أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

الأردن تُحدث موازنة: مواجهة تحديات "صفقة القرن" التي أعدها ترامب


متاح أيضاً في English

12 شباط/فبراير 2020

كشفت إدارة ترامب في التاسع والعشرين من شهر يناير الماضي النقاب عن الشق السياسي من ل “صفقة القرن" التي طال انتظارها. وجاءت تلك الخطة بعد ستة أشهر من ورشة المنامة التي عُقدت في البحرين والتي ركزت على الشق الاقتصادي، والذي تضمنت اقتراحات شملت استثمارات ومشاريع بنية تحتية في فلسطين بقيمة 50 مليار دولار. وقد أشارت وثيقة خطة السلام المقترحة إلى وضع القدس على أنها "العاصمة الموحدة لإسرائيل"، لكنها تحدثت أيضًا عن قيام دولة فلسطينية جديدة منزوعة السلاح في غزة وحوالي ثلثي أراضي الضفة الغربية التي يربطهما سلسلة من الطرق والأنفاق.

وعلى الرغم من أن الأردن لم ترفض الخطة بشكل مباشر إلا أنها تمسكت ببعض التحفظات حيث أصرت على إبقاء بعض الشروط السابقة لأي اتفاقية سلام جديدة مع إسرائيل، كما ظهر ملك الأردن عبدالله على "قناة المملكة" معلقا على الخطة الأمريكية قائلًا: "موقفنا معروفٌ جدًّا. لن نوافق على أي اقتراحات تأتي على حسابنا". وعلى الرغم من تحفظ الأردن على ما جاء في الخطة الأمريكية، إلا انه سيعمل على الحفاظ على معادلة متوازنة يجمع فيها بين موقفه الثابت من الصراع الفلسطيني الإسرائيلي المتمثل بالشرعية الدولية وحل الدولتين وقيام دولة فلسطينية عاصمتها القدس الشرقية ودعم السلطة الفلسطينية والتنسيق معها وبين متطلبات الإدارة الأمريكية بعدم معارضة الجهود الأمريكية لتغيير السياسة الدائمة والمستقرة للسياسة الأمريكية في عملية السلام.

تأتى تلك التحفظات في إطار خوف الأردن من أن تؤدى خطة السلام المقترحة إلى تحويل الأردن لموطن للاجئين الفلسطينيين، وهو ما قد يخل بالتوازن الديمغرافي فيها، وقد يتحول البلد إلى دولة فلسطينية. كما تخشى الأردن من أن يقود اعلان ترامب لخطة السلام إلى تهديدات أمنية ومخاطر استراتيجية تؤدي إلى الإخلال بالسيادة الأردنية، حيث سينظر الأردن بقلق بالغ إلى احتمالية قيام السلطة الفلسطينية بوقف التنسيق الأمني مع إسرائيل، وهو ما يثير مخاوف أردنية من انتقال عناصر راديكالية إلى الضفة الغربية التي لها مصلحة في زعزعة الاستقرار هناك.

تخشى الأردن أيضا من أن تبدأ إسرائيل بشكل أحادي في تنفيذ الخطة وتقوم بضم وادي الأردن، ومستوطنات أخرى حددتها الخطة، وهو ما قد يؤدى إلى فصل الأردن عن الضفة الغربية. ومع ذلك، وبعد الإعلان الأولى لرئيس الوزراء الإسرائيلي بنيامين نتنياهو الذي أشار فيه إلى أن إسرائيل ستحاول ضم الأراضي من جانب واحد، يبدو أن تلك التصريحات مرتبطة بشكل متزايد بالموافقة الأمريكية المباشرة. وبعد الإعلان عن صفقة القرن بعدة أيام، استبعد جاريد كوشنر في مقابلة مع محطة) سي إن إن (أن تقوم الحكومة الإسرائيلية بهذه الخطوة.

تخشى الحكومة الأردنية أيضا من أن يؤدي الموقف الشعبي المنفعل إلى اضطرارها إلى كبح التعاون مع إسرائيل في مجالات حيوية مثل الطاقة والمياه والتجارة والتنسيق في المجال الأمني والعسكري، حيث يطالب البرلمان الأردني والنقابات العمالية والأحزاب الحكومة الأردنية بإلغاء بعض الاتفاقيات المبرمة مع إسرائيل مثل اتفاقية الغاز واتفاقية وادي عربة. ومع ذلك، ستحاول الحكومة الأردنية الحكومة الإيضاح للرأي العام أن الانسحاب من الاتفاقيات الثنائية مع إسرائيل سيضر بالأردن أكثر مما يضر بإسرائيل وسيُفقد الأردن قدرته على التأثير في ملف القضية الفلسطينية والأهم من ذلك فقدان موقعه كوصي على المقدسات الإسلامية.

تتأسس منهجية العمل الأردنية في مواجهة "صفقة القرن" على أساس تعظيم المكاسب وتقليل الخسائر، حيث ستعمل الأردن على تجنب الصدام مع الإدارة الأمريكية من خلال الفصل بين ملف العلاقات الاقتصادية والأمنية والحفاظ على الشراكة الأمريكية في محاربة الإرهاب والتعاون الأمني وملف خطة السلام.

وللأردن سجل جيد في هذا المجال حيث أعلن نائب الرئيس الأمريكي مايك بنس خلال زيارته للأردن في يناير ٢٠١٨ في نهاية محادثاته مع العاهل الأردني " اتفقنا أن نختلف مع الملك بشأن القدس " وكان العاهل الأردني وقتها قد حذّر من عواقب الخطوة التي اتخذها الرئيس ترامب بالاعتراف بالقدس عاصمة لإسرائيل واصفا إياها " بـ تهديد لاستقرار المنطقة".

وفى إطار سعى الأردن لتعظيم مكاسبه، سيعمل الأردن على تكريس وجودة كوصي على المقدسات الإسلامية في القدس وذلك وفقا للمادة ٢/٩ من معاهدة السلام الأردنية الإسرائيلية التي تم توقيعها في عام 1994. تعيد خطة السلام بين الأردن وإسرائيل التأكيد على الوضع القائم في عام 1994، ولكنها تنص أيضًا على أنه يجب على السلطات الأردنية التشاور مع إسرائيل في كل ما يتعلق بالمسجد الأقصى، ومن المحتمل أن تمنح هذه الخطوة الأردن فرصة أكبر للتأثير على مسار المفاوضات الفلسطينية الإسرائيلية المقبلة.

من المتوقع أيضا أن يقوم الأردن بدور نشيط وفعال بمشاركة مجموعة من الدول العربية لخلق البيئة المناسبة لجمع كل من الفلسطينيين والإسرائيليين على طاولة المفاوضات والعمل على إطلاق حوار جاد بين الطرفين، خاصة أن خطة البيت الأبيض للسلام قد دعت إلى وجوب الشروع في مفاوضات مباشرة بين الجانبين الإسرائيلي والفلسطيني ضمن إطار حل الدولتين وهو الحل الذي يتبناه الأردن. وإذا قدر لتلك المفاوضات أن تنطلق، يجب أن تعمل الأردن بالتنسيق مع السلطة الفلسطينية على الدفع بمصالحها الاقتصادية والسياسية وذلك من خلال توسيع بروتوكول التجارة بين الأردن والضفة الغربية وتسهيل وصول الصادرات الأردنية إلى الأسواق الفلسطينية وفِي مرحلة لاحقة إلى الأسواق الإسرائيلية، وزيادة حصة الأردن من مياه الشرب ضمن اتفاق أردني فلسطيني.

كان الأردن وما زال يمثل شريكا لا غنى عنه في معادلة السلام، حيث تظهر الأردن اهتماما بحضور جميع الفاعليات الدولية المرتبطة بالقضية الفلسطينية، وهي طرف أساسي في معادلة السلام لا يمكن الاستغناء عنه. ومن ثم، يجب على الولايات المتحدة اتخاذ الخطوات اللازمة لضمان استقرار الأردن، حيث أن استقرار الأردن أساسي لاستقرار الشرق الأوسط الكبير. ويتطلب ذلك أن تقوم الولايات المتحدة بتخصيص مساعدات مالية أكبر وتوصية شركائها في الخليج بزيادة الاستثمارات في المملكة فالاستقرار الاقتصادي والسياسي في الأردن الذي يعتمد اقتصاده بشكل أساسي على المساعدات الخارجية، سيساهم في تهدئة الجبهة الداخلية وسيمثل حافزا للأردن للعب دورا أكثر فاعلية وأكثر إيجابية في أي مفاوضات مرتقبة قد تنطلق ما بين الجانب الإسرائيلي والجانب الفلسطيني.

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

Jordan’s Balancing Act: Overcoming the Challenges Posed by Trump’s “Deal of the Century”


Also available in العربية

February 12, 2020

On January 29, the Trump administration unveiled the political aspect of the long-awaited ‘Deal of the Century.’ This announcement came six months after the Manama workshop in Bahrain, which focused on the Plan’s economic vision, including proposals for investment and infrastructure projects in Palestine worth around $50 billion. The newly unveiled Peace Plan referred to Jerusalem as “the unified capital of Israel,” but also called for the creation of a new, demilitarized Palestinian state consisting of the Gaza strip and approximately two-thirds of the West Bank—linked by a series of roads and tunnels.

While Jordan has not directly rejected the plan, it has maintained several reservations and insisted that any new peace agreement with Israel must uphold the previously agreed upon conditions. As King Abdullah II stated in an appearance on the Kingdom TV channel, “Our position is well known. We will not agree to any proposals that come at our expense.” Yet despite these reservations, the Hashemite government will likely attempt to maintain the balance between supporting the Palestinian Authority (PA) and the internationally backed two-state solution while avoiding opposition to Washington’s long-standing role in the peace process.

Jordan fears the proposed Peace Plan will lead to a greater influx of Palestinian refugees—upsetting the country’s demographic balance and ultimately turning it into a Palestinian state. Jordan is also anxious about the potential security threats and strategic risks that would endanger Jordanian sovereignty under the Trump Peace Plan. In this vein, the PA’s decision to discontinue its security coordination with Israel at the emergency meeting to discuss Trump’s plan has deeply concerned the Hashemite Kingdom, raising fears about radical elements that seek to destabilize the region moving into the West Bank.

There is also the major additional concern that Israel will start to implement Trump’s Plan unilaterally by annexing the Jordan Valley and other settlements specified in the document, thereby leaving Jordan cut off from the West Bank. Yet after an initial announcement from Israeli Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu that suggested Israel would attempt a unilateral annexation of the territory, subsequent statements appear increasingly tied to direct U.S. approval. And in the days following the announcement of the “Deal of the Century,” Jared Kushner—the plan’s architect—spoke with CNN and ruled out the possibility of such a unilateral move by the Israelis.

Hashemite officials also fear that public anger over the Plan will force them to curtail cooperation with Israel in vital sectors such as energy, water, trade, and military security. The Jordanian parliament, along with labor unions and parties, have demanded that their leaders cancel a number of agreements with Israel—including the gas deal and Wadi Araba agreement.

In turn, the Jordanian government will likely attempt to persuade public opinion that withdrawing from bilateral agreements with its western neighbor will harm Jordan more than it will harm Israel. Ultimately, Jordan would lose its ability to support the Palestinian cause and, more importantly, its historic role as a custodian of the Jerusalem holy sites by stepping out of said bilateral agreements.

More broadly, the Jordanian strategy vis-à-vis the “Deal of the Century” is all about maximizing gains and reducing losses. In this regard, the Hashemite Kingdom will likely avoid further disagreements with the United States by separating the politics of the Peace Plan from Jordan’s commitment to preserving its economic relations, security cooperation, and counter-terrorism partnership with Washington.

Jordan already holds a decent track record in this regard.  For example, following talks with the Jordanian monarch in January 2018, U.S. Vice President Mike Pence announced, “We’ve agreed to disagree with the King on Jerusalem.” At the same time, King Abdullah II warned President Trump of the consequences that come with recognizing Jerusalem as the capital of Israel, describing it as a “threat to the stability of the region.”

Jordan will also endeavor to strengthen its role as guardian of the Islamic holy sites in Jerusalem, as guaranteed by Article 9(2) of the 1994 Jordan-Israel Peace Treaty. The Peace Plan reaffirms the status quo set in 1994, but also stipulates that Jordanian authorities must consult with Israel in all matters concerning the Al-Aqsa Mosque—likely giving Jordan a greater chance to influence the course of the upcoming Palestinian-Israeli negotiations.

The Jordanian government is also expected to play an active role, with help from other Arab countries, in creating favorable circumstances for future dialogue between Palestinians and Israelis. Trump’s plan reiterated the need for direct talks between the two sides within the framework of a two-state solution—a solution that Jordan supports. If these negotiations are launched in the near future, Jordan must work to coordinate with the PA to advocate for the latter’s economic and political interests. This coordination between the PA and Jordan will expand the volume of trade between Jordan and the West Bank,  allow for easier access to Jordanian exports, eventually open up access to Israeli markets, and increase Jordan’s share of drinking water under a Jordanian-Palestinian agreement.

Jordan is an indispensable part of the peace equation, evidenced by Jordan’s strong presence at international events related to the Palestinian cause. Therefore, the United States must take the necessary steps to ensure Jordan’s stability, which remains essential to that of the broader Middle East. This requires that the United States to allocate greater monetary aid and encourage U.S. partners in the Gulf to increase investments in the Hashemite Kingdom. Economic and political stability in Jordan—whose economy depends primarily on foreign aid—will help allay domestic anxieties and motivate the government to play a more effective and positive role in any future negotiations between Israelis and Palestinians.

Customize your RSS Feed