أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 3056

مع استعداد واشنطن للانسحاب من سوريا، تتهيأ تركيا للغزو

دانا سترول و سونر چاغاپتاي

متاح أيضاً في English

19 كانون الأول/ديسمبر 2018


في 19 كانون الأول/ديسمبر، ذكرت مصادر إعلامية متعددة أن واشنطن تستعد للانسحاب الوشيك لجميع القوات الأمريكية من شرق سوريا. وجاءت التقارير بعد تصريحات أدلى بها الرئيس رجب طيب أردوغان قبل يومين من كتابة هذه السطور، حيث أشار إلى "الرد الإيجابي" للبيت الأبيض على الحملة العسكرية التي تخطط لها تركيا عبر الحدود. وتم الإعلان عن هذه الحملة للمرة الأولى في 12 كانون الأول/ديسمبر، بهدف "تطهير شرق الفرات من الإرهابيين الانفصاليين في غضون أيام قليلة" - وهي الكنية التي يطلقها أردوغان على «حزب الاتحاد الديمقراطي» - الجماعة الكردية السورية التي تشكل عناصرها نواة القوات المدعومة من الولايات المتحدة والتي تقاتل تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» («داعش»). وخلال اتصالهما الهاتفي، اتفق ترامب وأردوغان في 14 كانون الأول/ديسمبر "على مواصلة التنسيق لتحقيق أهدافنا الأمنية في سوريا"، على الرغم من أن العديد من المسؤولين الأمريكيين سارعوا إلى [القيام باتصالات] من أجل تجنب التوغل التركي، وفقاً لبعض التقارير.

وفي الوقت نفسه، أدّى نبأ الانسحاب المقرر للولايات المتحدة إلى إطلاق أجراس الإنذار في واشنطن والشرق الأوسط وأوروبا. ونظراً للمشاكل الاستراتيجية العديدة التي يمكن أن تثيرها عملية الانسحاب السريع وواقع عدم اكتمال المهمة الأمريكية، يجب على البيت الأبيض إعادة النظر في قراره ومواصلة العمل نحو تحقيق أهدافه المحددة سلفاً في سوريا.

لماذا الان؟

[يُعتبر] «حزب الاتحاد الديمقراطي» فرعاً من «حزب العمال الكردستاني» التركي - جماعة مصنفة كحركة إرهابية تحارب الحكومة التركية منذ عقود. وجاء إعلان أنقرة عن تنفيذ عمليات وشيكة ضد ميليشيا «حزب الاتحاد الديمقراطي»، أي «وحدات حماية الشعب»، في أعقاب التعليقات الأخيرة لرئيس هيئة الأركان المشتركة الأمريكية الجنرال جوزيف دانفورد، الذي ذكر في 6 كانون الأول/ديسمبر أن الولايات المتحدة ستسعى للقيام بمبادرتين رئيسيتين، هما: تدريب 40 ألف مقاتل محلي لتولي مسؤولية الأمن في المناطق التي تم تطهيرها من وحدات تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية»، وبناء مراكز مراقبة عسكرية أمريكية على طول الحدود السورية - التركية. غير أن هاتين المبادرتين لم تحظيا بالترحيب من قبل أنقرة، التي اعتبرتهما دليلاً على أن واشنطن لا تستجيب للمخاوف الأمنية لتركيا.

إلا أن هناك مصالح كبيرة للولايات المتحدة في مواصلة دعم هذه القوى المحلية. فمنذ أن استولى تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» على أكثر من نصف سوريا في عام 2014، ركز نهج الولايات المتحدة الهادف إلى إضعاف الجماعة الإرهابية على إطلاق غارات جوية مستهدفة في حين أخذت «قوات سوريا الديمقراطية» بقيادة الأكراد على عاتقها القتال على الأرض. ويشكل مقاتلو «وحدات حماية الشعب» غالبية «قوات سوريا الديمقراطية» وهم أكثر الشركاء العسكريين الأمريكيين قدرة في سوريا. ولطالما أثار قرار الولايات المتحدة بدعم «وحدات حماية الشعب» وتدريبها وتجهيزها غضب تركيا، لا سيّما عندما بدأت هذه الجماعة في إقامة حزام سيطرة خاص بها في المناطق الحدودية المحررة من تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية». وعندما جدد «حزب العمال الكردستاني» هجماته في تركيا في عام 2015، قامت أنقرة بغزو أجزاء من سوريا لتفكيك المناطق الخاضعة لسيطرة «وحدات حماية الشعب»، وعرقلة الملاذ الآمن المتصوّر لـ «حزب العمال الكردستاني» هناك.

ومن أجل حماية أولويتها المتمثلة في إلحاق الهزيمة بتنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» بالكامل مع تهدئة مخاوف الأمن التركية، قامت الولايات المتحدة بتعزيز "نموذج منبج" في الأشهر الأخيرة. ويتوخى النموذج نقل إدارة المناطق التي تحكمها «وحدات حماية الشعب» غرب الفرات إلى سكان محليين آخرين (خاصة العرب والأكراد غير المنتمين إلى «وحدات حماية الشعب») بينما يتم إقامة دوريات عسكرية مشتركة بين الولايات المتحدة وتركيا في المنطقة. وقد أمل المسؤولون الأمريكيون أن تكون هذه المقاربة بمثابة آلية تهدف إلى بناء الثقة من أجل منع العمليات التركية شرق نهر الفرات، الأمر الذي من شأنه أن يهدد القوات الأمريكية و«قوات سوريا الديمقراطية»، فضلاً عن زخم الحملة غير المكتملة ضد فلول تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية». ومع ذلك، فشلت الآلية حتى الآن في استرضاء أنقرة، مما دفع هذه الأخيرة إلى إصدار تحذير أخير حول تدخلها المباشر في الشرق.

ما هو على المحك؟

سيكون من الخطأ أن تنسحب أمريكا من سوريا بشكل متسارع: فتنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» لم يُهزم على نحو مستدام، وإيران ووكلاؤها ما زالوا نشطين في سوريا، كما أن [إطلاق] عملية سياسية لإنهاء الحرب لم تترسّخ بعد. وإذا كانت الإدارة الأمريكية تسعى حقاً إلى تحقيق أهدافها المعلنة هناك، فعليها أن تبادر فوراً إلى تنفيذ مسار بديل لإجراءاتها المتخذة، وإلاّ، فإنها لا تخاطر فقط بتعريض مصلحة الولايات المتحدة على المدى القريب فيما يتعلق بإحلال الاستقرار في جزء رئيسي من الشرق الأوسط، بل تلحق الضرر أيضاً بسمعة أمريكا على المدى الطويل. وعلى وجه التحديد، فإن الخروج أو الدخول المحتمل للقوات الأمريكية والتركية من شرق سوريا وإليها على التوالي سيؤثر على المصالح الرئيسية التالية:

  • حماية القوات الأمريكية. إذا بدأت تركيا عملياتها قبل الانسحاب الأمريكي المقترح، فستكون القوات الأمريكية البالغ عددها 2000 جندي في المنطقة مباشرة في خط النار - ولا سيما تلك المشارِكة مع «قوات سوريا الديمقراطية» أو التي تدير عدداً محدوداً من مراكز مراقبة الحدود الأمريكية الحالية. وقد أشارت أنقرة إلى رغبتها في تنسيق عملياتها مع واشنطن، لكنّ الخطر سيبقى جدّياً بالنظر إلى وقائع القتال. وقد سبق وأن حذّر مسؤولون في البنتاغون من أنّ إجراءاً تركياً أحادي الجانب قد يشكّل خطراً "غير مقبول" على القوات الأمريكية.
  • هزيمة تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية». يبقى تنظيم «داعش» الأولوية القصوى للولايات المتحدة في سوريا، كما صرّح الرئيس ترامب ومسؤولون آخرون في الإدارة الأمريكية مراراً وتكراراً، ولكنّ المهمة غير مكتملة وقد تفشل كلياً إذا تم تنفيذ الخطط المعلنة حديثاً. وقد يؤدّي توغّل تركي إلى إرغام العديد من مقاتلي «وحدات حماية الشعب» على تحويل جهودهم بعيداً عن القتال ضد تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية»، الأمر الذي قد يعرّض مسار التقدّم الأخير [ضد التنظيم] لخطر الانتكاس. وإذا لم تتواجد القوات الأمريكية للحفاظ على تركيز «قوات سوريا الديمقراطية» على إنهاء القتال، فسيتم بشكل فعال إسناد عملية مكافحة الإرهاب في شرق سوريا إلى تركيا وشركائها المحليين، أو حتى إلى نظام الأسد ومناصريه. وسيضمن خيار الأسد دعم العرب السنة المتجدد للجماعات المتطرفة العنيفة، والذي يُحتمل أن يؤدّي إلى نسخة جديدة من تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية». ومع ذلك، فإنّ استمرار سيطرة «وحدات حماية الشعب» في الشرق ليس مستداماً أيضاً، لأنّ السوابق الأيديولوجية اليسارية لهذه الجماعة والهوية القومية الكردية غير مقبولة للعرب السنة المحافظين الذين يشكلون غالبية السكان في الشرق. وبالتالي، فقد يكون توسيع نموذج منبج للسيطرة المحلية والدوريات الأمريكية -التركية الوسيلة الوحيدة لحرية التحرك بين هذين الخيارين السيئين.
  • إنهاء الحرب. تملك الأطراف حالياً فرصة ضئيلة للمضي قدماً في عملية سياسية تنهي الحرب، وتفسخ التحالف بين الأسد وإيران، وتضع حدّاً لوحشية النظام ضد الشعب السوري، كما أكّد ذلك المبعوث الأمريكي لسوريا جيمس ف. جيفري في 17 كانون الأول/ديسمبر. وتتطلب عملية الإصلاح الدستوري التي أقرّها جيفري والأمم المتحدة تركيز جميع أصحاب المصلحة الخارجيين على جهد دبلوماسي فريد، ولكنّ التوغل التركي قد يعيق الاتجاه نحو طاولة المفاوضات، ويمنح الأسد وروسيا وإيران مبرّرات لرفض المحادثات التي تهدف إلى إنهاء الحكم الاستبدادي للأسد بمرور الوقت.
  • إصلاح العلاقة بين الولايات المتحدة وتركيا. أدّى تحرير القس بيتر أندرو برونسون في تشرين الأول/أكتوبر إلى منح إدارة ترامب فرصة أخرى لتخفيف حدّة التوتر في العلاقات الثنائية المشحونة في كثير من الأحيان. وتشمل نقاط التوتّر الأخيرة شراء أنقرة لأنظمة الدفاع الجوي الصاروخية الروسية المضادة للطائرات من طراز "إس-400"، والتي إذا ما استُكملت، ستؤدي إلى فرض عقوبات من قبل الولايات المتحدة وتهدّد مكانة البلاد في برنامج "إف-35"، وربما حتى  في "حلف شمال الأطلسي". وقد تسبّب احتجاز تركيا المستمرّ لموظفي السفارة الأمريكية من الأمريكيين والأتراك في وقوع احتكاك كبير أيضاً. ومن المحتمل أن تؤدي العمليات التركية المحتملة في شرق سوريا إلى تفاقم هذه التوتّرات.

سيناريو الانسحاب السريع

بدلاً من المخاطرة بالتقاتل بين حلفاء "الناتو"، يبدو أنّ واشنطن تستعد لانسحاب فوري وشامل. وفي هذا السيناريو، سيتم تقويض المهمة الرئيسية للولايات المتحدة المتمثلة في دحر تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية»، وهو الأمر بالنسبة للفائدة الثانوية الكامنة في منع تحرك إيران ووكلائها في شرق سوريا.

وبعبارة أخرى، يجب على البيت الأبيض أن يفهم أن عنصراً رئيسياً في سياسته تجاه إيران معرّضاً للخطر هنا: وتحديداً، الجهد المبذول لمنع إيران من ترسيخ نفسها في سوريا، وإقامة جسر بري إلى لبنان، والتهديد المباشر لإسرائيل. وعلى هامش اجتماع الجمعية العامة للأمم المتحدة في أيلول/سبتمبر، صرّح مستشار الأمن القومي الأمريكي جون بولتون أن القوات الأمريكية ستبقى في سوريا إلى أن تغادر إيران وعملائها. وسيتعارض الانسحاب [المزمع] حالياً بصورة مباشرة مع هذا التعهد.

توصيات في مجال السياسة العامة

يجب على المسؤولين الأمريكيين أن يشرعوا في تنفيذ خطة عمل جديدة لشرق سوريا، متجنبين الانسحاب المتسرع مع استخدام جميع عناصر أدوات الأمن القومي لإقناع تركيا بوجود خيارات أخرى إلى جانب الغزو الأحادي الجانب:

  • مواصلة دعم نموذج منبج. يجب على الجيش الأمريكي تسريع نقل المسؤولية في منبج من «وحدات حماية الشعب» إلى السكان المحليين، ثم البدء في التخطيط المشترك مع تركيا لتنفيذ هذه الآلية نفسها شرق الفرات، مع الأخذ بعين الاعتبار الدروس المستفادة من الدوريات المشتركة في غرب سوريا. ومن شأن هذا التخطيط أن يبطئ الزخم نحو التصرف التركي الأحادي الجانب والانسحاب الأمريكي السريع. ومن المرجح أن يرحّب المسؤولون الأتراك بهذه المقاربة، حيث أن «حزب العدالة والتنمية» الذي يتزعمه أردوغان يواجه منافسة شديدة في الانتخابات المحلية التي ستجري في 31 آذار/مارس. وبحكم الأمر الواقع يتنافس الحزب في تحالف مع فصيل قومي تركي متشدد، لذا فإن تحقيق تقدم على المدى القريب بشأن القضية الكردية هو أمر بالغ الأهمية. وحتى لو لم يؤد تصدير نموذج منبج إلى الشرق إلى قيام «وحدات حماية الشعب» بعمليات انسحاب فورية، فمن المحتمل أن يكون كافياً لأردوغان لكي يحوّل هذه الواقعة إلى نصر ضد الحليف السوري لـ «حزب العمال الكردستاني»، مما يعزز الفرص الانتخابية لائتلافه.
  • التحدث إلى تركيا بشأن مستقبل الأكراد السوريين. صرّح السفير جيفري بأنّ سياسة الولايات المتحدة لا تتوخى إقامة شراكة مع جهات غير حكومية على المدى الطويل - في إشارة واضحة لأنقرة بأنّ شراكة واشنطن الوثيقة مع «وحدات حماية الشعب» هي مؤقتة. لقد حان الوقت الآن لأن يبدأ المسؤولون الأمريكيون حواراً منظّماً وموضوعياً مع تركيا حول وضع نهائي مقبول للطائفة الكردية السورية داخل الدولة السورية.
  • كسب الوقت للعملية السياسية. يجب منح عملية الإصلاح الدستوري السوري فرصة للنجاح. كما ينبغي على واشنطن أن تنسّق بسرعة مع الحكومات والمنظمات الأخرى الملتزمة بإنهاء الحرب، وتطلب منها الاتكاء على تركيا ومنع الانحراف الكامل للعملية السياسية.

 

دانا سترول هي زميلة أقدم في "برنامج جيدلد للسياسة العربية" في معهد واشنطن. سونر چاغاپتاي هو زميل "باير فاميلي" ومدير برنامج الأبحاث التركية في المعهد.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 3056

As Washington Prepares to Withdraw from Syria, Turkey Is Set to Invade

Dana Stroul and Soner Cagaptay

Also available in العربية

December 19, 2018


The combination of premature steps would further damage U.S. credibility while giving Iranian proxies and Islamic State remnants free rein in east Syria.

On December 19, multiple media sources reported that Washington is preparing for an imminent withdrawal of all U.S. forces in east Syria. The reports followed statements two days earlier by President Recep Tayyip Erdogan, who noted the White House’s “positive response” to Turkey’s planned cross-border military campaign in the area. First announced on December 12, the operation aims “to clear the east of the Euphrates from separatist terrorists in a few days”—Erdogan’s epithet for the Democratic Union Party (PYD), the Syrian Kurdish group whose troops serve as the core of the U.S.-supported forces fighting the Islamic State (IS). During their December 14 phone call, Trump and Erdogan “agreed to continue coordinating to achieve our respective security objectives in Syria,” even as various U.S. officials reportedly scrambled to head off the Turkish incursion.

Meanwhile, news of the planned U.S. departure has raised alarm bells across Washington, the Middle East, and Europe. Given the numerous strategic problems that would be raised by an accelerated withdrawal and the fact that the U.S. mission remains incomplete, the White House should rethink its decision and continue working toward its own previously stated objectives in Syria.

WHY NOW?

The PYD is an offshoot of the Kurdistan Workers Party (PKK), a designated terrorist group that has been fighting the Turkish government for decades. Ankara’s announcement of imminent operations against the PYD’s militia, the People’s Defense Units (YPG), followed recent comments by Joint Staff chairman Gen. Joseph Dunford, who stated on December 6 that the United States would be pursuing two major initiatives: training 40,000 local fighters to take over security in areas cleared of IS units, and constructing U.S. military observation posts along the Syria-Turkey frontier. Both developments were received poorly in Ankara, which saw them as evidence that Washington is not responsive to Turkey’s security concerns.

Yet America’s interests in continuing to back these local forces are considerable. Since IS took over half of Syria in 2014, the U.S. approach to degrading the group has centered on launching targeted airstrikes from the sky while the Kurdish-led Syrian Democratic Forces (SDF) take care of fighting on the ground. YPG fighters make up the majority of the SDF and are the most capable U.S. military partners available in Syria. The U.S. decision to support, train, and equip the YPG has long incensed Turkey, especially once the group began to establish its own belt of control in border areas liberated from IS. When the PKK renewed its attacks in Turkey in 2015, Ankara invaded parts of Syria to break up YPG-controlled areas and block the perceived PKK safe haven there.

To protect its priority of fully defeating IS while assuaging Turkish security concerns, the United States has promoted the “Manbij model” in recent months. The model envisions transferring governance of YPG-ruled areas west of the Euphrates to other locals (mainly Arabs and non-YPG-aligned Kurds) while instituting joint U.S.-Turkish military patrols in the area. U.S. officials hoped that this approach would serve as a confidence-building mechanism to prevent Turkish operations east of the Euphrates, which would threaten U.S. troops, the SDF, and the momentum of the incomplete campaign against IS terrorist remnants. Thus far, however, the mechanism has failed to placate Ankara, spurring its latest warning of direct intervention in the east.

WHAT’S AT STAKE?

An accelerated U.S. withdrawal from Syria would be a mistake: IS has not been sustainably defeated, Iran and its proxies remain active in Syria, and a political process to end the war has not yet taken root. If the administration truly aims to fulfill its stated objectives there, it should immediately implement an alternative course of action. Otherwise, it risks not only jeopardizing the near-term U.S. interest of stabilizing a key part of the Middle East, but also damaging America’s reputation for the long term. More specifically, the potential exit or entrance of U.S. and Turkish forces in east Syria affects the following key interests:

  • Protecting U.S. forces. If Turkey begins its operation before the proposed American withdrawal, the 2,000 U.S. troops in the area would be directly in the line of fire—especially those embedded with the SDF or manning the handful of existing U.S. border observation posts. Ankara has signaled that it wants to coordinate its operations with Washington, but the risk would remain serious given the realities of combat. Pentagon officials have already warned that unilateral Turkish action would pose “unacceptable” risk to U.S. forces.
  • Defeating ISIS. As the president and other administration officials have repeatedly stated, IS remains the foremost U.S. priority in Syria, but the mission is incomplete and could fail altogether if the newly announced plans are carried out. A Turkish incursion would force many YPG fighters to shift their efforts away from fighting IS, risking a reversal of recent progress. And if U.S. forces are not present to keep the SDF focused on finishing the fight, counterterrorism in east Syria would effectively be outsourced to Turkey and its local partners, or even to the Assad regime and its backers. The Assad option would ensure renewed Sunni Arab support for violent extremist groups, likely leading to “IS 2.0.” Yet continued YPG control in the east is not sustainable either, since the group’s leftist ideological antecedents and Kurdish nationalist identity are unacceptable to the conservative Sunni Arabs who comprise the majority population in the east. Hence, expanding the Manbij model of local control and U.S.-Turkish patrols may be the only means of navigating between these two bad options.
  • Ending the war. As Syria envoy James F. Jeffrey emphasized on December 17, the parties currently have a small window of opportunity to move forward with a political process that ends the war, breaks the Assad-Iran alliance, and halts the regime’s brutality against the Syrian people. The constitutional reform process endorsed by Jeffrey and the UN requires all outside stakeholders to focus on a singular diplomatic effort, but a Turkish incursion would derail movement toward the negotiating table and give Assad, Russia, and Iran excuses to reject talks intended to end Assad’s authoritarian grasp over time.
  • Mending the U.S.-Turkey relationship. Turkey’s October release of Pastor Andrew Brunson gave the Trump administration another chance to ease tensions in the often-fraught bilateral relationship. Recent flashpoints include Ankara’s purchase of Russian S-400 antiaircraft systems, which if finalized would trigger U.S. sanctions and threaten the country’s position in the F-35 program and perhaps even NATO. Turkey’s ongoing detention of American and Turkish embassy staff has caused major friction as well. Potential Turkish operations in east Syria would likely exacerbate these tensions.

RAPID WITHDRAWAL SCENARIO

Rather than risk fratricide between NATO allies, Washington appears to be preparing for a full-scale, immediate withdrawal. In this scenario, the primary U.S. mission of rolling back IS would be undermined, as would the secondary benefit of blocking the movement of Iran and its proxies in east Syria.

In other words, the White House should understand that a key element of its Iran policy is at stake here: namely, the effort to keep Tehran from entrenching itself in Syria, establishing a land bridge to Lebanon, and directly threatening Israel. On the margins of the UN General Assembly meeting this September, National Security Advisor John Bolton stated that U.S. forces will remain in Syria until Iran and its proxies depart. Withdrawing now would directly contradict that pledge.

POLICY RECOMMENDATIONS

U.S. officials should urgently implement a new plan of action for east Syria, avoiding a hasty withdrawal while using all elements of the national security toolbox to convince Turkey that there are other options besides unilateral invasion:

  • Keep supporting the Manbij model. The U.S. military should speed up the transfer of responsibility in Manbij from the YPG to local inhabitants, then start joint planning with Turkey for implementing this same mechanism east of the Euphrates, taking into account lessons learned from joint patrols in west Syria. Such planning would slow the momentum toward unilateral Turkish action and rapid U.S. withdrawal. Turkish officials would likely welcome this approach, since Erdogan’s Justice and Development Party faces stiff competition in nationwide local elections to be held March 31. The party is running in a de facto coalition with a hardline Turkish nationalist faction, so making visible near-term progress on the Kurdish issue is paramount. Even if exporting the Manbij model to the east does not result in immediate YPG withdrawals, it would likely be enough for Erdogan to spin the development as a victory against the PKK’s Syrian ally, boosting his coalition’s electoral chances.
  • Talk to Turkey about the future of the Syrian Kurds. Ambassador Jeffrey has already stated that U.S. policy does not envision partnering with nonstate actors in the long term—a clear signal to Ankara that Washington’s close partnership with the YPG is temporary. Now is the time for U.S. officials to start a structured and substantive dialogue with Turkey about an acceptable end state for Syria’s Kurdish community within the Syrian state.
  • Buy time for the political process. The Syrian constitutional reform process must be given a chance to succeed. Washington should rapidly coordinate with other governments and organizations committed to ending the war, asking them to lean on Turkey and prevent complete derailment of the political process.

Dana Stroul is a senior fellow in The Washington Institute’s Geduld Program on Arab Politics. Soner Cagaptay is the Institute's Beyer Family Fellow and director of its Turkish Research Program.