أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

الفلسطينيون بمعظمهم يؤيدون الأردن – ومفاجآت أخرى كشف عنها استطلاع الرأي


متاح أيضاً في English

26 آب/أغسطس 2019

في استطلاعٍ مفصّل للرأي العام أجري الشهر الماضي، تبيّن أن معظم فلسطينيي الضفة الغربية وغزة يؤيدون العاهل الأردني الملك عبد الله ويلتمسون المساعدة من بلاده ويريدون من الأردن أن يضطلع بدور مهم في مستقبلهم – مع أن أقلية ضئيلة منهم فقط أيّدت قيام اتحاد كونفدرالي مع الأردن في المستقبل. أما في المسائل الأخرى، فأبدى الرأي العام الفلسطيني مرونةً مفاجئة في ما يتعلق بمسألة الأسرى ولكنه كشف عن صرامة مفاجئة بشأن القدس.

ثلاثة أرباع الفلسطينيين في الضفة الغربية وثلثي الفلسطينيين في غزة يؤيدون العاهل الأردني الملك عبد الله

حين سُئل المشاركون في الاستطلاع عن مختلف زعماء المنطقة والعالم، أبدت الغالبية الكبرى استحسانها للملك عبد الله حيث بلغت نسبة المؤيدين في غزة 68 في المائة ووصلت في الضفة الغربية إلى نسبة مذهلة هي 77 في المائة. والواقع أن هذه الأرقام المرتفعة تعادل تقريبًا الأرقام العائدة للرئيس التركي رجب طيب أردوغان الذي بات يعتبره الغرباء في غالبية الأحيان بمثابة بطلٍ للفلسطينيين. ومقارنةً به، يحظى الرئيس المصري السيسي بنسبة تأييد جيدة تصل إلى 55 في المائة من الغزاويين إنما لا تتعدى 16 في المائة من سكان الضفة الغربية.

أما ولي العهد السعودي الأمير محمد بن سلمان فحلّ متأخرًا من ناحية الآراء الإيجابية بنسبة 38 في المائة من الغزاويين و22 في المائة فقط من سكان الضفة الغربية. والمثير للاهتمام هو أن آية الله الخميني يحظى بنسبة التأييد نفسها تقريبًا بين الشعب الفلسطيني مع 38 في المائة في غزة و18 في المائة في الضفة الغربية.

وكذلك الأمر على المستوى الوطني وليس الشخصي فحسب، فقد أيّد 63 في المائة من سكان الضفة الغربية و51 في المائة من سكان غزة اضطلاع الأردن "بدورٍ مهم" في مستقبل فلسطين. في المقابل، سجّل تأييد الفلسطينيين في كلتا المنطقتين للمملكة العربية السعودية دون الأربعين في المائة. كما وأعربت أكثرية كبيرة في كل من الضفة الغربية (62 في المائة) وغزة (77 في المائة) عن إجماعها على أنه "في الوقت الحالي، يجب على الفلسطينيين التطلع أكثر إلى الحكومات العربية الأخرى كمصر أو الأردن للمساعدة في تحسين الوضع".

مع ذلك، قلةٌ منهم ترغب في اتحاد كونفدرالي مع الأردن، فيما يفضّل عددٌ أكبر قيام "دولة واحدة" مع إسرائيل

لكن هذا لا يعني أن الفلسطينيين يريدون إنشاء كيان موحّد أو حتى اتحاد كونفدرالي مع أيٍّ من الدول المجاورة لهم. فحين طُرح عليهم هذا الخيار إلى جانب خيارات الدولتين والدولة الواحدة وفلسطين كاملةً، لم يتخطَّ تأييدهم لقيام اتحاد كونفدرالي مع مصر أو الأردن "مع حكم ذاتي للفلسطينيين" الرقم الواحد (أي 9 في المائة في الضفة الغربية و5 في المائة في غزة ونسبة متدنية بشكل صاعق بلغت واحد في المائة من فلسطينيي القدس الشرقية).

بيد أن نسبة التأييد التي حشدها "حل الدولة الواحدة التي يتساوى فيها العرب واليهود في الحقوق ضمن دولة واحدة ممتدة من النهر إلى البحر" بلغت ضعفَي النسبة أعلاه مع أنها لا تزال تمثل أقلية صغيرة، مع 18 في المائة من سكان الضفة و12 في المائة من سكان غزة ونسبة مرتفعة بلغت 20 في المائة في القدس الشرقية. مع ذلك، توافق نسبة أكبر في هذه المناطق الثلاث كلها - أقله "نوعًا ما" - على هذا التأكيد المستفز جدًا وهو: «من الأفضل لنا أن نكون جزءًا من إسرائيل على أن نعيش في أراضٍ خاضعة للسلطة الفلسطينية أو حركة "حماس".» وهذا رأي عبّر عنه نصف الغزاويين، علمًا بأن ربع سكان الضفة والقدس الشرقية يؤيدونه حاليًا.

ربع السكان فقط يفضّلون انتفاضة جديدة على الخيارات الأخرى

في المناطق الثلاث التي أجري فيها الاستطلاع، يبرّر ثلثا السكان أو حتى أكثر الاعتداءات على المستوطنين والجنود ورجال الشرطة الإسرائيليين. وتصرّح أكثريات أضيق بأنها تؤيد "النزاع المسلح" بالمبدأ إذا ما خُيّروا في جوابهم بين "نعم" أم "كلا". ولكن عند إعطائهم مجموعة أكبر من الخيارات، من بينها المساعي الدبلوماسية أو التركيز الأكبر على الإصلاحات الداخلية، لم يُعرب إلا ربع سكان هذه المناطق كلها عن تفضيلهم تجدّد الانتفاضة ضد إسرائيل. وإن كانت هذه النقطة منافية للمنطق، فهي في الواقع مدعومة بإجابات بقيت ثابتة حتى عند اختلاف طريقة صياغة الأسئلة التي استخدمها الاستطلاع لقياس التفضيلات الشعبية الفعلية بدلاً من المواقف الخطابية المعتادة.

الأسرى أولويةٌ أدنى من مستواها المفترض في الغالب

في تناقض حادٍ آخر مع الاعتقادات الخاطئة السائدة أو المزاعم الحزبية، أعرب نصف الشعب تقريبًا في الضفة وغزة عن موافقته على العبارة القائلة: "يجب على السلطة الفلسطينية التوقف عن دفع الأموال الخاصة للأسرى وإعطاء عائلاتهم المنافع الاجتماعية العادية كسائر الناس". وتؤكد هذه النتيجة مرة أخرى النتائج غير المتوقعة التي تأتت عن الاستطلاعات السابقة، كما أنها تتماشى مع تراجع الأولوية المعطاة لمسألة إفراج إسرائيل عن الأسرى لإظهار حسن نيتها. وعندما طُرحت على المشاركين في الاستطلاع لائحةٌ بمثل هذه الخيارات في كل المناطق الثلاث، لم يختر إلا ربعٌ منهم هذه المسألة كأولى أولوياتهم.

في الوقت نفسه، لم يقل إلا نصف الشعب أنهم سمعوا حتى "نسبة معقولة" من المعلومات عن قانون تايلور فورس الأمريكي القاضي "بقطع المساعدات المقدمة للسلطة الفلسطينية بسبب دفعاتها للأسرى". وهذا يوحي بأن الكثير من الفلسطينيين لا يعزون مأساتهم الاقتصادية إلى الضغوط الأمريكية أو إلى سياسة حكومتهم المتشددة بشأن علاوات الأسرى.

لكن تقاسم القدس يشكل عائقًا أكبر مما يعتقده الكثيرون

كشفت هذه النتائج عن موقف اتّصف بتشدد غير متوقع في ما يتعلق بالقدس. فنحو نصف سكان الضفة وغزة أعربوا عن "موافقتهم بشدة" على العبارة القائلة: "يجب أن نطالب بالحكم الفلسطيني على القدس كاملةً، الشرقية منها والغربية، بدلاً من الموافقة على تقاسمها أو تقسيم أي جزء منها مع إسرائيل". ووافقت نسبة إضافية تراوحت بين 25 و30 في المائة مع هذا الموقف "نوعًا ما". وتأتي هذه النتائج الجديدة المفاجئة لتؤكد النتائج التي توصل إليها استطلاعٌ للرأي أجري عام 2017 إنما لم يتم إصداره باعتباره "ناشزًا" أو شذوذًا إحصائيًا آنذاك.

بالنسبة لبعض هؤلاء الفلسطينيين، من الممكن أن يعني هذا الموقف المتشدد بظاهره أن القدس تمثّل رمزًا سياسيًا أو دينيًا أكثر مما هي واقع مُعاش. لكن هذه النسب تكاد تكون مماثلة بالنسبة لفلسطينيي القدس الشرقية الذين يعملون ويتنقلون بحرية في غالبية القسم اليهودي من المدينة الواقع غرب حدود 1967. مع ذلك، أظهرت الاستطلاعات السابقة أنه عند طرح سؤال مماثل ضمن صفقة كاملة تؤدي إلى حل الدولتين، أبدى نصف الشعب الفلسطيني عمومًا أو أكثر استعداده للقبول بتقسيم السلطة على المدينة.

ملاحظة حول المنهجية

تولّى المركز الفلسطيني لاستطلاع الرأي في الضفة الغربية إجراء هذا الاستطلاع بين 27 حزيران/يونيو و15 تموز/يوليو 2019، باستخدام المقابلات الشخصية والتقنيات النموذجية للاختيار الجغرافي العشوائي من أجل توفير عينات تمثيلية دقيقة. تألفت العينة من 500 شخص في كل من الضفة الغربية وغزة وبلغ فيها هامش الخطأ الإحصائي قرابة الأربعة في المائة في كل عينة ثانوية، بينما تألفت من 200 شخص في القدس الشرقية. كما أن كاتب هذا المقال أشرف شخصيًا على الاستطلاعات السابقة التي أجراها المركز وصادق على ما يعتمده من أطر وأساليب لاختيار العينات وعلى قواعد الميدان ومراقبة الجودة وترجمة الاستبيانات والضمانات الصارمة بالحفاظ على الخصوصية وعدم تدخل أطراف خارجية، بالإضافة إلى كافة النواحي الإجرائية الأخرى من البحث.

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

Most Palestinians Approve of Jordan—Plus Other Survey Surprises


Also available in العربية

August 26, 2019

A detailed public opinion poll from last month shows that most West Bank and Gaza Palestinians approve of Jordan’s King Abdullah, look to his country for help, and want it to play a major role in their future–though just a small minority favor a future confederation with Jordan. On other issues, the Palestinian public is surprisingly flexible on the prisoner issue, but tough on Jerusalem.

Three-Quarters in West Bank, Two-Thirds in Gaza Like Jordan’s King Abdullah

When asked about various regional or global leaders, the large majority of Palestinians voice a favorable opinion of Jordanian King Abdullah: 68 percent of Gazans, and a stunning 77 percent of West Bankers. These remarkably high numbers are about on a par with those for Turkish President Erdogan, who is more often considered by outsiders to be something of a hero to Palestinians lately. By comparison, Egypt’s President Sisi gets good ratings from 55 percent of Gazans–but merely 16 percent of West Bankers.

Saudi Crown Prince Muhammad bin Salman lags behind, with 38 percent of Gazans and only 22 percent of West Bankers expressing a positive view. Interestingly, Iran’s Ayatollah Khamenei earns almost exactly the same degree of Palestinian popular approval: 38 percent in Gaza, and 18 percent in the West Bank. 

Similarly at the national level, not just the personal one: the country of Jordan is favored for “major role” in the future of Palestine by 63 percent of West Bankers, and 51 percent of Gazans. Saudi Arabia, by contrast, garners under 40 percent support among both Palestinian publics. Moreover, solid majorities in both the West Bank (62 percent) and Gaza (77 percent) agree that “right now, the Palestinians should look more to other Arab governments, like Egypt or Jordan, to help improve out situation.” 

Yet Very Few Want Confederation with Jordan; More Prefer “One State” with Israel

But this does not mean that Palestinians want unity or even confederation with any of their neighbors. Offered that option, along with a two-state, one-state, or all-of-Palestine solution, confederation with Egypt or Jordan “including Palestinian self-government” attracts only single-digit support (9 percent of West Bankers, 5 percent of Gazans, and a startlingly low 1 percent of East Jerusalem Palestinians).

A “one-state solution, in which Arabs and Jews would equal rights in one state from the river to the sea,” garners double that support, albeit still a small minority: 18 percent of West Bankers, 12 percent of Gazans, and a high of 20 in East Jerusalem). Yet a significantly larger proportion in all three places agree at least “somewhat” with this highly provocative assertion: “It would be better for us if we were part of Israel, rather than in PA or Hamas ruled lands.” Fully half of Gazans voice that view. In the West Bank and East Jerusalem, that figure now stands at one-quarter. 

Just One-Quarter Favor a New Intifadah Over Other Options

In all three areas surveyed, two-thirds or even more justify attacks on Israeli settlers, soldiers, and policemen. Narrower majorities also say they support “armed struggle” in principle, if given a simple yes-or-no choice about it. Yet when offered a variety of options, including diplomatic efforts or a greater focus on internal reforms, only about one-quarter in any of these areas say they prefer renewing an intifadah against Israel. This counter-intuitive point is confirmed by consistent responses to several different question wordings used in this survey, to measure actual popular preferences rather than the usual rhetorical postures. 

Prisoners A Lower Priority than Often Assumed

In another stark contrast with common misconceptions or partisan claims, around half the public in both the West Bank and Gaza agree with this proposal: “The Palestinian Authority should stop special payments to prisoners, and give their families normal social benefits like everybody else.” This finding again confirms unanticipated results from previous polls. It is also in line with a decline in the priority accorded to prisoner releases as an Israeli goodwill measure. Presented with a list of such options, only about one-quarter in any of the three publics polled pick that as their top priority.
  
At the same time, just half the public say they have heard even “a fair amount” about the U.S. Taylor Force law, “cutting aid to the Palestinian Authority due to payments to prisoners.” This suggests that many Palestinians do not attribute their economic woes either to American pressure, or to their own government’s intransigent policy on prisoners’ bonuses.

But Sharing Jerusalem A Tougher Sticking Point than Many Believe

One unexpectedly hardline attitude in these findings concerns Jerusalem. Around half of West Bankers and Gazans “strongly agree” with this proposition: “We should demand Palestinian rule over all of Jerusalem, east and west, rather than agree to share or divide any part of it with Israel.” An additional 25 to 30 percent agree “somewhat” with that view. These startling new figures confirm results from a 2017 poll, which went unreported as an “outlier” or statistical anomaly at the time.

For some of these Palestinians, this seemingly extreme position may simply mean that Jerusalem is more of a political slogan or a religious symbol than a lived reality. But those percentages are about the same for the Palestinians of East Jerusalem, who work and travel freely in the mostly Jewish half of the city west of the 1967 frontier. Other polls, however, have shown that when a similar question is presented as part of a package deal, leading toward a two-state solution, half or more of the overall Palestinian public has been prepared to accept a division of control over the city.

Methodological Note

This survey was conducted June 27-July 15, 2019 by the West Bank-based Palestine Center for Public Opinion, using face-to-face interviews and standard geographic probability techniques to provide accurate representative samples. The sample sizes were 500 each in the West Bank and Gaza, yielding a statistical margin of error of approximately four percent for each subsample, and 200 in East Jerusalem. The author has personally supervised previous surveys by this pollster, and approved their sampling frames and methods, field protocols and quality controls, questionnaire translations, strict assurances of confidentiality and non-interference by any outside party, and all other procedural aspects of the research.

Customize your RSS Feed