أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 3352

اتفاق الدفاع الجوي بين إيران وسوريا قد يعرقل عمليات التحالف

فرزين نديمي

متاح أيضاً في English فارسی

24 تموز/يوليو 2020


في الثامن من تموز/يوليو، وقّع وزير الدفاع السوري علي عبدالله أيوب ورئيس هيئة الأركان العامة للقوات المسلحة الإيرانية اللواء محمد باقري اتفاقاً في دمشق لتوسيع التعاون العسكري الثنائي بينهما بشكل كبير، ولا سيما في مجال الدفاع الجوي. وإذ دعت حاجة مزدوجة إلى مواجهة التهديدات الجوية ضدّ إيران وحلفائها، وفي الوقت نفسه تقويض الوجود العسكري للتحالف في الشرق الأوسط، طوّرت طهران رؤية استراتيجية تتطلب حماية فعالة، وإغلاق المجال الجوي (في الوقت المناسب). وتحقيقاً لهذه الغاية، اقترحَتْ بشكل متكرر تعزيز أنظمة الدفاع الجوي العراقية واللبنانية والآن السورية ودمجها في شبكتها الخاصة.

في عام 2019 على سبيل المثال، عرض باقري ربط شبكة الدفاع الجوي العراقية وتشكيل حصن مشترك في وجه "الأعداء المشتركين". ومؤخراً، خلال اجتماع عُقد في 16 تموز/يوليو مع الرئيس اللبناني ميشال عون، أعرب السفير الإيراني محمد جلال فيروزنيا عن اهتمامه بتزويد البلاد بأسلحة دفاعية، من بينها صواريخ مضادة للطائرات. وجاء الاجتماع بعد أيام فقط من وصف باقري الاتفاق الدفاع الجوي الجديد مع سوريا بأنه خطوة أخرى نحو إخراج الولايات المتحدة من المنطقة. كما قام بالعديد من الزيارات الأخرى إلى سوريا منذ تعيينه في أعلى منصب عسكري إيراني في عام 2016، ساعياً إلى توثيق التعاون العسكري الطويل الأمد مع نظام بشار الأسد.

وبالفعل، كان الوجود العسكري الإيراني في سوريا ملحوظاً منذ اندلاع الحرب الأهلية في البلاد عام 2011؛ ومعظم عناصره متواجدين في سوريا بصفة استشارية وقيادية تحكمية، رغم أن بعضهم شارك في القتال إلى جانب الجماعات الميليشياوية الوكيلة. كما تستخدم إيران سوريا كمركز نقل لتزويد «حزب الله» بالإمدادات عبر الحدود مع لبنان. ومن أجل دعم هذا الجهد وإجراء تناوب في القوى البشرية، تستخدم الجمهورية الإسلامية "جسراً جوياً" - حيث تقوم طائرات عسكرية ومدنية إيرانية بنقل الأفراد والعتاد إلى مطار دمشق الدولي، والقامشلي، واللاذقية، وقاعدة "التياس" الجوية (T-4) بشكل منتظم، بينما تعود الرحلات الجوية السورية من إيران محمّلة بالأسلحة والذخيرة لقوات النظام والميليشيات.

إسرائيل حجر عثرة أمام خطط إيران

إن النطاق المتنامي لبعض عمليات إيران ووكلائها في سوريا يجعلها عرضة للضربات الجوية والصاروخية الإسرائيلية، وأصبحت هذه الحوادث تتكرر على نحو منتظم ولا تعترضها على ما يبدو الدفاعات الجوية العشوائية السورية. فالأنظمة الدفاعية التي نشرتها روسيا في سوريا أثناء تدخلها تتمتع بقدرات أكبر، ولكنها موجودة لحماية القواعد الروسية وليس لاستهداف الطائرات الإسرائيلية.

وحافظت إيران على صمتها إلى حد كبير بشأن هذه الخسائر البشرية والمادية، مما يشير إلى استيائها وعدم قدرتها على منعها على حدّ سواء. غير أنه في 16 تموز/يوليو، حذّر المتحدث باسم هيئة الأركان أبو الفضل شكارجي إسرائيل من شنّ أي هجمات إضافية، ثم كرر التزام طهران بتطوير الدفاعات الجوية السورية وتعزيز "محور المقاومة" ضد الهجمات الإسرائيلية. وبالفعل، يبدو أن لدى القادة العسكريين الإيرانيين ثقة كبيرة في تعددية [استخدام] أنظمتها الدفاعية الجوية المطورة محلياً وفعاليتها، خاصة بعد أن نجحت إحدى هذه الوحدات في إسقاط طائرة استطلاع أمريكية بدون طيار من نوع "آركيو-4" فوق مضيق هرمز في حزيران/يونيو 2019. 

ومع ذلك، كما يتبيّن من الوضع الراهن، تمكنت طائرات سلاح الجو الإسرائيلي من شنّ عدد كبير من الهجمات الناجحة، ونفذتها أحياناً من داخل سوريا، وأحياناً أخرى من خلال إطلاق أسلحة مواجهة أثناء تحليقها فوق البحر الأبيض المتوسط، أو لبنان، أو مرتفعات الجولان. ولدى الجيش الإسرائيلي خيارات هجومية قوية أيضاً، تشمل صواريخ باليستية تكتيكية قادرة على الوصول إلى عمق سوريا.

محور الدفاع الجوي؟

استغل باقري زيارته الأخيرة إلى دمشق لكي يشجب بقوة الوجود العسكري الأمريكي في الشرق الأوسط، واعداً بأن إيران ستواصل مقاومة "الابتزاز الأمريكي" في المنطقة مستخدمةً اتفاق الدفاع الثنائي الذي أبرمته حديثاً أداةً لذلك. على سبيل المثال، يمكن استخدام الاتفاق لتغطية نطاق واسع من التعاون في مجال الدفاع الجوي، على غرار توفير أنظمة كاملة لسوريا، أو تطوير أنظمتها الحالية، أو دمج شبكتي الدفاع الجوي للبلدين معاً (رغم أنه سيكون من الصعب تحقيق هذا الدمج دون تعاون العراق).

وبشكل أكثر تحديداً، بإمكان إيران تزويد سوريا بأنظمة صواريخ أرض- جو منخفصة وعالية الارتفاع وقادرة على اعتراض أهداف بعيدة تصل إلى 200 كيلومتر وعلى ارتفاع يصل إلى 30 كيلومتر (انظر الجدول). كما يمكنها اقتراح إرسال بعضاً من قدراتها الخاصة بدمج البيانات/الإدارة وأنظمة الرصد السلبية التي كشفت عنها النقاب في السنوات الأخيرة.

انقر على الصورة لرؤية الجدول الكامل

وتقتصر قوات الدفاع الجوي الحالية في سوريا في الغالب على الأنظمة الروسية القديمة مثل "أس-125" (SA-3)، "2 كاي 12" (SA-6)، "أس-75" (SA-2) و"أس-200" (SA-5)، إلى جانب بطاريات "أس إيه -11 بوك" و"أس إيه – 17 بوك" الأكثر تقدماً المعززة بأنظمة دفاع عن نقطة محددة "بانتسير-إس1" (Pantsir-S1) (دفعت إيران ثمن هذه الأخيرة). وفي أواخر عام 2018، أنهت موسكو تسليم نظام "أس-300" (SA-20) إلى دمشق. وفي ذلك الوقت، كان المسؤولون الأمريكيون قلقين من أن تؤدي عملية التسليم إلى زيادة جرأة إيران، لكن نظام "أس-300" لا يزال تحت السيطرة الروسية ولم يوضَع في الخدمة بعد، وفقاً لبعض التقارير.

وتملك إيران عدداً من أنظمة "أس-200" و"أس-75/إتش كيو-2" و"2 كاي 12" المستخدمة محلياً وقامت بتطويرها على مرّ السنين، لذلك يمكنها أن تعرض تطوير البطاريات التي تملكها سوريا أيضاً. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، يمكنها أن تزوّد الأسد بأنظمة مطوّرة في إيران على غرار "رعد" و"طبس" و"15 خرداد" و"تلاش" و"3 خرداد" (النوع الذي استُخدم لإسقاط الطائرة الأمريكية بدون طيار). وقد تعتزم طهران أيضاً مساعدة سوريا على إنشاء خطوط إنتاج/تجميع محلية لهذه الأنظمة في منشآت سرية على الأرجح (ومن المتصور تقديم قدرات إنتاج مماثلة للعراق أو حتى لـ «حزب الله»).

ولا يزال نظام الدفاع الجوي الإيراني الذي يتمتع بالمدى الأطول والذي يُفترض أنه الأكثر تقدماً، وهو "بافار-373" قيد التطوير ولم يدخل بعد في مرحلة الإنتاج الكاملة. وتدّعي إيران أن النظام يضاهي بطارية صواريخ "باتريوت" الأمريكية ويتفوق على نظام "أس-300 بي أم يو-2" الروسي، ولكن كل ما يمكنها تقديمه في الوقت الحالي إلى سوريا هو نشر نسخة غير مثبتة منه هناك لأغراض الاختبار والتقييم وفق شروط تشغيلية. وبالطبع، فإن مثل هذا الانكشاف سيمنح الخصوم أيضاً فرصة لمراقبة النظام خلال عمله ووضع تكتيكات للتصدي له.

أما بالنسبة لتحديد أي من عمليات النقل النظرية هذه ستحدث بالفعل، فإن ذلك يتوقف على قدرة طهران على التعامل مع التحديات الهائلة محلياً وداخل سوريا. فمن الواضح أن القادة الإيرانيين يريدون زيادة قدرتهم على الردع وتوسيع العمق الاستراتيجي بما يتجاوز الحدود التي وضعتها ترسانتهم من الصواريخ الباليستية، ويفضلون نشر أنظمة دفاع جوي أكثر تطوراً وأبعد مدى لهذه الغاية. ولكن في الوقت نفسه، يبدو أنهم يواجهون مجموعة متزايدة من المخاطر الخارجية والمحلية، بما فيها ما يشبه حملة تخريب ضد برنامجهم النووي وبنيتهم التحتية الصناعية. وما يضاف إلى مخاوفهم هو واقع عسكري يزداد خطورة: فإسرائيل عازمة على منعهم من نقل أي أنظمة جديدة إلى سوريا، ولن يؤدي إرسالها الآن إلّا إلى توسيع الفجوات الكبيرة في تغطية الدفاع الجوي الإيراني.

وفي ظل هذه الظروف، من غير المؤكد أن تتمكن طهران من نقل كميات كبيرة من هذه المعدات إلى سوريا على المدى القريب. وأفضل ما يمكن أن يأمل به الإيرانيون (إذا كان هناك أي شئ) هو فقاعتان من الدفاع الجوي: واحدة في قاعدة الإمام علي بالقرب من معبر البوكمال الحدودي وأخرى في قاعدة "تي-4" الجوية أو في منطقة دمشق.

انقر على الخرائط لرؤية نسخة أكبر

وهذا الأمر بعيد كل البعد عن السيناريو المثالي بالنسبة لهم: وضع ما لا يقل عن اثنتي عشرة بطارية صواريخ متحركة متوسطة إلى بعيدة المدى ورادارات حول سوريا لحماية القواعد المشتركة ومراكز التخزين من الغارات الإسرائيلية.

توصيات في مجال السياسة العامة

وفقاً للفقرة 6 ب من الملحق "ب" من قرار "مجلس الأمن" رقم 2231، لا يُسمح لإيران بنقل أنظمة الدفاع الجوي إلى أي دولة دون إذن من المجلس؛ لذلك، طالما كان هذا الحظر ساري المفعول، يجب على جميع الدول اتخاذ التدابير الضرورية لفرضه. ولسوء الحظ، من المقرر أن ينتهي الحظر في 18 تشرين الأول/أكتوبر، لكن الولايات المتحدة عزّزت جهودها الدبلوماسية للتأكد من أن استمرار الحظر على الأسلحة قائماً إلى أجل غير مسمى.

لدى المجتمع الدولي أسباب أخرى أيضاً لمنع انتشار أنظمة مضادة للطائرات من إيران. في 16 تموز/يوليو، مددت "وكالة «الاتحاد الأوروبي» لسلامة الطيران" حظرها المفروض على جميع عمليات التحليق التجارية فوق المجال الجوي الخاضع لسيطرة إيران دون 25,000 قدم (7,620 متراً) لمدة ستة أشهر إضافية بسبب مخاوف من "مخاطر أمنية كبيرة" هناك. وتزامنت خطوة «الاتحاد الأوروبي» - التي أعادت التشديد على توجيهات أصدرتها أساساً "إدارة الطيران الفيدرالية" الأمريكية - مع قيام إيران التي ترزح بشكل متزايد تحت الضغوط بوضع أجزاء من نظام دفاعها الجوي في حالة تأهب قصوى، وبعد أشهر فقط من قيام بطارياتها من نوع "سام" بإسقاط طائرة أوكرانية عن طريق الخطأ. وفي المرحلة القادمة، يجب على واشنطن إعادة التأكيد على التزامها بسلامة الطيران في المنطقة بموجب الملحق 17 باتفاقية شيكاغو ("حماية الطيران المدني الدولي من أعمال التدخل غير المشروع")، باستخدام المعايير الواردة فيها كمبرر لمنع إيران من تصدير أنظمة الدفاع الجوي والتحكم بها، والتي أثبتت أساساً بأنها تشكل تهديداً للطيران المدني.    

 

فرزين نديمي هو زميل مشارك في معهد واشنطن، ومتخصص في شؤون الأمن والدفاع المتعلقة بإيران ومنطقة الخليج.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 3352

Iran-Syria Air Defense Pact Could Disrupt Allied Operations

Farzin Nadimi

Also available in العربية

July 24, 2020


Despite domestic challenges, major technical hurdles, and ongoing Israeli military interdiction, Iran still aims to transfer potent air defense systems to fellow ‘axis of resistance’ members and interconnect them.

On July 8, Syrian defense minister Ali Abdullah Ayoub and Maj. Gen. Mohammad Bagheri, chairman of Iran’s Armed Forces General Staff, signed an agreement in Damascus to significantly expand bilateral military cooperation, especially in the field of air defense. Seeing a dual need to counter aerial threats against Iran and its allies while also undermining the coalition military presence in the Middle East, Tehran has developed a strategic vision that requires effective protection and (in time) denial of airspace. Toward that end, it has repeatedly proposed to augment Iraqi, Lebanese, and now Syrian air defense systems and integrate them with its own network.

In 2019, for example, Bagheri offered to link up with Iraq’s air defense network and form a joint shell against “common enemies.” More recently, during a July 16 meeting with Lebanese president Michel Aoun, Iranian ambassador Mohammad Jalal Firouznia expressed interest in supplying the country with defensive weapons, including antiaircraft missiles. The meeting came just days after Bagheri described the new air defense agreement with Syria as another step toward pushing the United States out of the region. He has also made numerous other visits to Syria since being appointed to Iran’s top military job in 2016, seeking closer long-term military cooperation with Bashar al-Assad’s regime.

Indeed, Iran has had a significant military presence in Syria since the country’s civil war began in 2011. Most of its personnel are there in an advisory and command-and-control capacity, though some were involved in combat alongside proxy militia groups. Iran also uses Syria as a transfer hub to supply Hezbollah in neighboring Lebanon. To support this effort and rotate manpower, it uses an “air bridge”—Iranian military and civilian aircraft frequently transport personnel and materiel to Damascus International Airport, Qamishli, Latakia, and T-4 (Tiyas) air base, while Syrian flights return from Iran with weapons and ammunition for regime and militia forces.

ISRAEL IS A WRENCH IN IRAN’S PLANS

The growing scope of certain Iranian and proxy operations in Syria makes them vulnerable to Israeli air and missile strikes, which have become a regular occurrence and are seemingly unbothered by Syria’s haphazard air defenses. The defensive systems that Russia has deployed to Syria during its intervention are more formidable, but they are there to protect Russian bases, not to target Israeli aircraft.

Iran has largely been silent about these human and material losses, indicating both its frustration and its inability to prevent them. On July 16, however, General Staff spokesman Abolfazl Shekarchi warned Israel against any further strikes, then repeated Tehran’s commitment to upgrade Syria’s air defenses and strengthen the “axis of resistance” against Israeli attacks. Indeed, Iranian military leaders appear to have great confidence in the versatility and effectiveness of their domestically developed air defense systems, especially after one such unit succeeded in shooting down an American RQ-4 reconnaissance drone over the Strait of Hormuz in June 2019.

As things currently stand, however, Israel’s air force has been able to conduct a large number of successful strikes, sometimes operating inside Syria, and other times firing standoff weapons while flying over the Mediterranean Sea, Lebanon, or the Golan Heights. The Israeli army has potent strike options as well, including tactical ballistic missiles capable of reaching deep inside Syria.

AXIS OF AIR DEFENSE?

Bagheri used his latest visit to Damascus to excoriate the U.S. military presence in the Middle East, promising that Iran would continue to resist “American extortion” in the region using its new bilateral defense pact as a tool. For example, the agreement could be used to cover a wide spectrum of air defense cooperation, such as providing complete systems to Syria, upgrading its existing systems, or integrating the two countries’ air defense networks (though the latter would be difficult to achieve without Iraq’s cooperation).

More specifically, Iran can offer Syria low- and high-altitude surface-to-air missile systems capable of intercepting targets as far away as 200 km and at altitudes up to 30 km (see table). It can also offer to send some of the data fusion/management capabilities and passive detection systems it has unveiled in recent years.

Click on image to see full table

Syria’s current air defense forces are mostly limited to older Russian systems such as the S-125 (SA-3), 2K12 (SA-6), S-75 (SA-2), and S-200 (SA-5), along with more modern SA-11 Buk and SA-17 Buk-M batteries augmented by Pantsir-S1 point defense systems (the latter paid for by Iran). In late 2018, Moscow completed delivery of the S-300 (SA-20) system to Damascus. At the time, U.S. officials were concerned the delivery would embolden Iran, but the system is reportedly still under Russian control and not operational.

Iran has a number of S-200, S-75/HQ-2, and 2K12 systems in service back home and has upgraded them over the years, so it could offer to upgrade Syria’s batteries as well. In addition, it could send Assad indigenously developed systems such as the Raad, Tabas, 15th of Khordad, Talash, and 3rd of Khordad (the type used to shoot down the U.S. drone). Tehran might also intend to help Syria set up local production/assembly lines for such systems, most likely in underground facilities (similar production capabilities could conceivably be offered to Iraq or even Hezbollah).

Iran’s longest-range and supposedly most-advanced air defense system, the Bavar-373, is still under development and has yet to enter full-scale production. Iran claims that the system is comparable to an American Patriot missile battery and superior to Russia’s S-300PMU-2, but for now all it can offer Syria is to deploy an unproven example there for testing and evaluation purposes under operational conditions. Of course, such exposure would also give adversaries a chance to observe the system in action and hone their tactics against it.

As for which of these theoretical transfers will actually happen, that depends on how well Tehran can cope with formidable challenges at home and inside Syria. Iranian leaders clearly want to expand their deterrence and strategic depth beyond the limits set by their ballistic missile arsenal, and fielding more-advanced, longer-range air defense systems would be their method of choice. At the same time, however, they seem increasingly threatened by a host of foreign and domestic perils, including what looks like a campaign of sabotage against their nuclear program and industrial infrastructure. Adding to their concerns is a sobering military reality: Israel is determined to prevent them from transferring any new systems to Syria, and sending them now would only widen the considerable gaps in Iran’s own air defense coverage.

Under these circumstances, it is doubtful that Tehran will be able to transfer substantial amounts of this equipment to Syria in the near term. The best they can hope for (if anything) is a pair of air defense bubbles: one at Imam Ali base near the Abu Kamal border crossing, and another at T-4 air base or in the Damascus area.

Click on maps to see larger versions

This is a far cry from their ideal scenario: establishing at least a dozen mobile medium-to-long-range missile batteries and radars around Syria to protect joint bases and storage hubs from Israeli raids.

POLICY RECOMMENDATIONS

Per paragraph 6b, Annex B of UN Security Council Resolution 2231, Iran is not allowed to transfer air defense systems to any country without the council’s permission; therefore, as long as this ban is in place, all states should take the necessary measures to enforce it. Unfortunately, the ban is scheduled to expire on October 18, but the United States has stepped up its diplomatic efforts to make sure that arms sanctions remain in place indefinitely.

The international community also has other grounds for stopping the proliferation of antiaircraft systems from Iran. On July 16, the European Union Aviation Safety Agency extended its ban on all commercial overflights of Iranian-controlled airspace below 25,000 feet (7,620 meters) for another six months due to concerns about “hazardous security” there. The EU move—which reemphasized a directive originally issued by the U.S. Federal Aviation Administration—came just as an increasingly tense Iran put parts of its air defense system on high alert, and mere months after one of its SAM batteries accidentally shot down a Ukrainian airliner. Going forward, Washington should reassert its commitment to aviation safety in the region under Annex 17 to the Chicago Convention (“Safeguarding International Civil Aviation Against Acts of Unlawful Interference”), using the standards therein as justification to prevent Iran from exporting and controlling air defense systems that have already proven a threat to civil aviation.  

Farzin Nadimi is an associate fellow with The Washington Institute, specializing in the security and defense affairs of Iran and the Gulf region.