أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 3256

تركيز سياسة العراق على حقوق الإنسان والانتخابات العادلة

مايكل نايتس

متاح أيضاً في English فارسی

4 شباط/فبراير 2020


في 1 شباط/فبراير، منحت أكثرية الفصائل البرلمانية العراقية الرئيس برهم صالح الضوء الأخضر لترشيح محمد توفيق علّاوي كرئيس وزراء مكلّف جديد. وسيحاول هذا المرشّح الشيعي الإسلامي الهادئ الطباع تشكيل حكومته والمصادقة عليها في الثلاثين يوماً القادمة. وبينما يقوم بذلك، من المحتمل أن تلتفّ الكتل السياسية وراءه بينما تحدّ من ولايته لتقتصر على تنظيم انتخابات مبكرة في العام المقبل، بعد التخبّط في عملية طويلة وعنيدة لاستبدال رئيس الوزراء المستقيل عادل عبد المهدي. وللمرة الأولى منذ الأحداث المثيرة التي وقعت خلال الشهريْن الماضييْن، يستطيع واضعو السياسات العراقيون والأمريكيون على حدٍّ سواء التقاط أنفاسهم والنظر في خياراتهم على المدى المتوسط.

الانخراط مع رئيس الوزراء الجديد

في النهاية، تم اختيار علّاوي لأنه لم يكن ليثير على الأرجح معارضةً قويّةً من أي جانب، بما في ذلك من تيّار الزعيم الشيعي مقتدى الصدر، أو المسؤولين الإيرانيين، أو الفصائل السنّيّة، أو الأكراد، أو المعتدلين العراقيين، أو الغرب. ولم يكن بأي حال من الأحوال الرجل الذي تفضّله طهران - وقد فشلت "كتلة البناء" المدعومة من إيران في دفع مرشحيها الأربعة الأوائل. وتستمر الشائعات حول وصول علّاوي إلى خط النهاية من خلال الضغط الذي مارسه زعيم «حزب الله» اللبناني حسن نصر الله؛ إلا أن ذلك ربما لم ينسّقه علّاوي نفسه، بل "تحالف البناء"، الذي سعى مستميتاً إلى عرقلة ترشيح مصطفى الكاظمي، ناشط معتدل من المجتمع المدني يترأس حالياً "جهاز المخابرات الوطني العراقي". وبالنسبة لواشنطن، إذا كانت تشكّل النبرة الهادئة التي اتّسمت بها استجابة وزارة الخارجية الأمريكية لترشيح علّاوي أحد المؤشّرات، فإن الإدارة الأمريكية ستحكم عليه وفقاً لأعماله ورفاقه.

ومهما كانت وجهات نظر الحكومة الأمريكية، فهي بحاجة إلى التعامل بسرعة مع علّاوي - أي قبل المصادقة عليه كرئيس للوزراء، بينما يشكّل فريقه الانتقالي الصغير مجلس الوزراء ويقوم بالتحضيرات لتولّي المنصب. ومن المؤكّد أنّ رعاته السياسيين والدينيين يوجهونه بالفعل بعيداً عن القرارات السياسية الرئيسية حول أي قضايا غير الإعداد للانتخابات. فعلى سبيل المثال، في 31 كانون الثاني/يناير، في اليوم الذي سبق ترشيح علّاوي، أوضح آية الله العظمى علي السيستاني أن إعادة التفاوض بشأن تواجد قوات عسكرية أجنبية يجب أن تُترك للحكومة القادمة، بعد إجراء انتخابات جديدة. ومع ذلك، سيستلم علّاوي السلطة عند تقاطعٍ زمنيٍّ حرج، بتهيئته الظروف لإجراء انتخابات حرة ونزيهة، وترؤسه حكومةً مؤقّتةً لن تستمر حتى موعد إجراء الانتخابات (من المحتمل في عام 2021)، ولكن إلى حين تعيين رئيس وزراء جديد بعد بضعة أشهرٍ من ذلك. (وقد يكون علاوي نفسه إذا فاز بالدعم الكافي). لذا سيبقى في المشهد للعامين المقبلين على الأقل، وربما لفترة أطول.

على واشنطن أن تكون واضحة جدّاً مع علّاوي بشأن توقعاتها وخطوطها الحمراء في المرحلة المقبلة، مع إعطائه جميع المعلومات التي يحتاجها للاضطلاع بدوره المحلّي مع مراعاة وجهات نظر أحد الشركاء الأساسيين في التعاون الاقتصادي والأمني. وبشكلٍ عام، تتماشى توقعات الولايات المتحدة مع توقعات الشعب العراقي، خاصة فيما يتعلق بالقضايا التالية:

  • حماية المواطنين العراقيين. وفقاً لـ"المفوضية العليا لحقوق الإنسان-العراق"، أشرفت حكومة رئيس الوزراء عبد المهدي على حملات القمع التي قامت فيها الميليشيات الخاضعة رسميّاً للعقوبات بقتل 536 محتجّاً وجرح 23,545 آخرين. ينبغي على واشنطن أن تضغط بقوة على علّاوي لمنع أي استخدام مستقبلي للنيران الحيّة، أو رصاص مكافحة الشغب، أو عبوات الغاز ضد المحتجّين (حتى أن هذه الأخيرة غالباً ما تستخدم بطريقة مميتة في العراق). بالإضافة إلى ذلك، على الرئيس ترامب ووزير الخارجية الأمريكي مايك بومبيو ومسؤولين آخرين أن يذْكروا بصورة روتينية وعلنية محنة المحتجين العراقيين بالطريقة الصلبة نفسها التي طالبوا بها لحماية المحتجّين الإيرانيين. كما يجب على الإدارة الأمريكية أن تشيد بقدرتهم على الصمود وشجاعتهم - فهم يقومون بذلك فعلاً مع المتظاهرين الإيرانيين، مما يخلق تناقضاً صارخاً وملحوظاً مع العراق.
  • حماية مؤسسات الدولة. استخدمت الميليشيات فترة ولاية عبد المهدي للإسراع في تثبيت المسؤولين الفاسدين في مكتب رئيس الوزراء، والوزارات المتنوعة، وقوات الأمن، والقطاعات الاستراتيجية مثل البنوك والموانئ والجمارك والطيران المدني. وهناك علامات على أن علّاوي يخضع أصلاً لضغوط لإحضار مسؤولين فاسدين إلى مكتبه. وبناءً على ذلك، تحتاج واشنطن إلى إعلامه بأنها تراقب عن كثب وأنّ بحوزتها مجموعة من العقوبات المستهدفة المتاحة للاستخدام الفوري ضد كبار المسؤولين الفاسدين ومنتهكي حقوق الإنسان الذين يواصلون العمل ضمن نظامه. والهدفان الأكثر وضوحاً هما مستشار عبد المهدي للأمن الوطني فالح الفيّاض ومدير مكتب عبد المهدي أبو جهاد (اسمه الحقيقي محمد الهاشمي)، وكلاهما لعب دوراً رئيسياً في تنظيم قتل المحتجّين، وغيرها من الانتهاكات. يجب على الحكومة الأمريكية أن تعاقب أيضاً على الفور أي خطوات عراقية أخرى للتخلص من التكنوقراطيين، من بينهم أولئك المتواجدين في المؤسسات الأمنية مثل "جهاز المخابرات الوطني".
  • حماية الحقوق الديمقراطية. دعا كلٌّ من منظّمة "الأمم المتحدة" و"الاتّحاد الأوروبي" إلى إجراء انتخابات مبكرة، وإذا استطاع علّاوي تجنب القضايا التي ابتليت بها انتخابات عام 2018 التي تمت إدانتها على نطاق واسع، والإشراف على انتخابات حرّة ونزيهة في العام المقبل، فلدى العراق فرصة للإقلاع مجدداً كدولة ديمقراطية. وتشير جميع الدلائل إلى أنه يتمتّع فعلاً بالسلطة والمسؤولية لضمان عدم فساد العملية، وحماية المرشحين والمجتمع المدني في الفترة ما قبل الانتخابات، ودعم الرقابة الدولية المكثّفة على عملية التصويت.
  • حماية الأفراد الأمريكيين. يجب على وزير الخارجية الأمريكي بومبيو أن يخبر علّاوي مباشرةً أنّ أي هجمات على الأفراد الأمريكيين ستؤدي إلى انتقام مؤلم ضدّ الميليشيات العراقية وكذلك ضدّ أهدافٍ إيرانيةٍ داخل العراق وخارجه. كما يجب أن يكون على دراية بصورة شخصية بالمدى المحتمل لنطاق أهداف القيادة العليا التي قد يتم ضربها، والأزمة العميقة التي قد يجلبها ذلك على حكومته.

الاعتراف بالشركاء وردع الأعداء

في الآونة الأخيرة، في أيلول/سبتمبر الماضي، بدت الولايات المتحدة منعزلةً في هدفها المتمثل في السعي إلى تحقيق السيادة والاستقرار والديمقراطية في العراق. واليوم، في أعقاب الاحتجاجات التي استمرت عدة أشهر وازدياد المقاومة السياسية في وجه الميليشيات المدعومة من إيران، يجب على واشنطن أن تشعر بالاطمئنان من أن القوى القوية داخل العراق تسعى ناشطةً إلى تحقيق الهدف نفسه. وأظهر المحتجّون وحركات المجتمع المدني والفصائل الكرديّة، بالإضافة إلى الرئيس برهم صالح ورئيس مجلس النواب محمد الحلبوسي والعديد من النوّاب السنّة، العزم والشجاعة في التصدي للترهيب الميليشياوي.

وبالإضافة إلى الإشادة بهؤلاء العراقيين الذين يضعون العراق أولاً، يجب على الحكومة الأمريكية منحهم آلية دعمٍ منظّمة بشكلٍ أفضل، مع التواصل أيضاً في الوقت نفسه مع الجيل القادم من القادة والجهات الفاعلة السياسية والاجتماعية الأقل شهرةً. يجب إنشاء برنامج كبير لـ "المسار الثاني" لمساعدة المعتدلين على تنظيم أنفسهم، ونشر رسالتهم، والبقاء على دراية بالتهديدات الجسدية قبل الانتخابات التالية.

علاوةً على ذلك، يشعر الكثير من العراقيين المعتدلين بأنه يتعين على واشنطن الاستمرار في الضغط على العناصر المدمّرة مثل «كتائب حزب الله»، «عصائب أهل الحق»، «منظمة بدر»، وفالح الفياض. فإذا رأت هذه الجهات أنّ هذا الضغط يُرفَع، ستعود للانتقام، فلا تقتل المحتجّين والأمريكيين فحسب، بل الجهات الفاعلة السياسية العراقية الجديدة أيضاً التي تبرز في الفترة التي تسبق الانتخابات. ولتفادي هذه النتيجة، على الولايات المتحدة تحديد نسبة استجابة تثير ضرباتٍ أمريكية شبه مميتة أو قاتلة (معترف بها أو غير معترف بها) على قادة الميليشيات العراقية. (يجب أن تكون تفاصيل هذه النسبة معروفة فقط للحكومة الأمريكية. وقد استُخدم هذا النوع من النظام لمراقبة الردود على مضايقات صدام حسين المستمرة لدوريات منطقة حظر الطيران في التسعينيات). وبالنسبة إلى الساعين إلى تحقيق السلام والسلامة للأمريكيين والعراقيين، من المهم ردع الهجمات الصاروخية الخطرة على القواعد الأمريكية، التي ستقتل في النهاية المزيد من الأمريكيين، حتى لو كان ذلك "عن طريق الخطأ".

وفي الوقت نفسه، على واشنطن التنسيق مع بريطانيا و"الاتحاد الأوروبي" بشأن برنامج عقوبات شامل وغير محدود يسرّع استهداف القادة العراقيين الفاسدين ومنتهكي حقوق الإنسان. يجب أن يعتمد الترتيب الذي سيتّبعه استهداف الأفراد على أعمالهم الخاصة، فيقتربون من رأس اللائحة كلّما ازدادت سلبية سلوكهم. ينبغي على الولايات المتحدة أن تسحب أيضاً دعم التعاون الأمني من وزارة الداخلية إلى حين تعيين وزيرٍ جديدٍ يتخلّص من منتهكي حقوق الإنسان - وهي خطوة أصبحت ضرورية بسبب تورّط قوات الوزارة بشكلٍ صارخ في قمع المتظاهرين. وأخيراً، على واشنطن النظر في معاقبة الأفراد داخل «منظمة بدر» بدلاً من المنظمة بأكملها، لزيادة الانقسام في هذه الحركة التي تعاني أصلاً من الانشقاقات.

القيمة الإستراتيجية لنهج قائم على حقوق الإنسان

لم يعُد المسؤولون الأمريكيون بحاجة إلى إعلاء الصوت لإعلان نفوذ طهران الخبيث في العراق: فالجميع في البلاد يفهمون الآن ذلك، ولهذا السبب حاول المحتجّون إحراق السفارة والقنصلية الإيرانيتيْن وليس الأمريكيتيْن. والشعب العراقي هو أفضل حليف لأمريكا في المناطق الخاضعة لسيطرة بغداد، لذلك على واشنطن المساعدة في حماية ثورته البطيئة الاشتعال ضد قوات الاحتلال الوكيلة لإيران.

إن أفضل طريقة للقيام بذلك هي من خلال إعادة تركيز السياسات الأمريكية على حقوق الإنسان وجهود مكافحة الفساد. وفيما يتعلق بهذه القضايا، تسير الولايات المتحدة على خطى الجيل القادم من العراقيين، والمؤسسة الدينية، والمجتمع الدولي. وبإمكان أي إدارة أمريكية دعم هذه المبادئ وهذا ما عليها فعله. ويبذل «الحرس الثوري الإسلامي» الإيراني و «حزب الله» اللبناني كل ما في وسعهما للدفاع عن النخبة السياسية الفاسدة في العراق ومنع تلبية مطالب الناس، لذلك ينبغي على واشنطن استغلال هذا الخطأ المميت المحتمل من جانب طهران.

 

مايكل نايتس هو زميل أقدم في معهد واشنطن. ومنذ عام 2003، أجرى أبحاثاً مكثفة على الأرض في العراق إلى جانب قوات الأمن والوزارات الحكومية.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 3256

Centering Iraq Policy on Human Rights and Fair Elections

Michael Knights

Also available in العربية فارسی

February 4, 2020


The surest way to counter Iran’s malign influence is to proactively focus on human rights issues that the new prime minister can actually affect, such as organizing free elections and preventing further violence against protestors.

On February 1, a plurality of Iraqi parliamentary factions gave President Barham Salih the go-ahead to nominate Mohammed Tawfiq Allawi as the new prime minister-designate. The mild-mannered Shia Islamist nominee will now attempt to form and ratify his cabinet in the next thirty days. As he does so, political blocs will probably rally behind him while limiting his mandate to organizing early elections next year, having struggled through a long and fractious process to replace resigned prime minister Adil Abdulmahdi. For the first time since the dramatic events of the past two months, Iraqis and U.S. policymakers alike can catch their breath and consider their medium-term options.

ENGAGING THE NEW PREMIER

In the end, Allawi was chosen because he was unlikely to spur strong opposition from any corner, including Shia leader Muqtada al-Sadr’s movement, Iranian officials, Sunni factions, the Kurds, Iraqi moderates, or the West. He was by no means Tehran’s preference—the Iran-backed Bina bloc failed to push their first four candidates through. Rumors persist that Allawi was helped over the finish line by lobbying from Lebanese Hezbollah leader Hassan Nasrallah; however, this was probably orchestrated not by Allawi himself, but by Bina, which desperately sought to block the nomination of Mustafa al-Kadhimi, a moderate civil-society activist who currently heads the Iraqi National Intelligence Service. As for Washington, if the cool tone of the State Department response to Allawi’s nomination is any indicator, the administration will judge him by his actions and the company he keeps.

Whatever its views, the U.S. government does need to engage Allawi quickly—before his ratification, as his small transition team shapes the cabinet and prepares for office. To be sure, his political and religious sponsors are already steering him away from major policy decisions on any matters besides setting up elections. For instance, on January 31, the day before Allawi’s nomination, Grand Ayatollah Ali al-Sistani made clear that renegotiating the presence of foreign military forces should be left to the next government, after new elections. Nevertheless, Allawi will be in power at a critical juncture, setting the conditions for a free and fair vote and heading an interim government that will last not only until elections (likely in 2021), but until a new prime minister is appointed some months afterward (which may be Allawi himself if he wins sufficient support). He will thus be in the picture for the next two years at minimum, and perhaps much longer.

Washington should be very clear with Allawi about its expectations and redlines in the coming period, giving him all the information he needs to fulfill his domestic role while taking into account the views of a major economic and security cooperation partner. In general, U.S. expectations align with those of the Iraqi people, especially on the following issues:

  • Protecting Iraqi citizens. According to the Iraqi High Commission for Human Rights, Prime Minister Abdulmahdi’s government oversaw crackdowns in which officially sanctioned militias killed 536 protestors and injured 23,545. Washington should strongly press Allawi to prevent any future use of live fire, riot bullets, or gas canisters against protestors (even the latter items are often used in deadly fashion in Iraq). In addition, President Trump, Secretary of State Mike Pompeo, and other officials should routinely and publicly mention the plight of Iraqi protestors in the same robust manner they have called for the protection of Iranian protestors. The administration should also praise their resilience and bravery—they already do so with Iran’s demonstrators, creating a contrast with Iraq that is stark and noticeable.
  • Protecting state institutions. Militias used Abdulmahdi’s tenure to accelerate the installation of corrupt officials in the prime minister’s office, assorted ministries, the security forces, and strategic sectors such as banking, ports, customs, and civil aviation. There are signs that Allawi is already being pressured to bring corrupt officials into his office. Accordingly, Washington needs to let him know that it is watching very closely and has a raft of targeted sanctions available for imminent use against corrupt senior officials and human rights abusers who continue to operate within the system. The most obvious such targets are Abdulmahdi’s national security advisor Faleh al-Fayyad and chief of staff Abu Jihad (birth name Mohammed al-Hashemi), both of whom played paramount roles in organizing the killing of protestors, among other violations. The U.S. government should also immediately punish any further Iraqi moves to purge technocrats, including at security institutions such as the National Intelligence Service.
  • Protecting democratic rights. The UN and European Union have both called for early elections, and if Allawi is able to avoid the issues that plagued the broadly condemned 2018 ballot and oversee a free and fair vote next year, then Iraq has a chance to reboot as a democracy. All indications are that he does indeed have the authority and responsibility to ensure that the process is not corrupted, to protect candidates and civil society in the lead-up to election day, and to support intense international observation of the vote.
  • Protecting U.S. personnel. Secretary of State Pompeo should tell Allawi directly that any attacks on U.S. personnel will trigger painful retaliation against Iraqi militias as well as Iranian targets inside Iraq and beyond. He should also be privately made aware of the potential breadth of senior leadership targets that might be struck, and the deep crisis this would bring on his government.

RECOGNIZING PARTNERS, DETERRING ENEMIES

As recently as last September, the United States seemed isolated in its goal of seeking a sovereign, stable, and democratic Iraq. Today, in the aftermath of months-long protests and the blooming of political resistance to Iran-backed militias, Washington should feel reassured that powerful forces inside Iraq are actively seeking the same goal. Protestors, civil society movements, and Kurdish factions, along with President Salih, Speaker of Parliament Mohammed al-Halbousi, and many Sunni legislators, have shown determination and bravery in standing up to militia intimidation.

In addition to praising these Iraqis who put Iraq first, the U.S. government should give them a better-structured support mechanism, while also reaching out to the next generation of leaders and to less well-known political and social actors. A sizable Track II program should be established to help moderates get organized, spread their message, and stay aware of physical threats before the next election.

Moreover, many moderate Iraqis feel that Washington should keep up the pressure on destructive actors such as Kataib Hezbollah, Asaib Ahl al-Haq, the Badr Organization, and Faleh al-Fayyad. If these actors see that pressure is lifting, they will come back with a vengeance, killing not only protestors and Americans, but also new Iraqi political actors who emerge in the lead-up to elections. To prevent this outcome, the United States should establish a response ratio that triggers near-miss or lethal U.S. strikes (acknowledged or unacknowledged) on Iraqi militia leaders. (The details of this ratio should be known only to the U.S. government. This kind of system was used to weight responses to Saddam Hussein’s constant harassment of U.S. no-fly zone patrols in the 1990s.) For those seeking peace and safety for Americans and Iraqis, it is important to deter risky rocket attacks on U.S. bases, which will eventually kill further Americans, even if by “accident.”

At the same time, Washington should coordinate with Britain and the EU on an extensive, open-ended sanctions program that accelerates the targeting of corrupt Iraqi leaders and human rights violators. The order in which individuals are targeted should depend on their actions, with more negative behavior moving them up the queue. The United States should also withdraw security cooperation support from the Interior Ministry until a new minister is installed and removes human rights violators—a step made necessary due to the blatant involvement of ministry forces in repressing protestors. Finally, Washington should consider sanctioning individuals within Badr rather than the entire organization, to better splinter the already fractured movement.

STRATEGIC VALUE OF A HUMAN RIGHTS-BASED APPROACH

U.S. officials do not need to trumpet Tehran’s malign influence in Iraq anymore: everyone in the country now understands this, which is why protestors have tried to burn down Iran’s embassy and consulate rather than America’s. The Iraqi people are America’s best ally in the areas under Baghdad’s control, so Washington should help to protect their slow-burning revolt against Iran’s proxy occupation forces.

The best way to do so is by refocusing U.S. policy on human rights and anti-corruption efforts. On these issues, the United States is in lockstep with the next generation of Iraqis, the religious establishment, and the international community. Any U.S. administration can and should get behind these principles. Iran’s Islamic Revolutionary Guard Corps and Lebanese Hezbollah are doing everything they can to defend Iraq’s corrupt political elite from fulfilling the people’s demands, so Washington should exploit this potentially fatal error on Tehran’s part.

Michael Knights is a senior fellow with The Washington Institute. Since 2003, he has conducted extensive on-the-ground research in Iraq alongside security forces and government ministries.