Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

Special Events

2012 Scholar-Statesman Award Dinner

Dennis Ross and Elliott Abrams

Also available in

December 2012

Two long-serving U.S. troubleshooters in the Middle East -- Dennis Ross and Elliott Abrams -- received The Washington Institute's prestigious Scholar-Statesman Award before nearly 400 guests at a gala dinner on December 6, 2012, at the Waldorf-Astoria Hotel in New York.

Ross, who served as special Middle East negotiator to President Clinton and Iran policy advisor to President Obama, is currently the Institute's counselor. Abrams, deputy national security advisor in the George W. Bush administration, is a senior fellow at the Council on Foreign Relations. In an unscripted conversation with Dr. Satloff during the dinner, Abrams and Ross reflected on their careers in foreign policy and discussed current events in the Middle East, including Israeli-Palestinian developments, Iran's pursuit of nuclear weapons, and the challenge of Egypt under Islamist rule.

Read a transcript of their remarks (PDF).

The event also paid tribute to Richard and Lorraine Abramson, New York-area community leaders whose vision and dedication as trustees have strengthened the Institute's mission for twenty years.

About the Award

The Scholar-Statesman Award celebrates outstanding leaders who, through their public service and professional achievements, exemplify the idea that sound scholarship and a discerning knowledge of history are essential to wise and effective policy and the advancement of peace and security in the Middle East. Previous honorees include President Bill Clinton, British prime minister Tony Blair, Secretary of State Henry Kissinger, Secretary of State George P. Shultz, human rights activists Natan Sharansky and Saad Eddin Ibrahim, and eminent historian Bernard Lewis.

Related Video

Presentation of the 2012 Scholar-Statesman Awards

Announcement of the 2012 Book Prize Winners

Tribute to Lorraine and Richard Abramson