165 كيلومتراً جنوبي طهران، أي جنوبي شرقي موقع فوردو النووي. أما المقاولان الرئيسيان لهذين المشروعين فهما "مقر خاتم الأنبياء للإعمار" و"منظمة الدفاع السلبي الإيرانية"، الخاضعتان لإمرة «الحرس الثوري الإسلامي».

وقد اكتسبت هذه الجهود زخماً أكبر عندما كشفت الحكومة النقاب عن خطة "الاقتصاد المرن" في عام 2012. وتمثّل الهدف الرئيسي لهذه الإستراتيجية في إيجاد وسائل للتخفيف من الآثار المعاكسة لتباطؤ إنتاج وتصدير النفط الخام، والالتفاف على "التأثيرات الأجنبية غير المتوقعة".

ومن الخطط ذات الصلة البناء المقترح لحوالي 20 صهريج لتخزين نفط تحت المياه ستنفذها جامعة كرمان و"مقر خانم الأنبياء للإعمار". وإذ تصل قدرتها الإجمالية إلى 10 ملايين برميل، من المفترض أن توضع هذه الصهاريج على طول الخط الساحلي الإيراني على عمق يتراوح بين 60 و100 متر، على الرغم من أنه من غير المحتمل أن يحظى المشروع بالتمويل الكافي في أي وقت قريب.

تنويع الصادرات

في عام 1986، وبعد فترة وجيزة من تصعيد العراق لـ"حرب الناقلات"، فكّرت إيران في احتمال نقل عملياتها الدائمة لتصدير النفط من محطة [ميناء جزيرة] خرج المحاصرة شمالي الخليج إلى جاسك جنوباً شرقي مضيق هرمز. وقد شملت هذه الخطة، التي أطلق عليها "مشروع محرم"، البناء المقترح لخط أنابيب بطول 1000 كيلومتر بين غاشساران وجاسك عبر محطة غرة للضخ شمالي خرج.

ورغم أن ذلك المشروع لم يُنجز قط بسبب التكاليف الباهظة، يبدو الآن أن إيران أكثر استعداداً لإكمال مشروع مماثل، وهو: بناء محطة لتصدير النفط بقيمة ملياري دولار على بعد 65 ميلومتراً غربي جاسك. وبالفعل، بدأت أعمال بناء مكونات خط أنابيب بطول 1100 كيلومتر وبعرض 42 إنشاً من غرة إلى جاسك. وقد يؤدي هذا المشروع في النهاية إلى تحميل ما يصل إلى 1 مليون برميل/في اليوم من النفط الخام الخفيف والثقيل في ناقلات ضخمة باستخدام ثلاث وحدات إرساء بحرية بنقطة واحدة بالقرب من جاسك. وأفادت بعض التقارير أن حكومة روحاني منحت أولوية لهذه الجهود وترغب في أن يبدأ المشروع عملياته بحلول عام 2021.

وتكتسي مزرعة صهاريج التخزين المخطط إقامتها في هذه المنطقة، والتي تصل قدرتها الاستيعابية إلى 10 ملايين برميل مع إمكانية زيادتها إلى 30 مليوناً، أهمية مماثلة. ففي أيلول/سبتمبر، تم منح عقد بقيمة 226 مليون دولار لإكمال المشروع في غضون 3 سنوات. ومن شأن مزرعة الصهاريج أن تجعل جزءاً من الاحتياطي الاستراتيجي لإيران أقرب إلى أسواق النفط، وقد تساهم مبادرات المقايضة المستقبلية في ربطه في النهاية بالمنتجين في آسيا الوسطى عبر خط أنابيب من المزمع بناؤه (ولكن لم يتمّ تمويله بعد) بين نكا وجاسك يبلغ طوله 1680 كيلومتراً.

الخاتمة

أعلنت طهران عن العديد من المشاريع في إطار سعيها إلى خفض تعرض البلاد لتقلبات السوق وتدخلات خارجية أخرى. لكن العديد من هذه المشاريع لا تزال بحاجة إلى سنوات لإنجازها ولن تؤثر على التطورات الإقليمية الراهنة.

وعلى نحو مماثل، فإن سعي إيران إلى تحقيق الاكتفاء الذاتي من الوقود قد حقق أخيراً بعض النتائج خلال السنوات القليلة الماضية وأصبح بإمكانها نظرياً الحدّ من مدى تأثرها بالعقوبات المفروضة على الوقود. ومع ذلك، فإن الارتفاع المستمر في استهلاك الوقود محلياً سيوازن هذا الجهد، وربما قد يرغم إيران على النظر في إجراء تعديلات على الدعم، وزيادات في الأسعار، وتقنين.

وتمثّل القدرة الفائضة العالية المتأصلة التي تتمتع بها إيران مشهداً متبايناً مماثلاً. فنمو منشآت نقل النفط وتحميله يخفض درجة تأثر إيران الإستراتيجية مع زيادة مرونة النظام في مواجهة التعطيلات، لكن الشبكة بحاجة ماسة إلى استثمارات. والأهم من ذلك، هناك حدوداً لكمية النفط التي يمكن لإيران إنتاجها إذا لم تستطع بيعها، وتطال هذه القيود التخزين المحلي العائم والتخزين بالاستعانة بمصادر خارجية (في الصين على سبيل المثال). وعلى أية حال، يمكن توقُّع قيام الحكومة بتسريع وتيرة إكمال المشاريع المحلية لتخزين النفط الخام التي تتقدم بوتيرة بطيئة، لا سيما الخزانات الإسمنتية الرخيصة الثمن ذات السعة الاستيعابية العالية.

وفي الوقت نفسه، ومن خلال افتتاح محطة تصدير جديدة في جاسك وخفض اعتمادها على محطة خرج، من المرجح أن تسعى إيران إلى تنويع أسواق صادراتها وخفض اعتمادها على مضيق هرمز. ومن الناحية النظرية، قد يسمح لها ذلك ممارسة المزيد من التأثير فيما يتعلق بالنفط الأجنبي المتدفق عبر المضيق.

وأخيراً، تبحث إيران عن وسائل جديدة لنقل النفط إلى أسواقها التقليدية والتوسّع إلى أسواق جديدة. على سبيل المثال، يمكنها السعي إلى عكس برنامج قزوين للمقايضة - وبالتحديد، بدلاً من (أو بالإضافة إلى) تكرير نفط آسيا الوسطى، قد تحاول إقناع روسيا بشراء الخام الإيراني المخفّض السعر للغاية عبر استخدام البنية التحتية القائمة، التي يجري توسيعها. وتسعى طهران أيضاً إلى تعزيز علاقاتها مع العراق على صعيد الطاقة، بعرضها على بغداد العديد من مخططات المقايضة.

 

فرزين نديمي هو زميل مشارك في معهد واشنطن، ومتخصص في شؤون الأمن والدفاع المتعلقة بإيران ومنطقة الخليج.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 3048

Iran Plans to Make Its Oil Industry More Resilient

Farzin Nadimi

Also available in العربية

December 11, 2018


To counter U.S. sanctions, Tehran is pursuing a three-pronged strategy of diversifying its export outlets, bumping up fuel production, and creating a strategic storage network.

On November 5, the U.S. Treasury Department published an expanded set of sanctions against Iran with the intention of bringing the country’s oil export activity—and, by extension, its oil-dependent economy—to a standstill. As with previous sanctions, Tehran is expected to push back against these measures by exploiting its geographical advantages and relations with neighboring countries, and by drawing on its long experience at running a “resilient economy.”

Although this economic strategy will depend almost entirely on the very activity that Washington is targeting—crude oil exports—the differences this time around could prove crucial. In addition to nearing fuel self-sufficiency, Iran is building a strategic storage network for oil, oil products, and natural gas, with two goals in mind: stocking the equivalent of fifty to sixty days’ worth of domestic consumption, and influencing regional and international markets in order to export its supplies at the optimum time and price.

WORKING TOWARD GASOLINE SELF-SUFFICIENCY

Iran has one of the highest per capita fuel-consumption rates in the world—six times the global average, and increasing by 9 percent annually. Among other factors, this problem can be attributed to the country’s heavy subsidies and low fuel prices, which have spawned a lucrative smuggling business that sends an estimated 8 percent of Iranian gasoline to neighboring states. During the last Persian year (which ended on March 21), Iran imported over 12.3 million liters of gasoline per day, or 4.5 billion liters per year. So far, this year’s rate has decreased somewhat but is still high: about 9 ml/d, or 3.2 bl/y.

To rectify this vulnerability, the government has invested considerably in its refining sector over the past few years, especially high-octane gasoline production. It reportedly reached a record rate of 90 ml/d last summer and is expected to hit 107 ml/d by March 2019, assuming the third phase of the Setareh-ye Khalij-e Fars (Persian Gulf Star) condensates refinery in Bandar Abbas overcomes delays and comes online. That facility’s projected capacity of 360,000 barrels per day (kb/d) would result in a total gasoline production rate of 36 ml/d.

If Iran does in fact hit that target, it would be less vulnerable than it was during the previous round of energy sanctions (2012-16), when it had to import fuel at a much faster rate. Current trends indicate that average production and consumption are almost evenly matched at around 80 ml/d.

STRATEGIC OIL AND GAS RESERVES

For years, Iran has placed a sizeable amount of its excess oil and condensates into floating storage in the Persian Gulf, peaking at 53.7 mb in summer 2015. In October 2018, the International Energy Agency estimated the country’s floating capacity at around 6-8 mb, though it reportedly picked up again in recent weeks in anticipation of the new oil sanctions. Generally, however, Iran believes that maintaining a robust land and underwater strategic stock is safer and more efficient than chartering a fleet of foreign storage tankers or holding up one’s own fleet—especially at a time when Tehran needs its tankers to move as much crude oil to China as possible. In addition, underground stocks cannot be monitored by satellites.

Spurred by its National Passive Defense Organization (NPDO), Iran launched a grand project in 2011 to create a network of strategic aboveground and underground storage sites, intending to reach a capacity of 15 bl of oil products, 100 mb of crude oil (including 10 mb in strategic reserves), and 15 billion cubic meters of natural gas by 2017. Although many of those projects are underfunded, marred by delays, and several years away from completion, those that are already completed can be expected to have an immediate impact.

Click on table for a higher-resolution version.

According to an April 2018 report by GlobalData, Iran’s oil storage capacity is expected to grow to over 87 mb by 2022, compared to 55 mb in 2017—a 58 percent increase. That would give it the second-fastest storage growth rate in the Middle East after Oman.

Tehran has also built two large, heavily fortified underground storage sites at Sarajeh and Shourijeh in order to secure natural gas supplies for the cold season, with a designed capacity of 3.7 and 4.6 billion cubic meters, respectively. The Shourijeh gas field is located about 100 kilometers east of Mashhad in northeast Iran, while Sarajeh is 165 km south of Tehran, and just southeast of the Fordow nuclear site. The main contractors for these projects are the Khatam al-Anbia Construction Headquarters (KACH) and the NPDO, both controlled by the Islamic Revolutionary Guard Corps.

Such efforts gained further momentum when the government unveiled its “resilient economy” plan in 2012. The main purpose of this strategy has been to find ways of alleviating the adverse effects of slower crude production and export, and circumventing “unexpected foreign influences.”

A related plan is the proposed construction of around twenty underwater oil storage tanks by Kerman University and KACH. Boasting a combined capacity of 10 mb, these tanks will purportedly be placed along Iran’s coastline at depths of 60-100 meters, though the project is unlikely to secure enough funding anytime soon.

EXPORT DIVERSIFICATION

In 1986, soon after Iraq escalated the “Tanker War,” Iran contemplated moving its permanent oil export operations from the embattled island terminal of Kharg in the northern Persian Gulf down to Jask just east of the Strait of Hormuz. Called “Project Muharram,” this plan included the proposed construction of a 1,000 km pipeline between Gachsaran and Jask, via the Gorreh pumping station north of Kharg.

Although that project was never completed due to high costs, Iran now seems much more willing to complete a similar one: the $2 billion effort to establish an oil export terminal 65 km west of Jask. Construction of components for a 1,100 km, 42 inch pipeline from Gorreh to Jask is already under way. This project could eventually see up to 1 mb/d of light and heavy crude loaded onto supertankers using three offshore single-point mooring units near Jask. The Rouhani government has reportedly prioritized the endeavor and wants it operational by 2021.

Equally important is the planned 10 mb storage tank farm in this area, which has an option to expand to 30 mb. In September, a $226 million contract was awarded to complete the project within three years. The tank farm will bring a portion of Iran’s strategic reserve closer to oil markets, and future swap initiatives could eventually link it to Central Asian producers via a projected (but not yet financed) 1,680 km pipeline between Neka and Jask.

CONCLUSION

Tehran has announced numerous projects as part of its quest to reduce the country’s vulnerability to market fluctuations and other outside interference. Yet many of these projects are still years from completion and will not affect current regional developments.

Likewise, Iran’s quest for fuel self-sufficiency has finally achieved some results in recent years and could theoretically reduce the country’s vulnerability to fuel sanctions. Yet the continued rise in domestic fuel consumption will counterbalance this effort, perhaps even forcing the government to consider subsidy adjustments, price increases, and rationing.

Iran’s high inherent surplus capacity presents a similarly mixed picture. The growth in oil transportation and loading facilities reduces its strategic vulnerability while increasing the system’s elasticity against disruption, but the network is in dire need of investment. More important, there are limits to how much oil Iran can produce if it cannot sell, and those limits extend to local floating storage and outsourced storage (in China for example). In any case, the government can be expected to accelerate its construction of slow-moving domestic crude storage projects, especially cheaper high-capacity concrete tanks.

At the same time, by opening a new export terminal at Jask and reducing its dependence on the Kharg terminal, Iran will likely seek to diversify its export outlets and decrease its dependence on the Strait of Hormuz. In theory, this would allow it to exert more leverage over foreign oil flowing out of the strait.

Finally, Iran is seeking new means of delivering oil to its traditional markets and expanding to new markets. For example, it could push for a reversal of the Caspian swap program—namely, instead of (or in addition to) refining Central Asian crude, it may try to convince Russia to buy highly discounted Iranian crude using existing infrastructure, which is being expanded. Tehran is also trying to increase its energy ties with Iraq, offering Baghdad numerous swap schemes.

Farzin Nadimi is an associate fellow with The Washington Institute, specializing in the security and defense affairs of Iran and the Gulf region.