أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 3305

الولاية القضائية: «المحكمة الجنائية الدولية» و 'الوضع في فلسطين'

ألكسندر لونجاروف

متاح أيضاً في English فارسی

24 نيسان/أبريل 2020


لبعض الوقت، ومنذ كانون الأول/ديسمبر على وجه التحديد، تنظر «المحكمة الجنائية الدولية» في مسائل اختصاصها القضائي حول جرائم حرب وغيرها من الانتهاكات الخطيرة المزعومة "التي ارتُكبت في جميع أنحاء أراضي دولة فلسطين". وقد عبّر مسؤولون إسرائيليون وفلسطينيون، وكذلك دول ومنظمات وأفراد مختلفين، عن آرائهم حول هذا الأمر. والآن يتوجّب على "مكتب المدعي العام للمحكمة الجنائية الدولية" الرد على هذه الطلبات بحلول 30 نيسان/أبريل، مما يمدد الموعد النهائي الأصلي بسبب جائحة فيروس الكورونا.

وإذا استمرت ملاحقات «المحكمة الجنائية الدولية» بشأن هذه القضايا، فقد يجد مواطنون إسرائيليون وفلسطينيون أنفسهم في قفص الاتهام في لاهاي، ويُحتمل أن يشمل كبار السياسيين والضباط العسكريين. وبالتالي، فإن إلقاء نظرة متعمقة على المحكمة والخلفية القانونية لأسئلتها القضائية العالقة أمور في محلها.

عن المحكمة

تم إنشاء «المحكمة الجنائية الدولية» التي هي محكمة دولية دائمة بموجب معاهدة «نظام روما الأساسي» في 1 تموز/يوليو 2002. وتتمثل سلطتها في "ممارسة ولايتها القضائية على أشخاص فيما يتعلق بأخطر الجرائم التي تثير قلقاً دولياً"، والمعروفة بأنها "جريمة الإبادة الجماعية"، و "الجرائم ضد الإنسانية" و "جرائم الحرب" و "جريمة العدوان". والأهم من ذلك أن ولاية «المحكمة الجنائية الدولية» "مكمّلة للولاية القضائية الجنائية الوطنية".

وحتى كتابة هذه السطور، هناك 123 دولة طرفاً في النظام الأساسي. وقد وقّعت عليه الولايات المتحدة وإسرائيل عام 2000، ولكنهما أبلغتا الأمين العام للأمم المتحدة بعد ذلك بعامين أنهما لن تصادقا عليه، وبالتالي لن تكونا مقيّدتين بأي التزامات تترتب عليه. وبدون هذا التصديق، فإنهما ليستا طرفاً في المعاهدة. أما الدول الأخرى التي ليست أطرافاً في النظام الأساسي، فلديها فرصة للانضمام إليه عبر إيداع صكّ انضمامها لدى الأمين العام للأمم المتحدة.

"الوضع في فلسطين"

في 2 كانون الثاني/يناير 2015، أودع المسؤولون الفلسطينيون صكّ انضمامهم إلى «المحكمة الجنائية الدولية» لدى الأمين العام للأمم المتحدة آنذاك بان كي مون، الذي أشار إلى أن «نظام روما الأساسي» "سيدخل حيّز التنفيذ لدولة فلسطين في 1 نيسان/ أبريل 2015". وفي الوقت نفسه، أشار إلى أنه "يتعين على الدول أن تتخذ قرارها الخاص فيما يتعلق بأي مسائل قانونية تثيرها الصكوك التي عممها الأمين العام للأمم المتحدة".

وفي 22 أيار/مايو 2018، أحال وزير الخارجية الفلسطيني رياض المالكي "الوضع في فلسطين" إلى "مكتب المدعي العام"، مطالباً المدعي العام لـ «المحكمة الجنائية الدولية» "بالتحقيق، وفقاً للولاية القضائية الزمنية لـ «المحكمة»، في الجرائم السابقة والجارية والمستقبلية في إطار السلطة القضائية للمحكمة، والتي تُرتكب في جميع أنحاء أراضي دولة فلسطين". ووفقاً للطلب، فإن "دولة فلسطين تضم الأراضي الفلسطينية التي احتلتها إسرائيل عام 1967، كما حددها «خط الهدنة» لعام 1949، وتشمل الضفة الغربية، بما فيها القدس الشرقية، وقطاع غزة".

وكما ذُكر أعلاه، فإن أي محاكمات مستقبلية من قبل «المحكمة الجنائية الدولية» بشأن "الوضع في فلسطين" يمكن أن تنطوي على إحضار مواطنين إسرائيليين وفلسطينيين أمام قضاة المحكمة في لاهاي. وعلى الجانب الإسرائيلي، يمكن الشروع في محاكمات ضد شخصيات سياسية وعسكرية حالية أو سابقة، والتي تشمل كبار القادة مثل بنيامين نتنياهو وبيني غانتس. وعلى الجانب الفلسطيني، قد يكون أعضاء من حركة «حماس» وجماعات مسلحة أخرى من بين المتهمين.

ومع ذلك، تقتصر السلطة القضائية لـ «المحكمة الجنائية الدولية» على الجرائم التي يُزعم ارتكابها إما على أراضي الدول التي هي أطراف في «نظام روما الأساسي» (بما في ذلك سفنها وطائراتها المسجلة) أو من قبل مواطني هذه الدول. وبما أن إسرائيل ليست طرفاً في النظام الأساسي، فإن السؤال المطروح حالياً هو ما إذا كان يمكن اعتبار "دولة فلسطين" طرفاً.

في 20 كانون الأول/ديسمبر 2019، وبعد إجراء التدقيق التمهيدي الإلزامي، أعلنت المدعي العام لـ "المحكمة الجنائية الدولية" فاتو بنسودة أنه "تم استيفاء جميع المعايير القانونية... لفتح التحقيق". وبالنظر إلى "المسائل القانونية والوقائعية الفريدة والمثيرة للجدل" لهذه القضية، فمع ذلك قررتْ السعي للحصول على قرار من الدائرة التمهيدية الأولى لـ «المحكمة الجنائية الدولية» "بشأن نطاق الولاية الإقليمية لـ «المحكمة» في وضع فلسطين، والتأكيد على أن 'الأراضي' التي يجوز للمحكمة ممارسة اختصاصها عليها بموجب المادة 12 (2) (أ) تشمل الضفة الغربية، بما فيها القدس الشرقية، وقطاع غزة".

وفي اليوم نفسه، نشرت إسرائيل موقفها الخاص في هذا الشأن، بإشارتها إلى أن «المحكمة الجنائية الدولية» لا تملك الولاية القضائية الإقليمية لأن "فلسطين" لا يمكن اعتبارها دولة، ويرجع ذلك أساساً إلى افتقارها إلى السيطرة الفعلية على الأراضي التي تدّعيها. وقدّم الفلسطينيون موقفهم إلى المحكمة في 16 آذار/مارس 2020، وأشاروا فيه إلى العدد الكبير من الدول والمنظمات الدولية التي تعتبر فلسطين دولة، وإلى ضرورة أن تحكم «المحكمة الجنائية الدولية» في ولايتها وفقاً للغرض من نظامها التأسيسي. وسمحت الدائرة التمهيدية أيضاً لسبع دول وست وثلاثين منظمة/فرداً بتقديم ملاحظاتهم بحلول 16 آذار/مارس، مُطالِبة مكتب المدعي العام بالرد بحلول 30 آذار/مارس؛ وتم تمديد الموعد النهائي في وقت لاحق لمدة شهر واحد.

فكرة الدول عن الدولة

إن الدول السبع التي قدمت ملاحظات هي أستراليا والنمسا والبرازيل وتشيكيا [الجمهورية التشيكية] وألمانيا والمجر وأوغندا. وقالت هذه الدول بأن "دولة فلسطين" لا تستوفي حالياً الشروط التي بموجبها يمكن اعتبارها دولة على النحو المقصود في المادة 12 (2) (أ) من «نظام روما الأساسي». يجدر مقارنة هذا الموقف بأنماط تصويتها على عضوية الفلسطينيين في "منظمة الأمم المتحدة للتربية والعلم والثقافة" ["يونيسكو"] (31 أكتوبر 2011)، وعلى تبني قرار "الجمعية العامة للأمم المتحدة" 67/19 (4 كانون الأول/ديسمبر 2012)، الذي حدد لفلسطين "صفة الدولة المراقبة غير العضو في الأمم المتحدة":

ومن الجدير بالذكر أيضاً علاقة كل دولة بإسرائيل. فقد أقامت ثلاث من الدول السبع - أستراليا وتشيكيا وألمانيا - علاقات قوية بشكل خاص مع إسرائيل، وكثيراً ما كانت متعاطفة مع مخاوفها ومواقفها، قبل وقت طويل من إحالة الوضع الفلسطيني إلى «المحكمة الجنائية الدولية». أما بالنسبة للدول الأخرى، فقد أشارت التقارير الإعلامية إلى علاقات ودية متزايدة بين رئيس الوزراء نتنياهو وقادة النمسا والبرازيل والمجر وأوغندا.

ولم تطلب الولايات المتحدة وكندا، اللتان شاركتا في كثير من الأحيان مواقف إسرائيل في المحافل الدولية، الإذن من «المحكمة الجنائية الدولية» لتقديم ملاحظات بشأن "الوضع في فلسطين" بصفتهما "صديقتا المحكمة". وفي رسالة إلى المحكمة في 14 شباط/فبراير، كررت وزارة الخارجية الكندية الموقف الذي عبّرت عنه لأول مرة بعد أن طلب الفلسطينيون الانضمام إلى «نظام روما الأساسي» - أي أن فلسطين "لا تستوفي معايير الدولة بموجب القانون الدولي وغير معترف بها من قبل كندا كدولة". ووفقاً لبعض التقارير كتب نتنياهو إلى رئيس الوزراء الكندي جوستين ترودو يطلب صراحة إظهار مثل هذا الدعم. وبالمثل، في بيان صدر في 20 كانون الأول/ديسمبر، كرر وزير الخارجية الأمريكي مايك بومبيو موقف الولايات المتحدة: "[لا نعتقد] أن الفلسطينيين مؤهلين كدولة ذات سيادة" وبالتالي لا ينبغي أن يشاركوا في المنظمات الدولية بهذه الصفة.

إن الفلسطينيين ليسوا وحدهم في التأكيد على أن «المحكمة الجنائية الدولية» تمتلك الولاية الضرورية. إذ إن موقفهم مدعوم بطلبات "أصدقاء المحكمة" من قبل "جامعة الدول العربية" التي تمثل اثنتين وعشرين دولة، و"منظمة التعاون الإسلامي" التي تمثل سبعة وخمسين دولة (العضوية الفلسطينية مدرجة في هذه الأرقام؛ كما أن سوريا مدرجة أيضاً، على الرغم من التعليق المستمر لعضويتها).

المعايير القانونية الدولية في سياق سياسي

على الرغم من أن القانون الدولي يتميز أحياناً بمواقفه القاطعة، إلا أنه لم يتمكن من تحديد مفهوم الدولة أو الاعتراف بها على نحو دقيق. والقضية الفلسطينية ليست المثال الوحيد لهذه الظاهرة (انظر إلى كوسوفو، على سبيل المثال)، لكنها من بين أكثر الحالات تعقيداً.

ووفقاً للدول التي تدعم موقف إسرائيل، يجب تقييم ولاية «المحكمة الجنائية الدولية» وفقاً لـ «نظام روما الأساسي» و «اتفاقية فيينا لقانون المعاهدات»، لأن «نظام روما» المذكور هو معاهدة دولية. وهذا يعني اللجوء إلى المعايير التقليدية لمفهوم الدولة بموجب القانون الدولي، والتي تتطلب عادة سيطرة حكومية فعالة على الإقليم المعني. وفي الوقت الحاضر، تمارس "السلطة الفلسطينية" نوعاً محدوداً فقط من السيطرة على أجزاء معينة من الضفة الغربية - وبالتحديد "المناطق «أ» و «ب»" - ولا شيء في قطاع غزة أو القدس الشرقية. وبالمثل، فإن اختصاصها الجنائي في هذه المناطق محدود ولا يمتد إلى الإسرائيليين. ونتيجة لذلك، يصعب تحديد الولاية القضائية "الوطنية" التي ستكمّلها «المحكمة الجنائية الدولية» في هذه الحالة.

ومع ذلك قد تلاحظ المحكمة، النسبية التي تبرز في بعض الأحيان عند تطبيق معايير الدولة. على سبيل المثال، تم الاعتراف بتايوان من قبل خمس عشرة دولة فقط في جميع أنحاء العالم، على الرغم من استيفائها للمعايير التقليدية إلى حد كبير، في حين كانت الصومال لا تزال تعتبر دولة بعد فترة طويلة من انهيار حكومتها المركزية. يجب أيضاً مراعاة الغرض [الذي من أجله أُقِرّت] المعاهدة عند محاولة تفسير أحكامها؛ فقد تأسست «المحكمة الجنائية الدولية» بهدف عدم السماح لادعاءات ارتكاب جرائم خطيرة بالمرور دون تمحيص. فإذا قبِلت المحكمة أن فلسطين تمتلك خصائص كافية لكي تُعتبر دولة، فحينئذ يمكنها أن تقرر أنها تمتلك الولاية للتحقيق في الجرائم المزعومة في الضفة الغربية والقدس الشرقية وغزة، بغض النظر عما إذا كان الجناة المزعومون إسرائيليين أو فلسطينيين.

وفي ضوء هذه التعقيدات، يبدو أن النظر في الحجج القانونية الدولية المتعلقة بـ «نظام روما الأساسي» أو الدولة الفلسطينية بمعزل عن السياق السياسي الدولي الذي يتم طرحها فيه، مهمة شاقة. ولا يبدو من قبيل المصادفة أن البلدان ذات العلاقات الإسرائيلية الجيدة تميل إلى دعم مطالبات إسرائيل القانونية بشأن هذه القضايا، في حين أن الدول التي تشارك الفلسطينيين في اللغة و/أو دين الأغلبية هي التي تدافع عن المناقشات القانونية الفلسطينية.

ويبرز بوضوح اثنان من أكبر التحديات التي تواجه القانون الدولي في هذه القضية. الأول يتعلق بواقع كَوْن بعض المعايير القانونية الدولية أقل وضوحاً من المفاهيم التي تم تطويرها في النظم القانونية المحلية. والثاني هو عدم إنفاذ القانون على المستوى العالمي. ففي بعض مجالات القانون الدولي، لم يتم نقل السلطة القضائية إلى سلطة أعلى من الدول على الإطلاق، أو نُقلت جزئياً فقط، كما يتضح من الالتزام العالمي الجزئي بـ «المحكمة الجنائية الدولية».

ويتجلى هذا الغموض متعدد المستويات بشكل مثالي في "الوضع في فلسطين"، حيث يدّعي كلا الجانبين أن أي حكم مخالف لموقفهما سيشير إلى أن «المحكمة الجنائية الدولية» مسيّسة. ويبقى الأمر الآن متروكاً للمحكمة، ودائرتها التمهيدية الأولى على وجه الخصوص، لكي تصل إلى قناعة بأنها قادرة على البت في مسألة الولاية على أساس الحجج القانونية (الكافية).

 

ألكسندر لونجاروف هو زميل زائر في برنامج القانون الدولي والأوروبي في جامعة "Vrije Universiteit Brussel"، ومسؤول في "اللجنة الاقتصادية والاجتماعية الأوروبية". وهذا المرصد السياسي يعبّر عن آراء المؤلف فقط ولا يعكس بأي شكل من الأشكال رأي "اللجنة الاقتصادية والاجتماعية الأوروبية" و/أو "الاتحاد الأوروبي"، اللذان لا يمكن تحميلهما مسؤولية أي استخدام لوجهة نظرهما.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 3305

State of Jurisdiction: The International Criminal Court and the ‘Situation in Palestine’

Alexander Loengarov

Also available in العربية

April 24, 2020


The question of whether the ICC is able to proceed with cases against Israeli and Palestinian officials may hinge on fuzzy international legal criteria and competing arguments by sympathetic governments.

For some time, and since December in particular, the International Criminal Court (ICC) has been weighing questions of its jurisdiction on war crimes and other serious violations allegedly “committed in all parts of the territory of the State of Palestine.” Israeli and Palestinian officials have expressed their views on the matter, as have various other states, organizations, and individuals. The ICC Office of the Prosecutor (OTP) now has until April 30 to respond to these submissions, extending the original deadline due to the coronavirus pandemic.

If ICC prosecutions are carried forward on these matters, any number of Israeli and Palestinian citizens may find themselves in the dock at The Hague, potentially including senior politicians and military officers. An in-depth look at the court and the legal background of its pending jurisdictional questions is therefore in order.

ABOUT THE COURT

The ICC is a permanent international tribunal established by a treaty, the Rome Statute, on July 1, 2002. Its mandate is “to exercise its jurisdiction over persons for the most serious crimes of international concern,” defined as “the crime of genocide,” “crimes against humanity,” “war crimes,” and “the crime of aggression.” Importantly, the ICC’s jurisdiction is “complementary to national criminal jurisdiction.”

As of this writing, 123 states are party to the statute. The United States and Israel signed it in 2000, yet both notified the UN secretary-general two years later that they would not ratify it and are therefore not be bound by any obligations ensuing from it. Without such ratification, they are not party to the treaty. As for other states that are not parties to the statute, they have the opportunity to accede to it by depositing their instrument of accession with the UN secretary-general.

THE “SITUATION IN PALESTINE”

On January 2, 2015, Palestinian officials deposited their ICC accession instrument with then-secretary-general Ban Ki-moon, who indicated that the Rome Statute would “enter into force for the State of Palestine on 1 April 2015.” At the same time, he noted that “it is for States to make their own determination with respect to any legal issues raised by instruments circulated by the Secretary-General.”

On May 22, 2018, Palestinian foreign minister Riyad al-Maliki referred the “Situation in Palestine” to the OTP, requesting that the ICC prosecutor “investigate, in accordance with the temporal jurisdiction of the Court, past, ongoing and future crimes within the court’s jurisdiction, committed in all parts of the territory of the State of Palestine.” According to the request, “The State of Palestine comprises the Palestinian Territory occupied in 1967 by Israel, as defined by the 1949 Armistice Line, and includes the West Bank, including East Jerusalem, and the Gaza Strip.”

As mentioned above, any future ICC prosecutions regarding the “Situation in Palestine” could involve bringing Israeli and Palestinian citizens before the court’s judges in The Hague. On the Israeli side, trials could be initiated against current or former political and military figures, including top leaders such as Binyamin Netanyahu and Benny Gantz. On the Palestinian side, members of Hamas and other militant groups may be among the accused.

Yet the ICC’s jurisdiction is limited to crimes allegedly committed either on the territory of states that are party to the Rome Statute (including their registered vessels and aircraft) or by nationals of these states. Since Israel is not a party to the statute, the question currently being considered is whether the “State of Palestine” can be considered a party.

On December 20, 2019, after conducting the mandatory preliminary examination, ICC prosecutor Fatou Bensouda announced that “all the statutory criteria...for the opening of an investigation have been met.” Given the situation’s “unique and highly contested legal and factual issues,” however, she decided to seek an ICC Pre-Trial Chamber I ruling “on the scope of the Court’s territorial jurisdiction in the situation of Palestine, and to confirm that the ‘territory’ over which the Court may exercise its jurisdiction under article 12(2)(a) comprises the West Bank, including East Jerusalem, and Gaza.”

That same day, Israel published its own position on the matter, stating that the ICC does not possess territorial jurisdiction because “Palestine” cannot be considered a state, mainly due to its lack of effective control over the territory it claims. The Palestinians submitted their position to the court on March 16, 2020, pointing out the large number of countries and international organizations for which Palestine is a state, and noting the need for the ICC to rule on its jurisdiction in accordance with the purpose of its founding statute. The pre-trial chamber also permitted seven states and thirty-six organizations/individuals to submit their observations by March 16, asking the OTP to respond by March 30; the deadline was later extended by one month.

STATES ON STATEHOOD

The seven states that submitted observations were Australia, Austria, Brazil, Czechia, Germany, Hungary, and Uganda. All seven argued that the “State of Palestine” does not presently satisfy the conditions to be considered a state as intended in article 12(2)(a) of the Rome Statute. It is worth comparing this stance to their voting patterns on Palestinian membership in the UN Educational, Scientific, and Cultural Organization (October 31, 2011), and on the adoption of UN General Assembly Resolution 67/19 (December 4, 2012), which established Palestinian “non-member observer State status in the United Nations”:

Also notable is each state’s relationship with Israel. Three of the seven states—Australia, Czechia, and Germany—had cultivated particularly strong relations with Israel, frequently proving sympathetic to its concerns and positions, well before the Palestinian situation was referred to the ICC. As for the other countries, media reports have pointed out increasingly cordial relationships between Prime Minister Netanyahu and the leaders of Austria, Brazil, Hungary, and Uganda.

The United States and Canada, which have often shared Israel’s positions in international forums, did not request leave from the ICC to submit amicus curiae observations regarding the “Situation in Palestine.” In a February 14 letter to the court, however, the Canadian Foreign Ministry repeated the position it first expressed after the Palestinians requested accession to the Rome Statute—namely, that Palestine “does not meet the criteria of a state under international law and is not recognized by Canada as a state.” Netanyahu reportedly wrote to Prime Minister Justin Trudeau explicitly asking for this show of support. Likewise, in a December 20 statement, Secretary of State Mike Pompeo reiterated the U.S. stance that the “Palestinians [do not] qualify as a sovereign state” and should therefore not participate in international organizations in that capacity.

The Palestinians are not alone in maintaining that the ICC possesses the necessary jurisdiction. Their position is backed by amicus curiae submissions by the League of Arab States, representing twenty-two countries, and the Organization of Islamic Cooperation, representing fifty-seven countries (Palestinian membership is included in these figures; Syria is included as well, despite its ongoing suspension).

INTERNATIONAL LEGAL CRITERIA IN A POLITICAL CONTEXT

Although international law is sometimes characterized by black and white concepts, neither statehood nor its recognition has proven to be neatly definable. The Palestinian case is not the only illustration of this phenomenon (e.g., see Kosovo), but it is among the most intricate.

According to states that back Israel’s position, ICC jurisdiction needs to be assessed pursuant to the Rome Statute and, since that is an international treaty, the Vienna Convention on the Law of Treaties. This means resorting to the traditional criteria for statehood under international law, which normally require effective government control over the territory in question. At present, the Palestinian Authority exerts only a limited type of control in certain portions of the West Bank—namely, “Areas A and B” —and none in the Gaza Strip or East Jerusalem. Similarly, its criminal jurisdiction in these areas is limited and does not extend to Israelis. As a result, it is difficult to determine which “national” jurisdiction the ICC’s jurisdiction would complement in this case.

Yet the court may note the relativity that sometimes rears its head when applying statehood criteria. For instance, Taiwan is recognized by just fifteen states worldwide, despite largely fulfilling the traditional criteria, whereas Somalia was still considered a state long after its central government collapsed. A treaty’s purpose also needs to be considered when interpreting its provisions; the ICC was established with the goal of not letting allegations of serious crimes go unscrutinized. If the court accepts that Palestine possesses sufficient characteristics of a state, it could rule that it has jurisdiction to investigate alleged crimes in the West Bank, East Jerusalem, and Gaza, regardless of whether the alleged perpetrators are Israeli or Palestinian.

In light of these intricacies, it seems an onerous task to consider international legal arguments related to the Rome Statute or Palestinian statehood without any connection to the international political context in which they are put forward. It does not seem coincidental that countries with good Israeli relations tend to uphold Israel’s legal claims on these issues, while Palestinian legal arguments are championed by countries that share the Palestinians’ language and/or majority religion.

Two of international law’s biggest challenges are evident here. One concerns the fact that some international legal criteria are less clear-cut than concepts developed within domestic legal systems. The other is the lack of law enforcement at a global level. In certain areas of international law, the transfer of jurisdictional power to an authority above states has taken place only partially or not at all, as illustrated by the world’s partial adherence to the ICC.

This multilevel fuzziness is illustrated perfectly by the “Situation in Palestine,” in which both sides claim that any ruling contrary to their position would indicate that the ICC is politicized. It is now up to the court, and its Pre-Trial Chamber I in particular, to satisfy itself that it can decide the jurisdiction question on the basis of (sufficiently) legal arguments.

Alexander Loengarov is a visiting fellow with the international and European law program at Vrije Universiteit Brussel, and an official at the European Economic and Social Committee. The author acts in his own name: this PolicyWatch solely expresses his views and does not reflect in any way the opinion of the European Economic and Social Committee and/or the European Union, which cannot be held responsible for any use made of it.