أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

صفحة إسرائيلية على فيسبوك "باللهجة العراقية"


متاح أيضاً في English

24 أيلول/سبتمبر 2018

منذ حوالي سبع سنوات، أطلقت وزارة الخارجية الإسرائيلية صفحة على فيس بوك باسم “إسرائيل تتكلم بالعربية " وذلك بهدف التعريف بجوانب هامة عن إسرائيل لا يهتم بها الإعلام العربي. ومن المدهش أن الصفحة التي يفوق عدد متابعيها المليون ونصف المليون متابع من العالم العربي، أصبحت تحظى بشعبية خاصة في العراق. وقد بلغ عدد المتابعين من العراق على هذه الصفحة حوالي 300 ألف في عام 2017 وهم يشكلون ثاني أكبر مجموعة على الصفحة. كما حصدت الصفحة في العراق نحو 50 مليون مشاهدة.  وقد دفعت تلك الأرقام وزارة الخارجية الإسرائيلية إلى إطلاق صفحة جديدة على موقع فيسبوك باسم "إسرائيل باللهجة العراقية"، وهي مصممة خصيصًا للجمهور العراقي.

لكن في حين أن رغبة العراقيين في الانخراط مع إسرائيل قد تبدو مشجعة، إلا أنها محيرة إلى حد ما: فعلى الرغم من أن اليهود كانوا يعيشون في العراق منذ أكثر من ألفين وخمسمائة عام، إلا أن القرن العشرين شهد صعود متطرفا لمعاداة السامية في البلاد. يشار أيضا إلى أن حوالي 150 ألف يهودي كانوا يعيشون في العراق قبل قيام دولة إسرائيل عام 1948، لكنهم نزحوا بشكل جماعي بين 1948 و1951 مع اتساع نطاق أعمال العنف ضدهم في المنطقة بأسرها وبعد قيام الحكومة بتجميد ممتلكاتهم.  لقد بدأ تصاعد العنف ضد اليهود في العراق قبل عقد من الزمان تقريباً، حيث كانت الدعاية النازية والرسائل المعادية للسامية التي بثها الحاج أمين الحسيني، مفتي القدس الأكبر، تحظى بشعبية كبيرة في أوساط الجمهور العراقي. في الواقع، وبحلول عام 1941، أصبح يهود العراق مهددون. ففي يونيو من ذلك العام، سقط السكان اليهود في بغداد فريسة لبرنامج "الفرهود"، وهي المذبحة التي أسفرت عن 179 حالة وفاة وما يزيد عن الفي جريح.

ومع مرور الوقت، استمرت السياسات العراقية في تعريض حياة اليهود للخطر، حيث قامت الحكومة العراقية في عام 1969 بإعدام 9 يهود بتهمة التجسس لصالح إسرائيل، وتم تعليق جثثهم في ساحة التحرير، وتم الإعلان عن يوم عطلة. كانت كلمة إسرائيل في تلك الفترة الحالكة، سببا كافيا في زج القائل في غياهب السجون.

وفي ضوء هذا التاريخ، فإن الانفتاح الحالي لمستخدمي وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي في العراق تجاه إسرائيل، يمثل ظاهرة تستحق الاستكشاف والتفحص.

أحد العوامل التي ساهمت في التغيير في الرأي العام العراقي هو إدراك متزايد في العراق بأن إسرائيل ليست هي العدو، حيث يستشف من ردود الفعل للمستخدمين على الصفحة أن القضية الفلسطينية التي ساندها العراق لسنوات طويلة تلقى حلها من قبل أطراف النزاع، وأن الصراع السياسي الدائر لا يجب أن يفرض سياسة عدوانية شاملة نحو إسرائيل. علاوة على ذلك، القى عدد من المفكرين العراقيين الضوء على الدور الذي لعبته المكونات العرقية المتعددة في تاريخ العراق، لا سيما دور المكون اليهودي في بناء العراق الحديث في النصف الأول من القرن العشرين، وأثر تغييب هذه المكون على الهوية العراقية. ومن ثم، يعتقد العديد من مستخدمي وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي أن العراق يمكن أن يستفيد من التكنولوجيا الإسرائيلية.

ومع ذلك، ليست الحسابات العقلانية فقط هي التي أدت إلى هذا التحول الواضح في تصور العراقيين لليهود وإسرائيل، ولكن أيضًا الشعور بالحنين الذي انعكس في عدد من الكتب المتوفرة الآن في العراق والتي تتناول موضوعاتها اليهود العراقيين، والتي استحضرت الشعور بالتاريخ المشترك. فالمتابع للمشهد العراقي يمكنه أن يلاحظ صدور العديد من الكتب عن يهود العراق، بلغت ذروتها هذا العام في معرض الكتاب الدولي في بغداد الذي عرض كتبا مترجمة من الإنجليزية والعبرية منها "صراع الهويات في العراق" لمجموعة باحثين إسرائيليين ورواية "الصور على الحائط" للكاتبة الإسرائيلية العراقية الجذور تسيونيت فتال. ومن شأن تلك الأنشطة أن تساهم في التغلب على الحواجز اللغوية وتؤدى إلى التواصل الشعبي بين الجيل الجديد من العراقيين في العراق من الذين لم يروا أي يهودي في حياتهم ولم يتعرفوا على الميراث الثقافي لليهود في العراق.

ولا شك أن إطلاق حوار بين شعبين لا تربط دولتيهما علاقات دبلوماسية امر مثير للاهتمام، وذلك على نقيض العلاقات بين الشعب الإسرائيلي والشعبين المصري والأردني الذين تجمعهم معاهدة سلام تلازم المستوى الرسمي وتفتقر إلى التفاعل والحميمية على المستوى الشعبي.

وعلى الرغم من رياح التغيير هذه، فلا تزال هناك تحديات جدية أمام هذا التقارب المتنامي نتيجة لتدخل إيران في العراق وجهودها الرامية إلى كسب تأييد السياسيين العراقيين وتغذية معاداة السامية ومعاداة الصهيونية. وتتطابق تلك السياسات مع النداءات التي تطلقها إيران من حين لأخر والتي تدعو إلى إبادة إسرائيل كهدف حيوي. ويرى المناوئون لإقامة علاقات طبيعية مع إسرائيل أنها تستغل صفحات التواصل الاجتماعي لإيهام الشباب برفاهية الحياة في تل أبيب، وأيهامهم بأن إسرائيل دولة ديمقراطية عصرية.

ومع ذلك، فإن العديد من العراقيين الذين يتبعون صفحة "إسرائيل باللهجة العراقية"، يناشدون الجيل الأصغر من اليهود العراقيين العودة إلى وطنهم "الأصلي" والدفاع عن إعادة ممتلكاتهم. ويعرب آخرون عن رغبتهم في رؤية افتتاح سفارة إسرائيلية فعلية في بغداد من أجل إعادة الاتصال بتاريخ العراق اليهودي السابق.

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

An Israeli Facebook Page ‘In Iraqi Dialect’


Also available in العربية

September 24, 2018

About seven years ago, the Israeli Ministry of Foreign Affairs launched a Facebook page titled “Israel Speaks Arabic,” which aims to expose the Arab world to information about Israel that is not frequently reported in traditional Arab media outlets. Surprisingly enough, the page, which has over 1.5 million Arabic-speaking followers, turned out to be particularly popular in Iraq. In 2017, around 400,000 Iraqis followed Israel Speaks Arabic, making them the second largest group among the page’s followers. Moreover, that same year, Iraqis viewed the page’s content over 50 million times. These numbers led the Israeli Ministry of Foreign Affairs to open a new Facebook page – “Israel in the Iraqi Dialect,” which is specifically tailored to Iraqi audience.

But while the willingness of Iraqis to engage with Israel may be encouraging, it is also somewhat baffling. Although Jews had been living in Iraq for more than two thousand and five hundred years, the twentieth century saw the rise of extreme anti-Semitism in the country. Between 1948 and 1951, following the foundation of Israel, Iraq deported and revoked the citizenship of many of its 150,000 Jews, while also freezing their assets. The rise in violence towards Jews in Iraq had begun roughly a decade earlier, as Nazi propaganda and the anti-Semitic messages of Hajj Amin al-Husseini, the Grand Mufti of Jerusalem, gained traction among the Iraqi public. Indeed, by 1941 Iraqi Jews already came under fire: In June of that year, the Jewish population of Baghdad fell prey to the Farhud – a pogrom that resulted in 179 deaths and more than 2,000 injuries.

And as time went on, Iraqi policies continued to put Jewish lives at risk. In 1969, nine Iraqi Jews were executed in Baghdad’s Liberation Square after being falsely accused of spying for foreign entities, and the government declared a national holiday on the execution day. Moreover, during that period, merely uttering the word “Israel” was sufficient grounds for detention.

In light of this history, the apparent open mindedness of Iraqi social media users’ toward Israel is a phenomenon worth exploring.

One factor that may have contributed to the change in Iraqi public opinion is a growing realization in Iraq that Israel is not the enemy. Although Iraq has traditionally supported the Palestinian cause, interactions on Facebook indicate that Iraqis have come to believe that solving the Israeli-Palestinian conflict is the responsibility of the two feuding parties and that the conflict does not mandate an overall hawkish policy toward Israel. In addition, many Iraqi intellectuals have underscored the role that diverse ethnic components played in the history of Iraq, particularly the role of the Iraqi Jews in building modern Iraq in the first half of the twentieth century, and the impact of the absence of this component on Iraqi identity. Moreover, it seems that many Iraqi social media users think that Iraq could benefit from Israeli technology.

However, it is not only rational calculations that have led to the apparent shift in Iraqis’ perception of Jews and Israel, but also a sense of nostalgia, which is reflected in a number of books now available in Iraq whose subject matter is Iraqi Jews, and which conjure the sense of a mutual history. This year, translated versions of books such as The Conflict of Identities in Iraq, written by a group of Israeli researchers, and The Pictures on The Wall by Israeli-Iraqi author Tsionit Fattal were exhibited at the Baghdad International Book Fair. Such works have the power to overcome language barriers and establish a new line of communication between contemporary Iraqis, many of whom have never met a Jewish person, and Jews of Iraqi heritage.

The formation of dialogue between two populations whose nations are not engaged in diplomatic relations is highly interesting considering the fact that such intimate communication does not exist between Israelis and citizens of Egypt and Jordan, where a formal peace treaty exists at a state level yet there little interaction exists at the popular level.

However, despite these winds of change, serious challenges to the growing rapprochement remain due to Iran’s interference in Iraq and its efforts to curry favor with Iraqi politicians, which has fueled and cultivated anti-Semitism and anti-Zionism. It is noteworthy that this hostile policy is paralleled in Iran’s calls for the annihilation of Israel as a vital goal. Opponents of the idea of establishing normalized relations with Israel also find its efforts to use social media suspect, arguing that Israel is exploiting social media to deceive the youth about the comforts of life in Tel Aviv and trick them into thinking that Israel is a modern democratic state.

Nonetheless, many of the Iraqis following “Israel in the Iraqi Dialect,” are calling on the younger generation of Iraqi Jews to return to their “original” homeland and advocate for returning their property. Others are expressing their desire to see the opening of an actual Israeli embassy in Baghdad in order to reconnect with Iraq’s former Jewish history.

Customize your RSS Feed