أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

كيف يمكن لأجهزة الأمن العربية أن تنهض بالسلام بين الشعوب


متاح أيضاً في English

6 كانون الأول/ديسمبر 2019

بما أن الإرهاب لا يعرف الحدود، فإن الكفاح ضد الإرهاب يدعو الدول المجاورة إلى التعاون من أجل الأمن الإقليمي والعالمي. لهذا السبب، أقامت عشرات الحكومات في أوروبا خلال العقد الماضي شراكات غير مسبوقة في الشرطة والاستخبارات ومكافحة الإرهاب.

وهذا هو السبب في أن التهديد الأمني المتمثل بالتيارات التكفيرية والتوسع الإيراني في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا قد ألهم بعض الدول للدخول في تحالفات غير متوقعة، ليس فقط مع بعضها البعض ولكن أيضًا مع دولة إسرائيل المجاورة بهدف جعل جهودهم لمكافحة الإرهاب أكثر فعالية. وفى هذا الصدد، وصل التعاون الأمني إلى آفاق جديدة بين إسرائيل وشركائها الرسميين في السلام، مصر والأردن، بينما بدأت العلاقات الجديدة في أماكن أخرى في المنطقة تتطور.

في أحد الجوانب الحاسمة لمكافحة الإرهاب، لم يتم بعد إنشاء شراكة جوهرية بين الإسرائيليين وجيرانهم العرب لمكافحة الإرهاب ووضع حد لإستخدام وسائل الإعلام والمدارس والمنابر الدينية لنشر التطرف والكراهية. هذه الفجوة لا تنبع من تجاهل المشكلة العامة، لكن على العكس من ذلك، أدى القلق الواسع النطاق حول نشر إيديولوجيات التطرف إلى قيام بعض الحكومات العربية والمنظمات غير الحكومية – وكذلك الحكومات الأخرى في جميع أنحاء العالم – بالسعي للحصول على سبل انتصاف تتراوح بين التعليم من أجل التسامح إلى إعادة تأهيل الجهاديين السابقين.

أخذت هذه المجهودات أشكال متعددة، حيث قامت مؤسسة توني بلير للتغير العالمي(والتي كانت تُسمى سابقاً ب" مؤسسة توني بلير للإيمان "، بإشراك الحكومات ومؤسسات المجتمع المدني في العديد من الدول ذات الأغلبية المسلمة، في حين أن مركز هداية في الإمارات العربية المتحدة، وهو عبارة عن شراكة بين القطاعين العام والخاص، أقام علاقات تعاون مع جهات عدة ومتنوعة, من نيويورك إلى جاكرتا. هناك جهود أخرى أحادية الجانب. فعلى سبيل المثال، يشارك القطاع الأمني السعودي في إنتاج برنامج تلفزيوني أسبوعي مع قناة السعودية الأولى، يُطلق عليه " همومنا"، والذي يسعى لإثناء المشاهدين الشباب عن الانضمام إلى الجماعات المتطرفة.

يمكن للإسرائيليين أيضاً أن يساهموا في مثل هذه المجهودات، سواءاً على الصعيد الحكومي أو المدني، فكلاهما يشاركان بالفعل في بعض المبادرات التعليمية التي تنبع من أمريكا الشمالية وأوروبا. لكن فيما يتعلق بالدول العربية، لم يكن هناك تعاون يذكر بشأن تلك القضية الرئيسية. لا ينبغي أن يكون السبب مفاجأة، فبعض أنظمة الأمن والاستخبارات العربية نفسها التي تعمل الآن مع إسرائيل في ردع إيران والإرهاب كانت هي نفسها من الدعاة الرئيسيين لمعاداة السامية والعداء لإسرائيل لعقود من الزمن. وفيما يتعلق بإسرائيل، فإن الخطاب المشيطن الذي ينشرونه يتجاوز بكثير أي نقد عقلاني للحكومة الإسرائيلية أو لسياساتها.

كما هو معروف، تمارس أجهزة الأمن العربية نفوذاً ثقيلاً على الإعلام والمدارس والتعليم الديني داخل حدودها. لقد استخدموا هذه البرامج منذ فترة طويلة للتحريض ضد اليهود وإسرائيل بشكل كبير – سواء كأداة لإلقاء اللوم على المشاكل المحلية أو كوسيلة لتوحيد السكان المتصدعين ضد عدو أجنبي متصور. لكن على الرغم من هذا الإرث، فإن الحكومة الإسرائيلية، بحماسها لتنمية شراكات أمنية عربية جديدة، لم تكن قوية بشكل خاص في المطالبة بإنهاء تركة التحريض المستمرة، كجزء لا يتجزأ من الجهود الأخرى المتعلقة بمكافحة التطرف والأمن.

إن معاداة السامية في المنطقة، والتي تستحق قطاعات الأمن العربية الكثير من اللوم عليها، هي في الواقع تهديد أقل لإسرائيل من تهديدها للحكومات العربية وسكانها. خذ بعين الاعتبار أن أدوات كبش الفداء واللوم التي استهدفت في البداية اليهود وإسرائيل قد وجدت منذ فترة طويلة أهدافًا محلية جديدة – سواء كانت النخبة الحاكمة أو الطوائف العرقية المتنافسة. تستخدم الميليشيات والحركات الراديكالية عبر الدول بشكل روتيني نفس الأوبئة العدائية في محاولة لإثارة حرب أهلية أو تحويل سكان عرب معينين ضد حكومتها. لقد نجحوا في بعض الأحيان. وبالتالي، فإن قضية إنهاء معاداة السامية العربية – ودروع الشيطانية التي تصاحبها – هي أولاً وقبل كل شيء مسألة تتعلق بالأمن القومي العربي.

بالطبع يجب الاعتراف بأن سيطرة قطاعات الأمن العربية على الخطاب الوطني مفتوحة بشكل واضح للنقد. ومن الطبيعي أن يطالب مؤيدو الديمقراطية في المنطقة الحكومة بالتوقف عن السيطرة على ما ينشره الناس ويذيعونه ويعلمونه ويوعظون به. ولكن في الأنظمة الاستبدادية المستقرة نسبيًا في شمال إفريقيا وشرق البحر المتوسط والخليج، فإن التغيير الجذري من هذا النوع ليس وشيكًا، حيث يتجنب الكثير من الإصلاحيين البارزين الخيار الثوري تمامًا لصالح الإصلاح التدريجي. وبالتالي فإن تأثير قطاع الأمن العربي على المناقشات العامة العربية من المرجح أن يستمر لبعض الوقت. لذلك يجب على الإصلاحيين العرب أن يطالبوا بأن يخدم هذا النفوذ المشترك، طالما استمر، الصالح العام. إحدى الطرق التي يمكن بها للكوادر الأمنية أن تساعد في القضاء على تركة معاداة السامية والعداء لإسرائيل التي أثبتت أنها مضرة جدًا لفترة طويلة.

ربما بدأت بعض القيادات العربية المستنيرة في تقدير هذه المشكلة. إلى الحد الذي يكون لديهم، سيكونون قد لاحظوا أيضًا أن تعزيز التعايش والتسامح تجاه الجيران اليهود والإسرائيليين في المنطقة ليس من السهل إدارته من جانب واحد. كيف، بعد كل شيء، كيف يمكن لموظفي الاتصالات الإستراتيجية في جهاز أمني عربي، تربوا على كره إسرائيل واليهود، فجأة أن يرسلوا رسالة صادقة حول بلد وشعب لا يعرفون عنه سوى القليل. يتطلب إصلاح سيطرة الدولة على وسائل الإعلام والمدارس والمساجد إرادة سياسية هائلة؛ المعرفة والخبرة من الخارج؛ وتغييرات كبيرة في الموظفين العاملين في أجهزة الدولة.

في وضع افتراضي يحصل فيه قطاع أمني معين على تفويض من هذا القبيل، سيتطلب التنفيذ سلسلة جديدة من الشراكات عبر الحدود بين الدولة والمدنيين ذوي العقلية الإصلاحية، ومن ثم، يجب أن يكون هناك تعاون بين الحكومة الإسرائيلية وحلفائها العرب؛ وبين المجتمع المدني الإسرائيلي ونظرائه العرب. تتضمن التعاونات الجديدة هجرة المحتوى التصحيحي عن إسرائيل واليهود إلى جميع المنصات العربية التي يكونون فيها موضوع نقاش، تدعمهم كوادر من المتخصصين في التواصل الثنائي اللغة وثنائيي الثقافة مع الموهبة والإبداع للقيام بذلك. ولا يمتلك الإسرائيليون الإرادة فحسب، بل لديهم أيضًا القدرة والموارد التي تمكنهم من أداء دورهم في هذا الصدد. فبالإضافة إلى إمتلاكهم المعرفة عن إسرائيل وشعبها وتاريخه وتراثه، تم تطوير قدرات جديدة على نقل تلك المعلومات إلى الجماهير العربية الشابة، كما أشارت إلى ذلك ليندا منوحين عبد العزيز في أحد مقالاتها في منتدى فكرة.

وعلى الرغم من أن عملية مكافحة التطرف تمثل تحديا كبيرا، إلا أن الفشل في المحاولة أمر غير معقول.

هذه المقالة مقتبس من الورقة التي ألقاها في المؤتمر التأسيسي للمجلس العربي في لندن، 19-20 نوفمبر 2019.

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

How Arab Security Sectors Can Advance a Peace Between Peoples


Also available in العربية

December 6, 2019

Terrorism knows no borders—and the struggle against it calls for neighboring countries to cooperate for the sake of regional and global security. Regions including Europe have come to recognize this reality, with dozens of governments forging unprecedented partnerships in policing, intelligence, and counterterrorism over the past decade. In the Middle East and North Africa, jihadist carnage and Iranian expansionism have also inspired some unlikely alliances. Arab governments have recently made common cause not only with each other but also with the neighboring state of Israel in order to make their counterterrorism efforts more effective. Security cooperation has reached new heights between Israel and Egypt and Jordan, its formal peace partners, while new relationships are beginning to grow elsewhere in the region as well.

In one crucial facet of counterterrorism, however, no substantial partnership between Israelis and their Arab neighbors has yet been forged: the struggle to end the pervasive use of media, school systems, and religious pulpits to spread radicalism and hate. This gap does not stem from ignorance of the general problem. To the contrary, widespread concern about extremist indoctrination has led a number of Arab governments and NGOs—as well as outside stakeholders worldwide—to seek remedies to these challenges, ranging from new educational programs promoting tolerance to the rehabilitation of former jihadists.

These efforts have taken a variety of shapes. Some are multilateral: The Tony Blair Institute for Global Change (previously the Tony Blair Faith Foundation) has engaged governments and civil society organizations in numerous Muslim-majority countries, while the UAE-based Hedaya center, a public-private partnership, has forged collaborations from New York to Jakarta. Other efforts are unilateral: the Saudi security sector has used state television to develop an immensely popular program called Humumna, which strives to dissuade young viewers from joining extremist groups.

Israelis in government and civil society alike have much to contribute to such efforts, and are indeed engaged in some of the educational initiatives stemming from North America and Europe. But as far as Arab countries are concerned, there has been no cooperation on this key issue to speak of. The reasons for this lack of collaboration should come as no surprise: some of the same Arab security and intelligence systems that now work with Israel in repelling jihadists and Iran have themselves been major propagators of antisemitism and hostility to Israel for decades. With respect to the latter, the demonizing narrative they propagate far exceeds any rational criticism of the Israeli government or its policies. Rather, it ascribes an inherent evil to the country and its people, calling in substance for both to be eradicated.

As is well known, Arab security sectors exercise a weighty influence over media, schools, and religious instruction within their borders. They have long used these platforms to incite violence against Jews and Israel—whether as a tool of blame deflection for local problems or as a means of unifying a fractured population against a perceived foreign enemy. Despite this legacy, the Israeli government, in its enthusiasm to grow new Arab security partnerships, has not been particularly forceful in demanding an end to the ongoing legacy of incitement as part and parcel to other deradicalization and security efforts.

However, the antisemitism in the region, for which Arab security sectors deserve so much of the blame, should actually be understood as more a threat to Arab governments and their populations than Israel itself, and should be treated accordingly. The tools of scapegoating and blame deflection that initially targeted Jews and Israel have long since found new, local targets—whether ruling elites or rival ethnicities and sects. Radical transnational militias and movements routinely use the same hostile tropes first developed by the security sectors in an attempt to foment civil war or turn a given Arab population against its government. In certain cases, this incitement has actually succeeded. The case for ending state-sponsored antisemitism—and the tropes of demonization that go along with it—is first and foremost a matter of Arab national security.

It should also be noted that the very feature of Arab security sectors’ domination of the national discourse is markedly open to criticism. Proponents of democracy in the region naturally demand that their governments stop controlling what people publish, broadcast, teach, and preach. But in the relatively stable autocracies of North Africa, the eastern Mediterranean, and the Gulf, radical change of this sort is not imminent. Many prominent reformists have eschewed the revolutionary option altogether in favor of incremental reforms, suggesting that Arab security sector influence over Arab public discourse is likely to continue for some time. It therefore behooves Arab reformists to demand that such influence, so long as it endures, serve the common good. One way is for these security cadres to help roll back the legacies of antisemitism and hostility to Israel that have proved so damaging for so long.

It is possible that some Arab leaderships have already begun to grapple with this problem. Even so, the promotion of coexistence and tolerance toward the region’s Jewish and Israeli neighbors is not easy to manage unilaterally. It is unreasonable to assume that strategic communications officers in an Arab security apparatus, themselves raised to hate Israel and Jews, can suddenly message honestly about a country and a people of which they know little that is actually true. To reform the state’s impositions on media, schools, and mosques will require enormous political will, knowledge and expertise from the outside, and substantial personnel changes within the state apparatuses themselves.

Given a hypothetical situation in which a given security sector receives such a mandate, the implementation would require a new series of cross-border partnerships among the state and reform-minded civilians—that is, the Israeli government in cooperation with its Arab allies; Israeli civil society working together with its Arab counterparts. Such collaborations would involve the migration of corrective content about Israel and Jews to all Arab platforms in which they are a topic of discussion, supported by cadres of bilingual, bicultural communications specialists with the talent and creativity to do so. Israelis have not only the will but also the wherewithal to play their role: In addition to generations of scholarship about their own history, faith, and heritage, new expertise in migrating it to youthful Arab audiences has been honed, as Linda Menuhin Abdel Aziz previously described in her own Fikra Forum contribution.

The challenge of countering this bedrock facet of radicalization in the region will be hard. Even so, failing to try is unconscionable.

This article is adapted from the paper he delivered at the Arab Council’s inaugural gathering in London, November 19-20, 2019.

Customize your RSS Feed