أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

مقارنة استطلاعات الرأي العربية حول ترامب والسياسة الأمريكية وإسرائيل وإيران وغيرها


متاح أيضاً في English فارسی

9 أيار/مايو 2019

تهيمن اليوم مبادرتان ميّزتا إدارة ترامب على السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط وهما: "الضغط الأقصى" ضد إيران، والسعي إلى إنجاز "صفقة القرن" للسلام الإسرائيلي-الفلسطيني. وفي الأسابيع الأخيرة، رفعت واشنطن سقف الرهان على كلتيهما. فشددت العقوبات النفطية ضد إيران، وصنّفت كامل "الحرس الثوري الإيراني" كمنظمة إرهابية. كما أعلنت أن خطة السلام الإسرائيلي-الفلسطيني، التي استغرق إعدادها أكثر من عامين، سيُكشَف عنها قريبًا بعد رمضان، الذي يبدأ في الأسبوع القادم.

في كلا المجالين، سيعتمد النجاح أو الفشل إلى حدٍ كبير على التعاون الذي يُبديه الشركاء الأساسيون المحتملون من الدول العربية إزاء السياسة الأمريكية. فسيُطلب منهم قريبًا مساندة هاتيْن المبادرتين بواسطة الدعم المالي والدعم على صعيديْ إنتاج النفط وإنفاذ العقوبات والدعم الدبلوماسي. وسيعتمد تعاونهم بدوره جزئيًّا على أداء هذه السياسات في "الشارع العربي" – الذي استعاد مؤخرًا نشاطه المتّضح في الثورات الجديدة الجارية في الجزائر والسودان، بالإضافة إلى الاحتجاجات الكبيرة في الشارع في مختلف المواقع الإقليمية الأخرى.

لكنّ المدهش هو أن استطلاعات الرأي تكشف ارتفاع مستوى التأييد الشعبي العربي لكلا هاتيْن السياستين الإقليمتيْن اللتين تحملان توقيع الولايات المتحدة أي: القساوة في الكلام والأفعال ضد إيران، وحشد دعم الدول العربية للتوصل إلى اتفاقية تسوية تاريخية بين الإسرائيليين والفلسطينيين. وتغدو هذه النتائج موثوقة وجديرة بالملاحظة أكثر من أي وقتٍ مضى، لأن المستجوَبين يُبدون بشكلٍ عام آراءً سلبية إزاء كلٍ من الرئيس الأمريكي دونالد ترامب شخصيًّا، والقيمة الكلّيّة لحُسن العلاقات العربية مع الولايات المتحدة.

في أواخر سنة 2018، تم استجواب عيّنات نموذجية وطنية من ست دول عربية في مقابلاتٍ شخصية أجرتها شركة استطلاع تجارية إقليمية رائدة، بناءً على تفويض "معهد واشنطن". وتوفّر هذه الاستطلاعات البيانات الملموسة الأحدث والأكثر موثوقية حول الرأي العام العربي بشأن مجموعة من المسائل الجدلية. وتُظهر الإجابات من الإمارات العربية المتحدة والسعودية والكويت والأردن ولبنان ومصر اختلافات كبيرة في الرأي داخل معظم البلدان حول المسائل المحلّيّة. لكنّ الآراء بشأن الجهات الفاعلة الخارجية، ولا سيما بشأن الخطوتيْن الأبرز في السياسة الخارجية الأمريكية في الوقت الحالي، تتماشى على الأرجح مع السياسة الخارجية الرسمية لكل دولة.

الثلثان أو أكثر من الثلثين مع تحفيز عملية السلام الإسرائيلي-الفلسطيني

الجدير بالملاحظة هو أن معظم المستجوَبين العرب أبدوا اهتمامًا باضطلاع الدول العربية بدورٍ أكبر في حل النزاع الفلسطيني-الإسرائيلي – كما من خلال "توفير حوافز لكلٍ من الطرفيْن من أجل تعديل مواقفهما". (ملاحظة: لم يتم استطلاع آراء اللبنانيين بشأن هذه المسائل، بل بشأن سياسات "حزب الله" بدلًا من ذلك). وفي الواقع، فيما يبدو أن الكويتيين هم أقل من يدعم هذه الجهود، وافق 63 في المئة حتى هناك على هذه الفكرة أقله نوعًا ما. وتراوحَ هذا الرقم في البلدان الأخرى من 71 في المئة (مصر) إلى 76 في المئة (الأردن).

تشير هذه النتائج بوضوح إلى الدعم الشعبي لعملية صنع السلام الإسرائيلي-الفلسطيني أكثر بكثير من دعم العلاقات الثنائية مع إسرائيل. ويترتب أيضًا عن ذلك أن التقدم باتجاه السلام سيحسّن إلى حدٍ كبير المناخ لتلك العلاقات. فكما هي الحال، يعارض عددٌ كبيرٌ من الإماراتيين والكويتيين والأردنيين والمصريين بشدة جهود التعاون مع إسرائيل الآن، قبل إحلال السلام مع الفلسطينيين – سواء في مجال التكنولوجيا أو مكافحة الإرهاب أو احتواء إيران. وثمة مع ذلك بعض التعاون القائم بهدوء مع عددٍ من هذه البلدان، بالإضافة إلى معاهدة السلام القائمة منذ زمن والتعاون الأمني بين إسرائيل وكلٍ من مصر والأردن.

في الوقت نفسه، يوافق حوالى 20-25 في المئة من المصريين والأردنيين والإماراتيين والسعوديين أقلّه "نوعًا ما" على أن الدول العربية يجب أن تعمل مع إسرائيل، حتى من دون الإشارة إلى الفلسطينيين. مع ذلك، لا يوافق نصف المستجوَبين المصريين أبدًا على ذلك، وقد حققت هذه الإجابة النسبة الأعلى مقارنةً بالبلدان الأخرى. ويبدو مرة أخرى أن الكويتيين هم أقل من يمكن أن يوافق على هذه الفكرة، مع نسبة لا تتجاوز 13 في المئة.

 

 

 

الجماهير العربية تشارك حكوماتها في النفور من إيران

في ما يخص السياسة الأمريكية الأساسية الأخرى في المنطقة اليوم، إن نتائج هذا الاستطلاع أكثر تشجيعًا بعد. فلا يعتقد إلا 11 في المئة من السعوديين، و13 في المئة من الإماراتيين، و17 في المئة من الكويتيين أن العلاقات مع إيران هي ’مهمة نوعًا ما‘ أو ’مهمة جدًّا‘ – وتم تسجيل النسبة الأخيرة رغم الجهود المتواصلة التي تبذلها الحكومة الكويتية للحفاظ على العلاقات السليمة مع طهران. وحتى في لبنان، تعتقد أغلبية صغيرة من المستجوَبين (53 في المئة) أن العلاقات مع إيران هي إمّا ’غير مهمة نوعًا ما‘ وإما ’غير مهمة إطلاقًا‘ – رغم أن رأي الثلث الشيعي من السكان أكثر إيجابية بكثير. ويقول معظم المستجوَبين في كافة البلدان الأخرى باستثناء مصر (بنسبة 44 في المئة) إن تلك العلاقات مع الجمهورية الإسلامية "غير مهمة إطلاقًا".

تصنيف ضعيف أيضًا لحلفاء إيران، رغم دعم الشيعة لـ"حزب الله"

من بين الأغلبية السنية في البلدان الستة حيث جرى استطلاع الرأي، لم يحظَ أيضًا حلفاء إيران الإقليميون من أتباع الطائفة بالشعبية أبدًا. ففي تحوّلٍ ملحوظ بالنسبة إلى السنوات التي سبقت الحرب الأهلية في سوريا، انخفض الآن الدعم السني لـ"حزب الله" اللبناني إلى أرقام أحادية – إلا داخل لبنان نفسه، حيث يبلغ بالكاد عشرة في المئة. حتى أن الآراء التي تدعم الحوثيين في اليمن أدنى بعد.

لكن بشكلٍ عام، يرتفع مستوى دعم المستجوَبين الشيعة لـ"حزب الله" إلى حدٍ كبير. فيمكن تفهّم أن نسبة الشيعة اللبنانيين الذين يُبدون رأيًا إيجابيًّا إزاء "حزب الله" تشكّل أغلبيةً ساحقةً. غير أن أغلبية الشيعة السعوديين (55 في المئة)، وتقريبًا نصف الشيعة الإماراتيين، يعربون أيضًا عن وجهات نظر إيجابية إزاء هذه المنظمة، فعبر أكثر من 20 في المئة في كلا المجموعتيْن عن منظور ’إيجابي جدًّا‘ تجاه "حزب الله".

في المقابل، لا يعرب إلا حوالى ربع الشيعة الإماراتيين والكويتيين، ومجرد 15 في المئة من الشيعة السعوديين، عن أي روابط إيجابية مع حليف آخر من حلفاء إيران الشيعة يقع على مسافة أقرب بكثير إلى الوطن وهو: حوثيّو اليمن. وبالفعل، ينظر نصف المستجوَبين الشيعة تقريبًا من كافة البلدان الثلاثة إلى الحوثيين ’بشكلٍ سلبي جدًّا‘.

الولايات المتحدة تهزم روسيا في الأهمية الملحوظة – لكن ليس بنسبة كبيرة
تتفق أيضًا البلدان الخليجية التي جرى الاستطلاع فيها بشكلٍ كامل تقريبًا في ما يخص أهمية العلاقات مع روسيا، وتتفق بنسبة أقل، في ما يخص تلك مع الولايات المتحدة. ففي كلٍ من الإمارات والكويت، تَعتبر نسبة أعلى بقليل من المستجوَبين أن الولايات المتحدة مهمة. لكن يمكن ملاحظة أن عددًا أكبر من الكويتيين يرون أن الولايات المتحدة "مهمة جدًّا" (27 في المئة) مقارنةً بروسيا (18 في المئة). ويبدو أن المستجوَبين المصريين اعتقدوا أكثر من المستجوبين الخليجيين في الواقع أن العلاقات مع الولايات المتحدة مهمة، ولم يقدّروا العلاقات مع روسيا بقدر نظرائهم في الخليج.

بالفعل، كان لبنان البلد الوحيد حيث اعتبرت نسبة أكبر من المستجوبين أن روسيا ’مهمة جدًّا‘ (27 في المئة) مقابل الولايات المتحدة (11 في المئة)، ربما بسبب النفوذ الكبير الذي تمارسه روسيا في سوريا المجاورة.

كان الأردنيون أكثر انعزالًا عن الخارج، فلم يعتقد معظمهم أن العلاقات مع إيران أو روسيا أو الولايات المتحدة مهمة على الإطلاق. حتى أن أقليةً من الأردنيين تبلغ 37 في المئة فحسب ترى أهمية البلد المجاور للأردن وشريكها التجاري الكبير أي العراق. ومع أن الأردن هي حليف قديم للولايات المتحدة، لا يعطي الأردنيون للعلاقات مع أمريكا أهمية كبيرة بقدر كلٍ من الخليجيين أو المصريين. لكن لا يعطي الأردنيون النفوذ الروسي تفضيلًا أكبر، بما أن 5 في المئة فحسب يعطون بعض الأهمية لهذه العلاقات.

لا يحظَ أيٌّ من ترامب وبوتين بالشعبية؛ أردوغان هو من يقود القطيع

مع ذلك، تختلف الآراء بشأن الزعماء الأجانب إلى حدٍ كبير عن الآراء بشأن العلاقات مع بلدانهم. فيُعرب معظم المستجوبين عن وجهة نظر سلبية إزاء كلٍ من الرئيس الأمريكي دونالد ترامب والرئيس الروسي فلاديمير بوتين. ويمكن الملاحظة بسهولة أن آراء اللبنانيين أكثر إيجابية بكثير إزاء كلا الزعيمين، رغم أن الآراء تختلف بشكلٍ ملحوظ بين اللبنانيين من مختلف الطوائف. ففي حين تعرب أغلبية كبيرة من الشيعة اللبنانيين عن وجهة نظر إيجابية إزاء بوتين، هذا ما تفعله أيضًا أقليات كبيرة من المسيحيين والدروز – ويعود السبب من دون شك إلى دعمه القوي للنظام السوري المجاور.

وللسبب نفسه، ينظر مجرد 13 في المئة من السنة في لبنان إلى بوتين بشكلٍ إيجابي. ويُبدي أكثر من ثلث السنة اللبنانيين رأيًا إيجابيًّا نوعًا ما على الأقل إزاء ترامب، وهي نسبة أعلى من أي مجموعة أخرى خضعت للاستطلاع، يتبعها المسيحيون اللبنانيون. ويعطي الأقباط المصريون أيضًا تصنيفات إيجابية نسبيًّا لترامب، بنسبة 20 في المئة.

على عكس ترامب وبوتين، يبرز أردوغان كزعيم إقليمي شعبي بشكلٍ ملحوظ في الكويت والأردن، فيما تشعر أيضًا أقلية كبيرة من المستجوبين في البلدان الأخرى برابط إيجابي معه. والرئيس الصيني شي هو الزعيم الذي يتعرّف إليه المستجوبون بأقل نسبة، لا سيما في الخليج ومصر، وتنقسم الآراء شيئًا ما بين الإيجابية والسلبية. وإنّ الدعم الذي يحظى به أردوغان ملحوظ إلى حدٍ كبير، فيما يواصل الرئيس التركي صياغة دورٍ تنشط فيه تركيا أكثر في الشرق الأوسط.

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

Comparing Arab Polls on Trump, U.S. Policy, Israel, Iran and More


Also available in العربية

May 9, 2019

Two signature Trump Administration initiatives dominate U.S. Mideast policy today: “maximum pressure” against Iran and pursuit of an Israeli-Palestinian peace “deal of the century.”  In recent weeks, Washington has upped the ante on both. It has tightened oil sanctions against Iran and designated the entire Iranian Revolutionary Guard Corps as a terrorist organization. It has also announced that its Israeli-Palestinian peace plan, more than two years in the making, would be revealed soon after Ramadan, which begins next week.

In both domains, success or failure will depend in significant measure on cooperation from key potential Arab state partners for American policy. They will soon be asked to back these initiatives with financial, oil production, sanctions enforcement, and diplomatic support. Their cooperation, in turn, will depend partly on how these policies play on the “Arab street” – which has lately revived the activism evident in new, ongoing revolutions in Algeria and Sudan, along with significant street protests in various other regional locations. 

Surprisingly, however, polls reveal a high level of Arab popular approval for both of these signature U.S. regional policies: tough talk and action against Tehran, and enlisting Arab state support for an historic Israeli-Palestinian compromise agreement.  These findings are all the more noteworthy, and credible, because respondents generally voice unfavorable views both of U.S. President Donald Trump personally, and of the overall value of good Arab relations with the United States. 

In late 2018, representative national samples in six Arab states responded to personal interviews conducted by a leading regional commercial survey firm, as commissioned by the Washington Institute. These surveys provide the most recent and reliable hard data about Arab public opinion on a range of controversial questions. Answers from the United Arab Emirates, Saudi Arabia, Kuwait, Jordan, Lebanon, and Egypt demonstrate significant differences in opinion within most countries on domestic issues.  But views on outside actors, and particularly on the two most salient U.S. foreign policy moves right now, are more likely to line up with each state’s official foreign policy.

Two-Thirds or More Would Incentivize Israeli-Palestinian Peace
Remarkably, most Arab respondents were interested in Arab states playing a larger role in resolving the Palestinian-Israeli conflict—including by “providing incentives for both sides to moderate their positions.” (Note: Lebanese respondents were not polled on these questions, and were instead polled on Hezbollah policies). In fact, while Kuwaitis are the least likely to support such efforts, a full 63 percent even there agreed at least somewhat with this idea.  In other countries that figure ranged from 71 percent (Egypt) to 76 percent (Jordan).

These results clearly suggest much more popular support for Israeli-Palestinian peacemaking than for bilateral ties with Israel today. The implication is also that progress toward peace would substantially improve the climate for such ties. As it is, a plurality of Emiratis, Kuwaitis, Jordanians, and Egyptians strongly disagree with efforts to cooperate with Israel now, before peace with the Palestinians—whether in technology, counterterrorism, or containing Iran.  This is despite some quiet existing cooperation with several of these countries, and Israel’s longstanding peace treaty and security coordination with both Egypt and Jordan.

At the same time, around 20-25 percent of Egyptians, Jordanians, Emiratis, and Saudis agree at least “somewhat” that Arab states should already work with Israel, even without reference to the Palestinians. Still, a full half of Egyptian respondents disagree strongly, the highest such response from any country. Again, Kuwaitis are the least likely, at a mere 13 percent, to agree with this idea.

Arab Publics Share Their Governments' Antipathy Toward Iran
Concerning the other key U.S. policy in the region today, these survey findings are even more encouraging.  Only 11 percent of Saudis, 13 percent of Emiratis, and 17 percent of Kuwaitis believe that relations with Iran are ‘somewhat’ or ‘very important’—the latter despite the Kuwaiti government’s continued efforts to maintain correct relations with Tehran. Even in Lebanon, the slight majority of respondents (53 percent) believe that relations with Iran are either ‘somewhat unimportant’ or ‘not important at all’—although the Shiite third of that population have a vastly more favorable view. The majority of respondents in all other countries except Egypt (at 44 percent) say that relations with the Islamic Republic are “not important at all.”

Iran's Allies Also Rated Poorly, Though Shiites Support Hezbollah
Among the Sunni majority in the six countries polled, Iran’s sectarian regional allies are also extremely unpopular.  In a remarkable turnaround from the years just before Syria’s civil war, Sunni support for Lebanon’s Hezbollah is now in the low single digits – except inside Lebanon itself, where it barely hits ten percent.   Favorable views of Yemen’s Houthis are even lower.

In general, however, Shiite respondents’ support for Hezbollah is quite high. The proportion of Lebanese Shiites who express a positive view with Hezbollah is understandably an overwhelming majority.  But the majority of Saudi Shiites (55 percent), and almost half of Emirati Shiites, also express positive views of this organization, with over 20 percent in both groups seeing Hezbollah in a ‘very positive’ light.

In contrast, only around a quarter of Emirati and Kuwaiti Shiites, and just 15 percent of Saudi Shiites, have any positive associations with another one of Iran’s Shiite allies, much closer to home: the Houthis of Yemen. Indeed, nearly half of Shiite respondents from all three countries view the Houthis ‘very negatively.’

United States Edges out Russia in Perceived Importance - But not by Much
The Gulf countries polled are also almost completely in agreement regarding the importance of relations with Russia and, to a lesser degree, with the United States. In both the Emirates and Kuwait, the United States is viewed as important by a slightly higher percentage of respondents. However, noticeably more Kuwaitis see the United States as “very important” (27 percent) compared with Russia (18 percent). Egyptian respondents were actually more likely to believe that relations with the United States were important, and less likely to value relations with Russia, than Gulf respondents.

Indeed, Lebanon is the only country with more respondents believing that Russia is ‘very important’ (27 percent) versus the United States (11 percent), probably due to the heavy influence Russia exerts in neighboring Syria.

Even more insular are the Jordanians, the majority of whom do not think relations with Iran, Russia, or the United States are important at all. Even Jordan’s neighbor and major trading partner Iraq is seen as important by just a 37 percent minority of Jordanians. And though Jordan is a longstanding U.S. ally, Jordanians are significantly less likely than either Gulfis or Egyptians to place much importance on relations with America. However, Jordanians are no more likely to prioritize Russian influence, as only 5 percent ascribe even some importance to those ties.

Trump and Putin are both Unpopular; Erdogan Leads the Pack

However, views on foreign leaders differ significantly from views on relations with their countries. Most respondents express a negative view of both U.S. President Donald Trump and Russian President Vladimir Putin. Lebanese stand out as having significantly more positive opinions of both leaders, although views differ markedly among Lebanese from different confessions. Whereas a large majority of Lebanese Shiites have a positive view of Putin, significant minorities of Christians and Druze also do so – undoubtedly due to his strong support of the neighboring Syrian regime.

For the same reason, a mere 13 percent of Lebanon’s Sunnis view Putin favorably. And over a third of Lebanese Sunnis have at least a somewhat positive opinion of Trump, the highest of any group polled, followed by Lebanese Christians. Egyptian Copts also give Trump relatively positive ratings, at 20 percent. 

In contrast to Trump and Putin, Erdogan is a markedly popular regional leader in Kuwait and Jordan, while also finding positive associations among a significant minority among respondents in the other countries as well. Chinese president Xi is the leader least likely to be recognized by respondents, especially in the Gulf and Egypt, and opinion is more or less split between positive and negative views. Erdogan’s significant degree of support is notable as the Turkish president continues to shape a more active role for Turkey in the Middle East.

 

 

Customize your RSS Feed