أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 3164

حلفاء «حزب الله» اللبنانيون قابلون للاحتواء

حنين غدار

متاح أيضاً في English

13 آب/أغسطس 2019


في السابع من آب/أغسطس، أصدرت السفارة الأمريكية في بيروت بياناً دعت فيه لبنان إلى "الالتزام بمبادئ الإنصاف والشفافية في الإجراءات القضائية"، مشيرةً إلى أنه "ينبغي رفض أي محاولة لاستغلال حادثة 30 حزيران/ يونيو الأليمة التي وقعت في قبرشمون لخدمة أهداف سياسية". إن البيان بحد ذاته والحادثة التي يشير إليها - وهي عبارة عن اشتباك عنيف قُتل خلاله حارسان شخصيان لبنانيان - يسلطان الضوء على الأسلوب الذي يتبعه «حزب الله» وحلفائه السياسيين على نحو متزايد لتحويل التوترات الطائفية إلى نزاعات مسلحة ضد خصومهم. وحيث يزور رئيس الوزراء سعد الحريري واشنطن طوال هذا الأسبوع، ويقوم الدبلوماسيون الأمريكيون بتوجيه التحذيرات إلى بيروت، لا بدّ من إلقاء نظرة فاحصة على هذا التوجّه وعلى الخيارات المتاحة أمام واشنطن لتحجيمه.

حسابات باسيل

على الرغم من أن البيان الأمريكي لم يشر إلى أي قادة لبنانيين بأسمائهم، إلا أنه اعتُبر رسالة واضحة للرئيس ميشال عون ووزير الخارجية جبران باسيل. وباسيل هو صهر الرئيس عون ويأمل أن يخلفه في دورة الانتخابات الرئاسية المقبلة، حيث بدأ بالمناورة فعلاً تحقيقاً لهذا الطموح. ولكن باسيل أدرك منذ فترة طويلة أنه لن يتمكن من تحقيق هذا الحلم من دون مباركة «حزب الله» وإيران - وأن هذه الموافقة تستوجب منه أن يصبح الزعيم الماروني المفضّل لديهما، لأن الرئاسة في لبنان مخصصة تلقائياً لهذه الطائفة المسيحية.

ونجح باسيل حتى الآن في استيفاء هذا الشرط. وكوزير للخارجية، لم يَحِد قط بالسياسة الخارجية عن المسار الذي تريده إيران في لبنان، مثل دعم انخراط «حزب الله» في الحرب السورية وترديد موقف طهران بشأن الشؤون الدولية والسياسة الأمريكية في المنطقة. وفيما يتعلق بالسياسة الداخلية، تحالَف باسيل مع «حزب الله» خلال الانتخابات النيابية لعام 2018 ثم اتّبع بعد ذلك القيادة التشريعية للحزب.

ويحرص باسيل أيضاً على تعزيز مكانته السياسية ضد منافسه قائد الجيش اللبناني جوزف عون الذي ازدادت مسألة ترشيحه جديةً بعد زيارته الأخيرة لواشنطن. وحيث يدرك باسيل أن موقف إدارة ترامب ستبقى فاترة تجاهه في ضوء ارتباطه بـ «حزب الله»، قرر تركيز جهوده محلياً من خلال مهاجمة الشخصيات اللبنانية القادرة على إعاقة أهدافه. وقد أحبط تحذير السفارة الأمريكية مؤقتاً حملة الضغط التي يمارسها، لكنه لم ينجح في إضعاف باسيل. وهناك الكثير مما يجب القيام به لفضح تحالفه مع «حزب الله»، والحد من نفوذه في لبنان، وحماية الخصوم السياسيين لـ «حزب الله» في الداخل اللبناني. ولا يزال لدى الولايات المتحدة نفوذ كافٍ مع شخصيات لبنانية بارزة لتحقيق هذه الغايات، خاصة أثناء تواجد رئيس الوزراء سعد الحريري في واشنطن.

الولايات المتحدة تدعم جنبلاط

كان الهدف الرئيسي الذي صب عليه باسيل جام غضبه هو الزعيم الدرزي وليد جنبلاط، الذي تعرّض لهجوم سياسي وقانوني شرس لأكثر من شهر قبل صدور البيان الأمريكي. وفي الثلاثين من حزيران/يونيو، اشتبك أنصار جنبلاط مع خصومهم الدروز في قبرشمون، ولقي حارسان شخصيان يعملان لصالح وزير مدعوم من «حزب الله» كان يزور المنطقة حتفهما في ظل ظروف لا تزال قيد التحقيق. فسارع باسيل إلى استغلال هذه الفرصة، وشنّ حملة هادفة إلى توريط جنبلاط في مقتل الشابَّين واتهامه بمحاولة اغتيال الوزير.

وقد دعم «حزب الله» مساعي باسيل لأن إضعاف جنبلاط من شأنه أن يخدم مصالحه الخاصة بشكلٍ كبير فضلاً عن مصالح الديكتاتور السوري بشار الأسد. ففي مقابلة تلفزيونية مؤخراً اتهم زعيم «حزب الله» السيد حسن نصر الله جنبلاط وأطراف أخرى من منتقديه بالتآمر ضد ما يسمى بـ "محور المقاومة". وبالفعل كان جنبلاط من أشد المنتقدين للحزب وحليفه النظام السوري منذ عام 2005، وهو موقف التزم به عندما انضم «حزب الله» إلى الحرب في البلد المجاور. وفي شهر أيار/مايو الماضي، أثار جنبلاط غضب «حزب الله» بصورة أكثر حين أفاد أن منطقة مزارع شبعا المتنازع عليها هي أراضٍ سورية وليست لبنانية - في تناقض مباشر مع أحد أبرز الأسباب التي يبرر بها «حزب الله» احتفاظه بأسلحته. كما يُنظر إلى جنبلاط على نطاق واسع على أنه مناصر للاجئين السوريين، الذين يتطلع كل من نصر الله وباسيل إلى ترحيلهم.

وتشبه الحملة ضد جنبلاط المحاولات الإيرانية والسورية السابقة لوصف منتقديهم على أنهم خونة، مما يبرر اضطهادهم. وكادت هذه الاستراتيجية أن تنجح مجدداً. فعند وقوع حادثة 30 حزيران/يونيو، لم يكن باستطاعة الحكومة الاجتماع لمعالجة الأمر على الفور، ولكن باسيل كان سيرضى بإحالة القضية إلى المجلس العدلي الخاضع لسيطرة «حزب الله» وحلفائه. وربما كان «حزب الله» قادراً على استخدام نفوذه لإلصاق التهمة بجنبلاط وإدانته والحكم عليه، وربما تدميره سياسياً وشخصياً.

لكن البيان الحازم الذي صدر عن السفارة الأمريكية غيّر مجرى الأمور - فقد نقل "بعبارات واضحة للسلطات اللبنانية توقعاتنا بأنها ستتعامل مع هذا الأمر بطريقة تحقق العدالة دون تأجيج التوترات الطائفية أو المذهبية لدوافع سياسية". وتراجع عون وباسيل على الفور ووافقا على المصالحة مع حزب جنبلاط، دون أي ذكر آخر لـ "المجلس العدلي". وقد أفادت مصادر سياسية في بيروت أن واشنطن هددت أيضاً بفرض عقوبات على شخصيات في "التيار الوطني الحر" الذي يرأسه باسيل.

احتواء «حزب الله»

وضع البيان الأمريكي كلاًّ من باسيل وعون و«حزب الله» ومناصريه في موقف صعب بينما عزز مكانة جنبلاط كزعيم درزي وشخصية سياسية وطنية. ومن المفترض أن يسمع الحريري الرسالة الواضحة والحازمة نفسها في واشنطن هذا الأسبوع.

وفي النهاية، كان التوافق السياسي الذي حصل بين الحريري وباسيل هو ما أوصل عون إلى الرئاسة، وكلّف لبنان الدعم الدولي، وجرّه أكثر إلى محور النفوذ الإيراني. ومنذ ذلك الحين، توصل رئيس الوزراء مراراً وتكراراً إلى تسويات مع «حزب الله» ومناصريه، مبرراً بشكل غير مقنع أعماله الاسترضائية على أنها تهدف إلى ضمان أمن لبنان وتعزيز اقتصاده المنهك. وعلى الرغم من أن المجتمع السني عاقبه على هذا الموقف خلال الانتخابات النيابية في عام 2018، حيث خسر ثلث كتلته النيابية، إلا أن هذه الانتكاسة لم تدفعه حتى إلى إعادة النظر في تحالفاته - فهو لا يزال يؤمّن الغطاء المثالي لحكومة يسيطر «حزب الله» ووكلاؤه على أغلبيتها. ومع ذلك، إذا استمر جنبلاط في رفض التسوية مع الحزب، وإذا واصلت واشنطن دعمها لهذا الموقف، فقد يدرك الحريري أخيراً أن هناك خيارات أخرى، وأنه ليس مضطراً للتنازل عن لبنان لإيران.

لقد تم احتواء الحملة المناهضة لجنبلاط في الوقت الراهن، إلا أن التحقيق في حادثة 30 حزيران/يونيو أصبح الآن في أيدي المحاكم العسكرية حيث يتمتع «حزب الله» بنفوذ كافٍ للمماطلة وكسب الوقت واستئناف تهديداته ضد جنبلاط. لذلك، يجب على الولايات المتحدة استخدام مساعداتها للجيش اللبناني - حوالي 2.29 مليار دولار منذ عام 2005 - كوسيلة للضغط، لأن المحاكم العسكرية تابعة للجيش.

وفي غضون ذلك، لا يجدر السماح بعد الآن لـ "التيار الوطني الحر" وحلفاء آخرين لـ «حزب الله» بتنفيذ الأجندة الإيرانية في لبنان دون أي عواقب. فعندما يجتمع باسيل مع مسؤولين أمريكيين أو يزور واشنطن، غالباً ما يقلل من أهمية علاقته بـ «حزب الله» واصفاً إياها بتحالف مؤقت يهدف إلى تعزيز حظوظه الرئاسية، فيتفادى بذلك العقوبات الأمريكية. ولكن مسؤولي "التيار الوطني الحر" وإعلامه في لبنان ينددون باستمرار بالسياسة الأمريكية ويدافعون عن شرعية أسلحة «حزب الله».

ويقيناً، أنه حتى لو كان التهديد بالعقوبات يردع عون وباسيل عن التمادي في نفوذهما داخل لبنان، فقد لا يكون ذلك كافياً لفسخ تحالفهما مع «حزب الله». ومع ذلك، قد تكون الرسالة نفسها أكثر فعالية مع شخصيات مسيحية أخرى، بمن فيها تلك التابعة لتكتل عون السياسي ومجتمع الأعمال التابع له، الذين قد يعيدون النظر في دعم باسيل لمنصب الرئاسة. ويمكن أن تساعد العقوبات أيضاً في الحد من رضوخ الحريري لـ «حزب الله» وتدفعه إلى الابتعاد عن باسيل. والأهم من ذلك، يمكنهم التأثير على رجال الأعمال التابعين لـ «حركة أمل» والأحزاب الشيعية الأخرى، الذين يفكرون بالفعل في الخيارات الكفيلة بإبعادهم عن مجتمع الأعمال التابع لـ «حزب الله».

إذا طُبّقت العقوبات في إطار سياسة أمريكية شاملة تهدف إلى البحث عن سبل كفيلة بإعادة التوازن السياسي في لبنان، فقد تتزعزع عندئذٍ تحالفات «حزب الله» وقاعدة مساعداته المالية بالفعل. إن نقطة الانطلاق المثلى هي ممارسة المزيد من الضغط على الشراكة بين باسيل و«حزب الله»، وعدم التردد في فرض العقوبات عندما تفشل المحاولات الدبلوماسية.

 

حنين غدار هي زميلة زائرة في زمالة "فريدمان" في "برنامج غيدولد للسياسة العربية" في معهد واشنطن.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 3164

Hezbollah’s Lebanese Allies Can Be Contained

Hanin Ghaddar

Also available in العربية

August 13, 2019


The group’s local partners complied when U.S. officials warned them to back off a recent political smear campaign, but more should be done to expose and exploit their rifts.

On August 7, the U.S. embassy in Beirut released a statement calling for “fair and transparent judicial review” in Lebanon, noting that “any attempt to use the tragic June 30 event in [Qabrshmoun] to advance political objectives should be rejected.” Both the statement itself and the incident it referred to—a violent clash in which two Lebanese bodyguards were killed—highlight the manner in which Hezbollah and its political allies have been increasingly weaponizing sectarian tensions against their rivals. With Prime Minister Saad Hariri visiting Washington all this week and U.S. diplomats firing a shot across Beirut’s bow, a closer look at this trend and Washington’s options for stunting it is warranted.

BASSIL’S CALCULUS

Although the U.S. statement did not mention any Lebanese leaders by name, it was seen as a clear message to President Michel Aoun and Foreign Minister Gebran Bassil. Bassil is Aoun’s son-in-law and hopes to succeed him in the next presidential election cycle, maneuvering for which has already begun. Yet he has long understood that he cannot fulfill this dream without Hezbollah and Iran’s blessing—and that obtaining such approval will require him to become their favorite Maronite leader, since Lebanon’s presidency is automatically allotted to that Christian sect.

Bassil has been delivering on that prerequisite so far. As foreign minister, he has not diverted once from Iran’s foreign policy preferences in Lebanon, such as supporting Hezbollah’s involvement in the Syrian war and echoing Tehran’s stance on international affairs and U.S. policy in the region. On domestic policy, he allied with Hezbollah during the 2018 parliamentary elections and has subsequently followed the group’s legislative lead.

Bassil is also keen to boost his political strength against rival Joseph Aoun, the Lebanese Armed Forces (LAF) commander whose own candidacy became more serious following his recent visit to Washington. Knowing that the Trump administration will remain lukewarm toward him given his association with Hezbollah, Bassil decided to focus his efforts locally by going after Lebanese figures who could hamper his goals. The U.S. embassy warning has temporarily thwarted his pressure campaign, but he has not been weakened. More needs to be done to expose his alliance with Hezbollah, limit his sway in Lebanon, and protect Hezbollah’s local political rivals. The United States still has enough leverage with key Lebanese figures to do just that, especially while Prime Minister Hariri is in Washington.

THE UNITED STATES BACKS JUMBLATT

The main target of Bassil’s ire has been Druze leader Walid Jumblatt, who was subjected to a vicious political and legal assault for over a month leading up to the U.S. statement. On June 30, Jumblatt’s supporters clashed with rival Druze in Qabrshmoun, and two bodyguards working for a visiting Hezbollah-backed minister were killed under circumstances that are still under investigation. Bassil jumped at the opportunity, launching a targeted campaign to implicate Jumblatt in the deaths and accuse him of attempting to assassinate the minister.

Hezbollah supported Bassil’s effort because weakening Jumblatt would greatly serve its own interests and those of Syrian dictator Bashar al-Assad. In a recent television interview, Hezbollah leader Hassan Nasrallah accused Jumblatt and other critics of conspiring against the so-called “axis of resistance.” Indeed, Jumblatt has been a staunch critic of the group and its Syrian regime ally since 2005, a stance he maintained when Hezbollah joined the war next door. This May, Jumblatt further incensed the group by arguing that the disputed Shebaa Farms area was Syrian territory, not Lebanese—a direct contradiction to one of Hezbollah’s main justifications for keeping its weapons. Jumblatt is also widely seen as a champion of Syrian refugees, whom both Nasrallah and Bassil are eager to deport.

The campaign against Jumblatt resembled previous Iranian and Syrian attempts to brand their critics as traitors, thereby justifying their persecution. The strategy almost worked again. At the time of the June 30 incident, the government could not convene to address the matter immediately, but Bassil would have been satisfied with simply referring the case to the Judicial Council, a body controlled by Hezbollah and its allies. There, Hezbollah may have been able to use its influence to frame, convict, and sentence Jumblatt, perhaps destroying him politically and personally.

Yet the firm U.S. embassy statement turned things around—it conveyed “in clear terms to Lebanese authorities our expectation that they will handle this matter in a way that achieves justice without politically motivated inflammation of sectarian or communal tensions.” Aoun and Bassil immediately backed down and agreed to reconciliation with Jumblatt’s camp, without any further mention of the Judicial Council. Political sources in Beirut have said that Washington also threatened to issue sanctions against figures within Bassil’s party, the Free Patriotic Movement (FPM).

CONTAINING HEZBOLLAH

The U.S. statement has put Bassil, Aoun, and Hezbollah’s camp in a difficult position while strengthening Jumblatt’s posture as a Druze leader and a national political figure. Hariri should hear the same clear and firm message in Washington this week.

After all, it was Hariri’s political agreement with Bassil that brought Aoun to the presidency, cost Lebanon international support, and dragged it further under Iran’s influence. Since then, the prime minister has repeatedly compromised with Hezbollah’s camp, unconvincingly justifying his appeasement in the name of ensuring Lebanon’s security and boosting its ailing economy. Although the Sunni community punished him for this stance during the 2018 parliamentary elections, where he lost one-third of his parliamentary bloc, not even this setback has made him reconsider his alliances—he continues to work as the perfect cover for a government in which Hezbollah and its proxies hold majority control. Yet if Jumblatt keeps refusing to compromise with the group, and if Washington keeps backing this stance, Hariri may finally see that there are other options, and that he does not have to surrender Lebanon to Iran.

The anti-Jumblatt campaign has been contained for now, but the June 30 investigation is now in the hands of the military courts, where Hezbollah has enough influence to buy time and resume its threats against Jumblatt. To help ensure that the case is handled fairly and transparently, the United States should use its aid to the LAF—around $2.29 billion since 2005—as leverage, since the military courts are part of the army.

Meanwhile, the FPM and other Hezbollah allies should no longer be permitted to implement Iran’s agenda in Lebanon without consequences. When Bassil meets with U.S. officials or visits Washington, he often downplays his relationship with Hezbollah as a temporary alliance aimed at bettering his chances for the presidency, thereby avoiding U.S. sanctions. Back in Lebanon, however, FPM officials and media constantly denigrate U.S. policy and defend the legitimacy of Hezbollah’s weapons.

To be sure, even if the threat of sanctions stops Aoun and Bassil from overstretching their power in Lebanon, it may not be enough to break their alliance with Hezbollah. Yet the same message may be more effectual with other Christian figures, including Aoun’s political camp and business community, who might reconsider supporting Bassil’s bid for presidency. Sanctions could also help limit Hariri’s acquiescence to Hezbollah and push him away from Bassil. More important, they could sway businesspeople from Amal and other Shia parties, who are already considering options to distance themselves from Hezbollah’s business community.

If sanctions are implemented as part of a comprehensive U.S. policy aimed at exploring ways to restore political balance in Lebanon, then Hezbollah’s alliances and financial support base may truly be shaken. The best place to start is by exerting more pressure on Bassil’s partnership with Hezbollah, and not hesitating to levy sanctions when diplomatic attempts fall short.

Hanin Ghaddar is the Friedmann Visiting Fellow in The Washington Institute’s Geduld Program on Arab Politics.