أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

تعليق توماس باركر على مقالة ديفيد بولوك بعنوان: "إيران وإسرائيل وسوريا والولايات المتحدة: وجهات نظر من الصين"


متاح أيضاً في English

19 حزيران/يونيو 2018

ذكّرتني المقالة المتمعّنة التي كتبها ديفيد بولوك عن وجهات النظر الصينية حول الشرق الأوسط بالمناقشات الدورية التي عقدتُها على مرّ السنين مع المسؤولين الصينيين حول الموضوع نفسه.

تتبنى الصين بشكل عام موقفٌ سلبي تجاه الدور الأمريكي في المنطقة – مع أن نظرة بكين تتفاوت أحيانًا فيما تتسم بين الفينة والأخرى بإيجابية تامة.

فلماذا تطغى هذه السلبية على النظرة الصينية؟ أولاً، لا يروق للصين أن تستخدم الولايات المتحدة القوة العسكرية في الشرق الأوسط لأن حكومة بكين تستاء من الهيمنة العسكرية الأمريكية على المستوى الدولي، وخصوصًا في آسيا الشرقية حيث تقيّد التحركات الصينية تجاه تايوان وبحرَي الصين الجنوبي والشرقي.

وقد تجلّت هذه النظرة السلبية في برنامج تلفزيوني حول دور الولايات في سوريا كنتُ قد شاهدتُه على محطة صينية في أيار/مايو الماضي. وكان هذا البرنامج حافلاً بعدد ضخم ونوعًا ما مهول من عناصر الجيش الأمريكي المتأهبين بأحدث عتاد المعارك على لحن موسيقى توحي بالتهديد. وللوهلة الأولى، حسبتني أشاهد نسخةً صينيةً عن أحد أفلام "ستار وورز" القديمة. ولم يأتِ البرنامج على ذكر حقيقة أن القوات التابعة لروسيا وإيران و"حزب الله" في سوريا تفوق أعداد القوات الأمريكية هناك بأشواط.

وكان اثنان من الخبراء الصينيين المنتمين إلى أحد مراكز الأبحاث يعلّقان على تلك الصور القاتمة، بحيث عرض الأول ملاحظات موضوعية نوعًا ما، مشيرًا إلى أن الرئيس ترامب يريد فرض "الخطوط الحمراء" بشأن استخدام الأسلحة الكيميائية بخلاف الرئيس أوباما الذي لم يفِ بالوعد الذي قطعه عام 2013. أما المعلّق الثاني فطرح تصويرًا كاريكاتوريًا ماركسيًا عن السياسة الخارجية الأمريكية عبر الاستشهاد بـ "المجمّع العسكري-الصناعي" - بما فيه الشركات التي استفادت من الإنفاق على الصواريخ الموجهة الأمريكية – باعتباره المحرّك وراء السياسة الأمريكية. وإن كان لكلا المعلّقين منظار سلبي، فقد كان لأحدهما مقاربة أكثر تنميقًا من الآخر.

أما السبب الثاني وراء نظرة الصين المتّسمة إلى حد كبير بالسلبية تجاه السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط، فهو اعتقاد بكين بأن واشنطن تعتمد في غالب الأحيان سياسيات ذات نتائج عكسية – حتى على حساب مصالحها الخاصة، فما بالك بنتائجها على مصالح الصين. إذ يرى المسؤولون الصينيون أن التدخلات العسكرية الأمريكية في العراق وليبيا أطلقت شرارة حروب أهلية فوضاوية. ففي حالة ليبيا مثلاً، اضطرّت الصين إلى سحب الآلاف من العمال الصينيين الذين كانوا يعملون على مشاريع بنى تحتية ضخمة في البلاد. كما أن الصين لم تؤيّد محاولة إوباما الإطاحة بالرئيس المصري مبارك، والواقع أن الصين تفضّل الديكتاتوريين المستبدين أمثال الأسد وصدام والقذافي على الغموض والفوضى المحتملة اللذين تنطوي عليهما الانتخابات الديمقراطية.

وجهات النظر الصينية قد تكون معقدةً

عارضت بكين التدخل الأمريكي في العراق عام 2003 نظرًا لاعتراضها العام على استخدام الولايات المتحدة لقوتها العسكرية. ولكنها استنتجت في النهاية أن هذا التدخل صبّ في خدمة المصالح الصينية، كونه صرف انتباه واشنطن عن آسيا الشرقية وحوّله نحو الشرق الأوسط، وكونه أيضًا حثّ الرأي العام الأمريكي على تبنّي موقف سلمي من مسألة استخدام القوة العسكرية بشكل عام.

حتى أن الصين تعتبر أنه للولايات المتحدة في بعض الأحيان دورٌ إيجابي في الشرق الأوسط. فهي تقرّ بضرورة أن تهزم الولايات المتحدة تنظيم "داعش" في العراق وسوريا – مع أن بكين تعتبر أن واشنطن هي التي أوجدت هذه الفوضى في المقام الأول. ويقر المسؤولون الصينيون أيضًا بأن تدخل الرئيس جورج بوش الأب في حرب الخليج الأولى ودبلوماسية الرئيس نيكسون "العادلة" في حرب عام 1973 بين العرب والإسرائيليين جاءا في خدمة الاستقرار والمصالح الصينية. ومع ذلك، فإن الصين، وعلى نحو مدهش، أعلنت عن دعمها لحرب الخليج الأولى فقط بعد أن أدركت أنها تسير على ما يرام. وليست هذه النظرة من قبل بكين بشأن هذين الاستثناءين، بالمستغربة، بما أن بكين تكنّ أشد الاحترام للرئيسين نيكسون وجورج بوش الأب، بخلاف موقفها من الرؤساء الذين خلفوهما.

فضلاً عن ذلك، تدرك الصين أن للولايات المتحدة وللصين مصالح متماثلة في السعي إلى اعتدال أسعار النفط في الشرق الأوسط. ولا تجد بكين أي مشكلة في العلاقات الودية التي تجمع الولايات المتحدة بدول الخليج، كما أنها لا تستاء إذا سعت الولايات المتحدة إلى قيادة الأعمال العسكرية الإسرائيلية ضد سوريا وإيران مثلاً، الأمر الذي تعتبره بكين بشكل عام مخلًّا بالاستقرار (لو كان مفهومًا). ولدى الصين المخاوف الأمريكية والإسرائيلية نفسها إزاء التوغل الإيراني في الشرق الأوسط، لكنها لا تستطيع التصرف حيال الوضع خصوصًا وأن إيران تؤمّن نحو سبعة في المئة من واردات النفط الصينية.

وباختصار، تنظر الصين إلى دور الولايات المتحدة في الشرق الأوسط بعيونٍ حذرة، فهي تمقت القوة العسكرية الأمريكية بالمبدأ وتعتبر في بعض الأحيان أن هذه القوة تُستخدم بتهوّر. ولو كانت بكين ترغب في أن يكون للولايات المتحدة دور أصغر في المنطقة، فهي تقرّ بأن الولايات المتحدة تؤدي أحيانًا دورًا مفيدًا هناك، لا سيما إذا استخدمت واشنطن قوتها بحذرٍ أكبر. فإن هدف الصين الأول في الشرق الأوسط هو الاستقرار، ثم الاستقرار، ثم الاستقرار.

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

Thomas Parker’s Response to David Pollock’s “Iran, Israel, Syria, and the U.S.: Views From China"


Also available in العربية

June 19, 2018

David Pollock’s thoughtful item on Chinese views of the Middle East reminded me of my periodic discussions with Chinese officials over the years on the same subject.

Overall, China has a negative opinion of the U.S. role in the region—though Beijing’s views are sometimes nuanced and occasionally outright positive.

Why is China’s outlook mainly negative? First, China does not like the United States to use military force in the Middle East because Beijing resents America’s international military predominance, particularly in East Asia where it serves to constrain Chinese behavior towards Taiwan and the South and East China Seas.

This negative view was reflected in a program about the U.S. role in Syria that I saw on Chinese television in May 2018. The program was filled with large, somewhat hulking, U.S. military personnel bristling with the most advanced battle gear and ominous music in the background. At first I thought I was watching a Chinese rip-off of an old Star Wars film. Nor was there mention of the fact that there are many more Russian, Iranian, and Hezbollah forces in Syria than the United States has there.

Two Chinese think tank experts provided commentary for these somber images. One presented quite objective observations, pointing out that President Trump wanted to enforce chemical weapons “red-lines” unlike President Obama’s unfulfilled pledge in 2013. The second commentator, however, offered a Marxist caricature of U.S. foreign policy by citing the “military-industrial complex,” including the firms that benefited from the expenditure of U.S. cruise missiles, as drivers of U.S. policy. Both commentators had negative slants, but one take was much more sophisticated than the other

A second reason for China’s largely negative view of U.S. policy in the Middle East is that Beijing believes Washington often pursues counter-productive policies – even for its own interests, let alone for China’s. China officials feel that the U.S. military interventions in Iraq and Libya spawned chaotic civil wars. In the case of Libya, China had to withdraw thousands of Chinse workers who were involved in major infrastructure projects there. Nor did China approve of Obama’s attempt to push Egyptian president Mubarak out the door. China is more comfortable with authoritarian dictators like Assad, Saddam, and Qaddafi than with the uncertainty and potential chaos of democratic elections.

Chinese Views Can Be Complicated

Beijing opposed the 2003 U.S. intervention in Iraq because of its general opposition to the use of U.S. military power. However, it eventually concluded that the intervention served Chinese interests by drawing Washington’s attention away from East Asia towards the Middle East and by causing U.S. public opinion to turn more dovish towards the use of military force in general. 

China even thinks that the United States sometimes plays a positive role in the Middle East. China sees the need for the United States to defeat ISIS in Iraq and Syria—though Beijing believes that Washington created the mess in the first place. Moreover, Chinese officials acknowledge that President H.W. Bush’s intervention in the first Gulf War and President Nixon’s “even-handed” diplomacy during the 1973 Arab-Israeli War served the cause of stability and Chinese interests.  Significantly, however, China reluctantly came around to supporting the First Gulf War only after Beijing saw that it went so well. Beijing’s views about these two exceptions are not surprising since it holds Nixon and H. W. Bush in high regard, unlike its attitude towards their successors.

China also recognizes that the United States and China have parallel interests in the pursuit of moderate oil prices in the Middle East. Beijing has no problem with friendly U.S.-Gulf relations. And it is comfortable if the United States acts to rein in Israeli military actions against Syria and Iran, for example, which Beijing generally finds de-stabilizing (if understandable). China shares U.S. and Israeli concerns about Iranian adventurism in the Middle East, but feels it can’t do much about the situation, especially given that Iran provides about seven percent of Chinese oil imports.

In short, China is wary of the U.S. role in the Middle East. It dislikes American military power as a general principle and sometimes believes that it is used recklessly. Beijing wants a U.S. with a lower profile in the region but acknowledges that it can sometimes play a useful role there – particularly if Washington uses its power more prudently. In the Middle East, China’s first goal is stability; its second and third goals are stability as well.

Customize your RSS Feed