أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

صراع الإرادات والرهانات بين الأردن وإسرائيل


متاح أيضاً في English

17 حزيران/يونيو 2020

على الرغم من الإشادة الدولية بإجراءات المملكة الأردنية الهاشمية في مواجهة جائحة فيروس كورونا، إلا أن صناع القرار لايزالون قلقين للغاية بشأن التداعيات الاقتصادية الوخيمة المحتملة جراء انتشار هذا الوباء. وفى هذا الإطار، أدى إعلان إسرائيل اعتزامها المضي قدمًا في ضم أجزاء كبيرة من الضفة الغربية وغور الأردن من جانب واحد، إلى إثارة قلق الأردن حيث جاء الإعلان في توقيت شديد الحساسية.

لم تكن تصريحات العاهل الأردني الملك عبدالله الثاني لمجلة "ديرشبيغل" الألمانية مستغربة حيث تضمنت تحذيرات محسوبة بدقة وشديدة اللهجة للولايات المتحدة وإسرائيل والمجتمع الدولي من مغبة تنفيذ إسرائيل لقرارها.

وعلى الرغم من تصريحات العاهل الأردني التي أكدت على حل الدولتين والتشكيك بالدولة الواحدة والتحذير من أن أول نتيجة لمخططات ضم الضفة الغربية وغور الأردن ستكون حل السلطة الوطنية الفلسطينية وما يترتب على ذلك من فوضى وتعزيز أسباب التطرف والإرهاب، ،إلا أن ما يستدعي التوقف عنده التحذير الذي أطلقه الملك عن وقوع صدام كبير مع إسرائيل "لا أريد إطلاق تهديدات ولا إشاعة مناخات من المشاحنات لكن اذا ما ضمت إسرائيل أجزاء من الضفة الغربية في تموز/يوليو ،فان ذلك سيؤدي صدام كبير مع المملكة الأردنية الهاشمية، ولدينا خيارات".

يبدو أن تقديرات القيادة الأردنية تشير إلى أن الحكومة الإسرائيلية ماضية في تنفيذ قرار الضم، خاصة مع سقوط الرهانات على تغييرات في النخبة الحاكمة بإسرائيل بعد انضمام "غانتس" لحكومة ائتلافية بقيادة نتنياهو الذي أصبح معها مستقبله السياسي مرتبط بشكل مباشر بقرار الضم. كما أن الرهانات على موقف إسرائيلي معارض لهذا الضم من قبل نخب إسرائيلية لم يعد مؤثرا للدرجة التي ستحول دون إنفاذ القرار، بما في ذلك التبدل في مواقف "غانتس"، رغم قناعات واسعة لدى هذه النخبة بان الضم سيرتب تبعات على إسرائيل ربما لا تستطيع تحملها في المستقبل.

إن رفع منسوب التحذيرات الأردنية وتوقيتها يأتي في سياقات مرتبط بالآليات التي يراها الأردن قادرة على منع قرار الضم من المضي قدمًا. فالقيادة الأردنية تدرك أن مقاربة الضم الإسرائيلية بالطريقة التي يطرحها نتنياهو لا تحظى بقبول كامل في أوساط الإدارة الأمريكية، التي تدرك أن الدول العربية لا تستطيع تأييد القرار الإسرائيلي أو حتى السكوت عنه. وعلى الرغم من أن قرار الضم قد تم تحريكه بموجب بعض بنود "صفقة القرن" التي اقترحها ترامب، إلا انه من الواضح أن المقاربة الأمريكية تستند إلى مبدأ أن كل ما يتم التخطيط له يجب أن يكون نتيجة لاتفاق يعقب مفاوضات مع الجانب الفلسطيني وبقية الأطراف المعنية.

وقد يبدو هذا المبدأ صحيحًا بشكل خاص نظرًا لما قدمته الإدارة الأمريكية من سخاء وانحياز لإسرائيل عبر صفقة القرن من خلال استبعاد ملفي القدس واللاجئين من على طاولة أية مفاوضات إسرائيلية – فلسطينية قادمة، وهو ما أكدت علية زيارة وزير الخارجية الأمريكي لإسرائيل "بومبيو" مؤخرا- وهي زيارته الخارجية الأولى منذ جائحة كوفيد-19 العالمية-  الذي طالب نتنياهو بتأجيل قرار الضم إلى ما بعد الانتخابات الأمريكية المقرر عقدها تشرين الثاني / نوفمبر القادم.

الموقف الأمريكي تجاه الضم الإسرائيلي يخفي مستويات عميقة من الخلافات بين واشنطن وتل أبيب، على خلفية ذهاب نتنياهو بعيدا في التعاون مع الصين بمشاريع اقتصادية ضخمة، وإبرام بعض العقود الخاصة بتحلية مياه البحر مع شركات صينية مؤخرا. وقد يعتبرها الرئيس ترامب الذي يخوض حروبا "اقتصادية" مع الصين حتى ما قبل كورونا، طعنة من قبل نتنياهو الذي يبدو انه خارج التحالف الأمريكي الذي يتشكل ضد الصين، وذلك في الوقت الذي كان فيه ترامب الأكثر سخاءا مع نتنياهو عبر صفقة القرن، والاعتراف بضم الجولان السوري لإسرائيل.

يستند الأردن في موقفه من قرار الضم إلى قرار “عربي" رسمي في إطار الجامعة العربية وقممها، يعلن حتى تاريخه على الأقل رفضه لقرار الضم وأية إجراءات أحادية الجانب، يتم اتخاذها بدون موافقة الجانب الفلسطيني، وقد سارعت القيادة الفلسطينية بشقيها السلطة في رام الله وحماس في قطاع غزة لإعلان تأييدها للتصريحات التي أطلقها العاهل الأردني. ومع ذلك، تدرك القيادة الأردنية أن العواصم المؤثرة في صناعة القرار العربي” تتساوق" مع بعض مقاربات صفقة القرن، وما تردد من تعاطي بصورة أو بأخرى مع بعض مخرجاتها بما في ذلك المليارات المخصصة للتنمية في الضفة الغربية وقطاع غزة وبعض دول المنطقة.

كما يراهن الأردن على مواقف دولية لروسيا والصين والاتحاد الأوروبي التي تؤكد التزامها بحل الدولتين، وترفض المساس بالاتفاقات الدولية، وقد عبر الأوربيون عن موقف رافض لقرار الضم الإسرائيلي تضمن تهديدات بفرض عقوبات على تل أبيب.

رغم اللهجة الشديدة التي استخدمها العاهل أردني بما في ذلك مفهوم" الصدام" والحديث عن خيارات لم يفصح عنها الملك في مقابلته مع مجلة "ديرشبيغل" إلا أن المؤكد أن تلك الخيارات لن تصل إلى مستوى المواجهة العسكرية بين الجانبين، ويبدو أن رسالة الملك تصل لمستوى التهديد بإعادة النظر بمعاهدة السلام الموقعة مع إسرائيل منذ عام 1994. ومنذ ذلك الحين، لجاء الأردن إلى استخدم عدة تكتيكات للضغط على إسرائيل، منها وقف التعاون الأمني معها وتجميد تنفيذ ما تبعها من اتفاقيات بما فيها اتفاقية شراء الغاز من إسرائيل والتي تم البت بعدم جواز إلغائها من قبل المحكمة الدستورية بعد تنسيب من مجلس النواب الأردني بإلغاء تلك الاتفاقية.

ومع ذلك، تعتمد الرهانات الأساسية للقيادة الأردنية على قدرتها على كسب المزيد من الوقت قبل أن تقرر إسرائيل اتخاذ أي إجراء لتنفيذ قرار الضم في تموز/ يوليو القادم. كما أن هناك الكثير من المسؤولين الأمريكيين الذين أصبحوا على قناعة بان تنفيذ إسرائيل لقرار الضم سيطلق العنان مجددا للفوضى والإرهاب، وستكون إسرائيل أول المتضررين منها وعلى أكثر من صعيد. كما ستشهد حكومة نتنياهو التحولات الديموغرافية التي تخشاها وستكون مسؤولة مسؤولية كاملة أمام للقانون الدولي حيث أن الأمر يتعلق باحتلال إقليمي.

لم تعلن القيادة الأردنية صراحة عن الخطوات التي قد تتخذها حال تنفيذ قرار الصم ، لكن المعطيات واستنادا لثوابت السياسة الأردنية ومرونتها التاريخية واعتمادها الخيارات الدبلوماسية فمن المرجح أن تذهب إلى ثلاثة مستويات، الاول: عربي من خلال الجامعة العربية وعبر اتصالات ثنائية مع السلطة الفلسطينية ومصر، والاستفادة من الموقف الخليجي المعلن الرافض للضم، والثاني إقليمي، إذ أن دولا مثل تركيا وايران وبقية الدول الإسلامية ما زالت عند موقفها بالالتزام بمقاربة حل الدولتين وعلى حدود الرابع من حزيران، فيما المستوى الثالث يستند إلى جهود دولية باتجاه أوساط أمريكية رافضة للضم ليس في اطار إدارة الرئيس ترامب فقط بل ولدى الأغلبية الديمقراطية في الكونغرس، إضافة لمواقف أوروبا وروسيا والصين مع الأخذ بعين الاعتبار تفاوت الأوزان النسبية للمستويات الثلاثة في قدرتها التأثيرية على النوايا الإسرائيلية.

وبالاستناد للإشارات الجديدة الواردة من الإدارة الأمريكية تجاه “التحفظ" على قرار حكومة نتنياهو فان من المناسب أن تمضي الإدارة الأمريكية بمزيد من الضغط على الحكومة الإسرائيلية وإقناعها أن أية خطوات أحادية من جانب إسرائيل لن يكتب لها النجاح، وستزيد أعضاء نادي الرافضين للسلام في المنطقة، وتقوى من خطاب القوى الراديكالية. إن تأكيدات واشنطن على العلاقة الاستراتيجية مع الأردن، بما فها الدعم المالي الأمريكي للأردن، لا تكفي لتهدئة الهواجس الأردنية المترتبة ليس على ضم الضفة الغربية والأغوار، وليس لدى الأردن رغبة ولا قدرة على قبول مثل هكذا السيناريو، خاصة بالنظر إلى تأثيره المحتمل على الأردن وفي مقدمتها تهجير المزيد من سكان الضفة الغربية إلى الأردن بالإضافة للمساس بقضايا مرتبطة بالأمن الوطني الأردني المرتبطة بالحا النهائي.

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

A Contest of Wills–and Wagers–between Jordan and Israel


Also available in العربية

June 17, 2020

Despite the international praise Jordan has received for the measures it introduced to combat the spread of coronavirus, the country’s policy makers remain deeply worried about the likely dire economic fallout from the pandemic. In this context, the Israeli announcement that it plans to proceed with unilateral annexation of large parts of the West Bank and the Jordan valley, already a grave concern for Jordanians, comes at a particularly sensitive time.

It comes as no surprise, then, that in statements made to the German magazine Der Spiegel, the Hashemite King Abdullah II issued carefully and strongly worded warnings to the United States, Israel, and the international community over the consequences of implementing Israel’s decision to move towards annexation.

The Jordanian monarch reaffirmed his support for a two-state solution and cast doubt on the one-state alternative, forewarning that the first result of annexation would be the dissolution of the Palestinian National Authority, which would lead to chaos and the strengthening of extremist and terrorist groups. At the same time, he called for the need to prevent the escalation of conflict with Israel: “I do not wish to issue threats or create a climate of hostility between our nations, but if Israel annexes parts of the West Bank in July, this will provoke a major clash with the Hashemite Kingdom of Jordan, and we have options at our disposal.”

The actions of the Jordanian leadership suggests that it is taking seriously the potential that the Israeli government will move ahead with plans for territorial expansion. One of the catalysts for this view was the collapse of hopes for a change in political leadership in Israel after Gantz joined a Netanyahu-led coalition, thereby linking his political future directly to the agenda of annexation. The powers that be in Israel also seem to be betting on the fact that any domestic opposition to the annexation plan will no longer be effective in preventing its implementation, as corroborated by Gantz’s shift in stance. This is despite the widespread belief among political elites that annexation will have consequences for Israel that it may not be able to bear in the future.

The escalation and timing of Jordanian warnings is linked to the mechanisms it sees as still able to prevent annexation from going forward. Jordanian leadership is aware that Netanyahu’s vision does not enjoy the full support of the White House. U.S. officials know that Arab countries will not remain silent over Israeli annexation, let alone lend their approval to it. And though annexation was triggered by sections in Trump’s “Deal of the Century,” Americans clearly believe that any territorial reorganization must be the result of an agreement reached after negotiations with the Palestinians and other involved parties.

This principle should hold especially true given the generous concessions Trump granted Israel in his proposed plan, which took the issues of Jerusalem and refugees off the table of future Israeli-Palestinian negotiations. A recent visit to Israel by U.S. Secretary of State Pompeo—his first foreign visit since the global COVID-19 pandemic—called on Netanyahu to postpone any decision on annexation until after U.S. elections scheduled for next November.

The U.S. position on Israeli annexation may also be influenced by other differences between Washington and Tel Aviv. Netanyahu is pursuing close cooperation with China on huge economic projects, with a major desalination contract being the most recent example. This is likely seen by President Trump, who has been fighting a trade war with Beijing since before the coronavirus outbreak, as a stab in the back. Israeli economic cooperation with China is all the more remarkable given everything the Americans have offered Netanyahu through their “Deal of the Century” and recognition of Israel’s annexation of the Syrian Golan.

Meanwhile, the Jordanian position is based on the official declarations of the Arab League, which has, at least to date, condemned Israeli annexation and any unilateral action taken without the consent of the Palestinians. Both the Palestinian Authority in Ramallah and Hamas in the Gaza Strip have rushed to announce their support for the statements made by King Abdullah II. At the same time, Jordanian officials recognize that the major powers involved in formulating an “Arab” response to Israel’s annexation ambitions will stand to benefit from certain aspects of the “Deal of the Century” in one way or another. These include projects for development in the West Bank, Gaza Strip, and several countries in the region for which billions of dollars have been earmarked.

Jordan is also betting on the international stances of Russia, China, and the European Union, which remain committed to the two-state solution and refuse to compromise on international agreements. The Europeans have coupled their opposition to Israeli annexation with the threat of sanctions against Tel Aviv.

Notwithstanding the strong rhetoric employed by the Jordanian monarch, including his use of the term “clash” and reference to “options” to respond to annexation that he did not elaborate on further in his interview with Der Spiegel, it is certain that Jordan’s calculus will not reach the level of military confrontation. Instead, it seems the King’s message was designed to express the willingness of the Jordanian government to reexamine the peace treaty it signed with Israel in 1994. This same threat was made by the late King Hussein when Mossad attempted to assassinate Hamas leader Khaled Mashal in Jordan in 1997. Since then, the Hashemite establishment has used other pressure tactics such as halting security cooperation with Israel and freezing the implementation of agreements, including an attempt to freeze one that allowed Jordan to purchase gas from Israel. In the latter case, however, the Jordanian Constitutional Court ruled that it was not permissible to cancel the agreement despite a parliamentary recommendation to do so.

That being said, the Jordanian leadership’s main bets rely on being able to buy more time before Israel decides to take any action to implement its proposed annexation next July. A number of U.S. officials have become convinced that such a move will most certainly unleash a new wave of chaos and terrorism in the region. Moreover, Israel will be the first to bear the brunt of these consequences on multiple levels: Netanyahu’s government will witness the very demographic shifts it fears and be held accountable to the full force of international law as it pertains to territorial occupation.

The Jordanian leadership has not openly announced the steps that it may take to prevent the implementation of the annexation decision. But based on Jordan’s overarching policies, its historical flexibility, and its reliance on diplomatic options, Jordan has three levels of responses it may pursue in the near future. First, it may seek the support of Arab states through appealing to the Arab league, engaging in bilateral communication with the Palestinian authority and Egypt, and boosting its own view from the Gulf position, which is rejecting the annexation decision in an increasingly public manner. On the regional level, it may seek the support of Islamic states such as Turkey, which adhere to two-state solution approach based on the borders of June 4. The third level involves seeking the support of both parties in the United States, focusing on some elements within Trump’s administration as well as the support of the majority of the Democratic Party, while also attempting to rally the international support of China, Russia, and Europe. In this context, Jordan will likely take into consideration the varied weights of these three levels in their ability influence on Israeli intentions in order to leverage the situation.

Based on new indications that the Trump administration is urging Netanyahu to exercise “restraint” vis-à-vis its annexation plan, it would be wise for the United States to move forward with putting more pressure on the Israeli government. The aim here should be to persuade Tel Aviv against taking any unilateral steps, which will only serve to bolster the cause of those opposed to peace in the region while reinforcing the discourse of radical groups. Assurances from Washington about its strategic relationship with Jordan—even including the major financial support to the Hashemite Kingdom—are not enough to allay Jordanian concerns regarding the repercussions of an Israeli annexation of the West Bank and Jordan Valley. Jordan has no interest nor ability to accept such a scenario, especially given its likely impact on Jordan: displacement of more West Bank residents to Jordan along with the compromising of Jordan’s own national security.

Customize your RSS Feed